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Georgia Department of Revenue

Local Government Services Division

Delinquent Tax Overview

GATO 2016

Georgia Department of Revenue

Pre-Levy Collection Strategies
• Sending Letters and Collection Notices

• Making Follow-Up Telephone Calls

• Personal Visits

• Accepting Partial Payments

Georgia Department of Revenue

Sending Letters and Collection Notices

First step in the collection process…. 

sending letters and collection notices to 
delinquent  taxpayers   
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Mandatory Letter

• 48-3-3

• 30 day notice of 
intent to Fi.Fa.

• Demand for payment

Delinquent Tax Department
County, State

Street Address
City, State, Zip

Telephone Number
Current Date
Taxpayer Name
Address
City, State, Zip

Dear _______:
Our records indicate that your _____ [insert year] taxes remain unpaid.  Under Georgia Code 48-
3-3 I am required to notify you that 30 days from the date of this notice an execution (Fi. Fa.) may 
be issued against you and recorded on the General Execution Docket of the Clerk of Superior 
Court.  This execution gives notices of a lien against your property.
In addition to the interest which has accrued to date, on ________ [insert date 90 days from due 
date] a 10-percent penalty and Fi. Fa. charges will be added to your account.  A Fi. Fa. remains in 
effect for seven years.  This may be listed by credit reporting agencies and may adversely affect 
your credit rating.
In order to avoid the execution being issued and the additional charges being added, please 
contact this office for the current payoff and remit that amount by _______ [insert date 90 days 
from due date].

Sincerely,
Name
Title
County, State

Georgia Department of Revenue

• When sending letters you may want to 
include the words “Official Tax Matter” in 
bold on the envelope….                  
generate more of a response than the 
standard envelope color.

Official Tax Matter
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Initiating a Telephone Campaign

• early in the process
– before accounts 

become stale,

– Before businesses 
move

– Before property leaves 
your jurisdiction

Georgia Department of Revenue

• Some vendors provide access to national 
telephone directories…contact them    

• Information available 

on the Internet.  You 

may want to check 

the home page of 

your Internet carrier 

to see if they have a residential and/or 
business search capability.  

Georgia Department of Revenue

Steps in Process:
1. Identify all unpaid 

accounts as soon 
as each account 
becomes overdue. 

2. Obtain a telephone 
number.

3. Contact the 
taxpayer. 
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Georgia Department of Revenue

1. Maintain Communication and Professionalism

2. Be Specific and Complete

3. Obtain a Commitment to Pay and Establish a 
Deadline

4. Motivate the Taxpayer to Pay

5. Manage the Customer’s Perception of You

6. Keep Yourself Motivated

Georgia Department of Revenue

Important

• Keep conversation notes for the file 

• If you need to call a taxpayer a second or 
subsequent time, maintain persistent 
pressure throughout the call.

Georgia Department of Revenue

When you visit a site, bring these materials with 
you:

• Deputy Ex-Officio Sheriff ID

• Badge

• Camera

• FiFa

• Payoff Dollar Amount

• Calculator

• Business Cards
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Site Visitation

• Have a practiced strategy in mind for each  
stalling tactic the delinquent taxpayer may use

• Know how to state your case clearly

• Know what you are going to say

• Obtain an expert knowledge level regarding levy 
procedures so you can answer any questions

Georgia Department of Revenue

When at site ask to speak with the owner or 
manager…

• Who you are

• That you hold a writ of FiFa

• What the FiFa means

• What the FiFa requires you to do

• The consequences of the taxpayer not paying 
the taxes due in full

--->----->----->

---->----->-------->

Georgia Department of Revenue

Results
• This type of site visit is a very effective collection 

tool if the business is ongoing and viable. 

• Taking photographs and making notes is usually 
very convincing.  
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Partial Payments 

• effective means of collecting overdue 
funds 

• sometimes this is the only means 
they can pay  

• a way to avoid the levy process 

Georgia Department of Revenue

Drafting an Agreement

• Write the partial payment agreement as 
you would write a contract.  

• You should work carefully with your 
county attorney when devising a partial 
payment plan.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Partial Tax Payments
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House Bill 960 (Effective 07/01/2016)
Delinquent Tax - Penalty

Amends OCGA 48‐2‐44

5% penalty is assessed if tax not paid within 120 days of due date…

Another 5% penalty due if not paid within the additional 120 days, up to a 
maximum penalty of 20% assessed in 5% increments :

Example ‐ $2,000 tax due on 12/20/2016

$1,500 paid 01/31/2017

$   500 still due on 04/20/2017

Penalty based on unpaid tax on date penalties are assessed

Penalty is $25  (5% of $500) 

Georgia Department of Revenue

Important
Never keep cash 
in the vault

Georgia Department of Revenue

Accepting Proportional Payments by Lien 
Holders (OCGA 48-5-25)

In performing lien research on personal property 
through the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) 
dockets in preparation of levy, you may find that 
some of the delinquent taxpayer’s property is 
secured by one or more lien holders/creditors.
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• A lien holder/creditor may request to pay 
its proportionate share of taxes due on the 
taxpayer’s property that is collateral for the 
loan (or that creditor/lien holder has 
security interest in)

Note to Clerk of Superior Court: Please Cross-Reference to GED ___________[insert Fi. Fa. number]. 
 

