

Georgia Department of Revenue Alcohol & Tobacco Division Policy Bulletin 2016-02 Temporary Permits for Distilled Spirits License Applicants

Purpose: To allow for a thorough background investigation on Distilled Spirits Retail Consumption Dealer or Retailer license applicants to be completed, applicants will be issued a temporary permit to operate for 120 days after a preliminary review of the application and required documents is completed.

1) Effective Date: March 1, 2016.

2) Authority: O.C.G.A. § 3-2-2; 3-2-3; 3-2-7.

3) Scope: A Policy Bulletin is intended to provide guidance to the public and Department personnel. It is a written statement issued to apply principles of law to a specific set of facts or a general category of taxpayers, superseding all conflicting documents and oral directives previously issued by the Department. A Policy Bulletin is the Department's position on the law and is binding on agency personnel until superseded or modified by a change in statute, regulation, court decision, or subsequent Policy Bulletin.

4) Summary:

- a) Persons applying for a state Retail Consumption Dealer or Retailer license to sell Distilled Spirits must submit an application and upload the required documents electronically using the Georgia Tax Center: https://gtc.dor.ga.gov. A list of required documents can be found at http://dor.georgia.gov/retailers. Applicants are also subject to a comprehensive background investigation.
- b) Effective March 1, 2016, a temporary permit valid for 120 days will be issued to applicants for a Distilled Spirits Retail Consumption Dealer or Retailer license after the application and all required documents have been preliminarily reviewed by the assigned agent. The agent will then begin a thorough background investigation, which may take several months to complete.
- c) The temporary permit will be delivered or made available for pick-up at the nearest regional office two to five business days after the application and required documents have been preliminarily reviewed by the assigned agent. Delivery or pick-up will be determined by the assigned agent. Upon pick-up or delivery, the applicant will be temporarily authorized to operate for 120 days unless the permit is revoked or the license is denied during this time.
- **d**) The issuance of a temporary permit is within the discretion of the Commissioner under Department Regulation 560-2-2-.06. This temporary permit may be revoked at any time without notice or a hearing.

5) Frequently Asked Questions:

(Q1) What is the purpose of a temporary permit?

A temporary permit authorizes applicants for a Distilled Spirits Retail Consumption Dealer or Retailer license to operate while a mandatory and comprehensive background investigation is completed. Although temporary permits are issued for 120 days, a permit may be revoked at any time or if the license is denied.

(Q2) How do I apply for a temporary permit?

A temporary permit will be issued after the completion of a preliminary review of the license application and required documents by the assigned agent. A separate application is not required.

(Q3) How quickly will I receive my temporary permit?

A temporary permit will be issued two to five business days after the preliminary review of the license application and required documents has been completed by the assigned agent. The permit will either be hand-delivered or made available for pick-up at the closest regional office. Delivery or pick-up will be determined by the assigned agent.

(Q4) How long will it take for my license to be issued?

Barring any issues or delays with the application, documents received or background investigation, Distilled Spirits Retail Consumption Dealer or Retailer licenses will be issued within the 120-day permit period. Licenses will be mailed or made available for pick-up at 1800 Century Center Blvd., Atlanta, Georgia 30345 at the discretion of the assigned agent.

(Q5) Can I obtain a temporary permit to sell Malt Beverages and/or Wine?

A temporary permit to sell Malt Beverages and/or Wine will only be issued if these licenses were applied for in conjunction with the Distilled Spirits Retail Consumption Dealer or Retailer license.

FOR MORE INFORMATION

For more information on this subject contact Taxpayer Services at 1-877-423-6711 between 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. EST, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.

For forms and other information, visit our website (http://dor.georgia.gov).