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Alcohol Licensing for Events 
 

When is a Special Event Permit required? 

 

Special event permits are required when the provision of alcohol is tied to any monetary exchange or 

transfer of funds, and the location where the event will be held does not hold a state retail alcohol license.  This 

would include the outright selling of alcoholic beverages at an event (cash bar) as well as other methods for 

charging, such as entry fees or donations.   

 

For example, if a group or individual has a fund-raising party where an admission fee is charged and 

alcoholic beverages are provided, then a Special Event Permit is required. All alcoholic beverages for the event 

must be acquired from wholesale distributors as required by Georgia’s three-tier system for alcohol distribution.  

On the other hand, if a group or individual has a wedding reception or a birthday party where alcohol is 

provided to guests with no expectation of payment, then a Special Event Permit would not be required. In this 

instance, the alcohol must be obtained by the party host from a Georgia licensed retailer of alcoholic beverages. 

 

 

For all Special Event Licensing: 

 

All applications must be submitted electronically through the Georgia Tax Center: 

 

https://gtc.dor.ga.gov/_/ 

 

Please request and ensure all requirements have been met for a Special Event Permit a minimum of (10) days 

prior to the start date of the event. The Department will accept requests with an earlier start date, but cannot 

make any guarantees that the license will be issued in time for the event. 

 

 

 

Special Event for Profit: 

 

Required Documents 

 

1. Copy of Local License / Letter of Approval 

2. Power of Attorney (If Applicable) 

3. O.C.G.A 50-3-1 (e)(2) - Citizenship Affidavit 

4. Secure and Verifiable Documents  

 

https://gtc.dor.ga.gov/_/


 

License Fee(s) 

 

1. $100.00 - Distilled Spirits 

2. $50.00 - Malt Beverage 

3. $50.00 - Wine 

  

 

Helpful links: 

1. http://dor.georgia.gov/special-event-profit 

2. http://dor.georgia.gov/sites/dor.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/ATD/Form/2013%20Secure%2

0and%20Verifiable%20Document%20Listing.pdf 

 

 

Special Event Non-Profit (O.C.G.A. § 3-9-3): 

 

Required Documents 

 

1. 501(C)(3) Letter issued by the IRS or By-laws & corporate charter from the Secretary of State's Office 

2. Copy of Local License or Letter of Approval 

3. Power of Attorney (If Applicable) 

4. O.C.G.A 50-3-1 (e)(2) - Citizenship Affidavit 

5. Secure and Verifiable Documents 

 

License Fee(s) 

 

1. $25.00 - License Fee 

  

Additional Information 

 

A bona fide non-profit civic organization (an entity which is exempt from federal income tax) may apply for a 

non-profit special event permit to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, or to sell wine at 

retail for off-premises consumption, or both, for a period not to exceed 3 consecutive days. No more than 6 

permits will be issued to an organization in any one calendar year. All other permits will be issued as for (profit) 

at regular permit fee. 

 

Helpful Links: 

1. http://dor.georgia.gov/special-event-non-profit 

2. http://dor.georgia.gov/sites/dor.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/ATD/Form/2013%20Secure%2

0and%20Verifiable%20Document%20Listing.pdf 

 

 

Special Event Use (O.C.G.A. § 3-14-1): 

 

A special event use permit is required for the sale of alcoholic beverages for certain events which would 

otherwise require a retailer or retail dealer’s license. The Commissioner shall specify by rule or regulation the 

events that shall qualify for a special event use permit; provided, however, that estate sales, the sale of inventory 

authorized under a bankruptcy proceeding, and activities that are similar in nature shall so qualify. Such permit 

shall not be valid for more than 10 days. 

 

Required Documents  

 

1. Copy of Local License / Letter of Approval 

http://dor.georgia.gov/special-event-profit
http://dor.georgia.gov/sites/dor.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/ATD/Form/2013%20Secure%20and%20Verifiable%20Document%20Listing.pdf
http://dor.georgia.gov/sites/dor.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/ATD/Form/2013%20Secure%20and%20Verifiable%20Document%20Listing.pdf
http://dor.georgia.gov/special-event-non-profit
http://dor.georgia.gov/sites/dor.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/ATD/Form/2013%20Secure%20and%20Verifiable%20Document%20Listing.pdf
http://dor.georgia.gov/sites/dor.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/ATD/Form/2013%20Secure%20and%20Verifiable%20Document%20Listing.pdf


 

2. Power of Attorney (If Applicable) 

3. O.C.G.A 50-3-1 (e)(2) - Citizenship Affidavit 

4. Secure and Verifiable Documents 

 

License Fee(s) 

 

1. $100.00 - Distilled Spirits 

2. $50.00 - Malt Beverage 

3. $50.00 - Wine 

 

 

Helpful Links: 

1. http://dor.georgia.gov/special-event-use 

2. http://dor.georgia.gov/sites/dor.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/ATD/Form/2013%20Secure%2

0and%20Verifiable%20Document%20Listing.pdf 

 

 

 

Special Event Wine Auction (O.C.G.A. § 3-9-4): 

 

A bona fide non-profit civic organization (an entity which is exempt from federal income tax) may apply 

for a non-profit special event permit to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, or to sell wine 

at retail for off-premises consumption, or both, for a period not to exceed 3 consecutive days. No more than 6 

permits will be issued to an organization in any one calendar year. All other permits will be issued as for (profit) 

at regular permit fee. 

  

Required Documents 

 

1. 501(c)(3) letter issued by the IRS or by-laws & corporate Charter from the Secretary of State's Office 

2. Donated Wine Auction Inventory List 

3. Copy of Local License / Letter of Approval 

4. Power of Attorney (If Applicable) 

5. O.C.G.A 50-3-1 (e)(2) - Citizenship Affidavit 

6. Secure and Verifiable Documents 

 

License Fee(s) 

 

1. $25.00 - License Fee 

 

 

Helpful Links: 

1. http://dor.georgia.gov/special-event-wine-auction 

2. http://dor.georgia.gov/sites/dor.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/ATD/Form/2013%20Secure%2

0and%20Verifiable%20Document%20Listing.pdf 

 

http://dor.georgia.gov/special-event-use
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