County, State 
Office of Tax Commissioner 

Street Address 
City, State, Zip 

 
Partial Release of Tax Lien 

 
Whereas, _________ [insert delinquent taxpayer/company] is indebted to _______ County, Georgia, for 
unpaid personal property ad valorem taxes; and 
 
Whereas, _______ County has filed a tax lien recorded in General Execution Docket book ____, page 
____, in the records of the Clerk of the Superior Court of _______ County, Georgia; and 
 
Whereas, ______ [insert financial institution name] is the holder of a security interest and lien in the 
property of ___________ [insert delinquent taxpayer/company] more particularly described in Exhibit “A”
attached hereto; and 
 
Whereas, in accordance with the provisions of O.C.G.A. 48-5-25 _______ [insert financial institution’s 
name]  has paid to _____ County the sum of $_______ as payment of all outstanding ad valorem taxes due
on the property described in Exhibit “A” attached hereto and is entitled to a release of such property from 
the recorded tax lien, 
 
NOW WHEREFORE, for and in consideration of the payment of $______ to _______ County, Georgia, 
_______[insert tax commissioner’s name], in his official capacity as Tax Commissioner of _______ 
County, Georgia and as authorized by O.C.G.A. 48-5-25 hereby releases the property described in Exhibit 
“A” attached hereto from the tax lien filed by ______ County, Georgia in General Execution Docket Book 
No. _____, page _____ of the records of the Clerk of the Superior Court of ______ County and further 
states that ______ County, Georgia asserts no further lien, claim or interest in such property. 
 
This the ___ day of __________, _____. 
 
 
Witness: 
 
 
______________________    __________________________ 

[insert tax commissioner’s name] 
Tax Commissioner of 
________ County, Georgia 

 
Notary Public 
Seal Here 
 
 

Georgia Department of Revenue

Chapter 2- Fi. Fa.’s
• Issuing and Recording 
• Priority of Tax Liens
• Canceling
• Alias 
• Amending 
• Transferring
• Insolvent
• Dormant
• Aircraft
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Tax FiFa’s / Executions
• Tax FiFa or execution is 

the form and /or process 
issued for nonpayment 
of taxes

-represents liability of 
taxpayer and lien on 
property

-eventually recorded for 
public record

*OCGA 48-3-3

TAX EXECUTION/FIFA
GEORGIA_________  COUNTY

Fieri Facias
YEAR FI. FA. NUMBER  PROPERTY DESCRIPTIONSTATE OF GEORGIA, _______________ COUNTY VS. 
______________________________________________
[taxpayer and/or business name] and street address]
TAX          PENALTY      FI.FA.          INTEREST          LEGAL COST TOTAL DUE
______    ________       _____         _________          ___________              __________[$ amt] 

TO ALL AND SINGULAR THE SHERIFFS AND CONSTABLES OF THIS STATE GREETINGS: YOU are hereby required, that of the 
goods and chattels, lands and tenements of the stated named taxpayer, you cause to be made by levy and sale sufficient thereof to 
make the sum of the dollars and cents within shown, the amount of state, county, and applicable school taxes and/or applicable 
sanitary assessment for the stated year; the further Fieri Facias sum as stated for this Fieri Facias and sufficient amount to cover 
interest on execution for delinquent taxes at the rate specified in O.C.G.A. §48-2-40 from December 31 of stated year, until settled, 
together with all costs that may hereafter accrue; and have you the said sum of money to be paid to me upon collection thereof, to be 
rendered to the State and County, the Principal, Penalties, Fieri Facias, Interest and legal Costs aforesaid; and have you then and 
there this writ.  Given under my hand and official signature, this __ day of ______ the stated year shown.

__________________________________
Tax Commissioner and Ex-Officio Sheriff

Entry and Notice of Levy for Tax Sale
To satisfy the above Fieri Facias, incorporated herein, I have levied upon the following described property, as property of named 
defendant, and served the within notice of levy to defendant and/or current owner and to tenant in possession, if any, this _______, 
______ 

TO OWNER/TENANT: DEFENDANT:____________________

FURTHER DESCRIBED AS:   [insert property description]

Levied on ________[date] for the amount of $ ________ to satisfy certain state and county fieri facias for tax, interest and legal costs 
for year(s) ________

Georgia Department of Revenue

Issuing and Recording FiFas
• Real property, must send them a written 30-day notice of 

intent to issue FiFa. 

• Personal property, it is recommended to send a 30-day 
notice of intent to issue FiFa, effective collection tool.

• 48-3-3(c) ”As soon as the last day for the payment of 
taxes has arrived, the tax collector or tax commissioner 
shall notify in writing the taxpayer of the fact that the taxes 
have not been paid and that, unless paid, an execution 
shall be issued; provided, however, that notice shall not 
be required for taxes due on personal property and 
executions may be issued on the day next following the 
day when taxes are due.” 
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Issuing FiFa’s 
• The dollar amount of property returned.
• The dollar amount and nature of the tax.
• The number of the tax return.
• The district number and the state and county in 

which the land is physically located.
• The Levying Officers to whom the FiFa is 

addressed (as required by law).
• The date the execution is issued.
• The official who issued the execution.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Important

• The Tax Commissioner signature required.
– Not just typed on execution

• Must contain the words “Tax Commissioner”.

• No blank spaces.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Recording FiFa’s 

• After issue--
record the 
execution on GED 
CSC Office.

• Recording 
constitutes a 
proper lien.
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Georgia Department of Revenue

No execution shall be issued against any person 
who is not the record owner of the property on the 
day that the taxes become delinquent if, within 90 
days from the due date, that person has provided 
satisfactory proof to the tax collector or tax 
commissioner that the property has been transferred 
by recorded deed and the liability for the payment of 
ad valorem taxes has been assigned to the vested 
transferee by written agreement or contract.

