
        Georgia Department of Revenue 

For Educational Purposes Only: 

The material within is intended to give the 
course participant a solid understanding of 
general principles in the subject area.  As such, 
the material may not necessarily reflect the 
official procedures and policies of the Georgia 
Department of Revenue or the Department’s 
official interpretation of the laws of the State of 
Georgia.  The application of applicability to 
specific situations of the theories, techniques, 
and approaches discussed herein must be 
determined on a case-by-case basis. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(o) 
• When a taxpayer authorizes an agent, 

representative, or attorney in writing to act on 
the taxpayer's behalf, and a copy of such 
written authorization is provided to the county 
board of tax assessors, all notices required to 
be provided to the taxpayer under this Code 
section, including those regarding hearing 
times, dates, certifications, notice of changes 
or corrections, or other official actions, shall 
be provided to the taxpayer and the 
authorized agent, representative, or attorney. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(o) 

• The failure to comply with this 

subsection with respect to a notice 

required under this Code section shall 

result in the tolling of any deadline 

imposed on the taxpayer under this 

Code section with respect to that 

notice. 
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48-5-306 

Notice 

of  

Assessment 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-306 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-306(b)(2)(A) 

Options for appeal 

Code section states that arbitration decision may not be 

appealed to superior court. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

48-4-311(f) allows arbitration decision to be appealed to 

superior court 
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(i) An appeal to the county board of equalization with appeal to the superior 

court;  

  

(ii) To arbitration without an appeal to the superior court; or 

  
(iii) For a parcel of nonhomestead property with a fair market value in excess of 

$750,000.00, or for one or more account numbers of wireless property as defined in 

subparagraph (e.1)(1)(B) of Code Section 48-5-311 with an aggregate fair market value in 

excess of $750,000.00, to a hearing officer with appeal to the superior court. 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-306(b)(2)(A) 

Options for appeal 

New criteria for property appealed to Hearing Officer 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(i) An appeal to the county board of equalization with appeal to the 

superior court;  

  

(ii) To arbitration without an appeal to the superior court; or 

  

(iii) For a parcel of nonhomestead property with a fair market value 

in excess of $750,000.00, or for one or more account numbers of 

wireless property as defined in subparagraph (e.1)(1)(B) of Code 

Section 48-5-311 with an aggregate fair market value in excess of 

$750,000.00, to a hearing officer with appeal to the superior court. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-306(b)(2)(B) 

Estimated Taxes 

 

Annual assessment  notice to include statement indicating 

estimate of tax bill based on previous or most applicable 

year’s millage rate. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-306(d)(1) 
Request for assessment information 

• Notwithstanding the provisions of Code Section 50-18-71, in the case of all 
public records and information of the county board of tax assessors pertaining to 
the appraisal and assessment of real property: 

 

• (1) The taxpayer may request, and the county board of tax 
assessors shall provide within ten business days, copies of such 
public records and information, including, but not limited to, 

• a description of the methodology used by the board of tax 
assessors in setting the property's fair market value,  

• all documents reviewed in making the assessment, the address and 
parcel identification number of all real property utilized as qualified 
comparable properties, and all factors considered in establishing the 
new assessment,  

• at a uniform copying fee not to exceed 25¢ per page 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-306(d)(3)(A) 
Request for assessment information 

 

 Superior courts shall have jurisdiction to enforce 

compliance 

 

 either party acted without substantial 

justification either in not complying with this 

subsection or in instituting the litigation 

 

 reasonable attorney's fees and other litigation 

costs reasonably incurred 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(1)(A.1)&(B.3) 
Assertion of Value 

Appeal form established by the commissioner shall 

require the initial assertion of a valuation of the property 

by the taxpayer…..may be later amended or revised by 

submission of written evidence to the Board of Assessors 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(1)(B.1) 
Taxpayer submitted appraisal 

• Taxpayer may submit an appraisal certified by a real 

property appraiser classified by the Georgia Real Estate 

Commission and the Georgia Real Estate Appraisers 

Board performed not later than nine months prior to 

date of assessment  

 

• Board of Assessors has 45 days from receipt of 

appraisal to notify taxpayer or representative of the 

acceptance or rejection of appraisal 

• If rejected must state reason for rejection 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(1)(B.2) 

