Vehicles purchased on or after March 1, 2013 and titled in this state will be exempt from sales and use tax and the annual Ad Valorem tax. Instead, these vehicles will be subject to a new, one-time title Ad Valorem Tax that is based on the value of the vehicle. Learn more about Title Ad Valorem Tax fee.
How can I replace a missing or damaged serial plate?
To replace a missing or damage serial plate submit the following:
- A completed and signed Form MV-1 Title/Tag Application
- An original valid Certificate of Origin or Title
- The damage serial plate, if applicable
- A completed and signed Form T-128 Missing Serial Plate Affidavit
- $18.00 application fee
Upon receipt of the above listed documents, properly completed, and the applicable fees, the Department of Motor Vehicle will issue a replacement serial plate to the vehicle's owner(s) and a partially completed Form T-22 form. The serial plate should be affixed to your vehicle with rivets. Once the serial plate has been affixed, you should have a Georgia law enforcement officer or your county Tax Commissioner or his/her designee complete and sign the Form T-22 certifying that the replacement serial plate has been properly affixed to your vehicle. You should return the completed form to the Motor Vehicle Salvage Unit for the issuance of a new title.
Salvage Unit In-Person Address
Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Division
4125 Welcome All Road
Atlanta, Georgia 30349
DOR/Motor Vehicle Division
P.O. Box 740381
Atlanta, GA 30374-0381
What is needed to replace a missing or damaged title?
- A completed and signed Form MV-1 Title/Tag Application.
- A replacement title cannot be issued in a deceased person's name. In this case, comply with the requirements for obtaining a title after inheritance.
- If your name has changed since the title was issued, complete the application in your new name and attach a certified copy of the legal court document authorizing the name change, i.e. certified copy of your marriage certificate, divorce decree or other court document.
- If the missing or damaged Georgia title was assigned to you instead of issued in your name, the record owner, as shown on face of title and on the vehicle's current title record, must apply for the replacement title.
- An original Form T-4 Lien or Security Interest Release from each lien or security interest holder recorded on the original title that has now been satisfied or paid.
- Do not record satisfied or paid lien or security interest information on the application.
- Do record new or unsatisfied security interest information in the order perfected.
- Except for liens and security interests recorded on Georgia titles for mobile homes, cranes and vehicles weighing more than 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight, any lien or security interest recorded on a Georgia title for ten-years (10) from the title's issue date shall be considered satisfied and a release shall not be required.
Important: If your financial institution released their interest in your vehicle on the vehicle's title and you did not apply for a clear title, then the lien or security interest is still recorded on the state's title records and a new release is required.
- The mutilated (damaged) title, when applicable.
- $8.00 replacement title fee.
A replacement title can be issued 'free' if the original title was lost in the mail prior to the owner's receipt, provided the owner applies for a replacement title within 60 days of the title's issue date and attaches a completed Form T-216 Title Not Received in the Mail Affidavit to their completed Form MV-1 MVD Title/Tag Application.
Obtaining a Georgia Title for a Stolen and Recovered Vehicle with Cosmetic Damage
To apply for a title for a stolen vehicle that has now been recovered with only cosmetic damage, when a Georgia title is required, submit the following to Georgia Motor Vehicle Division together:
- A completed and signed Form MV-1Title/Tag Application.
- The original stolen un-recovered vehicle title assigned to the purchaser(s) using their full legal name(s) by an authorized agent of the insurance company when the insurance company is not titling the vehicle in their name.
- The vehicle's Georgia license plate, if left on the vehicle.
- A completed and signed Form T-158 Report of and/or Surrender of GA License Plate.
- $18.00 title fee.
- A letter from the insurance company on the letterhead stationary signed by their authorized agent containing the following:
A complete description of the vehicle
Year, Make of vehicle, Model name and/or number, Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
When and where the vehicle was stolen
When and where the vehicle was recovered
The condition of the vehicle at the time of recovery including the damage to the vehicle
Whether or not the serial plate was left intact
Definition: Cosmetic damage refers to non-structural damage that would not affect the safety or operation of the vehicle and supporting systems. This includes the suspension, passenger compartment, drive trains, frame, sub-frame or uni-body.