48-3-3 (d)

Georgia Department of Revenue

Priority of Tax Liens
• Liens for taxes ranked as follows:

– State
– County
– School
– Municipality

• First Priority and Secured
• Lien attaches January 1

– 48-5-10
– Decatur Co Bldg & Loan v. Thigpen

Georgia Department of Revenue

48-2-56. Liens for taxes; priority
(a) Except as otherwise provided in this Code section, liens for all 

taxes due the state or any county or municipality in the state shall 
arise as of the time the taxes become due and unpaid and all tax 
liens shall cover all property in which the taxpayer has any 
interest from the date the lien arises until such taxes are paid. 

(b) Except as otherwise provided in this Code section, liens for taxes 
are superior to all other liens and shall be paid before any other 
debt, lien, or claim of any kind. Liens for taxes shall rank among 
themselves as follows: 

(1) Taxes due the state; 
(2) Taxes due counties of the state; 
(3) Taxes due school and other special tax districts of the state; and 
(4) Taxes due municipal corporations of the state. 
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Georgia Department of Revenue

• (2) The lien for any ad valorem tax shall 
not be superior to the title and operation of 
a security deed when the tax represents 
an assessment upon property of the 
taxpayer other than property specifically 
covered by the title and operation of the 
security deed. 

Georgia Department of Revenue

Vesta Holdings I, LLC v. Tax Comm'r, 259 
Ga. App. 717, 578 S.E.2d 293 (2003).

• Priority based on status of taxing entity. - In 
passing O.C.G.A. 48-2-56, the Georgia General 
Assembly provided specific directions on how 
tax liens shall be ranked, and by adopting the 
statute, the legislature intended to assign priority 
to tax liens based upon the status of the taxing 
entity, regardless of the date the lien was 
created. 

Georgia Department of Revenue

Canceling FiFas

• When a taxpayer pays his or her overdue 
taxes in full, the FiFa must be canceled.  

• Record the entry of cancellation on the 
GED as soon as possible 

•48-3-28. Entry of satisfaction to be duly recorded on execution docket.



6/1/2016

13

Georgia Department of Revenue

• Rubber Stamp on the FiFa satisfied.

• Present the satisfied FiFa to CSC on 
GED. 

• Mail the canceled FiFa to the taxpayer.  

Cancellation Process 

Georgia Department of Revenue

• The Collection Officer 
should  cancel the FiFa on 
the record — not the 
taxpayer.  

• When you cancel the FiFa, 
remember to collect the 
cancellation fee.

Important

Georgia Department of Revenue

alias execution

• 48-3-7. Issuance of alias tax execution to 
replace lost original 
– execution is lost or destroyed

– judge of the probate court 

– endorse the word "alias" on the execution 

– shall be dated the same date as the original
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Procedures for Issuing Alias FiFa
• Use a photo copy of original FiFa if 

available or construct a copy of the 
lost FiFa containing all of the entries 
that were on the original 

• File statement under oath with 
Probate Judge…

• Probate Judge endorses word “Alias” 
on FiFa

• Properly issued Alias FiFa same 
force and effect of original 
execution

Georgia Department of Revenue

Amending Fi. Fa.’s

• 9-13-7

• Clerk of Court

• Make Corrections and mark Amended

• Re-record with reference to original 
recording

• Alternatively, the clerk may issue an alias 
execution

Georgia Department of Revenue

Transfer Procedures 

• Under the provisions of O.C.G.A. 48-3-19 
FiFas (executions) may be transferred to 
third parties  

--->-----> --->----->
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Transferring Fi. Fa.’s
• 48-3-19 
• Must maintain an office within 50 miles of the courthouse 

($2 million).
• Must record the transfer within 30 days of purchase or 

lose the lien.
• Must notify the taxpayer within 60 days of purchase.
• Cannot sell property for 12 months after the date of 

transfer or 24 months after the original due date 
whichever is earlier.

• Cannot be one of the following:
County tax receivers, tax collectors, and tax 

commissioners; Members of county boards of tax 
assessors; Members of county boards of equalization; 
and County tax appraisers.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Complete these steps:
1.Collect all of the taxes and costs due. 

(including the transfer cost)
2.Stamp or type the transfer statement on 

the Fi. Fa.
3.Sign and date the transfer.
4.Advise the transferee of the need to have 

the transfer recorded with the Clerk of 
Superior Court within 30 days.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Transfer of FiFa (execution)

• Tax Commissioner not required to transfer 
FiFa

• Transferee has same rights and 
priority of payment as tax official

• Tax Commissioner collects all taxes and 
costs due on FiFa
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Identifying an Insolvent FiFa

• For a FiFa to be insolvent…
– the Levying Officer must be unable to locate  

personal property that is taxed or any other 
property of the defendant on which to levy to 
satisfy the FiFa 

????

????

