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(1) Purpose. The purpose of this regulation is to provide
guidance concerning the payment and reporting of withholding tax
required under O.C.G.A. §§ 48-2-32, 48-7-101, 48-7-103, 48-7-
105, and 48-7-106, and the withholding penalties imposed by
subsection (c) of O.C.G.A. §48-7-126.

(2} Definitions.

(a) “Annual payer” means an employer who withholds or is
required to withhold $800.00 or less in the aggregate for the
lookback period.

(b) “Business day” means every day except Saturday, Sunday,
or any holiday observed by the Federal Reserve Bank or the State
of Georgia,

(c) “EFT” means the payment by electronic funds transfer as
provided and required by Rule 560-3-2-.26,
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(d) “Lookback period” means the twelve month period ending
June 30" of the preceding calendar year. For example, the
lookback period for calendar year 2016 is the period from July 1,
2014 through June 30, 2015.

(e) “Monthly payer” means an employer who withholds or is
required to withhold $50,000 or less in the aggregate for the
lookback period and who is not an annual payer or a quarterly

payer.

(f) “Payday” means the date on the employee’s check or the first
day the employee is able to tender the check for cash or other
consideration, whichever is earlier.

(g) *“Quarterly payer” means an employer who withholds or is
required to withhold $200.00 or less per month during the
lookback period and who is not an annual payer.

(h) “Semi-weekly payer” means an employer who withholds or
is required to withhold more than $50,000 in the aggregate during
the lookback period.

(1) “Withholding tax™ means the tax withheld or required to be
withheld from an employee’s wages pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 48-7-
101.

(3) Payment of Withholding Tax.

{a) Determination of Taxpayer Status. An employer will be
deemed a semi-weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annual payer based
upon an annual calculation of the employer’s aggregate amount of
withholding tax reported for the lookback period.
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1. In determining the withholding tax amount for the lookback
period, the Department shall determine the total amount of
withholding tax liabilities reported or required to be reported per
the taxpayer’s withholding tax quarterly returns (Forms G-7) for
the four quarters constituting the lookback period.

2. Because an employer may have multiple Georgia withholding
tax identification numbers, an employer must include all
withholding tax liabilities incurred under the same federal
employer identification number (FEIN) when calculating its
aggregate amount of withholding tax liabilities. For example, a
business may have five locations and each location remits and
reports withholding tax under a different state withholding tax
number yet all locations operate under the same FEIN. The
calculation of the withholding tax for the lookback period must
include the withholding tax of all five business locations.

3. An employer who does not possess a withholding tax history
in Georgia will be required to file on a monthly basis until the
employer has established a withholding tax history.

4. In determining the total amount of withholding tax for each
quarter in the lookback period, the Department will not include
adjustments made on a corrected Form G-7 quarterly return filed
after the return’s due date. However, adjustments made on line 2
of Form G-7 filed by the return’s due date will be taken into
consideration.

(b) Semi-weekly payer

1. Unless a payer falls under subparagraph (3){(g) of this
regulation, a semi-weekly payer for a calendar year must remit
withholding tax via EFT on either the Wednesday or Friday
following the payday as discussed below.

3



Chapter 560-7-8 Returns and Collections

(i) For paydays occurring on a Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday
the withholding tax is required to be remitted via EFT on or before
the following Wednesday. If the following Wednesday is not a
business day, the tax must be remitted on or before the next
business day thereafter.

(11) For paydays occurring on a Saturday, Sunday, Monday, or
Tuesday the withholding tax is required to be remitted via EFT on
or before the following Friday. If the following Friday is not a
business day, the tax must be remitted on or before the next
business day thereafter.

2. All semi-weekly payers must remit withholding tax via EFT.
See 0.C.G.A. § 48-2-32 and Rule 560-3-2-.26 for additional
information and requirements.

3. Payroll checks issued between scheduled paydays will be
deemed to have been issued for the next scheduled payday. For
example, a company normally pays its employees on the 15" and
last day of the month. However, an employee is issued a
supplemental check on the 6 of the month due to a miscalculation
of his earnings. For withholding tax purposes, the supplemental
check is deemed to have been issued on the 15". The related
withholding tax from the supplemental check shall be sent via EFT
along with the withholding tax related to the payday scheduled for
the 15" of the month.

4. Employers with two or more payroll periods

(i) An employer with two or more payroll periods in which the
paydays fall on different dates shall remit the related withholding
tax for each payday on the respective payment due dates pursuant
to subparagraph (3)(b)1. of this regulation.
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(iiy Example. An employer pays its hourly employees every
Friday and its salaried employees on the 15% and last day of the
month.

(I} April 15" falls on a Friday; therefore, the withholding tax for
the salaried employees will be remitted the following Wednesday,
April 20" along with the withholding tax related to the hourly
employees. In this case, the employer has a single remittance
obligation for both paydays.

(1) April 15™ falls on a Tuesday; therefore, the withholding tax
for the salaried employees will be remitted the following Friday,
April 18", The withholding tax related to the hourly employees’
Friday, April 11" payday will be remitted the following
Wednesday, April 16" In this case, the employer has two
remittance obligations for two separate paydays.

