# GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE LOCAL GOVERNMENT SERVICES DIVISION



### Boards of Equalization 20 Hour Update

#### For Educational Purposes Only:

The material within is intended to give the course participant a solid understanding of general principles in the subject area. As such, the material may not necessarily reflect the official procedures and policies of the Georgia Department of Revenue or the Department's official interpretation of the laws of the State of Georgia. The application of applicability to specific situations of the theories, techniques, and approaches discussed herein must be determined on a case-by-case basis

The statutory materials reprinted or quoted verbatim on the following pages are taken from the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, Copyright 2016 by the State of Georgia, and are reprinted with the permission of the State of Georgia. All rights reserved.

#### Contents

48-5-1. Legislative intent.	8
48-5-2. Definitions.	8
48-5-3. Taxable Property	11
48-5-6. Return of property at fair market value	12
48-5-7. Assessment of tangible property.	12
48-5-7.1. Tangible real property devoted to agricultural purposes	13
48-5-7.4. Bona fide conservation use property; residential transitional property; application property; application on tax digest; annual rep	
48-5-7.7. Short title; definitions.	32
48-5-30. Filing extension for Member of the Armed Forces serving abroad	40
48-5-8. Manner and time of making state levy; notice on taxpayer's ad valorem tax bill	l41
48-5-9. Person liable for taxes on property	42
48-5-10. Returnable property.	42
48-5-11. Situs for returns by residents.	42
48-5-12. Situs of returns by nonresidents.	42
48-5-13 Instruction for local tax officials and staff	42
48-5-14. Nonresident	43
48-5-15. Returns of taxable real property	43
48-5-16. Return of tangible personal property in county where business conducted; exemptions; boats; aircraft.	43
48-5-18. Time for making tax returns.	44
48-5-20. Effect of failure to return taxable property; acquisition of real property by trai	•
48-5-29. Acquisition of jurisdiction by superior court in ad valorem property tax litigate payment and distribution of property taxes; excess payments; underpayments	•
Property Tax Exemptions and Deferral Tax Exemptions	46
48-5-40. Definitions	46
48-5-41. Property exempt from taxation	49
48-5-41.1. Exemption of qualified farm products and harvested agricultural products taxation.	
48-5-42. Exempt personalty.	54
48-5-42.1. Personal property tax exemption for property valued at \$7,500.00 or less	55

housing program on homestead exemption; limits.	55
48-5-44.1.	55
48-5-45. Application for homestead exemption; unlawful to solicit fee to file application for homestead for another.	
48-5-46. Procedure for application.	58
48-5-47. Applications for homestead exemptions of individuals 65 or older.	58
48-5-47.1. Homestead exemptions for individuals 62 or older with annual incomes not exceeding \$30,000.00	59
48-5-48. Homestead extension by qualified disabled veteran; filing requirements; period substantiation of eligibility; persons eligible without application.	
48-5-48.1. Tangible personal property inventory exemption; application; failure to file application as waiver of exemption; denials; notice of renewals	64
48-5-48.2. Level 1 freeport exemption; referendum	66
48-5-48.3 Homestead exemption for senior citizens.	69
48-5-49. Determination of eligibility of applicant; appeal	70
48-5-50. Homestead value credited with exemption; approval of correctness of value, exemption, and difference.	70
48-5-50.1. Claim and return of constitutional or local law homestead exemptions from county taxes, county school taxes, or municipal or independent school district taxes	70
48-5-51. Fraudulent claim of homestead exemption under Code	71
Sections 48-5-44 through 48-5-50; penalty.	71
48-5-52. Exemption from ad valorem taxation for educational purposes of homesteads of qualified individuals 62 or older; application; replacement of revenue	
48-5-52.1. Exemption from ad valorem taxation for state, county, municipal, and school purposes of homesteads of unremarried surviving spouses of U.S. service members kill in action.	
48-5-53. Falsification of information required by Code Section 48-5-52; penalty	74
48-5-54. Application of homestead exemptions to properties with multiple titleholders ar properties held by administrators, executors, or trustees	
48-5-55. Continuation of constitutional exemptions from ad valorem taxes	75
48-5-56. Notice of homestead exemptions from ad valorem taxation to accompany bill for valorem taxes on real property.	
48-5-220. Purposes of county taxes.	
48-5-260. Purpose of part	
48-5-261 Classification of counties for administration of part	80

48-5-262. Composition and duties of county appraisal staffs; "county civil service system" defined	
48-5-263. Qualifications, duties, and compensation of appraisers.	82
48-5-264. Designation and duties of chief appraiser	84
48-5-264.1. Right of chief appraiser and others to inspect property; supplying identification to occupant of property; statement to be included in tax bill	
48-5-265. Formation of joint county property appraisal staffs; contracting by Class I counties with persons to render advice or assistance; compensation	85
48-5-266. Submission by chief appraiser of assessment list with supporting information; attendance and providing of information at appeal hearings	86
48-5-269. Authority to promulgate rules and regulations regarding uniform books, records forms, and manuals; limits on change in current use value of conservation use property	
48-5-269.1. Adoption by commissioner and requirement of use of uniform procedural manual for appraising tangible personal property.	88
48-5-273. Counties to submit tax rate to commissioner.	89
48-5-274. Establishment of equalized adjusted property tax digest; establishment and use daverage ratio; information to be furnished by state auditor; grievance procedure; information to be furnished by commissioner	
48-5-290. Creation of county board of tax assessors; appointment and number of members commission; noneligibility of certain individuals	
48-5-291. (For effective date, see note.) Qualifications for members; approved appraisal courses; rules and regulations.	94
48-5-292. Ineligibility of county tax assessors to hold other offices; applicability in certain counties	95
48-5-296. Removal from office on petition of freeholders; appeals.	95
48-5-299. Ascertainment of taxable property; assessments against unreturned property; penalty for unreturned property; changing real property values established by appeal in prior year.	96
48-5-299.1. Designation of board of assessors to receive tax returns	
48-5-300. Power to summon witnesses and require production of documents; exempt documents; contempt proceedings	98
48-5-300.1. Time period for taxation of personal property; extension by consent; refunds9	99
48-5-301. Time for presentation of returns by tax receiver or tax commissioner	99
48-5-302. Time for completion of revision and assessment of returns; submission of completed digest to commissioner10	00
48-5-303. Correction of mistakes in digest; notification of correction10	00
48-5-304. Approval of tax digests when assessments in arbitration or on appeal; procedure withholding of grants by Office of Treasury and Fiscal Services10	-

48-5-305. Valuation of property not in digest	102
48-5-306. Notice of changes made in taxpayer's return; contents; posting notice; new assessment description.	102
48-5-307. Service of papers; fees	105
48-5-311. Creation of county boards of equalization; duties; review of assessments;	105
(a.1) Appeal Administrator.	105
(a.2) Establishment of boards of equalization	
(b) Qualifications of board of equalization members	
(c) Appointment of board of equalization members	
(d) Duties and powers of board of equalization members	
(e) Appeal	
(e.1) Appeals to hearing officer	
(f) Nonbinding arbitration	
(g) Appeals to the superior court.	122
(g.1)	124
(h) Recording of interviews or hearings	
(i) Alternate members of boards of equalization.	
(j) Disqualification	125
(k) Compensation of board of equalization members	
(I) Military service	
(m) Interest	
(n) Service of notice.	
(o)	127
48-5-314. Confidentiality of taxpayer records; exceptions; penalties	
48-5-340. Purpose of article	
48-5-341. Definitions	
48-5-342. Commissioner to examine digests	
48-5-342.1. Digest evaluation cycles established; time for review of digest	
48-5-343. Approval of digests.	
48-5-344. Conditional approval of digests	
48-5-345. Receipt for digest and order authorizing use; assessment if deviation from pro	

48-5-380. Refunds of taxes and license fees by counties and municipalities; time and manner of filing claims and actions for refund; authority to approve or disapprove claims.
48-5-451. Penalty for failure to make return or pay tax on motor vehicle or mobile home134
48-5-490. Mobile homes owned on January 1 subject to ad valorem taxation
48-5-492. Issuance of mobile home location permits; issuance and display of decals135
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE LOCAL GOVERNMENT SERVICES DIVISION RULES AND REGULATIONS CHAPTER 560-11-2 SUBSTANTIVE REGULATIONS
560-11-234 County Boards of Equalization—Definitions.
560-11-235 County Boards of Equalization—Disqualification136
560-11-236 County Boards of Equalization—Chairman.
560-11-256 Review of County Tax Digest by the State Revenue Commissioner137
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE LOCAL GOVERNMENT SERVICES DIVISION RULES AND REGULATIONS CHAPTER 560-11-12141
COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION HEARINGS141
560-11-1201 Applicability of Rules
560-11-1202 Nature of the Proceeding; Hearing Procedure; Burden of Proof141
560-11-1203 Evidence; Official Notice.
560-11-1204 Continuances and Postponements.
560-11-1205 Subpoena Forms; Service
560-11-1206 Transcripts of Hearing.
560-11-1207 Case Presentment
50-13-1. Short title; purpose
50-13-3. Adoption of rules of organization and practice; public inspection and validity of rules, policies, orders, decisions, and opinions
50-13-15. Rules of evidence in contested cases; official notice; conducting hearings by utilizing remote telephonic communications
50-14-1. Meetings to be open to public; limitation on action to contest agency action; recording; notice of time and place; access to minutes; telecommunications conferences
560-11-1208- Ruling; Decision
<b>560-11-1209– Hearing Location.</b> 148
CHAPTER 560-11-10
APPRAISAL PROCEDURES MANUAL
<b>560-11-1001 Purpose and Scope.</b> 149
<b>560-11-1002 Definitions.</b> 150

560-	11-1008 Personal Property Appraisal	155
560-	11-1009 Real Property Appraisal	170
JUDIC	AL DECISIONS	194
AN OV	ERVIEW OF AD VALOREM TAXATION	201
The	Mass Appraisal Process	201
<b>(I)</b>	MARKET OR DIRECT SALES COMPARISON APPROACH	
(II)	COST APPROACH	204
(III)	INCOME APPROACH	205
Sales I	Ratio Studies	210
GLOS	SARY	221

#### **Georgia Statutes**

#### **General Provisions**

#### 48-5-1. Legislative intent.

The intent and purpose of the tax laws of this state are to have all property and subjects of taxation returned at the value which would be realized from the cash sale, but not the forced sale, of the property and subjects as such property and subjects are usually sold except as otherwise provided in this chapter.

#### 48-5-2. Definitions.

As used in this chapter, the term:

- (.1) "Arm's length, bona fide sale" means a transaction which has occurred in good faith without fraud or deceit carried out by unrelated or unaffiliated parties, as by a willing buyer and a willing seller, each acting in his or her own self-interest, including but not limited to a distress sale, short sale, bank sale, or sale at public auction.
- (1) "Current use value" of bona fide conservation use property means the amount a knowledgeable buyer would pay for the property with the intention of continuing the property in its existing use and in an arm's length, bona fide sale and shall be determined in accordance with the specifications and criteria provided for in subsection (b) of Code Section 48-5-269.
- (2) "Current use value" of bona fide residential transitional property means the amount a knowledgeable buyer would pay for the property with the intention of continuing the property in its existing use and in an arm's length, bona fide sale. The tax assessor shall consider the following criteria, as applicable, in determining the current use value of bona fide residential transitional property:
  - (A) The current use of such property;
  - (B) Annual productivity; and
  - (C) Sales data of comparable real property with and for the same existing use.
- (3) 'Fair market value of property' means the amount a knowledgeable buyer would pay for the property and a willing seller would accept for the property at an arm's length, bona fide sale. The income approach, if data is available, shall be utilized in determining the fair market value of income-producing property, and, if actual income and expense data are voluntarily supplied by the property owner, such data shall be considered in such determination. Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter to the contrary, the transaction amount of the most recent arm's length, bona fide sale in any year shall be the maximum allowable fair market value for the next taxable year. With respect to the valuation of equipment, machinery, and fixtures when no ready market exists for the sale of the equipment, machinery, and fixtures, fair market value may be determined by resorting to any reasonable, relevant, and useful information available, including, but not

limited to, the original cost of the property, any depreciation or obsolescence, and any increase in value by reason of inflation. Each tax assessor shall have access to any public records of the taxpayer for the purpose of discovering such information.

- (A) In determining the fair market value of a going business where its continued operation is reasonably anticipated, the tax assessor may value the equipment, machinery, and fixtures which are the property of the business as a whole where appropriate to reflect the accurate fair market value.
- (B) The tax assessor shall apply the following criteria in determining the fair market value of real property:
  - (i) Existing zoning of property;
  - (ii) Existing use of property, including any restrictions or limitations on the use of property resulting from state or federal law or rules or regulations adopted pursuant to the authority of state or federal law:
  - (iii) Existing covenants or restrictions in deed dedicating the property to a particular use;
  - (iv) Bank sales, other financial institution owned sales, or distressed sales, or any combination thereof, of comparable real property;
  - (v) Decreased value of the property based on limitations and restrictions resulting from the property being in a conservation easement;
  - (vi) Rent limitations, higher operating costs resulting from regulatory requirements imposed on the property, and any other restrictions imposed upon the property in connection with the property being eligible for any income tax credits) with respect to real property which are claimed and granted pursuant to either Section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, or Chapter 7 of this title or receiving any other state or federal subsidies provided with respect to the use of the property as residential rental property; provided, however, that such properties described in this division shall not be considered comparable real property for the assessment or appeal of assessment of properties not covered by this division;
  - (vii)(I) In establishing the value of any property subject to rent restrictions under the sales comparison approach, any income tax credits described in division (vi) of this subparagraph that are attributable to a property may be considered in determining the fair market value of the property provided that the tax assessor uses comparable sales of property which, at the time of the comparable sale, had unused income tax credits that were transferred in an arm's length bona fide sale.
    - (II) In establishing the value of any property subject to rent restrictions under the income approach, any income tax credits described in division (vi) of this subparagraph that are attributable to property may be considered in determining the fair market value of the property provided that such income tax credits generate actual income to the record holder of title to the property; and
  - (viii) Any other existing factors provided by law or by rule and
- (B.1) The tax assessor shall not consider any income tax credits with respect to real property which are claimed and granted pursuant to either Section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, or Chapter 7 of this title in determining the fair market value of real property.

- (B.2) In determining the fair market value of real property, the tax assessor shall not include the value of any intangible assets used by a business, wherever located, including patents, trademarks, trade names, customer agreements, and merchandising agreements.
- (C) Fair market value of "historic property" as such term is defined in subsection (a) of Code Section 48-5-7.2 means:
  - (i) For the first eight years in which the property is classified as "rehabilitated historic property," the value equal to the greater of the acquisition cost of the property or the appraised fair market value of the property as recorded in the county tax digest at the time preliminary certification on such property was received by the county board of tax assessors pursuant to subsection (c) of Code Section 48-5-7.2:
  - (ii) For the ninth year in which the property is classified as "rehabilitated historic property," the value of the property as determined by division (i) of this subparagraph plus one-half of the difference between such value and the current fair market value exclusive of the provisions of this subparagraph; and
  - (iii) For the tenth and following years, the fair market value of such property as determined by the provisions of this paragraph, excluding the provisions of this subparagraph.
- (D) Fair market value of "landmark historic property" as such term is defined in subsection (a) of Code Section 48-5-7.3 means:
  - (i) For the first eight years in which the property is classified as "landmark historic property," the value equal to the greater of the acquisition cost of the property or the appraised fair market value of the property as recorded in the county tax digest at the time certification on such property was received by the county board of tax assessors pursuant to subsection (c) of Code Section 48-5-7.3;
  - (ii) For the ninth year in which the property is classified as "landmark historic property," the value of the property as determined by division (i) of this subparagraph plus one-half of the difference between such value and the current fair market value exclusive of the provisions of this subparagraph; and
  - (iii) For the tenth and following years, the fair market value of such property as determined by the provisions of this paragraph, excluding the provisions of this subparagraph.
- (E) Timber shall be valued at its fair market value at the time of its harvest or sale in the manner specified in Code Section 48-5-7.5.
- (F) Fair market value of "brownfield property" as such term is defined in subsection (a) of Code Section 48-5-7.6 means:
  - (i) Unless sooner disqualified pursuant to subsection (e) of Code Section 48-5-7.6, for the first ten years in which the property is classified as "brownfield property," or as this period of preferential assessment may be extended pursuant to subsection (o) of Code Section 48-5-7.6, the value equal to the lesser of the acquisition cost of the property or the appraised fair market value of the property as recorded in the county tax digest at the time application was made to the Environmental Protection Division of the Department of Natural Resources for participation under Article 9 of Chapter 8 of Title 12, the "Georgia Hazardous Site Reuse and Redevelopment Act," as amended; and

- (ii) Unless sooner disqualified pursuant to subsection (e) of Code Section 48-5-7.6, for the eleventh and following years, or at the end of any extension of this period of preferential assessment pursuant to subsection (o) of Code Section 48-5-7.6, the fair market value of such property as determined by the provisions of this paragraph, excluding the provisions of this subparagraph.
- (G) Fair market value of 'qualified timberland property' means the fair market value determined in accordance with Article 13 of this chapter.
- (4) "Foreign merchandise in transit" means personal property of any description which has been or will be moved by waterborne commerce through any port located in this state and:
- (A) Which has entered the export stream, although temporarily stored or warehoused in the county where the port of export is located; or
- (B) Which was shipped from a point of origin located outside the customs territory of the United States and on which United States customs duties are paid at or through any customs district or port located in this state, although stored or warehoused in the county where the port of entry is located while in transit to a final destination.
- (5) "Forest land conservation value" of forest land conservation use property means the amount determined in accordance with the specifications and criteria provided for in Code Section 48-5-271 and Article VII, Section I, Paragraph III(f) of the Constitution.
- (6) "Forest land fair market value" means the 2008 fair market value of the forest land determined in accordance with Article VII, Section I, Paragraph III(f) of the Constitution; provided, however, that when the 2008 fair market value of the forest land has been appealed by a property owner and the ultimate fair market value of the forest land is changed in the appeal process by either the board of assessors, the board of equalization, a hearing officer, an arbitrator, or a superior court judge, then the final fair market value of the forest land shall replace the 2008 fair market value of the forest land. This final fair market value of the forest land shall be used in the calculation of local assistance grants. If local assistance grants have been granted to either a county, a county board of education, or a municipality based on the 2008 fair market value of forest land and subsequently the fair market value of such forest land is reduced on an appeal, then the county or the municipality shall reimburse the state, within 12 months unless otherwise agreed to by the parties, the difference between local assistance grants paid to the county or municipality and the amount which would have been due based on the final fair market value of the forest land. Such 2008 valuation may increase from one taxable year to the next by a rate equal to the percentage change in the price index for gross output of state and local government from the prior year to the current year as defined by the National Income and Product Accounts and determined by the United States Bureau of Economic Analysis and indicated by the Price Index for Government Consumption Expenditures and General Government Gross Output (Table 3.10.4).

#### 48-5-3. Taxable Property

All real property including, but not limited to, leaseholds, interests less than fee, and all personal property shall be liable to taxation and shall be taxed, except as otherwise provided by law. Liability of property for taxation shall not be affected by the individual or corporate character of the property owner or by the resident or nonresident status of the property owner.

11

#### 48-5-6. Return of property at fair market value.

All property shall be returned for taxation at its fair market value except as otherwise provided in this chapter.

#### 48-5-7. Assessment of tangible property.

- (a) Except as otherwise provided in this Code section, taxable tangible property shall be assessed at 40 percent of its fair market value and shall be taxed on a levy made by each respective tax jurisdiction according to 40 percent of the property's fair market value.
- (b) Tangible real property which is devoted to bona fide agricultural purposes as defined in this chapter and which otherwise conforms to the conditions and limitations imposed in this chapter shall be assessed for ad valorem property tax purposes at 75 percent of the value which other tangible real property is assessed and shall be taxed on a levy made by each respective tax jurisdiction according to said assessment.
- (c) Tangible real property which qualifies as rehabilitated historic property pursuant to the provisions of Code Section 48-5-7.2 shall be assessed at 40 percent of its fair market value and shall be taxed on a levy made by each respective tax jurisdiction according to 40 percent of the property's fair market value. For the purposes of this subsection, the term "fair market value" shall mean the fair market value of rehabilitated historic property pursuant to the provisions of subparagraph (C) of paragraph (3) of Code Section 48-5-2.
- (c.1) Tangible real property which qualifies as landmark historic property pursuant to the provisions of Code Section 48-5-7.3 shall be assessed at 40 percent of its fair market value and shall be taxed on a levy made by each respective tax jurisdiction according to 40 percent of the property's fair market value. For the purposes of this subsection, the term "fair market value" shall mean the fair market value of landmark historic property pursuant to the provisions of subparagraph (D) of paragraph (3) of Code Section 48-5-2.
- (c.2) Tangible real property which is devoted to bona fide conservation uses as defined in this chapter and which otherwise conforms to the conditions and limitations imposed in this chapter shall be assessed for property tax purposes at 40 percent of its current use value and shall be taxed on a levy made by each respective tax jurisdiction according to 40 percent of the property's current use value.
- (c.3) Tangible real property located in a transitional developing area which is devoted to bona fide residential uses and which otherwise conforms to the conditions and limitations imposed in this chapter for bona fide residential transitional property shall be assessed for property tax purposes at 40 percent of its current use value and shall be taxed on a levy made by each respective tax jurisdiction according to 40 percent of the property's current use value.
- (c.4) Tangible real property which qualifies as brownfield property pursuant to the provisions of Code Section 48-5-7.6 shall be assessed at 40 percent of its fair market value and shall be taxed on a levy made by each respective tax jurisdiction according to 40 percent of the

property's fair market value. For the purposes of this subsection, the term "fair market value" shall mean the fair market value of brownfield property pursuant to the provisions of subparagraph (F) of paragraph (3) of Code Section 48-5-2.

- (c.5) Tangible real property which qualifies as forest land conservation use property pursuant to the provisions of Code Section 48-5-7.7 shall be assessed at 40 percent of its forest land conservation use value and shall be taxed on a levy made by each respective tax jurisdiction according to 40 percent of the property's forest land conservation use value.
- (c.6) Tangible real property which qualifies as qualified timberland property in accordance with the provisions of Article 13 of this chapter shall be assessed at 40 percent of its fair market value of qualified timberland property and shall be taxed on a levy made by each respective tax jurisdiction according to 40 percent of its fair market value of qualified timberland property as such value is determined by the commissioner in accordance with Article 13 of this chapter."
- (d) The requirement contained in this Code section that all tax jurisdictions assess taxable tangible property at 40 percent of fair market value shall not apply to any tax jurisdiction whose ratio of assessed value to fair market value exceeded 40 percent for the tax year 1971. No tax jurisdiction so exempted shall assess at a ratio of less than 40 percent except as necessary to effect the preferential assessment provided in subsection (b) of this Code section.
- (e) Each notice of ad valorem taxes due sent to taxpayers of counties and municipalities shall include both the fair market value of the property of the taxpayer which is subject to taxation and the assessed value of the property after being reduced as provided by this Code section.

#### Georgia Constitution Article VII. Section I. Paragraph III.

Paragraph III. *Uniformity; classification of property; assessment of agricultural land; utilities.*(a) All taxes shall be levied and collected under general laws and for public purposes only. Except as otherwise provided in subparagraphs (b). (c). (d). (e). and (f) of this Paragraph, all taxation shall.

as otherwise provided in subparagraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), and (f) of this Paragraph, all taxation shall be uniform upon the same class of subjects within the territorial limits of the authority levying the tax.

(b)(1) Except as otherwise provided in this subparagraph (b), classes of subjects for taxation of property shall consist of <u>tangible</u> property and one or more classes of <u>intangible</u> personal property including money; provided, however, that any taxation of intangible personal property may be repealed by general law without approval in a referendum effective for all taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1996.

## 48-5-7.1. Tangible real property devoted to agricultural purposes

Definition; persons entitled to preferential tax assessment; covenant to maintain agricultural purposes; penalty for breach of covenant.

13

- (a) For purposes of this article, "tangible real property which is devoted to 'bona fide agricultural purposes' ":
  - (1) Is tangible real property, the primary use of which is good faith commercial production from or on the land of agricultural products, including horticultural, floricultural, forestry, dairy, livestock, poultry, and apiarian products and all other forms of farm products; but
  - (2) Includes only the value which is \$100,000.00 or less of the fair market value of tangible real property which is devoted to the storage or processing of agricultural products from or on the property; and
  - (3) Excludes the entire value of any residence located on the property.
- (b) No property shall qualify for the preferential ad valorem property tax assessment provided for in subsection (b) of Code Section 48-5-7 unless:
  - (1) It is owned by one or more natural or naturalized citizens; or
  - (2) It is owned by a family-farm corporation, the controlling interest of which is owned by individuals related to each other within the fourth degree by civil reckoning, and such corporation derived 80 percent or more of its gross income for the year immediately preceding the year in which application for preferential assessment is made from bona fide agricultural pursuits carried out on tangible real property located in this state, which property is devoted to bona fide agricultural purposes.
- (c) No property shall qualify for said preferential assessment if such assessment would result in any person who has a beneficial interest in such property, including any interest in the nature of stock ownership, receiving in any tax year any benefit of preferential assessment as to more than 2,000 acres. If any taxpayer has any beneficial interest in more than 2,000 acres of tangible real property which is devoted to bona fide agricultural purposes, such taxpayer shall apply for preferential assessment only as to 2,000 acres of such land.
- (d) No property shall qualify for preferential assessment unless and until the owner of such property agrees by covenant with the appropriate taxing authority to maintain the eligible property in bona fide agricultural purposes for a period of at least ten years beginning on the first day of January of the year in which such property qualifies for preferential assessment and ending on the last day of December of the tenth year of the covenant period. After the expiration of any ten-year covenant period, the property shall not qualify for further preferential assessment until and unless the owner of the property enters into a renewal covenant for an additional period of ten years.
- (e) No property shall maintain its eligibility for preferential assessment unless a valid covenant remains in effect and unless the property is continuously devoted to bona fide agricultural purposes during the entire period of the covenant.
- (f) If any change in ownership of such qualified property occurs during the covenant period, all qualification requirements must be met again before the property shall be eligible to be continued for preferential assessment. If ownership of the property is acquired during a covenant period by a person qualified to enter into an original covenant, by a newly formed corporation the stock in which is owned by the original covenantor or others related to the original covenantor within the fourth degree by civil reckoning, or by the personal representative of an owner who was a party to the covenant, then the original covenant may be continued by such

acquiring party for the remainder of the term, in which event no breach of the covenant shall be deemed to have occurred.

- (g) A penalty shall be imposed under this subsection if during the period of the covenant entered into by a taxpayer the covenant is breached. The penalty shall be computed by multiplying the amount by which the preferential assessment has reduced taxes otherwise due for the year in which the breach occurs times:
  - (1) A factor of five if the breach occurs in the first or second year of the covenant period;
  - (2) A factor of four if the breach occurs during the third or fourth year of the covenant period;
  - (3) A factor of three if the breach occurs during the fifth or sixth year of the covenant period; or
  - (4) A factor of two if the breach occurs in the seventh, eighth, ninth, or tenth year of the covenant period.
- (h) A penalty imposed under subsection (g) of this Code section shall bear interest at the rate specified in Code Section 48-2-40 from the date the covenant is breached.
- (i) Penalties and interest imposed under this Code section shall constitute a lien against the property and shall be collected as other unpaid ad valorem taxes are collected. Such penalties and interest shall be distributed pro rata to each taxing jurisdiction wherein the preferential assessment has been granted based upon the total amount by which such preferential assessment has reduced taxes for each such taxing jurisdiction on the property in question as provided in this Code section.
- (j) The penalty imposed by subsection (g) of this Code section shall not apply in any case where a covenant is breached solely as a result of:
  - (1) The acquisition of part or all of the property under the power of eminent domain;
  - (2) The sale of part or all of the property to a public or private entity which would have had the authority to acquire the property under the power of eminent domain; or
  - (3) The death of an owner who was a party to the covenant.
- (k) All applications for preferential assessment, including the covenant agreement required under this Code section, shall be filed on or before the last day for filing ad valorem tax returns in the county for the tax year for which such preferential assessment shall be first applicable. An application for continuation of preferential assessment upon a change in ownership of the qualified property shall be filed on or before the last date for filing tax returns in the year following the year in which the change in ownership occurred. Applications for preferential assessment shall be filed with the county board of tax assessors who shall approve or deny the application. If the application is approved on or after July 1, 1998, the county board of tax assessors shall file a copy of the approved application in the office of the clerk of the superior court in the county in which the eligible property is located. The clerk of the superior court shall file and index such application in the real property records maintained in the clerk's office. Applications approved prior to July 1, 1998, shall be filed and indexed in like manner without payment of any fee. If the application is not so recorded in the real property records, a transferee of the property affected shall not be bound by the covenant or subject to any penalty for its breach. The fee of the clerk of the superior court for recording such applications approved on or after July 1, 1998, shall be paid by the owner of the eligible property with the application for preferential treatment and shall be paid to the clerk by the board of tax assessors when the application is filed with the clerk. If the application is denied, the board of tax assessors shall notify the applicant in the same manner that notices of assessment are given pursuant to Code Section 48-5-306 and shall return any filing fees advanced by the owner. Appeals from the denial of an application by the board of tax assessors shall be made in

the same manner that other property tax appeals are made pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311. As to property approved for preferential assessment prior to July 1, 1998, the county board of tax assessors shall file copies of all approved applications in the office of the clerk of the superior court not later than August 14, 1998, and the clerk shall file, index, and record such approved applications, as provided for in this subsection, with the fee of the clerk of the superior court for filing, indexing, and recording to be paid out of the general funds of the county.

- (I) The commissioner shall by regulation provide uniform application and covenant forms to be used in making application for preferential assessment. Such application shall include an oath or affirmation by the taxpayer that he has not at any time received, or made a pending application for, preferential assessment in the same or another county with respect to any property which taken together with property for which application is then being made exceeds 2,000 acres.
- (m) The commissioner shall annually submit a report to the Governor and members of the General Assembly which shall show the fiscal impact of the preferential assessment provided for in this Code section. The report shall include the amount of assessed value eliminated from each county's digest as a result of the preferential assessment; approximate tax dollar losses, by county, to all local governments affected by such preferential assessment; and any recommendations regarding state and local administration of this Code section, with emphasis upon enforcement problems, if any, attendant with this Code section. The report shall also include any other data or facts which the commissioner deems relevant.
- (n)(1) The transfer prior to July 1, 1988, of a part of the property subject to a covenant shall not constitute a breach of a covenant entered into before or after July 1, 1984, if:
  - (A) The part of the property so transferred is used for single-family residential purposes and the residence is occupied by a person who is related within the fourth degree of civil reckoning to an owner of the property subject to the covenant; and
  - (B) The part of the property so transferred, taken together with any other part of the property so transferred during the covenant period, does not exceed a total of three acres.
  - (2) The transfer on or after July 1, 1988, of a part of the property subject to a covenant shall not constitute a breach of a covenant entered into before or after July 1, 1988, if:
    - (A) The part of the property so transferred is transferred to a person who is related within the fourth degree of civil reckoning to an owner of the property subject to the covenant; and
    - (B) The part of the property so transferred, taken together with any other part of the property transferred to the same relative during the covenant period, does not exceed a total of five acres.
- (o) The following shall not constitute a breach of a covenant entered into before or after July 1,1984:
  - (1) Mineral exploration of the property subject to the covenant or the leasing of the property subject to the covenant for purposes of mineral exploration if the primary use of the property continues to be the good faith commercial production from or on the land of agricultural products; or
  - (2) Allowing all or part of the property subject to the covenant to lie fallow or idle for purposes of any land conservation program, for purposes of any federal agricultural assistance program, or for other agricultural management purposes.

- (p) Property which is subject to preferential assessment shall be separately classified from all other property on the tax digest; and such separate classification shall be such as will enable any person examining the tax digest to readily ascertain that the property is subject to preferential assessment. Covenants shall be public records and shall be indexed and maintained in such manner as will allow members of the public to readily locate the covenant affecting any particular property subject to preferential assessment.
- (q)(1) In any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of the foreclosure of a deed to secure debt, or the property is conveyed to the lien holder without compensation and in lieu of foreclosure, the penalty specified by paragraph (2) of this subsection shall apply and the penalty specified by subsection (g) of this Code section shall not apply if:
  - (A) The deed to secure debt was executed as a part of a bona fide commercial loan transaction in which the grantor of the deed to secure debt received consideration equal in value to the principal amount of the debt secured by the deed to secure debt;
  - (B) The loan was made by a person or financial institution who or which is regularly engaged in the business of making loans; and
  - (C) The deed to secure debt was intended by the parties as security for the loan and was not intended for the purpose of carrying out a transfer which would otherwise be subject to the penalty specified by subsection (g) of this Code section.
  - (2) When a breach occurs solely as a result of a foreclosure which meets the qualifications of paragraph (1) of this subsection, the penalty imposed shall be the amount by which preferential assessment has reduced taxes otherwise due for the year in which the covenant is breached.
  - (3) A penalty imposed under this subsection shall bear interest at the rate specified in Code Section 48-2-40 from the date the covenant is breached.
- (r)(1) In any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of a medically demonstrable illness or disability which renders the owner of the real property physically unable to continue the property in agricultural use, the penalty specified by paragraph (2) of this subsection shall apply and the penalty specified by subsection (g) of this Code section shall not apply. The penalty specified by paragraph (2) of this subsection shall likewise be substituted for the penalty specified by subsection (g) of this Code section in any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of a medically demonstrable illness or disability which renders the operator of the real property physically unable to continue the property in agricultural use, provided that the alternative penalty shall apply in this case only if the operator of the real property is a member of the family owning a family-farm corporation which owns the real property.
  - (2) When a breach occurs which meets the qualifications of paragraph (1) of this subsection, the penalty imposed shall be the amount by which preferential assessment has reduced taxes otherwise due for the year during which the covenant is breached.
  - (3) A penalty imposed under this subsection shall bear interest at the rate specified in Code Section 48-2-40 from the date the covenant is breached.
  - (4) Prior to the imposition of the alternative penalty authorized by this subsection in lieu of the penalty specified by subsection (g) of this Code section, the board of tax assessors shall require satisfactory evidence which clearly demonstrates that the breach is the result of a medically

demonstrable illness or disability which meets the qualifications of paragraph (1) of this subsection.

- (r.1) In any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of an owner electing to discontinue the property in its qualifying use, provided such owner has renewed without an intervening lapse at least once the covenant under this Code section, has reached the age of 65 or older, and has kept the property in a qualifying use under the renewal covenant for at least three years the penalty specified by subsection (g) of this Code section shall not apply and the penalty imposed shall be the amount by which preferential assessment has reduced taxes otherwise due for the year in which the covenant is breached. Such penalty shall bear interest at the rate specified in Code Section 48-2-40 from the date of the breach. Such election shall be in writing and shall not become effective until filed with the county board of tax assessors.
- (s) Property which is subject to preferential assessment and which is subject to a covenant under this Code section may be changed from such covenant and placed in a covenant for bona fide conservation use under Code Section 48-5-7.4 if such property meets all of the requirements and conditions specified in Code Section 48-5-7.4. Any such change shall terminate the covenant under this Code section, shall not constitute a breach of the covenant under this Code section, and shall require the establishment of a new covenant period under Code Section 48-5-7.4. No property may be changed under this subsection more than once.
- (t) At such time as the property ceases to be eligible for preferential assessment or when any ten-year covenant period expires and the property does not qualify for further preferential assessment, the owner of the property shall file an application for release of preferential treatment with the county board of tax assessors who shall approve the release upon verification that all taxes and penalties with respect to the property have been satisfied. After the application for release has been approved by the board of tax assessors, the board shall file the release in the office of the clerk of the superior court in the county in which the original covenant was filed. The clerk of the superior court shall file and index such release in the real property records maintained in the clerk's office. No fee shall be paid to the clerk of the superior court for recording such release. The commissioner shall by regulation provide uniform release forms.

# 48-5-7.4. Bona fide conservation use property; residential transitional property; application procedures; penalties for breach of covenant; classification on tax digest; annual report.

- (a) For purposes of this article, the term "bona fide conservation use property" means property described in and meeting the requirements of paragraph (1) or (2) of this subsection, as follows:
- (1) Not more than 2,000 acres of tangible real property of a single person, the primary purpose of which is any good faith production, including but not limited to subsistence farming or commercial production, from or on the land of agricultural products or timber, subject to the following qualifications:
  - (A) Such property includes the value of tangible property permanently affixed to the real property which is directly connected to such owner's production of agricultural products

or timber and which is devoted to the storage and processing of such agricultural products or timber from or on such real property;

- (A.1) In the application of the limitation contained in the introductory language of this paragraph, the following rules shall apply to determine beneficial interests in bona fide conservation use property held in a family owned farm entity as described in division (1)(C)(iv) of this subsection:
  - (i) A person who owns an interest in a family owned farm entity as described in division (1)(C)(iv) of this subsection shall be considered to own only the percent of the bona fide conservation use property held by such family owned farm entity that is equal to the percent interest owned by such person in such family owned farm entity; and
  - (ii) A person who owns an interest in a family owned farm entity as described in division (1)(C)(iv) of this subsection may elect to allocate the lesser of any unused portion of such person's 2,000 acre limitation or the product of such person's percent interest in the family owned farm entity times the total number of acres owned by the family owned farm entity subject to such bona fide conservation use assessment, with the result that the family owned farm entity may receive bona fide conservation use assessment on more than 2,000 acres;
- (B) Such property excludes the entire value of any residence and its underlying property; as used in this subparagraph, the term "underlying property" means the minimum lot size required for residential construction by local zoning ordinances or two acres, whichever is less. The board of tax assessors shall not require a recorded plat or survey to set the boundaries of the underlying property. This provision for excluding the underlying property of a residence from eligibility in the conservation use covenant shall only apply to property that is first made subject to a covenant or is subject to the renewal of a previous covenant on or after May 1, 2012;
- (C) Except as otherwise provided in division (vii) of this subparagraph, such property must be owned by:
  - (i) One or more natural or naturalized citizens:
  - (ii) An estate of which the devisees or heirs are one or more natural or naturalized citizens;
  - (iii) A trust of which the beneficiaries are one or more natural or naturalized citizens;
  - (iv) A family owned farm entity, such as a family corporation, a family partnership, a family general partnership, a family limited partnership, a family limited corporation, or a family limited liability company, all of the interest of which is owned by one or more natural or naturalized citizens related to each other by blood or marriage within the fourth degree of civil reckoning, except that, solely with respect to a family limited partnership, a corporation, limited partnership, limited corporation, or limited liability company may serve as a general partner of the family limited partnership and hold no more than a 5 percent interest in such family limited partnership, an estate of which the devisees or heirs are one or more natural or naturalized citizens, or a trust of which the beneficiaries are one or more natural or naturalized citizens, or an entity created by the merger or consolidation of two or more entities which independently qualify as a family owned farm entity, and which family owned farm entity derived 80 percent or more of its gross income from bona fide conservation uses, including earnings on investments directly related to past or future bona fide

conservation uses, within this state within the year immediately preceding the year in which eligibility is sought; provided, however, that in the case of a newly formed family farm entity, an estimate of the income of such entity may be used to determine its eligibility;

- (v) A bona fide nonprofit conservation organization designated under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code;
- (vi) A bona fide club organized for pleasure, recreation, and other nonprofitable purposes pursuant to Section 501(c)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code; or
- (vii) In the case of constructed storm-water wetlands, any person may own such property;
- (D) Factors which may be considered in determining if such property is qualified may include, but not be limited to:
  - (i) The nature of the terrain;
  - (ii) The density of the marketable product on the land;
  - (iii) The past usage of the land;
  - (iv) The economic merchantability of the agricultural product; and
  - (v) The utilization or nonutilization of recognized care, cultivation, harvesting, and like practices applicable to the product involved and any implemented plans thereof;
- (E) Such property shall, if otherwise qualified, include, but not be limited to, property used for:
  - (i) Raising, harvesting, or storing crops;
  - (ii) Feeding, breeding, or managing livestock or poultry;
  - (iii) Producing plants, trees, fowl, or animals, including without limitation the production of fish or wildlife by maintaining not less than ten acres of wildlife habitat either in its natural state or under management, which shall be deemed a type of agriculture; provided, however, that no form of commercial fishing or fish production shall be considered a type of agriculture; or
  - (iv) Production of aquaculture, horticulture, floriculture, forestry, dairy, livestock, poultry, and apiarian products; and
- (F) The primary purpose described in this paragraph includes land conservation and ecological forest management in which commercial production of wood and wood fiber products may be undertaken primarily for conservation and restoration purposes rather than financial gain; or
- (2) Not more than 2,000 acres of tangible real property, excluding the value of any improvements thereon, of a single owner of the types of environmentally sensitive property specified in this paragraph and certified as such by the Department of Natural Resources, if the primary use of such property is its maintenance in its natural condition or controlling or abating pollution of surface or ground waters of this state by storm-water runoff or otherwise enhancing the water quality of surface or ground waters of this state and if such owner meets the qualifications of subparagraph (C) of paragraph (1) of this subsection:
  - (A) Environmentally sensitive areas, including any otherwise qualified land area 1,000 feet or more above the lowest elevation of the county in which such area is located that has a percentage slope, which is the difference in elevation between two points 500 feet apart on the earth divided by the horizontal distance between those two points, of 25 percent or

greater and shall include the crests, summits, and ridge tops which lie at elevations higher than any such area;

- (B) Wetland areas that are determined by the United States Army Corps of Engineers to be wetlands under their jurisdiction pursuant to Section 404 of the federal Clean Water Act, as amended, or wetland areas that are depicted or delineated on maps compiled by the Department of Natural Resources or the United States Fish and Wildlife Service pursuant to its National Wetlands Inventory Program;
- (C) Significant ground-water recharge areas as identified on maps or data compiled by the Department of Natural Resources;
- (D) Undeveloped barrier islands or portions thereof as provided for in the federal Coastal Barrier Resources Act, as amended;
- (E) Habitats as certified by the Department of Natural Resources as containing species that have been listed as either endangered or threatened under the federal Endangered Species Act of 1973, as amended;
- (F) River or stream corridors or buffers which shall be defined as those undeveloped lands which are:
  - (i) Adjacent to rivers and perennial streams that are within the 100 year flood plain as depicted on official maps prepared by the Federal Emergency Management Agency; or
  - (ii) Within buffer zones adjacent to rivers or perennial streams, which buffer zones are established by law or local ordinance and within which land-disturbing activity is prohibited; or
- (G) (i) Constructed storm-water wetlands of the free-water surface type certified by the Department of Natural Resources under subsection (k) of Code Section 12-2-4 and approved for such use by the local governing authority.
  - (ii) No property shall maintain its eligibility for current use assessment as a bona fide conservation use property as defined in this subparagraph unless the owner of such property files an annual inspection report from a licensed professional engineer certifying that as of the date of such report the property is being maintained in a proper state of repair so as to accomplish the objectives for which it was designed. Such inspection report and certification shall be filed with the county board of tax assessors on or before the last day for filing ad valorem tax returns in the county for each tax year for which such assessment is sought.
- (a.1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code section to the contrary, in the case of property which otherwise meets the requirements for current use assessment and the qualifying use is pursuant to division (1)(E)(iii) of subsection (a) of this Code section, when the owner seeks to renew the covenant or reenter a covenant subsequent to the termination of a previous covenant which met such requirements and the owner meets the qualifications under this Code section but the property is no longer being used for the qualified use for which the previous covenant was entered pursuant to division (1)(E)(iii) of subsection (a) of this Code section, the property is not environmentally sensitive property within the meaning of paragraph (2) of subsection (a) of this Code section, and the primary use of the property is maintenance of a wildlife habitat of not less than ten acres either by maintaining the property in its natural condition

or under management, the county board of tax assessors shall be required to accept such use as a qualifying use for purposes of this Code section.

- (b) Except in the case of the underlying portion of a tract of real property on which is actually located a constructed storm-water wetlands wetland, the following additional rules shall apply to the qualification of conservation use property for current use assessment:
  - (1) When one-half or more of the area of a single tract of real property is used for a qualifying purpose, then such tract shall be considered as used for such qualifying purpose unless some other type of business is being operated on the unused portion; provided, however, that such unused portion must be minimally managed so that it does not contribute significantly to erosion or other environmental or conservation problems. The lease of hunting rights or the use of the property for hunting purposes shall not constitute another type of business. The charging of admission for use of the property for fishing purposes shall not constitute another type of business;
  - (2)(A) The owner of a tract, lot, or parcel of land totaling less than ten acres shall be required by the tax assessor to submit additional relevant records regarding proof of bona fide conservation use for qualified property that on or after May 1, 2012, is either first made subject to a covenant or is subject to a renewal of a previous covenant. If the owner of the subject property provides proof—The provisions of this paragraph relating to requiring additional relevant records regarding proof of bona fide conservation use shall not apply to such property if the owner of the subject property provides one or more of the following:
  - (i) Proof that such owner has filed with the Internal Revenue Service a Schedule E, reporting farm related income or loss, or a Schedule F, with Form 1040, or, if applicable, a Form 4835, pertaining to such property, the provisions of this paragraph, requiring additional relevant records regarding proof of bona fide conservation use, shall not apply to such property.
  - (ii) Proof that such owner has incurred expenses for the qualifying use; or
  - (iii) Proof that such owner has generated income from the qualifying use.

Prior to a denial of eligibility under this paragraph, the tax assessor shall conduct and provide proof of a visual on-site inspection of the property. Reasonable notice shall be provided to the property owner before being allowed a visual, on-site inspection of the property by the tax assessor;

- (B) The owner of a tract, lot, or parcel of land totaling ten acres or more shall not be required by the tax assessor to submit additional relevant records regarding proof of bona fide conservation use for qualified property that on or after May 1, 2012, is either first made subject to a covenant or is subject to a renewal of a previous covenant;
  - (3) No property shall qualify as bona fide conservation use property if such current use assessment would result in any person who has a beneficial interest in such property, including any interest in the nature of stock ownership, receiving in any tax year any benefit of current use assessment as to more than 2,000 acres. If any taxpayer has any beneficial interest in more
  - than 2,000 acres of tangible real property which is devoted to bona fide conservation uses, such taxpayer shall apply for current use assessment only as to 2,000 acres of such land;

- (4) No property shall qualify as bona fide conservation use property if it is leased to a person or entity which would not be entitled to conservation use assessment;
- (5) No property shall qualify as bona fide conservation use property if such property is at the time of application for current use assessment subject to a restrictive covenant which prohibits the use of the property for the specific purpose described in subparagraph (a)(1)(E) of this Code section for which bona fide conservation use qualification is sought; and
- (6) No otherwise qualified property shall be denied current use assessment on the grounds that no soil map is available for the county in which such property is located; provided, however, that if no soil map is available for the county in which such property is located, the owner
- making an application for current use assessment shall provide the board of tax assessors with
- a certified soil survey of the subject property unless another method for determining the soil type of the subject property is authorized in writing by such board.
- (c) For purposes of this article, the term "bona fide residential transitional property" means not more than five acres of tangible real property of a single owner which is private single-family residential owner occupied property located in a transitional developing area. Such classification shall apply to all otherwise qualified real property which is located in an area which is undergoing a change in use from single-family residential use to agricultural, commercial, industrial, office-institutional, multifamily, or utility use or a combination of such uses. Change in use may be evidenced by recent zoning changes, purchase by a developer, affidavits of intent, or close proximity to property which has undergone a change from single-family residential use. To qualify as residential transitional property, the valuation must reflect a change in value attributable to such property's proximity to or location in a transitional area.
- (d) No property shall qualify for current use assessment under this Code section unless and until the owner of such property agrees by covenant with the appropriate taxing authority to maintain the eligible property in bona fide qualifying use for a period of ten years beginning on the first day of January of the year in which such property qualifies for such current use assessment and ending on the last day of December of the final year of the covenant period. After the owner has applied for and has been allowed current use assessment provided for in this Code section, it shall not be necessary to make application thereafter for any year in which the covenant period is in effect and current use assessment shall continue to be allowed such owner as specified in this Code section. At least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the covenant, the county board of tax assessors shall send by first-class mail written notification of such impending expiration. Upon the expiration of any covenant period, the property shall not qualify for further current use assessment under this Code section unless and until the owner of the property has entered into a renewal covenant for an additional period of ten years; provided, however, that the owner may enter into a renewal contract in the ninth year of a covenant period so that the contract is continued without a lapse for an additional ten years.
- (e) A single owner shall be authorized to enter into more than one covenant under this Code section for bona fide conservation use property, provided that the aggregate number of acres of qualified property of such owner to be entered into such covenants does not exceed 2,000 acres. Any such qualified property may include a tract or tracts of land which are located in more than one county. A single owner shall be authorized to enter qualified property in a covenant for

bona fide conservation use purposes and to enter simultaneously the residence located on such property in a covenant for bona fide residential transitional use if the qualifications for each such covenant are met. A single owner shall be authorized to enter qualified property in a covenant for bona fide conservation use purposes and to enter other qualified property of such owner in a covenant for bona fide residential transitional use.

- (f) An owner shall not be authorized to make application for and receive current use assessment under this Code section for any property which at the time of such application is receiving preferential assessment under Code Section 48-5-7.1 except that such owner shall be authorized to change such preferential assessment covenant in the manner provided for in subsection (s) of Code Section 48-5-7.1.
- (g) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, no property shall maintain its eligibility for current use assessment under this Code section unless a valid covenant remains in effect and unless the property is continuously devoted to an applicable bona fide qualifying use during the entire period of the covenant. An owner shall be authorized to change the type of bona fide qualifying conservation use of the property to another bona fide qualifying conservation use and the penalty imposed by subsection (I) of this Code section shall not apply, but such owner shall give notice of any such change in use to the board of tax assessors.
- (h) If any breach of a covenant occurs, the existing covenant shall be terminated and all qualification requirements must be met again before the property shall be eligible for current use assessment under this Code section.
- (i) (1) If ownership of all or a part of the property is acquired during a covenant period by a person or entity qualified to enter into an original covenant, then the original covenant may be continued by such acquiring party for the remainder of the term, in which event no breach of the covenant shall be deemed to have occurred.
- (2) (A) As used in this paragraph, the term "contiguous" means real property within a county that abuts, joins, or touches and has the same undivided common ownership. If an applicant's tract is divided by a county boundary, public roadway, public easement, public right of way, natural boundary, land lot line, or railroad track, then the applicant has, at the time of the initial application, a one-time election to declare the tract as contiguous irrespective of a county boundary, public roadway, public easement, public right of way, natural boundary, land lot line, or railroad track.
- (B) If a qualified owner has entered into an original bona fide conservation use covenant and subsequently acquires additional qualified property contiguous to the property in the original covenant, the qualified owner may elect to enter the subsequently acquired qualified property into the original covenant for the remainder of the ten-year period of the original covenant; provided, however, that such subsequently acquired qualified property shall be less than 50 acres.
- (j) (1) All applications for current use assessment under this Code section, including the covenant agreement required under this Code section, shall be filed on or before the last day for filing ad valorem tax returns in the county for the tax year for which such current use assessment is sought, except that in the case of property which is the subject of a reassessment by the board of tax assessors an application for current use assessment may be filed in conjunction with or in lieu of an appeal of the reassessment. An application for continuation of such current use

assessment upon a change in ownership of all or a part of the qualified property shall be filed on or before the last date for filing tax returns in the year following the year in which the change in ownership occurred. Applications for current use assessment under this Code section shall be filed with the county board of tax assessors who shall approve or deny the application. If the application is approved on or after July 1, 1998, the county board of tax assessors shall file a copy of the approved application in the office of the clerk of the superior court in the county in which the eligible property is located. The clerk of the superior court shall file and index such application in the real property records maintained in the clerk's office. Applications approved prior to July 1, 1998, shall be filed and indexed in like manner without payment of any fee. If the application is not so recorded in the real property records, a transferee of the property affected shall not be bound by the covenant or subject to any penalty for its breach. The fee of the clerk of the superior court for recording such applications approved on or after July 1, 1998, shall be paid by the owner of the eligible property with the application for preferential treatment and shall be paid to the clerk by the board of tax assessors when the application is filed with the clerk. If the application is denied, the board of tax assessors shall notify the applicant in the same manner that notices of assessment are given pursuant to Code Section 48-5-306 and shall return any filing fees advanced by the owner. Appeals from the denial of an application by the board of tax assessors shall be made in the same manner that other property tax appeals are made pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311.

- (2) If the final determination on appeal to superior court is to approve the application for current use assessment, the taxpayer shall recover costs of litigation and reasonable attorney's fees incurred in the action.
- (3) Any final determination on appeal that causes a reduction in taxes and creates a refund that is owed to the taxpayer shall be paid by the tax commissioner to such taxpayer, entity, or transferee that paid the taxes within 60 days from the date of the final determination of value. Such refund shall include interest at the same rate specified in Code Section 48-2-35 which shall accrue from the due date of the taxable year in question or the date paid, whichever is later, through the date on which the final determination of value was made. In no event shall the amount of such interest exceed \$5,000.00. Any refund paid after the sixtieth day shall accrue interest from the sixty-first day until paid with interest at the same rate specified in Code Section 48-2-35. The interest accrued after the sixtieth day shall not be subject to the limits imposed by this subsection. The tax commissioner shall pay the tax refund and any interest for the refund from current collections in the same proportion for each of the levying authorities for which the taxes were collected.
- (4) For the purposes of this Code section, any final determination on appeal that causes an increase in taxes and creates an additional billing shall be paid to the tax commissioner as any other tax due. After the tax bill notice has been mailed out, the taxpayer shall be afforded 60 days from the date of the postmark to make full payment of the adjusted bill. Once the 60 day payment period has expired, the bill shall be considered past due and interest shall accrue from the original billing due date as specified in Code Section 48-2-40 without limit until the bill is paid in full. Once past due, all other fees, penalties, and late and collection notices shall apply as prescribed in this chapter for the collection of delinquent taxes.
- (2) (5) In the event such application is approved, the taxpayer shall continue to receive annual notification of any change in the fair market value of such property and any appeals with respect to such valuation shall be made in the same manner as other property tax appeals are made pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311.

- (k) (1) The commissioner shall by regulation provide uniform application and covenant forms to be used in making application for current use assessment under this Code section. Such application shall include an oath or affirmation by the taxpayer that he or she is in compliance with the provisions of paragraphs (3) and (4) of subsection (b) of this Code section, if applicable.
- (2) The applicable local governing authority shall accept applications for approval of property for purposes of subparagraph (a)(2)(G) of this Code section and shall certify property to the local board of tax assessors as meeting or not meeting the criteria of such paragraph. The local governing authority shall not certify any property as meeting the criteria of subparagraph (a)(2)(G) of this Code section unless:
  - (A) The owner has submitted to the local governing authority:
    - (i) A plat of the tract in question prepared by a licensed land surveyor, showing the location and measured area of such tract:
    - (ii) A certification by a licensed professional engineer that the specific design used for the constructed storm-water wetland was recommended by the engineer as suitable for such site after inspection and investigation; and
    - (iii) Information on the actual cost of constructing and estimated cost of operating the stormwater wetland, including without limitation a description of all incorporated materials, machinery, and equipment; and
  - (B) An authorized employee or agent of the local governing authority has inspected the site before, during, and after construction of the storm-water wetland to determine compliance with the requirements of subparagraph (a)(2)(G) of this Code section.
- (k.1) In the case of an alleged breach of the covenant, the owner shall be notified in writing by the board of tax assessors. The owner shall have a period of 30 days from the date of such notice to cease and desist the activity alleged in the notice to be in breach of the covenant or to remediate or correct the condition or conditions alleged in the notice to be in breach of the covenant. Following a physical inspection of property, the board of tax assessors shall notify the owner that such activity or activities have or have not properly ceased or that the condition or conditions have or have not been remediated or corrected. The owner shall be entitled to appeal the decision of the board of tax assessors and file an appeal disputing the findings of the board of tax assessors. Such appeal shall be conducted in the same manner that other property tax appeals are made pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311. If the final determination on appeal to superior court is to reverse the decision of the board of tax assessors to enforce the breach of the covenant, the taxpayer shall recover costs of litigation and reasonable attorney's fees incurred in the action.
- (I) A penalty shall be imposed under this subsection if during the period of the covenant entered into by a taxpayer the covenant is breached. The penalty shall be applicable to the entire tract which is the subject of the covenant and shall be twice the difference between the total amount of tax paid pursuant to current use assessment under this Code section and the total amount of taxes which would otherwise have been due under this chapter for each completed or partially completed year of the covenant period. Any such penalty shall bear interest at the rate specified in Code Section 48-2-40 from the date the covenant is breached. No penalty shall be imposed until the appeal of the board of tax assessors' determination of breach is concluded. After the final determination on appeal, the taxpayer shall be afforded 60 days from issuance of the bill to make full payment. Once the 60 day payment period has expired, the bill shall be considered past due and interest shall

26

accrue from the original billing due date as specified in Code Section 48-2-40 without limit until the bill is paid in full. Once past due, all other fees, penalties, and late and collection notices shall apply as prescribed in this chapter for the collection of delinquent taxes.

- (m) Penalties and interest imposed under this Code section shall constitute a lien against the property and shall be collected in the same manner as unpaid ad valorem taxes are collected. Such penalties and interest shall be distributed pro rata to each taxing jurisdiction wherein current use assessment under this Code section has been granted based upon the total amount by which such current use assessment has reduced taxes for each such taxing jurisdiction on the property in question as provided in this Code section.
- (n) The penalty imposed by subsection (l) of this Code section shall not apply in any case where a covenant is breached solely as a result of:
  - (1) The acquisition of part or all of the property under the power of eminent domain;
  - (2) The sale of part or all of the property to a public or private entity which would have had the authority to acquire the property under the power of eminent domain; or
  - (3) The death of an owner who was a party to the covenant.
- (o) The transfer of a part of the property subject to a covenant for a bona fide conservation use shall not constitute a breach of a covenant if:
  - (1) The part of the property so transferred is used for single-family residential purposes, starting within one year of the date of transfer and continuing for the remainder of the covenant period, and the residence is occupied within 24 months from the date of the start by a person who is related within the fourth degree of civil reckoning to an owner of the property subject to the covenant; and
  - (2) The part of the property so transferred, taken together with any other part of the property so transferred to the same relative during the covenant period, does not exceed a total of five acres; and in any such case the property so transferred shall not be eligible for a covenant for bona fide conservation use, but shall, if otherwise qualified, be eligible for current use assessment as residential transitional property and the remainder of the property from which such transfer was made shall continue under the existing covenant until a terminating breach occurs or until the end of the specified covenant period.
- (p) The following shall not constitute a breach of a covenant:
  - (1) Mineral exploration of the property subject to the covenant or the leasing of the property subject to the covenant for purposes of mineral exploration if the primary use of the property continues to be the good faith production from or on the land of agricultural products;
  - (2) Allowing all or part of the property subject to the covenant to lie fallow or idle for purposes of any land conservation program, for purposes of any federal agricultural assistance program, or for other agricultural management purposes;
  - (3) Allowing all or part of the property subject to the covenant to lie fallow or idle due to economic or financial hardship if the owner notifies the board of tax assessors on or before the last day for filing a tax return in the county where the land lying fallow or idle is located and if such owner does not allow the land to lie fallow or idle for more than two years of any five-year period;
  - (4) (A) Any property which is subject to a covenant for bona fide conservation use being transferred to a place of religious worship or burial or an institution of purely public charity if such place or

institution is qualified to receive the exemption from ad valorem taxation provided for under subsection (a) of Code Section 48-5-41. No person shall be entitled to transfer more than 25 acres of such person's property in the aggregate under this paragraph.