Georgia Department of Revenue

Diligent search before classifying a FiFa 
as insolvent…

Research necessary  dependent upon the size of the tax 

bill…larger the tax bill the more research you need to do

Georgia Department of Revenue

Important
• Document all of your actions while performing a 

diligent search.  Be especially careful to retain all 
information regarding the certified letter, whether 
the letter is delivered or it is returned to you.
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Diligent Search
• If you cannot locate the mortgagee and it 

is a bank, finance company, or savings 
and loan, contact these places for further 
information:

1. The State Banking Department and/or 
local banks

2. The Georgia Secretary of State’s Office
3. The Kay Directory

Diligent Search Checklist
 Send a certified letter with return receipt to the taxpayer of     record 

at the last known address, the record owner at the last known address, and 
any mortgagee found.  (You must, by law, send the certified letter to everyone 
who might have title.  This includes the record owner, the taxpayer that is 
listed, and the person who is in possession of the property.)

 Check the telephone directory.
 Check the motor vehicle files.
 Check voter registration records.
 Search for a business license.
 Interview adjoining neighbors and/or relatives.
 Inquire from attorneys who handle closings in the county.
 Check with mortgage holders or other creditors.
 Check the Internet.
Listing of all steps taken and the corresponding dates and times:

Georgia Department of Revenue

Insolvent FiFa List 
• Each Levying Officer should maintain an 

insolvent list.  The officer should submit each 
insolvent list to the county governing authority 
for approval…



6/1/2016

18

Georgia Department of Revenue

Insolvent FiFa

• You can reopen a FiFa that is on an 
insolvent list if the taxpayer returns to the 
area in the future or if you locate assets to 
satisfy the FiFa 

Georgia Department of Revenue

Relevant Law 
• 48-5-129. Allowance of insolvent lists; reissuance of 

executions before allowance of insolvent lists.
• 48-5-130. Allocation of tax on insolvent lists; 

contents of list of insolvent taxpayers.
• 48-5-131. Retention of copy of insolvent list by 

county governing authority; collection of executions.
• 48-5-132. Disposition of insolvent lists.
• 48-5-133. Crediting tax collectors and tax 

commissioners with insolvent lists.
• 48-5-134. Extension of time to complete digests and 

pay taxes.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Aircraft FiFa 
After issuing  FiFa …record as usual.   

One important distinction…

must register the aircraft FiFa with the 
Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). 
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Chapter 3—Organizing Files
• Using the Suggested Filing System

– Determining What to File

• Cleaning Up Files
– Identifying Uncollectible Bills
– Managing Uncollectible Bills

• Following Error and Release Procedures
– Personal Property
– Real Property

Georgia Department of Revenue

Determining What to File
• Copies of all documents prepared
• For Example:

– Levying Officer documents may include   
levy entries 
advertisements
notices
bills of sale
receipts for proceeds, etc. 

* Proof of due process may later be required.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Uncollectible Bills 
– Bills on which the statute of limitations has expired 

(O.C.G.A. 48-3-21.1).
– Real property that changed ownership more than 

four years ago lien released against that property 
(O.C.G.A. 9-12-93 and 48-3-22).

– Personal property that changed ownership more 
than two years ago lien released against that 
property (O.C.G.A. 9-12-93 and 48-3-22).

– Personal property bills where the owner cannot be 
located after a reasonable search, which is nulla
bona (O.C.G.A. 48-3-23).

– Unprocessed bills which are duplicates or errors.
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Managing Uncollectible Bills
List should contain:

• The taxpayer’s name.

• The bill number.

• A breakdown of the tax.

• The reason why the tax bill is uncollectible.   
(expired statute of limitations or a duplicate 
bill.)

???? ????

Georgia Department of Revenue

Uncollectible Bills
• Retain copies of all uncollectible bill lists in the 

office for audit purposes or for inspection by the 
grand jury.   
– also forward copies to the Board of Tax Assessors to 

review these records and make any necessary 
changes.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Uncollectible Bills

• After you list uncollectible bills…
– give to the county governing authority for their 

approval.  Once approved, the uncollectible bills 
removed from the Tax Commissioner’s accountability.
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Work closely with the county governing 
authority 

• The authority to bid in property for the county if 
no acceptable bid is received.

• The help of the county attorney (or another 
attorney) to prepare tax deeds and to give 
legal advice.

• An agreement that the county will pay for all 
costs incurred with the understanding that 
almost all of those costs will be recovered from 
the delinquent taxpayers.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Relevant Law 
• 9-12-93. When purchased property discharged from 

lien.
• 48-3-21.1. Statute of limitations for enforcement of 

executions for ad valorem taxes of less than $1.00; 
effect on execution barred under Code section; 
restriction on adding together taxes to exceed $1.00 
limit.

• 48-3-22. Statutory limitations applicable to tax 
executions.

• 48-3-23. Nulla bona; tolling of statute of limitations.
• 48-5-154. Annual accounting reports; citations for 

default, negligence, or bad faith; approval in whole or 
in part.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Error and Release 
• Tax Assessors have the authority to make any changes 

to the digest before it is submitted to the state.  
– Once submitted to the Department of Revenue and a collection 

order is signed by the Commissioner….any changes generally
approved by the county governing authority

– County governing authority can delegate authority to Tax 
Commissioner or Tax Assessors for…

– Undisputed clerical errors
» Delegable to Tax Commissioner and Tax Assessors

– Removal of property not in county on January 1
» Delegable to Tax Assessors only 



6/1/2016

22

Georgia Department of Revenue

Error and Release

• After approval of the Digest, any and all 
adjustments, other than those specified 
above, will be submitted by the Tax 
Assessor or the Tax Commissioner to the 
governing authority of the county with the 
recommendations of such officers for the 
relief to be granted. 

Georgia Department of Revenue

Real Property

• All errors or corrections to real property 
assessments or taxes should be logged on 
an appropriate form, and a copy of the 
form should be placed in the taxpayer’s file 
if applicable. 

