Department of Revenue Automatically Extending 2019 Filing Deadline
The Georgia Department of Revenue is automatically extending the 2019 income tax filing and payment deadline to July 15, 2020. Vehicle registrations that expire between March 16, 2020 and May 14, 2020 are being extended through May 15, 2020.
Transfer Title and License Plate from another State or Country
Titles and license plates for vehicles titled in another state or country can be obtained at your County Tag Office with the following information:
Note: If your title is being held by your financial institution or leasing company, the County Tag Office Agent processing your application will contact your financial institution or leasing company by mail requesting the submission of your out-of-state title before your Georgia Title application can be processed.
- Completed and signed MV-1 Title/Tag Application.
- Original valid title issued in your name or properly assigned to you.
- Out of state/country valid registration certificate, if applicable.
- Completed and signed Form T-22B Certification of Inspection.
- If a 1986 or newer vehicle and the previous state or country does not issue titles, you must submit:
- Form T-22B Certification of Inspection completed by a Georgia law enforcement officer.
- Current out-of-state registration (tag receipt) from the appropriate out-of-state agency. Must be:
- Issued in the applicant(s) name or properly assigned to the applicant.
- If assignment spaces are not provided, applicant must submit signed bill(s) of sales.
- Vehicles purchased from Massachusetts, Mississippi, or Minnesota, must provide a certification from the appropriate motor vehicle agency indicating that the vehicle was not titled in that state.
- Georgia liability insurance reported by your Insurance Company and on record with the Department.
- Emission Inspection Certificate, if applicable.
- English translation of each document not printed in the English language.
- Copy of Georgia driver’s license or ID. There are no exceptions to this requirement whether resident, non-resident, or military.
- Payment of all fees and/or taxes due:
- $20.00 license plate fee
- $18.00 title fee
- Title Ad Valorem Tax
- Any penalties due
Note: If your 1963-1985 year model vehicle was last registered in a state or country that does not issue titles, a Georgia title will not be issued.
When a motor vehicle, not a trailer or a vehicle imported from Puerto Rico, is imported into the United States, the following federal forms are required:
- If form CBP-7501 does not reflect the vehicle identification number (VIN) stating that the vehicle was manufactured for sale in the United States, an original and copy of properly completed U. S. DOT Form HS-7 and U.S. EPA Form 3520-1 are required
- If form CBP-7501 does not reflect the vehicle identification number (VIN) stating that the vehicle was manufactured for sale in the United States, an original and copy of properly completed U. S. EPA Form 3520-1
Forms can be obtained and additional information received from the U. S. Customs Office (located throughout Georgia). All vehicles must go through customs before entry into the U. S. The applicant must submit the original and copies of each form (the original will be returned).