- (B) Any property transferred under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph shall not be used by the transferee for any purpose other than for a purpose which would entitle such property to the applicable exemption from ad valorem taxation provided for under subsection (a) of Code Section 48-5-41 or subsequently transferred until the expiration of the term of the covenant period. Any such use or transfer shall constitute a breach of the covenant;
- (5) Leasing a portion of the property subject to the covenant, but in no event more than six acres, for the purpose of placing thereon a cellular telephone transmission tower. Any such portion of such property shall cease to be subject to the covenant as of the date of execution of such lease and shall be subject to ad valorem taxation at fair market value;
- (6) Allowing all or part of the property subject to the covenant on which a corn crop is grown to be used for the purpose of constructing and operating a maze so long as the remainder of such corn crop is harvested;
- (7) (A) Allowing all or part of the property subject to the covenant to be used for agritourism purposes.
  - (B) As used in this paragraph, the term "agritourism" means charging admission for persons to visit, view, or participate in the operation of a farm or dairy or production of farm or dairy products for entertainment or educational purposes or selling farm or dairy products to persons who visit such farm or dairy;
- (8) Allowing all or part of the property which has been subject to a covenant for at least one year to be used as a site for farm weddings; or
- (9) Allowing all or part of the property which has been subject to a covenant for at least one year to be used to host not for profit equestrian performance events to which spectator admission is not contingent upon an admission fee but which may charge an entry fee from each participant.
- (10) Allowing all or part of the property subject to the covenant to be used to host a not for profit rodeo event to which spectator admission and participant entry fees are charged in an amount that in aggregate does not exceed the cost of hosting such event;
- (11)(A) Allowing part of the property subject to the covenant to be used for solar generation of energy and conversion of such energy into heat or electricity, and the sale of the same in accordance with applicable law.
  - (B) The provisions of subparagraph (A) of this paragraph shall not allow the portion of the property on which such solar energy generating equipment is located, as depicted by a boundary survey prepared by a licensed surveyor, and which is subject to an existing covenant to remain in the covenant. Such property shall be removed from the existing covenant at the time of the installation of the solar energy generating equipment and shall be subject to the penalty for breach of the covenant contained in subsection (q) of this Code section and shall be subject to ad valorem taxation at fair market value; or

- (12)(A) Allowing part of the property subject to the covenant to be used for farm labor housing. As used in this paragraph, the term 'farm labor housing' means all buildings or structures used as living quarters when such housing is provided free of charge to workers who provide labor on agricultural property.
  - (B) The provisions of subparagraph (A) of this paragraph shall not allow the portion of the property on which such farm labor housing is located and which is subject to an existing covenant to remain in the covenant. Such property shall be removed from the existing covenant at the time construction of the farm labor housing begins and shall be subject to ad valorem taxation at fair market value.
- (q) In the following cases, the penalty specified by subsection (l) of this Code section shall not apply and the penalty imposed shall be the amount by which current use assessment has reduced taxes otherwise due for the year in which the covenant is breached, such penalty to bear interest at the rate specified in Code Section 48-2-40 from the date of the breach:
  - (1) Any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of the foreclosure of a deed to secure debt or the property is conveyed to the lienholder without compensation and in lieu of foreclosure, if:
    - (A) The deed to secure debt was executed as a part of a bona fide commercial loan transaction in which the grantor of the deed to secure debt received consideration equal in value to the principal amount of the debt secured by the deed to secure debt;
    - (B) The loan was made by a person or financial institution who or which is regularly engaged in the business of making loans; and
    - (C) The deed to secure debt was intended by the parties as security for the loan and was not intended for the purpose of carrying out a transfer which would otherwise be subject to the penalty specified by subsection (I) of this Code section;
  - (2) Any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of a medically demonstrable illness or disability which renders the owner of the real property physically unable to continue the property in the qualifying use, provided that the board of tax assessors shall require satisfactory evidence which clearly demonstrates that the breach is the result of a medically demonstrable illness or disability;
  - (3) Any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of an owner electing to discontinue the property in its qualifying use, provided such owner has renewed without an intervening lapse at least once the covenant for bona fide conservation use, has reached the age of 65 or older, and has kept the property in a qualifying use under the renewal covenant for at least three years. Such election shall be in writing and shall not become effective until filed with the county board of tax assessors; or
  - (4) Any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of an owner electing to discontinue the property in its qualifying use, provided such owner entered into the covenant for bona fide conservation use for the first time after reaching the age of 67 and has either owned the property for at least 15 years or inherited the property and has kept the property in a qualifying use under the covenant for at least three years. Such election shall be in writing and shall not become effective until filed with the county board of tax assessors.

- (5) Any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of an owner that is a family owned farm entity as described in division (a)(1)(C)(iv) of this Code section electing to discontinue the property in its qualifying use on or after the effective date of this paragraph, provided the owner has renewed at least once, without an intervening lapse, the covenant for bona fide conservation use, has kept the property in a qualifying use under the renewal covenant for at least three years, and any current shareholder, member, or partner of such family owned farm entity has reached the age of 65 and such shareholder, member, or partner held some beneficial interest, directly or indirectly through a family owned farm entity, in the property continuously since the time the covenant immediately preceding the current renewal covenant was entered. Such election shall be in writing and shall not become effective until filed with the county board of tax assessors.
- (r) Property which is subject to current use assessment under this Code section shall be separately classified from all other property on the tax digest; and such separate classification shall be such as will enable any person examining the tax digest to ascertain readily that the property is subject to current use assessment under this Code section. Covenants shall be public records and shall be indexed and maintained in such manner as will allow members of the public to locate readily the covenant affecting any particular property subject to current use assessment under this Code section. Based on information submitted by the county boards of tax assessors, the commissioner shall maintain a central registry of conservation use property, indexed by owners, so as to ensure that the 2,000 acre limitations of this Code section are complied with on a state-wide basis.
- (s) The commissioner shall annually submit a report to the Governor, the Department of Agriculture, the Georgia Agricultural Statistical Service, the State Forestry Commission, the Department of Natural Resources, and the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension Service and the House Ways and Means, Natural Resources and Environment, and Agriculture and Consumer Affairs committees and the Senate Finance, Natural Resources and Environment, and Agriculture and Consumer Affairs committees and shall make such report available to other members of the General Assembly, which report shall show the fiscal impact of the assessments provided for in this Code section and Code Section 48-5-7.5. The report shall include the amount of assessed value eliminated from each county's digest as a result of such assessments; approximate tax dollar losses, by county, to all local governments affected by such assessments; and any recommendations regarding state and local administration of this Code section and Code Section 48-5-7.5, with emphasis upon enforcement problems, if any, attendant with this Code section and Code Section 48-5-7.5. The report shall also include any other data or facts which the commissioner deems relevant.
- (t) A public notice containing a brief, factual summary of the provisions of this Code section shall be posted in a prominent location readily viewable by the public in the office of the board of tax assessors and in the office of the tax commissioner of each county in this state.
- (u) Reserved.
- (v) Reserved.
- (w) At such time as the property ceases to be eligible for current use assessment or when any ten-year covenant period expires and the property does not qualify for further current use assessment, the owner of the property shall file an application for release of current use treatment with the county board of tax assessors who shall approve the release upon verification that all taxes and penalties with respect to the property have been satisfied. After the application for release has been approved by the board of tax assessors, the board shall

file the release in the office of the clerk of the superior court in the county in which the original covenant was filed. The clerk of the superior court shall file and index such release in the real property records maintained in the clerk's office. No fee shall be paid to the clerk of the superior court for recording such release. The commissioner shall by regulation provide uniform release forms.

- (x) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code section to the contrary, in any case where a renewal covenant is breached by the original covenantor or a transferee who is related to that original covenantor within the fourth degree by civil reckoning, the penalty otherwise imposed by subsection (I) of this Code section shall not apply if the breach occurs during the sixth through tenth years of such renewal covenant, and the only penalty imposed shall be the amount by which current use assessment has reduced taxes otherwise due for each year in which such renewal covenant was in effect, plus interest at the rate specified in Code Section 48-2-40 from the date the covenant is breached.
- (y) The commissioner shall have the power to make and publish reasonable rules and regulations for the implementation and enforcement of this Code section. Without limiting the commissioner's authority with respect to any other such matters, the commissioner may prescribe soil maps and other appropriate sources of information for documenting eligibility as a bona fide conservation use property. The commissioner also may provide that advance notice be given to taxpayers of the intent of a board of tax assessors to deem a change in use as a breach of a covenant.
- (z) The governing authority of a county shall not publish or promulgate any information which is inconsistent with the provisions of this chapter.

#### JUDICIAL DECISIONS

VALUATION OF COMPARABLE PROPERTIES AS EVIDENCE. --Evidence of the valuations of conservation use properties was relevant in an action involving the assessment of comparable corporate properties. Georgia-Pacific Corp. v. Talbot County Bd. of Tax Assessors, 241 Ga. App. 444, 526 S.E.2d 914 (1999).

REQUIREMENT OF VALID COVENANT AND BONA FIDE QUALIFYING USE. --O.C.G.A. § 48-5-7.4(g) provides that no property shall maintain the property's eligibility for current use assessment under that Code section unless a valid covenant remains in effect and unless the property is continuously devoted to an applicable bona fide qualifying use during the entire period of the covenant. Terrell County Bd. of Tax Assessors v. Goolsby, 324 Ga. App. 535, 751 S.E.2d 158 (2013).

OWNER ONLY BENEFITTED FROM A LOWER AD VALOREM TAX IN PROPORTION TO INTEREST OWNED. --Because a beneficial property owner only benefitted from a lower ad valorem tax in proportion to the interest owned in the property, the trial court did not err in granting summary judgment to a corporation, as approval of preferential ad valorem tax

treatment for property co-owned by the shareholders of the corporation by a tenancy in common did not violate O.C.G.A. § 48-5-7.4(b)(3), as an individual's benefit was to be determined on a pro-rata basis; thus, if the interests of shareholders who were tenants in common of the property were so calculated, no single shareholder would have benefitted from the current use assessment as to more than 2,000 acres. Effingham County Bd. of Tax Assessors v. Samwilka, Inc., 278 Ga. App. 521, 629 S.E.2d 501 (2006).

PROPERTY PROPERLY DISQUALIFIED AS BONA FIDE CONSERVATION USE PROPERTY.

--Board's determination that an owner's property did not qualify as a bona fide conservation use property due to restrictive covenants was proper because O.C.G.A. § 48-5-7.4(b)(5) was strictly construed in favor of the board, and disqualified property which was restricted from any, but not necessarily all, of the activities described in O.C.G.A. § 48-5-7.4(a)(1)(E). Morrison v. Claborn, 294 Ga. App. 508, 669 S.E.2d 492 (2008).

PROPERTY NOT QUALIFIED FOR CURRENT USE ASSESSMENT. --Georgia Court of Appeals concludes that if the taxpayer is operating some other type of business, a business separate and apart from the commercial production from or on the land of agricultural products, and the business is not incidental, occasional, intermediate, or temporary but is detrimental to or in conflict with the property's primary purpose, then the land does not qualify for current use assessment under O.C.G.A. § 48-5-7.4. Terrell County Bd. of Tax Assessors v. Goolsby, 324 Ga. App. 535, 751 S.E.2d 158 (2013).

ERROR IN FAILING TO MAKE NECESSARY FINDINGS AS TO BUSINESS OPERATED ON PROPERTY. --Trial court erred by holding that operating a commercial grain business on property designated conservation use property under O.C.G.A. § 48-5-7.4 did not constitute a breach of the conservation use covenant because the court failed to make any findings as to whether the grain business was incidental and not detrimental to the qualifying use of the property. Terrell County Bd. of Tax Assessors v. Goolsby, 324 Ga. App. 535, 751 S.E.2d 158 (2013).

RIGHT TO APPEAL PENALTY ASSESSMENT. --An assessment of a penalty for a breach of a conservation use covenant is an assessment for which a property owner has the right to appeal pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311. Oconee County Bd. of Tax Assessors v. Thomas, 282 Ga. 422, 651 S.E.2d 45 (2007).

MANDAMUS RELIEF PROPERLY DENIED SINCE CERTIFICATION OF APPEALS OBTAINED. -- Trial court did not err by denying a group of property owners their request for mandamus relief in the nature of finding that the county board of tax assessors certified their property tax appeals because it was undisputed that the tax appeals were physically delivered to the trial court and that it had ruled that such appeals were certified to it, thus, the property owners received the relief sought regarding certification. Newton Timber Co., L.L.L.P. v. Monroe County Bd. of Tax Assessors, 755 S.E.2d 770 (2014).

NOTICE AND OPPORTUNITY TO CURE NOT PROPERLY GIVEN. --Board of Tax Assessors failed to meet its threshold obligation to provide the property owner with notice of an opportunity to correct the alleged breach of a conservation covenant; therefore, the property owner was entitled to summary judgment in an action for breach of the covenant and assessment of a penalty against the property owner. Morgan County Bd. of Tax Assessors v. Ward, 318 Ga. App. 186, 733 S.E.2d 470 (2012).

#### 48-5-7.7. Short title; definitions.

- (a) This Code section shall be known and may be cited as the "Georgia Forest Land Protection Act of 2008."
- (b) As used in this Code section, the term:
  - (1) "Contiguous" means real property within a county that abuts, joins, or touches and has the same undivided common ownership. If an applicant's tract is divided by a county boundary, public roadway, public easement, public right of way, natural boundary, land lot line, or railroad track, then the applicant has, at the time of the initial application, a one-time election to declare

the tract as contiguous irrespective of a county boundary, public roadway, public easement, public right of way, natural boundary, land lot line, or railroad track.

- (2) "Forest land conservation use property" means <u>real property that is</u> forest land <del>each tract of which consists of more than 200 acres of tangible real property of an owner <u>of at least 200 acres in aggregate which lies within one or more counties, provided that such forest land is in parcels <u>of at least 100 acres within any given county and that is</u> subject to the following qualifications:</del></u>
  - (A) Such property must be owned by an individual or individuals or by any entity registered to do business in this state:
  - (B) Such property excludes the entire value of any residence and its underlying land located on the property; as used in this subparagraph, the term "underlying land" means the minimum lot size required for residential construction by local zoning ordinances or two acres, whichever is less. This provision for excluding the underlying land of a residence from eligibility in the conservation use covenant shall only apply to property that is first made subject to such a covenant, or is subject to a renewal of a previous conservation use covenant, on or after January 1, 2014;
  - (C) Such property has as its primary use the good faith subsistence or commercial production of trees, timber, or other wood and wood fiber products from or on the land. Such primary use includes land conservation and ecological forest management in which commercial production of wood and wood fiber products may be undertaken primarily for conservation and restoration purposes rather than financial gain. Such property may, in addition, have one or more of the following secondary uses:
    - (i) The promotion, preservation, or management of wildlife habitat;
    - (ii) Carbon sequestration in accordance with the Georgia Carbon Sequestration Registry;
    - (iii) Mitigation and conservation banking that results in restoration or conservation of wetlands and other natural resources; or
    - (iv) The production and maintenance of ecosystem products and services, such as, but not limited to, clean air and water. Forest land conservation use property may include, but is not limited to, land that has been certified as environmentally sensitive property by the Department of Natural Resources or which is managed in accordance with a recognized sustainable forestry certification program, such as the Sustainable Forestry Initiative, Forest Stewardship Council, American Tree Farm Program, or an equivalent sustainable forestry certification program approved by the State Forestry Commission.
- (3) "Qualified owner" means any individual or individuals or any entity registered to do business in this state.
- (4) "Qualified property" means forest land conservation use property as defined in this subsection.
- (5) "Qualifying purpose" means a use that meets the qualifications of subparagraph (C) of paragraph (2) of this subsection.
- (c) The following additional rules shall apply to the qualification of forest land conservation use property for conservation use assessment:

- (1) All contiguous forest Forest land conservation use property of an owner within a county for which forest land conservation use assessment is sought under this Code section shall be in a single covenant covenants, which shall include forest land of at least 200 acres in aggregate which lies within one or more counties, provided that such forest land is in parcels of at least 100 acres within any given county, unless otherwise required under subsection (e) of this Code section;
- (2) When one-half or more of the area of a single tract of real property is used for the qualifying purpose, then the entirety of such tract shall be considered as used for such qualifying purpose unless some other type of business is being operated on the portion of the tract that is not being used for a qualifying purpose; provided, however, that such other portion must be minimally managed so that it does not contribute significantly to erosion or other environmental or conservation problems or must be used for one or more secondary purposes specified in subparagraph (b)(2)(C) of this Code section. The following uses of real property shall not constitute using the property for another type of business:
  - (A) The lease of hunting rights or the use of the property for hunting purposes;
  - (B) The charging of admission for use of the property for fishing purposes;
  - (C) The production of pine straw or native grass seed;
  - (D) The granting of easements solely for ingress and egress; and
  - (E) Any type of business devoted to secondary uses listed under subparagraph (b)(2)(C) of this Code section; and
  - (3) No otherwise qualified forest land conservation use property shall be denied conservation use assessment on the grounds that no soil map is available for the county or counties, if applicable, in which such property is located; provided, however, that if no soil map is available for the county or counties, if applicable, in which such property is located, the board of tax assessors shall use the current soil classification applicable to such property.
- (d) No property shall qualify for conservation use assessment under this Code section unless and until the qualified owner of such property agrees by covenant with the appropriate taxing authority to maintain the eligible property in forest land conservation use for a period of 45 ten years beginning on the first day of January of the year in which such property qualifies for such conservation use assessment and ending on the last day of December of the final year of the covenant period. After the qualified owner has applied for and has been allowed conservation use assessment provided for in this Code section, it shall not be necessary to make application thereafter for any year in which the covenant period is in effect and conservation use assessment shall continue to be allowed such qualified owner as specified in this Code section. At least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the covenant, the county board of tax assessors where the property is located shall send by first-class mail written notification of such impending expiration. Upon the expiration of any covenant period, the property shall not qualify for further conservation use assessment under this Code section unless and until the qualified owner of the property has entered into a renewal covenant for an additional period of 15 years; provided, however, that the qualified owner may enter into a renewal contract in the fourteenth ninth year of a covenant period so that the contract is continued without a lapse for an additional 45 ten years.
- (e) Subject to the limitations of paragraph (1) of subsection (c) of this Code section, a qualified owner shall be authorized to enter into more than one covenant under this Code section for forest land conservation use property. Any such qualified property may include a tract or tracts of land which are located in more than one county in which event the owner shall enter into a covenant with each county. In the event a single contiguous tract is required to have separate

covenants under this subsection, the total acreage of that single contiguous tract shall be utilized for purposes of determining the 200 acre requirement of this Code section.

- (f) (1) A qualified owner shall not be authorized to make application for and receive conservation use assessment under this Code section for any property which at the time of such application is receiving preferential assessment under Code Section 48-5-7.1 or current use assessment under Code Section 48-5-7.4; provided, however, that if any property is subject to a covenant under either of those Code sections, it may be changed from such covenant and placed under a covenant under this Code section if it is otherwise qualified. Any such change shall terminate the existing covenant and shall not constitute a breach thereof. No property may be changed more than once under this paragraph.
- (2) Any property that is subject to a covenant under this Code section and subsequently fails to adhere to the qualifying purpose, as defined in paragraph (5) of subsection (b) of this Code section, may be changed from the covenant under this Code section and placed under a covenant provided for in Code Section 48-5-7.4 if the property otherwise qualifies under the provisions of that Code section. In such a case, the existing covenant under this Code section shall be terminated, and the change shall not constitute a breach thereof. No property may be changed more than once under this paragraph.
- (g) Except as otherwise provided in this Code section, no property shall maintain its eligibility for conservation use assessment under this Code section unless a valid covenant or covenants, if applicable, remain in effect and unless the property is continuously devoted to forest land conservation use during the entire period of the covenant or covenants, if applicable.
- (h) If any breach of a covenant occurs, the existing covenant shall be terminated and all qualification requirements must be met again before the property shall be eligible for conservation use assessment under this Code section.
- (i) (1) If ownership of all or a part of a forest land conservation use property is acquired during a covenant period by another qualified owner, then the original covenant may be continued only by both such acquiring owner and the transferor for the remainder of the term, in which event, no breach of the covenant shall be deemed to have occurred if the total size of a tract from which the transfer was made is reduced below 200 acres or the size of the tract transferred is less than 200 acres. Following the expiration of the original covenant, no new covenant shall be entered with respect to either tract unless such tract exceeds 200 acres. If a qualified owner has entered into an original forest land conservation use covenant and subsequently acquires additional qualified property contiguous to the property in the original covenant, the qualified owner may elect to enter the subsequently acquired qualified property into the original covenant for the remainder of the 15 year period of the original covenant; provided, however, that such subsequently acquired qualified property shall be less than 200 acres.
- (2) If, following such transfer, a breach of the covenant occurs by the acquiring owner, the penalty and interest shall apply to the entire transferred tract and shall be paid by the acquiring owner who breached the covenant. In such case, the covenant shall terminate on such entire transferred tract but shall continue on such entire remaining tract from which the transfer was made and on which the breach did not occur for the remainder of the original covenant.
- (3) If, following such transfer, a breach of the covenant occurs by the transferring owner, the penalty and interest shall apply to the entire remaining tract from which the transfer was made

and shall be paid by the transferring owner who breached the covenant. In such case, the covenant shall terminate on such entire remaining tract from which the transfer was made but shall continue on such entire transferred tract and on which the breach did not occur for the remainder of the original covenant.

- (j) (1) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2014, all applications for conservation use assessment under this Code section, including any forest land covenant required under this Code section, shall be filed on or before the last day for filing ad valorem tax appeals of the annual notice of assessment except that in the case of property which is the subject of a tax appeal of the annual notice of assessment under Code Section 48-5-311, an application for forest land conservation use assessment may be filed at any time while such appeal is pending. An application for continuation of such forest land conservation use assessment upon a change in ownership of all or a part of the qualified property shall be filed on or before the last date for filing tax returns in the year following the year in which the change in ownership occurred. Applications for forest land conservation use assessment under this Code section shall be filed with the county board of tax assessors in which the property is located who shall approve or deny the application. Such county board of tax assessors shall file a copy of the approved covenant in the office of the clerk of the superior court in the county in which the eligible property is located. The clerk of the superior court shall file and index such covenant in the real property records maintained in the clerk's office. If the covenant is not so recorded in the real property records, a transferee of the property affected shall not be bound by the covenant or subject to any penalty for its breach. The fee of the clerk of the superior court for recording such covenants shall be paid by the qualified owner of the eligible property with the application for forest land conservation use assessment under this Code section and shall be paid to the clerk by the board of tax assessors when the application is filed with the clerk. If the application is denied, the board of tax assessors shall notify the applicant in the same manner that notices of assessment are given pursuant to Code Section 48-5-306 and shall return any filing fees advanced by the owner. Appeals from the denial of an application or covenant by the board of tax assessors shall be made in the same manner that other property tax appeals are made pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311.
- (2) In the event such application is approved, the qualified owner shall continue to receive annual notification of any change in the forest land fair market value of such property, and any appeals with respect to such valuation shall be made in the same manner as other property tax appeals are made pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311.
- (k) The commissioner shall by regulation provide uniform application and covenant forms to be used in making application for conservation use assessment under this Code section.
- (I) In the case of an alleged breach of the covenant, the qualified owner shall be notified in writing by the board of tax assessors. The qualified owner shall have a period of 30 days from the date of such notice to cease and desist the activity alleged in the notice to be in breach of the covenant or to remediate or correct the condition or conditions alleged in the notice to be in breach of the covenant. Following a physical inspection of property, the board of tax assessors shall notify the qualified owner that such activity or activities have or have not properly ceased or that the condition or conditions have or have not been remediated or corrected. The qualified owner shall be entitled to appeal the decision of the board of tax assessors and file an appeal disputing the findings of the board of tax assessors. Such appeal shall be conducted in the same manner that other property tax appeals are made pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311.

- (m) (1) A penalty shall be imposed under this subsection if during the period of the covenant entered into by a qualified owner the covenant is breached.
  - (2) Except as provided in subsection (i) of this Code section and paragraph (4) of this subsection, the penalty shall be applicable to the entire tract which is the subject of the covenant.
  - (3) The penalty shall be twice the difference between the total amount of the tax paid pursuant to the conservation use assessment under this Code section and the total amount of taxes which would otherwise have been due under this chapter for each completed or partially completed year of the covenant period. Any such penalty shall bear interest at the rate specified in Code Section 48-2-40 from the date the covenant is breached.
  - (4) If ownership of a portion of the land subject to the original covenant constituting at least 200 acres is transferred to another owner qualified to enter into an original forest land conservation use covenant in a bona fide arm's length transaction and breach subsequently occurs, then the penalty shall either be assessed against the entire remaining tract from which the transfer was made or the entire transferred tract, on whichever the breach occurred. The calculation of penalties in paragraph (3) of this subsection shall be used except that the penalty amount resulting from such calculation shall be multiplied by the percentage which represents the acreage of such tract on which the breach occurs to the original covenant acreage. The resulting amount shall be the penalty amount owed by the owner of such tract of land on which the breach occurred.
- (n) In any case of a breach of the covenant where a penalty under subsection (m) of this Code section is imposed, an amount equal to the amount of reimbursement to each county, municipality, and board of education in each year of the covenant shall be collected under subsection (o) of this Code section and paid over to the commissioner who shall deposit such amount in the general fund.
- (o) Penalties and interest imposed under this Code section shall constitute a lien against that portion of the property to which the penalty has been applied under subsection (m) of this Code section and shall be collected in the same manner as unpaid ad valorem taxes are collected. Except as provided in subsection (n) of this Code section, such penalties and interest shall be distributed pro rata to each taxing jurisdiction wherein conservation use assessment under this Code section has been granted based upon the total amount by which such conservation use assessment has reduced taxes for each such taxing jurisdiction on the property in question as provided in this Code section.
- (p) The penalty imposed by subsection (m) of this Code section shall not apply in any case where a covenant is breached solely as a result of:
  - (1) The acquisition of part or all of the property under the power of eminent domain;
  - (2) The sale of part or all of the property to a public or private entity which would have had the authority to acquire the property under the power of eminent domain; or
  - (3) The death of an individual qualified owner who was a party to the covenant.
- (g) The following shall not constitute a breach of a covenant:
  - (1) Mineral exploration of the property subject to the covenant or the leasing of the property subject to the covenant for purposes of mineral exploration if the primary use of the property continues to be the good faith production from or on the land of timber:

- (2) Allowing all or part of the property subject to the covenant to lie fallow or idle for purposes of any forestry conservation program, for purposes of any federal agricultural assistance program, or for other agricultural management purposes;
- (3) Allowing all or part of the property subject to the covenant to lie fallow or idle due to economic or financial hardship if the qualified owner notifies the board of tax assessors on or before the last day for filing a tax return in the county where the land lying fallow or idle is located and if such qualified owner does not allow the land to lie fallow or idle for more than two years of any five-year period;
- (4) (A) Any property which is subject to a covenant for forest land conservation use being transferred to a place of religious worship or burial or an institution of purely public charity if such place or institution is qualified to receive the exemption from ad valorem taxation provided for under subsection (a) of Code Section 48-5-41. No qualified owner shall be entitled to transfer more than 25 acres of such person's property in the aggregate under this paragraph.
  - (B) Any property transferred under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph shall not be used by the transferee for any purpose other than for a purpose which would entitle such property to the applicable exemption from ad valorem taxation provided for under subsection (a) of Code Section 48-5-41 or subsequently transferred until the expiration of the term of the covenant period. Any such use or transfer shall constitute a breach of the covenant; or
- (5) Leasing a portion of the property subject to the covenant, but in no event more than six acres of every unit of 2,000 acres, for the purpose of placing thereon a cellular telephone transmission tower. Any such portion of such property shall cease to be subject to the covenant as of the date of execution of such lease and shall be subject to ad valorem taxation at fair market value.
- (6)(A) Allowing part of the property subject to the covenant to be used for solar generation of energy and conversion of such energy into heat or electricity, and the sale of the same in accordance with applicable law.
- (B) The provisions of subparagraph (A) of this paragraph shall not allow the portion of the property on which such solar energy generating equipment is located, as depicted by a boundary survey prepared by a licensed surveyor, and which is subject to an existing covenant to remain in the covenant. Such property shall be removed from the existing covenant at the time of the installation of the solar energy generating equipment and shall be subject to the penalty for breach of the covenant contained in subsection (r) of this Code section and shall be subject to ad valorem taxation at fair market value; or
- (7)(A) Allowing part of the property subject to the covenant to be used for farm labor housing. As used in this paragraph, the term 'farm labor housing' means all buildings or structures used as living quarters when such housing is provided free of charge to workers who provide labor on agricultural property.
- (B) The provisions of subparagraph (A) of this paragraph shall not allow the portion of the property on which such farm labor housing is located and which is subject to an existing covenant to remain in the covenant. Such property shall be removed from the existing covenant at the time construction of the farm labor housing begins and shall be subject to ad valorem taxation at fair market value.
- (r) In the following cases, the penalty specified by subsection (m) of this Code section shall not apply and the penalty imposed shall be the angular by which conservation use assessment has

reduced taxes otherwise due for the year in which the covenant is breached, such penalty to bear interest at the rate specified in Code Section 48-2-40 from the date of the breach:

- (1) Any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of the foreclosure of a deed to secure debt or the property is conveyed to the lienholder without compensation and in lieu of foreclosure, if:
- (A) The deed to secure debt was executed as a part of a bona fide commercial loan transaction in which the grantor of the deed to secure debt received consideration equal in value to the principal amount of the debt secured by the deed to secure debt;
- (B) The loan was made by a person or financial institution who or which is regularly engaged in the business of making loans; and
- (C) The deed to secure debt was intended by the parties as security for the loan and was not intended for the purpose of carrying out a transfer which would otherwise be subject to the penalty specified by subsection (m) of this Code section;
- (2) Any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of a medically demonstrable illness or disability which renders the qualified owner of the real property physically unable to continue the property in the qualifying use, provided that the board of tax assessors or boards of assessors, if applicable, shall require satisfactory evidence which clearly demonstrates that the breach is the result of a medically demonstrable illness or disability;
- (3) Any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of a qualified owner electing to discontinue the property in its qualifying use, provided such qualified owner has renewed without an intervening lapse at least once the covenant for land conservation use, has reached the age of 65 or older, and has kept the property in the qualifying use under the renewal covenant for at least three years. Such election shall be in writing and shall not become effective until filed with the county board of tax assessors or boards of assessors, if applicable; or
- (4) Any case in which a covenant is breached solely as a result of a qualified owner electing to discontinue the property in its qualifying use, provided such qualified owner entered into the covenant for forest land conservation use for the first time after reaching the age of 67 and has either owned the property for at least 15 years or inherited the property and has kept the property in the qualifying use under the covenant for at least three years. Such election shall be in writing and shall not become effective until filed with the county board of tax assessors where the property is located.
- (s) Property which is subject to forest land conservation use assessment under this Code section shall be separately classified from all other property on the tax digest; and such separate classification shall be such as will enable any person examining the tax digest to ascertain readily that the property is subject to conservation use assessment under this Code section. Covenants shall be public records and shall be indexed and maintained in such manner as will allow members of the public to locate readily the covenant affecting any particular property subject to conservation use assessment under this Code section. Based on information submitted by the county boards of tax assessors, the commissioner shall maintain a central registry of conservation use property, indexed by qualified owners.

(t) The commissioner shall annually submit a report to the Governor, the Department of Agriculture, the Georgia Agricultural Statistical Service, the State Forestry Commission, the Department of Natural Resources, and the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension Service

and the House Ways and Means, Natural Resources and Environment, and Agriculture and Consumer Affairs committees and the Senate Finance, Natural Resources and the Environment, and Agriculture and Consumer Affairs committees and shall make such report available to other members of the General Assembly, which report shall show the fiscal impact of the assessments provided for in this Code section. The report shall include the amount of assessed value eliminated from each county's digest as a result of such assessments; approximate tax dollar losses, by county, to all local governments affected by such assessments; and any recommendations regarding state and local administration of this Code section, with emphasis upon enforcement problems, if any, attendant with this Code section. The report shall also include any other data or facts which the commissioner deems relevant.

- (u) A public notice containing a brief, factual summary of the provisions of this Code section shall be posted in a prominent location readily viewable by the public in the office of the board of tax assessors and in the office of the tax commissioner of each county in this state.
- (v) At such time as the property ceases to be eligible for forest land conservation use assessment or when any 45 year ten-year covenant period expires and the property does not qualify for further forest land conservation use assessment, the qualified owner of the property shall file an application for release of forest land conservation use treatment with the county board of tax assessors where the property is located who shall approve the release upon verification that all taxes and penalties with respect to the property have been satisfied. After the application for release has been approved by such board of tax assessors, the board shall file the release in the office of the clerk of the superior court in the county in which the original covenant was filed. The clerk of the superior court shall file and index such release in the real property records maintained in the clerk's office. No fee shall be paid to the clerk of the superior court for recording such release. The commissioner shall by regulation provide uniform release forms.
- (w) The commissioner shall have the power to make and publish reasonable rules and regulations for the implementation and enforcement of this Code section. Without limiting the commissioner's authority with respect to any other such matters, the commissioner may prescribe soil maps and other appropriate sources of information for documenting eligibility as a forest land conservation use property. The commissioner also may provide that advance notice be given to a qualified owner of the intent of a board of tax assessors to deem a change in use as a breach of a covenant.

## 48-5-30. Filing extension for Member of the Armed Forces serving abroad.

Notwithstanding any provision of Code Section 48-5-7.1 or 48-5-7.4 to the contrary, a member of the armed forces of the United States serving outside the continental United States may file such member's initial or renewal application for special assessment at any time within a period of six months following the return of such member to the continental United States.

# 48-5-8. Manner and time of making state levy; notice on taxpayer's ad valorem tax bill

- (a) Subject to the conditions specified in subsection (b) of this Code section, the levy for state taxation shall be made by the Governor with the assistance of the commissioner. Each year, as soon as the value of the taxable property is substantially known by the commissioner, the commissioner shall assist the Governor in making the state levy. Immediately after the Governor has made the state levy, the commissioner shall send to each tax collector and tax commissioner written or printed notices of the Governor's order.
- (b) (1) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, and prior to January 1, 2012, the levy under subsection (a) of this Code Section shall be 0.25 mills.
- (2) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, and prior to January 1, 2013, the levy under subsection (a) of this Code Section shall be 0.2 mills.
- (3) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013, and prior to January 1, 2014, the levy under subsection (a) of this Code Section shall be 0.15 mills.
- (4) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, and prior to January 1, 2015, the levy under subsection (a) of this Code Section shall be 0.1 mills.
- (5) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, and prior to January 1, 2016, the levy under subsection (a) of this Code Section shall be 0.05 mills.
- (6) (A) For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016, there shall be no levy for state taxation under subsection (a) of this Code section.
- (B) Tax, penalty, and interest liabilities and refund eligibility for prior taxable years shall not be affected by this subsection and shall continue to be governed by the provisions of this Code section as it existed immediately prior to May 12, 2010.
- (C) This subsection shall not abate any prosecution, punishment, penalty, administrative proceedings or remedies, or civil action related to any violation of law committed prior to May 12, 2010.
- (c) Each fiscal authority issuing an ad valorem property tax bill shall place a prominent notice on each taxpayer's ad valorem tax bill in substantially the following form: This gradual reduction and elimination of the state property tax and the reduction in your tax bill this year is the result of property tax relief passed by the Governor and the House of Representatives and the Georgia State Senate." Reserved

### 48-5-9. Person liable for taxes on property

Taxes shall be charged against the owner of property if the owner is known and against the specific property itself if the owner is not known. Life tenants and those who own and enjoy the property shall be chargeable with the taxes on the property.

### 48-5-10. Returnable property.

All property shall be returned by the taxpayers for taxation to the tax commissioner or tax receiver as provided by law. Each return by a taxpayer shall be for property held and subject to taxation on January 1 next preceding each return.

### 48-5-11. Situs for returns by residents.

Unless otherwise provided by law, all:

- (1) Real property of a resident shall be returned for taxation to the tax commissioner or tax receiver of the county where the property is located; and
- (2) Personal property of a resident individual shall be returned for taxation to the tax commissioner or tax receiver of the county where the individual maintains a permanent legal residence.

### 48-5-12. Situs of returns by nonresidents.

Unless otherwise provided by law, all real and personal property of nonresidents shall be returned for taxation to the tax commissioner or tax receiver of the county where the property is located.

### 48-5-13 Instruction for local tax officials and staff

- (a) As used in this Code section, the term 'local tax officials and staff' means:
  - (1) All county tax collectors and county tax commissioners;
  - (2) All county appraisers and county appraisal staff; and
  - (3) All members of county boards of tax assessors.
- (b) The commissioner shall prepare, instruct, operate, and administer courses of instruction deemed necessary to provide training of and continuing education to all local tax officials and staff and members of the county boards of equalization. Course materials for such training shall be reviewed not less than once every five years and updated if necessary. All such training materials shall be made available online, and the commissioner shall determine what training

may be offered or available online instead of attended in person in order to reduce the cost to taxpayers to pay for such training.

- (c) All such courses of instruction shall be open and made available by the commissioner to the public upon request and upon payment of such reasonable instruction fee as set by the commissioner and upon available space as determined by the commissioner.
- (d) The commissioner is authorized to work with any organization or other professionals with expertise in providing instruction in property tax administration, property taxation, or related matters.

### 48-5-14. Nonresident

A nonresident person, all persons who return property for a nonresident, and the nonresident's property located in this state shall be liable for the taxes on the property.

### 48-5-15. Returns of taxable real property.

- (a) All improved and unimproved real property in this state which is subject to taxation shall be returned by the person owning the real property or by his or her agent or attorney to the tax receiver or tax commissioner of the county where the real property is located."
- (b) If the real property has a district, number, and section designation, the tax receiver or tax commissioner shall require the person making a return of the real property to return it by district, number, and section designation. If the real property has no designation by district, number, and section, it shall be returned by such description as will enable the tax receiver or tax commissioner to identify it.
- (c) No tax receiver or tax commissioner shall receive any return of real property which does not designate the real property as provided in this Code section. The commissioner shall not allow any tax receiver or tax commissioner who receives returns in any manner other than as provided in this Code section any compensation or percentage for his services.

# 48-5-16. Return of tangible personal property in county where business conducted; exemptions; boats; aircraft.

(a) Any person who conducts a business enterprise upon real property, which is not taxable in the county in which the person resides or in which the person's office is located, shall return for taxation the tangible personal property of the business enterprise to the tax commissioner or tax receiver of the county in which is taxable the real property upon which the business enterprise is located or conducted.

- (b) When the agent in this state of any person who is a resident of another state has on hand and for sale, storage, or otherwise merchandise or other tangible property, he shall return the property for taxation as provided in Code Section 48-5-12.
- (c) This Code section shall not apply to public utilities and other companies required to make returns of their properties and franchises to the commissioner under Articles 9, 11, and 12 of this chapter.
- (d) (1) As used in this subsection, the term:
- (A) "Boat" means every description of watercraft used or capable of being used as a means of transportation on the water.
- (B) "Functionally located" means located in a county in this state for 184 days or more during the immediately preceding calendar year. The 184 days or more requirement of this subsection shall mean the cumulative total number of days during such calendar year, which days may, but shall not be required to be, consecutive.
- (2) Any person who owns tangible personal property in the form of a boat which is functionally located for recreational or convenience purposes in a county in this state other than the county in which such person maintains a permanent legal residence shall return such property for taxation to the tax commissioner or tax receiver of the county in which such property is functionally located. Tangible personal property of a person which does not meet the 184 days or more requirement provided for in this subsection shall be returned for taxation in the manner provided for in Code Section 48-5-11.
- (e) (1) As used in this subsection, the term:
- (A) "Aircraft" means any contrivance used or designed for navigation through the air; provided, however, that such term does not include commercial airliners.
- (B) "Primary home base" means an airport where an aircraft is principally hangared or tied down and out of which its flights normally originate.
- (2) Any person who owns tangible personal property in the form of an aircraft which has its primary home base in a county in this state other than the county in which such person maintains a permanent legal residence shall return such property for taxation to the tax commissioner or tax receiver of the county in which such primary home base is located. Such aircraft which does not have a primary home base in a county of this state other than the county in which the owner maintains a permanent legal residence shall be returned for taxation in the manner provided for in Code Section 48-5-11.

### 48-5-18. Time for making tax returns.

Each tax commissioner and tax receiver shall open his or her books for the return of real or personal property ad valorem taxes on January 1 and shall close those books on April 1 of each year.

# 48-5-20. Effect of failure to return taxable property; acquisition of real property by transfer; penalty for failure to make timely return.

- (a) (1) Any taxpayer of any county who returned or paid taxes in the county for the preceding tax year and who fails to return his property for taxation for the current tax year as required by this chapter shall be deemed to have returned for taxation the same property as was returned or deemed to have been returned in the preceding tax year at the same valuation as the property was finally determined to be subject to taxation in the preceding year. Each such taxpayer shall also be deemed to have claimed the same homestead exemption and personal property exemption as allowed in the preceding year.
- (2) Any taxpayer of any county who acquired real property by transfer in the preceding tax year for which a properly completed real estate transfer tax form has been filed and the real estate transfer tax required under Article 1 of Chapter 6 of this title has been paid, and where no subdivision of the real property has occurred at the time of transfer, shall be deemed to have returned for taxation the same real property as was acquired by transfer at the same valuation as the real property was finally determined to be subject to taxation in the preceding year. Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to relieve the taxpayer of the responsibility to file a new timely claim for a homestead exemption and personal property exemption or to file a timely return where improvements have been made to the real property since it was last returned for taxation.
- (b) Any penalty prescribed by this title or by any other law for the failure of a taxpayer to return his property for taxation within the time provided by law shall apply only to the property:
  - (1) Which the taxpayer did not return prior to the expiration of the time for making returns; and
  - (2) Which the taxpayer has acquired since his last tax return or which represents improvements on existing property since his last return.
- (c) Reserved.

# 48-5-29. Acquisition of jurisdiction by superior court in ad valorem property tax litigation; payment and distribution of property taxes; excess payments; underpayments.

(a) Before the superior court has jurisdiction to entertain any civil action, appeal, or affidavit of illegality filed under this title by any aggrieved taxpayer concerning liability for ad valorem property taxes, taxability of property for ad valorem property taxes, valuation of property for ad valorem taxes, or uniformity of assessments for ad valorem property taxes, the taxpayer shall pay the amount of ad valorem property taxes assessed against the property at issue for the last year for which taxes were finally determined to be due on the property, or, if less, the amount of the temporary tax bill issued pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311. For the purposes of this Code section, taxes shall not be deemed finally determined to be due on a property for a tax year until

all appeals under Code Section 48-5-311 and proceedings for refunds under Code Section 48-5-380 have become final.

- (b) Ad valorem taxes due under this Code section shall be paid to the tax collector or tax commissioner of the county where the property is located. If the property is located within any municipality, the portion of the payment due the municipality shall be paid to the officer designated by the municipality to collect ad valorem taxes.
- (c) All taxes paid to the county tax collector or tax commissioner under this Code section shall be distributed to the state, county, county schools, and any other applicable taxing districts in the same proportion as the millage rate for each bears to the total millage rate applicable to the property for the current year. If the total millage rate has not been determined for the current year, the distribution shall be made on the basis of the millage rates established for the immediately preceding year.
- (d) Any payment made by the taxpayer in accordance with this Code section which is in excess of his or her finally determined tax liability shall be refunded to the taxpayer. If the amount finally determined to be the tax liability of the taxpayer exceeds the amount paid under this Code section, the taxpayer shall be liable for the amount of the difference between the amount of tax paid and the amount of tax owed. The amount of difference shall be subject to the interest as provided under subsection (g) of Code Section 48-5-311.

# Property Tax Exemptions and Deferral Tax Exemptions 48-5-40. Definitions.

As used in this part, the term:

- (1) "Applicant" means a person who is:
- (A) (i) A married individual living with his or her spouse;
  - (ii) An individual who is unmarried but who permanently maintains a home for the benefit of one or more other individuals who are related to such individual or dependent wholly or partially upon such individual for support;
  - (iii) An individual who is widowed having one or more children and maintaining a home occupied by himself or herself and the child or children:
  - (iv) A divorced individual living in a bona fide state of separation and having legal custody of one or more children, when the divorced individual owns and maintains a home for the child or children; or
  - (v) An individual who is unmarried or is widowed and who permanently maintains a home owned and occupied by himself or herself; and

(A) A resident of this state as defined in paragraph (15) of Code Section 40-5-1, as amended.

#### 40-5-1. Definitions

- (15) "Resident" means a person who has a permanent home or abode in Georgia to which, whenever such person is absent, he or she has the intention of returning. For the purposes of this chapter, there is a rebuttable presumption that the following person is a resident:
- (A) Any person who accepts employment or engages in any trade, profession, or occupation in Georgia or enters his or her children to be educated in the private or public schools of Georgia within ten days after the commencement of such employment or education; or
- (B) Any person who, except for infrequent, brief absences, has been present in the state for 30 or more days; provided, however, that no person shall be considered a resident for purposes of this chapter unless such person is either a United States citizen or an alien with legal authorization from the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service.
- (2) "Home for the aged" means a facility which provides residential services, health care services, or both residential services and health care services to the aged.
- (3) "Homestead" means the real property owned by and in possession of the applicant on January 1 of the taxable year and upon which the applicant resides including, but not limited to, the land immediately surrounding the residence to which the applicant has a right of possession under a bona fide claim of ownership. The term "homestead" includes the following qualifications:
- (A) The actual permanent place of residence of an individual who is the applicant and which constitutes the home of the family;
- (B) Where the person who is the applicant holds the bona fide fee title (although subject to mortgage or debt deed), an estate for life, or under any bona fide contract of purchase providing for the conveyance of title to the applicant upon performance of the contract;
- (C) Where the building is occupied primarily as a dwelling;
- (D) Where the children of deceased or incapacitated parents occupy the homestead of their parents and one of the children stands in the relation of applicant. This subparagraph shall apply whether or not the estate is distributed;
- (E) Where a husband or wife occupies a dwelling and the title of the homestead is in the name of the wife;
- (F) In the event a dwelling house which is classed as a homestead is destroyed by fire, flood, storm, or other unavoidable accident or is demolished or repaired so that the owner is

compelled to reside temporarily in another place, the dwelling house shall continue to be classed as a homestead for a period of one year after the occurrence;

- (G) In the event an individual who is the applicant owns two or more dwelling houses, he shall be allowed the exemption granted by law on only one of the houses. Only one homestead shall be allowed to one immediate family group;
- (H) Where property is owned and occupied jointly by two or more individuals all of whom occupy the property as a home and if the property is otherwise entitled to a homestead exemption, the homestead may be claimed in the names of the joint owners residing in the home. Where the property on which a homestead exemption is claimed is jointly owned by the occupant and others, the occupant or occupants shall be entitled to claim the full amount of the homestead exemption;
- (I) The permanent place of residence of an individual in the armed forces. Any such residence shall be construed to be actually occupied as the place of abode of such individual when the family of the individual resides in the residence or when the family is forced to live elsewhere because of the individual's service in the armed forces:
- (J) Absence of an individual from his residence because of duty in the armed forces shall not be considered as a waiver upon the part of the individual in applying for a homestead exemption. Any member of the immediate family of the individual or a friend of the individual may notify the tax receiver or the tax commissioner of the individual's absence. Upon receipt of this notice, the tax receiver or tax commissioner shall grant the homestead exemption to the individual who is absent in the armed forces;
- (K) The homestead exempted must be actually occupied as the permanent residence and place of abode by the applicant awarded the exemption, and the homestead shall be the legal residence and domicile of the applicant for all purposes whatever;
- (L) In all counties having a population of not less than 23,500 nor more than 23,675, according to the United States decennial census of 2010 or any future such census, where the person who is the applicant holds real property subject to a written lease; the applicant has held the property subject to such a lease for not less than three years prior to the year for which application is made; and the applicant is the owner of all improvements located on the real property:
- (M) The deed reflecting the actual ownership of the property for which the applicant seeks to receive a homestead exemption must be recorded in the deed records of the county prior to the filing of the application for the homestead exemption; and
- (N) Absence of an individual from such individual's residence because of health reasons shall not in and of itself be considered as a waiver upon the part of the individual in applying for a homestead exemption if all other qualifications are otherwise met. Any member of the immediate family of the individual or a friend of the individual may notify the tax receiver or the tax commissioner of the individual's absence. Upon receipt of this notice, the tax receiver or tax commissioner shall grant the homestead exemption to the individual who is absent for health reasons.

- (4) "Hospital" means an institution in which medical, surgical, or psychiatric care is provided to individuals who are sick, injured, diseased, mentally ill, or crippled. "Hospital" does not include an institution licensed as a nursing home under the laws of this state.
- (5) "Institutions of purely public charity," "nonprofit hospitals," and "hospitals not operated for the purpose of private or corporate profit and income" mean such institutions or hospitals which may have incidental income from paying patients when the income, if any, is devoted exclusively to the charitable purpose of caring for patients who are unable to pay and to maintaining, operating, and improving the facilities of such institutions and hospitals, and when the income is not directly or indirectly for distribution to shareholders in corporations owning such property or to other owners of such property.
- (6) "Occupied primarily as a dwelling" means:
- (A) The applicant or members of his family occupy the property as a home; or
- (B)(i) The applicant or members of his family occupy a portion of the property as a home;
- (ii) No more than one exemption may be claimed pursuant to this subparagraph in connection with the occupancy of one building, except in the case of a duplex or double occupancy dwelling when the line of division follows a natural and bona fide plan as to both land and building and the two units thus formed are separately owned and occupied.

### 48-5-41. Property exempt from taxation.

- (a) The following property shall be exempt from all ad valorem property taxes in this state: (1)(A) Except as provided in this paragraph, all public property.
- (B) No public real property which is owned by a political subdivision of this state and which is situated outside the territorial limits of the political subdivision shall be exempt from ad valorem taxation unless the property is:
  - (i) Developed by grading or other improvements to the extent of at least 25 percent of the total land area and facilities are located on the property which are actively used for a public or governmental purpose;
  - (ii) Three hundred acres or less in area;
  - (iii) Located inside a county embracing all or part of a municipality owning such property; or
  - (iv) That portion of any real property which has been designated as a watershed by the United States Soil and Water Conservation Service and used as a watershed by the political subdivision owning the property.
- (C) Property which is owned by and used exclusively as the general state headquarters of a nonprofit corporation organized for the primary purpose of encouraging cooperation between parents and teachers to promote the education and welfare of children and youth, notwithstanding the fact that such nonprofit corporation may derive income from fees or dues paid by persons, organizations, or associations to affiliate with such nonprofit corporation, shall be considered to be an extension of the public schools of this state and such property shall be considered to be public property within the meaning of this paragraph.

- (D) Property which is held by a Georgia nonprofit corporation whose income is exempt from federal income tax pursuant to Section 115 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 and held exclusively for the benefit of a county, municipality, or school district shall be considered to be public property within the meaning of this paragraph.
- (E) Property which qualifies as a public-private transportation project pursuant to Code Section 32-2-80 which property is owned or leased by the state, a state agency, or another governmental entity and which is developed, operated, or held by a private partner shall be considered to be public property within the meaning of this paragraph.
- (2) All places of burial;
- (2.1)(A) All places of religious worship; and
- (B) All property owned by and operated exclusively as a church, an association or convention of churches, a convention mission agency, or as an integrated auxiliary of a church or convention or association of churches, when such entity is qualified as an exempt religious organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, and such property is used in a manner consistent with such exemption under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended;
- (3) All property owned by religious groups and used only for single-family residences when no income is derived from the property;
- (4) All institutions of purely public charity;
- (5)(A) All property of nonprofit hospitals used in connection with their operation when the hospitals have no stockholders, have no income or profit which is distributed to or for the benefit of any private person, and are subject to the laws of this state regulating nonprofit or charitable corporations:
- (B) Property exempted pursuant to this paragraph shall not include property of a nonprofit hospital held primarily for investment purposes or used for purposes unrelated to:
- (i) Providing of patient care;
- (ii) Providing and delivery of health care services; or
- (iii) Training and education of physicians, nurses, and other health care personnel;
- (6) All buildings erected for and used as a college, incorporated academy, or other seminary of learning;
- (7) All funds or property held or used as endowment by colleges, nonprofit hospitals, incorporated academies, or other seminaries of learning when the funds or property are not invested in real estate:

- (8) When used by or connected with any public library, all the real and personal property of such library and all the real and personal property of any other literary association;
- (9) All books, philosophical apparatus, paintings, and statuary of any company or association which are kept in a public hall and which are not held as merchandise or for purposes of sale or gain;

### (10) Reserved;

- (11) All property used in or which is a part of any facility which has been installed or constructed at any time for the primary purpose of eliminating or reducing air or water pollution if such facilities have been certified by the Department of Natural Resources as necessary and adequate for the purposes intended;
- (12)(A) Property of a nonprofit home for the aged used in connection with its operation when the home for the aged has no stockholders and no income or profit which is distributed to or for the benefit of any private person and when the home is qualified as an exempt organization under the United States Internal Revenue Code, Section 501(c)(3), as amended, and Code Section 48-7-25, and is subject to the laws of this state regulating nonprofit and charitable corporations;
- (B) Property exempted by this paragraph shall not include property of a home for the aged held primarily for investment purposes or used for purposes unrelated to the providing of residential or health care to the aged;
- (C) For purposes of this paragraph, indirect ownership of such home for the aged through a limited liability company that is fully owned by such exempt organization shall be considered direct ownership;
- (13)(A) All property of any nonprofit home for the mentally disabled used in connection with its operation when the home for the mentally disabled has no stockholders and no income or profit which is distributed to or for the benefit of any private person and when the home is qualified as an exempt organization under the United States Internal Revenue Code of 1954, Section 501(c)(3), as amended, and Code Section 48-7-25, and is subject to the laws of this state regulating nonprofit and charitable corporations.
- (B) Property exempted by this paragraph shall not include property of a home for the mentally disabled held primarily for investment purposes or used for purposes unrelated to the providing of residential or health care to the mentally disabled;
- (14) (A) Property which is owned by and used exclusively as the headquarters, post home, or similar facility of a veterans organization. As used in this paragraph, the term "veterans organization" means any organization or association chartered by the Congress of the United States which is exempt from federal income taxes but only if such organization is a post or organization of past or present members of the armed forces of the United States organized in the State of Georgia with at least 75 percent of the members of which are past or present members of the armed forces of the United States, and where no part of the net earnings of which inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual; or

- (B) Property which is owned by and used exclusively by any veterans organization which is qualified as a nonprofit organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, and which has been organized for the purpose of refurbishing and operating historic military aircraft acquired from the federal government and other sources, making such aircraft airworthy, and putting such aircraft on display to the public for educational purposes; and
- (15) Property that is owned by an historical fraternal benefit association and which is used exclusively for charitable, fraternal, and benevolent purposes. As used in this paragraph "fraternal benefit association" means any organization qualified as an exempt organization under the United States Internal Revenue Code of 1954, Section 501(c)(10), as amended, where such organization has a representative form of government and a lodge system with a ritualistic form of work for the meeting of its chapters or other subordinate bodies and whose founding organization received its charter from the General Assembly of Georgia prior to January 1, 1880.
- (b) The exemptions provided for in this Code section which refer to colleges, nonprofit hospitals, incorporated academies, or other seminaries of learning shall only apply to those colleges, nonprofit hospitals, incorporated academies, or other seminaries of learning which are open to the general public.
- (c) The property exempted by this Code section, excluding property exempted by paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of this Code section, shall not be used for the purpose of producing private or corporate profit and income distributable to shareholders in corporations owning such property or to other owners of such property, and any income from such property shall be used exclusively for religious, educational, and charitable purposes or for either one or more of such purposes and for the purpose of maintaining and operating such religious, educational, and charitable institutions.
- (d) (1) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, this Code section, excluding paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of this Code section, shall not apply to real estate or buildings which are rented, leased, or otherwise used for the primary purpose of securing an income thereon and shall not apply to real estate or buildings which are not used for the operation of religious, educational, and charitable institutions. Donations of property to be exempted shall not be predicated upon an agreement, contract, or other instrument that the donor or donors shall receive or retain any part of the net or gross income of the property.
- (2) With respect to paragraph (4) of subsection (a) of this Code section, a building which is owned by a charitable institution that is otherwise qualified as a purely public charity and that is exempt from taxation under Section 501(c)(3) of the federal Internal Revenue Code and which building is used by such charitable institution exclusively for the charitable purposes of such charitable institution, and not more than 15 acres of land on which such building is located, may be used for the purpose of securing income so long as such income is used exclusively for the operation of that charitable institution.

## 48-5-41.1. Exemption of qualified farm products and harvested agricultural products from taxation.

- (a) As used in this Code section, the term:
- (1)'Agricultural equipment' means farm tractors, combines, and all other farm equipment other than motor vehicles, whether fixed or mobile, which are owned by or held under a leasepurchase agreement and directly used in the production of farm products by a family owned qualified farm products producer.
- (1) (2) "Family owned farm entity" means a family corporation, a family partnership, a family general partnership, a family limited partnership, a family limited corporation, or a family limited liability company all of the interest of which is owned by one or more natural or naturalized citizens related to each other within the fourth degree of civil reckoning. It shall include an estate of which the devisees or heirs are one or more natural or naturalized citizens related to each other within the fourth degree of civil reckoning. It shall include a trust of which the beneficiaries are one or more natural or naturalized citizens related to each other within the fourth degree of civil reckoning. Such family owned farm entity must have derived 80 percent or more of its gross income from bona fide agricultural uses within this state within the year immediately preceding the year in which the exemption provided by this Code section is sought.
- (2) (3) "Family owned qualified farm products producer" means an individual or family owned farm entity primarily engaged in the direct cultivation of the soil, including soil removed from the land and placed in pots or containers, or operation of land for the production of qualified farm products. A family owned qualified farm products producer shall not include wholesalers, distributors, storage facility owners, manufacturers, processors, or other similar entities that primarily prepare qualified farm products for any intermediate or final market or that primarily operate to move or facilitate the movement of qualified farm products from a producer to any intermediate or final markets.
- (3) (4) "Farm products" means only those farm products eligible to qualify for exemption from ad valorem taxation pursuant to the former provisions of paragraph (10) of subsection (a) of Code Section 48-5-41 as it existed prior to January 1, 1999.
- (4) (5) "Harvested agricultural products" means only those harvested agricultural products eligible to qualify for exemption from ad valorem taxation pursuant to the former provisions of paragraph (10) of subsection (a) of Code Section 48-5-41 as it existed prior to January 1, 1999.
  - (5) (6) "Initial production" means:
- (A) When applied to a laying hen, a period beginning at the time the laying hen comes into production at age six months rather than a period beginning when the laying hen is hatched; or
- (B) When applied to a brood cow, a period of nine months from the time the brood cow is able to conceive at age 12 months rather than a period beginning when the brood cow is born.
- (7) 'Lease-purchase agreement' means a financing agreement under which lessee payments are credited toward the purchase of agricultural equipment or that provides for a fixed amount purchase option to a lessee during the lease term. Under a lease-purchase agreement the title of ownership may remain with the lessor during the lease.
  - (6) (8) "Producer" means any entity that produces farm products.
  - $\frac{7}{9}$  "Qualified farm products" means livestock; crops; fruit or nut bearing trees, bushes, or

plants; annual and perennial plants; Christmas trees; and plants and trees grown in nurseries for transplantation elsewhere. Qualified farm products shall not include standing timber.

- (b) The following property shall be exempt from all ad valorem property taxes in this state:
- (1) All farm products grown in this state and remaining in the hands of the producer during the one year beginning immediately after their initial production;
- (2) Harvested agricultural products which have a planting-to-harvest cycle of 12 months or less, which are customarily cured or aged for a period in excess of one year after harvesting and before manufacturing, and which are held in this state for manufacturing and processing purposes; and
  - (3) All qualified farm products grown in this state:
    - (A) Remaining in the hands of a family owned qualified farm products producer;
- (B) Still in their natural and unprocessed condition, unless processed solely for further use in the production of other qualified farm products; and
- (C) Not held for direct retail sale by someone other than the original family owned qualified farm products producer-; and
  - (4) Agricultural equipment.
- (c) (1) As used in this subsection, the term "lease purchase agreement" means a financing agreement under which:
- (A) A family owned qualified farm products producer has possession and control of farm tractors, combines, or other farm equipment other than motor vehicles equipment and uses such farm equipment directly in the production of agricultural products; and
- (B) The payments made pursuant to such financing agreement are credited towards the purchase of such farm equipment.
- (2) Farm tractors, combines, and all other farm equipment other than motor vehicles, whether fixed or mobile, which are owned by or held under a lease purchase agreement and directly used in the production of agricultural products by family owned qualified farm products producers shall be exempt from all ad valorem property taxes in this state.

### 48-5-42. Exempt personalty.

All personal clothing and effects, household furniture, furnishings, equipment, appliances, and other personal property used within the home, if not held for sale, rental, or other commercial use, shall be exempt from all ad valorem taxation. All tools and implements of trade of manual laborers shall be exempt from all ad valorem taxation in an amount not to exceed \$2,500.00 in actual value and all domestic animals shall be exempt from all ad valorem taxation in an amount not to exceed \$300.00 in actual value.

54

## 48-5-42.1. Personal property tax exemption for property valued at \$7,500.00 or less.

- (a) It is the intent of this Code section to exempt from the payment of ad valorem taxation certain tangible personal property on which the tax due does not exceed the reasonable cost of administering and collecting the tax.
- (b) All tangible personal property of a taxpayer, except motor vehicles, trailers, and mobile homes, shall be exempt from all ad valorem taxation if the actual fair market value of the total amount of taxable tangible personal property owned by the taxpayer within the county, as determined by the board of tax assessors, does not exceed \$7,500.00.

### 48-5-44. Exemption of homestead occupied by owner; effect of participation in rural housing program on homestead exemption; limits.

The homestead of each resident of this state actually occupied by the owner as a residence and homestead shall be exempted from all ad valorem taxation for state, county, and school purposes, except taxes levied by municipalities for school purposes and except to pay interest on and to retire bonded indebtedness, for as long as the residence and homestead is actually occupied by the owner primarily as a residence and homestead. The exemption shall not exceed \$2,000.00 of the value of the homestead. Should the owner of a dwelling house on a farm who is already entitled to a homestead exemption participate in the program of rural housing and obtain a new house under contract with the local housing authority, he shall be entitled to receive the same homestead exemption as allowed before making the contract.

Except as otherwise specifically provided by law, the value of all homestead property in excess of \$2,000.00 shall remain subject to taxation. The exemption shall be returned and claimed in the manner prescribed by law. This exemption shall not apply to taxes levied by municipalities.

### 48-5-44.1.

(a) For purposes of this Code section, the term:

- (1) 'Ad valorem taxes' means all ad valorem taxes for municipal purposes levied by, for, or on behalf of any municipality in this state, but excluding any ad valorem taxes to pay interest on and to retire municipal bonded indebtedness.
- (2) 'Adjusted base year value' means the previous adjusted base year value adjusted annually by 2.6 percent plus any change in homestead value, provided that no such change in homestead value shall be duplicated as to the same addition or improvement.

- (3) 'Change in homestead value' means value, including any final determination of value on appeal pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311 derived from additions or improvements to, or the removal of real property of, the homestead after the lowest base year value is determined.
- (4) 'Homestead' means homestead as defined and qualified in Code Section 48-5-40 with the additional qualification that it shall include only the primary residence and not more than five contiguous acres of land immediately surrounding such residence.