Taxpayer can submit in support of 

appeal most current report of sales ratio 

study pursuant to Code Section 48-5-274 

and tax assessors shall consider such 

sales ratio study upon request of the 

taxpayer 

 

 

No requirement for response 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(1)(B.4) 

Consolidation of Appeals 

If more than one property of a taxpayer is under 

appeal, the board of equalization, arbitrator, or 

hearing officer, as the case may be, shall, upon 

request of the taxpayer, consolidate all such 

appeals in one hearing and shall announce 

separate decisions as to each parcel or item of 

property 

 
Being contiguous not required 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(1)(B.4) 

Consolidation of Appeals 

 

 shall announce separate decisions as to each parcel or 

item of property 

 

 Any appeal from such a consolidated hearing to the 

superior court …….shall constitute a single civil action 

and, unless the taxpayer specifically so indicates in the 

taxpayer's notice of appeal, shall apply to all such 

parcels or items of property. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(1)(A) 

Who? 

- Any taxpayer or property owner as of the last 

date for filing an appeal may elect to file an 

appeal from an assessment …… 

 

When? 

- filing with the county board of tax assessors a 

notice of appeal within 45 days from the date of 

mailing the notice  
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          Board 

             of  

    Equalization  
 

 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

Matters appealable to the Board of Equalization  

• Value  

• Uniformity of assessment 

• Taxability 

• Denial of homestead exemptions  

• Denial of Covenant 

• Breach of Covenant 

• Denial of Freeport 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(2)(C) 

New 30 day form! 

The commissioner shall 

develop and make 

available to county 

boards of tax assessors 

a suitable form which 

shall be used in such 

notification to the 

taxpayer 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(3)(A) 
• Upon receipt of appeal to BOE  

– Beginning of the 180 day review period 

• Must notify the taxpayer of any changes or 
corrections within 180 days, or 

 

• If BOA fails to act in timely manner, taxpayers 
asserted value (Return or Notice of Appeal) shall 
become the final fair market value 

• No Assertion of Value – Appeal forwarded to BOE 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(3)(B) 
180 Extension 

3% or more of total number of parcels under 

appeal 

Or 

Current assessed value of parcels under appeal 

equal to or greater than 3% of gross tax digest 

 

Board of assessors shall be granted an additional 

180 days to make its determinations 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(3)(B) 

BOA shall notify each affected taxpayer of the 

additional 180 day review period by mail or 

electronic communication, including posting 

notice on the website. 

 

DOR does not certify that 3% level has been 

reached only post on website that county has 

declared this additional time to process 

appeals 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(3)(B) 

If assessor fails to review the appeal and 

notify taxpayer of changes or corrections 

within the additional 180 days, the property 

valuation asserted by taxpayer (Return or 

Notice of Appeal) shall become the final fair 

market value. 

 

 No Assertion of Value – Appeal forwarded to 

 BOE 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(3)(C) 

Upon a sufficient showing of good cause by 

reason of unforeseen circumstances proven to the 

commissioner prior to the expiration of the 

additional 180 days…the commissioner is 

authorized to provide for a time extension 

which shall be specified in writing and posted on 

the website of the county board of assessors.. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(3)(C) 

If assessor fails to review the appeal and notify 

taxpayer of changes or corrections within the 

additional time provided by the commissioner, the 

property valuation asserted by taxpayer shall 

become the final fair market value. 
 

 No Assertion of Value – Appeal forwarded to 

 BOE 

 

In addition, the commissioner is authorized to 

require additional training or remediation. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e) 
• If appeal filed, BOA must review appeal 

 

• No value change – forward appeal to Appeal 

Administrator and notify taxpayer 

 

• Value change – Send 30 day notice of 

assessment for taxpayer to review. 

