Information on the loss or lapse of of insurance coverage and the resulting consequences.
- A lapse of coverage occurs when there are 10 days or more between the effective date of new insurance and the termination date of the previous insurance policy. A lapse of coverage also occurs when insurance is terminated and no new policy information is received within 30 days of the termination date.
- There is no lapse of coverage if your insurance policy’s effective date and the termination date of the previous policy are the same.
- Insurers have 30 days to submit new insurance information electronically to the Department of Revenue.
Consequences of Lapse or Loss of Insurance Coverage
A lapse in coverage or a loss of coverage will result in a lapse penalty and fine. Notice of pending suspension will be mailed to the registered owner of the vehicle explaining the penalty and fine that is due and the consequences of not making timely payment.
By law, the Georgia Department of Revenue must:
- Fine the vehicle owner/lessee
- $25 for any lapse of coverage while vehicle is actively registered or up to $160 (in addition to the $25 fine) if the lapse of coverage fine is not paid within 30 days.
- Suspend or revoke registration of any vehicle that does not have continuous Georgia Liability insurance coverage. Failure to pay the $25 lapse fine in a timely manner will also result in the registration being suspended.
- Refuse to renew or reinstate vehicle registration for any of the following:
- Fines have not been paid
- An unresolved lapse of coverage
- Vehicle is not insured