
 

 
 

Georgia Department of Revenue Sales Tax Bulletin  
Prepaid Local Tax on Motor Fuel Sales 

Effective: January 1, 2017 
 

November 30, 2016 
 
Effective January 1, 2017, the Prepaid Local Tax based on the average retail sales prices set out 
below must be remitted by duly licensed Georgia distributors (suppliers, wholesalers) on all sales of 
motor fuel to any purchaser not duly licensed as a Georgia distributor of that fuel type. The average 
retail sales price is used to calculate the tax on sales subject to Prepaid Local Tax. Prepaid Local 
Tax due must be remitted at the same time as the applicable State Excise Tax. 
 
The following average retail sales prices will be in effect January 1, 2017 through June 30, 
2017, unless subsequently revised by the Department:   
                                                                                                                 
  Motor Fuel Type                Average Retail Price1 
 
 1.  Gasoline                 $ 1.931  Per Gal. 
 
 2.  Diesel (Clear/Dyed)          $ 2.061  Per Gal. 
 
 3.  Aviation Gasoline             $ 3.000  Per Gal.  
 
 4.  Liquefied Petroleum Gas                     $ 1.954  Per Gal. 
 
 5. Special and Compressed Petroleum Gas      $ 1.862  Per Gal.  
 

 
 

FOR MORE INFORMATION 
 
The Prepaid Local Tax average retail sales prices are published semi-annually and typically 
posted to the Department of Revenue website in May and November of each year, or more 
frequently, if a revision is required.  Should you have any questions regarding this bulletin, 
please visit our website at http://dor.georgia.gov/ or call the Taxpayer Services Motor Fuel Unit, 
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., EST, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, at 1-877-423-6711.   
                                                                                                                          

                                                           
1 Note:  By law, Prepaid Local Tax cannot be assessed on amounts in excess of three dollars ($3.00).  Where the 
average retail sales price exceeds three dollars ($3.00) for a motor fuel type, this bulletin reflects the maximum 
taxable amount.  
 


