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Exemptions

Exempt Property

Homesteads
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Tax Digest?
The digest is a listing of assessments

Real and Personal Property

Timber

Mobile Homes

Motor Vehicles

Heavy Duty Equipment

Public Utilities

EXEMPT PROPERTY
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48-5-342

Revenue Commissioner examines the 
Exempt Digest and notifies the County 
Board of Assessors when potentially 
taxable property is found.
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Classification / Strata
Parcel: 05-1235-001
• R1 = Residential Improvement $50,000
• R4 = Residential Small Acreage Tract $10,000

$60,000
Account: 11-12345
• CA = Commercial Aircraft $500,000
• CF = Commercial FFME $300,000

$800,000

Public Utility Assessment
• U2 = Utility Operating Property $600,000

4

Georgia Department of Revenue

Exempt Property Codes
E0 – Non Profit Home for the Aged

E1 – Public Property

E2 – Places of Religious Worship and No Rent income properties

E3 – Property used for Charitable Purposes

E4 – Places of Religious Burial

E5 – Charity Hospital

E6 – Educational Institution

E7 – Air and Water Pollution Equipment

E8 – Farm Products in Hands of Producer

E9 – Other
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State HOMESTEAD Exemption Codes
S1 – Regular Homestead 48-5-44

SC – Age 65 Homestead 48-5-48.3

S2 – Reserved ------------

S3 – Age 62 (Net Income<10,000) 48-5-52

S4 – Age 65 (Net Income<10,000) 48-5-47

S5 – Disabled Veteran or Surviving Spouse 48-5-48

SD – Age 65, Disabled Veteran or Surviving Spouse 48-5-48

SS – Surviving Spouse of US service member killed in action 48-5-52.1

SE – Age 65, Surviving Spouse of US service member killed in action 48-5-52.1

SG – Surviving Spouse of peace officer killed in line of duty 48-5-48.4

S6 – Age 62, Floating (Fed AGI < 30,000) 48-5-47.1; 48-5-52

S7 – Reserved -----------

S8 – Age 62, Floating (Fed AGI < 30,000 and Net Income < 10,000)48-5-47.1; 48-5-52

S9 – Age 65, Floating (Fed AGI<30,000 and Net income <10,000)   48-5-47; 48-5-47.1; 
48-5-52
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State Exemption Coding – ‘S Code’

Parcel: 05-1235-001

• R1 = Residential Improvement $50,000

• R4 = Residential Small Acreage Tract $10,000

$60,000

• S1 = Regular Homestead - 2,000

Net Assessed Value $58,000
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Local HOMESTEAD Exemptions – ‘L Codes’

8

Georgia Department of Revenue

Other State Exemption Codes
SP – Personal Property valued less than $7500

SF – Freeport

ST – Residential Transitional

SH – Landmark/Rehabilitated Historic

SA – Preferential

SV – Conservation Use

SB – Brownfield

SJ – Forest Land Conservation

SN – Inventory (State Only)

SY – Heavy Duty Equipment - repealed

SW – Environmentally Sensitive 9



4

Georgia Department of Revenue

Servicemembers Civil Relief Act

• Provides legal and financial protection to 
qualified Service members during their 
military service

• Enables military persons to devote their 
entire energies to the defense needs of 
the Nation

10

Georgia Department of Revenue

Taxes Respecting Personal and Real Property

• Personal Property:  
– Deemed located in the ‘Home of Record’ 

domicile (Home State)

• Real Property:
– Deemed located in Georgia county where real 

property is physically located (Host State)
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Motor Vehicle Registration & Fees

• If Non-Resident Soldier registers with Home of 
Record…. Georgia cannot require vehicle 
registration.

• If Non-Resident Soldier registers with Georgia 
…. Georgia can charge registration fees.
– But can not apply ad valorem tax to the vehicle 

registration.
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DOR Regulation 560-10-30-.13
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Attorney General Opinion
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Warning Regarding Domicile

• If Soldier loses “contacts” with HOME state of Domicile; 
then Georgia (HOST state of Residence) might pursue 
domicile status and attempt to tax the Soldier.

