Effective December 1, 2023, owners of multipurpose off-highway vehicles (MPOHVs) may voluntarily register their vehicles so they may be driven on county roads. For vehicles that qualify as MPOHVs, owners will be able to register their vehicles and receive a certificate of registration and a license plate. MPOHVs will not be titled.
Submit the following documents and fee to the county tag office in your county of residence.
Read- Registration of Multipurpose Off-Highway Motor Vehicles.
Required Forms & Documents
Provide a valid Georgia driver’s license or ID card.
Proof of Ownership
To receive a registration with verified ownership, one of the following documents must be provided:
- Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO) or out-of-state title
- Previous owner's valid registration with a bill of sale
- Out-of-state registration
If none of these documents are available, the registration will be issued with an indicator stating that ownership is not verified, and the form T-22B Certification of Inspection must be provided.
Multipurpose Off-Highway Vehicle Inspection and Ownership Affidavit
Complete form .
Your County Tax Commissioner may also require a physical inspection of the MPOHV
Proof of Georgia Automobile Liability Insurance Coverage
Provide proof of Georgia Automobile Liability Insurance Coverage (one of the following)
- Filed electronically by your insurance company directly into the Department’s database
- Insurance binder showing liability coverage
Annual Registration Fee - $20
Be prepared to pay $20 annual registration fee.
Upon completion of registration, you will receive a Temporary Operating Permit (TOP) and your plate will be mailed to you.
To maintain your valid registration, you must continue to carry automobile liability insurance and pay annual registration renewal fees.
Georgia law provides for the registration of “multipurpose off-highway vehicles.” Only MPOHVs manufactured after January 1, 2000 may be registered. Not all vehicles built for off-road purposes or purposes other than driving on roads will qualify as MPOHVs eligible for registration.
Vehicles that qualify as MPOHVs for registration purposes must have the following features:
- Manufactured after January 1, 2000
- Has the ability to transport people, cargo or both
- Minimum cargo (payload) capacity of 350 lbs.
- Contains a nonstraddle seat
- Must have the ability to operate between 25-65 mph
- Overall width of 80 inches or less
- 4-wheels or more
- Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) less than 4,000 lbs.
- Steering wheel is required for steering controls
Note: These requirements eliminate the registration of dirt bikes, three-wheelers, four-wheelers and other vehicles with handlebar steering, straddle seats, and less than four wheels.
MPOHVs must also have features specifically intended for utility use. Generally, this means that MPOHVs must be vehicles designed and manufactured primarily for performing off-road tasks in agricultural, construction or industrial settings. This will exclude vehicles made for on-road use, regardless of whether such on-road use was intended for highways within Georgia or elsewhere. This will also exclude golf carts, which are designed primarily for recreational use and do not have features specifically intended for utility use.
MPOHVs must be equipped with the following safety features:
- Brake lights
- Rearview mirror
- Safety belts