#### (5) 'Lowest base year value' means:

- (A) Among the 2016, 2017, and 2018 taxable years, the lowest assessed value, including any final determination of value on appeal pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311 of the homestead, with such assessed value being multiplied by 1.0423, which number represents inflation rate data for December, 2015, through December, 2017, with respect to an exemption under this Code section which is first granted to a person on such person's homestead in the 2019 taxable year or who thereafter reapplies for and is granted such exemption in the 2020 taxable year, or thereafter, solely because of a change in ownership to a joint tenancy with right of survival; or
- (B) In all other cases, the lower of the assessed value, including any final determination of value on appeal pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311 of the homestead, from the taxable year immediately preceding the taxable year in which the exemption under this Code section is first granted to the most recent owner of such homestead or the assessed value, including any final determination of value on appeal pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311 of the homestead, from the taxable year in which the exemption under this Act is first granted to the most recent owner of such homestead, with respect to an exemption under this Code section which is first granted to a person on such person's homestead in the 2020 taxable year or who thereafter reapplies for and is granted such exemption in the 2021 taxable year, or thereafter, solely because of a change in ownership to a joint tenancy with right of survival.

### (6) 'Previous adjusted base year' means:

- (A) With respect to an exemption under this Code section that is first granted to a person on such person's homestead, the lowest base year value; or
- (B) In all other cases, the adjusted base year value as calculated in the taxable year immediately preceding the current year.
- (b) When a resident of this state resides in a municipal corporation that is located in more than one county, that levies a sales tax for the purposes of a metropolitan area system of public transportation, and that has within its boundaries an independent school system, the homestead of each such resident actually occupied by the owner as a residence and homestead shall be exempted from ad valorem taxes for municipal purposes in an amount equal to the amount by which the current year assessed value, including any final determination of value on appeal pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311 of such homestead exceeds the adjusted base year value of the homestead. The value of such property in excess of such exempted amount shall remain subject to taxation.
- (c) The surviving spouse of the person who has been granted the exemption provided for in subsection (b) of this Code section shall continue to receive such exemption so long as such surviving spouse continues to occupy the home as a residence and homestead.
- (d) A person shall not receive the homestead exemption granted by subsection (b) of this Code section unless such person or person's agent files an application with the tax receiver or tax

commissioner of his or her respective municipality charged with the duty of receiving returns of property for taxation giving such information relative to receiving such exemption as will enable such tax receiver or tax commissioner to make a determination regarding the initial and continuing eligibility of such person for such exemption or has already filed for and is receiving a homestead exemption and such existing application provides sufficient information to make such determination of eligibility. Such tax receiver or tax commissioner shall provide application forms for this purpose.

- (e) The exemption shall be claimed and returned as provided in Code Section 48-5-50.1. Such exemption shall be automatically renewed from year to year so long as the owner occupies the residence as a homestead. After a person or a person's agent has filed the proper application as provided in subsection (d) of this Code section, it shall not be necessary to make application thereafter for any year and the exemption shall continue to be allowed to such person. It shall be the duty of any person granted the homestead exemption under subsection (b) of this Code section to notify the tax receiver or tax commissioner of the municipality in the event such person for any reason becomes ineligible for such exemption.
- (f)(1) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, the homestead exemption granted by subsection (b) of this Code section shall be in addition to and not in lieu of any other homestead exemption applicable to ad valorem taxes for municipal purposes.
- (2) The homestead exemption granted by subsection (b) of this Code section shall be in lieu of and not in addition to any other base year assessed value or adjusted base year value homestead exemption provided by local Act which is applicable to ad valorem taxes for municipal purposes.
- (g) The exemption granted by subsection (b) of this Code section shall apply to all taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019.
- (h) Any municipal corporation described in subsection (b) of this Code section shall be exempt from the provisions of subsections (c) and (e) of Code Section 48-5-32.1."

# 48-5-45. Application for homestead exemption; unlawful to solicit fee to file application for homestead for another.

- (a) (1) An applicant seeking a homestead exemption as provided in Code Section 48-5-44 and qualifying under the provisions of Code Section 48-5-40 shall file a written application and schedule with the tax receiver or tax commissioner charged with the duty of receiving returns of property for taxation at any time during the calendar year subsequent to the property becoming the primary residence of the applicant up to and including the date for the closing of the books for the return of taxes for the calendar year.
- (2) The failure to file properly the application and schedule on or before the date for the closing of the books for the return of taxes of a calendar year in which the taxes are due shall constitute a waiver of the homestead exemption on the part of the applicant failing to make the application for such exemption for that year.

- (b) The owner of a homestead which is actually occupied by the owner as a residence and homestead shall not have to apply for the exemption more than once so long as the owner remains in continuous occupation of the residence as a homestead. The exemption shall automatically be renewed from year to year so long as the owner continuously occupies the residence as a homestead.
- (c) It is unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to solicit, either directly or by mail or advertisement, any other person for the purpose of filing on behalf of such other person the application and schedule for homestead exemption required by this Code section if a fee is charged for filing such application and schedule on behalf of such other person. A violation of this subsection shall be a misdemeanor.

### 48-5-46. Procedure for application.

- (a) The application for the homestead exemption shall be furnished by the commissioner not later than February 1 of each year to the tax receiver or tax commissioner and municipal authorities, as the case may be, of the various counties.
- (b) The application shall provide for:
- (1) A statement of ownership of the homestead, a complete description of the property on which homestead exemption is claimed, when and from whom the property was acquired, the kind of title held, and the amount of liens, if any, and to whom due; and
- (2) The approval of the application by the official so authorized.
- (c) A form of oath shall be provided and shall be administered to the applicant seeking the homestead exemption. The oath may be administered and witnessed by the tax receiver, tax commissioner, any authorized deputy of the tax receiver or tax commissioner, or any individual authorized by law to administer oaths.
- (d) The tax receiver or tax commissioner shall deliver to any interested person the forms prescribed for the exemption. The applicant must answer all questions correctly to be entitled to an approval of the application.
- (e) The tax receiver or tax commissioner shall receive all applications for homestead exemption and shall file and preserve the applications. The application shall be filed with the tax receiver or tax commissioner as provided by law.

### 48-5-47. Applications for homestead exemptions of individuals 65 or older.

(a) Article VII, Section II, Paragraph IV of the Constitution of the State of Georgia ratified in 1982 continued in effect as statutory law, until otherwise provided for by law, those types of exemptions from ad valorem taxation in effects on June 30, 1983. One such exemption is the

homestead exemption granted to certain individuals 65 years of age or over by the seventh unnumbered subparagraph of Article VII, Section I, Paragraph IV of the Constitution of 1976. Pursuant to said provision of the Constitution ratified in 1982, the homestead exemption formerly granted by said provision of the Constitution of 1976 is superseded and modified as provided in subsection (b) of this Code section.

- (b) Each person who is 65 years of age or over is hereby granted an exemption from all state and county ad valorem taxes in the amount of \$4,000.00 on a homestead owned and occupied by him as a residence if his net income, together with the net income of his spouse who also occupies and resides at such homestead, as net income is defined by Georgia law, from all sources, except as hereinafter provided, does not exceed \$10,000.00 for the immediately preceding taxable year for income tax purposes. For the purposes of this subsection, net income shall not include income received as retirement, survivor or disability benefits under the federal Social Security Act or under any other public or private retirement, disability or pension system, except such income which is in excess of the maximum amount authorized to be paid to an individual and his spouse under the federal Social Security Act, and income from such sources in excess of such maximum amount shall be included as net income for the purposes of this subsection. The value of the residence in excess of the above-exempted amount shall remain subject to taxation. Any such owner shall not receive the benefits of such homestead exemption unless he, or through his agent, files an affidavit with the tax commissioner or tax receiver of the county in which he resides, giving his age and the amount of income which he and his spouse received during the last taxable year for income tax purposes, and such additional information relative to receiving the benefits of such exemption as will enable the tax commissioner or tax receiver to make a determination as to whether such owner is entitled to such exemption. The tax commissioner or tax receiver shall provide affidavit forms for this purpose. Such applications shall be processed in the same manner as other applications for homestead exemption, and the provisions of law applicable to the processing of homestead exemptions, as the same now exists or may hereafter be amended, shall apply thereto. Provided, that after any such owner has filed the proper affidavit, as provided above, and has once been allowed the exemption provided in this subsection, it shall not be necessary that he make application and file the said affidavit thereafter for any year and the said exemption shall continue to be allowed to such owner. It shall be the duty of any such owner, however, to notify the tax commissioner or tax receiver in the event he becomes ineligible for any reason for the exemption provided in this subsection.
- (c) The application for the homestead exemption of individuals 65 years of age or older provided for by subsection (b) of this Code section shall be in the form prescribed by the commissioner. The application shall require the applicant's social security number. The tax commissioner or tax receiver shall be authorized to have the statement of income of any claimant verified by the department upon sending the social security number of a claimant to the department.

## 48-5-47.1. Homestead exemptions for individuals 62 or older with annual incomes not exceeding \$30,000.00

(a) For purposes of this Code section, the term:

- (1) "Ad valorem taxes" means all state ad valorem taxes and all county ad valorem taxes for county purposes levied by, for, or on behalf of a county, except for taxes to pay interest on and to retire bonded indebtedness.
- (2) "Base year" means the taxable year immediately preceding the taxable year in which the exemption under this Code section is granted.
- (3) "Homestead" as applied in this Code section shall mean the homestead as defined and qualified in Code Section 48-5-40, with the additional qualification that it shall include only the primary residence and not more than five contiguous acres of land immediately surrounding such residence.
- (4) "Income" means federal adjusted gross income, as defined in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, from all sources.
- (5) "Senior citizen" means a person who is 62 years of age or over on or before January 1 of the year in which application for the exemption under this Code section is made.
- (b) Each resident of a county who is a senior citizen is granted an exemption on that person's homestead from all ad valorem taxes in an amount equal to the amount of the assessed value of that homestead which exceeds the assessed value of that homestead for the taxable year immediately preceding the taxable year in which this exemption is first granted to such resident, if that person's income, together with the income of the spouse of such person and any other person who resides within such homestead, does not exceed \$30,000.00 for the immediately preceding taxable year. This exemption shall not apply to taxes assessed on improvements to the homestead or additional land that is added to the homestead after January 1 of the base year. If any real property is removed from the homestead, the assessment in the base year shall be adjusted to reflect such removal and the exemption shall be recalculated accordingly.
- (c) A person shall not receive the homestead exemption granted by subsection (b) of this Code section unless the person or person's agent files an application with the tax commissioner of the county giving the person's age and the amount of gross income which the person and the person's spouse and any other persons residing within such homestead received during the last taxable year, and such additional information relative to receiving such exemption as will enable the tax commissioner to make a determination as to whether such owner is entitled to such exemption.
- (d) The commissioner shall provide application forms for the exemption granted by this Code section which shall require such information as may be necessary to determine the initial and continuing eligibility of the owner for the exemption.
- (e) The exemption shall be claimed and returned as provided in Code Section 48-5-50.1. The exemption shall be automatically renewed from year to year as long as the owner occupies the residence as a homestead. After a person has filed the proper application as provided in subsection (c) of this Code section, it shall not be necessary to make application and file such affidavit thereafter for any year and the exemption shall continue to be allowed to such person. It shall be the duty of any person granted the homestead exemption under this Code section to notify the tax commissioner of the county or the designee thereof in the event that person for any reason becomes ineligible for that exemption.

- (f) The exemption granted by this Code section shall not apply to or affect any municipal taxes or county school district taxes for educational purposes. The homestead exemption granted by this Code section shall be in lieu of and not in addition to any other homestead exemption applicable to county ad valorem taxes for county purposes.
- (g) The exemption granted by this Code section shall apply to all taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1995.

# 48-5-48. Homestead extension by qualified disabled veteran; filing requirements; periodic substantiation of eligibility; persons eligible without application.

- (a) As used in this Code section, the term "disabled veteran" means:
- (1) A wartime veteran who was discharged under honorable conditions and who has been adjudicated by the Department of Veterans Affairs of the United States as being totally and permanently disabled and entitled to receive service connected benefits so long as he or she is 100 percent disabled and receiving or entitled to receive benefits for a 100 percent service connected disability;
- (2) An American veteran of any war or armed conflict in which any branch of the armed forces of the United States engaged, whether under United States command or otherwise, and that he or she is disabled due to the loss or loss of use of both lower extremities such as to preclude locomotion without the aid of braces, crutches, canes, or a wheelchair; due to blindness in both eyes, having only light perception, together with the loss or loss of use of one lower extremity; or due to the loss or loss of use of one lower extremity together with residuals of organic disease or injury which so affect the functions of balance or propulsion as to preclude locomotion without resort to a wheelchair;
- (3) Any disabled veteran who is not entitled to receive benefits from the Department of Veterans Affairs but who qualifies otherwise, as provided for by Article VII, Section I, Paragraph IV of the Constitution of Georgia of 1976;
- (4) An American veteran of any war or armed conflict who is disabled due to loss or loss of use of one lower extremity together with the loss or loss of use of one upper extremity which so affects the functions of balance or propulsion as to preclude locomotion without the aid of braces, crutches, canes, or a wheelchair; or
- (5) A veteran becoming eligible for assistance in acquiring housing under Section 2101 of Title 38 of the United States Code as hereafter amended on or after July 1, 1999.
- (b) Any disabled veteran as defined in any paragraph of subsection (a) of this Code section who is a citizen and resident of Georgia is granted an exemption of the greater of \$32,500.00 or the maximum amount which may be granted to a disabled veteran under Section 2102 of Title

38 of the United States Code, as amended, on his or her homestead which such veteran owns and actually occupies as a residence and homestead, such exemption being from all ad valorem taxation for state, county, municipal, and school purposes. As of January 1, 2004, the maximum amount which may be granted to a disabled veteran under the above-stated federal law is \$50,000.00. The value of all property in excess of the exempted amount cited above shall remain subject to taxation. The unremarried surviving spouse or minor children of any such disabled veteran as defined in this Code section shall also be entitled to an exemption of the greater of \$32,500.00 or the maximum amount which may be granted to a disabled veteran under Section 2102 of Title 38 of the United States Code, as amended, on the homestead so long as the unremarried surviving spouse or minor children continue actually to occupy the home as a residence and homestead, such exemption being from all ad valorem taxation for state, county, municipal, and school purposes. As of January 1, 2004, the maximum amount which may be granted to the unremarried surviving spouse or minor children of any such disabled veteran under the above-stated federal law is \$50,000.00. The value of all property in excess of such exemption granted to such unremarried surviving spouse or minor children shall remain subject to taxation.

- (b.1) The unremarried surviving spouse or minor children of any disabled veteran shall also be entitled to an exemption of the greater of \$32,500.00 or the maximum amount on a homestead, or any subsequent homestead within the same county, where such spouse or minor children continue to occupy the home as a homestead, such exemption being from ad valorem taxation for state, county, municipal, and school purposes.
- (c)(1) Any disabled veteran qualifying pursuant to paragraph (1) or (2) of subsection (a) of this Code section for the homestead exemption provided for in this Code section shall file with the tax commissioner or tax receiver a letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs or the Department of Veterans Service stating the qualifying disability.
- (2) Any disabled veteran qualifying pursuant to paragraph (3) of subsection (a) of this Code section for the homestead exemption provided for in this Code section shall file with the tax commissioner or tax receiver a copy of his DD form 214 (discharge papers from his military records) along with a letter from a doctor who is licensed to practice medicine in this state stating that he is disabled due to loss or loss of use of both lower extremities such as to preclude locomotion without the aid of braces, crutches, canes, or a wheelchair; due to blindness in both eyes, having only light perception, together with the loss or loss of use of one lower extremity; or due to the loss or loss of use of one lower extremity together with residuals of organic disease or injury which so affect the functions of balance or propulsion as to preclude locomotion without resort to a wheelchair. Prior to approval of an exemption, a county board of tax assessors may require the applicant to provide not more than two additional doctors' letters if the board is in doubt as to the applicant's eligibility for the exemption.
- (3) Any disabled veteran qualifying pursuant to paragraph (4) of subsection (a) of this Code section for the homestead exemption provided for in this Code section shall file with the tax commissioner or tax receiver a letter from a doctor who is licensed to practice medicine in this state stating the qualifying disability. Prior to approval of an exemption, a county board of tax assessors may require the applicant to provide not more than two additional doctors' letters if the board is in doubt as to the applicant's eligibility for the exemption.
- (4) Any disabled veteran qualifying pursuant to paragraph (5) of subsection (a) of this Code section for the homestead exemption provided for in this Code section shall file with the tax

commissioner or tax receiver a letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs or the Department of Veterans Service stating the eligibility for such housing assistance.

- (d) Each disabled veteran shall file for the exemption only once in the county of his residence. Once filed, the exemption shall automatically be renewed from year to year, except as provided in subsection (e) of this Code section. Such exemption shall be extended to the unremarried surviving spouse or minor children at the time of his death so long as they continue to occupy the home as a residence and homestead. In the event a disabled veteran who would otherwise be entitled to the exemption dies or becomes incapacitated to the extent that he or she cannot personally file for such exemption, the spouse, the unremarried surviving spouse, or the minor children at the time of the disabled veteran's death may file for the exemption and such exemption may be granted as if the disabled veteran had made personal application therefor.
- (e) Not more often than once every three years, the county board of tax assessors may require the holder of an exemption granted pursuant to this Code section to substantiate his continuing eligibility for the exemption. In no event may the board require more than three doctors' letters to substantiate eligibility.
- (f) Any person who as of January 1, 1991, has applied and is eligible for the exemption for disabled veterans, their surviving spouses, and minor children formerly provided for by the sixth unnumbered subparagraph of Article VII, Section I, Paragraph IV of the Constitution of 1976; the exemption for disabled veterans provided for in Article VII, Section II, Paragraph V of the Constitution of 1983; or the exemption for disabled veterans formerly provided for by Code Section 48-5-48.3 as enacted by an Act approved April 11, 1986 (Ga. L. 1986, p. 1445), shall be eligible for the exemption granted by subsection (b) of this Code section without applying for such exemption.
- (g)(1) If a disabled veteran receives a final determination of disability from the United States

  Department of Veterans Affairs containing a retroactive period of eligibility, such disabled veteran
  or his or her surviving unremarried spouse or minor children shall be entitled to a refund of the ad
  valorem taxes paid during such period that he or she or his or her surviving unremarried spouse
  or minor children would have otherwise been exempt from such taxes pursuant to this Code
  section, provided that the refund shall only be for the three tax years preceding his or her or his
  or her surviving unremarried spouse's or minor children's application for the homestead
  exemption permitted by this Code section.
- (2) Upon application for the homestead exemption provided by this Code section and submittal of proper documentation, each county and municipality shall consider the taxes paid by such disabled veteran or his or her surviving unremarried spouse or minor children under the circumstances provided in paragraph (1) of this subsection to be voluntarily or involuntarily overpaid and shall refund such taxes to such disabled veteran or his or her surviving unremarried spouse or minor children in accordance with Code Section 48-5-380.
- (3) Upon final determination and approval of a period of prior eligibility, the county board of assessors shall immediately transmit such approval to the local tax commissioner and local municipal tax officer if applicable. The tax commissioner and municipal tax officer shall be authorized to refund the proportionate amount of taxes from the entities for whom the taxes were collected for the tax years approved for the exemption. Such refund shall not exceed three tax years and shall not include interest.

# 48-5-48.1. Tangible personal property inventory exemption; application; failure to file application as waiver of exemption; denials; notice of renewals.

- (a) Any person, firm, or corporation seeking an exemption from ad valorem taxation of certain tangible personal property inventory when such exemption has been authorized by the governing authority of any county or municipality after approval of the electors of such county or municipality pursuant to the authority of the Constitution of Georgia or Code Section 48-5-48.2 shall file a written application and schedule summary of property with the county board of tax assessors on forms furnished by such board. Such application shall be filed in the year in which exemption from taxation is sought no later than the date on which the tax receiver or tax commissioner of the county in which the property is located closes his books for the return of taxes.
- (b) The application for the tangible personal property inventory exemption shall provide for:
- (1) A schedule summary, as prescribed by the department, of the inventory of goods in the process of manufacture or production which shall include all partly finished goods and raw materials held for direct use or consumption in the ordinary course of the taxpayer's manufacturing or production business in the State of Georgia;
- (2) A schedule summary, as prescribed by the department, of the inventory of finished goods manufactured or produced within the State of Georgia in the ordinary course of the taxpayer's manufacturing or production business when held by the original manufacturer or producer of such finished goods; and
- (3) A schedule summary, as prescribed by the department, of the inventory of finished goods which on January 1 are stored in a warehouse, dock, or wharf, whether public or private, and which are destined for shipment outside the State of Georgia and the inventory of finished goods which are shipped into the State of Georgia from outside this state and which are stored for transshipment to a final destination outside this state. The information required by Code Section 48-5-48.2 to be contained in the official books and records of the warehouse, dock, or wharf where such property is being stored, which official books and records are required to be open to the inspection of taxing authorities of this state and political subdivisions thereof, shall not be required to be included as a part of or to accompany the application for such exemption; and
- (4) A schedule summary, as prescribed by the department, of the stock in trade of a fulfillment center which on January 1 are stored in the fulfillment center. The information required by Code Section 48-5-48.2 to be contained in the official books and records of the fulfillment center where such property is being stored, which official books and records are required to be open to the inspection of the taxing authorities of this state and political subdivisions thereof, shall not be required to be included as a part of or to accompany the application for such exemption.
- (c)(1) For purposes of this subsection, the term "file properly" shall mean and include the timely filing of the <u>completed</u> application and <u>complete schedule of the inventory</u> for which exemption is sought on or before the due date specified in subsection (a) of this Code section. <u>Any clerical error, including, but not limited to, a typographical error, scrivener's error, or any unintentional immaterial error or omission in the application shall not be construed as a failure to file properly.</u>

- (2) The failure to file properly the <u>completed</u> application <del>and schedule</del> shall constitute a waiver of the exemption on the part of the person, firm, or corporation failing to make the application for such exemption for that year as follows:
- (A) The failure to report any inventory for which such exemption is sought in the schedule summary provided for in the application shall constitute a waiver of the exemption on the part of the person, firm, or corporation failing to so report for that taxable year in an amount equal to the difference between fair market value of the inventory as reported and the fair market value finally determined to be applicable to the inventory for which the exemption is sought; and
- (B) The failure to file timely such <u>completed</u> application and <u>schedule</u> shall constitute a waiver of the exemption until the first day of the month following the month such <u>completed</u> application and <u>schedule are is</u> filed properly with the county tax assessor; provided, however, that unless the <u>such completed</u> application and <u>schedule are is</u> filed on or before June 1 of such year, the exemption shall be waived for that entire year.
- (d) Upon receiving the application required by this Code section, the county board of tax assessors shall determine the eligibility of all types of tangible personal property listed on the application. If any property has been listed which the board believes is not eligible for the exemption, the board shall issue a letter notifying the applicant, not later than 180 days after receiving the application, that all or a portion of the application has been denied. The denial letter shall list the type and total fair market value of all property listed on the application for which the exemption has been approved and the type and total fair market value of all property listed on the application for which the exemption has been denied. The applicant shall have the right to appeal from the denial of the exemption for any property listed and such appeal shall proceed as provided in Code Section 48-5-311. Except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (c)(2)(A) of this Code section, the county board of assessors shall not send a second letter of notification denying the exemption of all or a portion of such property listed on the application on new grounds that could and should have been discerned at the time the initial denial letter was issued. If, however, the county board of tax assessors fails to issue a letter of denial within 180 days after receiving the taxpayer's application, then the freeport exemption sought in the application shall be deemed accepted in its entirety.
- (e) If the tangible personal property inventory exemption has been granted to a taxpayer for a taxable year, the county board of tax assessors shall issue a notice of renewal to the taxpayer for the immediately following taxable year. Such notice of renewal shall be issued not later than January 15 of such immediately following taxable year to facilitate the filing of a timely completed application and schedule by the taxpayer for such taxable year.

### 48-5-48.2. Level 1 freeport exemption; referendum

- (a) This Code section shall be known and may be cited as the "Level 1 Freeport Exemption."
- (b) As used in this Code section, the term:
- (1) "Destined for shipment to a final destination outside this state" means, for purposes of a level 1 freeport exemption, that portion or percentage of an inventory of finished goods which the taxpayer can establish, through a historical sales or shipment analysis, either of which utilizes information from the preceding calendar year, or other reasonable, documented method, is reasonably anticipated to be shipped to a final destination outside this state. Such other reasonable, documented method may only be utilized in the case of a new business, in the case of a substantial change in scope of an existing business, or in other unusual situations where a historical sales or shipment analysis does not adequately reflect future anticipated shipments to a final destination outside this state. It is not necessary that the actual final destination be known as of January 1 in order to qualify for the exemption.
- (2) "Finished goods" means, for purposes of a level 1 freeport exemption, goods, wares, and merchandise of every character and kind but shall not include unrecovered, unextracted, or unsevered natural resources or raw materials or goods in the process of manufacture or production or the stock in trade of a retailer.
- (3) "Foreign merchandise in transit" means, for purposes of a level 1 freeport exemption, any goods which are in international commerce where the title has passed to a foreign purchaser and the goods are temporarily stored in this state while awaiting shipment overseas.
- (4) 'Fulfillment center' means, for purposes of a level 1 freeport exemption, a business location in Georgia which is used to pack, ship, store, or otherwise process tangible personal property sold by electronic, Internet, telephonic, or other remote means, provided that such a business location does not allow customers to purchase or receive goods onsite at such business location.
- (5) "Raw materials" means, for purposes of a level 1 freeport exemption, any material, whether crude or processed, that can be converted by manufacture, processing, or a combination thereof into a new and useful product but shall not include unrecovered, unextracted, or unsevered natural resources.

- (5) "Stock in trade of a retailer" means, for purposes of a level 1 freeport exemption, finished goods held by one in the business of making sales of such goods at retail in this state, within the meaning of Chapter 8 of this title, when such goods are held or stored at a business location from which such retail sales are regularly made. Goods stored in a warehouse, dock, or wharf, including a warehouse or distribution center which is part of or adjoins a place of business from which retail sales are regularly made, shall not be considered stock in trade of a retailer to the extent that the taxpayer can establish, through a historical sales or shipment analysis, either of which utilizes information from the preceding calendar year, or other reasonable, documented method, the portion or percentage of such goods which is reasonably anticipated to be shipped outside this state for resale purposes.
- (6) 'Stock in trade of a fulfillment center' means, for purposes of a level 1 freeport exemption, goods, wares, and merchandise held by one in the business of making sales of such goods when such goods are held or stored at a fulfillment center.
- (c) The governing authority of any county or municipality may, subject to the approval of the electors of such political subdivision, exempt from ad valorem taxation, including all such taxes levied for educational purposes and for state purposes, all or any combination of the following types of tangible personal property:
- (1) Inventory of goods in the process of manufacture or production which shall include all partly finished goods and raw materials held by the taxpayer or the taxpayer's designated agent for direct use or consumption in the ordinary course of the taxpayer's manufacturing or production business in this state. The exemption provided for in this paragraph shall apply only to tangible personal property which is substantially modified, altered, combined, or changed in the ordinary course of the taxpayer's manufacturing, processing, or production operations in this state. For purposes of this paragraph, the cleaning, drying, pest control treatment, or segregation by grade of grain, peanuts or other oil seeds, or cotton shall constitute substantial modification in the course of processing or production operations. For purposes of this paragraph, remanufacture of aircraft engines or aircraft engine parts or components shall constitute manufacturing operations in this state. Remanufacture of aircraft engines or aircraft engines or aircraft engine parts or components means the substantial overhauling or rebuilding of aircraft engines or aircraft engine parts or components;
- (A) The cleaning, drying, pest control treatment, or segregation by grade of grain, peanuts or other oil seeds, or cotton;
- (B) The remanufacture of aircraft engines or aircraft engine parts or components, meaning the substantial overhauling or rebuilding of aircraft engines or aircraft engine parts or components; and
- (C) The blending of fertilizer bulk materials into a custom mixture, whether performed at a commercial fertilizer blending plant, retail outlet, or any application site; and
- (D) The substantial assembly of finished parts;
- (2) Inventory of finished goods manufactured or produced within this state in the ordinary course of the taxpayer's manufacturing or production business when held by the original manufacturer or producer of such finished goods. The exemption provided for in this paragraph shall be for a period not exceeding 12 months from the date such property is produced or manufactured; or

- (3) Inventory of finished goods which, on January 1, are stored in a warehouse, dock, or wharf, whether public or private, and which are destined for shipment to a final destination outside this state and inventory of finished goods which are shipped into this state from outside this state and stored for transshipment to a final destination outside this state, including foreign merchandise in transit. The exemption provided for in this paragraph shall be for a period not exceeding 12 months from the date such property is stored in this state. Such period shall be determined based on application of a first-in, first-out method of accounting for the inventory. The official books and records of the warehouse, dock, or wharf where such property is being stored shall contain a full, true, and accurate inventory of all such property, including the date of the receipt of the property, the date of the withdrawal of the property, the point of origin of the property, and the point of final destination of the same, if known. The official books and records of any such warehouse, dock, or wharf, whether public or private, pertaining to any such property for which a freeport exemption has been claimed shall be at all times open to the inspection of all taxing authorities of this state and of any political subdivision of this state.
- (4) Stock in trade of a fulfillment center which, on January 1, are stored in a fulfillment center and which are made available to remote purchasers who may make such purchases by electronic, Internet, telephonic, or other remote means, and where such stock in trade of a fulfillment center will be shipped from the fulfillment center and delivered to the purchaser at a location other than the location of the fulfillment center. The exemption provided for in this paragraph shall be for a period not exceeding 12 months from the date such property is stored in this state. Such period shall be determined based on application of a first-in, first-out method of accounting for the inventory. The official books and records of the fulfillment center where such property is being stored shall contain a full, true, and accurate inventory of all such property, including the date of the receipt of the property and the date of the withdrawal of the property. The official books and records of any such fulfillment center pertaining to any such property for which a freeport exemption has been claimed shall be at all times open to the inspection of all taxing authorities of this state and of any political subdivision of this state.
- (d) Whenever the governing authority of any county or municipality wishes to exempt such tangible property from ad valorem taxation, as provided in this Code section, the governing authority thereof shall notify the election superintendent of such political subdivision, and it shall be the duty of said election superintendent to issue the call for an election for the purpose of submitting to the electors of the political subdivision the question of whether such exemption shall be granted. The referendum ballot shall specify as separate questions the type or types of property as defined in this Code section which are being proposed to be exempted from taxation. The election superintendent shall issue the call and shall conduct the election on a date and in the manner authorized under Code Section 21-2-540.
- (e) The governing authority of any county or municipality wherein an exemption has been approved by the voters as provided in this Code section may, by appropriate resolution, a copy of which shall be immediately transmitted to the state revenue commissioner, exempt from taxation 20 percent, 40 percent, 60 percent, 80 percent or all of the value of such tangible personal property as defined in this Code section; provided, however, that once an exemption has been granted, no reduction in the percent of the value of such property to be exempted may be made until and unless such exemption is revoked or repealed as provided in this Code section. An increase in the percent of the value of the property to be exempted may be accomplished by appropriate resolution of the governing authority of such county or municipality, and a copy thereof shall be immediately transmitted to the state revenue commissioner, provided that such increase shall be in increments of 20 percent, 40 percent, 60 percent, or 80 percent of the value of such tangible personal property as defined in this Code section, within the discretion of such governing authority.

- (f) (1) If more than one-half of the votes cast on such question are in favor of such exemption, then such exemption may be granted by the governing authority commencing on the first day of any ensuing calendar year; otherwise, such exemption may not be granted. This paragraph is intended to clearly provide that following approval of such exemption in such referendum, such exemption may be granted on the first day of any calendar year following the year in which such referendum was conducted. This paragraph shall not be construed to imply that the granting of such exemption could not previously be delayed to any such calendar year.
- (2) Exemptions may only be revoked by a referendum election called and conducted as provided in this Code section, provided that the call for such referendum shall not be issued within five years from the date such exemptions were first granted and, if the results of said election are in favor of the revocation of such exemptions, then such revocation shall be effective only at the end of a five-year period from the date of such referendum.
- (g) Level 1 freeport exemptions effected pursuant to this Code section may be granted either in lieu of or in addition to level 2 freeport exemptions under Code Section 48-5-48.6.
- (h) The commissioner shall by regulation adopt uniform procedures and forms for the use of local officials in the administration of this Code section.

### 48-5-48.3 Homestead exemption for senior citizens.

- (a) As used in this Code section, the term:
- (1) "Homestead" means homestead as defined and qualified in Code Section 48-5-40 of the O.C.G.A., as amended, with the additional qualification that it shall include only the primary residence and not more than ten contiguous acres of land immediately surrounding such residence.
- (2) "Senior citizen" means a person who is 65 years of age or over on or before January 1 of the year in which application for the exemption under this Code section is made.
- (b) Any person who is a senior citizen and resident of Georgia is granted upon application an exemption on his or her homestead which such person owns and actually occupies as a residence and homestead in an amount equal to the actual levy for state ad valorem taxation made pursuant to Code Section 48-5-8 with respect to that homestead, such exemption being from all ad valorem taxation for state purposes. The value of all property in excess of the exempted amount cited above shall remain subject to taxation.
- (c) The exemption shall be claimed and returned in the same manner as otherwise required under Code Section 48-5-50.1. Each person shall file for the exemption only once in the county of his or her residence. Once filed, the exemption shall automatically be renewed from year to year.
- (d) The exemption granted by this Code section shall not apply to or affect county taxes, municipal taxes, or school district taxes.
- (e) The exemption granted by this Code section shall be in addition to and not in lieu of any other homestead exemption from state taxes.

### 48-5-49. Determination of eligibility of applicant; appeal.

- (a) The official receiving an application for homestead exemption shall determine the eligibility of the applicant to claim the exemption and, whether the application is approved or disapproved, he shall then transfer the application to the county board of tax assessors for final determination by the board as to eligibility and value as provided by law.
- (b) The applicant shall have the right of appeal from the decision of the board of assessors to the county board of equalization as provided in Code Section 48-5-311.

## 48-5-50. Homestead value credited with exemption; approval of correctness of value, exemption, and difference.

The value of the homestead as finally determined shall be credited with the homestead exemption provided by law. The homestead value, exemption, and difference, if any, shall be shown on the owner's tax return and the correctness of the value, exemption, and difference shall be approved on the return as provided by law.

# 48-5-50.1. Claim and return of constitutional or local law homestead exemptions from county taxes, county school taxes, or municipal or independent school district taxes.

- (a) This Code section shall govern the procedure for returning and claiming homestead exemptions which are created by or pursuant to local laws or constitutional amendments which were not general amendments. If, however, such a constitutional amendment or local law contains provisions which are in conflict with this Code section, then such other provisions shall prevail over this Code section.
- (b) (1) If the homestead exemption is from county taxes or county school taxes, it shall be claimed and returned as provided in Code Sections 48-5-45, 48-5-46, 48-5-49, and 48-5-50.
- (2) If the homestead exemption is from municipal or independent school district taxes, it shall be claimed and returned as provided in Code Sections 48-5-45, 48-5-46, and 48-5-50, except that any reference to the tax commissioner or tax receiver shall be deemed to refer to the municipal governing authority or its designee. The determination of eligibility of the applicant to claim the exemption shall be made by the municipal governing authority subject to appeal to the superior court. Any such appeal must be filed within 30 days after the final determination by the municipal governing authority and shall be a de novo proceeding.
- (3) In addition to the provisions required by Code Section 48-5-46, the application for an exemption under this Code section may provide where necessary for an affidavit as to the age of the owner, the income of the owner and of each member of his family residing on the homestead, and such other information as may be necessary to determine eligibility of the owner for the exemption. The commissioner shall not be required to furnish specialized forms required by this Code section.

# 48-5-51. Fraudulent claim of homestead exemption under Code Sections 48-5-44 through 48-5-50; penalty.

- (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to:
- (1) Make any false or fraudulent claim for exemption under Code Sections 48-5-44 through 48-5-50;
- (2) Make any false statement or false representation of a material fact in support of a claim for exemption under Code Sections 48-5-44 through 48-5-50; or
- (3) Assist another knowingly in the preparation of any false or fraudulent claim for exemption under Code Sections 48-5-44 through 48-5-50, or enter into any collusion with another by the execution of a fictitious deed, deed of trust, mortgage, or otherwise.
- (b) Any person who violates this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. In addition, the property shall be taxed in an amount double the tax otherwise to be paid.

# 48-5-52. Exemption from ad valorem taxation for educational purposes of homesteads of qualified individuals 62 or older; application; replacement of revenue.

(a) The homestead of each resident of each independent school district and of each county school district within this state who is 62 years of age or older and, for the purposes of all tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, whose net income together with the net income of the spouse who also occupies and resides at such homestead, as net income is defined by Georgia law from all sources, except as otherwise provided in this subsection, does not exceed \$10,000.00 for the immediately preceding taxable year for income tax purposes, is exempted from all ad valorem taxes for educational purposes levied by, for, or on behalf of any such school system, including taxes to retire school bond indebtedness. For the purposes of this subsection, net income shall not include income received as retirement, survivor, or disability benefits under the federal Social Security Act or under any other public or private retirement, disability, or pension system, except such income which is in excess of the maximum amount authorized to be paid to an individual and his or her spouse under the federal Social Security Act. Income from such sources in excess of such maximum amount shall be included as net income for the purposes of this subsection. The exemption shall not exceed \$10,000.00 of the homestead's assessed value. Except as otherwise specifically provided by law, the value of that property in excess of such exempted amount shall remain subject to taxation.

- (b)(1) The exemption provided for in subsection (a) of this Code section shall not be granted unless an affidavit of the owner of the homestead, prepared upon forms prescribed by the commissioner for that purpose, is filed with either the tax receiver or tax commissioner, in the case of residents of county school districts, or with the governing authority of the owner's city, in the case of residents of independent school districts.
- (2) The affidavit shall in the first year for which the exemption is sought be filed on or before the last day for making a tax return and shall show the:
- (A) Age of the owner on January 1 immediately preceding the filing of the affidavit;
- (B) Total amount of net income received by the owner and spouse from all sources during the immediately preceding calendar year; and
- (C) Such additional information as may be required by the commissioner.
- (3) Copies of all affidavits received or extracts of the information contained in the affidavits shall be forwarded to the commissioner by the various taxing authorities with whom the affidavits are filed. The commissioner is authorized to compare such information with information contained in any income tax return, sales tax return, or other tax documents or records of the department and to report immediately to the appropriate county or city taxing authority any apparent discrepancies between the information contained in any affidavit and the information contained in any other tax records of the department.
- (4) After the owner has filed the affidavit and has once been allowed the exemption provided for in this Code section, it shall not be necessary to make application and file the affidavit thereafter for any year and the exemption shall continue to be allowed to such owner; provided, however, that it shall be the duty of any such owner to notify the tax commissioner or tax receiver in the event the owner becomes ineligible for any reason for the exemption provided for in this Code section."
- (c) The homestead exemption granted by this Code section shall extend to and shall apply to those properties the legal title to which is vested in one or more titleholders when such property is actually occupied as a residence by one or more of the titleholders who possess the qualifications provided in subsection (a) of this Code section and who claim the exemption in the manner provided for in this Code section. The exemption shall also extend to those homesteads the title to which is vested in a personal representative or trustee if one or more of the heirs or beneficiaries residing on the property possess the qualifications provided for and claim the exemption in the manner provided in this Code section.
- (d)(1) The State Board of Education, when funds are specifically appropriated for the purpose of replacing revenue lost by local school systems as a result of this Code section, shall provide each school district in this state which, on July 1, 1974, had in effect a tax levy of 20 mills or more for educational purposes or was levying the maximum permissible tax authorized by law for educational purposes, with grants for educational purposes which shall equal the revenues lost by the school district due to the exemption provided by this Code section for property located within the school district.
- (2) The State Board of Education may promulgate reasonable rules to carry out this subsection.

# 48-5-52.1. Exemption from ad valorem taxation for state, county, municipal, and school purposes of homesteads of unremarried surviving spouses of U.S. service members killed in action.

- (a) Any person who is a citizen and resident of Georgia and who is an unremarried surviving spouse of a member of the armed forces of the United States, which member has been killed in or has died as a result of any war or armed conflict in which the armed forces of the United States engaged, whether under United States command or otherwise, shall be granted a homestead exemption from all ad valorem taxation for state, county, municipal, and school purposes in the amount of the greater of \$32,500.00 or the maximum amount which may be granted to a disabled veteran under Section 2102 of Title 38 of the United States Code, as amended. As of January 1, 1999, the maximum amount which may be granted to a disabled veteran under the abovestated federal law is \$43,000.00. For the purposes of this Code section, the term "unremarried surviving spouse" of a member of the armed forces includes the unmarried widow or widower of a member of the armed forces who is receiving spousal benefits from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs. The exemption shall be on the homestead which the unremarried surviving spouse owns and actually occupies as a residence and homestead. In the event such surviving spouse remarries, such person shall cease to be qualified to continue the exemption under this Code section effective December 31 of the taxable year in which such person remarries. The value of all property in excess of such exemption granted to such unremarried surviving spouse shall remain subject to taxation.
- (b) In order to qualify for the exemption provided for in this Code section, the unremarried surviving spouse shall furnish to the tax commissioner of the county of residence documents from the Secretary of Defense evidencing that such unremarried surviving spouse receives spousal benefits as a result of the death of such person's spouse who as a member of the armed forces of the United States was killed or died as a result of a war or armed conflict while on active duty or while performing authorized travel to or from active duty during such war or armed conflict in which the armed forces of the United States engaged, whether under United States command or otherwise, pursuant to the Survivor Benefit Plan under Subchapter II of Chapter 73 of Title 10 of the United States Code or pursuant to any preceding or subsequent federal law which provides survivor benefits for spouses of members of the armed forces who were killed or who died as a result of any war or armed conflict.

- (c) An unremarried surviving spouse filing for the exemption under this Code section shall be required to file with the tax commissioner information relative to marital status and other such information which the county board of tax assessors deems necessary to determine eligibility for the exemption. Each unremarried surviving spouse shall file for the exemption only once with the tax commissioner. Once filed, the exemption shall automatically be renewed from year to year, except that the county board of tax assessors may require annually that the holder of an exemption substantiate his or her continuing eligibility for the exemption. It shall be the duty of any person granted the homestead exemption under this Code section to notify the tax commissioner in the event that person for any reason becomes ineligible for such exemption.
- (d) The exemption granted by this Code section shall be in lieu of and not in addition to any other exemption from ad valorem taxation for state, county, municipal, and school purposes which is equal to or lower in amount than such exemption granted by this Code section. If the amount of any other exemption from ad valorem taxation for state, county, municipal, and school purposes applicable to any resident qualifying under this Code section is greater than or is increased to an amount greater than the amount of the applicable exemption granted by this Code section, such other exemption shall apply and shall be in lieu of and not in addition to the exemption granted by this Code section.
- (e) The exemptions granted by this Code section shall apply to the tax year beginning on January 1, 2001, and all tax years thereafter.

## 48-5-53. Falsification of information required by Code Section 48-5-52; penalty.

- (a) It shall be unlawful for any person willfully to falsify information required by the commissioner pursuant to Code Section 48-5-52, whether relating to age, income, or otherwise.
- (b) Any person who violates subsection (a) of this Code section commits the offense of false swearing.

# 48-5-54. Application of homestead exemptions to properties with multiple titleholders and properties held by administrators, executors, or trustees.

- (a) The exemptions granted to the homestead pursuant to this part shall extend to and shall apply to those properties the legal title to which is vested in one or more titleholders if actually occupied by one or more of such owners as a residence. In such instances, such exemptions shall be granted to such properties if claimed in the manner provided by law by one or more of the owners actually residing on such property. Such exemptions shall also extend to those homesteads the title to which is vested in an administrator, executor, or trustee if one or more of the heirs or cestui que uses residing on such property claims the exemption in the manner provided by law. The provisions of this Code section shall also apply to exemptions granted to the homestead by any local law adopted after July 1, 1984, unless the local law expressly provides to the contrary.
- (b) The failure to file properly the application and schedule shall not be cause for waiver of the exemption where such waiver arises because of an administrator's or executor's deed transferring the property to a surviving spouse. In such instances, the board of tax assessors shall give notice of its intent to deny the exemption as required by Code Section 48-5-49, and the surviving spouse may make application for the amount of homestead exemption to which such applicant is entitled within 30 days from the date of the notice by the board of tax assessors. In the case of a base year assessed value homestead exemption, as long as the surviving spouse otherwise meets the requirements specified for such exemption and makes proper application under this subsection, upon approval of such application the exemption shall be continued with the same base year assessed value as had been established for the deceased spouse of such surviving spouse, unless otherwise provided by local law.

## 48-5-55. Continuation of constitutional exemptions from advalorem taxes.

- (a) Exemptions from ad valorem taxation granted by or pursuant to constitutional amendments other than general constitutional amendments of state-wide application, which exemptions were in effect on June 30, 1983, are continued in effect as statutory law until otherwise provided for by law.
- (b) The provisions of this part shall not prohibit any otherwise lawful local Act from granting exemptions from ad valorem taxes other than state ad valorem taxes, which exemptions are in addition to or in place of the exemptions granted pursuant to this part.

# 48-5-56. Notice of homestead exemptions from ad valorem taxation to accompany bill for ad valorem taxes on real property.

Each bill for ad valorem taxes on real property other than property required to be returned to the commissioner shall contain or be accompanied by a notice in substantially the following form:

"Certain persons are eligible for certain homestead exemptions from ad valorem taxation. In addition to the regular homestead exemption authorized for all homeowners, certain elderly persons are entitled to additional homestead exemptions. The full law relating to each exemption must be referred to in order to determine eligibility for the exemption. If you are eligible for one of these exemptions and are not now receiving the benefit of the exemption, you must apply for the exemption not later than (insert date) in order to receive the exemption in future years. For more information on eligibility for exemptions or on the proper method of applying for an exemption, you may contact the office of the county tax receiver or county tax commissioner, which is located at: (insert address) and which may be contacted by telephone at: (insert telephone number).

If you feel that your property has been assigned too high a value for tax purposes by the board of tax assessors, you should file a tax return reducing the value not later than \_\_\_\_\_\_ in order to have an opportunity to have this value lowered for next year's taxes. Information on filing a return can be obtained from the county tax receiver or tax commissioner at the above address and telephone number."

#### **County Taxation**

#### 48-5-220. Purposes of county taxes.

County taxes may be levied and collected for the following public purposes:

- (1) To pay the expenses of administration of the county government;
- (2) To pay the principal and interest of any debt of the county and to provide a sinking fund for the payment of the principal and interest;
- (3) For educational purposes upon property located outside of independent school systems, as provided in Article VIII of the Constitution of this state;
- (4) To build and repair public buildings and bridges;
- (5) To pay the expenses of courts and the maintenance and support of inmates, to pay sheriffs and coroners, and to pay for litigation;
- (6) To build and maintain a system of county roads;
- (7) For public health purposes in the county and for the collection and preservation of records of vital statistics;
- (8) To pay county police;
- (9) To support indigent individuals;
- (10) To pay county agricultural and home demonstration agents;
- (11) (A) To provide for payment of old age assistance to aged individuals in need and for the payment of assistance to needy blind, assistance to dependent children, and other welfare benefits.
- (B) No individual shall be entitled to assistance as provided in this paragraph who does not qualify for assistance in every respect as provided by law prescribing the qualifications for beneficiaries.
- (C) No indebtedness or liability against the county shall ever be created for the purpose stated in this paragraph when the indebtedness or liability is in excess of amounts reasonably expected to be raised by county taxes levied as provided by law;
- (12) To provide for fire protection of forest lands and for the conservation of natural resources;
- (13) To provide hospitalization and medical or other care for the indigent sick people of the county;

- (14) To acquire, improve, and maintain airports, public parks, and public libraries:
- (15) To provide for workers' compensation and retirement or pension funds for officers and employees;
- (16) To provide reasonable reserves for public improvements as may be fixed by law;
- (17) To pay pensions and other benefits and costs under a teacher retirement system or systems;
- (18) For school lunch purposes, upon property located outside of independent school systems as provided in Article VIII of the Constitution of this state, to provide for payment of costs and expenses incurred in the: purchase, replacement, and maintenance of school lunchroom equipment; purchase of school lunchroom supplies; transportation, storage, and preparation of foods; and all other costs and expenses incurred in the operation of school lunch programs;
- (19) To provide for ambulance services within the county;
- (20) To provide for financial assistance to county or joint county and municipal development authorities for the purpose of developing trade, commerce, industry, and employment opportunities. No tax for this purpose shall exceed one mill per dollar upon the assessed value of the taxable property in the county levying the tax; provided, however, that the authority to levy and collect a tax for the purpose described in this paragraph shall not be deemed to be an exclusive authorization and shall not prevent any county from exercising any power granted to it pursuant to any constitutional amendment, whether general or special, to levy any ad valorem tax for the purpose of providing financial assistance to any county or joint county and municipal development authority. The exceptions to the one mill per dollar tax limitation contained in the proviso of the preceding sentence shall not be construed so as to affect any action pending in court on February 20, 1984;
- (21) To provide for public health and sanitation including, but not limited to, water pollution control projects, sewage treatment facilities, storm and sanitary sewer facilities, and water supply facilities; and
- (22) To provide for financial assistance to county children and youth commissions providing children and youth services, including but not limited to, the study of the needs, issues, and problems relating to children and youth; the gathering of data, identification of problem areas, and planning and implementation of programs for dealing with problems of children and youth; and the dissemination of information relating to issues of children and youth.

#### Uniform Property Tax Administration and Equalization of Assessments

#### **48-5-260.** Purpose of part.

It is the purpose and intent of this part to:

- (1) Create, provide, and require a comprehensive system for the equalization of taxes on real property within this state by the establishment of uniform state-wide forms, records, and procedures and by the establishment of a competent, full-time staff for each county of this state to:
- (A) Assist the board of tax assessors of each county in developing the proper information for setting tax assessments on property;
  - (B) Maintain the tax assessment records for each county; and
  - (C) Provide for state-wide duties and qualification standards for such staffs;
- (2) Provide for the examination of county tax digests in order to determine whether property valuation is uniform between the counties;
  - (3) Provide for adjustments and equalizations of property valuations in certain instances;
  - (4) Provide for state ratio studies by the state auditor; and
  - (5) Provide for state assistance to counties in implementing this part.

#### 48-5-261. Classification of counties for administration of part.

For the purpose of administering this part, the counties of this state are placed in the following classes:

- (1) Class I Counties having less than 3,000 parcels of real property;
- (2) Class II Counties having at least 3,000 but less than 8,000 parcels of real property;
- (3) Class III Counties having at least 8,000 but less than 15,000 parcels of real property;
- (4) Class IV Counties having at least 15,000 but less than 25,000 parcels of real property;
- (5) Class V Counties having at least 25,000 but less than 35,000 parcels of real property;
- (6) Class VI Counties having at least 35,000 but less than 50,000 parcels of real property;
- (7) Class VII Counties having at least 50,000 but less than 100,000 parcels of real property; and
- (8) Class VIII Counties having at least 100,000 or more parcels of real property.

## 48-5-262. Composition and duties of county appraisal staffs; "county civil service system" defined.

- (a) Class I counties shall provide for an appraisal staff pursuant to paragraph (1) of Code Section 48-5-260 by:
  - (1) Employing a full-time appraiser;
  - (2) Contracting with a contiguous county to provide the staff requirement; or
  - (3) Contracting with a professional appraisal person to provide the staff requirement.
- (b) Each county other than Class I counties shall employ a minimum staff of appraisers, to be known as the county property appraisal staff, to perform the duties set forth in this part. For compensation purposes, the appraisers will be designated, lowest grade first, as Appraiser I, Appraiser III, and Appraiser IV.
  - (c) The minimum staff requirement for each county shall be as follows:
  - (1) Class II counties One Appraiser III;
  - (2) Class III counties One Appraiser III and one Appraiser I;
  - (3) Class IV counties One Appraiser III, one Appraiser II, and one Appraiser I:
  - (4) Class V counties Two Appraisers III, two Appraisers II, and one Appraiser I;
- (5) Class VI counties One Appraiser IV, two Appraisers III, two Appraisers II, and one Appraiser I;

- (6) Class VII counties One Appraiser IV, four Appraisers III, one Appraiser II, and two Appraisers I;
- (7) Class VIII counties Two Appraisers IV, eight Appraisers III, five Appraisers II, and five Appraisers I.
- (d) The establishment of minimum staff requirements shall not preclude any county from employing additional appraisers in order to carry out this part.
- (e)(1) As used in this subsection, the term "county civil service system" means any county civil service system, county merit system, county personnel plan or policy, or stated rules of work.
- (2) The county governing authority shall be authorized, in its discretion and upon adoption of the appropriate resolution or ordinance, to provide that staff and employees of the county board of tax assessors shall be positions of employment covered by the county civil service system. Following the adoption of such ordinance or resolution, the county board of tax assessors may hire and manage such employees, but only in compliance with the county civil service system. The failure of the county board of tax assessors to comply with the requirements of such system shall be grounds for removal of one or more members of the county board of tax assessors pursuant to subsection (b) of Code Section 48-5-295.

## 48-5-263. Qualifications, duties, and compensation of appraisers.

- (a) Qualifications.
- (1) The commissioner shall establish, and the State Personnel Administration may review, the qualifications and rate of compensation for each appraiser grade.
- (2) Each appraiser shall, before his employment, obtain a satisfactory grade, as determined by the commissioner, on an examination prepared by the commissioner and an institution of higher education in this state.
  - (b) *Duties.* Each member of the county property appraisal staff shall:
- (1) Make appraisals of the fair market value of all taxable property in the county other than property returned directly to the commissioner:
- (2) Maintain all tax records and maps for the county in a current condition. This duty shall include, but not be limited to, the mapping, platting, cataloging, and indexing of all real and personal property in the county;

- (3) Prepare annual assessments on all taxable property appraised in the county and submit the assessments for approval to the county board of tax assessors;
- (4) Prepare annual appraisals on all tax-exempt property in the county and submit the appraisals to the county board of tax assessors;
- (5) Prepare and mail assessment notices after the county board of tax assessors has determined the final assessments;
- (6) Attend hearings of the county board of equalization and provide information to the board regarding the valuation and assessments approved by the county board of tax assessors on those properties concerning which appeals have been made to the county board of equalization;
- (7) Provide information to the department as needed by the department and in the form requested by the department;
- (8) Attend the standard approved training courses as directed by the commissioner for all minimum county property appraisal staffs;
- (9) Compile sales ratio data and furnish the data to the commissioner as directed by the commissioner;
- (10) Comply with the rules and regulations for staff duties established by the commissioner; and
- (11) Inspect mobile homes located in the county to determine if the proper decal is attached to and displayed on the mobile home by the owner as provided by law; notify the residents of those mobile homes to which a decal is not attached of the provisions of Code Sections 48-5-492 and 48-5-493; and furnish to the tax collector or tax commissioner a periodic list of those mobile homes to which a decal is not attached.
- (c) Compensation. Staff appraisers shall be paid from county funds. The rates of compensation established by the commissioner shall not preclude any county from paying a higher rate of compensation to any appraiser grade.

#### 48-5-264. Designation and duties of chief appraiser.

- (a) The board of tax assessors in each county shall designate an Appraiser IV or, in those counties not having an Appraiser IV, an Appraiser III as the chief appraiser of the county. The chief appraiser shall be responsible for:
  - (1) The operation and functioning of the county property appraisal staff;
  - (2) Certifying and signing documents prepared by the staff; and
  - (3) Implementing procedures deemed necessary for the efficient operation of the staff.
- (b) The chief appraiser may appoint an assistant and may delegate his authority in writing to the assistant.
  - (c) The chief appraiser may be a member of the county board of tax assessors.

# 48-5-264.1. Right of chief appraiser and others to inspect property; supplying identification to occupant of property; statement to be included in tax bill.

- (a) The chief appraiser, other members of the county property appraisal staff, authorized agents of the county board of tax assessors, and members of the county board of tax assessors who are conducting official business of the chief appraiser, the county appraisal staff, or the county board of tax assessors may go upon property outside of buildings, posted or otherwise, in order to carry out the duty of making appraisals of the fair market value of taxable property in the county, other than property returned directly to the commissioner; provided, however, such person representing such chief appraiser, appraisal staff, or county board of tax assessors shall carry identification which is sufficiently prominent to permit the occupant to readily ascertain that such person is such representative. Such representative shall not enter upon the property unless reasonable notice has been provided to the owner and to the occupant of the property regarding the purpose for which such person is entering upon such property.
- (b) The county tax commissioner shall include a statement with the ad valorem tax bill of each taxpayer notifying the taxpayer of the right to file an ad valorem property tax return. A notification of the right of taxpayers to file ad valorem property tax returns shall also be maintained by the tax commissioner on the official website of the county.

# 48-5-265. Formation of joint county property appraisal staffs; contracting by Class I counties with persons to render advice or assistance; compensation.

- (a)(1) The governing authorities of any two or more counties may join together and by intergovernmental agreement create a joint county property appraisal staff following consultation with the county boards of tax assessors of such counties. Under any such intergovernmental agreement, the parcels of real property within the counties subject to the intergovernmental agreement shall be totaled, and the counties shall be deemed one county for purposes of determining the class of the counties, the resulting minimum staff requirements, and the amount of money to be received from the department. The costs of the joint county property appraisal staff shall be determined in the intergovernmental agreement.
- (2) The governing authorities of any two or more counties may execute an intergovernmental agreement to provide for the sharing of one or more designated members of property appraisal staff following consultation with the county boards of tax assessors of such counties. The costs of such shared staff members shall be determined in the intergovernmental agreement.
- (b) The governing authorities of any two or more counties may join together and by intergovernmental agreement carry out this part following consultation with the county boards of tax assessors of such counties. All counties subject to an intergovernmental agreement under this subsection shall retain their separate character for the purpose of determining the class and minimum staff requirements for each county.
- (c)(1) Any county, at its discretion, may enter into contracts with persons to render advice or assistance to the county board of tax assessors in the assessment and equalization of taxes the establishment of property valuations, or the defense of such valuations. Such advice and assistance shall be in compliance with the laws of this state and the rules and regulations of the commissioner. Individuals performing services under such contracts shall complete satisfactorily such training courses as directed by the commissioner. The function of any person contracting to render such services shall be advisory or ministerial, and the final decision as to the amount of assessments and the equalization of assessments shall be made by the county board of tax assessors and shall be set forth in the minutes of the county board of tax assessors.
- (2) No contract entered into pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection shall contain any provision authorizing payment to any person contracted with, or to any person employed by any person contracted with, upon a percentage basis or upon any basis under which compensation is dependent or conditioned in any way upon increasing or decreasing the aggregate assessment of property in the county. Any contract or provision of a contract which is in violation of this paragraph shall be void and unenforceable.

# 48-5-266. Submission by chief appraiser of assessment list with supporting information; attendance and providing of information at appeal hearings.

- (a) The chief appraiser shall submit a certified list of assessments for all taxable property within the county to the county board of tax assessors. The list shall be accompanied by any supporting information requested by the board of tax assessors and shall be submitted within the time prescribed by the board of tax assessors.
- (b) The chief appraiser or his delegate shall attend all hearings on appeals of assessments made to the county board of equalization. He shall provide the county board of equalization with the information supporting the appraisal and assessment which has been appealed.

# 48-5-269. Authority to promulgate rules and regulations regarding uniform books, records, forms, and manuals; limits on change in current use value of conservation use property.

- (a) Subject to the limitations contained in Chapter 2 of this title, the commissioner may promulgate rules and regulations specifically regarding this part, including, but not limited to, the following:
- (1) Prescription of the forms, books, and records to be used for standard property tax reporting for all taxing units, including, but not limited to, the forms, books, and records to be used in the listing, appraisal, and assessment of property and how the forms, books, and records shall be compiled and kept;
- (2) Prescription of the form and content of state-wide, uniform appraisal and assessment forms, books, and manuals;
- (3) Development and prescription of procedures under which property sales ratio surveys shall be conducted; and
- (4) Prescription of methods and procedures by which identification data, appraisal and assessment data, sales data, and any other information relating to the appraisal and assessment of property shall be furnished to the department using electronic data processing systems and equipment.