• Ways to Establish or Maintain Domicile:
– Purchase a home/land
– Register to vote
– Register vehicles
– Physical presence from time to time
– Driver’s license (GA does not issue DL to non-residents)
– Membership in church/organizations
– Own bank accounts/investments

15
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Constitution of State of Georgia

Article VII, Section II
EXEMPTIONS FROM AD VALOREM TAXATION

Paragraph II.  Exemptions from taxation of property. 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this Constitution, no property 
shall be exempted from ad valorem taxation unless the 
exemption is approved by two-thirds of the members elected 
to each branch of the General Assembly in a roll-call vote and 
by a majority of the qualified electors of the state voting in a 
referendum thereon. 16
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GA Constitutions of 1877, 1945, and 1976 included some Local constitutional amendments.

In 1983, when the GA Constitution was overhauled, future amendments to the Constitution 
were limited to only those which are of general and uniform applicability throughout the 
state.

The 1983 constitution enacted LOCAL constitutional amendment ‘4-year kick-out clause’.

Meaning – the local constitutional amendments would expire after four years (July 1, 
1987), unless the applicable local jurisdiction adopted a local resolution, in an exact form, 
keeping the amendment provisions in place.

Many of those local ad valorem constitutional amendments that were kept in place by local 
resolutions were homestead exemptions.

But noteworthy others include…
– Richmond County millage cap.
– Muscogee County Homestead Freeze. 
– Pike County Board of Assessors is designated as TAX RECEIVER. 
– Chatham County Chief Tax Assessor is designated as TAX RECEIVER. 
– Telfair County Constitutional officers limited to two terms. 
– Dougherty County office of tax commissioner is abolished, merged with tax assessor and 

replaced as tax administrator. 
– Lowndes County board of assessors elected. 

17

Georgia Department of Revenue

Motor Vehicles

18



7

Georgia Department of Revenue

O.C.G.A. 48-5-470 

• Driver education vehicles are declared to 
be public property. Which are Exempt.
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O.C.G.A. 48-5-470.1 Motor Vehicles used for 
transporting persons with disabilities

• All motor vehicles owned by a school or 
educational institution.

– Used principally for transporting disabled 
students to or from such school.

– IRS code, Section 501(c)(3).
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O.C.G.A. 48-5-470.2 

• Vans and buses owned by religious groups.
– Exclusively used to maintain exempt properties 

owned by such group.

– Exclusively used for transporting individuals to 
religious services or trips.

– May NOT be used for 
• producing private or corporate profit 

• for any private purposes

21
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O.C.G.A. 48-5-471 
Motor Vehicles SCRA

• This Georgia statute requires amendment 
due to new Federal law passed November 
2009.
– Spouses Residency Relief Act
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O.C.G.A. 48-5-472

• Motor vehicles which are owned by a 
dealer and which are held for sale are 
exempt…
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O.C.G.A. 48-5-478

• A motor vehicle owned by or leased to a 
disabled veteran.

24
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O.C.G.A. 48-5-478.1
• Those veterans who were discharged under 

honorable conditions and who were captured 
and held prisoner by forces hostile to U.S. while 
serving in WWI, WWII, Korean War or Vietnam:
– Ad Valorem exempt on one vehicle.
– Un-remarried surviving spouse retains benefit. 
– DD214, a military 201 file, or similar sufficient proof of 

his or her former POW status
– Also receive one Free Special License Plate
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O.C.G.A. 48-5-478.2

• A single motor vehicle owned by or leased 
to a veteran of the armed forces of the 
United States who has been awarded the 
Purple Heart citation.
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O.C.G.A. 48-5-478.3

• A single motor vehicle owned by or leased 
to a veteran of the armed forces of the 
United States who has been awarded the 
Medal of honor .
– Also receive two Free License Plates for front 

and back of vehicle. 27
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Miscellaneous Veterans tags that are 
NOT ad valorem exempt…

• Veterans of Pearl Harbor Attack – special plate

• Retired Veterans – one free plate

• Veterans of Chosin Reservoir Campaign – special plate

• Gold Star Families – one free plate for spouse, mother 
and father; and special plates for other relatives.
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O.C.G.A. 48-5-478.4

• A single motor vehicle owned or leased to 
a veteran organization is exempt.

