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necessarily reflect the official procedure and
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the Department’s official interpretation of the laws
of the State of Georgia. The applicability to
specific situations must be determined on a case-
by-case basis.
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CAVEAT 2018 EXEMPTIONS 

HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS

• Including VA and Income requirements

Qualification requirements for Tax Exempt 
Properties
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HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS
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HOMESTEAD ACT OF 1937
Began Jan 1, 1938

Amount of exemption = $2,000 (S1)
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HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION TODAY????
Standard (S1) homestead is still $2000,
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1938: ‘S1’ Homestead Act of 1937: $2,000
1957: ‘S5’ Disabled veteran homestead exemption
1964: ‘S4’ Elderly homestead age 65 $4,000
1974: ‘S3’ Elderly homestead age 62 $10,000
1994: ‘SS’ Surviving Spouse of Service member homestead
1995: ‘S6’ Floating Homestead age 62 $30,000
2006: ‘SC’ Elderly age 65 total state homestead
2006: ‘SG’ Surviving spouse of peace officer homestead

Additions over the years….
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Application
Legal Resident

Ownership
Occupancy

Age
Disability
Income

QUALIFICATION PROCESS
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Definitions

(1) Applicant means a person who is
(A) an individual
(B) a resident of this state as defined 
in 40-5-1

‘individual’ is further defined 
in law as……
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Individual

• (i) A married individual living with his or her spouse



Georgia Department of Revenue

Individual continued

• (ii) an individual who is unmarried but who 
permanently maintains a home for the benefit 
of one or more individuals who are related to 
such individual or dependent wholly or 
partially upon such individual for support
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Individual continued

• (iii) an individual who is widowed having 
one or more children and maintaining a 
home occupied by himself or herself and 
the child or children
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Individual continued
• (iv) a divorced 

individual living in 
a bona fide state 
of separation and 
having legal 
custody of one or 
more children, 
when the divorced 
individual owns 
and maintains a 
home for the child 
or children
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Individual continued

• (v) an individual who is unmarried or is 
widowed and who permanently maintains a 
home owned and occupied by himself or 
herself
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Individual continued

(B) A resident of this state
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RESIDENT means …

A person who has a permanent home …in Georgia 
– who accepts employment; or  
– who enters children in schools; or 
– who has been present in GA for 30+ days;

EXCEPT… no person shall be considered a resident 
unless such person is either
– a United States citizen; or 
– an alien with legal authorization from Immigration 

and Naturalization. 17
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Application:  failure to file is a waiver of exemption
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Real property owned by and in possession of 
the applicant on January 1 of the taxable year 

and upon which the applicant resides

Homestead definition …
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Homestead continued
• Term homestead includes:

– (A) The actual permanent place of residence of an 
individual who is the applicant and which constitutes the 
home of the family

– (B) Where applicant holds fee title (although subject to 
mortgage or debt deed), estate for life, or contract of 
purchase

– (C) Where building is occupied primarily as a dwelling
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Homestead continued
• Term homestead includes:

– (D) Where children of deceased or incapacitated parents 
occupy the homestead of their parents and one of the 
children stands in relation of applicant

– (E) Where husband or wife occupies a dwelling and the 
title is in the name of the wife
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Homestead continued
• Term homestead includes:

– (F) In the event a dwelling is 
destroyed by fire, flood, storm, or 
other unavoidable accident or is 
demolished or repaired so that the 
owner is compelled to reside 
temporarily in another place, the 
dwelling shall continue to be 
classed as a homestead for a 
period of one year after the 
occurrence.

Presenter
Presentation Notes
Tax Assessors tend to forget about this one.
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Homestead continued

• Term homestead includes:

– (G) In the event an applicant owns two or more 
dwelling houses, he shall be allowed the exemption 
granted by law on only one of the houses. Only one 
homestead shall be allowed to one immediate 
family group.
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Homestead continued
• Term homestead includes:

– (H) Where property is owned and occupied jointly by two 
or more individuals all of whom occupy the home and if 
the property is otherwise entitled to a homestead 
exemption, the homestead may be claimed in the names of 
the joint owners. 
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Homestead continued

• Term homestead includes:

– (I) The permanent place of residence of an individual in the 
armed forces. Any such residence shall be construed to be 
actually occupied as the place of abode when the family 
resides in the home
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Homestead continued

• Term homestead includes:

– (J) Absence of an individual from his residence because of 
duty in armed forces shall not be considered as a waiver 
upon the part of the individual applying for a homestead 
exemption. Any family member or friend may notify the tax 
office of the individual’s absence.
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Homestead continued