Georgia Department of Revenue

REAL PROPERTY LEVY PROCEDURES

Chapter 4
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To levy on FiFas (executions) or to act under writ of 
execution (FiFa)….

-Tax Commissioner must be appointed Ex-Officio 

Sheriff for purpose of tax levies 

-Appointment in writing from Sheriff and 

administered under oath

-Recorded in Probated Court records

*OCGA 48-3-6 and 48-5-137

Georgia Department of Revenue

Before Levy Verify
• Fi. Fa. has been properly recorded

• Levy must be done by Sherriff

 Or Ex-Officio  48-5-137

 Supplement of 349.78 a month

 Oath given and recorded by Probate

 48-3-5, 48-3-7, 45-3-10

Georgia Department of Revenue

MAY LEVY ON ANY PROPERTY OF 
TAXPAYER TO SATISFY FIFA

levy on land completed by 
entry on FIFA or levy form 
– OCGA 9-13-12

notice to owner and tenant 
also lien holders
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O.C.G.A. § 9-13-12 

9-13-12. Entry of levy on process 

The officer making a levy shall enter 
the same on the process by virtue of 
which levy is made and in the entry 
shall plainly describe the property 
levied on and the amount of the 
interest of defendant therein.

Georgia Department of Revenue

See OCGA 48-2-56 for priority of tax liens

Can levy on any property owned by taxpayer…

• Levy on property upon which ad valorem tax is 
due is superior to other liens

• Tax lien or FiFa not superior to security deed if a 
levy on property other than property upon which 
ad valorem tax due

• A levy on property for ad valorem tax due is
superior to other liens but creditor/lien holder
can pay tax due on collateral and get tax lien 
release on collateral (OCGA 48-5-25)

Georgia Department of Revenue

Information to Gather

1. Property Record Card
2. Compare address on card to mail
3. Date property acquired
4. Size or property
5. Buildings or additions
6. Deed
7. PT-61
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Title Search
Locate Warranty Deed
Mortgage Holders

Deed Index
UCC- for Personal Property

Liens
Judgments

GED
Federal Tax Lien Docket

Pending Litigation
Lis Pendens Docket

Georgia Department of Revenue

……Additionally…..

• Taxpayer can select (point out) property 
upon which to levy- OCGA 48-3-4

• Levy can not be excessive

Issue and Record Fi.Fa.
48-3-3 & 48-5-161

Levy
48-4-3

Notice to Owner and Tenant
within 5 days of Levy

9-13-13

Notice to Holder of Mortgages & Liens 20 days prior to Advertising
48-3-9

5 Days

30 Day Notice 
before issuing Fi.Fa.

48-3-3
30 Days

Advertising – 4 consecutive
weeks before Sale

9-13-140 & 142

10 day notice 
to Defendant

48-4-1
Notice to IRS 25 days before Sale

(if Federal Tax Lien)
IRS Publication 786

Sale Day
First Tuesday of Month

4 Weeks

20 Days

25 Days
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Levying
• Determining the number of executions for the 

taxpayer.
• Determining the property on which you are going 

to levy.
• Handling situations where the taxpayer points 

out property.
• Ensuring you do not institute an excessive levy.
• Familiarizing yourself with any environmental 

concerns on the property.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Determining what to Levy
• The taxpayer owes a total of $12,000 in taxes.
•   The taxpayer owns a 40-acre farm capable of 

subdivision.
•   The taxpayer owns a furniture business.
•   The taxpayer owns seven tracts of land that do 

not contain any personal property.
•   The taxpayer owns a home on another tract of 

land, where there is a mortgage of $70,000.  
The home is valued at $100,000.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Pointing Out

• 48-3-4

• For example, if the taxpayer points out a 
desk, but the desk will not satisfy the Fi.  
Fa., you are able to levy on the desk and 
another piece (or pieces) of property; the 
desk must be included.
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Environmental Problems

• Check with the Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA)

• Examples
– gas station that is leaking fuel 

– property that contains a large number of old 
tires 

Georgia Department of Revenue

Tax Sales
-Conducted first Tuesday of month

-Public outcry between 10:00 am and 4:00 pm

-Normally done at courthouse

-Judge can prescribe somewhere different 

-If sale is not conducted at courthouse must have general 
superior court order that states location and must include 
location in each advertisement 

-If property being sold not at tax sale location then must 
give location of property in each advertisement

…see OCGA 9-13-161 for more…

Georgia Department of Revenue

Prohibited

• 48-4-23

• Individuals 
prohibited from tax 
sale purchase
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Georgia Department of Revenue

• Sheriff’s (tax) deed issued for real property

• Bill of sale issued for personal property

• Completed and Signed in Tax Office

• Recorded in Clerk’s Office

• Given to the Purchaser after payment

Georgia Department of Revenue

JEOPARDY ASSESSMENTS

• 48-3-3.1. Immediate payment or bond where person 
or property may leave jurisdiction or property's 
value may be prejudiced.