29

Georgia Department of Revenue

O.C.G.A. 48-5-505

• heavy-duty equipment motor vehicles 
which are owned by a dealer are 
exempt….
– UNLESS heavy-duty equipment was in dealer 

inventory on January 1 and continued to be in 
dealer inventory on December 20…

30
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• Yancey Dealership has bulldozer in inventory 
on January 1, 2011.

Cost = $50,000 Exempt

• Still in Inventory on Dec 20, 2011.
Cost = $50,000 Taxable

.40
Assessment $20,000
Millage rate               .030
Tax $600
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Mr. Smith buys a tractor from dealer on June 1…

Invoice price $60,000
Discount .333

$19,980
Assessment level .40

$  7,992
Pro-rate by month .50

$  3,996
Millage rate .030
Tax $ 119.88
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O.C.G.A. 48-5-506.1
$100,000 exemption repealed 

12/31/2010

• Watch for Refund Requests for next three 
years.

• Exemption Does Not apply to dealers.

• Exemption Does Not apply to owners in 
first year of purchase.
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Motor Vehicle Title Ad Valorem Tax
‘TAVT’ 

State and local Title Tax does not apply to titles 
issued on the following vehicles:

Vehicles owned or leased by state, county, school, municipality, or 
other government entity.

48-5-478 (disabled veteran)

48-5-478.1 (former prisoner of war)

48-5-478.2 (veterans awarded Purple Heart)

48-5-478.3 (veterans awarded Medal of Honor)
34
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Homesteads
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48-5-40. Definitions - “APPLICANT"

means a person who is:

1. A married individual living with his or her spouse; 
2. An individual who is unmarried but who permanently maintains a home for 

the benefit of one or more other individuals who are related to such 
individual or dependent wholly or partially upon such individual for 
support; 

3. An individual who is widowed having one or more children and 
maintaining a home occupied by himself or herself and the child or 
children; 

4. A divorced individual living in a bona fide state of separation and having 
legal custody of one or more children, when the divorced individual owns 
and maintains a home for the child or children; or 

5. An individual who is unmarried or is widowed and who permanently 
maintains a home owned and occupied by himself or herself; and

36
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48-5-40. Definitions - A “RESIDENT” of this 
state as defined in paragraph (15) of Code 

Section 40-5-1, as amended

(15) “RESIDENT" means a person who has a permanent home or abode in Georgia 
to which, whenever such person is absent, he or she has the intention of 
returning. For the purposes of this chapter, there is a rebuttable presumption that 
the following person is a resident:

(A) Any person who accepts employment or engages in any trade, 
profession, or occupation in Georgia or enters his or her children to be educated 
in the private or public schools of Georgia within ten days after the 
commencement of such employment or education; or

(B) Any person who, except for infrequent, brief absences, has been present 
in the state for 30 or more days;

provided, however, that no person shall be considered a resident for purposes of 
this chapter unless such person is either a United States citizen or an alien with 
legal authorization from the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service.
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48-5-40
Definitions…

“HOMESTEAD" means the real property owned by 
and in possession of the applicant on January 1 of 
the taxable year and upon which the applicant 
resides including, but not limited to, the land 
immediately surrounding the residence to which 
the applicant has a right of possession under a 
bona fide claim of ownership. 38
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48-5-40  The term 
“HOMESTEAD" includes the 
following qualifications: 

1. The actual permanent place of residence of an individual who is the applicant 
and which constitutes the home of the family; 

2. Where the person who is the applicant holds the bona fide fee title, an estate 
for life, or under any bona fide contract of purchase providing for the 
conveyance of title to the applicant upon performance of the contract; 

3. Where the building is occupied primarily as a dwelling; 
4. Where the children of deceased or incapacitated parents occupy the 

homestead of their parents and one of the children stands in the relation of 
applicant. … whether or not the estate is distributed; 

5. Where a husband or wife occupies a dwelling and the title of the homestead is 
in the name of the wife; 39
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Qualifications continued:

6. In the event a dwelling house … is destroyed by fire, flood, storm, or other 
unavoidable accident or is demolished or repaired so that the owner is compelled 
to reside temporarily in another place, the …house shall continue to be classed as 
a homestead for a period of one year after the occurrence; 

7. In the event an individual who is the applicant owns two or more dwelling
houses, he shall be allowed the exemption … on only one of the houses. Only 
one homestead shall be allowed to one immediate family group; 

8. Where property is owned and occupied jointly by two or more individuals all of 
whom occupy the property as a home and if the property is otherwise entitled to 
a homestead exemption, the homestead may be claimed in the names of the joint 
owners residing in the home. Where the property on which a homestead 
exemption is claimed is jointly owned by the occupant and others, the occupant 
or occupants shall be entitled to claim the full amount of the homestead 
exemption; 40
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More qualifications:
9. The permanent place of residence of an individual in the armed forces...shall be 

construed to be actually occupied … when the family of the individual resides in 
the residence or when the family is forced to live elsewhere because of the 
individual's service in the armed forces; 

10. Absence of an individual from his residence because of duty in the armed forces 
shall not be considered as a waiver upon the part of the individual in applying for 
a homestead exemption…; 

11. The homestead exempted must be actually occupied as the permanent residence 
by the applicant…, and the homestead shall be the legal residence and domicile of 
the applicant for all purposes whatever; 

12. In all counties having a population …; 

13. The deed … must be recorded … prior to filing the application ...; and 

14. Absence of an individual from such individual's residence because of health 
reasons shall not in and of itself be considered as a waiver … if all other 
qualifications are otherwise met... 
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48-5-40  “OCCUPIED PRIMARILY AS 
A DWELLING" means: 

1. The applicant or members of family occupy the property; or 

2. The applicant or members of family occupy a portion of the property; 

3. No more than one exemption may be claimed …, except in the case of a 
duplex or double occupancy dwelling … and the two units thus formed 
are separately owned and occupied. 

42
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Size or physical proportions…

• There is no limitation as to size or physical 
proportions of property to be embraced within 
the homestead provision, and it would seem 
that the purpose of Ga. Const. … and this 
section in fixing a maximum valuation was by 
so doing to equalize the exemption as between 
applicants on the basis of value, regardless of 
the extent of the tract involved.

43
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48-5-45. Application for homestead 
exemption; unlawful to solicit fee to file 
application for homestead for another.

• An applicant seeking a homestead exemption shall file a written 
application with the tax commissioner
– at any time during the calendar year subsequent to the property becoming the 

primary residence of the applicant
– up to and including date for the closing of the books. 

• Failure to file the application shall constitute a waiver of the 
homestead exemption for that year. 

• The owner shall not have to apply for the exemption more than 
once so long as the owner remains in continuous occupation of 
the residence. The exemption shall automatically be renewed 
from year to year.

• It is unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to solicit for the 
purpose of filing on behalf of such other person if a fee is 
charged. A violation of this subsection shall be a misdemeanor. 
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48-5-46. Procedure for application.
• The application for the homestead exemption shall be furnished by the 

commissioner not later than February 1 of each year 
• The application shall include:

– A statement of ownership of the homestead, 
– a complete description of the property on which homestead exemption is claimed, 
– when and from whom the property was acquired, 
– the kind of title held, and the amount of liens, if any, and to whom due; and 
– The approval of the application by the official so authorized. 

• A form of oath shall be provided and administered by the tax 
commissioner…

• The tax commissioner shall deliver the forms prescribed for the exemption.
• The applicant must answer all questions correctly to be entitled to an approval 

of the application. 
• The tax commissioner shall receive all applications for homestead exemption 

and shall file and preserve the applications. 
45
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State County School

Code Type of Exemption M&O Bond M&O Bond

S1 Regular 2,000 2,000 0 2,000 0

SC Age 65 100% on 10 acres + 2,000          2,000 2,000

S3 Elderly - Age 62 – Net Income less than 
$10,000

2,000 2,000 0 10,000 10,000

S4 Elderly - Age 65 - Net Income less than $10,000 4,000 4,000 4,000 10,000 10,000

