When & Where to Register Your Vehicle

Where to Register:

Types: Should Register:
Individuals

County Tag Office where the customer lives

Business owned or operated vehicles

County Tag Office where the business is located

Leased vehicles County Tag Office where the lessee resides
Commercial vehicles traveling in Georgia

County Tag Office where the vehicle is based

Commercial vehicles registered (IRP and IFTA)

Georgia Trucking Portal online

Dealers, Distributors, Manufacturers, and Transporters

Business Registration Unit of MVD

When to Register:

New Registrations:

New Residents:  30 days from the date you move to Georgia: Register your motor vehicle, tractor, motorcycle, or trailer and get a Georgia license plate at your County Tag Office.

Georgia Residents: Seven days from the date of purchase to register your vehicle at your County Tag Office.

Penalties:  If you fail to register your vehicle within the 30 days for new residents and 7 days for current residents, you may be subject to fines up to $100.00, if stopped by law enforcement.

Three types of license plate renewals in Georgia:

Year-round registration (most of counties)

  • Individuals who reside in these counties have 30 days before their birthday to register. This period ends at midnight on the birthday of the first person listed on the tag receipt (registration).
  • Business renewals are based on the first letter of the business name.

A or B: due January
C or D: due February
E or F: due March
G or H: due April
I or J: due May
K or L: due June
M or N: due July
O or P: due August
Q or R: due September
S or T: due October
U, V, or W: due November
X, Y, or Z: due December

Four-month non-staggered registration (January 1 – April 30), in the following counties:

  • Calhoun
  • Clay
  • Turner
  • Stewart

Four-month staggered registration (Talbot County only)

Individuals:

January, February, or March birthdays: due January
April, May, or June birthdays: due February
July, August, or September birthdays: due March
October, November, or December birthdays: due April

Businesses, Business Lessees, or Entities (not individuals).  Business name begins with:

A, B, C, or D due January
E, F, G, H, I, J, or K due February
L, M, N, O, P, Q, or R due March
S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, or Z due April

Note: In addition to regular tag registration fees, any Ad Valorem Taxes due, any fees associated with special tags, and the mailing fee, the following penalties will be assess if you fail to renew your tag during your registration period:

  • 25% of the license plate fee
  • 10% of the Ad Valorem tax