GEORGIA CERTIFICATION PROGRAM

Education requirements for county tax officials and staff are listed separately in Georgia statutes. The courses that are described in this booklet will fulfill the certification requirements for both county tax assessors and county tax appraisers.

County Tax Assessor Certification Requirements

The requirements cited in this Section are a combination of Georgia Code Section 48-5-291 and Department of Revenue Regulations.

- (a) Age Requirement: Must be 21 years of age.
- (b) <u>Residency Requirement</u>: Must become a resident of the county within six months after taking the oath of office as a tax assessor.
- (c) <u>Education Requirement</u>: Must have a high school diploma or its equivalent and must successfully complete Course I within 180 days after appointment.
- (d) <u>Maintenance Requirement</u>: Must successfully complete at least 40 hours of approved appraisal courses during each two calendar years of tenure. Approved appraisal courses include the following:
 - 1. Those courses offered regionally by the State Revenue Commissioner;
 - 2. Those courses offered as a part of the Annual Short Course at The University of Georgia;
 - 3. Those courses offered by the International Association of Assessing Officers when approved by the director of Local Government Services Division.
 - 4. The taking of Course I during the 180 days after his/her appointment does not satisfy this maintenance requirement for the first two-year tenure of the assessor's first term.
 - 5. The term 'calendar year' shall be measured by calculating 12 months from date of appointment.