

State of Georgia Department of Revenue

Schedule of Motor Vehicle License Plates and Fees

Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Division PO Box 740381 Atlanta, GA 30374-0381 1-855-406-5221

NOTES:

- 1. License plates must be purchased at the county tag office in the county of the owner's residence unless registered as a business used in connection with some established business located in a different county.
- 2. Fees reflected in this schedule are for non-apportioned vehicles only.
- 3. For vehicles operating interstate under the International Registration Plan (IRP) with apportioned license plates, consult the fee schedule published for apportioned vehicles.
- 4. Farm trucks operating interstate in this category must obtain an apportioned license plate.
- 5. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) heavy Vehicle Use Tax Receipt, Form 2290, stamped, must be submitted for all vehicle's gross weight registered at 55,000 pounds or more.

FOR INFORMATION REGARDING:

General Vehicle Information	1-855-406-5221
Apportioned Vehicles (IRP)	1-855-406-5221
Motor Fuel Permits (IFTA)	1-855-406-5221
Motor Carrier Permits	1-855-406-5221
USDOT	678-284-5130 or 1-800-832-5660
IRS Heavy Use Tax	1-866-699-4096
Driver License	678-413-8400
Georgia Department of Drive	er Services
Amber Light	404-624-7211
Georgia Department of Publi	c Safety
Georgia Department of Drive	er Services 404-624-7211

The fees shown below do not include vehicle ad valorem tax, sales tax, mailing fees, title fees, title penalties or penalties for late renewal. The fees shown below are for non-apportioned vehicles only.

	Passenger Vehicles not operated as a common or contra	ct carrier for hire
Plate		Plate/Decal Cost
AA		\$20.00
LS	Low Speed Vehicle	\$20.00
	Motorcycles	
Plate	-	Plate/Decal Cost
CY		\$20.00
	Trailers	
Plate		Plate/Decal Cost
TT		\$12.00
	Permanent Trailer License Plates	

Permanent trailer license plates are subject to suspension and revocation without the annual payment of ad valorem taxes prior to February 15. A permanent trailer license plate cannot be transferred to a subsequent owner.

One-time Fee
\$48.00

Plate

RV

No license plate is required when a trailer weighing less than 3,500 lbs. factory weight is used exclusively to haul agricultural products from one place on the farm to another or from one farm or field to another.

No license plate is required for farm trailers with no springs, used in hauling unprocessed farm products to their first market destination & trailers that are pulled from a tongue & used primarily to transport fertilizer to the farm.

Commercial Motor Vehicles

Definition: O.C.G.A. §40-1-1 (8.3) "Commercial motor vehicle" means any self-propelled or towed motor vehicle used on a highway in intrastate and interstate commerce to transport passengers or property when the vehicle:

(A) Has a gross vehicle weight rating, gross combination weight rating, gross vehicle weight, or gross combination weight of 4,537 kg (10,001 lbs.) or more;

(B) Is designed or used to transport more than eight passengers, including the driver, for compensation; (C) Is designed or used to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver, and is not used to transport passengers for compensation; or

(D) Is used to transport material determined to be hazardous by the secretary of the United States Department of Transportation under 49 U.S.C. Section 5103 and transported in a quantity that requires placards under regulations prescribed under 49 C.F.R., Subtitle B, Chapter I, Subchapter C.

Commercial Motor Vehicles 'For Hire' & 'Not For Hire'

Rates are based on the owner's declared registered weight.

Plate	Weight	Plate/Decal Cost
JA	18,000 lbs. or less	\$25.00
JN	18,001-26,000 lbs.	\$38.00

'Not For Hire'

26,001 Lbs. to Maximum Weight

The rates are based on the owner's declared registered weight and purchase date or date of first operation

		Dec. 1	Mar. 1	Jun. 1	Sept. 1
Plate	Registered Weight	1 Year	³ ⁄4 Year	1/2 Year	1/4 Year
PF	26,001-30,000 lbs.	\$45.00	\$33.75	\$22.50	\$11.25
PG	30,001-36,000 lbs.	70.00	52.50	35.00	17.50
HP	36,001-44,000 lbs.	115.00	86.25	57.50	28.75
PI	44,001-54,999 lbs.	190.00	142.50	95.00	47.50
PJ	55,000-63,280 lbs.	300.00	225.00	150.00	75.00
PK	63,281- maximum permitted	400.00	300.00	200.00	100.00
PW	Straight truck hauling fertilizer & a	griculture pro	oducts		
		31.00	23.25	15.50	7.75
PX	'Not for hire' straight truck, that is n	ot a truck trac	ctor shall not	exceed	
		75.00	56.25	37.50	18.75
PZ	Truck tractor hauling only fertilizer	, milk or cro	ps		
		220.00	165.00	110.00	55.00

'For Hire' From 26.001 lbs. to Maximum Weight'

The rates are based on the owner'	s declared registered	weight and p	purchase date or date of	of first operation.
-----------------------------------	-----------------------	--------------	--------------------------	---------------------

