Motor Vehicle/Motorcycle Manufacturer or Distributor Registration

Motor Vehicle/Motorcycle Manufacturer or Distributor Registrations can be done at the MVD Office by mail or through the drop-off box:

  1. Completed Form MV-6 Dealer, Distributor & Manufacturer Tag Application.
  2. Completed Form MV-6A Authorize/Add/Delete Agents Application.
  3. Completed MV-6C Dealer, Distributor, Manufacturer & Transporter Renewal Application.
  4. Photocopy of Georgia Business License or Georgia Occupational License.
  5. Proof of publicly listed telephone number(s) in Georgia.
    Note: Cell phones are not accepted.
  6. Photocopy of proof of your State of Georgia Tax ID number.
  7. Photocopy of Form ST2 Georgia Sales Tax Certificate (DOR/Sales & Use Tax Division 1-877-423-6711)
  8. Photocopy of each authorized agent/representative’s Georgia Driver’s License or ID card.
  9. Completed Motor Vehicle Affidavit for Citizenship Verification.
  10. When applying for more than 2 additional license plates, completed MV-6B Dealer, Distributor, Manufacturer, & Transporter Application for Additional Tags certifying the number of vehicles the applicant distributed or manufactured during the previous calendar year based on business records.  When recording actual number, the “Actual Number” box must be checked. Only three license plates (one master and two additional) will be issued without showing number of vehicles sold in previous year on form MV-6B. The first three license plates (one master and two additional license plates) issued to Wholesalers are the same license plate category as Independent Retail Used Car Dealer. For additional license plates a wholesaler requests will depend on the number of wholesale vehicles sold as shown on their MV-6B application, i.e., the wholesaler sells 60 vehicles wholesale, MVD will issue three wholesale dealer license plates (one for each 20 vehicles sold wholesale). Business must submit current bills of sales each renewal year to maintain additional plates issued the prior year.
  11. Photographs of signs and sales rooms or offices to validate established place of business in Georgia.
  12. Check or money order for the total fees due payable to the Department of Revenue
    1. $62.00 master license plate fee.
    2. $12.00 for each additional license plate requested.
  13. Submitted to MVD:

In person or drop off box at:

DOR/Motor Vehicle Division
Attn: Business Registration Unit
4125 Welcome All Road
Atlanta, Georgia 30349

By mail at:

DOR/Motor Vehicle Division
Attn: Business Registration Unit
P. O. Box 740382
Atlanta, Georgia 30374-0382

Submit questions to

Manufacture/Distributor license plates can be used:

  • On vehicles in the company’s inventory that are being demonstrated to a potential buyer
  • To transport an inventory vehicle from one location to another
  • On manufacturer/distributor owned vehicles used by officers and employees of the business. Employees are defined as persons working for these businesses at least 36 hours per week

Manufacturer/Distributor license plates cannot be used:

  • On privately owned vehicles
  • Vehicles for hire or lease
  • Vehicles used in operations of a manufacturer/distributor such as rentals, delivery, parts delivery, towing, rollbacks, courtesy, or other manner
  • By friends or family members of employees or officials of the business

You are subject to fines by law enforcement if you use these license plates illegally. After a department hearing, it is determined that these license plates were unlawfully used, license plates may be revoked and confiscated.

Note:  If you go out-of-business, you must turn in all license plates, with a signed letter indicating the reason for return, to the MVD Business Registration Unit at the address shown above.

Replace a Manufacturer/Distributor license plate:

Submit the following to the MVD Business Registration Unit:

  1. Damaged license plate or copy of the police report, detailing how the plate was lost or stolen (lost manufacturer/distributor license plate number must be listed on report).
  2. Copy of valid Georgia driver’s license or ID card.
  3. Completed Form MV-6 Dealer, Distributor & Manufacturer Tag Application.
  4. Check or money order for $12.00 payable to the Department of Revenue.
  5. If license plate was lost in the mail prior to your receipt, completed Form T-200 Affidavit of Non-Receipt of an Original License Plate/Renewal Decal in lieu of $12.00 payment.