- (b) The commissioner shall promulgate after consultation with the Department of Agriculture, the Georgia Agricultural Statistical Service, the Georgia Forestry Commission, the Department of Natural Resources, and the Cooperative Extension Service, and county tax officials shall follow uniform rules and regulations establishing a table of values for the current use value of bona fide conservation use property. Such rules and regulations shall apply to the evaluation of bona fide conservation use property, exclusive of any improvements thereon, which improvements shall have their current use value determined as otherwise provided by law. Such rules and regulations shall include, but not be limited to, the following provisions and criteria:
- (1) Sales data for arm's length, bona fide sales of comparable real property with and for the same existing use and per-acre property values determined by the capitalization of net income before property taxes, with sales data to be weighted 35 percent and income capitalization values to be weighted 65 percent. All sales data shall be adjusted to remove the influence of the size of the tract on the sales price of tracts below 50 acres in size. Income capitalization values shall be derived from the respective conservation use property classifications, with consideration given to productivity of the respective major geological or geographical regions, and for this purpose:
  - (A) Net income before property taxes shall be determined for:
- (i) Agricultural land by calculating a weighted average of all crop and pasture acreage in each district as designated by paragraph (2) of this subsection in the following manner:
- (I) Crop land by calculating the five-year weighted average of per-acre net income before property taxes from the major predominant acreage crops harvested in Georgia, and as used in this subdivision, the term "predominant acreage crops" means the top acreage crops with production in no less than 125 counties of the state; and
- (II) Pasture property by calculating a five-year weighted average of per-acre rental rates from pasture land; and
- (ii) Forest property by calculating a five-year weighted average of per-acre net income before property taxes from hardwood and softwood harvested in Georgia. For purposes of this division, the term "property taxes" shall not include the tax under Code Section 48-5-7.5 which tax shall be considered in calculating net income; and
  - (B) The capitalization rate shall be based upon:
- (i) The long-term financing rate available on January 1 from the Regional Federal Land Bank located in Columbia, South Carolina, and published pursuant to 26 U.S.C. Section 2032A(e)(7)(A)(ii), further referenced by regulations 26 C.F.R. 20.2032A-4(e);
- (ii) The arithmetic mean of Federal Farm Credit bond yields, whose maturity is no less than five years in the future, as published in the *Wall Street Journal* on January 1 or the most recent business day of the current year, rounded to the nearest hundredth;

- (iii) For the purpose of determining the income capitalization rate, divisions (i) and (ii) of this subparagraph shall be given weighted influences of 80 percent and 20 percent, respectively; and
- (iv) A property tax component which shall be the five-year average true tax rate for the unincorporated area of each county located within the regions established by paragraph (2) of this subsection;
- (2) The state shall be divided into an appropriate grouping of the nine crop-reporting districts as delineated by the Georgia Agricultural Statistical Service for the purpose of determining any calculation under this subsection:
- (3) In no event may the current use value of any conservation use property in the table of values established by the commissioner under this subsection for the taxable year beginning January 1, 1993, increase or decrease by more than 15 percent from its current use value as set forth in the table of values established by the commissioner under this subsection for the taxable year beginning January 1, 1992. In no event may the current use value of any conservation use property in the table of values established by the commissioner under this subsection for the taxable year beginning January 1, 1994, or any subsequent taxable year increase or decrease by more than 3 percent from its current use value as set forth in the table of values established by the commissioner under this subsection for the immediately preceding taxable year; and
- (4) Environmentally sensitive properties as certified by the Department of Natural Resources shall be valued according to the average value determined for property of the same or similar soil type, as determined under paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection.
- (c) In no event may the current use value of any conservation use property increase or decrease during a covenant period by more than 3 percent from its current use value for the previous taxable year or increase or decrease during a covenant period by more than 34.39 percent from the first year of the covenant period. The limitations imposed by this subsection shall apply to the total value of all the conservation use property that is the subject of an individual covenant including any improvements that meet the qualifications set forth in paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of Code Section 48-5-7.4; provided, however, that in the event the owner changes the use of any portion of the land or adds or removes therefrom any such qualified improvements, the limitations imposed by this subsection shall be recomputed as if the new uses and improvements were in place at the time the covenant was originally entered.

### 48-5-269.1. Adoption by commissioner and requirement of use of uniform procedural manual for appraising tangible personal property.

(a) The commissioner shall adopt by rule, subject to Chapter 13 of Title 50, the "Georgia Administrative Procedure Act," and maintain an appropriate procedural manual for use by county property appraisal staff in appraising tangible real and personal property for ad valorem tax purposes.

(b) The manual adopted by the commissioner pursuant to this Code section shall be utilized by county property appraisal staff in the appraisal of tangible real and personal property for ad valorem tax purposes.

#### 48-5-273. Counties to submit tax rate to commissioner.

The governing authority of each county shall submit to the commissioner, at the time the county tax digest for the current year is submitted for his approval, the total county millage levy established pursuant to law for the county for the current year. The commissioner shall not consider the approval of any county tax digest unless the tax rate is submitted to him as provided in this Code section.

# 48-5-274. Establishment of equalized adjusted property tax digest; establishment and use of average ratio; information to be furnished by state auditor; grievance procedure; information to be furnished by commissioner.

- (a) As used in this Code section, the term:
- (1) "Assessment ratio" means the fractional relationship between the assessed value and the fair market value of the property.
- (2) "Measures of central tendency" means the tendency of data to cluster around some typical or central value, such as the median ratio, the mean ratio, or the weighted mean ratio (the weighted mean ratio is also called the aggregate ratio), as defined in the Standard on Assessment-Ratio Studies published by the International Association of Assessing Officers.
- (b) The state auditor shall establish on a continuing basis, no later than November 15 in each year, an equalized adjusted property tax digest for each county in the state and for the state as a whole for the current calendar year. Such digest shall exclude all real and personal property exempted from taxation and the difference between the value of all taxable property within any tax allocation district and the tax allocation increment base of such tax allocation district as defined under paragraph (15) of Code Section 36-44-3 for which consent has been obtained pursuant to Code Section 36-44-9. The state auditor may establish a unit within the Department of Audits and Accounts consisting of such number of personnel as is deemed necessary in order to establish and maintain on a continuing basis the equalized adjusted property tax digest. The equalized adjusted property tax digest shall be established and maintained as follows:
- (1) Determine the locally assessed valuation of the county property tax assessment digest for the preceding calendar year, exclusive of realgand personal property exempted from taxation,

exclusive of the difference between the value of all taxable property within any tax allocation district and the tax allocation increment base of such tax allocation district as defined under paragraph (15) of Code Section 36-44-3 for which consent has been obtained pursuant to Code Section 36-44-9, exclusive of railroad equipment company property shown on the county railroad equipment company property tax digest, exclusive of any property subject to current use valuation on the county property tax digest, and exclusive of the locally assessed valuation of timber harvested or sold:

- (2) Determine the fair market value for timber harvested or sold during the calendar year;
- (3) Divide the sum of the locally assessed valuation of the county property tax assessment digest under paragraph (1) of this subsection by the ratio of assessed value to fair market value of the property established by the state auditor in accordance with paragraph (8) of this subsection:
- (4) Determine the fair market value of the county railroad equipment company property tax digest for the preceding calendar year;
- (5) Determine the sum of the current use valuation of the county property tax digest;
- (6) Determine the total fair market value of the Public Utility Digest as established by the commissioner:
- (7) The total of the sums obtained through the calculations prescribed in paragraphs (2), (3), (4), (5), and (6) of this subsection shall be known as the current equalized adjusted property tax digest of the county. The sum of the current equalized adjusted property tax digest of all counties of the state combined shall be known as the current equalized adjusted property tax digest for the state as a whole; and
- (8) Establish for each county in the state the ratio of assessed value to fair market value of county property subject to taxation, excluding railroad equipment company property. The ratio shall be determined by establishing the ratio of assessed value to sales price for each of a representative number of parcels of real property, the titles to which were transferred during a period of time to be determined by the state auditor, and then by establishing the measure of central tendency for the county as a whole based upon a representative number of usable transactions studied. Any such sales price shall be adjusted upward or downward, in a manner consistent with the Standard on Ratio Studies published by the International Association of Assessing Officers or its successors, as reasonably needed to account for the effects of price changes reflected in the market between the date of sale and January 1 of the calendar year for which the equalized adjusted property tax digest is being prepared. Sales prices also shall be reduced by any portion thereof attributable to personal property, real property exempt from taxation, or standing timber included in the sales transaction. The representative number of transactions shall not include any parcel of which the sales price is not reflective of the fair market value of such property as fair market value is defined in Code Section 48-5-2. The state auditor shall supplement realty sales price data available in any county with actual appraisals of a representative number of parcels of farm property and industrial and commercial property located within the county, the titles to which were not transferred within the period of time determined by the state auditor. The state auditor may make appraisals on other types of real property located within the county when adequate realty sales data cannot be obtained on such property. The representative number of parcels of each class of real property as defined by the commissioner used for the study shall be determined by the state auditor. The state auditor may

use the same ratio for other personal property, excluding motor vehicles, within the county as is finally determined for real property within the county.

- (c) The assessment ratio of assessed value to fair market value of county property to be established by the state auditor for the purposes of paragraph (8) of subsection (b) of this Code section shall be established through the use of personnel of the Department of Audits and Accounts who have sufficient competence and expertise by way of education, training, and experience in the fields of property evaluation and appraisal techniques. The Department of Audits and Accounts shall use the Standard on Assessment-Ratio Studies published by the International Association of Assessing Officers or its successors to determine the valid transactions necessary to establish accurately the measure of central tendency described in paragraph (8) of subsection (b) of this Code section; provided, however, that standard shall only be used to the extent it does not conflict with criteria enumerated in subparagraph (B) of paragraph (3) of Code Section 48-5-2.
- (d) The assessment ratio of assessed value to fair market value determined for each county shall be used as provided for in this Code section until such time as a new ratio is determined on a continuing basis for each county. The state auditor shall provide to the commissioner the assessment ratio of assessed value to fair market value for all counties upon completion.
- (e) On or before November 15 of each year, the state auditor shall furnish to the State Board of Education the current equalized adjusted property tax digest of each county in the state and the current equalized adjusted property tax digest for the state as a whole. In any county which has more than one school system, the state auditor shall furnish the State Board of Education a breakdown of the current county equalized adjusted property tax digest showing the amount of the digest applicable to property located within each of the school systems located within the county. At the same time, the state auditor shall furnish the governing authority of each county, the governing authority of each municipality having an independent school system, the local board of education of each school system, the tax commissioner or tax collector of each county, and the board of tax assessors of each county the current equalized adjusted property tax digest of the local school system or systems, as the case may be, and the current equalized adjusted property tax digest for the state as a whole.
- (f)(1) Each county governing authority, each governing authority of a municipality having an independent school system, and each local board of education, when aggrieved or when having an aggrieved constituent, shall have a right, upon written request made within 30 days after receipt of the digest information, to refer the question of correctness of the current equalized adjusted property tax digest of the local school system to the state auditor. The state auditor shall take any steps necessary to make a determination of the correctness of the digest and to notify all interested parties of the determination within 45 days after receiving the request questioning the correctness of the digest.
- (2)(A) If any party questioning the correctness of the digest is dissatisfied with the determination made by the state auditor pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection, the party shall have the right, which must be exercised within 15 days after being notified of the determination made by the state auditor, to refer in writing the question of the correctness of the digest to a board of arbitrators.
- (B) Each board of arbitrators shall consist of three members, one to be chosen by the state auditor within 15 days after receipt of a written complaint, one to be chosen by the complaining party at the time of requesting the arbitration, and one to be chosen within 15 days after selection of the first two members by the first two members of the board. In the event the two

arbitrators cannot agree on a third member, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Georgia shall appoint the third member upon petition of either party with notice to the opposing party.

- (C) The board of arbitrators or a majority of the board within 15 days after appointment of the full board shall render its decision regarding the correctness of the digest in question and, if correction of the digest is required, regarding the extent and manner in which the digest should be corrected. The decision of the board shall be final.
- (D) The state auditor shall correct the digest in question in accordance with the decision of the board of arbitrators and shall report the corrections to the parties entitled to receive such information under this Code section.
- (E) Each member of the board of arbitrators shall subscribe to an oath to perform faithfully and impartially the duties required in connection with the controversy concerning the correctness of the digest in question and to render a decision within the time required. Each member of the board of arbitrators shall be paid a sum not to exceed \$250.00 for each appeal heard. In addition, each member of the board shall receive the same daily expense allowance as is provided for each member of the General Assembly and actual transportation costs when traveling by public carrier or the legal mileage rate when traveling by personal automobile. All costs of arbitration of matters arising under this Code section shall be shared and paid equally by the Department of Audits and Accounts and by the governing authority requesting the arbitration.
- (3) Upon receiving notice that the current equalized adjusted property tax digest of any local school system is being questioned pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection, the state auditor shall notify the State Board of Education that the digest is being questioned. No computations shall be made on the basis of a questioned digest under Article 6 of Chapter 2 of Title 20, the "Quality Basic Education Act," until the digest has been corrected, if necessary, pursuant to this subsection.
- (g) The commissioner shall provide to the state auditor such digest information as is needed in the calculation of the equalized adjusted property tax digests. Such information shall be provided for each county and for each local school system. For independent school systems in municipalities authorized to assess property in excess of 40 percent of fair market value pursuant to Code Section 48-5-7, the commissioner shall provide digest information to the state auditor at the assessment ratios utilized by both the municipal government and the county government or governments in which the municipality is located. If revision is made to the digest of any county or any portion of a county comprising a local school system following the initial reporting of the digest to the state auditor, the commissioner shall report any such revision to the state auditor.

# 48-5-290. Creation of county board of tax assessors; appointment and number of members; commission; noneligibility of certain individuals.

- (a) There is established a county board of tax assessors in each of the several counties of this state.
- (b) Except as provided in Code Section 48-5-309 with respect to the election of board members, each county board of tax assessors shall consist of not less than three nor more than five members to be appointed by the county governing authority.
- (c) The order making an appointment to the county board of tax assessors shall be regularly entered upon the record of the superior court of the county. A certificate from the clerk of the superior court reciting the order and stating that the person appointed has taken the oath required by law shall constitute the commission of a member. No other commission shall be required. The clerk of the superior court shall transmit a copy of the certificate to the commissioner within five days of the date the oath is administered.
- (d) No individual may be appointed or reappointed to a county board of tax assessors when the individual is related to a member of the county governing authority in one or more of the following degrees:

(1) Mother or mother-in-law;
(2) Father or father-in-law;
(3) Sister or sister-in-law;
(4) Brother or brother-in-law;
(5) Grandmother or grandmother by marriage;
(6) Grandfather or grandfather by marriage;
(7) Son or son-in-law; or
(8) Daughter or daughter-in-law.

# 48-5-291. (For effective date, see note.) Qualifications for members; approved appraisal courses; rules and regulations.

- (a) No individual shall serve as a member of the county board of tax assessors who:
- (1) Is less than 21 years of age;
- (2) (For effective date, see note.) Fails to make his or her residence within the county within six months after taking the oath of office as a member of the board;
  - (3) (For effective date, see note.) Does not hold a high school diploma or its equivalent;
- (4) Has not successfully completed 40 hours of training either prior to or within 180 days of appointment as provided in subsection (b) of this Code section;
  - (5) Has not obtained and maintained a certificate issued by the commissioner; and
- (6) In addition to the training required in paragraph (4) of this Code section, does not successfully complete an additional 40 hours of approved appraisal courses as provided in subsection (b) of this Code section during each two calendar years of tenure as a member of the county board of tax assessors.
- (b) (For effective date, see note.) Approved appraisal courses shall be courses of instruction covering the basic principles of appraisal and assessing of all classes and types of property including instruction in the fundamentals of Georgia law covering the appraisal and assessing of property for ad valorem tax purposes as prescribed and designated by the commissioner pursuant to Code Section 48-5-13. To ensure that the assessment functions are performed in a professional manner by competent assessors, meeting clearly specified professional qualifications, the commissioner shall develop, approve, and administer courses of instruction designed to qualify applicants or tax assessors under this Code section and to specify qualification requirements for certification. The commissioner may contract with any professional appraisal organization or firm or institution of higher education in this state to provide the necessary courses of instruction or any part of any such course pursuant to Code Section 48-5-13.
- (c) The commissioner shall promulgate such rules and regulations as may be necessary for the administration of this Code section.

## 48-5-292. Ineligibility of county tax assessors to hold other offices; applicability in certain counties.

- (a) No member of a county board of tax assessors shall be eligible to hold any state, county, or municipal office during the time he holds such office. A member of the board may be reappointed to succeed himself as a member of the board.
  - (b) Reserved.
- (c) In any county in this state with a population of 100,000 or more according to the United States decennial census of 1990 or any future such census, no member of a county board of tax assessors shall be eligible to hold any county property appraisal staff position during the time such person holds office as a member of a county board of tax assessors, except as otherwise provided by law.
- (d) In any county in this state in which a chief appraiser or a member of the county property appraisal staff is not otherwise prohibited under this Code section from serving simultaneously as a member of the county board of tax assessors and is serving simultaneously in such capacity, such chief appraiser or member of the county property appraisal staff shall upon ceasing to serve as chief appraiser or member of the county property appraisal staff automatically cease to serve as a member of the county board of tax assessors. Any vacancy created on the county board of tax assessors under this subsection shall be filled in the manner provided under subsection (a) of Code Section 48-5-295.

#### 48-5-296. Removal from office on petition of freeholders; appeals.

Whenever by petition to the judge of the superior court any 100 or more freeholders of the county allege that any member of the county board of tax assessors is disqualified or is not properly and impartially discharging his duties or is discriminating in favor of certain citizens or classes of citizens and against others, the judge shall cite the member to appear before him at a time and place to be fixed in the citation, such time to be not less than 20 nor more than 40 days from the date of the presentation of the petition, and to answer to the petition. A copy of the petition shall be attached to the citation and service of the citation may be made by any sheriff, deputy sheriff, or constable of this state. The officer making the service shall serve copies and return the original petition and citation to the clerk of the court as other process is returned. At the time and place fixed in the citation, unless postponed for reasonable cause, the judge shall hear and determine the matter without a jury and shall render such judgment and order as may be right and proper, either dismissing the petition or removing the offending member of the county board of tax assessors from office and declaring a vacancy in the office. If either party to the controversy is dissatisfied with the judgment and order of the court, the party may appeal the issue as in other cases.

# 48-5-299. Ascertainment of taxable property; assessments against unreturned property; penalty for unreturned property; changing real property values established by appeal in prior year.

- (a) It shall be the duty of the county board of tax assessors to investigate diligently and to inquire into the property owned in the county for the purpose of ascertaining what real and personal property is subject to taxation in the county and to require the proper return of the property for taxation. The board shall make such investigation as may be necessary to determine the value of any property upon which for any reason all taxes due the state or the county have not been paid in full as required by law. In all cases where the full amount of taxes due the state or county has not been paid, the board shall assess against the owner, if known, and against the property, if the owner is not known, the full amount of taxes which has accrued and which may not have been paid at any time within the statute of limitations. In all cases where taxes are assessed against the owner of property, the board may proceed to assess the taxes against the owner of the property according to the best information obtainable; and such assessment, if otherwise lawful, shall constitute a valid lien against the property so assessed.
- (b) In all cases in which unreturned <u>personal</u> property is assessed by the board after the time provided by law for making tax returns has expired, the board shall add to the assessment of the property a penalty of 10 percent, which shall be included as a part of the taxable value for the year.
- (c) When the value of real property is reduced or is unchanged from the value on the initial annual notice of assessment or a corrected annual notice of assessment issued by the board of tax assessors and such valuation has been established as the result of an appeal decision rendered by the board of equalization, hearing officer, arbitrator, or superior court pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311 or stipulated by written agreement signed by the board of tax assessors and taxpayer or taxpayer's authorized representative, the new valuation so established by appeal decision or agreement may not be increased by the board of tax assessors during the next two successive years, unless otherwise agreed in writing by both parties, subject to the following exceptions:
- (1) This subsection shall not apply to a valuation established by an appeal decision if the taxpayer or his or her authorized representative failed to attend the appeal hearing or provide the board of equalization, hearing officer, or arbitrator with some written evidence supporting the taxpayer's opinion of value;
- (2) This subsection shall not apply to a valuation established by an appeal decision or agreement if the taxpayer files a return at a different valuation during the next two successive years;
- (3) <u>Unless otherwise agree in writing by the parties, if the taxpayer files an appeal pursuant to Code Section 48-5-311 during the next two successive years, the board of tax assessors, the board of equalization, hearing officer, or arbitrator may increase or decrease the value of the real property based on the evidence presented by the taxpayer during the appeal process; and</u>

- (4) The board of tax assessors may increase or decrease the value of the real property if, after a visual on-site inspection of the property, it is found that there have been substantial additions, deletions, or improvements to such property or that there are errors in the board of tax assessors' records as to the description or characterization of the property, or the board of tax assessors finds an occurrence of other material factors that substantially affect the current fair market value of such property.
- (d) When real or personal property is located within a municipality whose boundaries extend into more than one county, it shall be the duty of each board of tax assessors of a county, wherein a portion of the municipality lies, to cooperatively investigate diligently into whether the valuation of such property is uniformly assessed with other properties located within the municipality but outside the county where such property is located. Such investigation shall include, but is not limited to, an analysis of the assessment to sales ratio of properties that have recently sold within the municipality and a comparison of the average assessment level of such properties by the various counties wherein a portion of the municipality lies. The respective boards shall exchange such information as will facilitate this investigation and make any necessary adjustments to the assessment of the real and personal property that is located in their respective counties within the municipality to achieve a uniform assessment of such property throughout the municipality. Any uniformity adjustments pursuant to this subsection shall only apply to the assessment used for municipal ad valorem tax purposes within the applicable county.

## 48-5-299.1. Designation of board of assessors to receive tax returns.

Upon designation by the tax receiver or tax commissioner pursuant to paragraph (5) of Code Section 48-5-103, it shall be the duty of the board of assessors to receive tax returns as provided under paragraph (4) of Code Section 48-5-103 or to perform all duties of tax receivers or tax commissioners relating to the receiving of applications for homestead exemptions from ad valorem tax, or both, pursuant to such designation.

# 48-5-300. Power to summon witnesses and require production of documents; exempt documents; contempt proceedings.

- (a) (1) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, the county board of tax assessors may issue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses and may subpoena of any person any books, papers, or documents which may contain any information material to any question relative to the existence or liability of property subject to taxation or to the identity of the owner of property liable to taxation or relevant to other matters necessary to the proper assessment of taxes lawfully due the state or county. Such subpoenas may be issued in the name of the board, shall be signed by any one or more members of the board or by the secretary of the board, and shall be served upon a taxpayer or witness or any party required to produce documents or records five days before the day upon which any hearing by the board is scheduled at which the attendance of the party or witness or the production of such documents is required.
- (2) The authority provided for in paragraph (1) of this subsection shall not apply to the following documents or records:
- (A) Any income tax records or returns;
- (B) Any property appraisals prior to the appeal process;
- (C) All insurance policies; or
- (D) Any individual tenant sales information.
- (b) If any witness subpoenaed by any county board of tax assessors fails or refuses to appear, fails or refuses to answer questions propounded, or fails or refuses to produce any books, papers, or documents required to be produced by an order of the board, except upon a legal excuse which would relieve the witness of the obligation to attend as a witness or to produce such documents before the superior court if lawfully required to do so, the person so failing or refusing shall be guilty of contempt and shall be cited by the board to appear before a judge of the superior court of the county. The judge of the superior court of the county shall have the same power and jurisdiction to punish the person failing or refusing to comply with the order for contempt and to require and compel the giving of the testimony or the production of the books and records as in cases of contempt committed in the presence of the court and as in cases pending in the court.

## 48-5-300.1. Time period for taxation of personal property; extension by consent; refunds.

- (a) Except as otherwise provided in this Code section or this title, the amount of any tax imposed under this chapter with respect to personal property may be assessed at any time.
- (b) Except as otherwise provided by subsection (c) of this Code section or by this title, in the case where a return or report is filed or deemed to be filed for personal property, the amount of any tax imposed by this chapter shall be assessed within three years from the date the original tax bill was paid, unless such personal property in question is the subject of an audit by the board of tax assessors.
- (c) Except as otherwise provided by this title, in the case of a false or fraudulent personal property tax return or report filed with the intent to evade tax, or if the property owner has been notified of a pending audit of personal property, the amount of any tax imposed by this chapter may be assessed at any time.
- (d) Where, before the expiration of the time prescribed in this Code section for the assessment of any tax imposed by this chapter with respect to personal property, both the board of tax assessors and the person subject to assessment have consented in writing to its assessment after such time, the tax may be assessed at any time prior to the expiration of the agreed upon period. The period so agreed upon may be extended by subsequent agreements in writing made before the expiration of the previously agreed upon period. The board of tax assessors is authorized in any such agreement to extend similarly the period within which a claim for refund may be filed.
- (e) If a claim for refund of such taxes paid for any taxable period is filed within the last six months of the period during which the board of tax assessors may assess the amount of such taxes, the assessment period shall be extended for a period of six months beginning on the day the claim for refund is filed.
- (f) No action without assessment shall be brought for the collection of any such tax after the expiration of the period for assessment.

## 48-5-301. Time for presentation of returns by tax receiver or tax commissioner.

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this Code section, not later than April 11 in each year the tax receiver or tax commissioner of each county shall present the tax returns of the county for the current year to the county board of tax assessors.

(b) In all counties having a population of not less than 81,300 nor more than 89,000 according to the United States decennial census of 1990 or any future such census, the tax receiver or tax commissioner of each such county shall present the tax returns of the county for the current year to the county board of tax assessors not later than March 11 of that year.

## 48-5-302. Time for completion of revision and assessment of returns; submission of completed digest to commissioner.

Each county board of tax assessors shall complete its revision and assessment of the returns of taxpayers in its respective county by July <u>15</u> of each year, except that, in all counties providing for the collection and payment of ad valorem taxes in installments such date shall be June 1 of each year. The tax receiver or tax commissioner shall then immediately forward one copy of the completed digest to the commissioner for examination and approval.

## 48-5-303. Correction of mistakes in digest; notification of correction.

- (a) The county board of tax assessors shall have authority to correct factual errors in the tax digest when discovered within three years and when such corrections are of benefit to the taxpayer. Such corrections, after approval of the county board of tax assessors, shall be communicated to the taxpayer and notice shall be provided to the tax commissioner.
- (b) If a tax receiver or tax commissioner makes a mistake in the digest which is not corrected by the county board of tax assessors or county board of equalization, the commissioner, with the sanction of the Governor, shall correct the mistake by making the necessary entries in the digest furnished the commissioner. The commissioner shall notify the county governing authority and the tax collector of the county from which the digest comes of the mistake and correction."

# 48-5-304. Approval of tax digests when assessments in arbitration or on appeal; procedure; withholding of grants by Office of Treasury and Fiscal Services.

- (a)The commissioner shall not approve any digest of any county when the assessed value that is in dispute for any property or properties on appeal or in arbitration exceeds 5 percent of the total assessed value of the total taxable digest of the county for the same year. In any year in which a complete revaluation or reappraisal program is implemented, the commissioner shall not approve a digest of any county when 8 percent or more of the assessed value in dispute is in arbitration or on appeal and 8 percent or more of the number of properties is in arbitration or on appeal. When the assessed value in dispute on any one appeal or arbitration exceeds 1.5 percent of the total assessed value of the total taxable digest of the county for the same year, such appeal or arbitration may be excluded by the commissioner in making his or her determination of whether the digest may be approved under the limitations provided for in this Code section. Where appeals have been filed or arbitrations demanded, the assessment or assessments fixed by the board of tax assessors shall be listed together with the return value on the assessments and forwarded in a separate listing to the commissioner at the time the digest is filed for examination and approval.
- (b) The commissioner shall not approve any digest or portion thereof for any class or strata of property where evidence exists that the county has substantially failed to comply with the provisions of this title or the rules and regulations of the commissioner for valuation of such class or strata of property. The commissioner shall adopt rules and regulations to give effect to this provision.
- (c) The Office of Treasury and Fiscal Services shall withhold any and all grants appropriated to any county until the county tax digest for the previous calendar year has been submitted to the commissioner as required by law.

#### 48-5-305. Valuation of property not in digest.

- (a) The county board of tax assessors may provide, pursuant to rules or regulations promulgated by the board and consistent with this article, the manner of ascertaining the fair market value for taxation of any real or personal property not appearing in the digest of any year within the period of the statute of limitations.
- (b) It is the purpose and intent of this Code section to confer upon the county board of tax assessors full power and authority necessary to have placed upon the digest an assessment of the fair market value of all property in the county of every character which is subject to taxation and for which either state or county taxes have not been paid in full.
- (c) Nothing contained in this Code section shall apply to those persons who are required to make their returns to the commissioner.

# 48-5-306. Notice of changes made in taxpayer's return; contents; posting notice; new assessment description.

#### (a) Method of giving annual notice of current assessment to taxpayer.

Each county board of tax assessors may meet at any time to receive and inspect the tax returns to be laid before it by the tax receiver or tax commissioner. The board shall examine all the returns of both real and personal property of each taxpayer, and if in the opinion of the board any taxpayer has omitted from such taxpayer's returns any property that should be returned or has failed to return any of such taxpayer's property at its fair market value, the board shall correct the returns, assess and fix the fair market value to be placed on the property, make a note of such assessment and valuation, and attach the note to the returns. The board shall see that all taxable property within the county is assessed and returned at its fair market value and that fair market values as between the individual taxpayers are fairly and justly equalized so that each taxpayer shall pay as nearly as possible only such taxpayer's proportionate share of taxes. The board shall give annual notice to the taxpayer of the current assessment of taxable real property. When any corrections or changes, including valuation increases or decreases, or equalizations have been made by the board to personal property tax returns, the board shall give written notice to the taxpayer of any such changes made in such taxpayer's returns. The annual notice may be given personally by leaving the notice at the taxpayer's dwelling house, usual place of abode, or place of business with some person of suitable age and discretion residing or employed in the house, abode, or business, or by sending the notice through the United States mail as first-class mail to the taxpayer's last known address. The taxpayer may elect in writing to receive all such notices required under this Code section by electronic transmission if electronic transmission is made available by the county board of tax assessors. When notice is given by mail, the county board of tax assessors' return address shall appear in the upper left corner of the face of the mailing envelope and with the United States Postal Service endorsement 'Return Service Requested' and the words 'Official Tax Matter' clearly printed in boldface type in a location which meets United States Postal Service regulations.

#### (b) Contents of notice.

- (1) The annual notice of current assessment required to be given by the county board of tax assessors under subsection (a) of this Code section shall be dated and shall contain the name and last known address of the taxpayer. The annual notice shall conform with the state-wide uniform assessment notice which shall be established by the commissioner by rule and regulation and shall contain:
- (A) The amount of the previous assessment;
- (B) The amount of the current assessment;
- (C) The year for which the new assessment is applicable;
- (D) A brief description of the assessed property broken down into real and personal property classifications;
- (E) The fair market value of property of the taxpayer subject to taxation and the assessed value of the taxpayer's property subject to taxation after being reduced;
- (F) The name, phone number, and contact information of the person in the assessors' office who is administratively responsible for the handling of the appeal and who the taxpayer may contact if the taxpayer has questions about the reasons for the assessment change or the appeals process;
- (G) If available, the website address of the office of the county board of tax assessors; and
- (H) A statement that all documents and records used to determine the current value are available upon request.
- (2)(A) In addition to the items required under paragraph (1) of this subsection, the notice shall contain a statement of the taxpayer's right to an appeal and an estimate of the current year's taxes for all levying authorities which shall be in substantially the following form:
- The amount of your ad valorem tax bill for this year will be based on the appraised and assessed values specified in this notice. You have the right to appeal these values to the county board of tax assessors. At the time of filing your appeal you must select one of the following options:
- (i) An appeal to the county board of equalization with appeal to the superior court;
- (ii) To arbitration with an appeal to the superior court; or
- (iii) For a parcel of nonhomestead property with a fair market value in excess of \$750,000.00 \$500,000.00 as shown on the taxpayer's annual notice of current assessment under this Code section, or for one or more account numbers of wireless property as defined in subparagraph (e.1)(1)(B) of Code Section 48-5-311 with an aggregate fair market value in excess of \$750,000.00 \$500,000.00 as shown on the taxpayer's annual notice of current assessment under this Code section, to a hearing officer with appeal to the superior court.

If you wish to file an appeal, you must do so in writing no later than 45 days after the date of this notice. If you do not file an appeal by this date, your right to file an appeal will be lost. For further information on the proper method for filing an appeal, you may contact the county board of tax assessors which is located at: (insert address) and which may be contacted by telephone at: (insert telephone number).'

(A) The notice shall also contain the following statements in bold print:

'The estimate of your ad valorem tax bill for the current year is based on the previous or most applicable year's millage rate and the fair market value contained in this notice. The actual tax bill you receive may be more or less than this estimate. This estimate may not include all eligible exemptions.'

- (3) The annual notice required under this Code section shall be mailed no later than July 1; provided, however, that the annual notice required under this Code section may be sent later than July 1 for the purpose of notifying property owners of corrections and mapping changes.
- (c) Posting notice on certain conditions. In all cases where a notice is required to be given to a taxpayer under subsection (a) of this Code section, if the notice is not given to the taxpayer personally or if the notice is mailed but returned undelivered to the county board of tax assessors, then a notice shall be posted in front of the courthouse door or shall be posted on the website of the office of the county board of tax assessors for a period of 30 days. Each posted notice shall contain the name of the owner liable to taxation, if known, or, if the owner is unknown, a brief description of the property together with a statement that the assessment has been made or the return changed or altered, as the case may be, and the notice need not contain any other information. The judge of the probate court of the county shall make a certificate as to the posting of the notice. Each certificate shall be signed by the judge and shall be recorded by the county board of tax assessors in a book kept for that purpose. A certified copy of the certificate of the judge duly authenticated by the secretary of the board shall constitute prima-facie evidence of the posting of the notice as required by law.
- **(d)** Records and information availability. Notwithstanding the provisions of Code Section 50-18-71, in the case of all public records and information of the county board of tax assessors pertaining to the appraisal and assessment of real property:
- (1) The taxpayer may request, and the county board of tax assessors shall provide within ten business days, copies of such public records and information, including, but not limited to, a description of the methodology used by the board of tax assessors in setting the property's fair market value, all documents reviewed in making the assessment, the address and parcel identification number of all real property utilized as qualified comparable properties, and all factors considered in establishing the new assessment, at a uniform copying fee not to exceed 25¢ per page;
- (2) No additional charges or fees may be collected from the taxpayer for reasonable search, retrieval, or other administrative costs associated with providing such public records and information; and
- (3)(A) The superior courts of this state shall have jurisdiction in law and in equity to entertain actions against the board of tax assessors to enforce compliance with the provisions of this subsection.

- (B) In any action brought to enforce the provisions of this subsection in which the court determines that either party acted without substantial justification either in not complying with this subsection or in instituting the litigation, the court shall, unless it finds that special circumstances exist, assess in favor of the complaining party reasonable attorney's fees and other litigation costs reasonably incurred. Whether the position of the complaining party was substantially justified shall be determined on the basis of the record as a whole which is made in the proceeding for which fees and other expenses are sought."
- **(e) Description of current assessment**. The notice required by this Code section shall be accompanied by a simple, nontechnical description of the basis for the current assessment.
- **(f)** The commissioner shall promulgate such rules and regulations as may be necessary for the administration of this Code section."

#### 48-5-307. Service of papers; fees.

Whenever, pursuant to this part, any notice, subpoena, or writing is required to be given or served, the notice, subpoena, or writing may be served by any sheriff, deputy sheriff, or lawful constable. Each such officer shall be paid for his services the same fees as are paid officers for serving similar process in civil actions; and the fees shall be paid from the county treasury in the same manner as other payments by the county are made.

## 48-5-311. Creation of county boards of equalization; duties; review of assessments; appeals.

#### (a) Definition.

As used in this Code section, the term 'appeal administrator' means the clerk of the superior court.

#### (a.1) Appeal Administrator.

- (1) The appeal administrator is vested with administrative authority in all other matters governing the conduct and business of the boards of equalization so as to provide oversight and supervision of such boards.
- (2) It shall be the duty of the appeal administrator to receive any complaint filed with respect to the official actions of any member of a county board of equalization regarding technical competency, compliance with state law and regulations, or rude or unprofessional conduct or behavior toward any member of the public and to forward such complaint to the grand jury for investigation. Following an investigation, the grand jury shall issue a written report of its findings, which shall include such evaluations, judgments, and recommendations as it deems appropriate. The findings of the report may be grounds for removal of a member of the board of equalization by the grand jury for failure to perform the duties required under this Code section.

#### (a.2) Establishment of boards of equalization

- (1) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, there is established in each county of this state a county board of equalization to consist of three members and three alternate members appointed in the manner and for the term set forth in this Code section. In those counties having more than 10,000 parcels of real property, the county governing authority, by appropriate resolution adopted on or before November 1 of each year, may elect to have selected one additional county board of equalization for each 10,000 parcels of real property in the county or for any part of a number of parcels in the county exceeding 10,000 parcels.
- (1.1) The grand jury shall be authorized to conduct a hearing following its receipt of the report of the appeal administrator under paragraph (2) of subsection (a.1) of this Code section and to remove one or more members of the board of equalization for failure to perform the duties required under this Code section.
- (2) Notwithstanding any part of this subsection to the contrary, at any time the governing authority of a county makes a request to the grand jury of the county for additional alternate members of boards of equalization, the grand jury shall appoint the number of alternate members so requested to each board of equalization, such number not to exceed a maximum of 21 alternate members for each of the boards. The alternate members of the boards shall be duly qualified and authorized to serve on any of the boards of equalization of the county. The members of each board of equalization may designate a chairperson and two vice chairpersons of each such board of equalization. The appeal administrator shall have administrative authority in all matters governing the conduct and business of the boards of equalization so as to provide oversight and supervision of such boards and scheduling of appeals. Any combination of members or alternate members of any such board of equalization of the county shall be competent to exercise the power and authority of the board. Any person designated as an alternate member of any such board of equalization of the county shall be competent to serve in such capacity as provided in this Code section upon appointment and taking of oath.
- (3) Notwithstanding any provision of this subsection to the contrary, in any county of this state having a population of 400,000 or more according to the United States decennial census of 1990 or any future such census, the governing authority of the county, by appropriate resolution adopted on or before November 1 of each year, may elect to have selected one additional county board of equalization for each 10,000 parcels of real property in the county or for any part of a number of parcels in the county exceeding 10,000 parcels. In addition to the foregoing, any two members of a county board of equalization of the county may decide an appeal from an assessment, notwithstanding any other provisions of this Code section. The decision shall be in writing and signed by at least two members of the board of equalization; and, except for the number of members necessary to decide an appeal, the decision shall conform to the requirements of this Code section.
- (4) The governing authorities of two or more counties may by intergovernmental agreement establish regional boards of equalization for such counties which shall operate in the same manner and be subject to all of the requirements of this Code section specified for county boards of equalization. The intergovernmental agreement shall specify the manner in which the members of the regional board shall be appointed by the grand jury of each of the counties, shall specify which appeal administrator shall have oversight over and supervision of such regional board, and shall provide for funding from each participating county for the operations of

\_

the appeal administrator as required by subparagraph (d)(4)(C.1) of this Code section. All hearings and appeals before a regional board shall be conducted in the county in which the property which is the subject of the hearing or appeal is located.

#### (b) Qualifications of board of equalization members.

- (1) Each person who is, in the judgment of the appointing grand jury, qualified and competent to serve as a grand juror, who is the owner of real property located in the county where such person is appointed to serve, or, in the case of a regional board of equalization, is the owner of real property located in any county in the region where such person is appointed to serve, and who is at least a high school graduate shall be qualified, competent, and compellable to serve as a member or alternate member of the county board of equalization. No member of the governing authority of a county, municipality, or consolidated government; member of a county or independent board of education; member of the county board of tax assessors; employee of the county board of tax assessors; or county tax appraiser shall be competent to serve as a member or alternate member of the county board of equalization.
- (2)(A) Each person seeking to be appointed as a member or alternate member of a county board of equalization shall, not later than immediately prior to the time of his or her appointment under subsection (c) of this Code section, file with the clerk of the superior court a uniform application form which shall be a public record. The Council of Superior Court Clerks of Georgia created under Code Section 15-6-50.2 shall design the form which indicates the applicant's education, employment background, experience, and qualifications for such appointment.
- (B)(i) Within the first year after a member's initial appointment to the board of equalization each member shall satisfactorily complete not less than 40 hours of instruction in appraisal and equalization processes and procedures, as prepared and required by the commissioner pursuant to Code Section 48-5-13.
- (ii) On or after January 1, 2016, following the completion of each term of office, a member shall, within the first year of appointment to the subsequent term of office, complete satisfactorily not less than 20 hours of instruction in appraisal and equalization processes and procedures, as prepared and required by the commissioner for newly appointed members.
- (iii) No person shall be eligible to hear an appeal as a member of a board of equalization unless, prior to hearing such appeal, such person shall satisfactorily complete the 20 hours of instruction in appraisal and equalization processes and procedures required under the applicable provisions of division (i) or (ii) of this subparagraph.
- (iv) The failure of any member to fulfill the requirements of the applicable provisions of division (i) or (ii) of this subparagraph shall render such member ineligible to serve on the board; and the vacancy created thereby shall be filled in the same manner as other vacancies on the board are filled.
- (C)(i) Any person appointed to a board of equalization shall be required to complete annually a continuing education requirement of at least eight hours of instruction in appraisal and equalization procedures, as prepared and required by the commissioner pursuant to Code Section 48-5-13.
- (ii) The failure of any member to fulfill the requirements of division (i) of this subparagraph shall render such member ineligible to serve on the board; and the vacancy created thereby shall be filled in the same manner as other vacancies on the board are filled.

#### (c) Appointment of board of equalization members.

- (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, each member and alternate member of the county board of equalization shall be appointed for a term of three calendar years next succeeding the date of such member or such alternate member's selection. Each term shall begin on January 1.
- (2) The grand jury in each county at any term of court preceding November 1 of 1991 shall select three persons who are otherwise qualified to serve as members of the county board of equalization and shall also select three persons who are otherwise qualified to serve as alternate members of the county board of equalization. The three individuals selected as alternates shall be designated as alternate one, alternate two, and alternate three, with the most recent appointee being alternate number three, the next most recent appointee being alternate number two, and the most senior appointee being alternate number one. One member and one alternate shall be appointed for terms of one year, one member and one alternate shall be appointed for three years. Each year thereafter, the grand jury of each county shall select one member and one alternate for three-year terms.
- (3) If a vacancy occurs on the county board of equalization, the individual designated as alternate one shall then serve as a member of the board of equalization for the unexpired term. If a vacancy occurs among the alternate members, the grand jury then in session or the next grand jury shall select an individual who is otherwise qualified to serve as an alternate member of the county board of equalization for the unexpired term. The individual so selected shall become alternate member three, and the other two alternates shall be redesignated appropriately.
- (4) Within five days after the names of the members and alternate members of the county board or boards of equalization have been selected, the clerk of the superior court shall cause such appointees to appear before the clerk of the superior court for the purpose of taking and executing in writing the oath of office. The clerk of the superior court may utilize any means necessary for such purpose, including, but not limited to, telephonic or other communication, regular first-class mail, or issuance of and delivery to the sheriff or deputy sheriff a precept containing the names of the persons so selected. Within ten days of receiving the precept, the sheriff or deputy sheriff shall cause the persons whose names are written on the precept to be served personally or by leaving the summons at their place of residence. The summons shall direct the persons named on the summons to appear before the clerk of the superior court on a date specified in the summons, which date shall not be later than December 15.
- (5) Each member and alternate member of the county board of equalization, on the date prescribed for appearance before the clerk of the superior court and before entering on the discharge of such member and alternate member's duties, shall take and execute in writing before the clerk of the superior court the following oath:

I, agree to serve as a member of the board of equalization of the County of and will decide any issue put before me without favor or affection to any party and without prejudice for or against any party. I will follow and apply the laws of this state. I also agree not to discuss any case or any issue with any person other than members of the board of equalization except at any appeal hearing. I shall faithfully and impartially discharge my duties in accordance with the Constitution and laws of this state, to the best of my skill and knowledge. So help me God.

Signature of member or alternate member

In addition to the oath of office prescribed in this paragraph, the presiding or chief judge of the superior court or the appeal administrator shall charge each member and alternate member of the county board of equalization with the law and duties relating to such office.

### (d) Duties and powers of board of equalization members.

- (1) The county board of equalization shall hear and determine appeals from assessments and denials of homestead exemptions as provided in subsection (e) of this Code section.
- (2) If, in the course of determining an appeal, the county board of equalization finds reason to believe that the property involved in an appeal or the class of property in which is included the property involved in an appeal is not uniformly assessed with other property included in the digest, the board shall request the respective parties to the appeal to present relevant information with respect to that question. If the board determines that uniformity is not present, the board may order the county board of tax assessors to take such action as is necessary to obtain uniformity, except that, when a question of county-wide uniformity is considered by the board, the board may recommend a partial or total county-wide revaluation only upon a determination by a majority of all the members of the board that the clear and convincing weight of the evidence requires such action. The board of equalization may act pursuant to this paragraph whether or not the appellant has raised the issue of uniformity.
- (3) The board shall establish procedures which comply strictly with the regulations promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to subparagraph (e)(1)(D) of this Code section for the conducting of appeals before the board. The procedures shall be entered into the minutes of the board, and a copy of the procedures shall be made available to any individual upon request.
- (4)(A) The appeal administrator shall have oversight over and supervision of all boards of equalization of the county and hearing officers. This oversight and supervision shall include, but not be limited to, requiring appointment of members of county boards of equalization by the grand jury; giving the notice of the appointment of members and alternates of the county board of equalization by the county grand jury as required by Code Section 15-12-81; collecting the names of possible appointees; collecting information from possible appointees as to their qualifications; presenting the names of the possible appointees to the county grand jury; processing the appointments as required by paragraph (4) of subsection (c) of this Code section, including administering the oath of office to the newly appointed members and alternates of the county board of equalization as required by paragraph (5) of such subsection; instructing the newly appointed members and alternates as to the training they must receive and the operations of the county board of equalization; presenting to the grand jury of the county the names of possible appointees to fill vacancies as provided in paragraph (3) of such subsection;

maintaining a roster of board members and alternates, maintaining a record showing that the board members and alternates completed training, keeping attendance records of board members and alternates for the purpose of payment for service, and maintaining the uniform application forms and keeping a record of the appointment dates of board members and alternates and their terms in office; and informing the county board of equalization that it must establish by regulation procedures for conducting appeals before the board as required by paragraph (3) of this subsection. Oversight and supervision shall also include the scheduling of board hearings, assistance in scheduling hearings before hearing officers, and giving notice of the date, time, and place of hearings to the taxpayers and the county board of tax assessors and giving notice of the decisions of the county board of equalization or hearing officer to the taxpayer and county board of tax assessors as required by division (e)(6)(D)(i) of this Code section.

- (B) The county governing authority shall provide any resources to the appeal administrator that are required to be provided by paragraph (7) of subsection (e) of this Code section.
- (C) The county governing authority shall provide to the appeal administrator facilities and secretarial and clerical help for appeals pursuant to subsection (e.1) of this Code section.
- (C.1) The operations of the appeal administrator under this Code section shall, for budgeting purposes, constitute a distinct budget unit within the county budget that is separate from the operations of the clerk of the superior court. The appeal administrator budget unit shall contain a separate line item for the compensation of the appeal administrator for the performance of duties required under this Code section as well as separate lines items for resources, facilities, and personnel as specified under subparagraphs (B) and (C) of this paragraph.
- (D) The appeal administrator shall maintain any county records of all notices to the taxpayer and the taxpayer's attorney, of certified receipts of returned or unclaimed mail, and from the hearings before the board of equalization and before hearing officers for 12 months after the deadline to file any appeal to the superior court expires. If an appeal is not filed to the superior court, the appeal administrator is authorized to properly destroy any records from the hearings before the county board of equalization or hearing officers but shall maintain records of all notices to the taxpayer and the taxpayer's attorney and certified receipts of returned or unclaimed mail for 12 months. If an appeal to the superior court is filed, the appeal administrator shall file such appeal and records in the civil action that is considered open by the clerk ofsuperior court for such appeal, and such records shall become part of the record on appeal in accordance with paragraph (2) of subsection (g) of this Code section.

### (e) Appeal

- (1)(A) Any taxpayer or property owner as of the last date for filing an appeal may elect to file an appeal from an assessment by the county board of tax assessors to:
- (i) The county board of equalization as to matters of taxability, uniformity of assessment, and value, and, for residents, as to denials of homestead exemptions pursuant to paragraph (2) of this subsection;
- (ii) An arbitrator as to matters of value pursuant to subsection (f) of this Code section; or
- (iii) A hearing officer as to matters of value and uniformity of assessment for a parcel of nonhomestead real property with a fair market value in excess of \$750,000.00 \$500,000 as shown on the taxpayer's annual notice of current assessment under Code Section 48-5-306, and any contiguous nonhomestead real property owned by the same taxpayer, pursuant to subsection (e.1) of this Code section; or

110

- (iv) A hearing officer as to matters of values or uniformity of assessment of one or more account numbers of wireless property as defined in subparagraph (e.1)(1)(B) of this Code section with an aggregate fair market value in excess of \$750,000.00 \$500,000 as shown on the taxpayer's annual notice of current assessment under Code Section 48-5-306, pursuant to subsection (e.1) of this Code section.
- (A.1) The commissioner shall establish by rule and regulation a uniform appeal form that the taxpayer may use. Such uniform appeal form shall require the initial assertion of a valuation of the property by the taxpayer.
- (B) In addition to the grounds enumerated in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, any taxpayer having property that is located within a municipality, the boundaries of which municipality extend into more than one county, may also appeal from an assessment on such property by the county board of tax assessors to the county board of equalization, to a hearing officer, or to arbitration as to matters of uniformity of assessment of such property with other properties located within such municipality, and any uniformity adjustments to the assessment that may result from such appeal shall only apply for municipal ad valorem tax purposes.
- (B.1) The taxpayer or his or her agent or representative may submit in support of his or her appeal an appraisal given, signed, and certified as such by a real property appraiser as classified by the Georgia Real Estate Commission and the Georgia Real Estate Appraisers Board which was performed not later than nine months prior to the date of assessment. The board of tax assessors shall consider the appraisal upon request. Within 45 days of the receipt of the taxpayer's appraisal, the board of tax assessors shall notify the taxpayer or his or her agent or representative of acceptance of the appraisal or shall notify the taxpayer or his or her agent or representative of the reasons for rejection.
- (B.2) The taxpayer or his or her agent or representative may submit in support of his or her appeal the most current report of the sales ratio study for the county conducted pursuant to Code Section 48-5-274. The board of tax assessors shall consider such sales ratio study upon request of the taxpayer or his or her agent or representative.
- (B.3) Any assertion of value by the taxpayer on the uniform appeal form made to the board of tax assessors shall be subject to later amendment or revision by the taxpayer by submission of written evidence to the board of tax assessors.
- (B.4) If more than one property of a taxpayer is under appeal, the board of equalization, arbitrator, or hearing officer, as the case may be, shall, upon request of the taxpayer, consolidate all such appeals in one hearing and shall announce separate decisions as to each parcel or item of property. Any appeal from such a consolidated hearing to the superior court as provided in subsection (g) of this Code section shall constitute a single civil action and, unless the taxpayer specifically so indicates in the taxpayer's notice of appeal, shall apply to all such parcels or items of property.
- (B.5) Within ten days of a final determination of value under this Code section and the expiration of the 30 day appeal period provided by subsection (g) of this Code section, or, as otherwise provided by law, with no further option to appeal, the county board of tax assessors shall forward such final determination of value to the tax commissioner.
- (C) Appeals to the county board of equalization shall be conducted in the manner provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection. Appeals to a hearing officer shall be conducted in the manner specified in subsection (e.1) of this Code section. Appeals to an arbitrator shall be conducted in the manner specified in subsection (f) of this 1 Gqde section. Such appeal proceedings shall be

conducted between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 7:00 P.M. on a business day. Following the notification of the taxpayer of the date and time of such taxpayer's scheduled hearing, the taxpayer shall be authorized to exercise a one-time option of changing the date and time of the taxpayer's scheduled hearing to a day and time acceptable to the taxpayer and the county board of tax assessors. The appeal administrator shall grant additional extensions to the taxpayer or the county board of tax assessors for good cause shown, or by agreement of the parties.

- (D) The commissioner, by regulation, shall adopt uniform procedures and standards which shall be followed by county boards of equalization, hearing officers, and arbitrators in determining appeals. Such rules shall be updated and revised periodically and reviewed no less frequently than every five years. The commissioner shall publish and update annually a manual for use by county boards of equalization, arbitrators, and hearing officers.
- (2)(A) Appeal to board of equalization. An appeal shall be effected by e-mailing, if the county board of tax assessors has adopted a written policy consenting to electronic service, by mailing to, or by filing with the county board of tax assessors a notice of appeal within 45 days from the date of mailing the notice pursuant to -Code Section 48-5-306. A written objection to an assessment of real property received by a county board of tax assessors stating the location of the real property and the identification number, if any, contained in the tax notice shall be deemed a notice of appeal by the taxpayer under the grounds listed in paragraph (1) of this subsection. A written objection to an assessment of personal property received by a county board of tax assessors giving the account number, if any, contained in the tax notice and stating that the objection is to an assessment of personal property shall be deemed a notice of appeal by the taxpayer under the grounds listed in paragraph (1) of this subsection. The county board of tax assessors shall review the valuation or denial in question, and, if any changes or corrections are made in the valuation or decision in question, the board shall send a notice of the changes or corrections to the taxpayer pursuant to Code Section 48-5-306. Such notice shall also explain the taxpayer's right to appeal to the county board of equalization as provided in subparagraph
- (C) of this paragraph if the taxpayer is dissatisfied with the changes or corrections made by the county board of tax assessors.
- (B) If no changes or corrections are made in the valuation or decision, the county board of tax assessors shall send written notice thereof to the taxpayer, to any authorized agent or representative of the taxpayer who the taxpayer has requested that such notice be sent, and to the county board of equalization which notice shall also constitute the taxpayer's appeal to the county board of equalization without the necessity of the taxpayer's filing any additional notice of appeal to the county board of tax assessors or to the county board of equalization. The county board of tax assessors shall also send or deliver all necessary papers to the county board of equalization. If, however, the taxpayer and the county board of tax assessors execute a signed agreement as to valuation, the appeal shall terminate as of the date of such signed agreement.
- (C) If changes or corrections are made by the county board of tax assessors, the board shall notify the taxpayer in writing of such changes. The commissioner shall develop and make available to county boards of tax assessors a suitable form which shall be used in such notification to the taxpayer. The notice shall be sent by regular mail properly addressed to the address or addresses the taxpayer provided to the county board of tax assessors and to any authorized agent or representative of the taxpayer who the taxpayer has requested that such notice be sent. If the taxpayer is dissatisfied with such changes or corrections, the taxpayer shall, within 30 days of the date of mailing of the change notice, notify the county board of tax assessors to continue the taxpayer's appeal to the county board of equalization by e-mailing, if the county board of tax assessors has adopted a written policy consenting to electronic service, or by mailing

to or filing with the county board of tax assessors a written notice of continuance. The county board of tax assessors shall send or deliver the notice of appeal and all necessary papers to the county board of equalization.

- (D) The written notice to the taxpayer required by this paragraph shall contain a statement of the grounds for rejection of any position the taxpayer has asserted with regard to the valuation of the property. No addition to or amendment of such grounds as to such position shall be permitted before the county board of equalization.
- (3)(A) In each year, the county board of tax assessors shall review the appeal and notify the taxpayer (i) if there are no changes or corrections in the valuation or decision, or (ii) of any corrections or changes within 180 days after receipt of the taxpayer's notice of appeal. If the county board of tax assessors fails to respond to the taxpayer within such 180 day period, the property valuation asserted by the taxpayer on the property tax return or the taxpayer's notice of appeal shall become the assessed fair market value for the taxpayer's property for the tax year under appeal. If no such assertion of value was submitted by the taxpayer, the appeal shall be forwarded to the county board of equalization.
- (B) In any county in which the number of appeals exceeds a number equal to or greater than 3 percent of the total number of parcels in the county or the sum of the current assessed value of the parcels under appeal is equal to or greater than 3 percent of the gross tax digest of the county, the county board of tax assessors shall may be granted an additional 180 day period to make its determination and notify the taxpaver. The However, as a condition to receiving such an extension, the county board of tax assessors shall, at least 30 days before the expiration of the 180 day period provided under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, notify each affected taxpayer of the additional 180 day review period provided in this subparagraph by mail or electronic communication, including posting notice on the website of the county board of tax assessors if such a website is available. Such additional period shall commence immediately following the last day of the 180 days provided for under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph. If the county board of tax assessors fails to review the appeal and notify the taxpayer of either no changes or of any corrections or changes not later than the last day of such additional 180 day period. then the most recent property tax valuation asserted by the taxpayer on the property tax return or on appeal shall prevail and shall be deemed the value established on such appeal unless a time extension is granted under subparagraph (C) of this paragraph. If no such assertion of value was submitted by the taxpayer, the appeal shall be forwarded to the county board of equalization.
- (C) Upon a sufficient showing of good cause by reason of unforeseen circumstances proven to the commissioner at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the additional 180 day period provided for under subparagraph (B) of this paragraph, the commissioner shall be authorized, in the commissioner's sole discretion, to provide for a time extension beyond the end of such additional 180 day period. The duration of any such time extension shall be specified in writing by the commissioner and, at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the extension provided for under subparagraph (B) of this paragraph, shall be sent to each affected taxpayer and shall also be posted on the website of the county board of tax assessors if such a website is available. If the county board of tax assessors fails to make its review and notify the taxpayer and the taxpayer's attorney not later than 30 days before the last day of such time extension, the most recent property tax valuation asserted by the taxpayer on the property tax return or on the taxpayer's notice of appeal shall prevail and shall be deemed the value established on such appeal. If no such assertion of value was submitted by the taxpayer, the appeal shall be forwarded to the county board of equalization. In addition, the commissioner shall be authorized to require additional training or

require such other remediation as the commissioner may deem appropriate for failure to meet the deadline imposed by the commissioner under this subparagraph.

- (4) The determination by the county board of tax assessors of questions of factual characteristics of the property under appeal, as opposed to questions of value, shall be prima-facie correct in any appeal to the county board of equalization. However, the board of tax assessors shall have the burden of proving its opinions of value and the validity of its proposed assessment by a preponderance of evidence.
- (5) The county board of equalization shall determine all questions presented to it on the basis of the best information available to the board.
- (6) (A) Within 15 days of the receipt of the notice of appeal, the county board of equalization shall set a date for a hearing on the questions presented and shall so notify the taxpayer and the county board of tax assessors in writing. Such notice shall be sent by first-class mail to the taxpayer and to any authorized agent or representative of the taxpayer to whom the taxpayer has requested that such notice be sent. Such notice shall be transmitted by e-mail to the county board of tax assessors if such board has adopted a written policy consenting to electronic service, and, if it has not, then such notice shall be sent to such board by first-class mail or intergovernmental mail. Such written notice shall advise each party that he or she may request a list of witnesses, documents, or other written evidence to be presented at the hearing by the other party, which. Such request must be made not less than ten days prior to the hearing date, and such information shall be provided to the requesting party not less than seven days prior to, which shall be provided to the requesting party not less than seven days prior to the time of the hearing. Any failure to comply with this requirement shall be grounds for an automatic continuance or for exclusion of such witness, documents, or other written evidence. A taxpayer may appear before the board of equalization concerning any appeal in person, by his or her authorized agent or representative, or both. The taxpayer shall specify in writing to the board of equalization the name of any such agent or representative prior to any appearance by the agent or representative before the board.
- (B) Within 30 days of the date of notification to the taxpayer of the hearing required in this paragraph but not earlier than 20 days from the date of such notification to the taxpayer, the county board of equalization shall hold such hearing to determine the questions presented.
- (C) If more than one property of a taxpayer is under appeal, the board of equalization shall, upon request of the taxpayer, consolidate all such appeals in one hearing and announce separate decisions as to each parcel or item of property. Any appeal from such a consolidated board of equalization hearing to the superior court as provided in this subsection shall constitute a single civil action, and, unless the taxpayer specifically so indicates in his or her notice of appeal, shall apply to all such parcels or items of property.
- (D)(i) The board of equalization shall announce its decision on each appeal at the conclusion of the hearing held in accordance with subparagraph (B) of this paragraph before proceeding with another hearing. The decision of the county board of equalization shall be in writing, shall be signed by each member of the board, shall specifically decide each question presented by the appeal, shall specify the reason or reasons for each such decision as to the specific issues of taxability, uniformity of assessment, value, or denial of homestead exemptions depending upon the specific issue or issues raised by the taxpayer in the course of such taxpayer's appeal, shall state that with respect to the appeal no member of the board is disqualified from acting by virtue of subsection (j) of this Code section, and shall certify the date on which notice of the decision is given to the parties. Notice of the decision shall be delivered by hand to each party, with written

receipt, or given to each party by sending a copy of the decision by registered or certified mail or statutory overnight delivery to the appellant and by filing the original copy of the decision with the county board of tax assessors. Each of the three members of the county board of equalization must be present and must participate in the deliberations on any appeal. A majority vote shall be required in any matter. All three members of the board shall sign the decision indicating their vote.

- (ii) Except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (g)(4)(B) of this Code section, the county board of tax assessors shall use the valuation of the county board of equalization in compiling the tax digest for the county for the year in question and shall indicate such valuation as the previous year's value on the property tax notice of assessment of such taxpayer for the immediately following year rather than substituting the valuation which was changed by the county board of equalization.
- (iii)(I) If the county's tax bills are issued before an appeal has been finally determined, the county board of tax assessors shall specify to the county tax commissioner the lesser of the valuation in the last year for which taxes were finally determined to be due on the property or 85 percent of the current year's value, unless the property in issue is homestead property and has been issued a building permit and structural improvements have occurred, or structural improvements have been made without a building permit, in which case, it shall specify 85 percent of the current year's valuation as set by the county board of tax assessors. Depending on the circumstances of the property, this amount shall be the basis for a temporary tax bill to be issued; provided, however, that a nonhomestead owner of a single property valued at \$2 million or more may elect to pay the temporary tax bill which specifies 85 percent of the current year's valuation; or, such owner may elect to pay the amount of the difference between the 85 percent tax bill based on the current year's valuation and the tax bill based on the valuation from the last year for which taxes were finally determined to be due on the property in conjunction with the amount of the tax bill based on valuation from the last year for which taxes were finally determined to be due on the property, to the tax commissioner's office. Only the amount which represents the difference between the tax bill based on the current year's valuation and the tax bill based on the valuation from the last year for which taxes were finally determined to be due will be held in an escrow account by the tax commissioner's office. Once the appeal is concluded, the escrowed funds shall be released by the tax commissioner's office to the prevailing party. The taxpayer may elect to pay the temporary tax bill in the amount of 100 percent of the current year's valuation if no substantial property improvement has occurred. The county tax commissioner shall have the authority to adjust such tax bill to reflect the 100 percent value as requested by the taxpayer. Such tax bill shall be accompanied by a notice to the taxpayer that the bill is a temporary tax bill pending the outcome of the appeal process. Such notice shall also indicate that upon resolution of the appeal, there may be additional taxes due or a refund issued.
- (II) For the purposes of this Code section, any final value that causes a reduction in taxes and creates a refund that is owed to the taxpayer shall be paid by the tax commissioner to the taxpayer, entity, or transferee who paid the taxes with interest, as provided in subsection (m) of this Code section.
- (III) For the purposes of this Code section, any final value that causes an increase in taxes and creates an additional billing shall be paid to the tax commissioner as any other tax due along with interest, as provided in subsection (m) of this Code section.
- (7) The appeal administrator shall furnish the county board of equalization necessary facilities and administrative help. The appeal administrator shall see that the records and information of

the county board of tax assessors are transmitted to the county board of equalization. The county board of equalization shall consider in the performance of its duties the information furnished by the county board of tax assessors and the taxpayer.

