
        

 
 

Georgia Department of Revenue Sales Tax Bulletin  
Prepaid Local Tax on Motor Fuel Sales 

Effective: July 1, 2015 
 
 

June 1, 2015 
 
All licensed motor fuel distributors (suppliers) in the State of Georgia must collect Prepaid Local 
Tax on all motor fuel sold for highway use at the time the State Excise Tax is collected.  The 
average retail sales price is used to calculate the tax on sales subject to Prepaid Local Tax. 
 
Effective July 1, 2015, the Prepaid Local Tax average retail sales prices set out below must be 
collected by Georgia licensed distributors on all sales of motor fuel sold to any purchaser not 
licensed as a Georgia distributor.  The following average retail sales prices will be in effect 
effective July 1, 2015 through December 31, 2015, unless subsequently revised by the 
Department.   
                                                                                                                 
  Motor Fuel Type                Average  Retail Price1 
 
 1.  Gasoline                 $ 2.350  Per/Gal. 
 
 2.  Diesel (Clear/Dyed)          $ 2.549  Per/Gal. 
 
 3.  Aviation Gasoline             $ 3.00 Per/Gal.  
 
 4.  L.P.G.                       $ 1.954  Per/Gal. 
 
 5. Special Fuel (includes CNG)        $ 2.297  Per/Gal.  
 

 
 

FOR MORE INFORMATION 
 
The Prepaid Local Tax average retail sales prices are published semi-annually and posted to the 
Department of Revenue web site in May and November of each year, or more frequently, if a 
revision is required.  Should you have any questions regarding this bulletin, please visit our 
Internet site at http://dor.georgia.gov/ or call the Taxpayer Services Division, Motor Fuel Unit, 
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., EST, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, at 1-877-423-6711.   
                                                                                                                          

                                                           
1 Note:  By law, Prepaid Local Tax cannot be assessed on amounts in excess of three dollars ($3.00).  Where the 
average retail sales price exceeds three dollars ($3.00) for a motor fuel type, this bulletin reflects the maximum 
taxable amount.  
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