

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 25, 2018

IRS Selects Commissioner Lynne Riley for the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee

Washington – Today, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) announced they have selected Commissioner Lynne Riley to join the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (ETAAC).

Established in 1998, the <u>ETAAC</u> is a public forum for the discussion of issues in electronic tax administration. Its aim is to prevent identity theft and refund fraud in support of paperless filing of tax and information returns. ETAAC members work closely with the Security Summit, a joint effort of the IRS, state tax administrators and tax software industry to fight identity theft and refund fraud.

Committee members include state tax officials, consumer advocates, cybersecurity and information security specialists, tax preparers and tax software developers and representatives of the payroll and financial communities.

"It is an honor to be selected to serve on the ETAAC Committee. I look forward to working with some of the best and brightest individuals in the tax industry on preventing fraud while supporting paperless filing," said Commissioner Riley. "This is an excellent opportunity to keep Georgia at the forefront in the fight against tax fraud and identity theft."

In addition to Commissioner Riley, the IRS also appointed Gene Salo to serve three-year terms. For further information on ETAAC and Committee selections, please visit the IRS website.

Media Contact

Name: William Gaston Phone: (404) 417-2286 Cell: (470) 725-5265

Email address: william.gaston@dor.ga.gov

