First, report the loss or non-receipt of your license plate (tag) and/or decal to law enforcement and obtain a copy of their report. They should not charge for a copy of their report when your tag and/or decal was lost in the mail.
Mutilated license plate and/or decal, when applicable
Cash, check or money order for $8.00* payable to the Office of the Tax Commissioner
For special license plates that are lost or mutilated, regular-series license plates will be issued unless you request another special plate on the application and pay the manufacturing fee in addition to the fees and items listed above. Plate Samples can be viewed here. Then click on the type of special tag to view a sample and the requirements and fees for obtaining.
If your special prestige license plate (tag) is mutilated and the letter(s)/number(s) are still readable, you may apply for a replacement prestige license plate with the same combination as the original by submitting the following to your county Tax Commissioner's Tag Office:
The mutilated special prestige tag with the letters and/or numbers still readable
Cash, check or money order for $43.00 for the total fees due ($8.00* replacement tag fee and $35.00 manufacturing fee) payable to the Office of the Tax Commissioner (Please check with your local Tax Commissioner's office for acceptable types of payment.)
First, report the loss or non-receipt of your tag to law enforcement* and obtain a copy of their report. A copy of their report should be free if the tag was lost in the mail prior to your receipt.
Second, apply by mail or in-person to the Department's Special Tags Unit of the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) for a replacement tag with the following:
You must show your valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card if you go in-person
A copy of the police report. (This is not needed if the tag is damaged and the damaged tag is submitted.)
Damaged tag, if applicable
MV-6 Application for Dealer, Distributor, Manufacturer or Transporter Tag - Typed, printed electronically or printed legibly by hand and signed by an authorized representative of your company. Enter your permanent twelve-digit MVD assigned customer number. Enter your license number or certificate number from the appropriate state licensing agency in the spaces provided
Cash, check or money order in the amount of $12.00* payable to the Department of Revenue or a completed Form T-200 if your was tag lost in the mail prior to your receipt. Please do not remit cash through the mail!
*Note: The replacement tag may be issued free if your original tag was lost in the mail in route to you, the registered owner; provided, you apply for the replacement tag within 90 days of the tag's issue date and you submit a completed Form T-200 with your application.
Only authorized agents of your company, as shown on your original application, will be allowed to sign or pick-up documents, license plates, and/or titles on your company's behalf. Your authorized agent must be prepared to show his or her valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card when conducting business on your company's behalf. His or her name as shown on your application must match the name on his or her Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card.
Submit a completed MV-6A Application to add or delete an authorized person's name. There is no charge to add or delete an authorized agent's name.
First, change your name and/or address on your Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card. You can connect with the Department of Driver Services for information regarding Georgia driver's license and/or identification cards.
Second, within 30 days of your new address, you should apply for a name and/or address change on your Georgia title (if applicable) and registration certificate (tag receipt) at the Tax Commissioner’s Tag Office in the county in Georgia where you currently reside. Some counties require you to make such changes in-person. Submit the following to their office:
A valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card issued in your current name showing your current address
Original valid Georgia title and current registration certificate (tag receipt)
If your financial institution (i.e. Bank, credit union, etc.) is holding your Georgia title, forward the required forms and fees to them requesting that they submit them to your county Tax Commissioner’s Tag Office together with your original Georgia title for the issuance of a new title and registration showing your new name and/or address
If the lien or security interest has been satisfied or paid, it should be released in the spaces provided on the title and the satisfied or paid lien or security interest information omitted from the title application
When applying for a name change, submit a certified copy of the court document authorizing the change (i.e. Certified copy of divorce decree, marriage certificate or court order)
When applying by mail, please be sure to include a note indicating the requested changes (i.e. name and/or address change)
$18.00 title fee, when applying for a new title. There is no charge for only an address change on your tag registration certificate. If you are applying during your registration period, annual fees and taxes will be due (i.e. Ad valorem tax if applicable, annual registration fee, $1.00 mailing fee, etc.)
When and where you can transfer your license plate:
You may transfer your valid Georgia license plate from a vehicle you no longer own to your newly purchased or acquired vehicle at your county Tax Commissioner's Tag Offices within 30 days of the vehicle's purchase or acquisition date when you are not obtaining a new license plate for the vehicle.
To be able to transfer your license plate, both vehicles must require the same price and type license plate. A license plate issued for a pick-up truck can be transferred to an automobile because they are issued the same price ($20.00) and type license plate. You cannot transfer the license plate for your trailer ($12.00) or a vehicle weighing 14,001 or more pounds to an automobile or pick-up truck, or vice versa, because they are issued different type/price license plates. To view our rate chart showing the different regular-issue license plates and the annual registration fee for each check out our General Registration Information section.
If you do not already have a Georgia Certificate of Title issued in your name for your newly purchased or acquired vehicle (when a Georgia title is required), you must apply for a title at the time you transfer your license plate. To see if your vehicle requires a Georgia Certificate of Title, check out our Obtaining a Georgia Title section.
A valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card
Original valid license plate registration certificate or a legible copy of the same for the vehicle you no longer own
Original valid title or manufacturer's statement of origin properly assigned to you using your full legal name(s)
If you are applying for only a license plate transfer because the newly acquired vehicle does not require a Georgia title or a Georgia title has already been issued in your name for the vehicle, you will be asked to show proof of ownership (e.g. Title issued in your name or properly assigned to you; or the vehicle's license plate registration certificate and bill(s) of sale). A complete chain of ownership must be shown from the registered or titled owner(s) up through you, the current owner(s)
Proof that your vehicle has passed an emission's inspection if you live in one of the thirteen metro-Atlanta area counties where an emission's inspection is required
Fees and Taxes Due
$5.00 license plate transfer fee
$18.00 title fee, when your vehicle requires a Georgia title and a title is being applied at the time of the tag transfer
$1.00 mailing fee if your registration certificate is to be mailed to you
$10.00 title penalty is due when you fail to apply for a title in your name within 90 days of the vehicle's purchase or transfer date. This fee is not due if a Georgia title has already been issued in your name or when a Georgia title is not required