 

• Taxpayer notifies BOA to continue appeal to 

Board of Equalization 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

Within 15 days of the receipt of appeal, BOE shall set 

hearing date  

 

Date shall be within 30 days 

but not earlier than 20 days 

from the date of notification 

 

48-5-311(e)(6)(A) 

Notice shall be sent by first-

class mail to taxpayer and 

authorized agent  

 

Notice shall be sent by e-mail (if 

adopted by BOA), first-class 

mail or intergovernmental mail 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e)(6)(A) 

Notice shall advise that each may request  

– a list of witnesses 

– documents 

– other written evidence  

Request must be made 10 days prior to hearing  

(Regulation 560-11-12-.02) 

Shall be provided to requesting party 7 days prior to 

the time of the hearing 

• failure to comply shall be grounds for an automatic 

continuance or for exclusion of such witness, 
documents, or other written evidence 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

 Taxpayer or authorized agent or 

representative, or both may appear 

concerning any appeal 

 

 Taxpayer shall specify in writing to the 

BOE the name of any such agent or 

representative prior to hearing  

   (Time frame for notification – local BOE policy) 

 

48-5-311(e)(6)(A) Page 12  
 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• The county board of tax assessors shall 

have the burden of proof in regards to 

value, not taxability. 

–  If a hearing is being held regarding a 

property tax exemption…the party seeking 

….exemption shall have the burden of 

proving entitlement. 

 

• The county board of tax assessors shall present its 

case first, unless a taxpayer elects to present first. 

 
560-11-12-.02 Nature of the Proceeding; Hearing 
Procedure; Burden of Proof. 

 
 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

…..board of equalization shall 

announce its decision on each 

appeal at the conclusion of the 

hearing ……before proceeding 
with another hearing 

 

48-5-311(e)(6)(D)(i) Page 13  
 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

BOE Decisions …. 

• 3 members must be present and 

participate 

 

• majority vote required 

 

• all members shall sign the decision to 

indicate their vote 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

Decisions delivered…. 

 

• By hand to each party with written receipt  

or 

• By registered or certified mail or statutory 

overnight delivery to the appellant, and 

    filing the original copy with the county BOA 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

If at any time during the appeal process to the county 
board of equalization and after  certification  by  the  
county  board  of  tax  assessors  to  the  county  board  
of equalization, the county board of tax assessors and 
the taxpayer mutually agree in writing on the fair 
market value, then the county board of tax assessors, 
or the county board of equalization, as the case may 
be, shall enter the agreed amount in all appropriate 
records as the fair market value of the property under 
appeal, and the appeal shall be concluded. The 
provisions in subsection (c) of Code Section 48-5-299 
shall apply to the valuation unless otherwise waived by 
both parties 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

SB 258    -    2016 legislation 

(9) Notwithstanding any other provision of law 

to the contrary, on any real property tax appeal 

made under this Code section on and after 

January 1, 2016, the assessed value being 

appealed may be lowered by the deciding body 

based upon the evidence presented but cannot 

be increased from the amount assessed by the 

county board of tax assessors. 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

SB 258    -    2016 legislation 

This subsection shall not apply to any 

appeal where the taxpayer files an 

appeal during a time when subsection 

(c) of Code Section 48-5-299 is in 

effect for the assessment being 

appealed. 
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Hearing Officers 

48-5-311(e.1) 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 
 

48-5-311(e.1)(1)(A)& (B)(ii) 

Hearing Officer Appeals 

• Value and Uniformity 

• Value in excess of $750,000 

–Non-Homestead real property  

–Wireless property 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

Hearing Officer / Property Types  

Nonhomestead Real Property – with a value in 
excess of $750,000 

 

If such taxpayer owns nonhomestead real 
property contiguous to such qualified 
nonhomestead real property, at the option of 
the taxpayer, such contiguous property may be 
consolidated with the qualified property for 
purposes of the hearing under this subsection. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

 

Contiguous property 

Parcel 1 

$800,000 

Parcel 2 

$250,000 Parcel 3 

$100,000 

Consolidated with qualified property for 

purposes of the hearing 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

Hearing Officer / Property Types  

Wireless Property – with an aggregate fair market 

value in excess of $750,000.00 as shown on the 

taxpayer's annual notice of current assessment 

under Code Section 48-5-306 

 

personal property or equipment used directly for the 

provision of wireless services by a provider of wireless 

services which is attached to or is located underneath a 

wireless cell tower or at a network data center location but 

which is not permanently affixed to such tower or data 

center so as to constitute a fixture. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e.1)(2) 

Who can serve? 
 

