Recording a Lien and Security Interest on a Title

To record a Lien or Security Interest against a vehicle when a Georgia title is required:

  1. Completed and signed Form MV-1 Title/Tag Application
  2. Original valid title or manufacturer’s certificate of origin issued in the vehicle owner’s name
  3. $18.00 title fee
  4. If not submitted within 30 days of purchase, provide:
    1. $10.00 penalty fee
    2. Completed and signed Form T-53 Notice of Security Interest

To record a Lien or Security Interest against a vehicle when a Georgia title is not required:

  1. Record the lien of security interest with Clerk of Superior Court’s office in the county where the vehicle owner resides, under the provisions of the Universal Commercial Code.
  2. Contact the Georgia Superior Court Clerks’ Cooperative Authority for required forms, filing fees, and additional information.

To record an additional Security Interest on a vehicle that is currently titled in Georgia:

Submit by certified mail or overnight delivery, return receipt requested to the first lienholder or security interest holder having custody:

  1. Completed and signed Form MV-1 Title/Tag Application, or completed and signed Form T-53 Notice of Security Interest
  2. $18.00 title fee
  3. Cover letter addressed to the lienholder or security interest holder having custody of title

Note: A Georgia title, when issued, is mailed to the first recorded lienholder or security interest holder until the interest is satisfied. Once satisfied, the lienholder or security interest holder shall release their interest in the spaces provided on the title and forward the title to the next recorded lienholder or security interest holder. If there are no additional lien or security interests recorded, the title shall be forwarded to the vehicle owner.