(¢) Monthly payer. An employer that is determined to be a
monthly payer must remit withholding tax with respect to
payments made during a calendar month on or before the 15" day
of the following month.

(d) Quarterly payer. An employer that is determined to be a
quarterly payer must remii withholding tax with respect to
payments made during the calendar quarter on or before the last
day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter.

(e} Annual payer. An employer that is determined to be an
annual payer must remit withholding tax with respect to payments
made during the calendar year on or before the last day of January
of the following year in which the tax was required to be withheld.
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(f) Monthly, quarterly, and annual payers shall submit their
payments via EFT if required to do so by regulation 560-7-3-.26.

(g) One-Day Rule

1. Notwithstanding subparagraphs (b) through (f) of this
paragraph, withholding tax totaling more than $100,000 for the
payday must be remitted via EFT by the next business day after the
payday. For example, an employer is required to withhold
$120,000 in tax related to the payroll checks dated Monday, May
15", Therefore, the employer must remit the withheld tax to the
Department via EFT on Tuesday, May 16™.

(4) Reporting of Withholding Tax.
(a) Semi-weekly Payer

1. Every employer who qualifies as a semi-weekly payer shall
file a *G-7/SchB Quarterly Return for Semi-Weekly Payer” on or
before the last day of the month following the end of the calendar
quarter in which the withholding tax was required.

2. The return shall reflect the withholding tax liability for the
calendar quarter less credit for any withholding tax payments made
pursuant to subparagraph (3)(b) of this regulation during the
calendar quarter. Any outstanding withholding tax reflected on the
return shall be remitted via EFT on or before the due date of the
return.  Such amount shall be subject to the penalties provided in
paragraph (6) as well as interest.

(b) Monthly Payers

1. Every employer who qualifies as a monthly payer shall file a
“G-7 Quarterly Return for Monthly Payer™ on or before the last
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day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter in
which the withholding tax was required.

2. The return shall be accompanied by payment of the amount of
any tax due for such calendar quarter less credit for any
withholding tax payments required under subparagraph (3)(c) of
this regulation during the calendar quarter. Such amount shall be
subject to the penalties provided in paragraph (6) as well as
interest.

(¢) Quarterly Payers

1. Every employer who qualifies as a quarterly payer shall file a
“G-7 Quarterly Return for Quarterly Payer” on or before the last
day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter in
which the withholding tax was required.

2. The return shall be accompanied by payment of the amount of
tax due for such calendar quarter less credit for any withholding
tax payments made under subparagraph (3)(d) of this regulation
during the calendar quarter.

(d) Annual Payers

1. Every employer who qualifies as an annual payer shall file the
fourth quarter “G-7 Quarterly Return for Quarterly Payer” on or
before January 31* of the following year in which the withholding
was required.

2. The return shall be accompanied by payment of the amount of
tax due for the year less credit for any withholding tax payments
made under subparagraph (3)e) of this regulation during the
calendar year.
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(e) Withholding Tax Statements

1. For calendar years beginning on or before December 18,
2015, on or before February 28" of each calendar year, an
employer or other withholding taxpayer must file with the
Department copies of the previous year’s withholding tax
statements,

2. The February 28" filing date stated within subparagraph
{4)(e)1. shall continue to apply for calendar years beginning after
December 18, 2015, with respect to Forms 1099 where Georgia
withholding occurred and where such forms are required to be filed
for any reason other than to report nonemployee compensation.

3. For calendar years beginning after December 18, 2015, on or
before January 31 of each year for the preceding calendar year, an
employer or other withholding taxpayer must file with the
Department copies of the previous year’s Form W-2 withholding
tax statements.

4. For calendar years beginning after December 18, 2015, the
January 31 filing date stated within subparagraph (4)(e)3. shall also
apply with respect to Forms 1099 where Georgia withholding
occurred and where such forms are required to be filed to report
nonemployee compensation.

5. The Form G-1003 return must accompany the withholding
tax statements. The Department may require a different G-1003
return for different types of withholding tax statements.

6. In most cases, the Department will only grant a 30 day
extension to file Form G-1003 and all associated withholding tax
statements if the Internal Revenue Service issues an extension,
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7. Every employer required by the United States Social Security
Administration or the Internal Revenue Service to submit
withholding tax statements electronically shall similarly submit the
Form G-1003 return and all associated withholding tax statements
electronically to the Department. Additionally, taxpayers that
remit withholding tax payments by electronic funds transfer,
whether on a mandatory or voluntary basis, must file the Form G-
1003 return and all associated withholding tax statements
electronically,

8. Withholding tax statements include Forms 1099, W-2, G2-A,
etc. Forms 1099 are only required to be submitted if Georgia
income tax is withheld.

(f) Termination of business or change in business status.

1. An employer must report, only by using the Department’s
Georgia Tax Center, the termination of the business or change in
business status relating to ownership, address, entity structure, or
any other significant change relating to withholding tax
responsibilities.

2. An employer is required to file its final withholding tax form
and pay all withholding tax due by the earlier of the due date or 30
days after the close of the business or change in business entity or
ownership.