- Applies only to personal property
- Tax Commissioner can issue
- Use current year value, if known, if not prior year value
- Use current year millage, if known, if not prior year 

millage

TO: _______________________ 
 
  _______________________County Tax Commissioner 
 
FROM: _______________________ 

(Name)                  
 _______________________ 

(Title) 
 
RE: REQUEST FOR JEOPARDY ASSESSMENT 

_______________________  Corporation     Individual 
Taxpayer’s Name 
_______________________ 
Trade Name, if Any 
_______________________ 
Street Address or P.O. Box 
_______________________ 
City, State, Zip Code 
_______________________ 
Bill Number or Account Number 

 
A final assessment of personal property taxes has been prepared against the above subject, summarized as 
follows: 

Taxable Period(s) _______________________  Assessment Value $_____________ 

Totals of Tax  $______________________    Assessment based on the most 

Interest   $______________________         recently accepted assessment 

Penalty   $______________________   Tax Assessor’s assisted 

TOTAL DUE:  $______________________          assessment 
 
It is hereby requested that this matter be forthwith reduced to a jeopardy assessment per O.C.G.A. 48-3-3.1, 
and that Fi. Fa. be immediately issued and recorded for the reason(s) checked below: 

 Subject has evidenced his or her intention to leave the state 

 Subject has evidenced his or her intention to remove property from the state 

 Subject has evidenced his or her intention to conceal themselves or his or her property 

 Subject has evidenced his or her intention to discontinue business 

 Subject has evidenced his or her intention to do some other act to prejudice or render wholly or partly 
ineffective proceedings to compute, assess, or collect any ad valorem tax as contemplated by O.C.G.A. 48-
3-3.1 
 

REQUEST FOR JEOPARY ASSESSMENT 
LETTER
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Jeopardy Assessment and Demand for Payment 
 

_________________    _________________ 
Taxpayer’s Name    FiFa Number 
 
_________________    _________________ 
Trade Name (If any)    Date 
 
_________________    _________________ 
Street Address     Assessed Value 
 
_________________    _________________ 
City, State, Zip    Total Taxes Due 
 
The __________ County Tax Commissioner is authorized to issue Jeopardy Assessments when a taxpayer 
does, or gives evidence of intention to do so, some act which would tend to prejudice or render wholly or 
partly ineffective proceedings to compute, assess, or collect any ad valorem tax due _______ County.  See 
Georgia Code 48-3-3.1. 
 
This is to notify you that, pursuant to the authority cited above, a jeopardy assessment has been made 
against you this date for the taxable period(s) stated below for ad valorem taxes due. 
 
Demand is hereby made for immediate payment of the amounts shown below. 
 
A tax execution (FiFa) is being issued and recorded in the amount of this assessment, and collection 
procedures are being pursued.  Unless immediate payment, in full, is received at the office indicated herein 
these collection procedures, actions including LEVY, GARNISHMENT, and ATTACHMENT, will be 
pursued until this liability has been collected in full. 
 
TAX PERIOD         TAX     PENALTY     INTEREST        AMOUNT DUE 
____________   __________     _________     __________         _____________ 
____________   __________     _________     __________         _____________ 
____________   __________     _________     __________         _____________ 
 
 
__________________    _______________________ 
__________________    Tax Commissioner 
__________________     

______________County  
  

Office Address 

Georgia Department of Revenue

Personal Property levies like real property 
levies (flowchart) except:

- 30 day letter of intent to issue FIFA not 
required but recommended

- Notice of Levy to Lien Holders 20 days prior to 
advertising not required but recommended 
(check UCC for creditors)

- Bill of sale issued and not a tax 
deed…consequently no redemption period 
after tax sale

- Must have actual or constructive seizure 
for Levy for personal property levies

Georgia Department of Revenue

• Sufficiency of notice. - County undertook sufficient efforts to 
provide a taxpayer with reasonable notice of the tax sale on the 
taxpayer's property as the county checked the local deeds and 
records, and then contacted an outside locating agency for 
assistance; the taxpayer's failure to notify the county of a change of 
name and address played a significant role in the taxpayer's failure 
to receive actual notice of the tax sale. Cuvillier v. Rockdale County, 
390 F.3d 1336 (11th Cir. 2004). 

• Notice not required as to personal property. - Summary 
judgment was properly granted to a county tax commissioner in a 
taxpayer's action alleging violation of various statutory and 
constitutional provisions in the commissioner's levying upon the 
taxpayer's bank account to collect county taxes owed because 
neither O.C.G.A. 48-3-3 nor O.C.G.A. 48-2-55 and 48-3-9 required 
the commissioner to give the taxpayer notice of the levy prior to 
levying upon the personal property. Anderson v. Ford, 261 Ga. App. 
34, 581 S.E.2d 623 (2003). 
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Personal Property Levies (Cont.)

Actual                   or           Constructive 

Seizure

Georgia Department of Revenue

TITLE 9. CIVIL PRACTICE 
CHAPTER 13. EXECUTIONS AND JUDICIAL SALES 

ARTICLE 3. PROPERTY AGAINST WHICH EXECUTION LEVIED 

O.C.G.A. § 9-13-55 (2009)

§ 9-13-55. Seizure prerequisite to sale of personalty 

To authorize a sale of personal property there shall be an actual or constructive 
seizure.

HISTORY: Orig. Code 1863, § 2581; Code 1868, § 2583; Code 1873, § 2625; Code 
1882, § 2625; Civil Code 1895, § 5452; Civil Code 1910, § 6057; Code 1933, § 39-
1310. 

