Section 40-3-91, paragraph (c) of the OCGA states: "Any person, firm, or corporation which delivers or accepts a certificate of title assigned in blank shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $100.00 or imprisoned for a period not to exceed 30 days for the acceptance or delivery of each certificate of title assigned in blank".
Income Tax Filing and Payment Deadline is July 15, 2020
Due to COVID-19, DOR automatically extended income tax filing and payment deadlines. Remember to file and pay by Wednesday July 15, 2020.
Responsibilities of Sellers and Buyers
When selling a vehicle, the vehicle owner must transfer ownership AND cancel registration of the vehicle.
- Purchaser information using their full legal name as it appears on their Georgia Driver’s License or Georgia Identification Card.
- Purchaser’s current address.
- Date of sale or ownership transfer (month, day, and year).
- Complete the odometer reading at the time of the sale in complete miles, do not include 10ths of a mile.
- The total actual miles is more than 99,999 on a 5-digit odometer;
- The total actual miles if more than 999,999 on a 6-digit odometer;
- The odometer was/is broken, replace, or repaired odometer; or
- The odometer does not reflect the actual miles.
- Print and sign your name under seller. If jointly owned, each seller must print and sign.
- If the seller is a company, the printed name of the company is required in addition to the printed names and signature of the company’s authorized agent. The company’s authorized agent should enter his or her position with the company after the signature.
- The buyer should print and sign their name under Buyer. If jointly owned, each buyer must print and sign.
- Do not give or accept a title where the assignment has been signed without the buyer’s name being entered. Doing so will result in a criminal offense.
- When a dealer is shown in the title assignment, they must complete the next available title assignment, or, in rare instances, a secure Dealer Reassignment form when they sell the vehicle.
Cancel Registration - Online using DRIVES e-Services or in person by completing Form MV-18J Application of Voluntary Registration Cancellation and submitting to the County Tag Office in the county where you live. Learn more about Voluntarily Cancelling Registration.
Titles and tags can be applied for at the Buyer’s County Tag Office.
The Buyer should:
- Insure that the Seller has completed all the sections mentioned above. Never sign a title that has been left blank.
- Acknowledge odometer declaration by printing and signing name. If exempt from odometer declaration, do not print name and sign this document.
Note: When odometer disclosure is required, odometer reading must increase throughout the chain of ownership. “Exempt” should only be entered when the vehicle is exempt based on the Federal Truth in Mileage Act.
- If a company, the company’s name should be printed and signature of the company’s authorized agent should sign under the Buyer section. Never sign a title assignment that is blank.
- Transfer title and license plate must be completed within 7 days, however, penalties will apply 30 days after purchase. Title must be applied for before or at the same time as transferring the license plate. Titles and license plates can be applied for at the Buyer’s County Tag Office.
- In certain situations, appoint someone as attorney-in-fact to complete the title assignment by completing and signing a power of attorney. Learn more about when a power of attorney can and cannot be used.
- All owners in the chain of ownership (except licensed dealers) must obtain a title in his or her name before transferring ownership.
Do not give or accept a title where the assignment has been signed without the purchaser(s) name entered.
Georgia Code 40-3-91(c) states: “Any person, firm, or corporation which delivers or accepts a certificate of title assigned in blank shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, up on conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $100.00 or imprisoned for a period not to exceed 30 days for the acceptance or delivery of each certificate of title assigned in blank.”