
Form GA-5347 (Rev. 08/16/18)

Georgia Department of Revenue 
Deceased Taxpayer Refund Check Claim Form 

Section 1 Complete the information below. 
Name of Decedent Decedent’s Social Security Number Date of Death 

Name of Claimant Claimant’s Social Security Number Tax Year of Refund Check 

Address of Claimant 

Relationship to Decedent:    Administrator/Executor
 Brother/Sister

 Surviving Spouse
 Parent

 Other

Section 2 Check the ONE box that applies to you after reviewing the instructions. Be sure to sign Section 4. 

Line A □ Surviving spouse requesting reissuance of a refund check. Attach original check & copy of death certificate. 

Line B □ Court-appointed personal representative. Attach original check, copy of death certificate, & court document showing appointment. 

Line C □ Person, other than A or B, claiming refund less than $1,000 for decedent’s estate. Attach original check, copy of death certificate, & 
complete Section 3. 

Section 3 Complete only if you checked Line C in Section 2. 

 I am an heir of the decedent and meet the qualifications in the affidavit below. I am claiming this refund, which is less than $1,000, for the
decedent’s estate and have completed the affidavit and had it notarized. I truthfully signed the affidavit and do not need to file to probate or be
appointed a personal representative to claim this refund of taxes.

Claimant’s Affidavit. For collection of personal property in the form of a tax refund check (to be used by heirs of deceased taxpayers). 

  State of Georgia, __________________________ County 

   I, ___________________________, being duly sworn, affirm that this affidavit is made for the purpose of requesting reissuance of a tax 

   refund check in the amount of $____________ originally issued to __________________________, who died on ___________________.  
Amount          Decedent’s Full Legal Name       Date on Death Certificate    

I further certify under oath the following (Initial after each statement): 
1. The refund check issued in the decedent’s name is for less than $1,000.
2. The court has not appointed a personal representative for the estate of the decedent, and no

application/petition for the appointment of a personal representative is pending in any jurisdiction.
3. I am an heir of the decedent and there are no other heirs of the same or closer degree.
4. As the person claiming the refund for the decedent’s estate, I will pay out the refund according to

the laws of the state where the decedent was a legal resident at the time of death.
5. As the claiming heir of the decedent, I am entitled to payment or delivery of the Georgia tax refund.

   _________________________________ 
  Signature of Claimant

    _________________________________ 
      Printed Name 

Notarization. For a public notary to complete. 

 Sworn and subscribed before me this __________ day of ______________________, 20________. 

   _________________________________ __________________________ 
  Signature of Notary  Notary Commission Expires 

Section 4 Signature and Verification. ALL CLAIMANTS must complete this section. 
I request a refund of taxes overpaid by or on behalf of the decedent. Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this claim, 
and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. I understand that to willfully prepare or present a document 
that is fraudulent or false is a felony under O.C.G.A. § 16-10-20. 

Signature of Claimant: Date: 

 Name of County 

Full Legal Name  

SEAL 



General Instructions 
 
Purpose of Form 
Use Form GA-5347 to claim a refund on behalf of a 
deceased taxpayer. 
 
Who Must File 
Only file this form if you need a refund check which was 
issued in the deceased taxpayer’s name to be reissued 
in the name of the surviving spouse, estate, or 
otherwise rightful heir.  
 
Where to File 
Mail a completed copy of Form GA-5347 and the 
appropriate documents listed below to:  

 
Georgia Department of Revenue 
P.O. Box 740389 
Atlanta, GA 30374-0389 
  

Personal Representative 
For purposes of this form, a personal representative is 
the executor or administrator of the decedent’s estate, 
as certified or appointed by a court.  A copy of the 
decedent’s will is not by itself evidence that you are the 
personal representative.  
 
Specific Instructions 
 
Section 1 – Decedent & Claimant’s Information 
Enter the name, date of death, and social security 
number of the decedent.  
 
The claimant must also enter name, address, and 
social security number.  Make sure to enter this 
information accurately, as the Department will send the 
reissued refund check to the claimant’s address 
entered here.  
 
Section 2 – Claim Type 
Line A  
Check the box on Line A if you are a surviving spouse 
and you received a joint refund check in your and your 
deceased spouse’s names.  In addition to this form, 
you must also attach and send the original joint-name 
check and a copy of the death certificate to the address 
above.  A new check will be issued in your name and 
mailed to you. 
 
Line B 
Check the box on Line B only if you are the decedent’s 
court-appointed personal representative claiming a 
refund on behalf of the decedent’s estate.  In addition 
to this form, you must also attach and send the original 

check in the deceased’s name, a copy of the death 
certificate, and a copy of the court document showing 
your appointment (e.g. Letter of Testamentary or Letter 
of Administration) to the address above.  A new check 
will be issued in the estate’s name and mailed to you.  
 
Line C 
Check the box on Line C only if you are not a surviving 
spouse claiming a refund based on a joint return and 
there is no court-appointed personal representative.  
Claimants may only check the box on Line C if the 
decedent’s original refund check was for less than 
$1,000.  For refund checks in amounts equal to or 
greater than $1,000, you must check the box on either 
Line A or Line B and obtain the appropriate 
documentation.  
 
If you qualify as a Line C claimant, complete Section 3.  
In addition to this form, you must also attach and send 
the original check in the deceased’s name and a copy 
of the death certificate to the address above.  A new 
check will be issued in your name and mailed to you.  
 
Section 3 – Claimant’s Affidavit 
Check the box in Section 3 only if you are Line C 
claimant.  Complete the affidavit and certify that each 
statement is true by initialing on the line to the right of 
each numbered statement.  The affidavit in Section 3 
must be notarized by a public notary.  
 
Section 4 – Signature 
You must sign in Section 4 for Form GA-5347 to be 
effective.  
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