Georgia Department of Revenue

UCC – Clerks Authority
• The Georgia Superior Court Clerks’ 

Cooperative Authority website 
http://www.gsccca.org/

• UCC Financial Statements will tell you 
who else has an interest in Personal 
Property Assets
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Personal Property Situs Visits

Pre-Levy Visits

Georgia Department of Revenue

Personal Property Collection and Levies

- Jeopardy Assessments

- Levy Procedures

- Bank Levies

- Till Tap Levies

- Mobile Home collections

Georgia Department of Revenue

• Practice Your Strategy for Collection

• Have responses to various story lines (excuses).  Your 
responses convey that you intend to do your job and 
you are good at it.  If payment is not voluntary then 
you are well prepared to force payment by levy

Situs Visits - Professionalism
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Georgia Department of Revenue

• Deputy Ex-Officio Sheriff ID

• Badge

• Camera

• FiFa

• Payoff Amount

Site Visits - Tools

Georgia Department of Revenue

• A Bank Levy is a constructive levy on the assets of the 
taxpayer in a financial institution.  It is the most 
preferred method of collecting Personal Property 
taxes when the owner refuses or neglects to pay.

BANK LEVIES

Georgia Department of Revenue

• The Bank Levy should include all taxes, 
interest, penalties, fees and levy cost

• The Bank Levy is against all accounts of the 
depositor (except for IRA’s and Attorney 
Trust or Escrow accounts) for the full amount 
of the levy without deduction.  The financial 
institution’s right of set-off is preserved
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• Controlling statute is O.C.G.A. § 48-2-55.  
This state law provides the authority for 
Tax Commissioners to impose bank levies.

• Supporting case law is Anderson v.Ford, 
2003, 261 Ga.App.34, 581 S.E.2d 623.  The 
state Court of Appeals ruled that bank 
levies by Tax Commissioners were proper 
without giving prior notice to the taxpayer.

Legal Authority

Georgia Department of Revenue

• Issue and (record) the tax FiFa
• Determine where taxpayer banks

(See investigative techniques)
(You don’t have to know the bank account 
number)

• Prepare…
Bank Levy Form
Notice of Levy to taxpayer

How to Prepare a Bank Levy

Georgia Department of Revenue

• Fax or email the Bank Levy and FiFa to the 
financial institution

• Request confirmation of receipt from the 
financial institution

• Mail the Notice of Levy to the taxpayer with 
Bank Levy copy attached

• Wait 15 days.  If payment not received, 
contact the financial institution

BANK LEVIES (CONT.)
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• They’re easy, no sweat!!
• Cost effective
• Once a process for document production and follow 

up is established, there’s not much else to do
• There’s no need with a Bank Levy to convert the 

assets to cash (Levy and Sale) as in other Personal 
Property levies

Why do a Bank Levy?

Georgia Department of Revenue

• Generally, any financial institution that does 
business (has customers) in the State of 
Georgia regardless of where the financial 
institution is based, they will tell you where to 
fax the levy

• Any financial institution that will honor your 
levy

Where can Financial Institutions be served?

Georgia Department of Revenue

• Recovery and collection of bad checks for 
motor vehicles

• Prepare a FiFa with the vehicle owner’s 
name, year, make, model and VIN including 
the taxes, tag fee, penalty, FiFa charge and 
dishonored check fees 

Bank Levies are also effective 
for….
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Till-Tap Levies

-Seizure of cash from business ( cash register, cash box, 
money safe, etc.)

-Write description of levy on Till-Tap levy description form 
and give to taxpayer and one for file

-Complete Till-Tap levy inventory form and leave copy with    
taxpayer and one for file

-Do this levy as last resort

-Consult county attorney first

Georgia Department of Revenue

Padlock Levies
• Lock the doors of a business

• Have levy form prepared and also inventory assets 
seized via padlock levy

• Once business locked and inventoried proceed with levy 
as usual for personal property (notices and advertising-
see tax sale flowchart)

Georgia Department of Revenue

• OCGA 48-4-42

• Fee = 20% for the first year

• 10% for every year thereafter

• Foreclosure—consult an attorney

• Court Case—requires recording

*Remember no redemption for personal property

Redemption
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Excess Funds

• O.C.G.A.  48-4-5 Code Section

• Send Notice to Record Owner/Security Deed 
Holder/Parties of Recorded Interest within 30 days of 
Sale

• Notice Should Contain: 

• 1. Description of land sold

• 2. Date property Sold

• 3. Name & address of tax sale purchaser

• 4. Total sale price 

• 5. Amount of excess funds held by TC.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Excess Funds-Cont’d
• Interpleader may Be filed –Superior Court can decide 

who receives Excess

• If  Excess Not Claimed -After 5 years amount is sent to 
GA DOR - Unclaimed Property Section

• Remittance Form & Instructions on GA DOR Website-
www.dor.georgia.gov

Georgia Department of Revenue

Judicial Sales

• Order for tax sale by Superior Court Judge

• Consult County Attorney
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Bankruptcy and the Tax Office

Georgia Department of Revenue

Bankruptcy and the Tax Office

Georgia Department of Revenue

Bankruptcy and the Tax Office
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Bankruptcy and the Tax Office

Georgia Department of Revenue

Bankruptcy and the Tax Office

Legal Costs and Fees O.C.G.A.  State Statute(s)

$1.00 Minimum or One-Percent Per Month Interest 48-2-40;  48-3-8;  48-5-24

Five-Percent Late Payment Penalty - Applicable to Counties with Installment Payments 48-5-24

10-Percent Penalty after 90 Days Except on Homestead Bills $500 or Less 48-2-44

Fi. Fa.’s 15-16-21

Levy Administrative Fee (Five-percent of tax with a $50 minimum / $250 maximum) 48-5-161