- (8) If at any time during the appeal process to the county board of equalization and after certification by the county board of tax assessors to the county board of equalization, the county board of tax assessors and the taxpayer mutually agree in writing on the fair market value, then the county board of tax assessors, or the county board of equalization, as the case may be, shall enter the agreed amount in all appropriate records as the fair market value of the property under appeal, and the appeal shall be concluded. The provisions in subsection (c) of Code Section 48-5-299 shall apply to the agreed-upon valuation unless otherwise waived by both parties.
- (9) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, on any real property tax appeal made under this Code section on and after January 1, 2016, the assessed value being appealed may be lowered by the deciding body based upon the evidence presented but cannot be increased from the amount assessed by the county board of tax assessors. This subsection shall not apply to any appeal where the taxpayer files an appeal during a time when subsection (c) of Code Section 48-5-299 is in effect for the assessment being appealed.

### (e.1) Appeals to hearing officer.

- (1)(A) For any dispute involving the value or uniformity of a parcel of nonhomestead real property with a fair market value in excess of \$750,000.00 as shown on the taxpayer's annual notice of current assessment under Code Section 48-5-306, at the option of the taxpayer, an appeal may be submitted to a hearing officer in accordance with this subsection. If such taxpayer owns nonhomestead real property contiguous to such qualified nonhomestead real property, at the option of the taxpayer, such contiguous property may be consolidated with the qualified property for purposes of the hearing under this subsection.
- (B)(i) As used in this subparagraph, the term 'wireless property' means tangible personal property or equipment used directly for the provision of wireless services by a provider of wireless services which is attached to or is located underneath a wireless cell tower or at a network data center location but which is not permanently affixed to such tower or data center so as to constitute a fixture.
- (ii) For any dispute involving the values or uniformity of one or more account numbers of wireless property as defined in this subparagraph with an aggregate fair market value in excess of \$750,000.00 \$500,000.00 as shown on the taxpayer's annual notice of current assessment under Code Section 48-5-306, at the option of the taxpayer, an appeal may be submitted to a hearing officer in accordance with this subsection.
- (2) Individuals desiring to serve as hearing officers and who are either state certified general real property appraisers or state certified residential real property appraisers as classified by the Georgia Real Estate Commission and the Georgia Real Estate Appraisers Board for real property appeals or are designated appraisers by a nationally recognized appraiser's organization for wireless property appeals shall complete and submit an application, a list of counties the hearing officer is willing to serve, disqualification questionnaire, and resume and be approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission and the Georgia Real Estate Appraisers Board to serve as a hearing officer. Such board shall annually publish a list of qualified and approved hearing officers for Georgia.

116

- (3) The appeal administrator shall furnish any hearing officer so selected the necessary facilities.
- (4) An appeal shall be effected by e-mailing, if the county board of tax assessors has adopted a written policy consenting to electronic service, or by filing with the county board of tax assessors a notice of appeal to a hearing officer within 45 days from the date of mailing the notice of assessment pursuant to Code Section 48-5-306. A written objection to an assessment of real property or wireless property received by a county board of tax assessors stating the taxpayer's election to appeal to a hearing officer and showing the location of the real property or wireless property contained in the assessment notice shall be deemed a notice of appeal by the taxpayer.
- (5) The county board of tax assessors may for no more than 90 days review the taxpayer's written appeal, and if changes or corrections are made by the county board of tax assessors, the board shall notify the taxpayer in writing of such changes. Within 30 days of the county board of tax assessors' mailing of such notice, the taxpayer may notify the county board of tax assessors in writing that the changes or corrections made by the county board of tax assessors are not acceptable, in which case, the county board of tax assessors shall, within 30 days of the date of mailing of such taxpayer's notification, send or deliver all necessary papers documentation to the appeal administrator, in paper or electronic format as agreed upon by the county board of tax assessors and appeal administrator, and mail a copy to the taxpayer or, alternatively, forward the appeal to the board of equalization if so elected by the taxpayer and such election is included in the taxpayer's notification that the changes are not acceptable. If, after review, the county board of tax assessors determines that no changes or corrections are warranted, the county board of tax assessors shall notify the taxpayer of such decision. The taxpayer may elect to forward the appeal to the board of equalization by notifying the county board of tax assessors within 30 days of the mailing of the county board of tax assessor's notice of no changes or corrections. Upon the expiration of 30 days following the mailing of the county board of tax assessors' notice of no changes or corrections, the county board of tax assessors shall certify the notice of appeal and send or deliver all necessary papers documentation to the appeal administrator, in paper or electronic format as agreed upon by the county board of tax assessors and appeal administrator, for the appeal to the hearing officer, or board of equalization if elected by the taxpayer, and mail a copy to the taxpayer. If the county board of tax assessors fails to respond in writing, either with changes or no changes, to the taxpayer within 180 days after receiving the taxpayer's notice of appeal, the property valuation asserted by the taxpayer on the property tax return or the taxpayer's notice of appeal shall become the assessed fair market value for the taxpayer's property for the tax year under appeal.
- (6) (A) The appeal administrator shall randomly select from such list a hearing officer who shall have experience or expertise in hearing or appraising the type of property that is the subject of appeal to hear the appeal, unless the taxpayer and the county board of tax assessors mutually agree upon a hearing officer from such list. The appeal administrator shall notify the taxpayer and the taxpayer's attorney in compliance with subsection (o) of this Code section of the name of the hearing officer and transmit a copy of the hearing officer's disqualification questionnaire and resume provided for under paragraph (2) of this subsection. If no hearing officer is appointed or if no hearing is scheduled within 180 days after the county board of tax assessors receives the taxpayer's notice of appeal, the property valuation asserted by the taxpayer on the property tax return or the taxpayer's notice of appeal shall become the assessed fair market value for the

taxpayer's property for the tax year under appeal, and subsection (c) of Code Section 48-5-299 shall apply. The hearing officer, in conjunction with all parties to the appeal, shall set a time and place to hear evidence and testimony from both parties. The hearing shall take place in the county where the property is located, or such other place as mutually agreed to by the parties and the hearing officer. The hearing officer shall provide electronic or written notice to the parties personally or by registered or certified mail or statutory overnight delivery not less than ten days before the hearing. Such written notice shall advise each party that he or she may request a list of witnesses, documents, or other written evidence to be presented at the hearing by a the other party. Such request must be made not less than ten days prior to the hearing date, and such information shall must be provided to the other requesting party not less than seven days prior to the time of the hearing. Any and that any failure to comply with this requirement shall be grounds for an automatic continuance or for exclusion of such witnesses, documents, or other written evidence.

- (B) If the appeal administrator, after a diligent search, cannot find a qualified hearing officer who is willing to serve, the appeal administrator shall transfer the certification of the appeal to the county or regional board of equalization and notify the taxpayer and the taxpayer's attorney in compliance with subsection (o) of this Code section and the county board of tax assessors of the transmittal of such appeal.
- (7) The hearing officer shall swear in all witnesses, perform the powers, duties, and authority of a county or regional board of equalization, and determine the fair market value of the real property or wireless property based upon the testimony and evidence presented during the hearing. Any issues other than fair market value and uniformity raised in the appeal shall be preserved for appeal to the superior court. The board of tax assessors shall have the burden of proving its opinion of value and the validity of its proposed assessment by a preponderance of evidence. At the conclusion of the hearing, the hearing officer shall notify both parties of the decision verbally and shall either send both parties the decision in writing or deliver the decision by hand to each party, with written receipt.
- (8) The taxpayer or the board of tax assessors may appeal the decision of the hearing officer to the superior court as provided in subsection (g) of this Code section.
- (9) If, at any time during the appeal under this subsection, the taxpayer and the county board of tax assessors execute a signed written agreement on the fair market value and any other issues raised,: the appeal shall terminate as of the date of such signed agreement; the fair market value as set forth in such agreement shall become final; and subsection (c) of Code Section 48-5-299 shall apply.
- (9.1) The provisions contained in this subsection may be waived at any time by written consent of the taxpayer and the county board of tax assessors.
- (10) Each hearing officer shall be compensated by the county for time expended in considering hearing appeals. The compensation shall be paid at a rate of not less than \$75.00 \$100.00 per hour for the first hour and not less than \$25.00 per hour for each hour thereafter as determined by the county governing authority or as may be agreed upon by the parties with the consent of the county governing authority. Compensation pursuant to this paragraph shall be paid from the county treasury or, if the parties agree to pay compensation exceeding the minimum compensation set by this Code section, by a combination of the parties as agreed on by the parties. The hearing officer shall receive such compensation upon certification by the hearing officer of the hours expended in hearing of appeals. The attendance at any training required by the commissioner shall be part of

the qualifications of the hearing officer, and any nominal cost of such training shall be paid by the hearing officer.

- (11) The commissioner shall promulgate rules and regulations for the proper administration of this subsection, including, but not limited to, qualifications; training, including an eight-hour course on Georgia property law, Georgia evidence law, preponderance of evidence, burden of proof, credibility of the witnesses, and weight of evidence; disqualification questionnaire; selection; removal; an annual continuing education requirement of at least four hours of instruction in recent legislation, current case law, and updates on appraisal and equalization procedures, as prepared and required by the commissioner; and any other matters necessary to the proper administration of this subsection. The failure of any hearing officer to fulfill the requirements of this paragraph shall render such officer ineligible to serve. Such rules and regulations shall also include a uniform appeal form which shall require the initial assertion of a valuation of the property by the taxpayer. Any such assertion of value shall be subject to later revision by the taxpayer based upon written evidence. The commissioner shall seek input from all interested parties prior to such promulgation.
- (12) If the county's tax bills are issued before the hearing officer has rendered his or her decision on property which is on appeal, a temporary tax bill shall be issued in the same manner as otherwise required under division (e)(6)(D)(iii) of this Code section.
- (13) Upon determination of the final value, the temporary tax bill shall be adjusted as required under division (e)(6)(D)(iii) of this Code section.

## (f) Nonbinding arbitration.

- (1) As used in this subsection, the term 'certified appraisal' means an appraisal or appraisal report given, signed, and certified as such by a real property appraiser as classified by the Georgia Real Estate Commission and the Georgia Real Estate Appraisers Board.
- (2) At the option of the taxpayer, an appeal shall be submitted to nonbinding arbitration in accordance with this subsection.
- (3)(A) Following an election by the taxpayer to use the arbitration provisions of this subsection. an arbitration appeal shall be effected by the taxpayer by e-mailing, if the county board of tax assessors has adopted a written policy consenting to electronic service, or by filing a written notice of arbitration appeal with the county board of tax assessors. The notice of arbitration appeal shall specifically state the grounds for arbitration. The notice shall be filed within 45 days from the date of mailing the notice pursuant to Code Section 48-5-306. Within ten days of receipt of a taxpayer's notice of arbitration appeal, the board of tax assessors shall send to the taxpayer an acknowledgment of receipt of the appeal and a notice that the taxpayer shall, within 45 days of the date of transmittal of the acknowledgment of receipt of the appeal, provide to the county board of tax assessors for consideration a copy of a certified appraisal. Failure of the taxpayer to provide such certified appraisal within such 45 days shall terminate the appeal unless the taxpayer within such 45 day period elects to have the appeal immediately forwarded to the board of equalization. Prior to appointment of the arbitrator and within 45 days of the acknowledgment of the receipt of the appeal, the taxpayer shall provide a copy of the certified appraisal as specified in this paragraph to the county board of tax assessors for consideration. Within 45 days of receiving the taxpayer's certified appraisal, the county board of tax assessors shall either accept the taxpayer's appraisal, in which case that value shall become final, or the

county board of tax assessors shall reject the taxpayer's appraisal by sending within ten days of the date of such rejection a written notification by certified mail of such rejection to the taxpayer and the taxpayer's attorney of record in compliance with subsection (o) of this Code section, in which case the county board of tax assessors shall certify within 45 days the appeal to the appeal administrator of the county in which the property is located along with any other papers documentation specified by the person seeking arbitration under this subsection, including, but not limited to, the staff information from the file used by the county board of tax assessors. In the event the taxpayer is not notified of a rejection of the taxpayer's appraisal within such ten-day period, the taxpayer's appraisal value shall become final. In the event that the county board of tax assessors neither accepts nor rejects the value set out in the certified appraisal within 45 days after the receipt of the certified appraisal, then the certified appraisal shall become the final value. All papers and information certified to the appeal administrator shall become a part of the record on arbitration. At the time of certification of the appeal, the county board of tax assessors shall serve the taxpayer and the taxpayer's attorney of record in compliance with subsection (o) of this Code section, if any, or employee with a copy of the certification along with any other papers specified by the person seeking arbitration along with the civil action file number assigned to the appeal, if any. Within 15 days of filing the certification to the appeal administrator, the presiding or chief judge of the superior court of the circuit in which the property is located shall issue an order authorizing the arbitration.

- (B) At any point, the county board of tax assessors and the taxpayer may execute a signed, written agreement establishing the fair market value without entering into or completing the arbitration process. The fair market value as set forth in such agreement shall become the final value.
- (C) The arbitration shall be conducted pursuant to the following procedure:
- (i) The county board of tax assessors shall, at the time the appeal is certified to the appeal administrator under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, provide to the taxpayer a notice of a meeting time and place to decide upon an arbitrator, to occur within 60 days after the date of sending the rejection of the taxpayer's certified appraisal. Following the notification of the taxpayer of the date and time of the meeting, the taxpayer shall be authorized to exercise a one-time option of changing the date and time of the meeting to a date and time acceptable to the taxpayer and the county board of tax assessors. If the parties agree, the matter shall be submitted to a single arbitrator chosen by the parties. If the parties cannot agree on the single arbitrator, the arbitrator may be chosen by the presiding or chief judge of the superior court of the circuit in which the property is located within 30 days after the filing of a petition by either party;
- (ii) In order to be qualified to serve as an arbitrator, a person shall be classified as a state certified general real property appraiser or state certified residential real property appraiser pursuant to the rules and regulations of the Georgia Real Estate Commission and the Georgia Real Estate Appraisers Board and shall have experience or expertise in appraising the type of property that is the subject of the arbitration;
- (iii) The arbitrator, within 30 days after his or her appointment, shall set a time and place to hear evidence and testimony from both parties. The arbitrator shall provide written notice to the parties personally or by registered or certified mail or statutory overnight delivery not less than ten 21 days before the hearing. Such written notice shall advise each party that he or she may request a list of witnesses, documents, or other written evidence to be presented at the hearing by a the other party. Such request must be made not less than ten days prior to the hearing date, and such information shall must be provided to the other requesting party not less than seven days prior to the time of the

hearing. Any and that any failure to comply with this requirement, unless waived by mutual written agreement of such parties, shall be grounds for a an automatic continuance or for exclusion of such witnesses, documents, or other written evidence. The arbitrator, in consultation with the parties, may adjourn or postpone the hearing. Following notification of the taxpayer of the date and time of the hearing, the taxpayer shall be authorized to exercise a one-time option of changing the date and time of the hearing to a date and time acceptable to the taxpayer and the county board of tax assessors. The presiding or chief judge of the superior court of the circuit in which the property is located may direct the arbitrator to proceed promptly with the hearing and the determination of the appeal upon application of any party. The hearing shall occur in the county in which the property is located or such other place as may be agreed upon in writing by the parties;

- (iv) At the hearing, the parties shall be entitled to be heard, to present documents, testimony, and other matters, and to cross-examine witnesses. The arbitrator may hear and determine the controversy upon the documents, testimony, and other matters produced notwithstanding the failure of a party duly notified to appear;
- (v) The arbitrator shall maintain a record of all pleadings, documents, testimony, and other matters introduced at the hearing. The arbitrator or any party to the proceeding may have the proceedings transcribed by a court reporter;
- (vi) The provisions of this paragraph may be waived at any time by written consent of the taxpayer and the board of tax assessors;
- (vii) At the conclusion of the hearing, the arbitrator shall render a decision regarding the fair market value of the property subject to nonbinding arbitration;
- (viii) In order to determine the fair market value, the arbitrator may consider the final value for the property submitted by the county board of tax assessors at the hearing and the final value submitted by the taxpayer at the hearing. The taxpayer shall be responsible for the cost of any appraisal by the taxpayer's appraiser;
- (ix) The arbitrator shall consider the final value submitted by the county board of tax assessors, the final value submitted by the taxpayer, and evidence supporting the values submitted by the county board of tax assessors and the taxpayer. The arbitrator shall determine the fair market value of the property under appeal. The arbitrator shall notify both parties of the decision verbally and shall either send both parties the decision in writing or deliver the decision by hand to each party, with written receipt;
- (x) If the taxpayer's value is closest to the fair market value determined by the arbitrator, the county shall be responsible for the fees and costs of such arbitrator. If the value of the board of tax assessors is closest to the fair market value determined by the arbitrator, the taxpayer shall be responsible for the fees and costs of such arbitrator; and
- (xi) The board of tax assessors shall have the burden of proving its opinion of value and the validity of its proposed assessment by a preponderance of evidence.
- (4) If the county's tax bills are issued before an arbitrator has rendered his or her decision on property which is on appeal, a temporary tax bill shall be issued in the same manner as otherwise required under division (e)(6)(D)(iii) of this Code section.
- (5) Upon determination of the final value, the temporary tax bill shall be adjusted as required under division (e)(6)(D)(iii) of this Code section.

### (g) Appeals to the superior court.

- (1) The taxpayer or the county board of tax assessors may appeal decisions of the county board of equalization, hearing officer, or arbitrator, as applicable, to the superior court of the county in which the property lies. By mutual written agreement, the taxpayer and the county board of tax assessors may waive an appeal to the county board of equalization and initiate an appeal under this subsection. A county board of tax assessors shall not appeal a decision of the county board of equalization, arbitrator, or hearing officer, as applicable, changing an assessment by 20 percent or less unless the board of tax assessors gives the county governing authority a written notice of its intention to appeal, and, within ten days of receipt of the notice, the county governing authority by majority vote does not prohibit the appeal. In the case of a joint city-county board of tax assessors, such notice shall be given to the city and county governing authorities, either of which may prohibit the appeal by majority vote within the allowed period of time.
- (2) An appeal by the taxpayer as provided in paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be effected by e-mailing, if the county board of tax assessors has adopted a written policy consenting to electronic service, or by mailing to or filing with the county board of tax assessors a written notice of appeal. An appeal by the county board of tax assessors shall be effected by giving notice to the taxpayer. The notice to the taxpayer shall be dated and shall contain the name and the last known address of the taxpayer. The notice of appeal shall specifically state the grounds for appeal. The notice shall be mailed or filed within 30 days from the date on which the decision of the county board of equalization, hearing officer, or arbitrator is delivered pursuant to subparagraph (e)(6)(D), paragraph (7) of subsection (e.1), or division (f)(3)(C)(ix) of this Code section. Within 45 days of receipt of a taxpayer's notice of appeal and before certification of the appeal to the superior court, the county board of tax assessors shall send to the taxpayer notice that a settlement conference, in which the county board of tax assessors and the taxpayer shall confer in good faith, will be held at a specified date and time which shall be no later than 30 days from the notice of the settlement conference, and notice of the amount of the filing fee, if any, required by the clerk of the superior court. The taxpayer may exercise a one-time option to reschedule the settlement conference to a different date and time acceptable to the taxpayer, but in no event later than 30 days from the date of the notice. during normal business hours. After a settlement conference has convened, the parties may agree to continue the settlement conference to a later date. If at the end of the 45 day review period the county board of tax assessors elects not to hold a settlement conference, then the appeal shall terminate and the taxpayer's stated value shall be entered in the records of the board of tax assessors as the fair market value for the year under appeal and the provisions of subsection (c) of Code Section 48-5-299 shall apply to such value. If the taxpayer chooses not to participate in the settlement conference, he or she may not seek and shall not be awarded fees and costs at such time when the appeal is settled in superior court. If at the conclusion of the settlement conference the parties reach an agreement, the settlement value shall be entered in the records of the county board of tax assessors as the fair market value for the tax year under appeal and the provisions of subsection (c) of Code Section 48-5-299 shall apply to such value. If at the conclusion of the settlement conference the parties cannot agree on a fair market value reach an agreement, then written notice shall be provided to the taxpayer that the filing fees must be paid by the taxpayer to the clerk of the superior court within ten 20 days of the date of the conference, with a copy of the check delivered to the county board of tax assessors. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, the amount of the filing fee for an appeal under this subsection shall be \$25.00. An appeal under this subsection shall not be subject to any other fees or additional

costs otherwise required under any provision of Title 15 or under any other provision of law. Immediately following payment of such \$25.00 filing fee by the taxpayer to the clerk of the superior court, the clerk shall remit the proceeds thereof to the governing authority of the county which shall deposit the proceeds into the general fund of the county. Within 30 days of receipt of proof of payment to the clerk of the superior court, the county board of tax assessors shall certify to the clerk of the superior court the notice of appeal and any other papers specified by the person appealing including, but not limited to, the staff information from the file used by the county board of tax assessors, the county board of equalization, the hearing officer, or the arbitrator. All papers and information certified to the clerk shall become a part of the record on appeal to the superior court. At the time of certification of the appeal, the county board of tax assessors shall serve the taxpayer and his or her attorney of record, if any, with a copy of the notice of appeal and with the civil action file number assigned to the appeal. Such service shall be effected in accordance with subsection (b) of Code Section

- 9-11-5. No discovery, motions, or other pleadings may be filed by the county board of tax assessors in the appeal until such service has been made.
- (3) The appeal shall constitute a de novo action. The board of tax assessors shall have the burden of proving its opinions of value and the validity of its proposed assessment by a preponderance of evidence. Upon a failure of the board of tax assessors to meet such burden of proof, the court may, upon motion or sua sponte, authorize the finding that the value asserted by the board of tax assessors is unreasonable and authorize the determination of the final value of the property.
- (4)(A) The appeal shall be placed on the court's next available jury or bench trial calendar, at the taxpayer's election, following the filing of the appeal unless continued by the court. If only questions of law are presented in the appeal, the appeal shall be heard as soon as practicable before the court sitting without a jury. Each hearing before the court sitting without a jury at the taxpayer's election shall be held within 30 days following the date on which the appeal is filed with the clerk of the superior court.
- (B)(i) The county board of tax assessors shall use the valuation of the county board of equalization, the hearing officer, or the arbitrator, as applicable, in compiling the tax digest for the county.
- (ii)(I) If the final determination of value on appeal is less than the valuation thus used, the tax commissioner shall be authorized to adjust the taxpayer's tax bill to reflect the final value for the year in question.
- (II) If the final determination of value on appeal causes a reduction in taxes and creates a refund that is owed to the taxpayer, it shall be paid by the tax commissioner to the taxpayer, entity, or transferee who paid the taxes with interest, as provided in subsection (m) of this Code section.
- (III) If the final determination of value on appeal is 85 percent or less of the valuation set by the county board of equalization, hearing officer, or arbitrator as to any real property, the taxpayer, in addition to the interest provided for in subsection (m) of this Code section, shall recover costs of litigation and reasonable attorney's fees incurred in the action. Any appeal of an award of attorney's fees by the county shall be specifically approved by the governing authority of the county.
- (iii) If the final determination of value on appeal is greater than the valuation set by the county board of equalization, hearing officer, or arbitrator, as applicable, causes an increase in taxes,

and creates an additional billing, it shall be paid to the tax commissioner as any other tax due along with interest, as provided in subsection (m) of this Code section.

- **(g.1)** The provisions in subsection (c) of Code Section 48-5-299 shall apply to the valuation, unless otherwise waived in writing by both parties, as to:
- (1) The valuation established or announced by any county board of equalization, arbitrator, hearing officer, or superior court; and
- (2) Any written agreement or settlement of valuation reached by the county board of tax assessors and the taxpayer as permitted by this Code section.

### (h) Recording of interviews or hearings.

- (1) In the course of any assessment, appeal, or arbitration, or any related proceeding, the taxpayer shall be entitled to:
- (A) Have an interview with an officer or employee, that is authorized to discuss tax assessments of the board of tax assessors relating to the valuation of the taxpayer's property subject to such assessment, appeal, arbitration, or related proceeding, and the taxpayer may record the interview at the taxpayer's expense and with equipment provided by the taxpayer, and no such officer or employee of the board of tax assessors may refuse to participate in an interview relating to such valuation for reason of the taxpayer's choice to record such interview; and
- (B) Record, at the taxpayer's expense and with equipment provided by the taxpayer, all proceedings before the board of equalization or any hearing officer.
- (2) The interview referenced in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be granted to the taxpayer within 30 calendar days from the postmark date of the taxpayer's written request for the interview, and the interview shall be conducted in the office of the board of assessors. The time and date for the interview, within such 30 calendar day period, shall be mutually agreed upon between the taxpayer and the taxing authority. The taxing authority may extend the time period for the interview an additional 30 days upon written notification to the taxpayer.
- (3) The superior courts of this state shall have jurisdiction to enforce the provisions of this subsection directly and without the issue being first brought to any administrative procedure or hearing. The taxpayer shall be awarded damages in the amount of \$100.00 per occurrence where the taxpayer requested the interview, in compliance with this subsection, and the board of assessors failed to timely comply; and, the taxpayer shall be entitled to recover reasonable attorney's fees and expenses of litigation incurred in any action brought to compel such interview.

#### (i) Alternate members of boards of equalization.

(1) Alternate members of the county board of equalization in the order in which selected shall serve:

- (A) As members of the county board of equalization in the event there is a permanent vacancy on the board created by the death, ineligibility, removal from the county, or incapacitating illness of a member or by any other circumstances. An alternate member who fills a permanent vacancy shall be considered a member of the board for the remainder of the unexpired term; or
- (B) In any appeal for which an alternate member is selected for service by the appeal administrator.
- (2) A hearing panel shall consist of no more than three members at any time, one of whom shall serve as the presiding member for the purpose of the hearing.

## (j) Disqualification.

- (1) No member of the county board of equalization and no hearing officer shall serve with respect to any appeal concerning which he or she would be subject to a challenge for cause if he or she were a member of a panel of jurors in a civil case involving the same subject matter.
- (2) The parties to an appeal to the county board of equalization or to a hearing officer shall file in writing with the appeal, in the case of the person appealing, or, in the case of the county board of tax assessors, with the certificate transmitting the appeal, questions relating to the disqualification of members of the county board of equalization or hearing officer. Each question shall be phrased so that it can be answered by an affirmative or negative response. The members of the county board of equalization or hearing officer shall, in writing under oath within two days of their receipt of the appeal, answer the questions and any question which may be adopted pursuant to subparagraph (e)(1)(D) of this Code section. Answers of the county board of equalization or hearing officers shall be part of the decision of the board or hearing officer and shall be served on each party by first-class mail. Determination of disqualification shall be made by the judge of the superior court upon the request of any party when the request is made within two days of the response of the board or hearing officer to the questions. The time prescribed under subparagraph (e)(6)(A) of this Code section shall be tolled pending the determination by the judge of the superior court.

## (k) Compensation of board of equalization members.

- (1) Each member of the county board of equalization shall be compensated by the county per diem for time expended in considering appeals. The compensation shall be paid at a rate of not less than \$25.00 per day and shall be determined by the county governing authority. The attendance at required approved appraisal courses shall be part of the official duties of a member of the board, and he or she shall be paid for each day in attendance at such courses and shall be allowed reasonable expenses necessarily incurred in connection with such courses. Compensation pursuant to this paragraph shall be paid from the county treasury upon certification by the member of the days expended in consideration of appeals or attending approved appraisal courses.
- (2) Each member of the county board of equalization who participates in online training provided by the department shall be compensated by the county at the rate of \$25.00 per day for each eight hours of completed training. A member shall certify under oath and file an affidavit with the appeal administrator stating the number of hours required to complete such training and the number of hours which were actually completed. The appeal administrator shall review the

125

affidavit and, following approval thereof, shall notify the county governing authority. The Council of Superior Court Clerks of Georgia shall develop and make available an appropriate form for such purpose. Compensation pursuant to this paragraph shall be paid from the county treasury following approval of the appeal administrator of the affidavit filed under this paragraph.

(I) Military service. In the event of the absence of an individual from such individual's residence because of duty in the armed forces, the filing requirements set forth in paragraph (3) of subsection (f) of this Code section shall be tolled for a period of 90 days. During this period any member of the immediate family of the individual, or a friend of the individual, may notify the tax receiver or the tax commissioner of the individual's absence due to military service and submit written notice of representation for the limited purpose of the appeal. Upon receipt of this notice, the tax receiver or the tax commissioner shall initiate the appeal.

### (m) Interest.

- (1) For the purposes of this Code section, any final value that causes a reduction in taxes and creates a refund that is owed to the taxpayer shall be paid by the tax commissioner to the taxpayer, entity, or transferee who paid the taxes within 60 days from the date of the final determination of value. Such refund shall include interest at the same rate specified in Code Section 48-2-35 which shall accrue from the due date of the taxable year in question or the date paid, whichever is later, through the date on which the final determination of value was made. In no event shall the amount of such interest exceed \$150.00 for homestead property or \$5,000.00 for nonhomestead property. Any refund paid after the sixtieth day shall accrue interest from the sixty-first day until paid with interest at the same rate specified in Code Section 48-2-35. The interest accrued after the sixtieth day and forward shall not be subject to the limits imposed by this subsection. The tax commissioner shall pay the tax refund and any interest for the refund from current collections in the same proportion for each of the levying authorities for whom the taxes were collected.
- (2) For the purposes of this Code section, any final value that causes an increase in taxes and creates an additional billing shall be paid to the tax commissioner as any other tax due. After the tax bill notice has been mailed out, the taxpayer shall be afforded 60 days from the date of the postmark to make full payment of the adjusted bill. Once the 60 day payment period has expired, the bill shall be considered past due and interest shall accrue from the original billing due date as specified in Code Section 48-2-40 without limit until the bill is paid in full. Once past due, all other fees, penalties, and late and collection notices shall apply as prescribed in this chapter for the collection of delinquent taxes.

### (n) Service of notice.

A notice of appeal to a board of tax assessors under subsection (e), (e.1), (f), or (g) of this Code section shall be deemed filed as of the date of the United States Postal Service postmark, receipt of delivery by statutory overnight delivery, or, if the board of tax assessors has adopted a written policy consenting to electronic service, by transmitting a copy to the board of tax assessors via e-mail in portable document format using all e-mail addresses provided by the board of tax assessors. Service by mail, statutory overnight delivery, or electronic transmittal is complete upon such service. Proof of service may be made within 45 days of receipt of the annual notice of current assessment under Code Section 48-5-306 to the taxpayer by certificate of the taxpayer,

126

the taxpayer's attorney, or the taxpayer's employee by written admission or by affidavit. Failure to make proof of service shall not affect the validity of service.

(o) When a taxpayer authorizes an agent, representative, or attorney in writing to act on the taxpayer's behalf, and a copy of such written authorization is provided to the county board of tax assessors, all notices required to be provided to the taxpayer under this Code section, including those regarding hearing times, dates, certifications, notice of changes or corrections, or other official actions, shall be provided to the taxpayer and the authorized agent, representative, or attorney. Upon agreement by the county board of tax assessors and the taxpayer's agent, representative, or attorney, notices required by this Code section to be sent to the taxpayer or the taxpayer's agent, representative, or attorney may be sent by e-mail. The failure to comply with this subsection with respect to a notice required under this Code section shall result in the tolling of any deadline imposed on the taxpayer under this Code section with respect to that notice."

## 48-5-314. Confidentiality of taxpayer records; exceptions; penalties.

- (a) (1) All records of the county board of tax assessors which consist of materials other than the return obtained from or furnished by an ad valorem taxpayer shall be confidential and shall not be subject to inspection by any person other than authorized personnel of appropriate tax administrators. As an illustration of the foregoing, materials which are confidential shall include, but shall not be limited to, taxpayers' accounting records, profit and loss statements, income and expense statements, balance sheets, and depreciation schedules. Such information shall remain confidential when it is made part of an appeal file. Nothing in this Code section, however, shall prevent any disclosure necessary or proper to the collection of any tax in any administrative or court proceeding.
- (2) Records which consist of materials containing information gathered by personnel of the county board of tax assessors, such as field cards, shall not be confidential and are subject to inspection at all times during office hours. The provisions of this paragraph shall not remove the confidentiality of materials such as are specified in paragraph (1) of this subsection.
- (3) Failure of the county board of tax assessors to make available records which are not confidential as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection shall be a misdemeanor.
- (b) Any person who knowingly and willfully furnishes information which is confidential under this Code section to a person who is not authorized by law to receive such information shall upon conviction be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed \$1,000.00.

## **Examination of County Tax Digests**

## 48-5-340. Purpose of article.

It is the purpose and intent of this article to establish a procedure for use by the commissioner to equalize county property tax digests between counties and within counties so as to require county boards of tax assessors to make adjustments in the valuation of property to ensure uniformity and equity. The commissioner shall continue to examine the digest and exercise his responsibility to bring about property valuations that are reasonably uniform and equalized throughout the state.

### 48-5-341. Definitions.

As used in this article, the term:

- (1) "Assessment bias" means any tendency or trend of assessment ratios, when analyzed by an appropriate statistical method, which reveals assessment progressivity or assessment regressivity.
- (2) "Assessment progressivity" means any systematic pattern of assessment in which higher value properties are generally assessed at a larger percentage of fair market value than properties of lower value.
- (3) "Assessment ratio" means the fractional relationship the assessed value of property bears to the fair market value of the property as determined in paragraph (8) of subsection (b) of Code Section 48-5-274.
- (4) "Assessment regressivity" means any systematic pattern of assessment in which lower value properties are generally assessed at a larger percentage of fair market value than properties of higher value.
- (5) "Assessment variance" means the absolute value of the difference between the assessment ratio for each parcel of property within each class of property and the average assessment ratio for that class and expressed as a percentage of the average assessment ratio.
- (6) "Class of property" means any reasonable divisions of homogeneous groups of property that the commissioner determines are necessary to examine digests for uniformity and equalization.
- (7) "Digest evaluation cycle" means a recurring period of three years beginning initially on January 1 of the first year, as so designated by the commissioner for each county, and ending on December 31 of the third year thereafter.
- (8) "Digest review year" means the first year of each evaluation cycle for each county.

## 48-5-342. Commissioner to examine digests.

- (a) The commissioner shall carefully examine the tax digests of the counties filed in his office. Each digest for a county in a digest review year shall be examined for the purpose of determining if the valuations of property for taxation purposes are reasonably uniform and equalized between counties and within counties.
- (b) For any digest in any digest review year where the digest for the preceding digest review year was conditionally approved by the commissioner, the commissioner shall also carefully examine the digest to determine if it satisfactorily corrects the deficiencies that resulted in the digest for the preceding digest review year being conditionally approved.
- (c) For each year, including each year that is not a digest review year for the county, the commissioner shall utilize the overall assessment ratio for the county as provided by the state auditor.
- (d) It shall be the further duty of the commissioner to examine the itemizations of exempt properties appearing on the digest and, if in the judgment of the commissioner any properties appearing on the digest are subject to taxation, to so advise the board of tax assessors of the counties concerned with an explanation of his reasons for believing the property is subject to taxation.
- (e)(1) The commissioner may, upon his or her own initiative or upon complaint by a taxpayer, examine the itemizations of properties appearing on the digest, and if in the judgment of the commissioner any properties are illegally appearing on the digest and should not be subject to taxation under this chapter, the commissioner shall strike such items from the digest and return the digest to the county for removal of such items and resubmission to the commissioner. The commissioner shall provide by rule and regulation procedures by which the county board of tax assessors may appeal such finding to the commissioner. If appealed by the board of tax assessors, the commissioner shall, after reviewing such appeal, issue a final order and include a finding as to the taxability of the digest items in dispute and shall finalize the digest in accordance therewith.
- (2) If a property has been found by the commissioner to not be subject to taxation under this chapter and again appears on the digest at any time within five years of the initial determination of nontaxability and is again determined to be nontaxable, the commissioner shall strike such item from the digest and return the digest to the county for removal of such item and resubmission to the commissioner. The commissioner shall notify the Department of Community Affairs in writing of his or her finding and, upon receipt of such notice, the qualified local government status of such county shall be revoked for a period of three years following the receipt of such notice by the Department of Community Affairs unless reinstated earlier pursuant to this subsection. Upon such revocation, the governing authority of such county, without regard to any limitation of Code Section 48-5-295, shall be specifically authorized to remove immediately every member of the board of tax assessors and reappoint new members who shall serve for the unexpired terms of the removed members. The county governing authority shall provide written notification of such removal and new appointment to the commissioner. Upon certification of the corrected digest, the commissioner shall notify in writing the Department of Community Affairs, and upon receipt thereof, the Department of Community Affairs shall immediately reinstate the qualified local government status of such county.

(3) If a property has been found by the commissioner to not be subject to taxation under this chapter and if such nontaxable property has appeared on a county digest in any year within the preceding five-year period, then the taxpayer shall be entitled to file a petition directly with the Georgia Tax Tribunal for a refund of all such taxes illegally collected or taxes paid, interest equal to the bank prime loan rate as posted by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System in statistical release H. 15 or any publication that may supersede it plus 3 percent calculated from the date of payment of such taxes, and attorney's fees in an amount of not less than 15 percent nor more than 40 percent of the total of the illegally charged taxes and accrued interest. Such petition shall name the board of tax assessors and the tax receiver or tax commissioner of the county as the respondent in their official capacities and shall be served upon such board and tax receiver or tax commissioner. Service shall be accomplished by certified mail or statutory overnight delivery. The petition shall include a summary statement of facts and law upon which the petitioner relies in seeking the requested relief. The respondents shall file a response to the petitioner's statement of facts and law which constitutes their answer with the tribunal no later than 30 days after the service of the petition. The respondents shall serve a copy of their response on the petitioner's representative or, if the petitioner is not represented, on the petitioner and shall file a certificate of service with such response. If in any case a response has not been filed within the time required by this paragraph, the case shall automatically become in default unless the time for filing the response has been extended by agreement of the parties, for a period not to exceed 30 days, or by the judge of the tribunal. The default may be opened as a matter of right by the filing of a response within 15 days of the day of the default and payment of costs. At any time before the final judgment, the judge of the tribunal, in his or her discretion, may allow the default to be opened for providential cause that prevented the filing of the response, for excusable neglect, or when the tribunal judge, from all the facts. determines that a proper case has been made for the default to be opened on terms to be fixed by the tribunal judge. The tribunal judge shall proceed to hear and decide the matter and may grant appropriate relief under the law and facts presented.

## 48-5-342.1. Digest evaluation cycles established; time for review of digest.

- (a) The commissioner shall by regulation establish the digest evaluation cycles for each of the counties in this state giving weight to the number of taxable parcels in each county, the geographical location of each county, and each such county's compliance with the provisions of Code Section 48-5-343. The starting date of each county's digest evaluation cycle shall be staggered so that the digest review year of one-third of the counties shall occur each year.
- (b) For those digests submitted by counties in their designated digest review year, the commissioner shall begin his or her review of the digest in accordance with Code Section 48-5-343 and shall, within 30 days after the date the state auditor furnishes to the commissioner the ratios established pursuant to paragraph (8) of subsection (b) of Code Section 48-5-274 or by August 1 of the next succeeding tax year, whichever comes later, approve or conditionally approve the digest.

## 48-5-343. Approval of digests.

- (a) The commissioner shall, when a county is in its digest review year, approve the digest of any such county as being reasonably uniform and equalized if the digest meets the following criteria:
- (1) The average assessment ratio for each class of property within the county shall be as close to the assessments provided for in Code Section 48-5-7 as is reasonably practicable;
- (2) The average assessment variance for each class of property within the county shall not be excessive with respect to that which is reasonably practicable; and
- (3) Within each class of property, assessment ratios of the properties shall not reveal any significant assessment bias.
- (b) The commissioner shall by regulation establish the statistical standards to be used in determining whether or not digests are in accordance with the uniformity requirements contained in subsection (a) of this Code section. The commissioner shall utilize information developed by the state auditor under Code Section 48-5-274.
- (c) If the assessed value of the portion of the digest that does not meet the uniformity requirements constitutes 10 percent or less of the assessed value of the total digest, the commissioner may approve the digest if, in his judgment, the approval will not substantially violate the concept of uniformity and equalization.

## 48-5-344. Conditional approval of digests.

- (a) If the commissioner determines that in any one or more of the counties that is in a digest review year the taxable values of property are not reasonably uniform and equalized in accordance with the requirements of subsection (a) of Code Section 48-5-343, he shall conditionally approve the digest and notify the county board of tax assessors in writing of his action.
- (b) The written notification shall contain:
- (1) A list of specific reasons that resulted in the digest being conditionally approved;
- (2) A list of the statistical standards used by the commissioner when examining the digest; and
- (3) Any other information the commissioner believes would be of assistance to the county board of tax assessors in correcting the deficiencies that resulted in the digest being conditionally approved or in otherwise making the digest reasonably uniform and equalized.

## 48-5-345. Receipt for digest and order authorizing use; assessment if deviation from proper assessment ratio.

(a)(1) Upon the determination by the commissioner that a county tax digest is in proper form, that the property therein that is under appeal is within the limits of Code Section 48-5-304, and that the digest is accompanied by all documents, statistics, and certifications required by the

131

commissioner, including the number, overall value and percentage of total real property parcels of appeals in each county to the boards of equalization, arbitration, hearing officer, and superior court, and the number of taxpayers' failure to appear at any hearing, for the prior tax year, the commissioner shall issue a receipt for the digest and enter an order authorizing the use of said digest for the collection of taxes. All statistics and certifications regarding real property appeals provided to the commissioner under this paragraph shall be made publicly available on the Department of Revenue website.

- (2) Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to prevent the superior court from allowing the new digest to be used as the basis for the temporary collection of taxes under Code Section 48-5-310.
- (b) Each year the commissioner shall determine if the overall assessment ratio for each county, as computed by the state auditor under paragraph (8) of subsection (b) of Code Section 48-5-274, deviates substantially from the proper assessment ratio as provided in Code Section 48-5-7, and if such deviation exists, the commissioner shall assess against the county governing authority additional state tax in an amount equal to the difference between the amount the state's levy of one-quarter of a mill would have produced if the digest had been at the proper assessment ratio and the amount the digest that is actually used for collection purposes will produce. The commissioner shall notify the county governing authority annually of the amount so assessed and this amount shall be due and payable not later than five days after all appeals have been exhausted or the time for appeal has expired or the final date for payment of taxes in the county, whichever comes latest, and shall bear interest at the rate specified in Code Section 48-2-40 from the due date.
- (c) Beginning with tax digests on or after the effective date of this subsection, no county shall be subject to the assessment authorized by subparagraph (b) of this Code section.

.

# Miscellaneous Local Administration Provisions

# 48-5-380. Refunds of taxes and license fees by counties and municipalities; time and manner of filing claims and actions for refund; authority to approve or disapprove claims.

- (a) As provided in this Code section, each county and municipality shall refund to taxpayers any and all taxes and license fees:
- (1) Which are determined to have been erroneously or illegally assessed and collected from the taxpayers under the laws of this state or under the resolutions or ordinances of any county or municipality; or
  - (2) Which are determined to have been voluntarily or involuntarily overpaid by the taxpayers.
- (a.1) If property owners have been billed and have remitted property tax payments to either a county or a municipality based on the fair market value of the land and subsequently the fair market value of such land is reduced on an appeal, then the county or the municipality shall reimburse the property owner the difference between tax remitted and the final tax owed for each year in which the incorrect fair market value of the land was used in the calculations.
- (b) Any taxpayer from whom a tax or license fee was collected who alleges that such tax or license fee was collected illegally or erroneously may file a claim for a refund with the governing authority of the county or municipality at any time within one year or, in the case of taxes, three years after the date of the payment of the tax or license fee to the county or municipality. The claim for refund shall be in writing and shall be in the form and shall contain the information required by the appropriate governing authority. The claim shall include a summary statement of the grounds upon which the taxpayer relies. In the event the taxpayer desires a conference or hearing before the governing authority in connection with any claim for a refund, the taxpayer shall so specify in writing in the claim. If the claim conforms to the requirements of this Code section, the governing authority shall grant a conference at a time specified by the governing authority. The governing authority shall consider information contained in the taxpayer's claim for a refund and such other information as is available. The governing authority shall approve or disapprove the taxpayer's claim and shall notify the taxpayer of its action. In the event any claim for refund is approved, the governing authority shall proceed under subsection (a) of this Code section to give effect to the terms of that subsection. No refund provided for in this Code section shall be assignable. Submitting a request for refund to the governing authority is not a prerequisite to bringing suit.
- (c) The filing of a request for a refund with the governing authority under subsection (b) of this Code section shall act to stay the time period for initiating suit for a refund. Following the filing of a request for refund with the governing authority, no suit may be commenced until the earlier of the governing authority's denial of the request for the expiration of 90 days from the

date of filing the claim. Alternatively, any taxpayer may forgo requesting a refund from the governing authority under subsection (b) of this Code section and elect to proceed directly to filing suit.

- (d) Any refunds approved or allowed under this Code section shall be paid from funds of the county, the municipality, the county board of education, the state, or any other entity to which the taxes or license fees were originally paid. Refunds shall be paid within 60 days of the approval of the taxpayer's claim or within 60 days of the entry of a final decision in any action for a refund.
- (e) The governing authority of any county, by resolution, and the governing authority of any municipality, by ordinance, shall adopt rules and regulations governing the administration of this Code section and may delegate the administration of this Code section, including the approval or disapproval of claims where the reason for the claim is based on an obvious clerical error, to an appropriate department in local government. In disputed cases where there is no obvious error, the approval or disapproval of claims may not be delegated by the governing authority.
- (f) Nothing contained in subsections (b) or (c) of this Code section shall be deemed the exclusive remedy to seek a refund nor deprive taxpayers of the right to seek a refund mandated by subsection (a) by any other cause of action available at law or equity.
- (g) Under no circumstances may a suit for refund be commenced more than five years from the date of the payment of taxes or fees at issue.

## 48-5-451. Penalty for failure to make return or pay tax on motor vehicle or mobile home.

Every owner of a motor vehicle or a mobile home, in addition to the ad valorem tax due on the motor vehicle or mobile home, shall be liable for a penalty of 10 percent of the tax due or \$5.00, whichever is greater, for the failure to make the return or pay the tax in accordance with this article.

### 560-11-9-.09 Appeals.

- (1) A mobile home owner who disagrees with the county board of tax assessor's assessment of their mobile home(s) on the ad valorem property tax bill may challenge such assessment by either electing to:
- (a) Appeal the assessed value of the mobile home in the same manner as other ad valorem tax assessment appeals are made and decided pursuant to O.C.G.A. Section 48-5-311 as follows:
- 1. Filing a notice of appeal with the county's board of tax assessors within 45 days of date printed on the ad valorem property tax bill, or by May April 1st, whichever occurs later.

## **Mobile Homes**

## 48-5-490. Mobile homes owned on January 1 subject to advalorem taxation.

Every mobile home owned in this state on January 1 is subject to ad valorem taxation by the various taxing jurisdictions authorized to impose an ad valorem tax on property. Taxes shall be charged against the owner of the property, if known, and, if unknown, against the specific property itself.

## 48-5-492. Issuance of mobile home location permits; issuance and display of decals.

- (a) Each year every owner of a mobile home subject to taxation under this article shall obtain on or before April 1 from the tax collector or tax commissioner of the county of taxation of the mobile home a mobile home location permit. The issuance of the permit by the tax collector or tax commissioner shall be evidenced by the issuance of a decal, the color of which shall be prescribed for each year by the commissioner. Each decal shall reflect the county of issuance and the calendar year for which the permit is issued. The decal shall be prominently attached and displayed on the mobile home by the owner.
- (b) Except as provided for mobile homes owned by a dealer, no mobile home location permit shall be issued by the tax collector or tax commissioner until all ad valorem taxes due on the mobile home have been paid. Each year every owner of a mobile home situated in this state on January 1 which is not subject to taxation under this article shall obtain on or before April 1 from the tax collector or tax commissioner of the county where the mobile home is situated a mobile home location permit. The issuance of the permit shall be evidenced by the issuance of a decal which shall reflect the county of issuance and the calendar year for which the permit is issued. The decal shall be prominently attached and displayed on the mobile home by the owner.

## DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE LOCAL GOVERNMENT SERVICES DIVISION RULES AND REGULATIONS CHAPTER 560-11-2 SUBSTANTIVE REGULATIONS

## 560-11-2-.34 County Boards of Equalization—Definitions.

- (1) 'Uniform Appeal Form' referred to O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311 shall be known as form PT-311.
- (2) 'Taxability' under O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311 shall mean whether property is exempt from ad valorem taxation as provided under law.
- (3) 'Uniformity of Assessment' under O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311 shall have the meaning as provided for in the Georgia Constitution, Article VII, Section I, Paragraph III.
- (4) 'Value' under O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311 shall mean the fair market value as defined in O.C.G.A. § 48-5-2(3).

## 560-11-2-.35 County Boards of Equalization—Disqualification.

- (1) Before any appeal is heard by the members of a County Board of Equalization, each member of the Board shall certify, either verbally or in writing to all other members of the Board hearing the appeal, that he or she is not disqualified from hearing the appeal by virtue of the requirements as provided in O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311(j).
- (2) Pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311(j), either party to the appeal may ask that those members of the Board hearing the appeal, to answer questions relating to his or her ability to serve as a member of the Board for that particular appeal, such as:
- (a) Are you related by blood or marriage to the appellant in this case, or to any member of the Board of Tax Assessors or its staff?
- (b) Are you related by blood or marriage to any person duly appointed to represent the appellant or the county's board of tax assessors in this case?
- (c) Are you employed, or is any member of your immediate family employed, by the parties in this case?
- (d) Do you have any financial or legal interest in the property subject to appeal in this case?
- (e) Have you formed any opinion that precludes you from setting a valuation on the property in question in accordance with Georgia law, which requires all property to be appraised at its fair market value, or from equalizing the assessments at 40% of fair market value?
- (f) Have you discussed the facts of this appeal with anyone other than a fellow Board of Equalization member?

- (g) Do you know of any other reason that you cannot render a fair and just decision regarding the property in question?
- (3) The members of a Board of Equalization shall answer all such questions under the previously taken oath pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311 (c)(5).
- (4) The Judge of Superior Court shall make necessary determinations of disqualification on the request of either party made as required by law.

Authority O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311

## 560-11-2-.36 County Boards of Equalization—Chairman.

- (1) Prior to the first <u>a</u> hearing of the Board of Equalization, the <u>members of each</u> Board of Equalization shall select <u>may designate</u> one of its members to serve as Chairman for the rest of that calendar year. The <u>Chairman Appeal Administrator</u> shall decide which hearings each regular and alternate member of the Board of Equalization shall preside over.
- (2) The Chairman shall be responsible for certifying all documents with respect to any matter heard by the Board. The Chairman shall have the authority to sign on behalf of the Board any notifications setting the location of a hearing and the hearing's date(s).
- (3) The Chairman shall have the authority to administer oaths, grant continuances, and reprimand or exclude from the hearing any person for any improper conduct.

## 560-11-2-.56 Review of County Tax Digest by the State Revenue Commissioner.

- (1) General.
- (a) County boards of tax assessors are required by the State Constitution and state law to continuously maintain assessments of property that are reasonably uniform and that are based on fair market value as defined in § 48-5-2 (except as otherwise stated in § 48-5-6 and § 48-5-7(c.3)). The Department is required by law to periodically review the county digests to determine if the digests are in compliance with such laws.
- (b) This Regulation imposes no additional requirements on the county boards of tax assessors. It merely sets forth the statistical and other methods that are used by the Department in making its determination. The Department does not determine when to revalue property. Each county board of tax assessors determines for itself when it believes a revaluation of property is necessary for legal compliance. Failure to revalue property shall not in and of itself be a basis for assessment of any penalty.
- (c) Any digest submitted shall be reviewed utilizing information established by the State Auditor to determine whether or not the county tax digest is in accordance with the uniformity requirements of § 48-5-343.

- (2) Review of County Tax Digest by the State Revenue Commissioner.
- (a) County Notification: In the event a county fails to meet the standards set forth in paragraphs (c) through (k) of subparagraph (2) of this Regulation, the Commissioner shall immediately notify the county. The notification shall include the findings of the State Auditor regarding assessment bias and assessment ratio, and any additional information the Commissioner believes would be of assistance to the county board of tax assessors to establish uniform values.
- (b) Property Classes: For purposes of this regulation the real and personal property of each county shall be classified into five classes of property:
- 1. Residential (including Residential Transitional and Historic);
- 2. Agricultural (including Preferential, Conservation Use, Environmentally Sensitive)
- 3. Commercial;
- 4. Industrial; (including Brownfield)
- 5. Utility.
- (c) Average Level of Assessment: The Commissioner shall maintain uniformity among the classes of property by setting standards for the average level of assessment for each.
- (d) Standard For Level of Assessment: The standard for level of assessment for all classes of property will be in compliance with the Code if the upper limit of a ninety-five percent confidence interval about the average level of assessment, as established by the State Auditor, is equal to or greater than thirty-six percent, or the lower limit of a ninety-five percent confidence interval about the average level of assessment as established by the State Auditor, is less than forty-four percent.
- (e) Uniformity Within a Class of Property: The average assessment variance for each class of property shall be ensured by the coefficient of dispersion of the sample for each class, as established by the State Auditor.
- (f) Standard for Uniformity: The standard for uniformity will be deemed to have been met if the resulting coefficient does not exceed fifteen percent for the residential class of property or twenty percent for the non-residential classes of property.
- (g) Residential Class of Property: If the State Auditor adds non-residential observations to the residential sample to determine statistics applicable to the residential class of property, the standard of uniformity for the residential class of property shall be the same as for the non-residential classes of property.
- (h) Assessment Bias: The level of assessment bias within each class of property shall be measured by the price-related differential as established by the State Auditor. It shall be deemed to be in compliance if the resulting price-related differential is in the range of 0.95 to 1.10, inclusive.
- (i) Magnitude of Deficiency: If a class of property constitutes ten percent or less of the assessed value of the total digest, and does not meet the uniformity requirements the Commissioner may approve the digest if, in his judgment, the approval will not substantially violate the concept of uniformity and equalization.

- (j) Overall Average Assessment: The overall average assessment ratio for the county shall be the weighted mean of the average level of assessment of the classes of property as established by the State Auditor.
- (k) Deviation of Overall Average Assessment: If the overall a verage assessment ratio is less than thirty-six percent, the digest shall be deemed to deviate substant ially from the proper assessment ratio. The Commissioner shall assess against the county governing authority additional state tax in an amount equal to the difference between the amount the state's levy of one-quarter mill would have produced if the digest had been at the proper assessment ratio, and the amount the digest actually used for collection purposes would produce.
- (3) Digest Review by Department.
- (a) County boards of tax assessors are required by the State Constitution and state law to continuously maintain assessments of property that are reasonably uniform and that are based on fair market value. The Department is required by law to periodically review the county digests to determine if the digests are in compliance with such laws.
- (b) The Department does not determine when to revalue property. Each county board of tax assessors determines for itself when all classes of property should be valued in accordance with § 48-5-299(a). This regulation imposes no additional requirements on the county boards of tax assessors. The Department's digest review cycle is only established to validate that counties are meeting the 40% of fair market value requirement of § 48-5-7, and no particular period or schedule of revaluations is required of the counties by the Department for approval of a county digest. Failure to revalue property shall not in and of itself be a basis for assessment of any penalty.
- (c) The digest review cycle for each county commencing January 1, 2011, shall be as Follows;
- 1. January 1, 2013 and every third January 1 thereafter for the following counties: Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Baldwin, Barrow, Bibb, Bulloch, Carroll, Chattahoochee, Cherokee, Clarke, Clinch, Coffee, Dougherty, Emanuel, Fannin, Fayette, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Glascock, Glynn, Gordon, Greene, Hall, Haralson, Irwin, Jasper, Jenkins, Johnson, Lumpkin, McIntosh, Meriwether, Murray, Muscogee, Newton, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pike, Putnam, Randolph, Screven, Stewart, Sumter, Tattnall, Tift, Toombs, Turner, Twiggs, Union and Wheeler.
- 2. January 1, 2011 and every third January 1 thereafter for the following counties: Bartow, Bleckley, Brooks, Calhoun, Candler, Chatham, Chattooga, Cobb, Colquitt, Cook, Crawford, Dawson, Douglas, Early, Echols, Effingham, Forsyth, Grady, Gwinnett, Habersham, Harris, Hart, Henry, Houston, Jones, Lamar, Lanier, Laurens, Lee, Liberty, Lincoln, Long, Lowndes, Macon, Madison, Marion, McDuffie, Monroe, Montgomery, Pierce, Polk, Rockdale, Spalding, Taliaferro, Terrell, Treutlen, Upson, Ware, Warren, Wayne, Wilcox, Wilkes and Worth.
- 3. January 1, 2012 and every third January 1 thereafter for the following counties: Appling, Banks, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brantley, Bryan, Burke, Butts, Camden, Catoosa, Charlton, Clay, Clayton, Columbia, Coweta, Crisp, Dade, Decatur, DeKalb, Dodge, Dooly, Elbert, Evans, Floyd, Hancock, Heard, Jackson, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Miller, Mitchell, Morgan, Oconee, Pulaski, Quitman, Rabun, Richmond, Schley, Seminole, Stephens, Talbot, Taylor, Telfair, Thomas, Towns, Troup, Walker, Walton, Washington, Webster, White, Whitfield and Wilkinson.

- (4) If all three of the following circumstances exist, the Commissioner may require the county tax receiver or tax commissioner to submit the digest being used for the collection of taxes. That digest may be reviewed by the Commissioner to determine if the valuations are reasonably uniform and equalized between and within counties and to determine if any grants should be withheld or any specific penalty assessed:
- (a) The county tax receiver or tax commissioner has failed to submit the digest by the due date and has exhausted any extensions of the due date granted by the Commissioner;
- (b) The county governing authority has successfully petitioned the superior court under § 48-5-310 to authorize the temporary collection of taxes on the basis of a temporary digest; and (c) The property under appeal or subject to appeal is less than the maximum allowable under § 48-5-304(a).

## DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE LOCAL GOVERNMENT SERVICES DIVISION RULES AND REGULATIONS CHAPTER 560-11-12

## **COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION HEARINGS**

## 560-11-12-.01 Applicability of Rules.

- (1) The rules in this Chapter shall apply to and govern ad valorem tax assessment appeal hearings held by the county boards of equalization including those formed by intergovernmental agreement.
  - (2) The actions, decisions and orders of a county's board of equalization are:
    - (a) Subject to the appeals procedures as provided in this section.
    - (b) Empowered to exercise the same degree of authority and perform the same actions as hearing officers under O.C.G.A. § 50-13-13.

## 560-11-12-.02 Nature of the Proceeding; Hearing Procedure; Burden of Proof.

The hearings held under these Regulations shall only be as formal as is necessary to preserve order and be compatible with the principles of justice.

- (1) Parties shall have the right to be represented by legal counsel.
- (2) The parties have a right to obtain, not less than 5 7(seven) days prior to the date of the hearing, the documentary evidence and the names and addresses of the witnesses to be used at the hearing by making a written request to the Board of Equalization and to the other party not less than 10 days prior to the date of the hearing. Any such documentary evidence or witnesses not provided upon a timely written request may be excluded from the hearing at the discretion of the Board of Equalization.
- (3) The parties shall also have the right to respond and present evidence on all issues involved and to cross examine all witnesses.
- (4) The standard of proof on all issues in the hearing shall be a preponderance of the evidence. A preponderance of the evidence is established when one party's evidence is of greater weight or is more convincing than the evidence offered in opposition to it, in that, the evidence, when taken as a whole, shows that the fact in dispute has been proven by one party to be more probable than not.
- (5) When a hearing is being held regarding a county's board of tax assessors' tax assessment, the county board of tax assessors shall have the burden of proof in regards to value, not taxability.
  - (a) If a hearing is being held regarding a property tax exemption, then the party seeking the property tax exemption shall have the burden of proving entitlement.
- (6) The county board of tax assessors shall present its case first, unless a taxpayer elects to present first.

### 560-11-12-.03 Evidence; Official Notice.

- (1) The rules of evidence in hearings covered by this Chapter shall be substantially as follows:
  - (a) Irrelevant, immaterial, or unduly repetitious evidence shall be excluded;
    - 1. The rules of evidence as applied in the trial of civil non-jury cases in the superior courts shall be followed as far as practicable.
    - 2. Evidence not admissible under superior court rules may be admitted when necessary to discover facts not reasonably understood from the previously admitted evidence.
    - 3. Except where precluded by statute, if the evidence presented it is of a type commonly relied upon by reasonably prudent persons, the county board of equalization has discretion as to whether to admit the evidence or not.
  - (b) Documentary evidence may be received in the form of copies or excerpts if the original is not readily available;
    - 1. Upon request, parties shall be given an opportunity to compare the copy with the original or have it established as documentary evidence according to the rules of evidence applicable to the superior courts of Georgia;
  - (c) A party may conduct such cross-examination as required for a full and true disclosure of the facts:
  - (d) Official notice may be taken of judicially recognizable facts and generally recognized technical facts or records within the agency's specialized knowledge.
    - 1. The parties shall be notified of any material so noticed and shall be afforded the opportunity to contest such material at the hearing.

## 560-11-12-.04 Continuances and Postponements.

- (1) Matters set for hearing may be continued or postponed within the sound discretion of the Board of Equalization upon timely motion by either party.
- (2) The Board of Equalization may on his its own motion continue or postpone the hearing.