Real Property…. state certified general real property 

appraisers or state certified residential real property 

appraisers as classified by GREAB 

 

Wireless Property….designated appraisers by a nationally 

recognized appraiser's organization for wireless property 

appeals   
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e.1)(2) & (11) 

Hearing Officer training… 

– Initial 8 hr class 

– Annual 4 hr update 

– GREAB shall annually publish a list of 

qualified and approved hearing officers  

• 2015  - 66 Hearing Officers 

• 2016  - 28 Hearing Officers 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e.1)(4) & (5) 

• Taxpayer appeals NOA…selects hearing 

officer as appeal forum 

 

• BOA has 90 days to review appeal 
- If changes are made…30 day notice 

- If taxpayer continues appeal…BOA has 30 days 

from taxpayers notice to file appeal with Appeal 

Administrator 

- Taxpayer may elect to forward appeal to BOE 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e.1)(5) 

• BOA has 90 days to review appeal 
- If no changes are made…30 day notice 

 

- Taxpayer may elect to forward appeal to BOE 

 

- Upon the expiration of 30 notice, the BOA shall 

certify the notice of appeal … all necessary papers 

to the appeal administrator for the appeal to the 

hearing officer, or board of equalization if elected 

by the taxpayer, and mail a copy to the taxpayer. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e.1)(6)(A) 

Who picks? 
- the taxpayer and the county board of tax 

assessors mutually agree  

- appeal administrator shall randomly select from 

GREAB list  

shall have experience or expertise in hearing or 

appraising the type of property that is the subject 

of appeal  

- If no Hearing Officer is found who is willing to serve 

appeal administrator shall forward to BOE 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e.1)(6)(A) 

• Hearing officer, in conjunction with all 

parties to the appeal, shall set a time and 

place to hear evidence and testimony from 

both parties.   

 

• The hearing shall take place in the county 

where the property is located, or such 

other place as mutually agreed to by the 

parties and the hearing officer 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e.1)(6)(A) 

• …shall provide … notice…not less than ten days 

before the hearing 

- documents  

- other written evidence  

• must be provided to the other party not less than seven 

days prior to the time of the hearing  

 

• failure to comply with this requirement shall be grounds 

for an automatic continuance or for exclusion of such 

documents or other written evidence. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e.1)(7) 

The Hearing…. 

Hearing officer shall ….. 
‒ swear in all witnesses,  

‒ perform the powers, duties, and authority of a BOE, 

‒ determine the fair market value of the property ….based 

upon the testimony and evidence presented during the 

hearing.  

The board of tax assessors shall have the burden of 

proving its opinion of value and the validity of its 

proposed assessment by a preponderance of 

evidence.  
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e.1)(7) 

The Hearing…. 

At the conclusion hearing officer shall 

‒ notify both parties of the decision verbally  

     and  

‒ send both parties the decision in writing  

     or  

‒ deliver the decision by hand to each party, 

with written receipt 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e.1)(9) 
If, at any time during the appeal under this subsection, the 

taxpayer and the county board of tax assessors execute a 

signed written agreement on the fair market value and any 

other issues raised,: the appeal shall terminate as of the 

date of such signed agreement; the fair market value as set 

forth in such agreement shall become final; and subsection 

(c) of CodeSection 48-5-299 shall apply.   

 

 Decision may be appealed by either party to superior 

court  
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(e.1)(10) 

• Each hearing officer shall be compensated by 

the county for time expended in considering 

appeals. The compensation shall be paid at a 

rate of not less than $75.00 per hour for the first 

hour and not less than $25.00 per hour for each 

hour thereafter as determined by the county 

governing authority or as may be agreed upon 

by the parties with the consent of the county 

governing authority.  
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

48-5-311(f) 

Arbitration 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• Appeal….. 

• shall be filed within 45 days from the 

date of mailing the notice 

 

• shall specifically state the grounds for 

arbitration  
 

 

48-5-311(f)(3)(A) Page 17  



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

Within ten days….. 