3. Copies of the withholding tax statements must be filed along
with the Form G-1003 return within 30 days after the close of the
business or change in business entity or ownership.

(5) Certification of Software Vendors. At such time that the
Department starts its certification program, the electronic filing of
withholding returns and withholding tax statements must be
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completed by utilizing a software vendor that is approved by the
Department.

(6) Withholding Penalties. The withholding penalties imposed
by subsection (c) of O.C.G.A. §48-7-126 shall be applied as
follows (see subparagraph (6)(e) for examples):

(a) The addition of the $25 late penalty assessed on a
withholding period may only occur once per quarter. Such $25
penalty shall be added to the first instance of either the late filing
penalty or the late payment penalty.

(b) Five (5) percent late filing penalty will be assessed starting
on the first business day after the due date of the return, and then
five (5) percent will be assessed on the first day of each month
thereafter. Any payments or credits as well as amounts on the
adjustment lines on the Forms G-7 will for purposes of the late
filing penalty calculation be ignored; this will be calculated using
the tax withheld before application of any payments or credits and
any adjustments listed on the Forms G-7.

(c) For all but quarterly and annual payers, late payment penalty
will be assessed based on five (5) percent of the separate months
the tax is due for the period of time prior to the return due date.
Thereafier, it will be assessed at five (5) percent of the aggregate
of the unpaid balance on the 16" of the month, For quarterly and
annual payers it will be assessed at five (5) percent of the unpaid
balance on the 1* of each month after the return due date.

(d) If at any time the amount of the late filing penalty plus the
late payment penalty charged would exceed $25 plus twenty-five
(25) percent of the total tax due for the period, the amount
necessary to reach this threshold will be assessed and no further
late payment penalty or late filing penalty will be assessed. Any
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payments or credits as well as amounts on the adjustment lines on
the Forms G-7 will for purposes of this threshold be ignored; this
will be calculated using the tax withheld before application of any
payments or credits and any adjustments listed on the Forms G-7.

(e) Examples:

1. Example 1:

Monthly Payer Owes:
$5,000 January
$6,000 February
$7,000 March

Filing Due:  4/30/2009
Actual Filing: 5/10/2009
Pays in Full:  5/10/2009

Late Payment Penalties:
April 16th, 2009:

$25 + (85,000 * 15%) = $775
($6.000 * 10%) = $600
($7.000 * 5%) = $350

Late Filing Penalty:

May 1st, 2009:
($18,000 * 5%) = $900

Total Penalty: $2,625

2. Example 2.
11
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Monthly Payer Owes:
$50,000 January
$75,000 February
$75,000 March

Pays in full on time.

Filing Due:  4/30/2009
Actual Filing: 6/15/2009

Late Payment Penalties:
None.
Late Filing Penalty:

May 1st, 2009

$25 + ($200,000 * 5%) = $10,025

June Ist, 2009

($200,000 * 5%) = $10,000

Total Penalty: $20,025
3. Example 3.

Monthly Payer Owes:

$50.,000 January

$75.000 February
$75,000 March

Returns and Collections
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Pays

$100,000 February 20th
$50,000 March 20th

Filing Due:  4/30/2009
Actual Filing: 7/15/2009

Late Payment Penalties prior to Filing Due Date:

Feb 16th, 2009:

$25 + 5% of $50,000 from January = $2,525

Feb 20th payment of $100,000 pays the $50,000 January amount
due and $50,000 of February amount due which leaves $25,000
owed from February.

Mar 16th, 2009:

5% of $25,000 from February = $1,250

Mar 20th payment of $50,000 pays for remainder of the $25,000
owed from February and pays $25,000 of the amount due from
March which leaves $50,000 owed from March.

Apr 16th, 2009:

5% of $50,000 from March = $2,500

Total Late Payment Penalty before Filing Due Date = $6,275
Penalty after Filing Due Date:

Tax Balance Unpaid = $50,000

13



Chapter 560-7-8 Returns and Collections

Maximum Penalty Threshold = §25 + 25% of $200,000 = $50,025

Late Filing Penalty
May list, 2009
($200,000 * 5%) = $10,000

Late Payment Penalty
May 16th, 2009
(350,000 * 5%) = $2,500

Late Filing Penalty
June 1st, 2009
($200,000 * 5%) = $10,000

Late Payment Penalty
June 16th, 2009
(350,000 * 5%) = $2,500

Late Filing Penalty
July Ist, 2009
($200,000 * 5%) = $10,000

Filed July 15th, Stop Late Filing Penalty
Late Payment Penalty

July 16th, 2009

($50,000 * 5%) = $2,500

Late Payment Penalty

Aug 16th, 2009

($50,000 * 5%) = $2,500

Late Payment Penalty
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Sep 16th, 2009
($50,000 * 5%) = $2,500

Late Payment Penalty

Oct 16th, 2009

($50,000 * 5%) = $2,500, however reduced to $1,250 due to
threshold

Threshold Met, Stop All Additional Late Penalty

Total Penalty = $50,025

Authority: O.C.G.A. §§ 48-2-12, 48-2-32, 48-7-54, 48-7-101, 48-
7-103, 48-7-105, 48-7-106, and 48-7-126.
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