## 560-11-12-.05 Subpoena Forms; Service.

- (1) Either party may obtain subpoena forms from the Board of Equalization Clerk of Superior Court by making a timely request.
- (2) Service, proof of service and enforcement of subpoenas shall be as provided by Georgia law and shall be the responsibility of the party requesting the subpoena.

## 560-11-12-.06 Transcripts of Hearing.

- (1) Any party may request that the hearing be conducted before a court reporter, or recorded in audio and/or video.
- (2) The request shall be in writing and include an agreement by the requesting party that he or she shall pay the costs incurred by the request or that he or she shall procure at his or her own cost and on his or her own initiative, the court reporting or recording services for the hearing.

(3) Regardless of who makes the arrangements or requests the transcript, or tape or video record be made, the original transcript, or tape or video record of the proceedings shall be submitted to the board of equalization chairman prior to the close of the hearing record if the transcript, or tape or video is to be made part of the record.

#### 560-11-12-.07 Case Presentment.

In accordance with the **Georgia Administrative Procedure Act**, a party shall be entitled to present his case or defense by oral or documentary evidence, to submit rebuttal evidence, and to conduct such cross-examination as may be required for a full and true disclosure of the facts.

## 50-13-1. Short title; purpose

This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the "Georgia Administrative Procedure Act." It is not intended that this chapter create or diminish any substantive rights or delegated authority, but this chapter is meant to provide a procedure for administrative determination and regulation where expressly authorized by law or otherwise required by the Constitution or a statute of this state.

# 50-13-3. Adoption of rules of organization and practice; public inspection and validity of rules, policies, orders, decisions, and opinions

- (a) In addition to other rule-making requirements imposed by law, each agency shall:
- (1) Adopt as a rule a description of its organization, stating the general course and method of its operations and the methods whereby the public may obtain information or make submissions or requests;
- (2) Adopt rules of practice setting forth the nature and requirements of all formal and informal procedures available, including a description of all forms and instructions used by the agency;
- (3) Make available for public inspection all rules and all other written statements of policy or interpretations formulated, adopted, or used by the agency in the discharge of its functions; and
- (4) Make available for public inspection all final orders, decisions, and opinions except those expressly made confidential or privileged by statute.
- (b) No agency rule, order, or decision shall be valid or effective against any person or party nor may it be invoked by the agency for any purpose until it has been published or made available for public inspection as required in this Code section. This provision is not applicable in favor of any person or party who has actual knowledge thereof.

## 50-13-15. Rules of evidence in contested cases; official notice; conducting hearings by utilizing remote telephonic communications

#### In contested cases:

- (1) Irrelevant, immaterial, or unduly repetitious evidence shall be excluded. The rules of evidence as applied in the trial of civil nonjury cases in the superior courts shall be followed. When necessary to ascertain facts not reasonably susceptible of proof under such rules, evidence not admissible thereunder may be admitted, except where precluded by statute, if it is of a type commonly relied upon by reasonably prudent men in the conduct of their affairs or if it consists of a report of medical, psychiatric, or psychological evaluation of a type routinely submitted to and relied upon by an agency in the normal course of its business. Agencies shall give effect to the rules of privilege recognized by law. Objections to evidentiary offers may be made and shall be noted in the record. Subject to these requirements, when a hearing will be expedited and the interest of the parties will not be prejudiced substantially, any part of the evidence may be received in written form;
- (2) Documentary evidence may be received in the form of copies or excerpts if the original is not readily available. Upon request, parties shall be given an opportunity to compare the copy with the original or have it established as documentary evidence according to the rules of evidence applicable to the superior courts of this state;
- (3) A party may conduct such cross-examination as shall be required for a full and true disclosure of the facts;
- (4) Official notice may be taken of judicially cognizable facts. In addition, official notice may be taken of generally recognized technical or scientific facts within the agency's specialized knowledge. Parties shall be notified either before or during the hearing, by reference in preliminary reports or otherwise, of the material noticed, including any staff memoranda or data, and they shall be afforded an opportunity to contest the material so noticed. The agency's experience, technical competence, and specialized knowledge may be utilized in the evaluation of the evidence; and
- (5) Any hearing which is required or permitted hereunder may be conducted by utilizing remote telephonic communications if the record reflects that all parties have consented to the conduct of the hearing by use of such communications and that such procedure will not jeopardize the rights of any party to the hearing.

# 50-14-1. Meetings to be open to public; limitation on action to contest agency action; recording; notice of time and place; access to minutes; telecommunications conferences

- (a) As used in this chapter, the term:
- (1) "Agency" means:
- (A) Every state department, agency, board, bureau, office, commission, public corporation, and authority;
- (B) Every county, municipal corporation, school district, or other political subdivision of this state:
- (C) Every department, agency, board, bureau, office, commission, authority, or similar body of each such county, municipal corporation, or other political subdivision of the state;
- (D) Every city, county, regional, or other authority established pursuant to the laws of this state: and
- (E) Any nonprofit organization to which there is a direct allocation of tax funds made by the governing body of any agency as defined in this paragraph which constitutes more than 33 1/3 percent of the funds from all sources of such organization; provided, however, that this subparagraph shall not include hospitals, nursing homes, dispensers of pharmaceutical products, or any other type organization, person, or firm furnishing medical or health services to a citizen for which they receive reimbursement from the state whether directly or indirectly; nor shall this term include a subagency or affiliate of such a nonprofit organization from or through which the allocation of tax funds is made.
  - (2) "Executive session" means a portion of a meeting lawfully closed to the public.
  - (3) (A) "Meeting" means:
- (i) The gathering of a quorum of the members of the governing body of an agency at which any official business, policy, or public matter of the agency is formulated, presented, discussed, or voted upon; or
- (ii) The gathering of a quorum of any committee of the members of the governing body of an agency or a quorum of any committee created by the governing body at which any official business, policy, or public matter of the committee is formulated, presented, discussed, or voted upon.
  - (B) "Meeting" shall not include:
- (i) The gathering of a quorum of the members of a governing body or committee for the purpose of making inspections of physical facilities or property under the jurisdiction of such agency at which no other official business of the agency is to be discussed or official action is to be taken:

- (ii) The gathering of a quorum of the members of a governing body or committee for the purpose of attending state-wide, multijurisdictional, or regional meetings to participate in seminars or courses of training on matters related to the purpose of the agency or to receive or discuss information on matters related to the purpose of the agency at which no official action is to be taken by the members;
- (iii) The gathering of a quorum of the members of a governing body or committee for the purpose of meeting with officials of the legislative or executive branches of the state or federal government at state or federal offices and at which no official action is to be taken by the members:
- (iv) The gathering of a quorum of the members of a governing body of an agency for the purpose of traveling to a meeting or gathering as otherwise authorized by this subsection so long as no official business, policy, or public matter is formulated, presented, discussed, or voted upon by the quorum; or
- (v) The gathering of a quorum of the members of a governing body of an agency at social, ceremonial, civic, or religious events so long as no official business, policy, or public matter is formulated, presented, discussed, or voted upon by the quorum.

This subparagraph's exclusions from the definition of the term "meeting" shall not apply if it is shown that the primary purpose of the gathering or gatherings is to evade or avoid the requirements for conducting a meeting while discussing or conducting official business.

- (b) (1) Except as otherwise provided by law, all meetings shall be open to the public. All votes at any meeting shall be taken in public after due notice of the meeting and compliance with the posting and agenda requirements of this chapter.
- (2) Any resolution, rule, regulation, ordinance, or other official action of an agency adopted, taken, or made at a meeting which is not open to the public as required by this chapter shall not be binding. Any action contesting a resolution, rule, regulation, ordinance, or other formal action of an agency based on an alleged violation of this provision shall be commenced within 90 days of the date such contested action was taken or, if the meeting was held in a manner not permitted by law, within 90 days from the date the party alleging the violation knew or should have known about the alleged violation so long as such date is not more than six months after the date the contested action was taken.
- (3) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (2) of this subsection, any action under this chapter contesting a zoning decision of a local governing authority shall be commenced within the time allowed by law for appeal of such zoning decision.
- (c) The public at all times shall be afforded access to meetings declared open to the public pursuant to subsection (b) of this Code section. Visual and sound recording during open meetings shall be permitted.
- (d) (1) Every agency subject to this chapter shall prescribe the time, place, and dates of regular meetings of the agency. Such information shall be available to the general public and a notice containing such information shall be posted at least one week in advance and maintained in a conspicuous place available to the public at the regular place of an agency or committee meeting subject to this chapter as well as on the agency's website, if any. Meetings shall be held in

accordance with a regular schedule, but nothing in this subsection shall preclude an agency from canceling or postponing any regularly scheduled meeting.

- (2) For any meeting, other than a regularly scheduled meeting of the agency for which notice has already been provided pursuant to this chapter, written or oral notice shall be given at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting to the legal organ in which notices of sheriff's sales are published in the county where regular meetings are held or at the option of the agency to a newspaper having a general circulation in such county at least equal to that of the legal organ; provided, however, that, in counties where the legal organ is published less often than four times weekly, sufficient notice shall be the posting of a written notice for at least 24 hours at the place of regular meetings and, upon written request from any local broadcast or print media outlet whose place of business and physical facilities are located in the county, notice by telephone, facsimile, or e-mail to that requesting media outlet at least 24 hours in advance of the called meeting. Whenever notice is given to a legal organ or other newspaper, that publication shall immediately or as soon as practicable make the information available upon inquiry to any member of the public. Upon written request from any local broadcast or print media outlet, a copy of the meeting's agenda shall be provided by facsimile, e-mail, or mail through a self-addressed, stamped envelope provided by the requestor.
- (3) When special circumstances occur and are so declared by an agency, that agency may hold a meeting with less than 24 hours' notice upon giving such notice of the meeting and subjects expected to be considered at the meeting as is reasonable under the circumstances, including notice to the county legal organ or a newspaper having a general circulation in the county at least equal to that of the legal organ, in which event the reason for holding the meeting within 24 hours and the nature of the notice shall be recorded in the minutes. Such reasonable notice shall also include, upon written request within the previous calendar year from any local broadcast or print media outlet whose place of business and physical facilities are located in the county, notice by telephone, facsimile, or e-mail to that requesting media outlet.
- (e) (1) Prior to any meeting, the agency or committee holding such meeting shall make available an agenda of all matters expected to come before the agency or committee at such meeting. The agenda shall be available upon request and shall be posted at the meeting site as far in advance of the meeting as reasonably possible, but shall not be required to be available more than two weeks prior to the meeting and shall be posted, at a minimum, at some time during the two-week period immediately prior to the meeting. Failure to include on the agenda an item which becomes necessary to address during the course of a meeting shall not preclude considering and acting upon such item.
- (2) (A) A summary of the subjects acted on and those members present at a meeting of any agency shall be written and made available to the public for inspection within two business days of the adjournment of a meeting.
- (B) The regular minutes of a meeting subject to this chapter shall be promptly recorded and such records shall be open to public inspection once approved as official by the agency or its committee, but in no case later than immediately following its next regular meeting; provided, however, that nothing contained in this chapter shall prohibit the earlier release of minutes, whether approved by the agency or not. Such minutes shall, at a minimum, include the names of the members present at the meeting, a description of each motion or other proposal made, the identity of the persons making and seconding the motion or other proposal, and a record of all votes. The name of each person voting for or against a proposal shall be recorded. It shall be

presumed that the action taken was approved by each person in attendance unless the minutes reflect the name of the persons voting against the proposal or abstaining.

- (C) Minutes of executive sessions shall also be recorded but shall not be open to the public. Such minutes shall specify each issue discussed in executive session by the agency or committee. In the case of executive sessions where matters subject to the attorney-client privilege are discussed, the fact that an attorney-client discussion occurred and its subject shall be identified, but the substance of the discussion need not be recorded and shall not be identified in the minutes. Such minutes shall be kept and preserved for in camera inspection by an appropriate court should a dispute arise as to the propriety of any executive session.
- (f) An agency with state-wide jurisdiction or committee of such an agency shall be authorized to conduct meetings by teleconference, provided that any such meeting is conducted in compliance with this chapter.
- (g) Under circumstances necessitated by emergency conditions involving public safety or the preservation of property or public services, agencies or committees thereof not otherwise permitted by subsection (f) of this Code section to conduct meetings by teleconference may meet by means of teleconference so long as the notice required by this chapter is provided and means are afforded for the public to have simultaneous access to the teleconference meeting. On any other occasion of the meeting of an agency or committee thereof, and so long as a quorum is present in person, a member may participate by teleconference if necessary due to reasons of health or absence from the jurisdiction so long as the other requirements of this chapter are met. Absent emergency conditions or the written opinion of a physician or other health professional that reasons of health prevent a member's physical presence, no member shall participate by teleconference pursuant to this subsection more than twice in one calendar year.

## 560-11-12-.08- Ruling; Decision.

- (1) The decision of the County Board of Equalization shall clearly state the Board of Equalization's ruling regarding the property's value, uniformity, or taxability, where applicable.
- (2) The decision of the County Board of Equalization shall be rendered pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311 (e)(6)(D)(i).
- (3) When a taxpayer authorizes an <u>agent, representative, or</u> attorney in writing to act on the taxpayer's behalf, the decision of the County Board of Equalization shall be provided to such <u>agent, representative, or</u> attorney pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311(o).

# 560-11-12-.09- Hearing Location.

A hearing conducted by a county's board of equalization under this Chapter, shall be held in the county where the property is located unless all parties agree to hold the hearing at a mutually agreed upon location.

# CHAPTER 560-11-10 APPRAISAL PROCEDURES MANUAL

#### 560-11-10-.01 Purpose and Scope.

- (1) Purpose. This appraisal procedures manual has been developed in accordance with Code section 48-5-269.1 which directs the Revenue Commissioner to adopt by rule, subject to Chapter 13 of Title 50, the "Georgia Administrative Procedure Act," and maintain an appropriate procedural manual for use by the county property appraisal staff in appraising tangible real and personal property for ad valorem tax purposes.
- (2) Specific procedures. In order to facilitate the mass appraisal process, specific procedures are provided within this Chapter which are designed to arrive at a basic appraisal value of real and personal property. These specific procedures are designed to provide fair market value under normal circumstances. When unusual circumstances are affecting value, they should be considered. In all instances, the appraisal staff will apply Georgia law and generally accepted appraisal practices to the basic appraisal values required by this manual and make any further valuation adjustments necessary to arrive at the fair market values.
- (3) Board of tax assessors. The county board of tax assessors shall require the appraisal staff to observe the procedures in this manual when performing their appraisals. The county board of tax assessors may not adopt local procedures that are in conflict with Georgia law or the procedures required by this manual. The county board of tax assessors must consider the appraisal staff information in the performance of their duties. In each instance, however, the assessment placed on each parcel of property shall be the assessment established by the county board of tax assessors as provided in Code section 48-5-306.
- **(4) Other appraisal procedures.** The appraisal staff may use those generally accepted appraisal practices set forth in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, published by the Appraisal Foundation, and the standards published by the International Association of Assessing Officers, as they may be amended from time to time, to the extent such practices do not conflict with this manual and Georgia law.

#### 560-11-10-.02 Definitions.

- (1) **Definitions.** When used in this Chapter, the definitions found in this Rule shall apply.
- (a) Absorption rate. "Absorption rate" means the rate at which the real estate market can absorb real property of a given type.
- **(b) Appraiser.** "Appraiser" means a member of the county appraisal staff, who serves the board of tax assessors and whose position was created pursuant to Part 1 of Article 5 of Chapter 5 of Title 48 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated. This term does not limit its meaning to a single appraiser and may mean one or more members of the county appraisal staff.
- **(c) Basic cost approach.** "Basic cost approach" means a cost approach procedure, used in the mass appraisal of personal property, which uses standard estimates of the most common factors affecting the value of such property. The basic cost approach is intended to provide a uniform estimate of personal property value.
- **(d) Depreciation.** "Depreciation" means the loss of value due to any cause. It is the difference between the market value of a structural improvement or piece of equipment and its reproduction or replacement cost as of the date of valuation. Depreciation is divided into three categories, physical deterioration, functional obsolescence, and economic obsolescence. Depreciation may be further characterized as curable or incurable depending upon the difficulty or practicality of restoring the lost value through repair or maintenance.
- **(e) Economic life.** "Economic life" means the period during which property may reasonably be expected to perform the function for which it was designed or intended.
- **(f) Economic obsolescence.** "Economic obsolescence" means a form of depreciation that measures a loss of value from negative influence external to the real or personal property. It results when the desirability or useful life of real or personal property is impaired due to forces such as changes in optimum use, legislative enactment that restricts or impairs productivity, and changes in supply and demand relationships. Economic obsolescence is normally incurable.
- (g) Effective age. "Effective age" means the age of an improvement to property as compared with other property performing like functions. It is the actual age less the age that has been taken off by face-lifting, structural reconstruction, removal of functional inadequacies, modernization of equipment, and similar repairs and overhauls. It is an age that reflects a true remaining life for the property, taking into account the typical life expectancy of buildings or equipment of its class and usage.

- **(h) Fair market value.** "Fair market value" means fair market value as defined in Code section 48-5-2 (3).
- (i) Final assessment means the assessed value of real property as stated on the Annual Notice of Assessment as approved by the Board of Assessors. Amendments to "Final assessment" for real property are prohibited absent a clerical error or some other lawful basis; and in the case of personal property, the appraisal staff has completed its audit of the personal property pursuant to Rule 560-11-10-.08(4)(d) within the three year statute of limitations
- **(j) Functional obsolescence.** "Functional obsolescence" means a form of depreciation that measures a loss of value from a design deficiency or appearance in the market of a more innovative design. Some functional obsolescence may be curable and some functional obsolescence may be incurable.
- **(k) Inventory.** "Inventory" means goods held for sale or lease or furnished under contracts for service; also, supplies, packing materials, spare parts, raw materials, work in process or materials used or consumed in a business.
- (I) Large acreage tract. "Large acreage tract" means a rural land tract that is greater in acreage than the small acreage break point.
- (m) Mass appraisal. "Mass appraisal" means the process of valuing a universe of properties as of a given date using standard methodology, employing common data and allowing for statistical testing.
- (n) Most Recent Arms Length Sale. As referenced in OCGA 48-5-2(3), transactions must occur prior to the statutory date of valuation to become eligible for the value limitations imposed in 48-5-2(3). Furthermore, where the exchange of property is defined as an arm's length transaction, the sum of the value of the exchanged real estate property components, land and improvements, in the year following the property exchange shall not exceed the transaction's sale price adjusted for non-real estate values such as but not limited to, timber, personal property, etc. The adjustment to the value of the real estate shall remain in effect for at least the digest year following the transaction. With respect to changes in the exchanged real estate property components since the time of exchange (sale date), the value of new improvements, value of additions to existing improvements (footprint of exchanged structure has been altered), major remodeling or renovations to existing structures (footprint of exchanged structure has not been altered), and adjustments to land due to consolidation of tracts, new surveys, zoning changes, land use changes, etc. shall be added to the sales price adjusted values. In the event an exchanged real estate property structure is renovated or remodeled, the term major shall be construed such that both the property owner and BOA would reasonably conclude a major renovation/remodeling has occurred. If either

party, acting reasonably, could debate that the renovation/remodeling effort was not major in nature, the renovation/remodeling effort does not qualify and shall not be added to the sales price adjusted values. Any modifications made to the exchanged real estate property after the sale date that result in a lower value of the exchanged property shall be considered in the final valuation of property for the digest.

- (o) Original cost. "Original cost" means, in the case of machinery, equipment, furniture, personal fixtures, and trade fixtures in the hands of the final user, all the direct costs associated with acquiring, transporting and installing such property at the site where it is to be used. This includes the cost of the property to the property owner, the cost of transporting the property to its present site, the cost of any on-site assembly or customized modification of the property, the cost of installing the property, the cost of installing personal fixtures and trade fixtures necessary for the proper operation of the property, and any sales or use tax paid on the property. Original cost is equivalent to original cost new if the property owner was the first to put the personal property into service.
- (p) Original cost new. "Original cost new" means, in the case of machinery, equipment, furniture, personal fixtures, and trade fixtures in the hands of the final user, all the direct costs associated with acquiring, transporting and installing such property at the site where it is to be used. This includes the historical cost of the property at the time it was first put into service new, the cost of transporting the property to its present site, the cost of any on-site assembly or customized modification of the property, the cost of installing the property, the cost of installing personal fixtures and trade fixtures necessary for the proper operation of the property, and any sales or use tax paid on the property. Original cost new is equivalent to original cost if the property owner was the first to put the personal property into service.
- (q) Paired sales analysis. "Paired sales analysis" means the comparing of the sale prices of similar properties, some with and some without a particular characteristic, in order to determine what portion of the difference in sales price might be attributable to such characteristic.
- (r) Personal fixtures. "Personal fixtures" means personal property that has been set-up or installed on land or in a building or in a group of buildings and is not permanently attached to such land or buildings. A consideration for whether personal property is a personal fixture is whether its removal would cause significant damage to such property or to the real property on which it has been set-up or installed. The term personal fixtures shall not include trade fixtures. Personal fixtures are classified as personal property. Examples of personal fixtures are desks, shelving, display cases and gondolas.
- (s) Personal property. "Personal property" means tangible personal property that may be seen, weighed, measured, felt, or touched or which is in any other manner

perceptible to the senses. Personal property shall include trade fixtures. For the purposes of this Rule, personal property shall not include the capital stock of all corporations; money, notes, bonds, accounts, or other credits, secured or unsecured; patent rights, copyrights, franchises, and any other classes and kinds of property defined by law as intangible personal property.

- **(t) Physical deterioration.** "Physical deterioration" means a form of depreciation that measures the loss of utility of real or personal property over time from wear and tear, age, and exposure to the elements. Some physical deterioration may be curable and some physical deterioration may be incurable.
- (u) Ready market. "Ready market" means a market, possibly global, where exchanges of machinery, equipment, personal fixtures and trade fixtures occur with such regularity and under such conditions as to provide a reliable measure of fair market value. Five conditions that may indicate a ready market are: the items of personal property being sold within the market are reasonable substitutes for each other; there are an adequate number of buyers and sellers of the personal property in the market, no one of whom can measurably affect price; there is an absence of artificial restraints and unusual incentives in the market; the item of personal property is reasonably free to be moved where it will receive the greatest return and buyers are reasonably free to buy where the price is lowest; and buyers and sellers are knowledgeable and informed about market conditions.
- (v) Real estate. "Real estate" means the physical parcel of land, improvements to the land, improvements attached to the land, real fixtures and appurtenances such as easements.
- (w) Real fixtures. "Real fixtures" means personal property that has been installed or attached to land or a building or group of buildings and is intended to remain permanently in its place. A consideration for whether personal property is a real fixture is whether its removal would cause significant damage to such property or to the real property to which it is attached. The term real fixtures shall not include trade fixtures. Real fixtures are classified as real property. Examples of real fixtures are plumbing, heating and cooling, and lighting fixtures.
- (x) Real property. "Real property" means the bundle of rights, interests, and benefits connected with the ownership of real estate. Real property does not include the intangible benefits associated with the ownership of real estate, such as the goodwill of a going business concern.
- **(y) Replacement cost.** "Replacement cost" for real property means the cost required to construct a similar structure with like utility as the subject property using modern design, materials, and workmanship. Replacement cost for personal property means the current cost of a similar new item having the nearest equivalent utility as the subject property.

- **(z) Reproduction cost.** "Reproduction cost" for real property means the cost required to construct an identical or exact replica structure of the subject property. Reproduction cost for personal property means the current cost of duplicating an identical new item.
- (aa) Residual value. "Residual value" means the value of personal property that is at the end of its normally expected economic life but still in use.
- **(bb) Rural land.** "Rural land" means any land that normally lies outside corporate limits, planned subdivisions, commercial sites, and industrial sites.
- (cc) Salvage value. "Salvage value" means the value of personal property that is at the end of its normally expected economic life and has been taken out of use.
- (dd) Small acreage break point. "Small acreage break point" means the point, expressed as a number of acres, at which the slope of a trend line, drawn through the plotted qualified sales of rural land on a graph, reflects a distinct and pronounced change. Such graph uses the dollars per acre on the vertical axis and numbers of acres on the horizontal axis. The small acreage break point should show the point below which the market factors of accessibility and desirability of the land primarily influence value, and above which the productivity of the soil and suitability for timber growth primarily influence value.
- **(ee) Small acreage tract.** "Small acreage tract" means a rural land tract that is equal to or smaller in acres than the small acreage break point.
- (ff) Tax situs. "Tax situs" means the location of personal property for ad valorem tax purposes.
- (gg) Trade fixtures. "Trade fixtures" means fixtures that are owned and temporarily installed or attached to a rented space or building by a tenant and used in conducting a business. For personal property to be classified as trade fixtures the lease or rental agreement has to show intent for the fixtures to be removed by the owner at the termination of the lease. Fixtures that revert to the landlord when the lease is terminated are not trade fixtures. Property shall not be classified as a trade fixture when the cost of removal, or damage that removal would cause to the realty, or to the fixture itself, clearly indicates that a tenant is unlikely to remove such fixture at the termination of the lease. Trade fixtures shall be classified as personal property.
- (hh) Transitional real property. "Transitional real property" means any real property that is undergoing a change in use, such as residential, agricultural, commercial, or industrial, and has not been firmly established in its new use. Change in use may be

evidenced by recent zoning changes, purchase by a known developer, affidavits of intent, or close proximity to property exposed to these market factors.

(ii) Trend. "Trend" means an observable tendency of behavior such as stable economic direction over extended periods despite temporary fluctuations.

### 560-11-10-.08 Personal Property Appraisal.

- (1) Personal property identification. The appraisal staff shall identify personal property, determine its taxability, and classify it for addition to the county ad valorem tax digest in accordance with this paragraph.
- (a) Distinguishing personal property. The appraiser shall be required to correctly identify personal property and distinguish it from real property where the proper valuation procedures, as set forth in this Rule, may be followed.
- **1. Examples.** As used in this Chapter, personal property shall be that property defined in Rule 560-11-10-.02(1)(r). This Rule shall provide illustrations to assist the appraiser in the proper interpretation of the definition. However, these illustrations should not be construed in a manner that conflicts with the definition. Examples of personal property are tangible items such as aircraft; boats and motors; inventories of retail stock, finished manufactured or processed goods, goods in process, raw materials and supplies; furniture, personal fixtures, trade fixtures, machinery and equipment.
- **2. Identification of trade fixtures.** When property the appraiser believes is a trade fixture has not been returned by the tenant, the appraiser shall require the tenant to produce their lease agreement and shall carefully review the agreement before making a recommendation to the board of tax assessors regarding the classification of the property in question. The appraiser shall inform the tenant that they may redact, at their option, any information relating to the payments that are required by the lease agreement.
- **(b) Assessment date.** Code section 48-5-10 provides that each return by a property owner shall be for property held and subject to taxation on January 1 of the tax year. The appraisal staff shall base their decisions regarding the taxability, tax situs, uniform assessment, and valuation of personal property on the circumstances of such property on January 1 of the tax year for which the assessment is being prepared. When personal property is transferred to a new owner or converted to a new use, the circumstances of such property on January 1 shall nevertheless be considered as controlling.

#### (c) Freeport exemptions.

**1. Mailing applications.** The appraisal staff shall, by U. S. mail, send a new freeport exemption application to any person, firm or corporation that was approved for freeport exemption by the board of tax assessors for the tax year proceeding the tax year for which the application is to be made. The application provided by the appraisal staff shall be deposited with the local post office no later than the 15th day after the official who is

responsible for receiving returns has opened the books for returns. The failure of the appraisal staff to comply with this requirement shall not relieve a person, firm or corporation from the responsibility to timely file a freeport application.

- **2. Reviewing applications.** The appraisal staff shall, upon receipt of a freeport application, reconcile the figures reported on such form to any inventory totals that may have been returned by the property owner. The appraisal staff may obtain relevant information as is available from financial records or other records of the property owner when needed to reconcile the figures reported on the application. Once the appraisal staff has completed the reconciliation of the freeport application, they shall forward the application and their recommendations, along with any supporting documentation, to the board of tax assessors. When the appraisal staff recommends the freeport application be denied, in whole or in part, they shall include the reasons for their recommendation.
- (d) Tax situs. The appraisal staff shall inquire into the proper tax situs of personal property before preparing the proposed assessment to ensure that the property owner is made subject to only those taxes that may legally be levied. The tax situs inquiry shall be sufficiently specific to determine whether the property is subject to tax by each of the authorities authorized to levy taxes in the county.
- **1. General tax situs.** Unless otherwise provided in subparagraph (d) of this paragraph, the appraisal staff shall consider the tax situs of personal property to be as provided in this subparagraph.
- (i) Tax situs of personal property of Georgia residents. The appraisal staff shall consider the tax situs of personal property owned by a Georgia resident as being the domicile of the owner unless such property has acquired a business situs elsewhere. The appraisal staff shall consider the tax situs of personal property owned by a Georgia resident and used in connection with a business as being the location of the business. In making the determination of tax situs, the appraisal staff shall consider such factors as the principal location of the personal property, the base from which its operations normally originate and whether the personal property is connected with some business enterprise that is situated more or less permanently in the county, as distinguished from an enterprise whose location is merely transitory or temporary. When personal property used in connection with a business is moved about in such a manner that it is not predominantly located during the year in one place, the appraisal staff shall consider the headquarters of the business as the tax situs.
- (ii) Tax situs of personal property of non-residents. The appraisal staff shall consider the tax situs of personal property owned by non-residents as being where the property is located. The appraisal staff shall recommend to the board of tax assessors a "no tax situs" status for any personal property owned by a nonresident who does not maintain a place of business in Georgia and who gives the personal property to a commercial printer in Georgia for printing services to be performed in Georgia.
- **2. Tax situs of boats.** In accordance with Code section 48-5-16 (d), the appraisal staff shall consider the tax situs of a boat to be the tax district wherein lies the domicile of the owner, even when the boat is located within another tax district in the county. When the boat is functionally located for recreational or convenience purposes for 184 days or

more in a county other than where the owner is domiciled, the appraisal staff shall consider the tax situs of the boat to be where it is functionally located.

- **3. Tax situs of aircraft.** In accordance with Code section 48-5-16 (e), the appraisal staff shall consider the tax situs of an aircraft to be the tax district wherein lies the domicile of the owner, even when the aircraft is located within another tax district in the county. When the aircraft's primary home base is in a county other than where the owner is domiciled, the appraisal staff shall consider the tax situs of the aircraft to be where it is principally hangered or tied down and out of which its flights normally originate.
- 4. Tax situs of foreign merchandise in transit. The appraisal staff shall recommend to the board of tax assessors a "no tax situs" status for foreign merchandise that is in transit through this state. The recommendation of "no tax situs" shall be made regardless of the fact that while the foreign merchandise is in the warehouse it is assembled, bound, joined, processed, disassembled, divided, cut, broken in bulk, relabeled, or repackaged. The grant of "no tax situs" status shall be liberally construed. In deciding whether goods are foreign, the appraisal staff shall determine if the point of origin is a non-domestic shipping port. In deciding whether goods are in transit, the appraisal staff shall consider whether the interruption in the transport of the goods may be characterized as having a business purpose or advantage, rather than just being an incidental interruption in the continuity of transit.
- (e) Assessments of personal property used on state contracts. Under Code section 50-17-29 (e)(1), the appraisal staff shall not propose an assessment upon the personal property of any contractor or subcontractor as a condition to or result of the performance of a contract, work, or services by such contractor or subcontractor in connection with any project being constructed, repaired, remodeled, enlarged, serviced, or destroyed for, or on behalf of, the state or any of its agencies, boards, bureaus, commissions, and authorities. The appraisal staff shall inquire into the nature of the use of such property and prepare their proposed assessment in accordance with this Subparagraph.
- 1. Personal property located in headquarters' county. When the tax situs of the personal property being used on state projects is in the same county as where the property owner's permanent business headquarters and administrative offices are located, and such property is not used exclusively for the state projects contemplated by Code section 50-17-29 (e)(1), the appraisal staff shall not apportion their proposed assessment of the property. When such property is used exclusively for such state projects, such property is made exempt by Code section 50-17-29 (e)(1) from ad valorem taxation by the county and the appraisal staff shall treat such property as exempt property is treated.

- 2. Personal property not located in headquarters' county. When the tax situs of the personal property being used on state projects is in a county other than where the property owner's permanent business headquarters and administrative offices are located, and such property would not be located in the county absent the state projects, then the appraisal staff shall apportion their proposed assessment of such property as follows: The exempt portion of the personal property being used on state projects shall be that pro rata portion of the total value of such property that represents the percentage the contractor or subcontractor can reasonably demonstrate is likely to represent the portion of their business that will result from state projects during the tax year. The appraisal staff may consider the percentage of income, production output, or time attributable to state projects during the preceding year. The appraisal staff shall consider any information submitted by the property owner regarding the basis for the apportionment. The appraisal staff shall not apportion the personal property when the property owner fails to provide reasonable evidence necessary to determine the portion of the property owner's business that will result from state projects during the year.
- **(f) Partial assessments.** Unless specifically provided by law and this Rule, the appraisal staff shall not prepare a partial appraisal based on the fact that personal property is owned or used during the year in a manner that would make it exempt part of the year and taxable part of the year.
- **(2) Classification.** The appraisal staff shall classify personal property as provided in Rule 560-11-2-.21 for inclusion in the county tax digest.
- (3) Return of personal property. In accordance with Code section 48-5-299 (a), the appraisal staff, on behalf of the board of tax assessors, shall investigate diligently and inquire into the property owned in the county for the purpose of ascertaining what real and tangible personal property is subject to taxation in the county and to require the proper return of the property for taxation. The appraisal staff shall make such investigation as may be necessary to determine the value of any property upon which for any reason all taxes due the state or the county have not been paid in full as required by law. In all cases where taxes are assessed against the owner of property, the appraisal staff shall prepare a proposed assessment on the property according to the best information obtainable.
- **(a) Information sources.** The appraisal staff should develop and maintain information sources for the discovery of unreturned personal property.
- **(b) Returns.** Property owners shall use Department of Revenue authorized return forms when returning personal property. No other forms shall be provided for this purpose to property owners by the county official responsible for receiving returns unless previously approved in writing by the Revenue Commissioner.
- **1. Authorized return forms.** The returns described in this subparagraph shall be authorized for use when returning personal property.
- (i) Form PT-50P. The return form PT-50P, entitled "Business Personal Property Tax Return," may be used for the return of business personal property when the property owner is not eligible or does not desire to file an application for freeport exemption.

- (ii) Form PT-50PF. The return form PT-50PF, entitled "Business Personal Property Tax Return / Application for Freeport Exemption," may be used for the return of business personal property and simultaneous application for freeport exemption.
- (iii) Form PT-50MA. The return form PT-50MA, entitled "Marine / Aircraft Personal Property Tax Return," may be used for the return of boats or aircraft.
- **2. Obtaining returns from receiver.** Each year, after the deadline for filing returns, the appraisal staff shall secure the returns from the official responsible for receiving returns on or before the tenth day following such deadline.
- **3. Automatic returns.** In accordance with Code section 48-5-20, the appraisal staff shall deem any property owner that does not file a return by the deadline as returning for taxation the same property as was returned or deemed to have been returned in the preceding tax year at the same valuation as the property was finally determined to be subject to taxation in the preceding year.
- (c) Reporting schedules. Property owners shall use Department of Revenue authorized reporting schedules when reporting supporting information for authorized return forms. No other reporting schedules shall be provided for this purpose to property owners by the county official responsible for reviewing returns unless previously approved in writing by the Revenue Commissioner. A property owner may attach other schedules or documents that provide further support for the value they have placed on their personal property return. The appraisal staff shall consider all additional information submitted by the property owner with the return and reporting schedules. The reporting schedules required by Rule 560-11-10-.08(3)(c) and appropriate for the type of personal property being returned and any other information submitted with the return by the property owner are made confidential by Code section 48-5-314 and shall be treated as such by the appraisal staff. The appraisal staff shall not consider as fully returned any property that is omitted, misrepresented, or undervalued on the supporting reporting schedules and accompanying property owner documents, as these provide the basis for the property owner's declarations of value on the return and are necessary for the board of assessors to carry out their responsibility under Code section 48-5-299 to, through their appraisal staff, ascertaining what personal property is subject to taxation in the county and to require the proper return of the property for taxation.
- **1. Authorized reporting schedules.** The reporting schedules described in this subparagraph shall be authorized for use when reporting information to support the return of personal property.
- (i) Schedule A. The reporting schedule entitled "Schedule A" may be used to list and describe any furniture, trade fixtures, personal fixtures, machinery and equipment that is included on the property owner's return.
- (ii) Schedule B. The reporting schedule entitled "Schedule B" may be used to list and describe any inventory that is included on the property owner's return.
- (iii) Schedule C. The reporting schedule entitled "Schedule C" may be used to list and describe any construction in progress that is included on the property owner's return.
- (iv) Schedule D. The reporting schedule entitled "Schedule D" may be used to list and describe any boats or aircraft that are included on the property owner's return.

- **(4) Verification.** The appraisal staff shall review and audit the returns in accordance with policies and procedures set by the county board of tax assessors consistent with Georgia law and this Rule.
- (a) Omissions and undervaluations. If not otherwise prohibited by law or this Rule, the appraisal staff shall recommend an additional assessment to the board of tax assessors when any review or audit reveals that a property owner has omitted from their return any property that should be returned or has failed to return any of their property at its fair market value. The appraisal staff shall recommend a reduced assessment to the board of tax assessors when any review or audit reveals that a property owner has overstated the amount of personal property subject to taxation.
- **(b) Reassessments.** The appraisal staff shall recommend to the board of tax assessors a new assessment when the property owner has omitted personal property from their return or failed to return personal property at its fair market value, when such omission or undervaluation has been discovered by an audit conducted pursuant to Rule 560-11-10-.08(4)(d). The appraisal staff shall not be precluded from conducting such an audit merely because a change of assessment has been made on the personal property as a result of a review conducted pursuant to Rule 560-11-10-.08(4)(c). However, the appraisal staff may not recommend to the board of tax assessors a reassessment of the same personal property for which an audit has been conducted pursuant to Rule 560-11-10-.08(4)(d) and a final assessment has already been made by the board.
- (c) Review. The purpose of a review is to determine if a property owner has correctly and fully completed their return and reporting schedules. It is based upon the good-faith disclosures of the property owner and information that is readily ascertainable by the appraisal staff. The review of an owner's return may consist of, but is not limited to, an analysis of any improper omissions or inclusions, improperly applied or omitted depreciation, and improperly applied or omitted inflation or deflation of the value of the owner's property. The examination should include a comparison of the current return information with return information from prior years. The appraiser should contact the owner or their agent by an on-site visit, telephone call, or written correspondence to attempt to resolve any questionable items. Returns with unresolved discrepancies, unexpected values, or incomplete information should be escalated to an audit.
- (d) Audits. The purpose of an audit is to gather information that will allow the appraiser to make an accurate determination of the fair market value of the property owner by the property owner and subject to taxation. An audit is an examination of the records of the property owner to make an independent determination of the fair market value of such property where such determination does not solely depend upon the good-faith disclosures of the property owner and information that is readily ascertainable by the appraisal staff. The appraisal staff shall perform, consistent with Georgia Law and policies that are established by the board of tax assessors, audits of the records of the property owners to verify the returns of personal property. These audits may take place

at any time within the seven-year statute of limitations, which begins on the date the personal property was required by law to be returned.

- **1. Scope of audit.** The audit may be an advanced desk audit of certain additional property owner records that are voluntarily submitted or obtained by subpoena from the property owner or a complex on-site detailed audit of the property owner's books and records combined with a physical inspection of the personal property. The documents the appraisal staff should secure include, but are not limited to, schedules A, B, and C of form PT-50P; a balance sheet or other type of financial record that for a particular location reflects the business' book value as of January 1 of the tax year being audited; a ledger of capitalized personal property items held on January 1 of the tax year being audited; and an income statement.
- (i) Use of subpoena. The appraiser should request the board of tax assessors to subpoena, within the limitations of their subpoena powers, any existing documents the property owner fails to provide voluntarily, when these documents are deemed by the appraiser to be critical to the audit. Since the appraiser may not request a subpoena for documents that do not presently exist in the format needed, the appraiser should seek existing documents held by the property owner and solicit the owner's voluntary cooperation in obtaining these documents.
- 2. Contracts with auditing specialists. The appraiser shall secure non-disclosure statements from any contracted audit specialist to ensure that such specialist shall conform with the confidentiality provisions of Code section 48-5-314 and shall not disclose the property owner's confidential records to unauthorized persons or use such confidential records for purposes other than the county's review for ad valorem tax purposes of the tax return and supporting documentation. The appraisal staff shall provide a copy of such non-disclosure statement to the property owner upon such owner's request. The appraiser shall not recommend to the board of tax assessors any contract or agreement with an audit specialist that provides for such specialist to contingently share a percentage of the tax collected as a result of any audits such specialist may perform.
- (i) Notice to property owner. The lead appraiser shall ensure the property owner is sent a notice they have been selected for an audit of their personal property holdings for ad valorem tax purposes. The notice shall, at a minimum, indicate the following: the purposes and goals of the audit and the law authorizing the audit; the name of the lead appraiser who is primarily responsible for the conduct of the audit; the names of the members of the audit team that will be performing the audit; the number of years that will be audited; a description of the type records that should be made available; a description of how the audit will be conducted; the range of dates desired for the audit; and contact information should the property owner wish to contact the lead appraiser. The notice shall contain a statement that the lead appraiser will be contacting the property owner by telephone to establish the date and time of the audit and to determine the availability and location of records. At the conclusion of the audit, if there is sufficient evidence to warrant a recommended change of assessment, the lead appraiser shall have prepared a list of preliminary audit findings and provide such list to the property owner to afford them an opportunity to meet and discuss the findings and view any supporting schedules and documents relied upon by the individuals conducting the audit. After any such meeting requested by the property owner, the lead

appraiser shall have prepared the final audit report and proposed assessment and provide a copy to the property owner and the board of tax assessors.

- **(e) Audit selection criteria.** The appraisal staff shall recommend to the board of tax assessors a review and audit selection criteria, and the appraisal staff shall follow such criteria when adopted by the board. The criteria should be designed to maximize the number of personal property returns that may be reviewed or audited with existing resources. The criteria should be fair, unbiased, and developed consistent with the requirements of Code section 48-5-299. All personal property accounts should be reviewed or audited at least once every three years.
- (f) Property owner records. The appraisal staff should first endeavor to obtain the records necessary to substantiate the information returned or reported by the property owner through the voluntary cooperation of the property owner. When such voluntary cooperation is not forthcoming, and the records requested from the property owner are believed by the appraiser to be critical to a proper appraisal of the personal property, the appraiser may request that the board of tax assessors issue an appropriate subpoena for such records. The appraiser may request that the board of tax assessors issue an appropriate subpoena for the testimony of any individuals the appraiser believes poses knowledge critical to determination of the fair market value of the property owner's personal property.
- **1. Record types.** The types of records the appraisal staff may request the board of tax assessors to issue subpoenas for include, but are not limited to, the following: chart of accounts, general ledger, detailed subsidiary ledgers, journals of original entry, balance sheet, income statement, annual report, Securities Exchange Commission Form 10K. The types of records the appraisal staff may not request the board of tax assessors to issue subpoenas for include the following:
- (i) Income tax returns. Forms and schedules authorized by the Internal Revenue Service or the revenue collecting agencies of the several states for use in filing income tax returns to those agencies:
- (ii) Property appraisals. A property appraisal that the property owner has obtained prior to any appeal that is filed as a result of a change of assessment being made to the property owner's personal property;
- (iii) Insurance policies. An insurance policy that may contain valuation estimates of the insured personal property; or
- **(iv) Tenant sales information.** A rent roll or document containing the individual tenant sales information on the property owner's rented or leased personal property.
- **(5) Valuation procedures.** The appraisal staff shall follow the provisions of this paragraph when performing their appraisals. Irrespective of the valuation approach used, the final results of any appraisal of personal property by the appraisal staff shall in all instances conform to the definition of fair market value in Code section 48-5-2 and this Rule.

- **(a) General procedures.** The appraisal staff shall consider the sales comparison, cost, and income approaches in the appraisal of personal property. The degree of dependence on any one approach will change with the availability of reliable data and type of property being appraised.
- 1. Information presented by property owner. The appraisal staff shall consider any timely information presented by the property owner that may have reasonable relevance to the appraisal of the owner's personal property. The appraisal staff shall consider the effect of any factors discovered during the review or audit of the return or directly presented by the property owner that may reduce the value of the owner's personal property, including, but not limited to all forms of depreciation, shrinkage, theft and damage.
- **2. Selection of approach.** With respect to machinery, equipment, personal fixtures, and trade fixtures, the appraisal staff shall use the sales comparison approach to arrive at the fair market value when there is a ready market for such property. When no ready market exists, the appraiser shall next determine a basic cost approach value. When the appraiser determines that the basic cost approach value does not adequately reflect the physical deterioration, functional or economic obsolescence, or otherwise is not representative of fair market value, they shall apply the approach or combination of approaches to value that, in their judgment, results in the best estimate of fair market value. All adjustments to the basic cost approach shall be documented to the board of tax assessors.
- **3. Rounding.** The appraisal staff may express the final fair market value estimate to the board of tax assessors in numbers that are rounded to the nearest hundred dollars.
- **(b) Special procedures.** The appraisal staff shall observe the procedures in this Subparagraph when appraising inventory and construction in process.
- **1. Valuation of inventory.** When appraising inventory, the appraisal staff shall consider the value of inventory to consist of all the charges incurred from its original state as raw material to its final resting place for ultimate consumption, including such items as freight and other overhead charges, with the exception of the cost of the final sale The appraisal staff shall also consider factors contributing to any loss of value including, but not limited to, obsolescence, shrinkage, theft and damage.
- **2. Construction in progress.** Property owners who are constructing or installing a large piece or line of production equipment may be required by generally accepted accounting principles to accrue the total costs associated with such equipment in a holding account until the construction or installation is complete and the equipment is ready for production, at which time, the property owner is permitted by such principles to post the total cost to a fixed asset account, taking appropriate depreciation. If such holding account is maintained by the property owner, the appraisal staff shall consider the total cost reported in the property owner's holding account when appraising such property. Construction in progress shall be appraised in the same manner as other similar personal property taking into account that there may be little or no physical deterioration on such property and that the fair market value may be diminished due to the incomplete state of construction. If comparable sales information of personal

property under construction is generally not available and there is no other specific evidence to measure the probable loss of value if the property is sold in an incomplete state of construction, the appraisal staff may multiply the identified total cost of construction by a uniform market risk factor of .75.

- **3. Overhauls.** When appraising machinery, equipment, furniture, personal fixtures, and trade fixtures, the appraisal staff shall consider the cost of all expenditures, both direct and indirect, relating to any efforts to overhaul an asset to modernize, rebuild, or otherwise extend the useful life of such asset. The following procedure is to be used by the appraisal staff to estimate the value of an overhauled asset: An adjustment to the original cost of the asset is made to reflect the cost of the components that have been replaced. The cost of the overhaul is divided by an index factor representing the accumulated inflation or deflation from the year of acquisition of the asset on which the overhaul was performed to the year of the overhaul. This amount is then subtracted from the original cost of the asset being overhauled. The remainder is then multiplied by the composite conversion factor for the year of the original acquisition as specified in Rule 560-11-10-.08(5)(f)(4)(iii) of this section. The current year's composite conversion factor is then applied to the cost of the overhaul, and these two figures are combined to represent the estimate of value for the overhauled asset.
- **(c)** Level of trade. The appraisal staff shall recognize three distinct levels of trade: the manufacturing level, the wholesale level, and the retail level. The appraiser shall take into account the incremental costs that are added to a product as it advances from one level to another that may increase its value as a final product. The appraisal staff shall value the property at its level of trade.
- (d) Ready markets. When the appraiser lacks sufficient evidence to demonstrate the existence of a ready market, he or she shall consider any evidence submitted by the property owner demonstrating that a ready market is available. When the property owner cannot prove the existence of a reliable ready market, the appraiser may use other valuation approaches as authorized by law and Rule560-11-10-.08(5).
- **1. Liquidation sales.** The appraisal staff should recognize that those liquidation sales that do not represent the way personal property is normally bought and sold may not be representative of a ready market. For such sales, the appraisal staff should consider the structure of the sale, its participants, the purchasers, and other salient facts surrounding the sale. After considering this information, the appraisal staff may disregard a sale in its entirety, adjust it to the appropriate level of trade, or accept it at face value.
- **(e) Sales comparison approach.** The sales comparison approach uses the sales of comparable properties to estimate the value of the subject property being appraised.
- 1. Widely used pricing guides. The appraisal staff should make a reasonable effort to obtain and use generally accepted pricing guides that are published and widely used within the market. When using such a guide to estimate the comparative sales approach value, the appraiser shall begin with the listed retail price and then make any value adjustments as provided in the guide instructions, based on the best information available about the subject property being appraised.

- **2. Lesser-known pricing guides.** The property owner may submit, and the appraisal staff shall consider, lesser known publications, periodicals and price lists of the specific types of personal property being returned. Such lists should be regularly consulted by buyers of the type personal property reported, and should list prices at which sellers, who regularly deal in the types of property reported, typically offer such property for sale.
- (i) Validation of lesser pricing guides. In all cases where unpublished, unrecognized, or unverified sales data are submitted by the property owner, the steps the appraiser may take to validate such data include, but are not limited to, the following:
- (I) Arm's length transactions. as defined in OCGA 48-5-2(.1): "Arm's length, bona fide sale' means a transaction which has occurred in good faith without fraud or deceit carried out by unrelated or unaffiliated parties, as by a willing buyer and a willing seller, each acting in his or her own self-interest, including but not limited to a distress sale, short sale, bank sale, or sale at public auction." Transactions where the lien holder receives or repossesses the property, and deed under power of sale transactions are not to be applied as an arm's length transaction.
- (II) Representativeness. Verify that the sales data submitted is either all-inclusive or has been randomly selected, so as to be unbiased and fairly represent the market for the personal property being appraised. This may be accomplished by contacting known dealers of the subject personal property to determine whether other significant market data exists that supports the data submitted by the property owner.
- **(III) Financing.** Adjust the sale price of the subject property for non-conventional financing.
- (IV) Time of sale. Adjust the sale price of the subject property for the date of sale in order to estimate the value as of the January 1 assessment date.
- (V) Discounts. Adjust the sale price to remove trade and cash discounts.
- **(VI) Comparability.** Adjust the sale price of the subject property for characteristics of the subject not found in the sales to which it is being compared, such as condition, use, and extra or missing features.
- **3. Other factors.** To finalize the sales comparison approach, the appraiser shall consider any other factors, appropriate to the approach, which may be affecting the value. When the comparative sales approach is used as the basis for the appraisal of personal property, the appraiser shall not make further adjustments to the value to reflect economic obsolescence, functional obsolescence, or inflation.
- **(f) Cost approach.** The cost approach arrives at an estimate of value by taking the replacement or reproduction cost of the personal property and then reducing this cost to allow for physical deterioration, functional and economic obsolescence.

- **1. General procedure.** In applying the cost approach to personal property during a review or audit of a return, the appraiser shall identify the year acquired, and total acquisition costs, including installation, freight, taxes, and fees. The acquisition costs shall then be adjusted for inflation and deflation and then depreciated as appropriate to reflect current market values.
- **2. Book value.** The appraiser should recognize that the appraisal and accounting practices for depreciating personal property might differ. Accounting practices provide for recovery of the cost of an asset, whereas appraisal practices strive to estimate the fair market value related to the current market. The appraiser should consider depreciation in the forms of physical deterioration, functional obsolescence, and economic obsolescence, which may not necessarily be reflected in the book value. The appraiser should consider that accounting practices of property owners might also differ.
- **3. Valuation as a whole.** The appraiser may arrange the individual items of personal property into groups with similar valuation characteristics and value such group as a whole when the itemized appraisals of each item of personal property will not add substantially to the accuracy of the determination of the cost approach value.
- **4. Basic cost approach.** The appraisal staff shall determine the basic cost approach value of machinery, equipment, furniture, personal fixtures, and trade fixtures using the following uniform four-step valuation procedures: Determine the original cost new of the item of personal property to the property owner; determine the uniform economic life group for the item of personal property; and multiply the original cost new times the uniform composite conversion factor appropriate for the economic life group and actual age of the item of personal property. Then determine a salvage value of any item of personal property when it is taken out of use at the end of its expected economic life.
- (i) Original cost new. The appraisal staff shall determine the original cost new of the item of machinery, equipment, furniture, personal fixtures, and trade fixtures. Any real improvements to the real property, including real fixtures that had to be installed for the proper operation of the property, shall be included in the appraisal of the real property and not included in the basic cost approach value of the personal property. Those portions of transportation costs and installation costs that do not represent normal and customary costs for the type personal property being appraised shall be excluded from the original cost new when determining the basic cost approach value.
- (ii) Economic life groups. When determining the basic cost approach value of machinery, equipment, furniture, personal fixtures, and trade fixtures, the appraisal staff shall separate the individual items of property into four economic life groupings that most reasonably reflect the normal economic life of such property as specified in this subparagraph. The appraiser shall use Table B-1 and B-2 of Publication 946 of the U.S. Treasury Department Internal Revenue Service, as revised in 1998, to classify the individual asset into the appropriate economic life group. For property that does not appear in such publication, the appraisal staff may determine the appropriate economic life group based on the best information available, including, but not limited to, the property owner's history of purchases and disposals.

- (I) Group I. The appraisal staff shall place into Group I any assets that have a typical economic life between five and seven years.
- (II) Group II. The appraisal staff shall place into Group II any assets that have a typical economic life between eight and twelve years.
- (III) Group III. The appraisal staff shall place into Group III any assets that have a typical economic life of thirteen years or more.
- **(IV) Group IV.** The appraisal staff shall place into Group IV any assets that have a typical economic life of four years or less. The appraisal staff shall also place into Group IV those assets classified as Asset Class 00.12 in Publication 946 of the U.S. Treasury Internal Revenue Service, Table B-1, as revised in 1998.
- (iii) Composite conversion factors. The appraisal staff shall, in accordance with this Rule, use the composite conversion factors as provided in this subparagraph and apply the appropriate factor to the original cost new of personal property to arrive at the basic cost approach value. The last composite conversion factor in each economic life group shall not be trended and shall represent the residual value.
- (I) Group I composite conversion factors. The following composite conversion factors shall be applied to Group I assets to arrive at the basic cost approach value for years one through seven: Y1-.87, Y2-.74, Y3-.58, Y4-.43, Y5-.32, Y6-.26, Y7-.21. Thereafter the residual composite conversion factor shall be .20.
- (II) Group II composite conversion factors. The following composite conversion factors shall be applied to Group II assets to arrive at the basic cost approach value for years one through eleven: Y1-.92, Y2-.85, Y3-.78, Y4-.70, Y5-.63, Y6-.54, Y7-.44, Y8-.34, Y9-.28, Y10-.25, Y11-.25. Thereafter the residual composite conversion factor shall be .20.
- (III) Group III composite conversion factors. The following composite conversion factors shall be applied to Group III assets to arrive at the basic cost approach value for years one through sixteen: Y1-.95, Y2-.91, Y3-.87, Y4-.82, Y5-.79, Y6-.75, Y7-.70, Y8-.63, Y9-.57, Y10-.52, Y11-.47, Y12-.41, Y13-.35, Y14-.31, Y15-.29, Y16-.28. Thereafter the residual composite conversion factor shall be .20.
- **(IV) Group IV composite conversion factors.** The following composite conversion factors shall be applied to Group IV assets to arrive at the basic cost approach value for years one through three: Y1-.67, Y2-.54, Y3-.31. Thereafter the residual composite conversion factor shall be .10.
- (iv) Basic cost approach value. The basic cost approach value shall be determined by multiplying the composite conversion factor times the original cost new of operating machinery, equipment, furniture, personal fixtures, and trade fixtures.
- (v) Salvage value. Once personal property is taken out of service at or after the end of its typical economic life, it shall be considered salvage until disposed of and the appraiser shall determine a basic cost approach value by taking ten percent of the original cost new of such property. The basic cost approach value for property withdrawn from active use but retained as backup equipment shall be one-half the basic cost approach value otherwise applicable for such property.

- 5. Further depreciation to basic cost approach value.
- (i) Physical deterioration. The appraiser shall consider any evidence presented by the property owner demonstrating physical deterioration that is unusual for the type of personal property being appraised.
- (ii) Functional obsolescence. The appraisal staff shall consider any evidence presented by the property owner demonstrating functional obsolescence for the type of personal property being appraised. One method the appraisal staff may use to determine the amount of functional obsolescence is to trend the original cost new for inflation to arrive at the reproduction cost new, and then deduct the cost of a newer replacement model with similar or improved functionality.
- (iii) Economic obsolescence. The appraisal staff shall consider any evidence presented by the property owner demonstrating economic obsolescence for the type of personal property being appraised. One method the appraisal staff may use to determine the amount of economic obsolescence is to capitalize the difference between the economic rent of an item of personal property before and after the occurrence of the adverse economic influence.
- **(g) Income approach.** The income approach to value estimates the value of personal property by determining the current value of the projected income stream. This approach is most applicable to machinery, equipment, furniture, personal fixtures, and trade fixtures. The approach should only consider the income directly attributable to the personal property being valued and not the income attributable to the real or intangible personal property forming the same business. The appraisal staff may use one of the following methods when using the income approach for the appraisal of applicable personal property:
- 1. Straight-line capitalization method. The straight-line capitalization method estimates the income approach value of personal property by computing the investment necessary to produce the net income attributable to the personal property. In essence, it is determined by first computing the potential gross income for a subject property by taking the monthly rent, when that is the rental basis, and multiplying that total by twelve months. The potential gross income is then adjusted to a net operating income by subtracting any expenses that legitimately represent the costs necessary for production of that income. The net operating income will represent the amount of revenue left after operating expenses that is available to return the investment, pay property tax on the property, and return a profit to the owner.
- (i) Income and expense analysis. While complete data is not required on each individual property, there must be sufficient data to develop typical unit rents, typical collection loss ratios, and typical expense ratios for various type properties. Income and expense figures used in the income approach must reflect current market conditions and typical management. Actual figures may be used when they meet this criterion. When actual figures are not available or appear to be unrepresentative, typical figures should be used. Income and expense analysis builds upon the following important

components: typical unit rent, potential gross rent, collection loss, typical gross income, typical expenses, and typical net income. Excluded are expenses such as depreciation charges, debt service, income taxes, and business expenses not associated with the property.

- (ii) Capitalization. Capitalization involves the conversion of typical net income into an estimate of value. The estimated income is divided by the capitalization rate to arrive the estimated income approach value. The capitalization rate consists of three components. The discount rate, the recapture rate, and the effective tax rate. The discount rate represents the amount of return a prudent investor could reasonably expect on an investment in the subject property. The recapture rate represents the return of the potential investment. The effective tax rate represents the portion of the income stream allocated to pay resulting ad valorem taxes on the property.
- (I) Discount rate. The appraiser should calculate the appropriate discount rate through a method known as the band of investment. The band of investment represents the weighted-average cost of the money needed to purchase the applicable personal property. The appraiser determines the percentage of the cost typically borrowed and multiplies this percentage times the typical cost of borrowing. The appraiser then determines the remaining percentage of the cost typically contributed by an investor and multiplies this percentage times the expected rate of return to the investor. An analysis of similar properties might reveal the discount rate typical for a property of a given type.
- (II) Recapture rate. The appraiser should calculate the recapture rate by dividing one by the number of years remaining in the economic life of the subject property. The resulting percentage is the current year's recapture rate.
- (III) Effective tax rate. The appraiser should calculate the effective tax rate by multiplying the forty percent assessment level times the tax rate in the jurisdiction in which the subject property is located. The effective tax rate is included in the capitalization rate because market value is yet unknown and property taxes can be addressed as a percentage of that unknown value in lieu of their inclusion as an expense in calculation of net annual income.
- 2. Direct sales analysis method. The direct sales analysis method estimates the income approach value of personal property by computing the relationship between income and sales data. This relationship is expressed as a factor. The method represents a blend of the sales comparison and income approaches because it involves application of income data in conjunction with sales data. Sales of items similar to the subject property are divided by the gross rents, for which they or identical properties are leased, to develop gross income multipliers. A gross income multiplier is selected as typical for the market, and multiplied against the gross income of the subject, or that of an identical property, to result in an estimated value. Limiting the income to rental income only produces a gross rental multiplier.
- (i) Gross income or rent multiplier. The appraiser should compute the gross income multiplier by dividing the typical gross income on the personal property by the typical sales price of the personal property. The appraiser should compute the gross rent multiplier by dividing the typical gross rent on the personal property by the typical sales price of the personal property. The appraiser must identify the specific item of personal

property to be valued and determine the typical gross income as gross income is determined in Rule 560-11-10-.08(5)(g)(1)(i). The item is then stratified according to its typical use. Typical use strata may include, but are not limited to, office equipment, light-duty manufacturing equipment, heavy-duty manufacturing equipment, retail sales equipment, furniture, personal fixtures, trade fixtures, restaurant equipment, or any other stratum the appraiser believes will have similar sensitivity to market fluctuations as the subject item. The appraiser may develop an individual multiplier on a single item of personal property when there are sufficient sales and rent information. This multiplier may then be used for similar items of personal property for which there may be limited sales and rent information. The income approach value estimate is computed by multiplying the estimated gross income times the gross income multiplier or the gross rent times the gross rent multiplier.