		Dec. 1	Mar. 1	Jun. 1	Sept.1
Plate """""	Registered Weight	1 Year	³ ⁄ ₄ Year	1/2 Year	¹ / ₄ Year
HF	26,001-30,000 lbs.	\$ 85.00	\$ 63.75	\$ 42.50	\$ 21.25
HG	30,001-36,000 lbs.	130.00	97.50	65.00	32.50
HH	36,001-44,000 lbs.	215.00	161.25	107.50	53.75
HI	44,001-54,999 lbs.	365.00	273.75	182.50	91.25
HJ	55,000-63,280 lbs.	575.00	431.25	287.50	143.75
HK	63,281-maximum permitted	725.00	543.75	362.50	181.25
HX	For Hire' straight truck, that is not a	truck-tracto	r, shall <u>not</u> ex	ceed this fee	:
		150.00	112.50	75.00	37.50

Busses

Plate_			Plate/Deca	1 Fee
Fees per 100 lbs., or fraction thereof:	D 1	N 1	T 1	G (1
	Dec. 1	Mar. 1	Jun. 1	Sept.1
Factory Weight:	1 Year	³ ⁄ ₄ Year	1/2 Year	<u>1/4 Yr</u>
UA - Not more than 10,000 pounds	\$ 1.90	\$ 1.425	\$.95	\$.475
UB - More than 10,000 lbs. but not more than 15,000 pounds	2.75	2.0625	1.375	.6875
UC - More than 15,000 lbs. but not more than 20,000 pounds	3.45	2.5875	1.725	.8625
UD - More than 20,000 pounds or fractional part thereof	3.75	2.8125	1.875	.9375
	No bus lic	ense fee shal	l exceed \$875	5.00

Busses operated over a route of fifty miles or less, the rate shall be.

Plate	Plate/Decal Fee
LA - Not more than 10,000 pounds	One-half of bus fee calculation
LB - More than 10,000 lbs. but not more than 15,000 pounds	One-half of bus fee calculation
LC - More than 15,000 lbs. but not more than 20,000 pounds	One-half of bus fee calculation
LD - More than 20,000 pounds or fractional part thereof	One-half of bus fee calculation

Limited busses are motor vehicles operating exclusively to and from a United Sates Military Reservations located in this State over a route of not more than twenty (20) miles in length and under special franchise granted by the U.S. Department of Defense.

Plate	Plate/Decal Fee
LT	\$20.00

School busses registered at a fee of \$20.00 must be operated exclusively in the transportation of pupils and teachers to and from school activities, or the transportation of the owner of the bus and the members of his immediate family.

Plate PB		Plate/Decal Fee \$20.00
	Hearses and/or Ambulances	
Plate		Plate/Decal Cost
HB		\$20.00

Taxicab

Motor vehicles for hire ,which conveys passengers between locations of their choice and is a mode of public transportation for a single passenger or small group for a fee.

Plate	Plate/Decal Cost
TX	\$25.00

Limousines

Motor vehicle that meets the manufacturer's specifications for a luxury limousine with a designed seating capacity for no more than ten passengers and with a minimum of five seats located behind the operator of the vehicle, and which does not have a door at the rear of the vehicle designed to allow passenger entry or exit.

> Plate/Decal Cost \$25.00

Plate LM	
LM	

Trucks Transporting Forest Products

Forest products are products such as pulpwood, pulpwood chips, logs, raw gum, fuel wood, bark, pine straw, pine cones & other unprocessed products of the forest. It does not include lumber, which is a manufactured product, or any other product manufactured or distilled from the trees of the forest.

<u>Plate</u> FA	Type of Truck ^{************************************}	s Rlate/Decal Cost \$ 38.00
EA	Other truck tractors	\$220.00
	Agricultural Field Use Vehicle	

Agricultural field-use vehicle means a commercial truck designed specifically for field applications of fertilizers, poultry litter & protection chemicals that is owned & operated by a farmer or business engaged in the sale & application of fertilizers, poultry litter & crop protection chemicals & is operated primarily off the highway.

Plate	""Plate/Decal Cost
PW	\$31.00

Government Vehicles No Decal Issued

Government vehicles are vehicles including busses and motorcycles owned by the State of Georgia, or by any county, city or other political subdivision of the State.

Plate "	*	""Plate/Decal Cost
GO	Government vehicle	\$3.00
GM	Government Motorcycle	\$3.00

Dealer

Franchise, Independent, Wholesale, Motorcycle Dealer, Distributor, Motorcycle Distributor, Manufacturer, Motorcycle Manufacturer, Trailer Dealer, Manufactured Home Dealer or Transporter License Plates

Dealer expiration date will be determined by the first letter or number of your business name and will expire at the end of the month.

The Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division registers dealers and issues these license plates. Visit the department's website, https://dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles or call 1-855-406-5221 for additional information.

Plate	""Plate/Decal Cost
DL, UI, UW, DM, HT, DZ, DF, YH, TD, MF, PO	\$62.00 for 1 st license plate (master tag)
	\$25.00 annual franchise fee - 'franchise'

ıg) se' dealers only (sells 'new' vehicles) \$12.00 for each additional license plate there are limits to the number of additional plates issued.

Replacement License Plates/Decals

Plate/Decal Cost \$8.00

Specialty License Plates

Visit the department's website, https://dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles

Replacement Plate/Decal