• Term homestead includes:

– (K) The homestead exempted must be actually occupied 
as the permanent residence and place of abode by the 
applicant awarded the exemption
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Homestead continued

• Term homestead includes:

– (M) The deed reflecting the ownership of the property for 
which the applicant seeks homestead exemption must be 
recorded in the deed records of the county prior to filing 
the application for homestead.
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Ownership:  deed must be recorded prior to application
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Homestead continued

• (N) Absence of an individual from their residence 
because of health reasons shall not…be considered 
as a waiver…of the individual applying for homestead 
if all other qualifications are met.
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Homestead Exemption Basics
• BOA sets appraisal value (FMV)
• Homestead exemption amounts are based on assessed 

values (40%)
• FMV = 100,000
• 40% = 40,000
• HS Ex = 2,000
• Taxable value = 38,000
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48-5-44 Homestead occupied by owner

• Homestead actually occupied by the 
owner as a residence is exempted from
– County Maintenance & Operation = 2000
– County School = 2000
– County Bond = 0
– City School = 0
– City Tax = 0
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Homestead Exemption Application 
Procedures

48-5-46 – Procedure for Application
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48-5-46 Procedure for Application

• Application form provided by DOR
• Complete description of property, when acquired, 

kind of title, amount of liens, etc
• Form of oath required
• County Tax Commissioner provides forms to 

applicant.
• Applicant must answer all questions correctly
• County Tax Commissioner receives and preserves 

the applications.
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Affidavit on application

 

Occupancy:
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§ 48-5-47 – Applications for Homestead 
Exemptions of Individuals 65 or older
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48-5-47
• 65 years of age or over

• Income requirements: may not exceed 10,000 
(Georgia Net Income)

• County = $4,000 / School = $10,000

• Application requires SSN
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48-5-47
Income Requirements

• The applicant and the spouse 
• Income from retirement sources, pensions, and 

disability income is excluded up to the maximum 
amount allowed…under the federal Social Security 
Act.

• The social security maximum benefit for 2017 is 
$64,488.
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48-5-47
Income Requirements

• The owner must notify the county tax commissioner 
if for any reason they no longer meet the 
requirements for this exemption.

• The tax commissioner or receiver shall be authorized 
to have the statement of income of any applicant 
verified by the department upon sending the social 
security number of a claimant to the department.
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§ 48-5-52. Exemption from ad valorem taxation 
for educational purposes of homesteads of 
qualified individuals 62 or older
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48-5-52
• 62 years of age or over

• Income requirements: may not exceed 10,000 
(Georgia Net Income)

• County = $2,000 (Standard) / School = $10,000

• Application requires SSN
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48-5-52
Income Requirements

• The owner must notify the county tax commissioner 
if for any reason they no longer meet the 
requirements for this exemption.

• The tax commissioner or receiver shall be authorized 
to have the statement of income of any applicant 
verified by the department upon sending the social 
security number of a claimant to the department.
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48-5-47.1 – Homestead Exemptions for 
Individuals 62 or older with annual incomes 

not exceeding $30,000

aka (Floating Inflation-Proof Exemption)
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48-5-47.1 Over age 62 Homestead Exemptions 

• Exemption from county tax (except bond)

• If the appraised value of the home has increased by 
more than $10,000

• Income not exceeding $30,000 (Federal Gross Income)

• County = “Floating” / School = $2,000 (Standard)

• Must be at least 62 years old
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48-5-47.1 Over age 62 Homestead Exemptions 

• Base value = value in year prior to year of 
application

• Exemption = current year value – base year

• This exemption shall not apply to taxes assessed 
on improvements to the homestead or additional 
land that is added to the homestead after January 1 
of the base year
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1. 100 percent service connected disability or less than 100% 
but paid at 100% due to unemployability; 

2. Disabled due to: 
• the loss of both lower extremities 
• blindness in both eyes, together with the loss of one 

lower extremity; 
• Loss of one lower extremity together with residuals of 

organic disease; 
3. Constitution of Georgia of 1976; 
4. Loss of one lower extremity together with the loss of one 

upper extremity; or 
5. Eligible for assistance in acquiring housing under Section 

2101 of Title 38

Disabled Veteran:
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48-5-48 Disabled Veteran

• Un-remarried surviving spouse or minor 
children of disabled veteran

• 2017 Exemption $$77,307
• County, municipal, school – all of it
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Disabled Veteran cont.:

Such amount under federal law is 
adjusted annually by the United States 
Secretary of Veterans Affairs for the rate 
of inflation regarding the average cost of 
real property construction.
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Disabled Veteran cont.:
• (d) cont.:In the event a disabled veteran who would 

otherwise be entitled to the exemption dies or 
becomes incapacitated to the extent that he or she 
cannot personally file for such exemption, the 
spouse, the unremarried surviving spouse, or the 
minor children at the time of the disabled veteran's 
death may file for the exemption and such exemption 
may be granted as if the disabled veteran had made 
personal application therefor.
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Douglas BTA v. Sabrina Bryan ET AL
• Local Superior Court Decision

• Douglas BTA denied an exemption for Veteran’s Disability 
homestead because it was applied for in August 2015, after 
the April 1 deadline.

• The Federal Government did not declare the taxpayer 
disabled until August retroactive to 2014.
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Douglas BTA v. Sabrina Bryan ET AL
Superior Court found:
1. The General Assembly and the people of this state sought to confer 

unique and special benefits to disabled veterans.
2. The April 1 deadline in O.C.G.A. 48-5-45 does not state that it applies 

to the Veterans Disability Homestead Exemption; it explicitly applies 
to the General Homestead Exemption found in O.C.G.A. 48-5-44. 
Neither is expressly dependent upon the other.

3. The issue is whether the court should establish a deadline for the 
Veterans Disability Homestead Exemption when the General 
Assembly and the people by popular vote did not and could have 
done so.  The answer is no.

4. Thus the court granted the full Veterans Disability Homestead 
Exemption for the 2015 tax year.
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• (g)(1) If a disabled veteran receives a final 
determination of disability from the United States 
Department of Veterans Affairs containing a 
retroactive period of eligibility… shall be entitled to a 
refund of the ad valorem taxes paid during such 
period that he or she or his or her surviving unremarried
spouse or minor children would have otherwise been 
exempt from such taxes pursuant to this Code section, 
provided that the refund shall only be for the three 
tax years preceding his or her or his or her surviving 
unremarried spouse's or minor children's application for 
the homestead exemption permitted by this Code 
section.

52

New 2017
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What if the Veteran never applied for 
homestead prior?

• The veteran would qualify now and going 
forward.

• No refund shall be awarded.
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Application:  failure to file is a waiver of exemption
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§ 48-5-48.4. Homestead exemption for unremarried 
surviving spouse of peace officer or firefighter killed in 

the line of duty

• Each resident of the state who is the unremarried 
surviving spouse of a peace officer or firefighter who 
was killed in the line of duty is granted an exemption 
on that person's homestead from all ad valorem 
taxes for the full value of that homestead.
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§ 48-5-52.1. Exemption from ad valorem taxation…of 
unremarried surviving spouses of U.S. 

servicemembers killed in action

• The unremarried surviving spouse of a member of the 
armed forces who was killed in or died as a result of any 
war or armed conflict will be granted a homestead 
exemption from all ad valorem taxes for county, municipal 
and school purposes in the amount of $60,000 plus an 
additional sum.
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§ 48-5-52.1. Exemption from ad valorem taxation…of 
unremarried surviving spouses of U.S. 

servicemembers killed in action

• The additional sum is determined according to an index 
rate set by United States Secretary of Veterans Affairs. 
The amount for 2017 is $77,307. 

• The surviving spouse will continue to be eligible for the 
exemption as long as they do not remarry
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48-5-54. Application of homestead exemptions to properties with 
multiple titleholders and properties held by administrators, 
executors, or trustees.

• properties the legal title to which is vested in one or 
more titleholders if actually occupied by one or more 
of such owners as a residence

• exemptions shall be granted to such properties if 
claimed in the manner provided by law by one or more 
of the owners actually residing on such property

• exemptions shall also extend to those homesteads the 
title to which is vested in an administrator, executor, 
or trustee if one or more of the heirs or cestui que 
uses residing on such property 58
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48-5-54. Application of homestead exemptions to properties with 
multiple titleholders and properties held by administrators, 
executors, or trustees.

• The failure to file properly the application and schedule shall not 
be cause for waiver of the exemption where such waiver arises 
because of an administrator's or executor's deed transferring the 
property to a surviving spouse. 

• In the case of a base year assessed value homestead exemption, 
so long as the surviving spouse otherwise meets the 
requirements specified for such exemption and makes proper 
application upon approval of such application the exemption 
shall be continued with the same base year assessed value as 
had been established for the deceased spouse of such surviving 
spouse
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48-5-51. Fraudulent claim of homestead exemption under Code 
Sections 48-5-44 through 48-5-50; penalty.