- (I) Adjustments. Income data and sales prices used in the development of income multipliers should be reasonably current. Older sales may be matched against recent income figures when the sales are adjusted for time. Sales must also be adjusted for financing, condition, optional equipment, and level-of-trade.
- **(6) Final estimate of fair market value.** After completing all calculations, considering the information supplied by the property owner, and considering the reliability of sales, cost, income and expense information, the appraiser will correlate any values indicated by those approaches to value that are deemed to have been appropriate for the subject property and form their opinion of the fair market value. The appraisal staff shall present the resulting proposed assessment, along with all supporting documentation, to the board of tax assessors for an assessment to be made by that board.

# 560-11-10-.09 Real Property Appraisal.

- (1) Real property Introduction. The appraisal staff shall follow the provisions of this Rule when performing their appraisals of real property. Irrespective of the valuation approach used, the result of any appraisal of real property by the appraisal staff shall conform to the definition of fair market value.
- **(a) General valuation procedures.** The appraisal staff shall consider the sales comparison, cost, and income approaches in the appraisal of real property. The degree of dependence on any one approach will change with the availability of reliable data and type of property being appraised. The appraisal staff may express the final fair market value estimate to the board of tax assessors in numbers that are rounded to the nearest hundred dollars.
- **(b) Real property identification.** The appraisal staff shall identify real property, determine its taxability, and classify it for addition to the county ad valorem tax digest in accordance with this subparagraph.

- **1. Distinguishing real property.** The appraiser shall be required to correctly identify real property and distinguish it from personal property where the proper valuation procedures, as set forth in this Rule, may be followed.
- (i) Real property examples. As used in this Rule, real property shall be that property defined in Rule 560-11-10-.02(1)(w). This Rule shall provide illustrations to assist the appraiser in the proper interpretation of the definition. However, these illustrations should not be construed in a manner that conflicts with the definition. Examples of real property are tangible items such as land, all improvements attached to land, real fixtures, and leasehold interests in real property.
- (ii) Identification of real fixtures. When property the appraiser believes to be a real fixture has not been returned by the landlord, the appraiser shall require the landlord to produce their lease agreement and shall carefully review the agreement before making their recommendation to the board of tax assessors regarding the classification and taxability of the property in question. The appraiser shall inform the landlord that they may redact, at their option, any information relating to the payments that are required by the lease agreement.
- **2. Assessment date.** Code section 48-5-10 provides that each return by a property owner shall be for property held and subject to taxation on January 1 of the tax year. The appraisal staff shall base their decisions regarding the taxability, uniform assessment, and valuation of real property on the circumstances of such property on January 1 of the tax year for which the assessment is being prepared. When real property is transferred to a new owner or converted to a new use, the circumstances of such property on January 1 shall nevertheless be considered as controlling.
- **3. Classification.** The appraisal staff shall classify real property as provided in Rule 560-11-2-.21 for inclusion in the county tax digest. Real property may be further stratified and categorized as appropriate for aggregating comparable properties for an appraisal.
- (2) Return of real property. In accordance with Code section 48-5-299 (a), the appraisal staff, on behalf of the board of tax assessors, shall investigate diligently and inquire into the property owned in the county, for the purpose of ascertaining what real and tangible personal property is subject to taxation in the county and to require the proper return of the property for taxation. The appraisal staff shall make such investigation as may be necessary to determine the value of any property upon which for any reason all taxes due the state or the county have not been paid in full as required by law. In all cases where taxes are assessed against the owner of property, the appraisal staff shall prepare a proposed assessment on the property according to the best information obtainable.
- **(a) Information sources.** The appraisal staff should develop and maintain information sources for the discovery of unreturned real property.

- **(b) Returns.** The county appraisal staff shall review the returns in accordance with policies and procedures set by the county board of tax assessors consistent with Georgia law and this Rule. Each year, after the deadline for filing returns, the appraisal staff shall secure the returns from the official responsible for receiving returns on or before the tenth day following such deadline.
- **1. New returns.** Department of Revenue form PT-50R is authorized for use by property owners when returning real property. No other form shall be provided for this purpose to property owners by the county official responsible for receiving returns unless previously approved in writing by the Revenue Commissioner.
- **2. Automatic returns.** In accordance with Code section 48-5-20, the appraisal staff shall deem any property owner that does not file a return by the deadline as returning for taxation the same property as was returned or deemed to have been returned in the preceding tax year at the same valuation as the property was finally determined to be subject to taxation in the preceding year.
- **3. Real estate transfer declaration forms.** The Department of Revenue has established Form PT-61 for owners to declare the real estate transfer tax due when property is transferred from one owner to another. The appraisal staff shall review all PT-61 forms filed with the clerk of superior court to discover new owners of property and to ascertain if their property has been returned for taxation. When a property owner acquires real property by transfer in the preceding tax year and does not file a return on such property for the current tax year, the appraisal staff shall follow the procedures of this subparagraph to determine if the newly acquired property has been properly returned for taxation.
- (i) When real estate transfer tax declaration form properly completed. For the purposes of subparagraph (2)(b)(3) of this Rule, the PT-61 form shall be deemed properly completed when all applicable information required by the instructions on the form has been entered on the form, it has been signed by the new owner and filed in quadruplicate with the clerk of superior court. A PT-61 form shall not be deemed properly completed when the appraisal staff determines any of the required information on the form is omitted, false, or misleading.
- (ii) When transferred property deemed returned. When a property owner acquires by transfer real property that has not been subdivided from the preceding tax year, and such owner properly completes a real estate transfer tax PT-61 form and pays any real estate transfer tax that may be due as provided in Article 1 of Chapter 6 of Title 48 of the Code, the appraisal staff shall deem the owner as having returned the property acquired by transfer at the same value finally determined to be applicable to such property for the preceding year.
- (iii) When transferred property deemed unreturned. The appraisal staff shall not deem as returned any property:

- (I) That is an improvement made since January 1 of the preceding tax year to property that has been transferred:
- (II) That has been transferred and for which the real estate transfer tax PT-61 form has not been properly completed;
- (III) That has been transferred and for which the real estate transfer tax PT-61 form has not been filed with the clerk of superior court on or before the deadline for returning property in the year following the year the property is transferred; and
- (IV) That has been transferred and for which the real estate transfer tax has not been paid.
- **(c) Reassessments.** The appraisal staff may not recommend to the board of tax assessors a reassessment of the same real property for which a final assessment has already been made by the board. For the purposes of this subsection, the appraisal staff shall presume that a final assessment on real property includes both the land and any improvements to the land.
- 1. Recently appealed real property. The appraisal staff shall observe the provisions of Code section 48-5-299 (c) and this subparagraph before recommending a change to the assessment of real property that was the subject of an appeal on either the immediately preceding tax digest or the next immediately preceding tax digest. Such property shall be designated in the appraisal staff's records as recently appealed property for the two tax years following the year of the appeal. This subparagraph shall not apply when such property has been returned by the taxpayer at a value different from the appeal-established value.
- 2. (i) Changing assessment of recently appealed real property. In the two tax years following an appeal, the appraisal staff may not recommend a change an increase of assessment for the sole purpose of changing the valuation established or decision rendered in an appeal to the board of equalization, hearing officer, arbitration, or superior court. Rather a new appraisal must be accompanied by an on-site inspection to determine the occurrence of any changes to the property substantial additions, deletions, or improvements to such property, errors in the appraisal staff's records or changes in the market forces affecting the value of the property material factors that substantially affect the current value of such property since the appeal was heard that established the value of the property. The appraisal staff may recommend, consistent with the provisions of this subparagraph, to the board of tax assessors a change of assessment on the property that was the subject of the appeal when an appraisal based on current market conditions indicates the value has changed substantially from the value established by the recent appeal. Such appraisal shall be accompanied by a written statement attesting to the fact that an appraiser has conducted the required on-site inspection of the subject property and setting forth the reasons why the appraiser believes that a change of assessment is authorized under Code section 48-5-299 (c) and this subparagraph. The written statement shall attest to at least one of the following: substantial additions, deletions, or improvements to such property construction or renovation of the subject property has occurred since January 1 of the appeal year; an error has been discovered in the property records regarding the description or

characteristics of the subject property; or an occurrence of other material factors that substantially affect the current fair market value of the subject property. With respect to the term 'substantial'; when making determinations of whether to increase a recently appealed property the appraiser shall consider the subject property components since the time of the appeal(appeal hearing date), such as the value of new improvements, value of additions to existing improvements (footprint of exchanged structure has been altered), major remodeling or renovations to existing structures (footprint of exchanged structure has not been altered), and adjustments to land due to consolidation of tracts, new surveys, zoning changes, land use changes. In the event an appealed property is renovated or remodeled, the term substantial shall be construed such that both the property owner and BOA would reasonably conclude a major renovation/remodeling has occurred. Any modifications made to the appealed property after the appeal hearing date that result in a lower value of the appealed property shall be considered in the final valuation of property for the subsequent January 1 assessment.

- (d) Collecting and maintaining property information. The appraisal staff shall keep a record of information relevant to the ownership and valuation of all real property in the county and shall follow the procedures in this subparagraph when collecting and maintaining such real property data.
- **1. Description of property information.** The type of information the appraisal staff shall maintain includes, but is not limited to, property ownership, location, size, use, physical characteristics, sales prices, construction costs, rents, and operating expenses to the extent such information is available. The appraisal staff shall, consistent with this subparagraph, recommend to the board of tax assessors a uniform policy regarding the information to be included in their records.
- (i) Geographic information. Cadastral maps or computerized geographic information systems are to be maintained by the appraisal staff for all real property located in the county. In the event the county governing authority has established a separate mapping office and the maps maintained by such office conform with the requirements of this subparagraph, the appraisal staff may provide relevant information to such mapping office be in compliance with this subparagraph. Minimum specifications shall include the following: all streets and roads plotted and identified; property lines delineated for each real property parcel; unique parcel identifier for each parcel; and physical dimensions or acreage estimate for each parcel. The appraisal staff shall use the parcel identifiers to link the real property records to the maps. The appraisal staff shall notify the Revenue Commissioner of all proposed changes to existing parcel-numbering systems before implementing such changes.
- (ii) Sales information. The appraisal staff shall maintain a record of all sales of real property that are available and occur within the county. The appraisal staff should also familiarize themselves with overall market trends within their immediate geographical area of the state. They should collect and analyze sales data from other jurisdictions having market and usage conditions similar to their county for consideration when insufficient sales exist in the county to evaluate a property type, especially large acreage tracts. The Real Estate Transfer Tax document, Department of Revenue Form

- PT-61, shall be a primary record source. However, the appraisal staff may also review deeds of transfer and security deeds recorded in the Office of the Superior Court Clerk, and probated wills recorded in the Office of the Probate Judge to maintain a record of relevant information relating to the sale or transfer of real property. Records required to be maintained shall include at a minimum the following information: map and parcel identifier; sale date; sale price; buyer's name; seller's name; deed book and page number; vacant or improved; number of acres or other measure of the land; representativeness of sale using the confirming criteria provided in Rule 560-11-2-.56 (1)(d); any income and expense information reasonably available from public records; property classification as provided in Rule 560-11-2-.21, and; when available, the appraised value for the tax year immediately following the year in which the sale occurred
- (iii) Property characteristics. The appraisal staff shall maintain a record of real property characteristics. This record shall include, but not be limited to, sufficient property characteristics to classify and value the property. In addition, the following criteria may be considered when determining which characteristics should be gathered and maintained: factors that influence the market in the location being considered; requirements of the valuation approach being employed; digest classification and stratification; requirements of other governmental and private users; and marginal benefits and costs of collecting and maintaining each property characteristic.
- **(iv) Land and location characteristics.** The appraisal staff shall maintain a record of the land and location characteristics. The record should include, but not be limited to, location, frontage, width, depth, shape, size, topography, landscaping, slope, view, drainage, hydrology, off-site improvements, soil condition, soil productivity, zoning, absorption, nuisances, use, covenants, neighborhood, corner influence, proximity to recreational water, and quality of access.
- **(v) Improvement characteristics.** The appraisal staff shall maintain a record of the characteristics of the improvements to land. The record shall include, but not be limited to, the location, size, actual use, design, construction quality, construction materials, age and observed condition.
- **2. Collecting property information.** The appraisal staff shall, consistent with the policies of the board of tax assessors and this subparagraph, physically inspect properties when necessary to gather the information required by Rule 560-11-10-.09(2)(d).
- (i) Field inspections. The appraisal staff shall develop and present to the board of tax assessors for approval procedures that provide for periodic field inspections to identify properties and ensure that property characteristics information is complete and accurate. The procedures shall include guidelines for the physical inspection of the property by either appraisers or specially trained data collectors. The format should be designed for standardization, consistency, objectivity, completeness, easy use in the field, and should facilitate later entry into a computer assisted mass appraisal system, when one is used. When interior information is required, the procedures shall include guidelines on how and when to seek access to the property along with alternative procedures when such access is not permitted or feasible.

- **3. Maintaining property characteristics information.** The appraisal staff shall systematically update the property characteristics information in response to changes brought about by new construction, new parcels, remodeling, demolition, and destruction. The appraisal staff shall physically measure and update their records to reflect all such changes to real properties in the county.
- **4. Records retention schedules.** The appraisal staff shall develop, in accordance with the provisions of Code section 50-18-99, records retention schedules for each series of documents maintained in their office and have such schedules approved by the board of tax assessors before submitting the schedules to the State Records Committee for official approval pursuant to Code section 50-18-92.
- (i) Building permits. In counties that issue building permits, no appraisal shall be based solely on declarations of proposed construction cost made by the person obtaining such building permits.
- (ii) Aerial photographs. New aerial photographs should be compared to previous aerial photographs, if such photographs exist, to discover new or previously unrecorded construction.
- (iii) Field review frequency. All real property parcels should be physically reviewed at least once every three years to ascertain that property information records are current.
- (3) Land valuation. The appraisal staff shall estimate land values by use of the sales comparison or income approach to value as provided in this subparagraph giving preference to the sales comparison approach when adequate land sales are available. The appraisal staff shall identify and describe the property, collect site-specific information, make a study of trends and factors influencing value and obtain a physical measurement of the site. Once the subject is analyzed, the appraisal staff shall classify the land for valuation. Once land values have been estimated, such appraisals should be regularly reviewed and updated.
- (a) Land analysis and stratification. The appraisal staff shall appraise land separately from the improvements both to consider the trends and factors affecting each and to arrive at a separate assessment for the digest. In no event, however, may the separate appraisals of the land and improvements exceed the fair market value of the land and improvements when considered as a whole. For appraisal purposes, land shall be separated into different categories based on its use and sales within the market.
- 1. Site analysis. The appraisal staff shall utilize the trends and factors affecting the value of the subject property, such as its accessibility and desirability. The existing zoning, existing use, existing covenants and use restrictions in the deed and in law shall be applied. The other factors the appraiser shall apply include, but are not limited to, environmental, economic, governmental, and social factors. Site-specific information that may be considered includes, but is not limited to, location, frontage, width, depth, shape, size, topography, landscaping, slope, view, drainage, hydrology, off-site

improvements, soil condition, soil productivity, zoning, absorption, nuisances, use, covenants, neighborhood, corner influence, proximity to recreational water, and the quality of access.

- **2. Market research and verification.** The appraisal staff shall build and maintain an up-to-date file system of qualified sales as provided in Rule 560-11-10-.09(2)(d)(1)(ii). Other preferred information to be considered is the motivations of the buyer and seller, as obtained from actual interviews of the parties to the sales. Adjustments to the sales to be considered by the appraiser include, but are not limited to, time of sale; location; physical characteristics; partial interest not conveyed; trades or exchanges included; personal property included; leases assumed; incomplete or unbuilt community property; atypical financing; existing covenants; deed restrictions; environmental, economic, governmental and social factors affecting the sale property and the subject parcel. These adjusted qualified sales may then be used to appraise the subject property.
- **(b) Acreage tract valuation.** The appraisal staff shall determine the small acreage break point to differentiate between small acreage tracts and large acreage tracts and develop or acquire schedules for the valuation of each. When this small acreage break point cannot easily be determined, the appraisal staff shall recommend to the board of tax assessors a reasonable break point of not less than five acres nor more than twenty-five acres. The base land schedules should be applicable to all land types in a county. The documentation prepared by the appraisal staff should clearly demonstrate how the land schedule is applied and explain its limitations.
- 1. Small acreage tract valuation schedule. After the appraisal staff has performed the site analysis, as provided in Rule 560-11-10-.09(3)(a)(1), they shall analyze the market to identify groups of comparable properties that may be combined in the valuation process, as provided in Rule 560-11-10-.09(4)(b)(3). The appraisal staff shall then analyze the sales to establish a representative base price per acre, and adjustment factors for reflecting value added by the characteristics discovered in the site analysis. Using such base value and the adjustment factors, the appraisal staff shall develop the small acreage schedule for all acreage levels through the small acreage break point.
- **2. Large acreage tract valuation schedule.** After the appraisal staff has performed the site analysis, as provided in Rule 560-11-10-.09(3)(a)(1), they shall analyze the market to identify groups of comparable properties that may be combined in the valuation process, as provided in Rule 560-11-10-.09(4)(b)(3). The appraisal staff shall then analyze the sales to establish a representative benchmark price per acre, and adjustment values for reflecting incremental value associated with different productivity levels, sizes, and locations, as discovered in the site analysis. Using such benchmark values and adjustment values, the appraisal staff shall develop the large acreage schedule for all acreage levels above the small acreage break point.
- (i) Land productivity values. The appraisal staff should analyze sales of large acreage tracts to extract the value of all improvements, crop allotments, standing timber, and any

other factors that influence the value above the base land value. The appraisal staff should then stratify the sales into two categories of open land and woodland. The base land values should be further stratified into up to nine productivity grades for each category of land, with grade one being the best, using the productivity classifications of the United States Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation Service, where available. Where soil productivity information is not available, the appraisal staff may consult with the local United States Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation Service Supervisor. Alternately, the appraisal staff may use any acceptable means by which to determine soil productivity grades including, but not limited to, aerial and infrared photography, historical soil productivity information, and present use. The appraisal staff should analyze sales within the strata and determine benchmark values for as many productivity grades as possible. The missing strata values are then determined by extrapolating between grades. In the absence of sufficient benchmark values, a system of productivity factors may be developed from crop or timber production based on ratings provided by the United States Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation Service.

- (ii) Pond values. The appraisal staff should analyze sales of large acreage tracts containing ponds to extract the value of ponds. The appraisal staff should develop up to three grades of ponds based upon the quality of construction with regard to the dam, the amount of tree clearing within the pond body, and the nature of the waterline around the pond.
- (iii) Location and size adjustments. The appraisal staff should plot sales on an index map of the county where trends in sales prices based on size and location may be analyzed. From this analysis, the appraisal staff should develop adjustments for each homogeneous market area, which are based on a tract's location within the county. Within each identified homogeneous market area, sales should also be analyzed to develop adjustment factors for ranges of tract sizes where the market reflects a relationship between the value per acre and the number of acres in a tract. Such factors should be calculated to the fourth decimal place and should extend from the small acreage break point to the tract acreage point where size no longer appears to have a significant impact on the price paid per acre. The appraiser should select an acreage point between these two points that represents a typical agricultural use tract size and assign it an index factor value of 1.0000. Such adjustments should be supported by clearly identifiable changes in selling prices per acre. Finally, large acreage tracts that have sold within the most recent 24 months, unless no such sale has occurred in which case the look back period should be 48 months, should be appraised using the schedule of adjustment factors and a sales ratio study performed to test for uniformity and conformity of the schedule to Rule 560-11-2-.56, and if the schedule thus conforms, the adjustments shall then be applied to all other large acreage tracts that are within the scope of the schedule being tested.
- (iv) Adjustments for absorption When insufficient large tract sales are available to create a reliable schedule of factors, the appraisal staff may use comparable sales to develop values for the size tracts for which comparables exist, and then adjust these values for larger tracts by (1) estimating a rate of absorption for the smaller tracts for which data exists, (2) dividing the large tract into smaller, marketable sections, (3) developing a sales schedule with estimated income by year reflecting the absorption

rate and the value characteristics of each of the smaller tracts, (4) discounting the income schedule to the present using an appropriate discount rate, and (5) summing the resulting values to arrive at an estimated value for the property.

- (v) Standing Timber Value Extraction. When determining the market value of land underlying standing timber, where such standing timber is taxed in accordance with Code section 48-5-7.5, the appraiser shall not rely exclusively on the sales prices of such land that has recently had the timber harvested. Rather he or she shall also consider sales of land with standing timber after the value of such standing timber has been determined in accordance with this subparagraph and deducted from the selling price.
- (I) Determine timber value from buyer and seller. For all types of timber, the value of the standing timber on recently sold land should be determined from reliable information from the buyer and seller clearly segregating the value of the standing timber from the underlying land. In the absence of such information, the appraiser may use one of the following methods to determine the value of the standing timber if in his or her judgment the results are reasonably consistent with other sales where buyer and seller information is known:
- **I. Calculate value of merchantable timber.** For all types of merchantable timber, the value of the standing timber may be determined by multiplying estimated volumes by product class, such as softwood and hardwood pulpwood, chip and saw logs, saw timber, poles, posts, and fuel wood, of timber on the property by prices for each product class as obtained from the table of weighted average prices paid for harvested timber applicable to the year during which the sale occurred and prepared by the Commissioner pursuant to paragraph (g) of Code section 48-5-7.5. For the purposes of this subparagraph, merchantable timber shall include stands that have been in production for more than fifteen years. Estimated volumes by product class may be obtained by one of the following methods: reliable information from the buyer or seller or from specially trained data collectors who have estimated volumes from a visual on-site inspection or from an aerial survey.
- **II. Calculate value of pre-merchantable planted pine timber.** For pre-merchantable planted pine timber, the value of the standing timber may be determined by estimating the value of the timber at the age of merchantability and then prorating this value to the actual age of the pre-merchantable stand. The appraiser may arrive at this estimate using the following steps:
- A. For each applicable timber product class, multiply the estimated tons of timber volume yield per acre for each product class at the age of merchantability times the locally prevailing timber price per ton of such product classes. Sum the individual results of the timber product class calculations into a single result.
- (A) In the absence of reliable locally prevailing timber price per ton information, the appraiser may use timber price per ton from the table of weighted average prices paid

for harvested timber prepared by the Commissioner pursuant to paragraph (g) of Code section 48-5-7.5.

(B) In the absence of specific yield information to the contrary, the appraiser may estimate timber volume yields at an average yield of 52.2 tons per acre or preferably by using the land productivity classifications established by Rule 560-11-10-.09(3)(b)(2)(i) and the following tables of estimated yields of fully stocked planted timber stands at age fifteen, and then adjusting the yields according to the actual stocking density of the timber stand.

Loblolly Pine – Lower Coastal Plain

Georgia Tax Productivity Rating	Georgia Tax S Adjusted Site Index Range	Site Index Used For Growth Projections			Chip-n-Saw
1	90 – 101	96	139	125	14
2	85 – 89	87	110	99	11
3	81 – 84	83	98	88	10
4	80	80	90	81	9
5	75 – 79	77	81	73	8
6	70 – 74	72	69	66	3
7	60 - 69	65	53	51	2
8	10 – 59	45	19	19	0
9	0 - 9	0	0	-	-

# Loblolly Pine – Upper Coastal Plain

Georgia Tax Georgia Tax Site Index Used Tons/Acre

Productivity Rating	Adjusted Site	For Growth Projections	@ Age 15	Pulpwood (	Chip-n-Saw
	Index Range				
1	90 – 101	96	129	116	13
2	85 – 89	87	103	93	10
3	81 – 84	83	93	84	9
4	80	80	85	77	8
5	75 – 79	77	78	70	8
6	70 – 74	72	67	63	4
7	60 - 69	65	52	49	3
8	10 – 59	45	18	18	0
9	0 - 9	0	0	-	-

# Loblolly Pine - Piedmont

Georgia Tax Georgia Tax Site Index Used Tons/Acre

Productivity Rating	Adjusted Site Index Range	For Growth Projections	@ Age 15	Pulpwood	Chip-n-Saw
4	· ·	0.0	400	444	40
1	90 – 101	96	123	111	12
2	85 - 89	87	98	88	10
3	81 – 84	83	88	79	9
4	80	80	81	73	8
5	75 – 79	77	74	66	8
6	70 – 74	72	62	59	3
7	60 - 69	65	48	46	2
8	10 – 59	45	17	17	0
9	0 - 9	0	0	-	-

Slash Pine - Lower Coastal Plain

Coordia	Tav	Coordia	Tav	Sito	Indov	Llcod	Tons/Acre	
Georgia	ıax	Georgia	Tax	SILE	muex	USEU	TOHS/ACIE	

Productivity Rating	Adjusted Site Index Range	For Growth Projections	@ Age 15	Pulpwood (	Chip-n-Saw
1	90 – 101	96	155	139	16
2	85 - 89	87	114	103	11
3	81 – 84	83	98	88	10
4	80	80	87	78	9
5	75 – 79	77	77	69	8
6	70 – 74	72	61	58	3
7	60 - 69	65	42	40	2
8	10 – 59	45	11	11	0
9	0 - 9	0	0	-	-

# Slash Pine – Upper Coastal Plain

Georgia Tax Georgia Tax Site Index Used Tons/Acre

Productivity Rating	•	For Growth Projections			Chip-n-Saw
1	90 – 101	96	150	135	15
2	85 – 89	87	113	102	11
3	81 – 84	83	99	89	10
4	80	80	87	78	9
5	75 – 79	77	77	69	8
6	70 - 74	72	62	59	3
7	60 – 69	65	43	41	2
8	10 – 59	45	12	12	0
9	0 - 9	0	0	-	-

- (C) In the absence of reliable local information on typical timber product class volume yields at the age of merchantability, the appraiser may assume that ninety percent (90%) of the timber will be pulpwood and ten percent (10%) will be chip-n-saw.
- B. Multiply the result in subparagraph A. by the number of acres of pre-merchantable timberland.
- C. Deduct from the result in subparagraph B. the normal cost to establish a timber stand on cut over woodland, which shall be known as the base value. Normal cost may be determined from planters, local site preparation and planning contractors and other reliable
- D. Divide the result in subparagraph C. by the age of merchantability to determine the average annual timber growth value. In the absence of reliable local information to the contrary, the age of merchantability shall be fifteen years.
- E. Multiply the result in subparagraph D. by the actual age of the standing timber to arrive at the value of the accumulated timber growth.
- F. Add back the base value deducted in subparagraph C. to the result in subparagraph E. to yield the total value of the pre-merchantable standing timber.
- **III. Determine value of other pre-merchantable timber.** For types of pre-merchantable timber other than planted pine, the value of the standing timber may be determined from the best information available. In the absence of local reliable information to the contrary, the value of other pre-merchantable timber may be estimated as follows:
- A. Natural stands less than five years of age should be assigned no value.
- B. Natural pre-merchantable stands five years of age and older should be valued in the same manner as planted pine timber is valued, except the appraiser should make no adjustments for the base cost of establishing the timber stand; yields for natural pine stands should be estimated at fifty percent of the volume determined for a planted pine stand; and yields for hardwood stands should be estimated at forty percent of the value determined for a planted pine stand.
- **(c) Site valuation.** The appraisal staff may use the valuation methods in this subparagraph to appraise sites that have been developed for residential, commercial or industrial use.
- **1. Valuation methods with sufficient sales.** The appraisal staff shall use one, or a combination of more than one, of the valuation methods in this subparagraph when

sufficient sales are available to reliably support the appraisal. These methods may be used to value the land directly.

- (i) Comparative unit method. To use the comparative unit method, the appraisal staff shall stratify the land sales into a stratum comparable in market area or use type to the subject parcel. The appraiser then determines a land comparison unit by which the subject parcel is normally bought and sold in the market place and converts the sales price of the comparable properties to an typical per comparison unit value, using the median measure of central tendency. Per-measurement-unit, lump sum, and percentage adjustments are then made as needed to reflect the value of subject land features that differ from the base land features. The appraiser may use one of the following five basic comparison units: front foot, square foot, acre, site or lot, and units buildable. The appraisal staff may rely upon the comparative unit method for areas where parcels vary in size but are fairly homogeneous in other aspects, as opposed to areas where the sites are similar in size but vary substantially in site characteristics. The reliability of the analysis should be verified by a calculation of the coefficient of dispersion and the price related differential. These statistical indicators should fall within the standards of Rule 560-11-2-.56 before the appraiser relies upon the selected sales to appraise the subject parcel.
- (ii) Base lot method. To use the base lot method, the appraisal staff shall appraise the base parcel in each stratum using the comparative unit method, with the base lot serving as the subject parcel. Once the base-lot's appraised value is established, it is used as a benchmark to appraise other individual parcels. The appraiser may use the base-lot method when the site characteristics are generally similar. Adjustments shall be developed using paired-sales analysis or other forms of market research. Then, the appraiser shall adjust the comparables to the base lot, calculate the measure of central tendency, and select a representative base-lot appraised value. The reliability of the analysis may be verified by a calculation of the coefficient of dispersion and the price related differential. These statistical indicators should fall within the standards of Rule 560-11-2-.56 before the appraiser relies upon the selected sales to select a base-lot appraised value.
- (iii) Cost-of-development method. To use the cost-of-development method, the appraisal staff shall estimate the total development costs and subtract these costs from the projected sales prices of the developed lots to indicate the appraised value for the raw land. The projected improvements must represent the most probable use of the land. Estimated costs should include the direct costs of site preparation, utility hookups, all indirect costs, and a reasonable allowance for owner profit. The appraiser may use this method to directly value land in transition from agricultural use to residential or commercial use when there are insufficient sales to apply the comparative unit or base lot methods.
- 2. Valuation methods with insufficient sales. When vacant land sales are limited, the appraisal staff may use alternative methods to determine residual land values. These residual land values may be used in the same way as vacant land sales in order to establish comparative unit or base lot values. The appraisal staff shall not use these

methods to establish land values directly. The alternative methods that may be used are allocation, abstraction, capitalization of ground rent, and land residual capitalization.

- (i) Allocation method. Using this method, the appraisal staff estimates the typical percentage of combined land and improvement value attributable to the land alone. This land percentage estimate should be based on knowledge of the market for properties of the class being appraised and the appraiser should take into consideration the site value in previous years before being improved, the land-to-improvement ratios in similar neighborhoods, and an analysis of new construction on similarly classified sites.
- (ii) Abstraction method. Using this method, the appraisal staff estimates the land residual value by subtracting the depreciated replacement cost of improvements from the sale price of an improved property.
- (iii) Capitalization of ground rents method. Using this method, the appraisal staff determines the market rent of the subject site, computes a net income, selects a capitalization rate, and computes the present worth of the future benefits of the subject parcel. The appraiser should not use this method when there is insufficient market information available to estimate the income potential of the subject parcel.
- (iv) Land residual capitalization method. Using this method, the appraisal staff develops the annual net operating income attributable to the property and develops capitalization rates for both the land and the improvements to the land. The estimated improvement value is multiplied by the improvement capitalization rate and the result is deducted from the forecasted annual net operating annual income. The remaining income, the residual amount attributable to the land, is then capitalized, using the land capitalization rate, into a value indicator for the land. The appraiser should only use the land residual capitalization method on new income-producing improved properties either when the improvement has little or no observed depreciation of any kind and a well-supported improvement value can be developed, or when an improvement can be hypothesized and its cost and net operating income reliably estimated.
- **3. Special procedures.** The appraisal staff shall observe the special procedures contained in this subparagraph when appraising the described property types.
- (i) Transitional land. The appraisal staff shall analyze any unusual sale amount for a single parcel of land that seems to indicate a transition from one type land use to another type land use, such as from agricultural to residential or from residential to commercial and conversely. The appraisal staff should consider that a single sale might not necessarily indicate a changing market. The appraisal staff should analyze such sales to ensure that the new use is clearly indicated by a pattern of sales before qualifying and adjusting such sales for use as comparables for appraising the remaining comparable land.
- (ii) Absorption rates. When appraising a new subdivision, the appraisal staff shall use discounted cash-flow analysis in conjunction with the cost-of-development method to appraise the unsold parcels when it is anticipated that the parcels will require several more years of exposure to the market to sell. The appraisal staff may consider typical holding periods, marketing, and management practices when estimating anticipated revenues and allowable expenses.

- (4) Improvement valuation. Except as provided in subparagraph (a) of this subparagraph, the appraisal staff will use the following three approaches when appraising real property: the direct sales comparison approach, the cost approach, and the income approach. In determining the reliability and representativeness of each approach or combination of approaches, the appraisal staff shall consider those factors most likely to influence buyers and sellers when those buyers and sellers are determining exchange prices in the market place, and the sufficiency of available sales, cost, income and expense information to reliably quantify those factors. However, irrespective of the valuation approach used, the final results of any appraisal of real property by the appraisal staff shall in all instances comply with the definition of fair market value in Code section 48-5-2.
- (a) Cost approach. The appraisal staff shall use the following three steps when applying the cost approach: Estimate the cost new of the improvements, subtract accrued depreciation, and add the value of the land.
- **1. Estimating cost new.** In estimating the cost new of any buildings, structures, or other improvements to land, the appraisal staff shall consider the following:
- (i) Types of costs. The appraisal staff shall include both direct and indirect costs that would be incurred to build and market the property, including normal overhead and profit. The approach would normally produce the replacement cost. The appraisal staff may consider the reproduction cost, and adjust for depreciation accordingly, when appraising an unusual or special-purpose property.
- (I) Comparative unit method. Unless otherwise provided under Rule 560-11-10-.09(4)(a)(1)(i), the appraisal staff shall determine benchmark per-square-foot, per-cubic-foot, or other per-measurement-unit costs for base structures using cost guides or local cost information. Such benchmark per-measurement-unit costs may then be applied to the subject improvements to determine typical replacement cost new. Per- measurement-unit, lump sum, and percentage adjustments are then made as needed to reflect the value of subject improvements features that differ from the base structures. All forms of depreciation are then applied as a lump sum factor based on the age and useful life of the subject improvements.
- (II) Unit-in-place method. The appraisal staff may use the unit-in-place method when making adjustments in the comparative unit method. This method determines costs of individual construction components on a per-measurement-unit, in-place basis. The total cost of each component of the subject improvement is then found by multiplying the various per-measurement-unit costs by the number of actual measurement units installed in the subject improvement. The appraisal staff may also use this method when estimating costs for unusual or special-purpose improvements, in which case the component costs would be summed and combined with applicable indirect costs to obtain an estimate of the total replacement cost new of the subject improvements. All forms of depreciation are then applied as a lump sum factor based on the age and useful life of the subject improvements
- (III) Quantity survey method. The appraisal staff may separately itemize all various labor, material, and indirect costs when it is desirable to produce the reproduction cost

- new. All forms of depreciation are then applied separately based on the physical deterioration, functional obsolescence, and economic obsolescence observed by the appraiser. The appraisal staff may use this method in the development and trending of comparative unit and unit-in-place costs.
- (IV) Trended original cost method. When determining the cost of structures where the comparative unit or unit-in-place methods are inapplicable, the appraisal staff may trend the original costs over time by factors obtained from a construction cost index guide. The appraisal staff shall not use this method when the original cost figures are not accurate or complete.
- (ii) Sources of cost information. The appraisal staff may obtain cost information by directly collecting information from contractors, builders, developers, property owners, and other market place participants. Cost information may be obtained from firms that compile and publish construction information, with the appraisal staff supplementing or modifying such information with locally gathered cost information. The appraisal staff may obtain cost manuals specifically developed for the county by construction cost services and mass appraisal firms.
- (iii) **Updating costs.** Cost information shall be updated by the appraisal staff as necessary to reasonably reflect current construction costs for the various construction classes. Indexing may be used in the short term to update cost information, but in no event shall the appraisal staff rely on indexing alone for more than three years.
- **(iv) Location modifiers.** The appraisal staff shall develop base construction cost tables. Modifiers, in the form of factors to be applied to the cost tables, may then be developed for areas to reflect local market conditions. Different sets of modifiers may be necessary to reflect the market for different property types within a county.
- (v) Cost models. The appraisal staff shall develop or acquire representative cost models that contain the manual or automated cost factor tables used in the cost approach. The models should be applicable to all building types in a county and be based on actual updated costs as defined in Rule 560-11-10-.09(4)(a)(1)(iii). The models should clearly identify included indirect costs, contain depreciation estimation guidelines, and provide for systematic cost estimation on manual or automated forms. The documentation prepared by the appraisal staff should clearly demonstrate how the cost model is applied and explain its limitations.
- **2. Estimating depreciation.** The appraisal staff shall estimate the depreciation by determining the difference between replacement or reproduction cost new and the current market value of an improvement. This determination shall require an analysis by the appraiser of physical deterioration, functional obsolescence and economic obsolescence present, keeping in mind that physical deterioration and functional obsolescence may include curable and incurable components. The appraiser may estimate depreciation as a total amount or as a percentage of replacement or reproduction cost new. Improvements with special circumstances may be treated on an exception basis. The appraisal staff shall use the effective age of improvements, when different from the actual age, when estimating depreciation. The methods the appraisal staff may use to estimate depreciation include, but are not limited to, the following four methods:

- (i) Sales comparison method. To apply the sales comparison method, the appraisal staff develops estimates of total depreciation from market-derived schedules. To develop such schedules, the appraiser stratifies the sales information by type of construction and other relevant features. The appraiser then computes building residuals by deducting estimated land values from the sales prices and expressing the building residuals as a percentage of replacement cost new. The resulting "percent good" factors are then plotted against the effective ages of the properties to develop the depreciation tables. This method may be used when current representative and adequate sales information is readily available.
- (ii) Age/Life method. To apply the age/life method, the appraisal staff develops estimates of physical deterioration and normal functional obsolescence using a simple sliding scale or straight-line calculation and then applies any necessary adjustments for additional functional or economic obsolescence. This method may be used when current representative and adequate sales information is not readily available.
- (I) Capitalization of income method. To apply the capitalization of income method, the appraisal staff uses income-based appraisals in place of sales and applies these appraisals to the sales comparison method to develop estimates of total depreciation.
- (II) Observed condition method. To apply the observed condition method, the appraisal staff breaks down depreciation into all its various component parts. This method requires detailed analysis of all forms of depreciation and is generally reserved for "model building," special use properties, or when raised by a property owner during the course of an appeal.
- **(b) Sales comparison approach.** When using the sales comparison approach, the appraisal staff shall estimate value by comparing the subject property to similar properties that have recently sold. The appraisal staff shall use the following four steps when applying the sales comparison approach: market research and verification, selecting appropriate units of comparison, making reasonable adjustments based on the market, and applying the adjusted comparison units to the subject of the appraisal.
- **1. General considerations.** The appraisal staff shall consider the following when applying the sales comparison approach:
- (i) Bona fide sales preferred. A bona fide sale of a subject property should be carefully analyzed by the appraisal staff to determine if it is an accurate indicator of such subject property's fair market value. When such a sale is supported by sufficient other sales of similar property to reasonably estimate the market, the appraisal staff shall consider the sale as the best evidence of fair market value. In the absence of such a sale of the subject, sales prices of comparable properties shall be considered the best evidence of fair market value.

- (ii) Economic principles affecting approach. When applying the sales comparison approach, the appraisal staff shall rely upon the economic principles of supply and demand, substitution, and contribution. The interaction of supply and demand factors determines property prices. The principle of substitution states that a prudent buyer will pay no more for a property than for a comparable property with similar utility. The principle of contribution as applied to the sales comparison approach means the value of a property component is measured by its contribution to the whole rather than by its cost.
- **2. Market research and verification.** The appraisal staff shall build and maintain an up-to-date file system of qualified sales as provided in Rule 560-11-10-.09(2)(d)(1)(ii). Other preferred information to be considered is the motivations of the buyer and seller, as obtained from actual interviews of the parties to the sales. Adjustments to the sales to be considered by the appraiser include, but are not limited to, time of sale; location; physical characteristics; partial interest not conveyed; trades or exchanges included; personal property included; leases included; incomplete or unbuilt community property; atypical financing; existing covenants; deed restrictions; environmental, economic, governmental and social factors affecting the sale property and the subject parcel. These adjusted qualified sales may then be used to appraise the subject parcel.
- **3. Market analysis and stratification.** The appraisal staff shall analyze the market to identify groups of comparable properties that may be combined in the valuation process. Properties may be combined and classified to reflect use, location, neighborhood, or other comparison criteria that have been shown to reflect the interest of buyers and sellers.
- **4. Comparable sales analysis.** When applying the analysis, the appraisal staff should identify a representative number of comparable properties that have recently sold, apply the adjustments indicated by the market research and verification process to such comparables, and then adjust such comparables for physical differences from the subject property. The appraiser may then develop an estimated value of the subject property from the adjusted sales prices of the comparable properties. This process may be computer assisted in a mass appraisal environment.
- **5. Sales ratio applications.** The appraisal staff shall conduct sales ratio studies to periodically measure the quality of their appraisals relative to the market. Such studies should be designed to measure whether appraisals meet the overall legal standards provided in Rule 560-11-2-.56 and provide more precise analysis of the quality of appraisals within and between market strata used by the appraisal staff to compare properties. When sales ratio studies reveal excessive inequities within a stratum, the appraisal staff should consider reappraising the properties in the stratum. When such studies reveal excessive inequities between strata, and there is acceptable uniformity within the strata, the appraisal staff should consider trending to correct this uniformity problem.
- (i) Trending. The appraisal staff shall use the procedures in this subparagraph when applying trend factors to improve uniformity. Stratify properties by property type and neighborhood. Determine the measure of central tendency by computing the median assessment ratio, substituting the aggregate gatio when the properties in the stratum tend

to be heterogeneous. Then divide the legal assessment ratio by the calculated measure of central tendency to calculate the trend factor. The appraisal staff should not apply trending factors in excess of 1.15. In such instances, the appraisal staff should correct intra-strata differences by reappraising the properties within the affected strata. Before finalizing the application of trending factors, the appraisal staff should calculate the coefficient of dispersion to verify that uniformity among assessments will be improved by trending.

- **(c) Income approach.** When using the income approach, the appraisal staff shall estimate value by determining the present value of the projected income stream from the use of the subject property in the future.
- **1. Income and expense analysis.** The appraisal staff shall analyze the income stream and project a future income stream that reflects typical management and current market conditions.
- (i) Components of income and expense analysis. The appraisal staff may consider the following components when performing the income and expense analysis: typical unit rent, potential gross income, miscellaneous income, effective gross income, vacancy and collection loss, typical expenses, replacement reserves, and net operating income. Expenses such as depreciation charges, debt service, ad valorem taxes, income taxes, and business expenses not associated with the property should not be considered. While complete information is not required on each individual property, the appraisal staff should secure sufficient information to develop typical unit rents, typical vacancy and collection loss ratios, and typical expense ratios for various type properties before applying the income approach.
- (ii) Analyzing reported data. The appraisal staff may use actual income and expense information when they reflect typical management and current market conditions; otherwise, typical figures should be used. The appraiser may stratify properties and develop typical unit rents, vacancy and collection loss ratios, and expense ratios to evaluate the reasonableness of reported figures for individual properties and to substitute for unreported figures. The appraiser may also use multiple regression analysis to estimate typical rents as a function of such variables as construction quality, age, location, size of building, and other relevant factors. Multiple regression analysis may also be used to estimate typical expense ratios, and other income and expense components. The appraiser should not consider outdated or non-market leases. Percentage leases should be expressed in actual dollar amounts and averaged over a period of years. Periodic expenditures for replacements should be pro-rated over their economic lives.
- **2. Capitalization methods.** The appraisal staff shall use the procedures in this subparagraph to capitalize the income into an estimate of value. The appraisal staff may utilize the following rates while using the income approach and its various methods and techniques. The discount rate is the annual return on the investment in the property. It is a component of a total capitalization rate. The interest rate is the rate of return on borrowed funds. It is a component of the discount rate. The equity yield rate is the annual return on the equity portion of the investment in the property. It is a component of the total capitalization rate in the mortgage equity technique.

- (i) Direct capitalization. The appraisal staff shall, when applying this method, use either overall rates or income multipliers. Both require adequate sales data and accurate estimates of potential annual gross income, effective annual gross income, or annual net operating income.
- (I) Overall rates. Using the most common version of this method, the appraisal staff develops the annual net operating income of a sample of properties that have sold. The individual annual net operating incomes are divided by the individual sale prices resulting in the individual overall rates. A representative overall rate is then selected from the sample and applied to the subject property by dividing its annual net operating income by the selected overall rate resulting in an estimate of value for the property. The appraisal staff may also employ other techniques to develop an overall rate, such as the weighted land to improvement ratio method; the net income ratio method, and the debt coverage ratio method.
- (II) Income multipliers. Using this method, the appraisal staff may use potential gross income, effective gross income, or annual net operating income from a sample of properties that have sold. Individual sale prices are divided by the selected level of income resulting in individual multipliers. A representative multiplier is then selected from the sample and applied to the subject property by multiplying the selected level of income by the multiplier appropriate to the level of income selected resulting in an estimate of value for the property.
- (ii) Annuity capitalization. Annuity capitalization may be used to apply the income approach when the subject property is under a long-term lease. The appraisal staff develops capitalization rates for both land and improvements to the land. The appropriate residual technique is selected based on the known value of either land or improvement. The land or improvement value is multiplied by the appropriate capitalization rate, and the result is deducted from the annual net operating income. The remaining residual income to either land or improvement is then capitalized by the appropriate rate resulting in an estimate of value for either land or improvement.
- (iii) Sinking fund capitalization. Sinking fund capitalization may be used to apply the income approach when periodic reserves for replacement are set aside in equal amounts, at a safe rate, in order to restore or rebuild the improvements in the future. It is applied in the same manner as annuity or straight-line capitalization.
- **(iv) Straight-line capitalization.** Straight-line capitalization may be used to apply the income approach when the appraisal staff uses straight-line depreciation schedules. It is applied in the same manner as annuity capitalization and sinking fund capitalization.
- (v) Discounted cash flow analysis. Discounted cash flow analysis may be used to apply the income approach when the appraisal staff is valuing a lease and the residual value of the property at the end of the lease term. Each year's income stream is discounted by applying a present-value factor to the cash flow expected for each year. The estimated property value at the end of the lease term is also discounted. The discounted amounts are summed resulting in an estimate of value for the property.
- (vi) Mortgage equity analysis. Mortgage equity analysis may be used when the appraisal staff can reliably determine mortgage terms and cash flow and reliably estimate the holding period and the percentage by which the property will appreciate or depreciate over the holding period. The appraisal staff computes a constant annual

payment from the interest rate and amortization term and selects an appropriate equity yield rate. The estimated cash flow over the holding period is discounted at the equity yield rate, as is the anticipated selling price of the property. The two discounted amounts are added to the present mortgage balance resulting in an estimate the value for the property.

- (vii) Residual capitalization techniques. The appraisal staff may use a residual technique to apply the income approach when either the improvement or land component of the property value can be reliably estimated or documented by sales.
- (viii) Building residual technique. The appraisal staff may use a building residual technique when the land value of the subject property is known and documented by comparable sales. The appraisal staff develops the total annual net operating income attributable to the property and develops capitalization rates for land and improvements to the land. The land value is multiplied by the land capitalization rate and the result is deducted from the total annual net operating income. The remaining residual income to the improvement is capitalized using the improvement capitalization rate into an indicator of value for the improvement. This is added to the land value resulting in an estimate of value for the property.
- (ix) Land residual technique. The appraisal staff may use this technique when the improvement value is known and documented by current cost figures. It is applied in the same manner as the building residual technique except a residual land income is capitalized into an indication of land value and added to the improvement value resulting in an estimate of value for the property.
- **(d) Special procedures.** The appraisal staff shall observe the special procedures contained in this subparagraph when appraising the described property types.
- 1. Valuation of common areas. The appraisal staff shall take into account the extent that the fair market value of individually owned units in a residential subdivision, planned commercial development, or condominium also represents the fair market value of any ownership interest in any common area that is conveyed with the individually owned units. When the appraisal staff determines that the fair market value of the common area is included in the fair market value of the individually owned units, the appraisal staff may recommend a nominal assessment of the common area parcel. When the appraisal staff makes such a determination, the fair market value of residual interests not conveyed to the owners of the individually owned units shall be appraised and an assessment recommended to the board of tax assessors.
- **2. Construction in progress.** Construction in progress shall be appraised in the same manner as other similar real property taking into account that there may be little or no physical deterioration on such property and that the fair market value may be diminished due to the incomplete state of construction. The appraisal staff should attempt to value construction in progress by forecasting the future cash flow a project would generate and discounting at a rate that reflects the risk and uncertainty of that cash flow. If the construction in progress is being financed by a lending institution that

has established an account from which funds may be drawn by the builder as construction progresses, the appraisal staff may consider the percentage of such funds expended as of January 1 as a possible indication of percentage completion of construction in progress. In the absence of sufficient information to perform such an analysis, the appraisal staff should estimate the percentage of completion of all construction in progress as of January 1 of the tax year using the best information available. The appraisal staff should then estimate the fair market value of the improvement upon completion. The appraisal staff should then estimate the fair market value as of January 1 as being the estimated fair market value upon completion multiplied by the percentage of completion on January 1. If comparable sales information of real property under construction is generally not available and there is no other specific evidence to measure the probable loss of value if the property is sold in an incomplete state of construction, the appraisal staff may multiply the identified total cost of construction by a uniform market risk factor of .75.

- **3. Assemblage.** The county appraisal staff shall not combine multiple rural parcels into a single taxable rural parcel unless all the following have been satisfied: (1) parcels must be contiguous or separated by only a stream, creek, non-navigable river, road, street, highway, railroad or other recognized thoroughfare, (2) parcels must be titled in exactly the same name, (3) parcels must fall entirely within the same taxing district, and (4) parcels that are contiguous but lie in different taxing districts and are otherwise eligible for combination shall be valued in the same manner as the total acreage of the combined parcels would dictate.
- (5) Final estimate of fair market value. After completing all calculations, considering the information supplied by the property owner, and considering the reliability of sales, cost, income and expense information, the appraisal staff will correlate any values indicated by those approaches to value that are deemed to have been appropriate for the subject property and form their opinion of the fair market value. The appraisal staff shall present the resulting proposed assessment, along with all supporting documentation, to the board of tax assessors for an assessment to be made by that board.

# JUDICIAL DECISIONS

# Gold Kist, Inc. v. Jones, 231 Ga. 881, 204 S.E.2d 584 (1974)

Exemptions from taxation must be strictly construed, and an exemption will not be held to be conferred unless the terms under which it is granted clearly and distinctly show that such was the intention of the General Assembly.

# Trustee of Academy v. Bohler, 80 Ga. 159, 7 S.E. 633 (1887)

Scheme of exemption as to other than public property seems to be this: To exempt all that is used immediately and directly as a part of the establishment in the conduct of the regular business there carried on, but not such as may be devoted to other uses, such as farming, merchandising, manufacturing, etc, and from which profit or income is derived.

# Thomas v. Northeast Ga. Council, Inc, BSA, 241 Ga. 291, 244 S.E.2d 842 (1978)

Burden of proving a tax exemption under this Section is on party seeking exemption.

# Colvard v. Ridley, 218 Ga. 490, 128 S.E.2d 732 (1962)

The tax assessors may use any system, method, cadastral survey, books, available lists of valuation of types of property, city valuations, or other instruments or other information obtainable, provided such information is the best information available in their fixing of just and fair valuation of the property assessed, and provided that the taxation as between individual taxpayers is justly and fairly equalized.

# Rogers v. DeKalb Co Board of Tax Assessors, 247 Ga. 726, 279 S.E.2d 223 (1981)

No requirement for tax assessors to use any definite system or method but demands only that valuations be just and that they be fairly and justly equalized among the individual taxpayers according to the best information obtainable.

# Fulton County v. Strickland, 251 Ga. 473, 306 S.E.2d, 299 (1983)

It is the duty of the commissioner under this section to ascertain the value of the entire class of property, and to provide for uniformity among the counties. It is the responsibility for the county to provide for equalization between properties within a class. The commissioner is precluded from subdividing classes of property and applying different factors for each subdivision within a class.

# Thorpe v. Benham, 161 Ga. App. 116, 289 S.E.2d 275 (1982).

Piecemeal or spot reappraisals which follow a general appraisal of residential property throughout the jurisdiction and which results in a significant increase in taxes without regard to any equalization between taxpayers is contrary to the statutory mandate and void.

#### **General Consideration**

Evidence is defined as the means by which any fact is put in issue, established, or disproved. Hotchkiss v. Newton, 10 Ga. 560 (1851).

Prima facie evidence is such evidence as in judgment of law is sufficient, and if not rebutted remains sufficient. Georgia R.R. & Banking Co. v. Smith, 83 Ga. 626, 10 S.E. 235 (1889).

Primary evidence. - When the existence of a fact is the question at issue and not the contents of a writing, then oral and written evidence of the fact may both be primary evidence. Wells v. State, 151 Ga. App. 416, 260 S.E.2d 374 (1979), overruled on other grounds, Copeland v. State, 160 Ga. App. 786, 287 S.E.2d 120 (1982).

# **Competent Evidence**

Evidence of doubtful competency or relevancy should be admitted and the weight of the evidence left to the jury. Crass v. State, 150 Ga. App. 374, 257 S.E.2d 909 (1979). Cumulative Evidence

Redundant testimony. - In a condemnation proceeding, testimony that was redundant of actual ordinances, zoning regulations, and of a land use plan already testified to by another was properly excluded. Hall County v. Merritt, 233 Ga. App. 526, 504 S.E.2d 754 (1998).

# **Preponderance of Evidence**

How preponderance determined. - Preponderance is to be determined from all evidence regardless of by which party the evidence is introduced. Anderson v. Savannah Press Publishing Co., 100 Ga. 454, 28 S.E. 216 (1897).

Standard in civil cases. - Establishment of facts in civil cases to a moral and reasonable certainty is not required, but their establishment by a preponderance of the evidence is sufficient. Masonic Relief Ass'n v. Hicks, 47 Ga. App. 499, 171 S.E. 215 (1933).

Preponderance required on each issue. - It is correct in a jury instruction to define what is meant by preponderance of evidence in the language of the statute and to add, "and where there is more than one issue in the case, this rule or definition of preponderance of the evidence relates to each and all of the issues of fact to be determined by you," since, regardless of when the burden of proof lies, it is correct to instruct the jury that the jury shall find according to the preponderance of evidence upon any issue submitted. Patillo v. Thompson, 106 Ga. App. 808, 128 S.E.2d 656 (1962).

"Preponderance" when defendant offers no evidence. - When the defendant offers no evidence at all, an instruction that a preponderance of evidence is evidence "stronger than the evidence of the defendant" almost guarantees that any evidence offered by the plaintiff, as against zero evidence, must be considered a preponderance. Such charge is error. Superior Paving, Inc. v. Citadel Cement Corp., 145 Ga. App. 6, 243 S.E.2d 287 (1978).

"Preponderance" does not mean "strong predominance." - Charge that a preponderance of the evidence could be determined by asking "which way does it strongly predominate," was erroneous as the degree of proof required by such instructions was greater than that provided by the statute. Garrison Motor Co. v. Parrish, 52 Ga. App. 766, 184 S.E. 766 (1936).

"Preponderance" does not mean "stronger evidence." - Trial court erred in characterizing preponderant evidence as "stronger." Danforth v. Danforth, 156 Ga. App. 236, 274 S.E.2d 628 (1980).

Reasonable and impartial mind. - In instruction to jury by judge, the use of the words "your minds," omitting any references to "a reasonable and impartial mind," did not lead the jury to believe that they might determine the preponderance of the evidence solely on the basis of what the jury might think of the evidence and not on what "a reasonable and impartial mind" might think of it. This charge affords no ground for a new trial in the absence of a proper, timely written request for a more specific instruction on the subject. Southern Ry. v. Wilcox, 59 Ga. App. 785, 2 S.E.2d 225 (1939).

# **Presumptive Evidence**

Value of property. - Value of merchandise is generally matter of opinion, but the jury may consider such opinion testimony, make reasonable deductions, and exercise their own knowledge and ideas. Jones v. State, 139 Ga. App. 366, 228 S.E.2d 387 (1976).

Value is peculiarly for determination of the jury, but there must be evidence upon which the jury may legitimately exercise the jury's own knowledge and ideas. Citizens & S. Nat'l Bank v. Williams, 147 Ga. App. 205, 249 S.E.2d 289 (1978).

Question of value is peculiarly for the determination of the factfinder when there is any data in the evidence from which the factfinder may legitimately exercise the factfinder's own knowledge and ideas. Such is presumptive evidence, which consists of inferences drawn by human experience from the connection of cause and effect and observations of human conduct. Adamson Co. v. Owens-Illinois Dev. Corp., 168 Ga. App. 654, 309 S.E.2d 913 (1983).



# Pepartment of Law State of Georgia



SEP 2 1 1993

40 CAPITOL SQUARE SW ATLANTA. GA 30334-1300

September 7, 1993

GA. DEPT OF REVENUE PROPERTY TAX DIVISION

WRITER'S DIRECT DIAL (404) 656-2278 FAX (404) 657-9932

#### MEMORANDUM

TO:

Larry M. Griggers, Director

Property Tax

FROM:

Harold D. Melton

Staff Attorney

RE: Whether the meetings and deliberations of the local boards of equalization must comply with the Open Meetings Act.

This is in response to your question of August 12, 1993 concerning the above-referenced matter. You have raised several issues which address whether the local boards of equalization meetings are subject to the Open Meetings Act, O.C.G.A. § 50-14-1 et seq (the "Act"). Because the greater weight of authority suggest that such meetings are open to the public under the Act, I would caution the Department against advising the local boards that their meetings are exempt from the Act.

Under O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311(d)(1), the local boards of equalization are charged with the responsibility of hearing and determining appeals from the county ad valorem tax assessments and denials of homestead exemptions. The members of the boards are appointed by the grand jury and are compellable to serve. O.C.G.A. §§ 48-5-311(b)(1) and (c)(2).

The Act provides that "all meetings shall be open to the public," O.C.G.A. § 50-14-1(b), and applies to "[e]very department, agency, board, bureau, commission, authority, or similar body of each county, municipal corporation, or other political subdivision of the state." O.C.G.A. § 50-14-1 (a) (C). The Act defines meetings as:

the gathering of a quorum of the members of the governing body of an agency or of any committee of its members created by such governing body, whether standing or Larry M. Griggers September 7, 1993 Page 2

special, pursuant to schedule, call, or notice of or from such governing body or committee or an authorized member, at a designated time and place at which official business or policy is to be discussed or at which official action is to be taken or, in the case of a committee, recommendations on official business or policy to the governing body are to be formulated or discussed...

The test of whether the Act applies involves a two-pronged analysis: "first, is the meeting one of a 'governing body or and agency' or any committee thereof?; and second, is the meeting one 'at which official business or policy of the agency is to be discussed or at which official action is to be taken(?)'" Red & Black Publishing Co., Inc. v. Board of Regents, 262 Ga. 848, 851 (1993). Based on the terms of the Act and the Court's analysis in Red & Black, it is clear that the local boards of equalization constitute a county board or a board of a political subdivision of this state and, therefore, meet the first prong of the test. It is also clear that the boards of equalization are the vehicles by which the counties or political subdivisions of the state carry out its responsibility to hear and decide appeals and take official action. Red & Black, 262 Ga. 848, 854. The board of equalization meetings are therefore covered by the Act unless specifically exempted.

You have asked whether the fact that the board members are appointed by the grand jury and are compellable to serve might alter whether the boards of equalization are covered by the Act. This approach relies on the relationship between the boards of equalization and the grand jury and seeks to take advantage of the exemption afforded to grand juries. Notwithstanding the possibility that grand juries might be exempt from the Act by virtue of the separation of powers doctrine, grand juries are specifically exempted.

The Act specifically exempts "[m]eetings of the Georgia Bureau of Investigation or any other law enforcement agency in the state, including grand jury meetings." O.C.G.A. § 50-14-3(3). In addition to this specific exemption, it is also possible for grand juries to be excluded from the Act by operation of the separation of powers doctrine.

Under the separation of powers doctrine, actions of the legislative branch of government, such as the Act, do not control how the judicial branch of government must conduct its affairs. As a result, the judicial branch is free to develop

Larry M. Griggers September 7, 1993 Page 3

its own operational procedures outside the purview of the legislative branch of government.  $\underline{See}$ , Op. Att'y Gen. 79-25. This rationale, however, has limited application.

In asking whether the local boards of equalization should be afforded the same exemption available to grand juries, there are certain applicable rules of interpretation. First, the provisions of the Act must be broadly construed to effect its purposes of protecting the public and individuals from closed-door meetings. <u>Kilgore v. R.W. Page Corporation</u>, 261 Ga. 410, 411 (1991). To effect the purposes of the Act, exceptions thereto must be narrowly construed. Id. Additionally, while there may be good reason to narrow the application of the Act, "there is no provision in the Open Meetings Act granting [the] Court the authority to fashion a public-interest test for determining whether meetings required to be open by the Act should nevertheless be closed." Id. Furthermore, the Georgia Supreme Court has stated: "We are mindful that openness in sensitive proceedings is sometimes unpleasant, difficult, and occasionally harmful. Nevertheless, the policy of this state is that the public's business must be open, not only to protect against potential abuse, but also to maintain the public's confidence in its officials." Red & Black, 262 Ga. 848, 854.

With these considerations in mind, in asking whether local boards of equalization may take advantage of the exemption afforded to grand juries, the courts will be concerned about the similarities between the local boards of equalization and the grand juries. <a href="Kilgore">Kilgore</a>, 261 Ga. at 410. In <a href="Kilgore">Kilgore</a>, the Georgia Supreme Court addressed whether a coroner's inquest constituted a meeting within the meaning of the Act. The coroner argued that the inquest concerned a pending criminal prosecution and should therefore fall under the law enforcement exception set forth above. O.C.G.A. § 50-14-3(3). The Court in addressing this question, applied the rules of interpretation, and compared the law enforcement functions to the coroner's functions. The Court found that the coroner's functions were too dissimilar to entitle the coroner to the exemption afforded to law enforcement.

