General Title Information

Vehicles purchased on or after March 1, 2013 and titled in this state will be exempt from sales and use tax and the annual Ad Valorem Tax. Instead, these vehicles will be subject to a new, one-time title Ad Valorem Tax that is based on the value of the vehicle.  Read more about the Title Ad Valorem Tax.

How to Obtain an Original Georgia Title

  1. A completed and signed Form MV-1 Title/Tag Application.
  2. An original valid title, statement of origin, or registration certificate from a non-title state or country must accompany your title application.
  3. A completed and signed Form T-22B Certification of Inspection.

This form is only needed with a 1986 or newer year model vehicle that is currently registered in a state or country that does not issue titles. This state does not issue titles for 1985 or older year model vehicles based on a registration certificate from a non-title state or country.

  1. $18.00 title fee.
$10.00 title penalty is due if you fail to apply for a Georgia title within 30 days of the vehicle's purchase or acquisition date. This penalty does not apply when your vehicle is currently titled in your name(s) in another state or country. 
 
An additional $10.00 title penalty is due if you previously applied for a Georgia title for this vehicle and your application was returned requesting additional action before title issuance and compliance has not been made within 60 days of the accompanying letter's date.
 
You may apply for your title and license plate at the same time at the Tag Office in the county where you reside in Georgia.
 

What is needed to register and obtain a Georgia title and license plate for my "new" vehicle?

  1. A completed and signed Form MV-1 Title/Tag Application.
  2. An original valid manufacturer's certificate of origin properly assigned to you, the vehicle owner, by the selling dealer or the vehicle manufacturer using your full legal name. If jointly owned, each owner's full legal name, valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card number and signature are required. 
  3. Proof that your vehicle is insured with Georgia liability insurance.
  4. Proof that your vehicle has passed an emission's inspection, when required. 
  5. Proof of residency in Georgia, i.e. Lease agreement, deed or closing statement for new residence, final utility bill from previous residence, moving bill, shipper's bill or truck rental agreement, or, final paycheck stub or a signed letterhead statement from your former employer. 
  6. A valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card is required when applying in person. 
  7. $18.00 title fee. 
  8. $20.00 tag fee. 
  9. Sales Tax, if applicable. 
 
Important: If the manufacturer's certificate of origin is assigned to a dealer who is licensed to sell only used vehicles, the dealer must obtain a title in their name before transferring ownership. When the first retail customer applies for a Georgia title in their name based on the title issued in the dealer's name, the title when issued will reflect the vehicle's status as "used". This does not apply to certificates of origin assigned to a franchise or new motor vehicle dealership that has the manufacturers franchise agreement.
 
Standard Fees
Original Title Fees $18.00
Replacement Title Fee $8.00
 
Additional Fees
Title Penalty 
Due if you fail to apply for a Georgia title in your name within 30 days of the vehicle's purchase or transfer date. $10.00
 
Title Penalty 
Due for an altered purchase or transfer date on a document transferring ownership of the vehicle. $10.00
 
Additional Title Penalty 
Due if a Georgia title was previously applied for a vehicle in your name. $10.00
 
Special Handling 
Due for each title application processed through our Customer Service Operations. $10.00
 

Where to apply for a Georgia title

Individual and Business
  1. You can apply for both your tag and title at the same time at the Tax Commissioner's Tag Offices in the county where you live.
  2. More information regarding our In-person Customer Service Operations.
Manufactured/Mobile Home
  1. The Tax Commissioner's Tag Offices in the county where the home is located in Georgia.

Vehicles Purchased from a Dealer & Applications Showing Liens or Security Interest(s)

  1. You can apply for a title at the Tax Commissioner's Tag Offices in the county where the owner resides.