• of receiving taxpayer's notice of 

arbitration appeal, BOA shall send to 

the taxpayer an acknowledgment of 

receipt of the appeal and a notice that 

the taxpayer shall provide a copy of the 

‘certified appraisal’ 
– No fees mentioned  

 

48-5-311(f)(3)(A) Page 17  



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• 'certified appraisal' means an 

appraisal or appraisal report given, 

signed, and certified as such by a real 

property appraiser as classified by the 

Georgia Real Estate Commission and 

the Georgia Real Estate Appraisers 
Board 

 
48-5-311(f)(1) Page 17  



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

Taxpayer must provide appraisal within 45 days 

receiving letter from BOA  

 

Failure to provide appraisal within such 45 days 

shall terminate appeal  

 

unless the taxpayer, within 45 day period, elects 

to forward appeal to BOE 

 

48-5-311(f)(3)(A) Page 17 & 18  
 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

Within 45 days of receiving appraisal….  

• BOA accepts appraisal….value becomes final  

 

• BOA rejects appraisal….send within ten days of 

the date of such rejection a written notification by 

certified mail to taxpayer and taxpayers 

attorney….appeal continues 

 

- Failure to notify within 10 days – Value becomes final 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• If BOA neither accepts or rejects appraisal 

within 45 days of receipt then value 

becomes final 

 

• If appraisal is rejected then BOA shall 

certify to appeal administrator within 45 

days of BOA rejection 

 

 
48-5-311(f)(3)(A) Page 17 & 18  

 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• If appraisal is rejected then BOA shall certify to 

appeal administrator within 45 days of BOA 

rejection 

 

• BOA also serve the taxpayer and the taxpayer's 

attorney, if any, or employee with  

– a copy of the certification  

– other papers specified by the person seeking 

arbitration 

– civil action file number assigned to the appeal 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• Within 15 days of filing the certification to the 

appeal administrator, the presiding or chief judge 

of the superior …..shall issue an order 

authorizing the arbitration 

 

• BOA …provide to the taxpayer a notice of a 

meeting time and place to decide upon an 

arbitrator, to occur within 60 days after the date 

of sending the rejection of the taxpayer's certified 

appraisal. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

Arbitrator….. 

 

• Chosen by agreement of BOA and taxpayer 

….or…. presiding or chief judge of the 

superior court  

 

• Must be certified state certified general real 

property appraiser or state certified residential 

real property appraiser ….by GREAB 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

Arbitrator….. 

 

• within 30 days of appointment…set a time 
and place to hear evidence and testimony 
from both parties 

 

• ….shall also.. provide written notice to the 
parties personally or by registered or certified 
mail or statutory overnight delivery not less 
than ten days before the hearing 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• …shall advise each party…. 

- documents 

- other written evidence  

• must be provided to the other party not less than seven 

days prior to the time of the hearing  

• unless waived by mutual written agreement, failure to 

comply with this requirement shall be grounds for an 

automatic continuance or for exclusion of such 

documents or other written evidence. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• The arbitrator, in consultation with the parties, may 

adjourn or postpone the hearing.  

 

• the taxpayer shall be authorized to exercise a one-time 

option of changing the date and time of the hearing to a 

date and time acceptable to the taxpayer and the county 

board of tax assessors.  

 

• The presiding or chief judge …may direct the arbitrator to 

proceed promptly with the hearing and the determination 
of the appeal upon application of any party. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• Hearing shall occur in the 

county in which the property is 

located or such other place as 

may be agreed 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• In order to determine the fair market value, the 

arbitrator may consider the final value for the 

property submitted by the county board of tax 

assessors at the hearing and the final value 

submitted by the taxpayer at the hearing.  

 

• Whichever party’s value not closest to arbitrator 

value pays for fees and cost of arbitrator 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

At any point, the county board of tax assessors 

and the taxpayer may execute a signed, written 

agreement establishing the fair market value 

without entering into or completing the arbitration 

process. The fair market value as set forth in 

such agreement shall become the final value. 