Following this approach to the question at hand would likely lead to similar results. Grand juries have the duty to examine or make presentments of criminal offenses. O.C.G.A. § 15-12-74. Additionally, grand juries are authorized to inspect the offices, records , and operations of the clerk of superior court, district attorney, judge of the probate court, and

Larry M. Griggers September 7, 1993 Page 4

county treasurer or county depository; inspect the county jail; receive and inspect returns of the judge of probate court, county treasurer, clerk of superior court, and sheriff; inspect county buildings; and receive and inspect the sheriff's jail report. See, O.C.G.A. § 15-12-71(b). On the other hand, the function of the local boards of equalization is to hear and determine appeals of assessments and denials of homestead exemptions. O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311(d)(1). The boards also have the authority to take such action as is necessary to obtain uniformity including the authority to order a partial or total county-wide revaluation. O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311(d)(2). Local boards of equalization, therefore, are entities altogether distinct from grand juries.

The final possible analogy is between the local boards of equalization and petit juries; however, the connection between the two is too tenuous to suggest with any assurance that the local boards of equalization are like petit juries and, therefore, may be exempt from the Act. As a result, the Department should be careful not to advise the counties that the boards of equalization are exempt from the Act. Any position to the contrary would rest on creative and untested legal assumptions in an environment where the courts have clearly stated its intentions to give full effect to the Act. It is my advice, therefore, that both the hearings and deliberations be held open to the public. This, however, would not prevent the boards from closing portions of meetings where matters which are considered confidential by law are to be presented and discussed.

I hope this has been responsive to your request. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of any further assistance.

hdm

# AN OVERVIEW OF AD VALOREM TAXATION

# **The Mass Appraisal Process**

Ma	ajor Points of This Section -
	Define Mass Appraisal
	Identify Principles That Are The Basis For The Appraisal Process
	Identify The Three Approaches To Value
	Differentiate Between Mass Appraisal and Single Property Appraisal
Im	portant Terms in This Section
	Direct Sales Comparison Approach
	Cost Approach
	Income Approach
	Mass Appraisal
	Single Property Appraisal
be	"Mass Appraising" describes the appraisal of a large number of properties. However, fore extensively viewing the process involved in mass appraising, we should perhaps first

Real Estate Appraisal Terminology by the American Institute of Real Estate Appraisers and The Society of the Real Estate Appraisers, defines an appraisal as:

establish what an "appraisal" consists of and how this relates to the mass appraiser.

"An estimate or opinion of value. The act or process of estimating value. The resulting opinion of value derived from the appraisal may be informal, transmitted orally; or it may be formal, presented in written form. Usually it is a written statement setting forth an opinion of the value of an adequately described property as of a specified date, supported by the presentation and analysis of relevant data.

This appraisal or estimate of value is, in the property tax world, referred to as "Fair Market Value". There are prescribed procedures to be described in this book for arriving at

uniform and equitable assessments. Fair Market Value is defined by the Georgia Code, Annotated § 48-5-2.

In addition to estimating the value of property, the assessor and appraiser must constantly seek to maintain equity between properties similarly situated in terms of size, location, desirability and physical characteristics.

The courts throughout the United States have consistently upheld three basic approaches to estimating value. There are variations in terms of application within each of the three approaches but only three. These are as follows:

#### I. The Market Data or Comparable Sales Approach to Value:

The value indicated by recent sales of comparable properties. These sales are "adjusted" for time, location and physical characteristics to make them as similar as possible.

#### II. The Cost Approach to Value:

The value indicated by the current cost of replacing a property less any accrued depreciation from physical deterioration or functional and economic obsolescence. To this depreciated replacement cost is added the value of the land that is estimated through analysis of comparable sales. The formulation, then in order to arrive at a value via the cost approach would be the following:

Replacement Cost New (-) Accrued Depreciation (+) Land Value (=) Value (Cost Approach)

#### III. The Income Approach to Value:

The value that can be supported by the net earning power of a property. This is accomplished by capitalization of the net income into a value estimate. The process of analyzing the rental income flow to a property and building a capitalization rate will be dealt with in a subsequent chapter.

There are a number of "sayings", "axioms" or "principles", as you like, which are basic to an understanding of the appraisal process. They basically amount to restating ideas which will, to most, seem to be "plain 'ole common sense". Those of particular significance include the following:

#### 1. Anticipation:

Value is created by the anticipation of future benefits.

#### 2. Bundle of Rights:

Property Ownership encompasses many rights such as occupancy and use; right to bequeath; right to transfer, convey these rights; the right to sell in whole or in part or any other right that might be incurred in owning real estate.

#### 3. Change:

Real estate is constantly being affected by changing economic and social forces. These forces therefore affect values and should be considered by the appraiser in estimating value.

#### 4. Competition:

Profit tends to breed competition and excess profit tends to breed ruinous competition.

#### 5. Conformity:

Conformity in use, in terms of homogeneity, sociological and economic influences tend to lead towards a maximum in value. Similar properties, similarly situated, lead to higher values.

#### 6. Consistent Use:

A property changing from one use to another (in transition) cannot be valued on the basis of one use for the land another for improvements.

#### 7. Contribution:

The value of a component part of a property depends on what it contributes to the total value as a whole. The sum of the whole (total value) can never be more than the sum of its parts.

#### 8. Highest and Best Use:

The most probable, legal and reasonable use which will maintain the highest present value as of the effective date of appraisal.

#### 9. Substitution:

A reasonable purchaser will pay no more for one parcel of real estate than the cost of acquiring an equally desirable substitute.

#### 10. Supply and Demand:

Market value is greatly influenced by the existing supply of real estate and the existing demand for that type of real estate in the market place.

Given a description of the three approaches to value and some of the concepts, which go hand-in-hand in the formation of values, a brief but more in-depth view of the approaches is appropriate.

# (I) MARKET OR DIRECT SALES COMPARISON APPROACH

The basic idea behind the market data approach to value is: "A person will not buy or rent one property for more than it would cost to buy or rent a comparable or similar property with the same utility."

This is the *Principle of Substitution*, probably the most important of all valuation principles.

Local market information is utilized in both the Cost and Income Approaches because we are attempting to find value and regardless of the type of property, we must at some time or another go to the market place for information.

The Market Data or Comparable Sales Approach should be used with any property where a bank of sales of comparable properties exists. The Market Data Approach, however, will normally be used with residential and with some light commercial properties.

The basic steps involved in the Market Approach are:

- 1. Gathering of data concerning recent sales.
- 2. Checking the comparability of these sales to the subject property
- 3. Verifying the sales selected as comparables.
- 4. Adjusting these comparables to reflect the subject property.
- 5. Estimating the value of the subject property.

# (II) COST APPROACH

This approach is based on the assumption that the replacement cost new *normally sets* the upper limit of value, particularly when the improvement is new, provided that the improvement represents the highest and best use. It is assumed that a newly constructed building has advantages over existing buildings. The measure of this deficiency is called depreciation. Depreciation decreases the value of property.

There are three possible causes of depreciation and these are:

- 1. Physical Deterioration
- 2. Functional Obsolescence
- 3. Economic Obsolescence (External, Locational)

These causes of depreciation may be further defined as follows:

- 1. Physical Deterioration can be due to:
  - a. Wear and tear
  - b. Inadequate repair or maintenance
- 2. Functional Obsolescence can be due to:
  - a. A design deficiency
  - b. Too many or not enough of certain features (i.e., bathrooms, bedrooms, garage)
- 3. Economic Obsolescence occurs due to forces outside the actual structure such as:
  - a. Encroaching commercial properties
  - b. Environmental pollution.

The steps used in the Cost Approach are: add the land value (derived by the Market Approach) to the depreciated Replacement or Reproduction Cost New (RCN) as follows:

RCN - Accrued Depreciation + Land Value = Value (Cost Approach)

# (III) INCOME APPROACH

The Income Approach is most applicable to properties, which can produce an income such as apartment buildings, shopping centers and office buildings.

In applying the Income Approach, the appraiser is concerned with the *present worth of the\_future benefits* of the property. This is generally measured by the net income that a fully informed buyer may assume the property will produce during its remaining useful life.

After comparison with investments of similar types and classes, this net income is capitalized to form an estimate of value.

# The four steps to be followed in assembling and processing income data are:

- 1. Obtain annual income
- 2. Subtract expenses
- 3. Estimate the remaining useful economic life of the building to establish the probable duration of its income (establish the depreciation).
- 4. Select the appropriate capitalization rate and the applicable method and technique for processing the *net income*.

# The formula for obtaining value using the Income Approach is:

(c) Rate = 
$$\frac{\text{Income}}{\text{Value}}$$
 R =  $\frac{\text{I}}{\text{V}}$ 

The steps in arriving at the Net Operating Income are:

Potential Gross Income less:

- Vacancy and Collection Loss plus:
- + Miscellaneous Income equals:
- = Effective Gross Income *less:*
- Allowable Expenses
  - (1)Operating

(2) Reserves for Replacement equals: = Net Operating Income

Another method used to obtain value using the Income Approach is through the establishment of a *Gross Rent Multiplier* (GRM).

In using a gross rent multiplier, one must have <u>sales</u> information on similar types of properties. These properties should be comparable in <u>type</u> although not necessarily in size (i.e., garden-type apartments or high-rise apartments or office buildings).

Sales Price	Gross Annual Income	Gross Rent Multiplier
\$75,100	\$12,000	6.25
\$83,125	\$13,300	6.25
\$71,650	\$11,500	6.23
\$87,650	\$14,000	6.26
Estimated Gr	6.25	

This method has been upheld in court. However, one must have a number of sales in order to get a meaningful GRM.

The term "appraisal process" entails all of the procedures, which are followed from the beginning to the end of an appraisal. In the ad valorem field we have two "appraisal processes" we need to be familiar with:

- 1. The "fee" appraisal process and
- 2. The "mass" appraisal process.

"Fee" appraising involves appraising an individual property while "mass" appraising relates to the valuation of many, perhaps thousands of properties. There are six steps, which may be related to both "fee" appraising and "mass" appraising.

		Fee Appraisal	Mass Appraisal
1	Definition of the Problem	The purpose and function of the appraisal may be for many reasons	It is always an appraisal for ad valorem tax purposes
2	Preliminary Survey & Appraisal Plan	It may be quite extensive as with a narrative appraisal or quite simple as with FHA or VA Form Reports.	It is most often by either local or state law or though established procedures
3	Data Program	Detailed information about general (regional, city, neighborhood, etc.) and specific site data.	Concerned with gathering data to eventually establish land and building schedules
4	Application of the Three Approaches	Use all three on each property, much research with narrative reports	Most often only using one approach with each property, dealing with the mass
5	Correlation/ Reconciliation	This is a very important part of a fee appraisal, where work is checked and reviewed for the final step.	This probably exists only in the initial setting of land and/or building cost schedules
	The Final Estimate	The point where appraisers decide which approach or combination of approaches they will use to arrive at the final value estimate.	The final "calculated" value or "fair market value" is considered the final value estimate.

#### The Mass Appraisal / Assessment Flow Charts:

The "Mass Appraisal Process" is shown in chart form at the end of this chapter. Each of the five various components are discussed below.

#### 1. Property Identification:

The mass appraisal process begins with the identification of property. The initial step is mapping because properties cannot be property identified with a mapping system

#### 2. Data Collection and Analysis

The next step in the mass appraisal process is data collection and analysis. As seen in the appraisal flow chart, we have collection and analysis for cost information, comparative market sales information, and for possible rental information. The data collection concerning "costs" is to assist in the establishment of cost manuals or for the updating of an existing manual. These manuals are ultimately used in estimating the replacement/reproduction cost of the building involved in the appraisal. This data would also be useful in setting up depreciation schedules. "Comparative sales data" is used in almost every aspect of the mass appraisal process. In the context of this section it is used in estimating the value of raw land. It is also used in estimating the value of the real estate through the use of comparable sales. Comparative sales data is the basis for the establishment of sales ratios or trends. which we use in ad valorem appraisal as a tool (or criterion) for evaluating our appraisal performance. This information is also useful where computerized assessments are being used. In mass appraisal it is during and within this "collection and analysis" step that the actual land and building schedules are established. It is here that depreciation schedules are established and checked. An example would be to subtract an estimated land price from the sale price of a recently sold property to determine if the remaining value checks with the depreciated cost arrived at with our cost manual.

#### 3. Valuation

The third step of the appraisal process is the actual valuation of property. This involves the valuation on an annual basis, of all property throughout the county. The initial step begins with the use of a "field card," or what is more commonly referred to as a "Property Record Card." The field appraiser takes the property records card for the property and actually measures the property, identifies the various property components on the field card, grades the house based on the quality of construction, and places the house measurements in the appropriate space on the card.

The property record card is also used for updating or making additions or deletions to an existing property. There is no need to revisit, re-measure and recheck every property every year. Schedules should be updated from year to year; properties should be revisited periodically. Once the property record card has been properly filled out and the improvement properly graded, with emphasis on the quality of construction, the property record card is brought back to the county assessors' office. Here the actual card, cost manual and land schedules are merged into a final value estimate. In many instances, the same individual who measured the house and listed it in the field is not the individual who actually calculates the value of the property. This is a perfectly legitimate procedure and in some cases the only manner in which "mass appraising" can be accomplished. Mass appraisal, by its very nature, dictates some degree of "production-line appraising." The use of uniform schedules and manuals should provide everyone with the uniformity and equality, which are necessary in

208

maintaining an equitable assessment system. The end result, therefore, of the "Valuation" portion would be a uniform value estimate, which we in Georgia refer to as "Fair Market Value." This value is the 100% appraisal to which the 40% assessment ratio is applied.

#### 4. Notification of Assessment

Notification of assessments is the fourth step in the appraisal process. In Georgia law requires "notices" only when the assessor changes the valuation "returned" by the taxpayer. As mentioned previously, there are statutes, which dictate the contents of the notice, and the time period from which residents and non-residents may file appeals. Notices to taxpayers generally are sent out between April and first of June and these dates may vary if the county has requested extensions of the allowable deadlines.

#### 5. Appeal Procedures

If the taxpayer receives his/her notice of change and disagrees with the new valuation, he/she has 45 days in which to file a written appeal. This appeal should specifically state the reasons why the taxpayer disagrees with the assessors' valuation. There is no format or Department of Revenue form for appeals. However, it is recommended that counties adopt some type of appeal form.

#### **SUMMARY:**

Mass appraising, as contrasted with fee or single property appraising, is a much more comprehensive process. In viewing the mass appraisal flow chart, the work of a fee appraiser, who values only a single property, begins and ends in the 'data collection and analysis' and "valuation" portion of this discussion. The assessor, however, must initially identify each and every parcel of land within the county; map and identify property splits or transfers; collect information concerning costs, market sales and rental data; physically measure and value each parcel of property; notify the taxpayers of changes in property values; be prepared to support the value estimates from initial hearings through boards of equalization and into the judicial system. Mass appraising is extremely comprehensive. The assessor must value every possible type of property and deal with virtually every type valuation problem, which might be encountered, in the appraisal of real estate.

# **Sales Ratio Studies**

# Major Points of this Section -

	□ pui	Identify why sales ratio analysis is important in mass appraisal for ad valorem rposes.
		The importance of measures of central tendency.
		The importance of measures of uniformity.
		The importance of measures of assessment bias.
Import	tant	Terms in this Section –
		Sales / Assessment Ratio Study
		Median Ratio
		Mean Ratio
		Weighted Mean Ratio
		Measures of Central Tendency
		Coefficient of Dispersion
	П	Price Related Differential

# STUDY SALES? WHY? WHAT IS A RATIO STUDY? WHY DO WE NEED ONE? HOW CAN YOU STUDY SALES? HOW DO YOU MAINTAIN A RATIO STUDY?

Fair Market Value has been defined as, what the property would bring at cash sale when sold in the manner in which such property is usually sold, between a knowledgeable buyer and a willing seller.

Georgia law also states "... the value of tangible property as referred to in the tax laws of this state shall be forty per cent of the fair market value of such property" (See Georgia Code § 48-5-7)

From the above two paragraphs we can see that the fair market value which the law states is the basis for taxation, depending to a great extent on sales. Our property taxation laws refer to what property would bring when sold on the open market. In other words, the law is saying that fair market value may be found by studying sales. We know, of course, that every property does not sell every year so there must be other ways to value property. The principle criterion, however, should be rough analysis of sales data.

If we wanted to measure the distance between Atlanta and Valdosta, we would use the mileage between the two points. Mileage therefore would be our "yardstick" to measure the accuracy of assessment or appraisals on property. The study of sales in a county may serve as a "yardstick" to measure the accuracy of assessment of appraisals on property. The number of lawsuits or complaints filed against a digest measure, to some extent, the general public's idea of its accuracy but in no way does it indicate where the problem lies. Through analysis of sales we may discover the problems and correct them before appeals occur. Studies of sales reveal the relative desirability of an area and they will show appreciating or declining property values. Recurring sales on the same property over a period of time can be studied to demonstrate the percentage increase in value as an indication of the required degree of adjustment to maintain the proper assessment level. Sales and assessment-sales ratio studies reflect economic conditions both as to neighborhood and type of improvement.

#### WHERE CAN WE OBTAIN SALES DATA?

By sales data we are referring to actual sales of property throughout the year. However, not all sales may be used. Why not? The purpose of studying sales is an aid in arriving at fair market value. If for some reason conditions exist concerning a particular sale that caused the seller to sell for less or the buyer to buy for more, this should be deleted from the study. Good sales are called "bona fide" sales.

It is vital that we distinguish between bona fide sales that represent market value and those involving factors that may not reflect actual market value of the real property. Deeds transferring ownership and transfer tax forms are the prime sources of the amount of the sales in many taxing jurisdictions. Date of the sale should be recorded because economic changes take place very rapidly. Any unusual features or conditions should be recorded. A detailed statement should be prepared to show the amount and method of payment for the property sold, such as the amount of cash, new or assumed mortgages and the value of any property in

exchange whether real or personal. Armed with a "sales bank" derived from this market data source, both quality and quantity of sales information will be improved and the assessor will be able to establish uniformity and continue a systematic maintenance of assessment.

Other sources of information concerning sales are real estate brokers, multiple listing services, property managers, bankers, and lawyers, in addition to your own knowledge of transactions.

Also mentioned above was the idea that we should use only bona fide sales. Some reason for rejecting a sale or reasons why the sale may not be a true indication of fair market value are:

The Commissioner shall include only those sales and appraisals confirmed reasonably reflect the fair market value of property as fair market value is defined in O.C.G.A § 48-5-2 as observations in the samples.

The following sales are examples of transactions that **may not** reflect fair market value and should be excluded if they are determined to not represent fair market value and an adjustment cannot be determined to correct the non-representative nature of the sale.

- 1. Sales involving government agencies and public utilities;
- 2. Sales involving charitable, religious, or educational institutions;
- 3. Sales in which a financial institution is the buyer or seller;
- Sales between relatives or corporate affiliates;
- 5. Sales between adjacent property owners;
- 6. Sales of convenience;
- 7. Sales settling an estate;
- 8. Sales of doubtful title;
- 9. Sales involving trades;
- 10. Sales conveying partial interests or land contracts;
- 11. Sales conveying additional interests other than the property;
- 12. Sales involving incomplete or un-built community property;
- 13. Sales involving multi-county property;
- 14. Sales forced by legal difficulties;
- 15. Sales using non-conventional financing;
- 16. Sales in which the consideration is not greater than \$1,000.

It should be noted that these are reasons why a sale *may* not reflect market value. Any one of the reasons could possibly occur and still result in a sales price that would reflect fair market value. Therefore, we should be aware of these items, look for sales where they may have been present and *if* it appears to have affected the value then delete the sale from consideration. This process is called "verifying" sales information.

#### WHAT IS A RATIO?

When we speak of Sales Assessment Ratios, what do we mean? A ratio, any ratio, is simply one number divided by another. It signifies a relationship between the two numbers.

A sales assessment ratio is no more than the sale price divided into the *assessed* value (which should be 40% of the appraised value). In other words, if a property sold for \$27,500 and the *assessed* value was \$ 11,000, the sales assessment ratio for that property would be:

<u>Assessed Value</u> <u>\$11,000</u> = 40% (Sales Assessment Ratio) Sales Price \$27.500

What does this mean? It means for that property the assessed value is forty per cent (40%) of fair market value assuming it was a bona-fide sale.

Using the same sales price of \$27,500, let's assume that the assessed value on our property record card was \$9,075. What would the ratio be in this case?

<u>Assessed Value</u> = \_\_\_\_ (Sales Assessment Ratio)
Sales Price

What does this mean? It means our assessed value and therefore our appraised value is low. It's below 40%. So what? What is the ratio telling us? First, we know it is telling us that our assessment is low. Why is it low? A ratio that is less than 40% could mean one of two things:

- 1. There were unusual conditions in the sale, or
- 2. We need to reappraise the property

We have already determined that the sales price of \$27,500 was the result of a bona-fide sale. The reason for the low ratio must then rest on the appraisal. Usually, this does not mean that the appraiser did not perform his job well. Many low ratios are the result of old appraisals. We might conclude that the appraisal was done well, just not often enough. Studying sales as they occur is an excellent, and probably the best, way to maintain assessments that will reflect current market values. Let's look at a few additional sales and analyze the significance of our findings.

#### **USING SALES RATIOS TO MEASURE EQUITY**

Sales ratios have numerous uses as we have seen earlier. The use of ratios to do more than calculate the "level" of assessment can be very beneficial to the mass appraiser. Ratio studies may also be used to measure equity. Measuring equity means that the assessor is trying to determine if the valuations are "fair and equal" among and between the property owners and property types within the taxing jurisdiction. In attempting to analyze the total sales within a county for this purpose, the sales should be grouped by location, property type and any other means the appraiser may want to utilize.

Most assessors are familiar with the calculation of the sales ratio. These ratios, on an individual basis, provide an indication for specific properties that sold during some given period of time. Viewing a large number of ratios (for instance, all within a county in one year) one may calculate the average or "mean" ratio. This simply tells us what the average ratio was for all sales that occurred. It does not in any way tell us anything about the range (high to low) or how much variation there was within that range. For example, an average ("mean") ratio is calculated to be 36% for a county. On the surface, it would seem that the valuations in the county are fairly close to the required 40% level. However, closer examination might reveal that the range of ratios was from 5% to 75% and that in actuality very few individual ratios fell around the 36% mean ratio. In other words, without some indication of the "spread" in the individual ratios, a ratio study is somewhat useless if it is to be used to judge assessment performance. We may use several statistics to describe or measure uniformity and equity in the valuation system.

- 1. The *Range* measures the lowest and the highest values. For example, the ratios may range from 10% to 50%, meaning that all other ratios within the ratio study fall within those percentages (10-50%).
- 2. The *Median Ratio* is the physical mid-point of all the ratios in a sample. Its use is preferable to the mean ratio because it eliminates the disproportionate influence of "outliers" in the sample. The median is the measure of central tendency that *shall* be used by the Revenue Commissioner to measure assessment ratios. The *Mean Ratio* is the average of all the ratios. As noted, it gives consideration to all ratios in the sample whether they are typical of the total sample or not. Extreme ratios (very high or low) are termed "outliers" and may have a distorting effect on the sales ratio analysis if the mean ratio is used to calculate the "coefficient of dispersion". *However, the mean ratio must be used when calculating the coefficient of variation, price related differential and standard deviation.*
- 3. The *Deviation* measures the average numerical difference from the median or mean ratio. This statistic shows how far from the median or mean ratio the system is calculating values. Upon finding the average deviation about the median or mean ratio, the *"coefficient of dispersion"* may be calculated by dividing the average absolute deviation by the median or mean ratio. The nationally accepted standard for the "coefficient of dispersion" is .2000 and below. This is outlined in the IAAO's Standard of Assessment Ratio Studies written in 1990. Coefficients of dispersion higher than .2000 indicate lack uniformity and significant inequities among the properties being analyzed and further indicate a reappraisal should be considered. However, the Georgia Department of Revenue regulations currently allow a C.O.D. of .20 for non-residential properties and .15 for residential properties.

- 4. The *Standard Deviation* provides an indication of how many parcels will fall within specified ranges or tolerances. The *Coefficient of Variation* may be calculated from the standard deviation. It provides for information relating to the average percent of deviation from the mean ratio.
- 5. The price related differential (PRD) measures assessment bias in terms of progressivity and regressivity. A PRD below 1.00 indicates assessment progressivity. A PRD above 1.00 indicates assessment regressivity. Progressivity means higher priced properties are assessed at a higher rate than lower value properties. Regressivity means lower priced properties are being assessed at a higher rate than higher priced properties. Acceptable standards according the Georgia Department of Revenue are .95 1.10.
- 6. Measure of Central Tendency The Commissioner shall use the median to measure the average assessment ratios of each of the homogeneous groups of property. The median shall be computed by arranging the individual ratios from the lowest to the highest and selecting the ratio in the middle in the case of an odd number of samples or adding the two middle ratios and dividing by two in the case of an even number of samples.

In the event the price related differential as defined in paragraph (h) of this regulation is outside the standard established by the Commissioner the weighted mean shall be used as the measure of central tendency for that homogeneous group. The weighted mean shall be determined by adding together each of the assessments and dividing this total by the sum of each of the sale prices (or appraisals).

The standard for assessment level of a class of homogeneous properties will be presumed to have been met if, given an adequate sample size, the upper limit of a 95 percent confidence interval about the measure of central tendency is greater than or equal to 36 percent or the lower limit of a percent confidence interval about the measure of central tendency is less than or equal to 44 percent.

The overall level of assessment for the county shall be determined by weighing the measures of central tendency for the homogeneous groups against the total assessed value of property in each of the groups.

- 7. Uniformity Within Classes The uniformity within classification of property shall be measured by the "coefficient of dispersion" with respect to the median and shall be computed by taking the average deviation of the observations in the sample from the median of the sample and expressing that average as a percentage of the median. The standard for uniformity will be presumed to have been met, if given an adequate sample size, the resulting coefficient shall be less than 15 percent for residential property and 20 percent for non-residential property.
- 8. Assessment Bias The level of assessment bias within each class of property shall be measured by the price related differential, which shall be computed by dividing the arithmetic mean of the observations in the class sample by the weighted mean. The arithmetic mean shall be determined together each of the ratios and dividing by the number of ratios. The weighted mean shall be determined by adding together each of the assessments and dividing this total by the sum of each of the sale prices (or appraisals). The standard for lack of assessment bias will be presumed to have been

met if, given an adequate sample size, the resulting price related differential is between 0.95 and 1.10.

Magnitude of Deficiency - If the assessed value of the portion of the digest that does not meet the uniformity requirements outlined above for level, uniformity and bias constitutes 10 percent or less of the assessed value of the total digest the Commissioner may approve the digest, if, in his judgment, the approval will not substantially violate the concept of uniformity and equalization.

## \_\_\_\_\_County Board of Equalization

Greetings,		
Ne are your cou	nty board of equalization. I am	, the chairman, and this is
and	the two members.	

We are appointed by the grand jury to hear appeals of property tax matters that include value, uniformity of value, taxability, denial of homestead exemptions, and denial of special assessments. We are not connected with the board of tax assessors or any other county officials. We will listen to both parties to this appeal and make a decision based upon the information presented by both parties to this hearing.

The board will give the property owner the option to present information first. If however, the property owner wishes, the board will require the board of tax assessors to present information first. The board will allow each party to present information without interruption. Upon completion of each party's presentation, both parties will be given the opportunity to cross examine, rebut or question each other in an orderly fashion as directed by the board.

When all information has been presented, the board shall deliberate and make a decision. The deliberations shall be among the board members and no further input shall be allowed by property owner or the board of tax assessors. Upon completion of the deliberations the board shall make a decision. The decision will be verbal and in writing and sent via certified mail to the property owner and the original will be filed with the board of tax assessors.

If either party is not satisfied with the decision of the board of equalization, that party may file an appeal to the superior court of the county.

Do you have any questions before we proceed with this hearing?

## **Board of Equalization Information and Procedures**

The Board of Equalization is made up of property owners appointed by the Grand Jury of this county. In addition to being property owners, the appointees to the Board of Equalization must also be qualified and competent to serve as grand jurors and be high school graduates. If the grand jury deems a person qualified, an appointee is compellable to serve on this Board of Equalization. Each member must satisfactorily complete 40 hours of special training before he or she can participate as a member of this Board. Each member must also complete 8 hours of update training annually each year thereafter. The Board is charged by law to hear appeals of property tax matters that include:

**Value** – What the property would sell for in a transaction between a knowledgeable buyer and a willing seller in a bone fide arm's length transaction? (O.C.G.A. § 48-5-2).

**Uniformity of value** – That assessments are fairly equalized between individual taxpayers (*O.C.G.A.* § 48-5-299). This relationship is measured through statistical testing not the comparison of individual values. For more information contact the county appraisal staff.

**Taxability** – Is the property exempt from taxation or subject to taxation as provided for in Georgia law? (O.C.G.A. §§ 48-5-3, 41, 41.1, 42, 43, 48.1, 48.2).

**Denial of homestead exemptions** – Does the property qualify for homestead exemption? (Georgia law provides for statewide exemptions O.C.G.A. §§ 48-5-44 through 54. There may also be local exemptions available for more information contact the county tax commissioner). If an application for one these exemptions has been denied by the board of tax assessors this action may be appealed.

**Denial of special assessments** – Georgia law provides for special assessments of certain types of property such as, property used for agricultural purposes (conservation use, agricultural preferential), rehabilitated and landmark historic properties, contaminated property (also known as Brownfield), certain environmentally sensitive property and storm water / wetlands. (For more information on these contact the county appraisal staff or tax commissioner) If an application for one of these special assessments has been denied or a breach of an existing covenant declared by the board of tax assessors this action may be appealed.

The members of the Board hearing each case must also meet the same criteria and objectivity requirements a potential juror must meet each time they are scrutinized for service on civil cases involving the same subject matter. The members have to be impartial and unbiased for each case he or she hears. If any appellant property owner or tax assessor believes a member to not meet the requirements mentioned above, either party has the right to ask the member to remove himself or herself from the case. This request must be made at least five days prior to the hearing. The names of the members that will hear each case will be on the notice sent to the taxpayer and tax assessor in writing setting the time and date for the hearing.

Please note the date and time for your hearing. The Board of Equalization is required to give the property owner and the tax assessor ample time to prepare for your hearing, and therefore the board expects both parties to be ready to present all evidence at the scheduled time. If for any reason, either party has a legitimate problem with the date and time for this hearing, you may request a change by notifying the secretary of our board at least five days prior to the hearing. If either party encounters an emergency that will not allow you to be on time, you may notify the

secretary of the board up to the time of the hearing. If there is no such request prior to the hearing, the board shall hold the hearing as scheduled and shall notify both parties of the board's decision as required by law.

The taxpayer has the right to be represented at the hearing by an agent, attorney, appraiser, etc. If any taxpayer plans to be represented by any such person, the taxpayer MUST SUBMIT THE NAME OF THE PERSON IN WRITING, to the secretary of the board at least seven days prior to the hearing. This must be done regardless if the taxpayer is present or not at the hearing. No one will be permitted to present information or speak on behalf of anyone unless the board receives the written notification above. Immediate family members and or spouses are exempt from this requirement.

The Board will listen to all pertinent information concerning the matter under appeal. Prior to the hearing, it is suggested that the property owner take advantage of discussing the data about the physical characteristics of the property with the person in the tax assessor's office that is administratively responsible for the handling of this appeal. The name of such person including the phone number of such person should be on the change of assessment notice the property owner received. Although, the tax assessor has the burden of proving its opinion of value by a preponderance of evidence, in order for the property owner to successfully appeal the determination of the county board of tax assessors it will be to their great advantage to be prepared to present at least an opinion of value and some support for that opinion of value at the time of the hearing. The Board will give the property owner the option of presenting his or her information first. Both parties will be afforded an opportunity to present information without interruption. After the initial presentation, both parties will be given a chance to cross-examine. rebut, or question the other party's information. The Chairperson of the board may direct either party to stick to relevant information. The chairperson shall control and conduct the hearing. The chairperson shall decide on all motions and requests made by either party. The chairperson may administer oaths, reprimand, exclude, or dismiss any person from the hearing because of improper conduct or other circumstances.

This is going to be a hearing concerning one of the matters referred to in paragraph one of these procedures. An appeal is certainly based upon a difference of opinion as to one of these matters. A difference of opinion does not have to create or ignite hostilities between the two parties involved. Please keep on track as to what information you feel you need to present on your behalf and do not dwell on what is wrong on the other side. Present positive information to support your opinion and not negative information. Your chances of succeeding will be much better if you present a good positive case. The board does not investigate or research, but simply listens to information presented and makes a decision based on this information presented by both parties. Therefore, you cannot expect this board to do anything for you that you do not bring to the table for yourself. The Board is not a watchdog. It is a neutral and independent entity that is charged by law to base its decision on the best information presented to the Board.

When all information has been presented and all closing statements have been made, the Board will deliberate and make a decision. All deliberations of the Board are open to anyone. The Board will deliberate immediately after the hearing. If time constraints will not allow this, the property owner will be given a time and date that the deliberation will take place. A copy of the decision will be sent to the property owner in writing by certified mail and the original copy will be filed with the tax assessor.

The notice of the decision also contains a statement that each of the three members has satisfied the requirements of O.C.G.A. § 48-5-311(j) by answering all necessary questions before serving. The taxpayer or the board of tax assessors may appeal the decision of this Board to Superior Court. The Board has no further action to take on this matter nor can the Board alter its decision. Therefore, it is of no benefit for the taxpayer or the board of tax assessors to contact its members individually or as a group to discuss any matter any further. A docket that documents the Board's disposition of the case from receipt of the appeal to the making and sending of the decision to the taxpayer and tax assessor will be on file in the Clerk of Superior Court's office. All information presented by either party will remain with the Board through its deliberations. When deliberations have been completed and decision rendered, the Board will include all information presented in the appeal file that is returned to the board of tax assessors along with the original copy of the Board's decision unless specifically directed by the presenter that they want it discarded. The Board keeps no copies of this data.

The information contained in this d	locument is	s intended to make	e the appea	l process a	t the Board
of Equalization understandable to	all prope	rty owners of thi	s county.	If anyon	e has any
questions concerning an appeal of	or wants fu	urther information	about the	Board of E	qualization
you may contact	at	_•			

## **GLOSSARY**

Abstraction Method—Method of land valuation in the absence of vacant land sales, whereby improvement values obtained from the cost model are subtracted from sales prices of improved parcels to yield residual land value estimates. Also called land residual technique.

Accrued Depreciation—(1) The amount of depreciation, from any and all sources, that affects the value of the property in question on the effective date of the appraisal. (2) In accounting, the amount reserved each year or accumulated to date in the accounting system for replacement of a building or other asset. When depreciation is recorded as a dollar amount, it may be deductible from total plant value or investment to arrive at the rate base for public utilities. See also Depreciation.

Acquisition Value—An assessed value based on the cost of acquiring the property; increases in this value are usually limited until the next qualifying sale.

Adaptive Estimation Procedure (AEP)—A computerized, iterative, self-referential procedure using properties for which sales prices are known to produce a model that can be used to value properties for which sales prices are not known. Also called "feedback." Adjusted Sale Price—The sale price that results from adjustments made to the stated sale price to account for the effects of time, personal property, financing, or the like.

Adjustments—Modifications in the reported value of a variable, such as sale price or gross income. For ex-ample, adjustments can be used to estimate market value in the sales comparison approach by adjusting the sale price of the comparable for differences between comparable and subject properties.

Ad Valorem Tax—A tax levied in proportion to the value of thing being taxed.

Aerial Photograph—A photograph of a part of the earth's surface taken by an aircraft-supported camera.

Agricultural Property—Improved or unimproved land devoted to or available for the production of crops or other agricultural products, livestock, and agricultural support buildings.

Allocation Method—A method used to value land, in the absence of vacant land sales, by using a typical ratio of land to improvement value. Also called land ratio method.

Appraisal Foundation, The—The organization authorized by the United States Congress as the source of appraisal standards and appraiser qualifications.

Appraisal Ratio—(1) The ratio of the appraised value to an indicator of market value. (2) By extension, an estimated fractional relationship between the appraisals and market values of a group of properties. See also Level of Appraisal.

Appraisal Ratio Study—A ratio study using independent expert appraisals as indicators of market value.

Arm's-Length Sale—A sale between two unrelated parties, both seeking to maximize their positions from the transaction.

Assessment Cycle—A legally sanctioned reappraisal period generally ranging from one to ten years.

Assessment Date—The status date for tax purposes. Appraised values reflect the status of the property and any partially completed construction as of this date.

Assessment Equity—The degree to which assessments bears a consistent relationship to market value.

Assessment Level—The common, or overall, ratio of assessed values to market values.

Assessment Maps—See Cadastral Map.

Assessment Ratio—(1) The fractional relationship an assessed value bears to the market value of the property in question. (2) By extension, the fractional relationship the total of the assessment roll bears to the total market value of all taxable property in a jurisdiction. See Level of Assessment.

Assessment Ratio Study—An investigation intended to determine the assessment ratio and assessment equity.

Assessment Ratio—(1) The fractional relationship an assessed value bears to the market value of the property in question. (2) By extension, the fractional relationship the total of the assessment roll bears to the total market value of all taxable property in a jurisdiction. See Level of Assessment.

Assessment Ratio Study—An investigation intended to determine the assessment ratio and assessment equity.

Audit—A systematic investigation or appraisal of procedures or operations for the purpose of determining conformity with specifically prescribed criteria.

Audit, Performance—An analysis of an organization to determine whether or not the quantity and quality of work performed meets standards. Ratio studies are an important part of performance audits of an assessing organization.

Audit, Procedural—An examination of an organization to determine whether established or recommended procedures are being followed.

Audit Program—The procedures undertaken or particular work done by an accountant in conducting an examination.

Audit Trail—A set of records of the changes made to another set of records.

Automated Valuation Model—A computer program for property valuation that analyzes data using an automated process. See also Computer-assisted Mass Appraisal.

Base Year Value—In a nonmarket-value assessment system, the assessed value established as of a specific year.

Benchmark—(1) A term used in land surveying to mean a known point of reference. (2) In property appraisal, a property of known value and of known effective age and replacement cost.

(3) By extension, a model property to be used in determining by comparison the grade or quality class of other properties.

Cadastral Map—A scale map displaying property ownership boundaries and showing the dimensions of each parcel with related information such as parcel identifier, survey lines, and easements.

Calibration—The process of estimating the coefficients in a mass appraisal model.

CAMA—See Computer-assisted Mass Appraisal.

Capitalization Rate—Any rate used to convert an estimate of future income to an estimate of market value; the ratio of net operating income to market value.

Capitalization of Ground Rents—A method of estimating land value in the absence of comparable sales; applicable where there is an income stream; for ex-ample, to farmland and commercial land leased on a net basis.

Class—A set of items defined by common characteristics. (1) In property taxation, property classes such as residential, agricultural, and industrial may be defined. (2) In assessment, building classification systems based on type of building design, quality of construction, or structural type are common. (3) In statistics, a predefined category into which data may be put for further analysis. For example, ratios may be grouped into the following classes: less than 0.500, 0.500 to 0.599, 0.600 to 0.699, and so forth.

Coding—(1) The act of reducing a description of a unique object, such as a parcel of real estate, to a set of one or more measures or counts of certain of its characteristics, such as square footage, number of bathrooms, and the like. (2) Encoding, a related term, is usually used to refer to the act of translating coded descriptions useful to human beings into a form that can be processed by computers. (3) Coding is sometimes also used to refer to the writing of instructions that direct the processing done by computers.

Coefficient—(1) In a mathematical expression, a number or letter preceding and multiplying another quantity. For example, in the expression, 5X, 5 is the coefficient of X, and in the expression aY, a is the co-efficient of Y. (2) A dimensionless statistic, useful as a measure of change or relationship; for example, correlation coefficient.

Commercial Property—Generally, any nonindustrial, nonresidential realty of a commercial enterprise. Includes realty used as a retail or wholesale establishment, hotel or motel, service station, commercial garage, warehouse, theater, bank, nursing home, and the like.

Comparable Sales; Comparable—(1) Recently sold properties that are similar in important respects to a property being appraised. The sale price and the physical, functional, and locational characteristics of each of the properties are compared to those of the property being appraised in order to arrive at an estimate of value. (2) By extension, the term "comparables" is sometimes used to refer to properties with rent or income patterns comparable to those of a property being appraised.

Comparative Unit Method—(1) A method of appraising land parcels in which an average or typical value is estimated for each stratum of land. (2) A method of estimating replacement cost in which all the direct and indirect costs of a structure (except perhaps architect's fees) are aggregated and

specified with reference to a unit of comparison such as square feet of ground area or floor area, or cubic content. Separate factors are commonly specified for different intervals of the unit of comparison and for different story heights, and separate schedules are commonly used for different building types and quality classes.

Computer-assisted Assessment System—A system for assessing real and personal property with the assistance of a computer. A computer may be used, for example, in the appraisal process, in keeping track of ownership and exemption status, in printing the assessment roll, in coordinating the work load of real property appraisers and personal property appraisers with respect to the assessment of commercial and industrial properties, and in a number of other areas.

Computer-assisted Mass Appraisal (CAMA)—A system of appraising property, usually only certain types of real property, that incorporates computer-supported statistical analyses such as multiple regression analysis and adaptive estimation procedure to assist the appraiser in estimating value.

Cost—The money expended in obtaining an object or attaining an objective; generally used in appraisal to mean the expense, direct and indirect, of constructing an improvement.

Cost Approach—(1) One of the three approaches to value, the cost approach is based on the principle of substitution—that a rational, informed purchaser would pay no more for a property than the cost of building an acceptable substitute with like utility. The cost approach seeks to determine the replacement cost new of an improvement less depreciation plus land value. (2) The method of estimating the value of property by (a) estimating the cost of construction based on replacement or reproduction cost new or trended historic cost (often adjusted by a local multiplier), (b) subtracting depreciation, and (c) adding the estimated land value. The land value is most frequently determined by the sales comparison approach.

Cost Schedules—Charts, tables, factors, curves, equations, and the like intended to help estimate the cost of replacing a structure from knowledge of some other factors, such as its quality class and number of square feet.

Data—The general term for masses of numbers, codes, and symbols generally. "Data" is the plural of datum, one element of data.

Data Edit—The process of examining recorded data to ensure that each element of data is reasonable and is consistent with others recorded for the same object, such as a parcel of real estate. Data editing, which may be done by persons or by computer, is essentially a mechanical process, distinct from verifying the correctness of the recorded information by calling or writing property owners.

Data Management—The human (and sometimes computer) procedures employed to ensure that no information is lost through negligent handling of records from a file, that all information is properly supplemented and up-to-date, and that all information is easily accessible.

Depreciation—Loss in value of an object, relative to its replacement cost new, reproduction cost new, or original cost, whatever the cause of the loss in value. Depreciation is sometimes subdivided into three types: physical deterioration (wear and tear), functional obsolescence (suboptimal design in light of cur-rent technologies or tastes), and economic obsolescence (poor location or radically diminished demand for the product). See also Accrued Depreciation.

Depreciation Schedules—Tables used in mass appraisal that show the typical loss in value at various ages or effective ages for different types of properties.

Discount Rate—The rate of return on investment; the rate an investor requires to discount future in-come to its present worth.

Economic Area—A geographic area, typically encompassing a group of neighborhoods, defined on the basis that the properties within its boundaries are more or less equally subject to a set of one or more economic forces that largely determine the value of the properties in question.

Equity—(1) In assessment, the degree to which assessments bear a consistent relationship to market value. Measures include the coefficient of dispersion, coefficient of variation, and price-related differential. (2) In popular usage, a synonym for tax fairness. (3) In ownership, the net value of property after liens and other charges have been subtracted.

Expense Ratios—The ratio of expenses to gross in-come.

Factor—(1) An underlying characteristic of something (such as a house) that may contribute to the value of a variable (such as its sale price), but is observable only indirectly. For example, construction quality is a factor defined by workmanship, spacing of joists, and materials used. Factor definition and measurement may be done subjectively or by a computer-assisted statistical algorithm known as factor analysis. (2) Loosely, any characteristic used in adjusting the sales prices of comparables. (3) The reciprocal of a rate. Assessments may be equalized by multiplying them by a factor equal to the reciprocal of the assessment ratio, and value can be estimated using the in-come approach by multiplying income by a factor equal to the reciprocal of the discount rate.

Feedback—See Adaptive Estimation Procedure.

Front Foot—The unit or standard of linear measure used in measuring frontage. Geographic Information System (GIS)—(1) A database management system used to store, retrieve, manipulate, analyze, and display spatial information. (2) One type of computerized mapping system capable of integrating spatial data (land information) and attribute data among different layers on a base map.

Gross Income—The payments to an owner that a property can generate before expenses are deducted.

Gross Income Multiplier—A capitalization technique that uses the ratio between the sale price of a property and its potential gross income or its effective gross income.

Improvements—Buildings, other structures, and attachments or annexations to land that are intended to remain so attached or annexed, such as sidewalks or sewers.

Income Approach—One of the three approaches to value, based on the concept that current value is the present worth of future benefits to be derived through income production by an asset over the remainder of its economic life. The income approach uses capitalization to convert the anticipated benefits of the ownership of property into an estimate of present value.

Industrial Property—Generally, any property used in a manufacturing activity, such as a factory, wholesale bakery, food processing plant, mill, mine, or quarry.

Integrity—The quality of a data element or program being what it says it is; usually distinguished from validity, the quality of its being what it should be in terms of some ultimate purpose. After

data are edited and encoded and programs are prepared, their integrity is ensured by safeguards that prevent accidental or unauthorized tampering with them.

Land—(1) In economics, the surface of the earth and all the natural resources and natural productive powers over which possession of the earth's surface gives man control. (2) In law, a portion of the earth's surface, together with the earth below it, the space above it, and all things annexed thereto by nature or by man. See also Improvements.

Land Residual Technique—See Abstraction Method.

Legal Description—A delineation of dimensions, boundaries, and relevant attributes of a real property parcel that serve to identify the parcel for all purposes of law. The description may be in words or codes, such as metes and bounds or coordinates. For a subdivided lot, the legal description would probably include lot and block numbers and subdivision name.

Level of Appraisal—The common, or overall, ratio of appraised values to market values. Three concepts are usually of interest: the level required by law, the true or actual level, and the computed level, based on a ratio study.

Level of Assessment; Assessment Ratio—The common or overall ratio of assessed values to market values. Compare Level of Appraisal. Note: The two terms are sometimes distinguished, but there is no convention determining their meanings when they are. Three concepts are commonly of interest: what the assessment ratio is legally required to be, what the assessment ratio actually is, and what the assessment ratio seems to be, on the basis of a sample and the application of inferential statistics. When level of assessment is distinguished from assessment ratio, "level of assessment" usually means either the legal requirement or the true ratio, and "assessment ratio" usually means the true ratio or the sample statistic.

Linear Regression—A kind of statistical analysis used to investigate whether a dependent variable and a set of one or more independent variables share a linear correlation and, if they do, to predict the value of the dependent variable on the basis of the values of the other variables. Regression analysis of one dependent variable and only one independent variable is called simple linear regression, but it is the word simple (not linear) that distinguishes it from multiple regression analysis with its multiple independent variables.

Location—The numerical or other identification of a point (or object) sufficiently precise so the point can be situated. For example, the location of a point on a plane can be specified by a pair of numbers (plane coordinates) and the location of a point in space can be specified by a set of three numbers (space coordinates). However, location may also be specified in other terms than coordinates. A location may be specified as being at the intersection of two specific lines by identifying it with some prominent and known feature (for example, "on top of Pikes Peak" or "at the junction of the Potomac and Anacostia Rivers").

Map—A conventional representation, usually on a plane surface and at an established scale, of the physical features (natural, artificial, or both) of a part or the whole of the earth's surface. Features are identified by means of signs and symbols, and geographical orientation is indicated.

Map, Tax—A map drawn to scale and delineated for lot lines or property lines or both, with dimensions or areas and identifying numbers, letters, or names for all delineated lots or parcels.

Market—(1) The topical area of common interest in which buyers and sellers interact. (2) The collective body of buyers and sellers for a particular product.

Market Adjustment Factors—Market adjustment factors, reflecting supply and demand preferences, are often required to adjust values obtained from the cost approach to the market. These adjustments should be applied by type of property and area and are based on sales ratio studies or other market analyses. Accurate cost schedules, condition ratings, and depreciation schedules will minimize the need for market adjustment factors.

Market Analysis—A study of real estate market conditions for a specific type of property.

Market Area—See Economic Area.

Market Value—Market value is the major focus of most real property appraisal assignments. Both economic and legal definitions of market value have been developed and refined. A current economic definition agreed upon by agencies that regulate federal financial institutions in the United States is: The most probable price (in terms of money) which a property should bring in a competitive and open market under all conditions requisite to a fair sale, the buyer and seller each acting prudently and knowledgeably, and assuming the price is not affected by undue stimulus. Implicit in this definition is the consummation of a sale as of a specified date and the passing of title from seller to buyer under conditions whereby: The buyer and seller are typically motivated; Both parties are well informed or well advised, and acting in what they consider their best interests; A reasonable time is allowed for exposure in the open market; Payment is made in terms of cash in United States dollars or in terms of financial arrangements comparable thereto; The price represents the normal consideration for the property sold unaffected by special or creative financing or sales concessions granted by anyone associated with the sale.

Market-Value Standard—A requirement of law or practice that the assessment ratio of all properties be equal to one. Two issues are implicit here: that fractional assessment levels be avoided and that all property be assessed on the basis of its market value and not on the basis of its value in some particular use—for example, agriculture—unless that use is the only use to which the property can legally be put (in which case its use value would be equal to its market value).

Mass Appraisal—The process of valuing a group of properties as of a given date, using standard methods, employing common data, and allowing for statistical testing.

Mass Appraisal Model—A mathematical expression of how supply and demand factors interact in a market.

Model—(1) A representation of how something works. (2) For purposes of appraisal, a representation (in words or an equation) that explains the relationship between value or estimated sale price and variables representing factors of supply and demand.

Model Area—See Economic Area.

Model Calibration—The development of adjustments, or coefficients, based on market analysis, that identifies specific factors with an actual effect on market value.

Model Specification—The formal development of a model in a statement or equation, based on data analysis and appraisal theory.

Multiple Regression, Multiple Regression Analysis (MRA)—A particular statistical technique, similar to correlation, used to analyze data in order to predict the value of one variable (the

dependent variable), such as market value, from the known values of other variables (called "independent variables"), such as lot size, number of rooms, and so on. If only one independent variable is used, the procedure is called simple regression analysis and differs from correlation analysis only in that correlation measures the strength of relationship, whereas regression predicts the value of one variable from the value of the other. When two or more variables are used, the procedure is called multiple regression analysis. See Linear Regression.

Neighborhood—(1) The environment of a subject property that has a direct and immediate effect on value. (2) A geographic area (in which there are typically fewer than several thousand properties) defined for some useful purpose, such as to ensure for later multiple regression modeling that the properties are homogeneous and share important locational characteristics.

Net Income—The income expected from a property after deduction of allowable expenses.

Net Income Multiplier—A factor expressing the relationship between value and net operating income; the reciprocal of the overall rate.

Objective—The quality of being definable by specific criteria without the need for judgment.

Open Market—A freely competitive market in which any buyer or seller may trade and in which prices are determined by competition.

Overall Rate (OAR)—A capitalization rate that blends all requirements of discount, recapture, and effective tax rates for both land and improvements; used to convert annual net operating income into an indicated overall property value.

Parcel—A contiguous area of land described in a single legal description or as one of a number of lots on a plat; separately owned, either publicly or privately; and capable of being separately conveyed.

Parcel Identifier—A code, usually numerical, representing a specific land parcel's legal description. The purpose of parcel identifiers is to permit reference to legal descriptions by using a code of uniform and manageable size, thereby facilitating record-keeping and handling. Also called parcel identification number.

Personal Property—Consists of every type of property that is not real property. Personal property is movable without damage to itself or the real estate and is subdivided into tangible and intangible.

Price, Adjusted Sale—The sale price that results from adjustments made to the stated sale price to account for the effects of time, personal property, atypical financing, and the like.

Price, Market—The value of a unit of goods or service, expressed in terms of money, as established in a free and open market. Note: This term is sometimes distinguished from "market value" on the ground that the latter term assumes that buyers and sellers are in-formed, but this assumption is also implied by the phrase "free and open market." Compare Price, Sale.

Price, Sale—(1) The actual amount of money exchanged for a unit of goods or services, whether or not established in a free and open market. An indicator of market value. (2) Loosely used synonymously with "offering" or "asked" price. Note: The sale price is the "selling price" to the vendor and the "cost price" to the vendee.

Property—(1) An aggregate of things or rights to things. These rights are protected by law. There are two basic types of property: real and personal. (2) The legal interest of an owner in a parcel or thing.

Property Record Card (Form)—An assessment document with blanks for the insertion of data for property identification and description, for value estimation, and for property owner satisfaction. The basic objectives of property record forms are, first, to serve as a repository of most of the information deemed necessary for identifying and describing a property, valuing a property, and assuring property owners that the assessor is conversant with their properties, and, second, to document property appraisals. Use of properly designed property record forms permits an organized and uniform approach to amassing a property inventory.

Ratio, Assessment—See Assessment Ratio.

Ratio Study—A study of the relationship between appraised or assessed values and market values. Indicators of market values may be either sales (sales ratio study) or independent "expert" appraisals (appraisal ratio study). Of common interest in ratio studies are the level and uniformity of the appraisals or assessments. See also Level of Appraisal and Level of Assessment.

RCN—Replacement cost new or reproduction cost new.

RCNLD—Replacement cost new less depreciation or reproduction cost new less depreciation.

Real Estate—The physical parcel of land and all improvements permanently attached. Compare Real Property.

Real Property—Consists of the interests, benefits, and rights inherent in the ownership of land plus anything permanently attached to the land or legally defined as immovable; the bundle of rights with which ownership of real estate is endowed. To the extent that "real estate" commonly includes land and any permanent improvements, the two terms can be understood to have the same meaning. Also called "realty."

Reappraisal—The mass appraisal of all property within an assessment jurisdiction accomplished within or at the beginning of a reappraisal cycle (see below, sense 2). Also called revaluation or reassessment. Reappraisal Cycle—(1) The period of time necessary for a jurisdiction to have a complete reappraisal. For example, a cycle of five years occurs when one-fifth of a jurisdiction is reappraised each year and also when a jurisdiction is reappraised all at once every five years. (2) The maximum interval between reappraisals as stated in laws.

Reassessment—(1) The relisting and revaluation of all property, or all property of a given class, within an assessment district by order of an authorized officer or body after a finding by such an officer or body that the original assessment is too faulty for correction through the usual procedures of review and equalization. (2) The revaluation of all real property by the regularly constituted assessing authorities, as distinguished from assessment on the basis of valuations most or all of which were established in some prior year. See also Revaluation.

Reciprocal—The result obtained when 1 is divided by a given number.

Reconciliation—The final step in the valuation process wherein consideration is given to the relative strengths and weaknesses of the three approaches to value, the nature of the property

appraised, and the quantity and quality of available data in formation of an overall opinion of value (either a single point estimate or a range of value). Also termed "correlation" in some texts.

Regression Analysis—See Multiple Regression Analysis.

Reliability—The degrees to which measures are free from random error and therefore yield consistent results; the extent to which a procedure yields consistent results on repeated trials.

Replacement Cost; Replacement Cost New—The cost, including material, labor, and overhead, that would be incurred in constructing an improvement having the same utility to its owner as a subject improvement, without necessarily reproducing exactly any particular characteristics of the subject. The re-placement cost concept implicitly eliminates all functional obsolescence from the value given; thus, only physical depreciation and economic obsolescence need to be subtracted to obtain replacement cost new less depreciation (RCNLD).

Replacement Cost New Less Depreciation (RCNLD)—In the cost approach, replacement cost new less physical incurable depreciation.

Reproduction Cost; Reproduction Cost New—The cost of constructing a new property, reasonably identical (having the same characteristics) with the given property except for the absence of physical depreciation, using the same materials, construction standards, design, and quality of workmanship, computed on the basis of prevailing prices and on the assumption of normal competency and normal conditions.

Residential Property—Property used for housing such as single-family residences, duplexes, or apartment buildings.

Residual—The difference between an observed value and a predicted value for a dependent variable. Residual Technique—A method of arriving at the unknown value of a property component by subtracting the known values of other components from a known overall value.

Revaluation—A reappraisal of property; especially a complete reappraisal of real property after assessment for one or more years on valuations most (or all) of which were established in some prior year. Compare Reassessment and Reappraisal.

Review—(1) Consideration by a board of appeals, a board of equalization, a board of review, or a court, of individual, property class, or district assessments, whether for the purpose of adding omitted taxable property, removing exempt property, or equalizing the valuations placed on listed property. (2) The act or process of critically studying a report, such as an appraisal, prepared by another.

Sale, Arm's-Length—A sale in the open market between two unrelated parties, each of whom is reasonably knowledgeable of market conditions and under no undue pressure to buy or sell.

Sale Price—See Price, Sale; Price, Adjusted Sale.

Sales Comparison Approach—One of three approaches to value, the sales comparison approach estimates a property's value (or some other characteristic, such as its depreciation) by reference to comparable sales.

Sales Data—(1) Information about the nature of the transaction, the sale price, and the characteristics of a property as of the date of sale. (2) The elements of information needed from each property for some purpose, such as appraising properties by the direct sales comparison approach.

Sales File—A file of sales data.

Sales Ratio Study—A ratio study that uses sales prices as proxies for market values.

Schedules—Tables, equations, or some other means of presenting the relationship between the values of two or more variables that are functionally related. For example, cost schedules present the relationship between cost per square foot and living area for a number of quality classes, building heights, and other characteristics.

Single-Property Appraisal—Systematic appraisal of properties one at a time.

Site—The location of a person, thing, or event.

Site Characteristics—(1) Characteristics of (and data that describe) a particular property, especially land size, shape, topography, drainage, and so on, as opposed to location and external economic forces.

Software—(1) Computer programs. (2) Those parts of a computer system that are not machinery or circuits; procedures and possibly documentation are included along with programs.

Special-Purpose Property—A property adapted for a single use.

Standard 6—See Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.

Stratify—To divide, for purposes of analysis, a sample of observations into two or more subsets ac-cording to some criterion or set of criteria.

Stratum, Strata (pl.)—A class or subset that results from stratification.

Subclass—A group of properties within a class, smaller than the class, usually (although not necessarily) defined by stratification rather than by sampling.

Subject Property—The property being appraised.

Subjective—Having the quality of requiring judgment in arriving at an appropriate answer of value of a variable (such as the quality class of a structure).

Three Approaches to Value—A convenient way to group the various methods of appraising a property. The cost approach encompasses several methods for estimating replacement cost new of an improvement less depreciation plus land value. The sales comparison approach estimates values by comparison with similar properties for which sales prices are known. The methods included in the income approach are based on the assumption that value equals the present worth of the rights to future income.

Time-adjusted Sale Price—The price at which a property sold, adjusted for the effects of price changes reflected in the market between the date of sale and the date of analysis.

Trending—Adjusting the values of a variable for the effects of time. Usually used to refer to adjustments of assessments intended to reflect the effects of inflation and deflation and sometimes also, but not necessarily, the effects of changes in the demand for micro locational goods and services.

Trending Factor—A figure representing the increase in cost or selling price over a period of time. Trending accounts for the relative difference in the value of a dollar between two periods.

Uniformity—The equality of the burden of taxation in the method of assessment.

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice—Annual publication of the Appraisal Standards Board of The Appraisal Foundation: "These Standards deal with the procedures to be followed in performing an appraisal, appraisal review, or appraisal consulting service and the manner in which an appraisal, appraisal review, or appraisal consulting service is communicated. ... Standard 6 establishes requirements for the development and reporting of mass appraisals of a universe of properties for ad valorem tax purposes or any other intended use" (The Appraisal Foundation, Appraisal Standards Board 2002, Preamble, p. 6).

Unit of Comparison—A property as a whole or some smaller measure of the size of the property used in the sales comparison approach to estimate a price per unit.

Use Class—(1) A grouping of properties based on their use rather than, for example, their acreage or construction. (2) One of the following classes of property: single-family residential, multifamily residential, agricultural, commercial, industrial, vacant land, and institutional/exempt. (3) Any subclass refinement of the above—for example, townhouse, detached single-family, condominium, house on farm, and so on.

Use Value—(1) The value of property in a specific use. (2) Property entirely used for a specific purpose or use that may entitle the property to be assessed at a different level than others in the jurisdiction. Examples of properties that may be assessed at use value under the statutes include agricultural land, timberland, and historical sites.

USPAP—See Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.

Valuation—(1) The process of estimating the value—market, investment, insured, or other properly defined value—of a specific parcel or parcels of real estate or of an item or items of personal property as of a given date. (2) The process or business of appraising, of making estimates of the value of some-thing. The value usually required to be estimated is market value.

Valuation Date—The specific date as of which assessed values are set for purposes of property taxation. This date may also be known as the "date of finality." See also Assessment Date.

Valuation Model—A representation in words or in an equation that explains the relationship between value or estimated sale price and variables representing factors of supply and demand.

Value—(1) The relationship between an object desired and a potential owner; the characteristics of scarcity, utility, desirability, and transferability must be present for value to exist. (2) Value may also be described as the present worth of future benefits arising from the ownership of real or personal property. (3) The estimate sought in a valuation. (4) Any number between positive infinity and negative infinity. See also Market Value.

Variable—An item of observation that can assume various values, for example, square feet, sales prices, or sales ratios. Variables are commonly described using measures of central tendency and dispersion.

Verify—To check the accuracy of something. For example, sales data may be verified by interviewing the purchaser of the property, and data entries may be verified by check digits. References