S5 Disabled Veterans  (2015Amount) 70,465 70,465 70,465 70,465 70,465

SD Age 65 - 100% Disabled Veteran; 
Unremarried Surviving Spouse of 
Disabled Veteran 

100% on 10 acres+ 70,465 70,465 70,465 70,465 70,465

SS Surviving Spouse of Disabled Veterans 70,465 70,465 70,465 70,465 70,465

SE Age 65 - Unremarried Surviving Spouse of 
US Service Member killed in action 

100% on 10 acres+ 70,465 70,465 70,465 70,465 70,465

SG Unremarried Surviving Spouse of a 
Firefighter or Peace Officer killed in 
the line of duty

100% 100% 100% 100% 100%

S6 Floating - Age 62 – Fed. A.G.I. less than 30,000 Varying Varying 0 2,000 0

S8 Floating - Age 62 - Net Income less than 10,000 
or Fed. A.G.I. less than 30,000

Varying Varying 0 10,000 10,000

S9 Floating - Age 65 - Net Income less than 10,000 
or Fed. A.G.I. less than 30,000

Varying Varying 4,000 10,000 10,000
46
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48-5-51. Fraudulent claim of homestead 
exemption under Code Sections 48-5-44 
through 48-5-50; penalty.

• It shall be unlawful for any person to: 
– Make any fraudulent claim for exemption 

– Make any false representation of a material fact in support of a claim 

– Assist another knowingly in the preparation of any false or fraudulent claim 
for exemption, or enter into any collusion with another by the execution of a 
fictitious deed, deed of trust, mortgage, or otherwise. 

• Any person who violates this Code section shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor.

• In addition, the property shall be taxed in an amount double the tax 
otherwise to be paid. 
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48-5-54. Application of homestead exemptions to 
properties with multiple titleholders and properties 
held by administrators, executors, or trustees.

• The homestead shall apply to those properties the legal title to which is 
vested in one or more titleholders if actually occupied by one or more of 
such owners as a residence. 

• In such instances, exemptions shall be granted if claimed by one or more 
of the owners actually residing on such property. 

• Such exemptions shall also extend to those homesteads the title to which 
is vested in an administrator, executor, or trustee if one or more of the 
heirs or cestui que uses residing on such property claims the exemption 
in the manner provided by law. 

• The provisions of this Code section shall also apply to exemptions 
granted to the homestead by any local law adopted after July 1, 1984, 
unless the local law expressly provides to the contrary. 

48
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48-5-54. Application of homestead exemptions to 
properties with multiple titleholders and properties 
held by administrators, executors, or trustees.

• The failure to file an application shall not be cause for waiver of the 
exemption where such waiver arises because of an administrator's or 
executor's deed transferring the property to a surviving spouse. 

– In such instances, the board of tax assessors shall give notice of its intent to 
deny the exemption, and the surviving spouse may make application for the 
amount of homestead exemption to which such applicant is entitled within 30 
days from the date of the notice by the board of tax assessors. 

– In the case of a base year assessed value homestead exemption, as long as the 
surviving spouse otherwise meets the requirements specified for such 
exemption and makes proper application under this subsection, upon approval 
of such application the exemption shall be continued with the same base year 
assessed value as had been established for the deceased spouse of such 
surviving spouse, unless otherwise provided by local law. 
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Homestead Exemption

• O.C.G.A. 48-5-40

• State portion only 

• $2,000

• $4,000

• $70,465

• Varying

• 100% on 10 acres 50
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Rules

• Real Property & Land surrounding

• Own on January 1

• Permanent and Legal Residence

• Used as a dwelling

• Only one per family group

• Must file an application

51



18

Georgia Department of Revenue

Deadline for Filing

• Affective June 1, 2005

• NO DEADLINE for Filing

• Return Deadline is deadline for receiving
homestead (usually April 1)

• Filing = year round

• Receiving = April 1

52
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Designation of Returns

• 48-5-103 (5)

