Department of Revenue Automatically Extending 2019 Filing Deadline
The Georgia Department of Revenue is automatically extending the 2019 income tax filing and payment deadline to July 15, 2020. Vehicle registrations that expire between March 16, 2020 and May 14, 2020 are being extended through May 15, 2020.
Installment Agreements - FAQ
What is the minimum amount that I can pay on a payment agreement?
The minimum amount is $25.00 per month. It is in your best interest to pay off your debt quickly, as penalties and interest on the debt increase the amount for which you are responsible.
Why did you take my refund if I already have a payment agreement?
Refunds are an overpayment to the State. Recapture of refunds is authorized by State law. The balance on your account will be reduced by the amount of the refund and your payment agreement will end sooner.
I have a Payment Agreement, why did I receive a Federal Offset Notice?
By statute the department can offset your federal refund to pay a tax debt. The amount of your debt will be reduced and your payment agreement will end more quickly.
Can I make changes to my payment agreement?
Changes to your existing agreement cannot be made. In the event that changes have to be made, the current payment agreement will be cancelled and a new agreement will be set up. You may incur an additional $50.00 fee to set up a new agreement. For details and more information contact the department at 404-417-2122.
What if I am unable to make my payment on time?
Timely payments are required under the terms of your payment agreement. Call (404) 417-2122 to discuss it.
What if I want to pay extra or pay off my debt early?
Extra payments or payoffs can be sent in at any time during your payment agreement. These payments can be made online using the Georgia Tax Center. Paying your debt off early reduces the amount of penalty and interest you pay.
What happens if I change banks?
Call 404-417-2122 with your new bank routing and account numbers. The Department can make the necessary changes to withdraw your payment from the new account. The request must be made at least 5 days prior to the date of your next draft.
When will you stop taking payments?
The department checks your account balance before a payment is withdrawn from your account. We will withdraw the installment amount or the current balance, whichever is less.
What if there is not enough money in the bank to cover the payment?
If a payment fails due to insufficient funds, you will receive a Cure/In Grace letter letting you know of your missed payment and $25.00 returned check fee is not made by the date on the letter, your payment plan will be defaulted.
If a payment fails due to insufficient funds, you may owe overdraft fees to the financial institution. Timely payments are required under the terms of your payment plan. Call 404-417-2122 to discuss the situation.
How will my payment agreement be affected if I file my tax return and have a balance due?
The department has the option to cancel payment agreements when you fail to file and pay any tax return(s) when due or incur other state debt. Call 404-417-2122 to discuss your specific situation.
Will interest stop when I set up my payment agreement?
Interest related to a tax liability being paid under a payment agreement will continue to accrue interest until the payments due under the agreement have been paid in full.