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to: 

(1) Make any false or fraudulent claim for exemption

(2) Make any false statement or false representation of a material fact in 
support of a claim for exemption

(3) Assist another knowingly in the preparation of any false or fraudulent claim 
for exemption

(b) Any person who violates this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. In 
addition, the property shall be taxed in an amount double the tax otherwise to 
be paid. 

S1, S4, S6, S5, SG
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• Income and disability determinations are difficult.
• Confidential records
• Local legislation tied to state or federal income tax 

law can affect the property tax digest as income tax 
laws change

• Homestead audits

Issues:
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48-5-49. Determination of eligibility of applicant; appeal.

• Official receiving application shall determine  
eligibility and shall then transfer application to board 
of tax assessors for final determination. 

• Applicant shall have the right of appeal …provided 
in 48-5-311.
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Masters v. Dekalb
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Masters v. Dekalb
Sandra H. Masters and her husband owned a home in Dekalb County since 1978.  They separated 

in 1992 but were never divorced.  
In 1998, Sandra Masters received full title to the Dekalb property and she applied for homestead.  
Mr. Masters moved to Glynn County and applied for and received homestead there in 2001.

In 2008 Dekalb County BTA removed Sandra Masters homestead and charged her back taxes 
from 2002 to 2007

The Supreme Court found:
1. A home occupied by a married person separated from his or her spouse may be subject 

to homestead – but only one exemption is extended to a married couple.
2. Sandra Masters applied for and received homestead since 1998; she had no intention of 

changing that homestead to Glynn County where her husband resided;  The Glynn County 
exemption request of Mr. Masters should have been denied.

3. The trial court ruling was reversed – and Sandra Masters homestead was determined to 
be valid.
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CAVEAT 2018 EXEMPTIONS 

Qualification requirements for Tax Exempt 
Properties

65
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ALL PUBLIC PROPERTY
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All places of burial;
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City of Atlanta v. Crest Lawn
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City of Atlanta v. Crest Lawn cont.
• Nonprofit cemetary corporation owning 6 tracts of land. Tract 1 

has been developed for burial sites.  Tract 1 also has an 
administration building and maintenance building with tool house.

• The other 5 tracts have not yet been developed and are held for 
future development for cemetery purposes.

• Tract 1 was found to be exempt from taxation while all other tracts 
were subject to ad valorem taxes.
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City of Atlanta v. Crest Lawn cont.
• The real issues of this case were if undeveloped areas 

of the property could be exempt.
• Tract 1 also had undeveloped areas which were of 

historical value since it was the site of one of the last 
points of defense under General Joe Johnson in the 
Battle of Atlanta.

• The Court defines a cemetery as a “place where human 
bodies are buried, and land for use as a cemetery 
whether occupied by graves or not.”

• When a tract of land has been dedicated as a cemetery, 
it is devoted to the burial of the dead and may not have 
any other use.
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City of Atlanta v. Crest Lawn cont.
• Georgia Supreme Court states
• “Our civilization has respect for the burying-places of its dead, 

and one way that this respect is shown is by the exemption of 
burial places from taxation.  One reason perhaps why cemeteries 
are exempt from taxation is the difficulty of collecting a tax 
thereon and the obvious impropriety of selling the graves of the 
dead in order to pay the expenses of carrying on the government 
of the living.”
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All places of religious worship
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Place of Religious Worship
48-5-41. Property exempt from taxation.
(a)The following property shall be exempt from all ad valorem property taxes 

in this state: 

(2.1) (A) All places of religious worship; … 
(B) All property owned by and used exclusively as a church…..

(d) (1) …. shall not apply to real estate or buildings which are rented, leased, 
or otherwise used for the primary purpose of securing an income 
thereon and shall not apply to real estate or buildings which are not used 
for the operation of religious, educational, and charitable institutions. …
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Roberts v. Ravenwood Church of Wicca
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Roberts v. Ravenwood Church of Wicca cont.
• While some rooms in the home where rented to members of the church.  The 

home itself was still the place for worship.  The court had concluded that the 
tax exemption was not lost since the building is used primarily as a place for 
worship.

• The court defined religion as a (1) sincere and meaningful belief in God 
occupying in the life of its possessors a place parallel to that occupied by 
God in traditional religions, and (2) a dedication to the practice of that belief.