• Tax Commissioner may 
give written authority for 
Tax Assessor to receive 
returns and/or 
homestead applications
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Eligibility

• BOA makes determination of eligibility

• Written notice required for denial

• Taxpayer may appeal to BOE

• 48-5-49
54
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Forms

Online at:

www.dor.georgia.gov

55
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Regular (S1)

• $2,000 exemption 
from M & O
• State

• County

• School

57
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How to Figure a 
Homestead Exemption

[(40% * FMV) – 2,000] * millage rate

100,000 * 40% = 40,000

40,000 – 2,000 = 38,000

38,000 * .02000 = $760.00 
58
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SC

• O.C.G.A. 48-5-48.3

• 65 years of age and older on January 1st

• 100% exemption on house and 10 acres

• State ONLY

• In addition to any other exemption

• No income information needed
59
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How to Figure SC Elderly

Over the Age of 65

Net Income of 50,000

15 acres of land and house

FMV of house = 150,000

FMV of land = 75,000
Millage Rate 
State = .25
County = 10.75
School = 19.00 60
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FMV of house = 150,000

FMV of land = 75,000

150,000 x 40% = 60,000

75,000 / 15 = 5,000 an acre x 10 = 50,000

50,000 x 40% = 20,000

State Exemption = 60,000 + 20,000 + 2,000
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State Portion
150,000 + 75,000 = 225,000
225,000 x 40% = 90,000
90,000 – 82,000 = 8,000
8,000 x .00025 = 2.00
Tax Due = 2.00
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County Portion
90,000 – 2,000 = 88,000 x .01075 = 946.00
8,000 x .01075 = 86.00
Tax Due = 860.00

School Portion
90,000 – 2,000 = 88,000 x .019 = 1672.00
8,000 x .019 = 152.00
Tax Due = 1520.00

63
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Total Tax Bill

State = 2.00

County = 860.00

School = 1520.00

Total Due = $2,382.00
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$10,000 School Exemption
• A.K.A. (S3)
• 48-5-52
• Must be Age 62 on January 1
• Must meet requirements for (S1)
• $10,000 Net Income

(Applicant and Spouse)

• Applies to School M & O and Bond
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$4,000 State and County Exemption

• A.K.A. (S4)
• 48-5-47
• Must be Age 65 on January 1
• Must meet requirements for (S1)
• $10,000 Net Income

(Applicant and Spouse)

• Applies to M & O and Bond on 
– State
– County
– School = 10,000

66
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Income Tax Returns

• Use most current tax information

• May require to prove income yearly

General rule—elderly income decreases 
with age
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Definition of GA Net Income

• 48-7-27

• Homestead Form may be used as Affidavit 
of Income

• Transfer information from Work Form to 
Homestead Form

68
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48-5-52

• “net income shall not include income 
received as retirement, survivor, or disability 
benefits under the federal Social Security Act 
or under any other public or private 
retirement, disability, or pension system, 
except such income which is in excess of the 
maximum amount authorized to be paid to an 
individual and his or her spouse under the 
federal Social Security Act.” 69
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Maximum Social Security
2015 - $63,912
– should be used when determining the 

eligibility of any taxpayer seeking the elderly 
homestead exemptions

• www.ssa.gov/pressoffice/factsheets/colafa
cts2015.htm
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Application Form
SECTION C:   1.  COMPLETE THIS SECTION TO DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY OF NET INCOME REQUIREMENT

Column 1A Column 1B

Applicant Only or Spouse Only 

INCOME FOR YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 31, 20____ Applicant & Spouse if if Tax Return

Tax Return filed Jointly Filed Separately

Line 1-Total Income from Public or Private retirement, disability or pension system

Line 2-Total Income from Social Security

Line 3-Total income from Retirement and Social Security   (Line 1 plus Line 2)

Line 4-Maximum Social Security amount (from Tax Receiver)-Cannot exceed Line 3

Line 5-Adjusted Income  (Line 3 less Line 4)

Line 6-Other Income from all sources   

Line 7-Adjusted Income  (Line 5 plus Line 6)