 

- Decision may be appealed to Superior 

Court by either party 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

 

 

Superior Court 

 

48-5-311(g) 



        Georgia Department of Revenue 

Superior Court may hear appeals  when either 
party within 30 days appeals decision by… 

‒ county board of equalization  

‒ hearing officer 

‒ arbitrator 

 

Also by mutual written agreement by the 
taxpayer and the  county board of  tax  
assessors… without going to one of the above. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

BOA shall not appeal change of 20% or less 

 

 unless written notice to County Governing 

Authority and  

 CGA does not vote to prohibit appeal within 

10 days of receipt of notice. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

Appeal by taxpayer… 

effected by e-mailing, by mailing to or filing with the 
county board of tax assessors a written notice of 
appeal. 
 

Appeal by BOA… 

effected by giving notice to the taxpayer(mailed or 
delivered) 

 

The notice of appeal shall specifically state the 
grounds for appeal 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• Within 45 days of receiving taxpayers 

appeal… 

 

• BOA must notifying taxpayer of “settlement 

conference” and court filing fee required by 

clerk of court 

 

• “Settlement conference” held.….no later than 

30 days from the notice  
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• BOA elects not to participate in meeting 
…taxpayers value is final…frozen subject to 
299(c) 

 

• Taxpayer chooses not to participate ..may not 
seek and shall not be awarded fees and costs at 
such time when the appeal is settled in superior 
court.  

 

• If settlement reached during meeting …agreed 
value is final… frozen subject to 299(c) 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• If no agreement at settlement conference …. 

 

• written notice to taxpayer…filing fees ($25.00) paid 

to clerk of court within ten days of conference 

 

• copy of the check delivered to the BOA 

 

• shall not be subject to any other fees or additional 

costs otherwise required under any provision of Title 
15 or under any other provision of law.  
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• Within 30 days of receipt of proof of payment to the clerk 

of courts,  BOA shall certify …the notice of appeal and 

any other papers specified by the person appealing 

including, but not limited to, the staff information from the 

file used by the county board of tax assessors, the county 

board of equalization, the hearing officer, or the 

arbitrator.  

 

• shall serve the taxpayer and his or her attorney of record, 

if any, with a copy of the notice of appeal and with the 
civil action file number assigned to the appeal. 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 
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        Georgia Department of Revenue 

• The appeal shall constitute a de novo action.  

 

• The board of tax assessors shall have the burden of 

proving its opinions of value and the validity of its 

proposed assessment by a preponderance of evidence.  

 

• Upon a failure of the board of tax assessors to meet such 

burden of proof, the court may.…authorize the finding 

that the value asserted by the board of tax assessors is 

unreasonable and authorize the determination of the final 

value of the property. 
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• The provisions in subsection (c) of Code Section 48-5-

299 shall apply to the valuation, unless otherwise waived 

in writing by both parties, as to: 

  

• (1)   The valuation established or announced by any 

county board of equalization, arbitrator, hearing officer, or 

superior court; and 

 

• (2) Any written agreement or settlement of valuation 

reached by the county board of tax assessors and the 

taxpayer as permitted by this Code section. 
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As part of digest submission counties to include… 

 1) number, 

 2) overall value and  

 3) percentage total  

of all real property parcels under appeal to BOE, arbitration, 
hearing officer and superior court and also  provide “number of 
taxpayers failing to appear at any hearing for the prior tax year” 
 

*Information to be made publicly available on DOR website 

 
Amending Code OCGA 48-5-345 

Digest Statistics 
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Recording of interviews or 

hearings 
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• In the course of any assessment, appeal, or arbitration, 

or any related proceeding, the taxpayer shall be entitled 

to:  

• Have an interview with an officer or employee, that is 

authorized to discuss tax assessments… relating to 

the valuation of the taxpayer's property  

 

• taxpayer may record the interview at the taxpayer's 

expense and with equipment provided by the 
taxpayer…… 
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…..and no such officer or employee of the board of tax 

assessors may refuse to participate in an interview 

relating to such valuation for reason of the taxpayer's 

choice to record such interview;  

 

(B) Record, at the taxpayer's expense and with 

equipment provided by the taxpayer, all 

proceedings before the board of equalization or 
any hearing officer. 
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• granted to the taxpayer within 30 calendar days 

from the postmark date of the taxpayer's written 

request  

• conducted in the office of the board of assessors.  

• within such 30 calendar day period, mutually 

agreed between the taxpayer and the taxing 

authority.   

