Registration Reinstatement After Suspension

Did you receive a letter about Insurance and/or Registration Suspension? Read the most common questions and answers.


How do I get my registration reinstated?

To reinstate the vehicle registration after the suspension, the owner must:

  • Obtain and keep continuous Georgia liability insurance coverage
  • Pay a lapse fine of $25
  • Pay a reinstatement fee of $60
  • Pay any other registration fees and vehicle ad valorem taxes due (these fee and tax amounts can be obtained from the County Tag Office)

If three or more suspended registration occur in a five-year period, to reinstate the vehicle registration after the suspension, the owner must:

  • Obtain and keep continuous Georgia liability insurance coverage
  • Pay a lapse fine of $25
  • Pay a reinstatement fee of $160
  • Pay any other registration fees and vehicle ad valorem taxes due (these fee and tax amounts can be obtained from and paid to the County Tag Office)

Insurance fines may be paid online using DRIVES e-Services. Once you have insurance in our system, the registration will be reinstated.  However, if you pay the fine and there is no updated insurance in our system, the vehicle remains suspended.

How do I get a refund of lapse/reinstatement fees?

A request for refund can be submitted to the county tag office where the fines were paid for the following circumstances:

  • Insurance company has transmitted information on a lapse showing that the vehicle had continuous insurance coverage
  • The vehicle’s registered owner voluntarily cancelled the vehicle’s registration during the period of lapse
  • The registered owner was deployed on official military duty while the vehicle was uninsured and not being driven
  • Vehicle was uninsured and not driven on public roads and highways of Georgia because the vehicle:
    • Was sold or the ownership transferred
    • Owner moved to another state
    • Ownership was transferred out-of-state
    • Lease was terminated
    • Was wrecked, salvaged, or junked
    • Was repossessed or stolen
    • Was not driven because it was inoperable, stored, or used seasonally for agricultural or other purpose

If the payment was made online, complete Form T-126 Refund Request – Registration, Title and/or Insurance Fees. Follow the instructions on the form to submit your refund request.

 


 

More Information

Registration Suspension

Pay Insurance Fine Online

Cancel Registration Online

Vehicle owner's responsibilities regarding insurance coverage

Insurer's responsibilities