• Not to say only traditional religions qualify.  One need look no further than 
the guarantee of freedom of religion contained in the First Amendment of the 
United States Constitution.
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Pickens v. Atlanta Baptist Association
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Pickens v. Atlanta Baptist Association cont. 
• This tract was 640 acres of land in Pickens county.  Appealed under the 

grounds that the property was used as a place of religious worship.
• Several improvements on the property including worship facilities, a dining 

hall, indoor and outdoor meeting spaces, a swimming pool and ball fields. 
With 1/3 of the total acreage is unimproved and used for nature walks and 
outdoor Bible study and meditation.

• The court states that “All of the essential elements of ‘religious worship’ had 
been shown to exist with reference to the undeveloped land as well as the 
developed land. Stating that the presence of the omnipotent and 
omnipresent God cannot be restricted to a mere man made edifice, surely it 
was not intended to limit the worship of such a God to a building.”
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First Congregational Church v. Fulton BTA
o First Congregational purchased a vacant 

lot for $250,000; paved 64 spaces; and 
entered a lease agreement with a private 
company.

o The church used the lot on Sundays and 
received rent on the other six days of the 
week in the amount of $90,000 per year

o The court of appeals ruled that the 
property is taxable since the PRIMARY USE 
of the property was income production.
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Dekalb BTA v. Presbytery of Greater Atlanta
o Presbytery rented to Kingdom Fellowship 

Christian Church (KFCC) for $1000/mth
o Market rent was $5000/mth
o Kingdom Fellowship used the property as a 

place of religious worship
o BTA taxed the property because it was being 

used to produce rental income
o Court of Appeals ruled the property was 

exempt …PRIMARY USE governs the analysis 
of the exemption as a ‘place of religious 
worship’
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Property owned by religious groups and 
used for single-family residences - when no 

income is derived from the property :
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All institutions of purely public 
charity
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Institutions of Purely Public Charity
1991 - YORK RITE BODIES V. CHATHAM CO. BOARD OF EQUALIZATION.
In determining whether property qualifies as an institution of "purely 

public charity” three factors must be considered and must coexist:

1.  First, the owner must be an institution devoted entirely to charitable 
pursuits; 

2.  Second, the charitable pursuits of the owner must be for the benefit of 
the public; 

3.  Third, the use of the property must be exclusively devoted to those 
charitable pursuits.
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Clarke v. Nuci Phillips Foundation
Charitable Purpose

– Safe place where musicians can practice and 
listen to music, drink coffee and attend 
support groups for depression.

– Students are referred to low-cost therapy.
Income

– Facility is rented for private birthday parties, 
wedding receptions and rehearsal space.
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Purely Public Charity – amendments
• 2006 – statewide vote…real estate…owned by 

charity…used exclusively for charitable purpose…may 
be used for …securing income…

• 2007 – legislative amendment…a building …owned by 
charitable institution that is otherwise qualified as a 
purely public charity…IRS 501(c)(3)…and not more than 
15 acres…may be used for …securing income…

There are over 80,000 non-profit 
501(c)(3) organizations registered to Georgia



Georgia Department of Revenue

HOPE Through Divine Intervention v. Fulton BTA

• HOPE is a non-profit entity that provides 
housing and self-development services to 
people with a history of drug abuse, 
criminal behavior and homelessness.

• They purchased a ‘gutted’ 40-unit 
apartment complex and intended to 
remodel to provide permanent housing to 
special needs families.

• The Court of Appeals ruled that during the 
construction phase, the property was 
taxable since the USE of the property DID 
NOT meet the York Rite test required for 
“institutions of purely public charity”
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Habitat for Humanity
How does it work?

Through volunteer labor and donations, Habitat 
builds and rehabilitates simple, decent 
houses alongside our homeowner (partner) 
families. 

Habitat is not a giveaway program. In addition 
to a down payment and monthly mortgage 
payments, homeowners invest hundreds of 
hours of their own labor (sweat equity) into 
building their Habitat house and the houses 
of others. 

Habitat houses are sold to partner families at 
no profit and financed with affordable loans. 

The homeowners’ monthly mortgage payments 
are used to build still more Habitat houses.
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Fulton County BOA v.
vs. Piedmont Park Conservancy
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All BUILDINGS erected for and used as a 
college, incorporated academy, or other 

seminary of learning
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PROPERTY that is owned by an 
historical fraternal benefit association

“fraternal benefit association” 501(c)(10)
• Representative form of government
• Lodge system with a ritualistic form of work for the 

meeting of its chapters or subordinate bodies
• Founding organization received its charter form the 

General Assembly of Georgia prior to January 1, 1880.
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Masons – Usually Exempt


	For Educational Purposes Only:  The material within is intended to give the course participant a solid understanding of general principles in the subject area.  As such, the material may not necessarily reflect the official procedure and policies of the Georgia Department of Revenue or the Department’s official interpretation of the laws of the State of Georgia.  The applicability to specific situations must be determined on a case-by-case basis.
	Slide Number 2
	�CAVEAT 2018 EXEMPTIONS 
	HOMESTEAD EXEMPTIONS�
	HOMESTEAD ACT OF 1937�Began Jan 1, 1938�Amount of exemption = $2,000 (S1)
	HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION TODAY????�Standard (S1) homestead is still $2000,�
	Additions over the years….
	Slide Number 8
	QUALIFICATION PROCESS
	Definitions
	Individual
	Individual continued
	Individual continued
	Individual continued
	Individual continued
	Individual continued
	Slide Number 17
	Application:  failure to file is a waiver of exemption
	Homestead definition …
	Homestead continued
	Homestead continued
	Homestead continued
	Homestead continued
	Homestead continued
	Homestead continued
	Homestead continued
	Homestead continued
	Homestead continued
	Ownership:  deed must be recorded prior to application
	Homestead continued
	Homestead Exemption Basics
	48-5-44 Homestead occupied by owner
	48-5-46 – Procedure for Application
	48-5-46 Procedure for Application
	Occupancy:
	§ 48-5-47 – Applications for Homestead Exemptions of Individuals 65 or older
	48-5-47
	48-5-47
	48-5-47
	�§ 48-5-52. Exemption from ad valorem taxation for educational purposes of homesteads of qualified individuals 62 or older
	48-5-52
	48-5-52
	48-5-47.1 – Homestead Exemptions for Individuals 62 or older with annual incomes not exceeding $30,000��aka (Floating Inflation-Proof Exemption)
	48-5-47.1 Over age 62 Homestead Exemptions 
	48-5-47.1 Over age 62 Homestead Exemptions 
	Disabled Veteran:
	48-5-48 Disabled Veteran
	Disabled Veteran cont.:
	Disabled Veteran cont.:
	Douglas BTA v. Sabrina Bryan ET AL
	Douglas BTA v. Sabrina Bryan ET AL
	Slide Number 52
	What if the Veteran never applied for homestead prior?
	Application:  failure to file is a waiver of exemption
	��§ 48-5-48.4. Homestead exemption for unremarried surviving spouse of peace officer or firefighter killed in the line of duty�
	��§ 48-5-52.1. Exemption from ad valorem taxation…of unremarried surviving spouses of U.S. servicemembers killed in action�
	§ 48-5-52.1. Exemption from ad valorem taxation…of unremarried surviving spouses of U.S. servicemembers killed in action
	�48-5-54. Application of homestead exemptions to properties with multiple titleholders and properties held by administrators, executors, or trustees.
	�48-5-54. Application of homestead exemptions to properties with multiple titleholders and properties held by administrators, executors, or trustees.
	Slide Number 60
	Issues:
	�48-5-49. Determination of eligibility of applicant; appeal.
	Masters v. Dekalb
	Masters v. Dekalb
	�CAVEAT 2018 EXEMPTIONS 
	ALL PUBLIC PROPERTY
	All places of burial;
	City of Atlanta v. Crest Lawn
	City of Atlanta v. Crest Lawn cont.
	City of Atlanta v. Crest Lawn cont.
	City of Atlanta v. Crest Lawn cont.
	All places of religious worship
	Place of Religious Worship
	Roberts v. Ravenwood Church of Wicca
	Roberts v. Ravenwood Church of Wicca cont.
	Pickens v. Atlanta Baptist Association
	Pickens v. Atlanta Baptist Association cont. 
	First Congregational Church v. Fulton BTA
	Dekalb BTA v. Presbytery of Greater Atlanta
	Property owned by religious groups and used for single-family residences - when no income is derived from the property :
	All institutions of purely public charity
	Institutions of Purely Public Charity
	Clarke v. Nuci Phillips Foundation
	Purely Public Charity – amendments
	HOPE Through Divine Intervention v. Fulton BTA
	Habitat for Humanity
	Fulton County BOA v.�vs. Piedmont Park Conservancy
	All BUILDINGS erected for and used as a college, incorporated academy, or other seminary of learning
	PROPERTY that is owned by an historical fraternal benefit association
	Masons – Usually Exempt