• The taxing authority may extend the time period 

for the interview an additional 30 days upon 

written notification to the taxpayer. 
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• superior courts of this state shall have 

jurisdiction to enforce  

• directly and without the issue being first 

brought to any administrative procedure or 

hearing  

• awarded damages in the amount of 

$100.00 per occurrence 

• entitled to recover reasonable attorney's 

fees and expenses of litigation 
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48-5-299 - HB202 version 
• (c) When the value of real property is reduced or is 

unchanged from the value on the initial annual 
notice of assessment and such valuation is 
established as the result of either an appeal 
decision rendered pursuant to Code Section 48-5-
311 or stipulated by agreement of the parties to 
such an appeal that this subsection shall apply in 
any year, the valuation so established by appeal 
decision or agreement may not be increased by 
the board of tax assessors during the next two 
successive years, subject to the following 
exceptions:  

• Effective Jan 1st – May 2nd 2016 
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48-5-299 – SB258 version 
• (c) When the value of real property is 

reduced or is unchanged from the value 
on the initial annual notice of assessment 
or a corrected annual notice of 
assessment issued by the board of tax 
assessors and such valuation has been 
established as the result of an appeal 
decision rendered by the board of 
equalization, hearing officer, arbitrator, or 
superior court pursuant to Code Section 
48-5-311…… 
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48-5-299 – SB258 version 
• ….or stipulated by written agreement signed 

by the board of tax assessors and taxpayer 

or taxpayer’s authorized representative, the 

new valuation so established by appeal 

decision or agreement may not be increased 

by the board of tax assessors during the next 

two successive years, unless otherwise 

agreed in writing by both parties, subject to 

the following exceptions: 

• Effective May 3rd 2016 
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1) taxpayer or representative does not attend appeal 
hearings or provide BOE, hearing officer or arbitrator 
with written evidence supporting taxpayer’s opinion of 
value 

 

2) taxpayer files return at different valuation during next 
two years 

 

3) If taxpayer files appeal during next two years BOE, 
hearing officer or arbitrator may increase or decrease 
value based on evidence presented by the parties 
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1) taxpayer or representative does not attend appeal 
hearings or provide BOE, hearing officer or arbitrator 
with written evidence supporting taxpayer’s opinion of 
value 

 

2) taxpayer files return at different valuation during next 
two years 

 

3) If taxpayer files appeal during next two years BOE, 
hearing officer or arbitrator may increase or decrease 
value based on evidence presented by the parties 
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(3) Unless otherwise agree in writing by the parties, 

if the taxpayer files an appeal pursuant to Code 

Section 48-5-311 during the next two successive 

years, the board of tax assessors, the board of 

equalization, hearing officer, or arbitrator may 

increase or decrease the value of the real property 

based on the evidence presented by the taxpayer 

during the appeal process; and 
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48-5-299(c) 
Valuation Established in an Appeal 

4) The board of tax assessors may increase or decrease value of 
real property if after visual onsite inspection it is found that 
there have been …  

o  Substantial additions, deletions or improvements  

o  Errors in the board of tax assessor records  

o  Occurrence of material factors that substantially affect 
     the fair market value 
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560-11-10-.09(c)(2) Real Property Appraisal 

Changing assessment of recently appealed real property 

With respect to the term ‘substantial’; when making 

determinations of whether to increase a recently 

appealed property the appraiser shall consider the 

subject property components since the time of the 

appeal(appeal hearing date), such as the value of new 

improvements, value of additions to existing 

improvements (footprint of exchanged structure has been 

altered), major remodeling or renovations to existing 

structures (footprint of exchanged structure has not been 

altered), and adjustments to land due to consolidation of 

tracts, new surveys, zoning changes, land use changes.  
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560-11-10-.09(c)(2) Real Property Appraisal 

Changing assessment of recently appealed real property 

In the event an appealed property is renovated or 

remodeled, the term substantial shall be construed 

such that both the property owner and BOA would 

reasonably conclude a major 

renovation/remodeling has occurred. Any 

modifications made to the appealed property after 

the appeal hearing date that result in a lower value 

of the appealed property shall be considered in the 

final valuation of property for the subsequent 
January 1 assessment. 

 


