In November of 2018, the Georgia General Assembly enacted House Bill 4EX.  This bill allows eligible taxpayers to apply for a Timber Tax Credit to assist in offsetting the substantial economic losses incurred during Hurricane Michael. Per House Bill 4EX, eligible timber properties must be located in the disaster area established in Executive Order, which includes the following counties: Baker, Bleckley, Brooks, Calhoun, Clay, Colquitt, Crisp, Decatur, Dodge, Dooly, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Laurens, Lee, Lowndes, Miller, Mitchell, Pulaski, Randolph, Seminole, Sumter, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Turner, Wilcox, and Worth. 

Eligible taxpayers may apply for preapproval beginning on Friday, March 1, 2019, at 8am on the Department’s Georgia Tax Center. To learn more about the submission process for the Timber Tax Credit applications, please visit the Department’s website

Media Contact

Name: William Gaston
Phone: (404) 417-2286
Cell: (470) 725-5265
Email address: