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December 1, 2015 

 

All licensed motor fuel distributors (suppliers) in the State of Georgia must collect Prepaid Local 

Tax on all motor fuel sold for highway use at the time the State Excise Tax is collected.  The 

average retail sales price is used to calculate the tax on sales subject to Prepaid Local Tax. 

 
Effective January 1, 2016, the Prepaid Local Tax average retail sales prices set out below must be 

collected by Georgia licensed distributors on all sales of motor fuel sold to any purchaser not 

licensed as a Georgia distributor.  The following average retail sales prices will be in effect 

effective January 1, 2016 through July 1, 2016, unless subsequently revised by the Department.   

                                                                                                                 

  Motor Fuel Type                Average  Retail Price
1
 

 

 1.  Gasoline                 $ 1.784  Per/Gal. 

 

 2.  Diesel (Clear/Dyed)          $ 2.011  Per/Gal. 

 

 3.  Aviation Gasoline             $ 3.00  Per/Gal.  

 

 4.  L.P.G.                       $ 1.954  Per/Gal. 

 

 5. Special Fuel (includes CNG)        $ 1.717  Per/Gal.  

 

 

 

FOR MORE INFORMATION 
 

The Prepaid Local Tax average retail sales prices are published semi-annually and posted to the 

Department of Revenue web site in May and November of each year, or more frequently, if a 

revision is required.  Should you have any questions regarding this bulletin, please visit our 

Internet site at http://dor.georgia.gov/ or call the Taxpayer Services Division, Motor Fuel Unit, 

8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., EST, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, at 1-877-423-6711.   

                                                                                                                        

                                                           
1
 Note:  By law, Prepaid Local Tax cannot be assessed on amounts in excess of three dollars ($3.00).  Where the 

average retail sales price exceeds three dollars ($3.00) for a motor fuel type, this bulletin reflects the maximum 

taxable amount.  
 

http://dor.georgia.gov/