Ex-Officio Sheriff Commissions 15-16-21

Fieri Facias Issuance 48-5-163

Fieri Facias Recording 15-6-77.3

Fieri Facias Collection (0-$100 / $100 +) 15-16-21 (B) (20);  15-16-21 (B) (21)

Fieri Facias Cancellation 15-6-77 (C) 2

Dishonored Check or Instrument  (Penalty) 48-5-146

Dishonored Check or Instrument (Service Charge) 16-9-20

Each Levy or Fieri Facias 15-16-21

Settling 15-16-21

Advertising 9-13-143

Tax Deed 15-16-21

Bill of Sale (Personal Property) 15-16-21

Deed Recording 15-6-77.3C (1)

Retaining Fee (All Recording) 7-14-51 (B)

Bid Overage 48-4-5
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RESOLUTION TO AUTHORIZE THE TAX COMMISSIONER 
TO WAIVE PENALTIES AND INTEREST ON UNPAID AD VALOREM TAXES  

UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS 
 
 

WHEREAS, the Georgia General Assembly has adopted amendments to O.C.G.A. §48-5-242 
relating to the waiver and / or reduction of penalties and interest due on unpaid ad valorem taxes;
and 
 
WHEREAS, the __________County Tax Commissioner and the ___________County Board of
Commissioners desire to provide the Tax Commissioner with limited authority under certain
specified conditions to authorize such waiver and / or reductions of penalties and interest on ad
valorem taxes; and  
 
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED the Board of Commissioners do hereby authorize the
____________County Tax Commissioner pursuant to O.C.G.A. §48-5-242 and any other 
applicable law to waive penalties and / or interest on unpaid ad valorem taxes under the following
conditions: 
 

1. Notice to the taxpayer was not sufficient,  such as in the case of a new purchaser that
was not reflected in the Tax Commissioner’s files or an address error in the tax file; 

 
2. Dire illness of the taxpayer that resulted in the taxpayer being hospitalized, in a

nursing or rehabilitative home, or otherwise not present in the home for an extended
period of time; 

 
3. Where the penalty and interest is less than $10.00; 

 
4. Taxpayer has provided substantial evidence of assessment error. 

 
The waiver for the reasons listed above may be issued when the Tax Commissioner reasonably
determines that the default giving rise to the penalty and / or interest to be waived was due to 
reasonable cause and not due to gross negligence or willful neglect or disregard of the law or of
regulations or instructions issued pursuant to the law and when the interest to be waived accrues
on or after July 1, 2002.  
 
This resolution shall become effective upon adoption. 
 
SO RESOLVED, this _______day of _____________, _____. 
 
 
 

_________________________________________ 
, Chairman 

 
________________________________   ________________________________ 
                                      , Commissioner      , Commissioner 
 
 
 
________________________________   ________________________________ 
   , Commissioner      , Commissioner 
 
 

STATE OF GEORGIA 
COUNTY OF _______________ 
 

RESOLUTION 
 

WHEREAS, the 1995 General Assembly of Georgia amended Article 4 of Chapter 5 of Title 48 of
the Official Code of Georgia Annotated relating to county taxation so as to authorize Tax
Collectors and Tax Commissioners to waive certain penalties due on unpaid ad valorem taxes; to
provide for procedures and conditions; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes; and 
 
WHEREAS, said article and chapter have been amended by adding a new code section to
designated Code 48-5-242; and  
 
WHEREAS, said law is not in effect; and 
 
WHEREAS, said law provides that upon written approval by the governing authority of the county;
the Tax Collector or Tax Commissioner may waive in whole or in part the collection of any amount 
due to the taxing authorities for which taxes are collected when such amounts represent a penalty
assessed for failure to comply with the laws governing the assessment and collection of ad
valorem taxes and when the Tax Collector or Tax Commissioner reasonably determines that the
default giving rise to the penalty was due to reasonable cause and not due to gross or willful
neglect of disregard of the law or of regulations or instruction issued pursuant to the law; and  
 
WHEREAS, the Board of Commissioners have the right to approve in writing a determination by
the Tax Commissioner, either on a case by case basis or by adopting a resolution, delegating the
authority to the Tax Commissioner to make the final determination as to whether or not to waive 
penalties; and 
 
WHEREAS, the Tax Commissioner has the ability to make determinations in each case as to
whether or not penalties have been incurred due to reasonable cause and not due to gross or
willful neglect or disregard of the law or regulations or instruction issued pursuant to the law; 
 
NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED in open meeting assembled, that the Board of
Commissioners of ____________ County hereby delegates the authority to the Tax Commissioner
of ____________County to make the final determination on a case by case basis following sound
business guidelines and that the Tax Commissioner be vested with the authority to make the final
decision as to whether or not to waive or assess penalties on ad valorem taxes. 
 
Adopted this _______ day of ______________, ________. 
 
___________________County, Georgia 
 
 

By:_________________________________________________ 
      , Chairman, Board of Commissioners 

 
   
By: _________________________________  By:______________________________ 
                                             , Member                           , Member 
 
By: _________________________________  By: ______________________________ 
                                                        , Member                 , Member 
 
By: _________________________________ 
         , Member     

Georgia Department of Revenue

Mobile Homes
• personal property levy procedures apply, however…

• In addition, can collect  mobile home taxes through 
Magistrate court

• Magistrate court collects penalty for failure to display 
decal and can collect delinquent taxes

-Magistrate court avoids levy and sale process to 
collect taxes