Line 8-Standard or Itemized Deductions from Georgia Income Tax Return

Line 9-Personal exemption Amount from Georgia Income Tax Return

Line 10-Net Income (Line 7 less Lines 8 & 9)

If filing Jointly (Line 10, Column 1A) Must be < $10,000

If filing Separately (Total of Line 10, Columns 1A & 1B) Must be < $10,000
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Application Form Continued
SECTION C1.  COMPLETE THIS SECTION TO DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY OF NET INCOME REQUIREMENT

INCOME FOR YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 31, 20____     

Column 1A Column 1B

Applicant  Spouse 

Line 1-Total Income from Public or Private

Retirement, disability or pension system 21646

Line 2-Total Income from Social Security 10790

Line 3-Total income from Retirement and

Social Security   (Line 1 plus Line 2) 32436
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Application Form Continued

Column 1A Column 1B

Applicant                    Spouse

Line 4-Maximum Social Security amount

(from Tax Receiver) 63912

Line 5-Adjusted Income  (Line 3 less Line 4) 0

Line 6-Other Income from all sources   16595

Line 7-Adjusted Income  (Line 5 plus Line 6) 16595
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Georgia Standard Deductions

• Single/Head of Household $2,300

• Married filing Joint $3,000

• Married filing separate $1,500

• Additional Deductions $1,300
– Blind

– Over 65
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Georgia Personal Exemptions

• Line 6C $2,700
• Yourself and Spouse

• Line 7A $3,000
• Dependants
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Application Form Continued

Column 1A Column 1B
Applicant Spouse

Line 8-Standard or Itemized Deductions 
from Georgia Income Tax Return 3000

Line 9-Personal exemption Amount 
from Georgia Income Tax Return 5400

Line 10-Net Income (Line 7 less Lines 8 & 9) 8195
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Disabled Veterans
• $70,465

• Apply to M & O and Bond for
• State

• County

• School

• Qualifications
– Wartime Veteran – Totally Disabled

– Form DD #214

– Letter from Doctor verifying disability
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SD

• 48-5-48.3
• Must meet the requirements of S5 Disabled 

Veteran.
• Individuals 65 years of age and older on 

January 1 
• 100% exemption on House and 10 acres
• State ONLY
• In addition to
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Surviving Spouse (SS)
• 48-5-52.1
• Spouse killed in an armed conflict
• May not remarry
• $70,465
• Applies to M & O and Bonds for

• State
• County
• School
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SE

• Must meet the requirements of SS 
Surviving Spouse

• 65 years of age and older

• 100% exemption on house and 10 acres

• State ONLY.

• In addition to
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SG

• 48-5-48.4

• Peace Officers and Fire Fighters

• 100% exemption from state, county, 
school, municipal, and bond taxes

• Unremarried surviving spouses 

• In lieu of any existing exemptions
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Floating Exemptions

• 62 years of age

• Appraised value should increase more 
than $5,000 to benefit

• Total household income not to exceed 
$30,000

• Does not apply to municipal or school 
taxes.
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Tax Deferrals

• 62 years of age

• Entitled to a homestead

• Total amount of taxes and interest and all 
other liens cannot exceed 85% of FMV

• Gross household income less than 
$15,000
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Valuation Freeze

• Much like the floating homestead

• Locally Granted on County and/or School 
Only

• Does NOT affect State taxes

• FMV continues to increase
• Exemption increases yearly

• Valuation changes when sold
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Tax Deferral
• 48-5-70

• 62 years old on January 1

• entitled to claim homestead exemption

• Taxes, interest, and other liens can not 
exceed 85% of the fair market value

• Gross household income < $15,000 

• must have fire insurance with a loss payable 
clause to the county tax collector or county tax 
commissioner. 
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Freeport Exemptions

• Applies to State, County 
and School

• Percentage set by 
Governing Authority
– 20%, 40%, 50%, 80% or 

100% 

Between And 
Percentage of Exemption 

Allowed

March 2 March 31 9/12 or 75 per cent

April 1 April 30 8/12 or 67 per cent

May 1 May 31 7/12 or 58 per cent

On June 1 N/A 6/12 or 50 per cent
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