

Georgia Department of Revenue - Motor Vehicle Division Report and/or Surrender of Georgia License Plate

Purpose of this form: This form is used to report and/or surrender a Georgia license plate.

Completing this form: This form must be completed in its entirety, legibly printed in blue or black ink or typed.

Section A: Complete the license plate and vehicle information.

Section B: Provide reasons for report and/or surrender of license plate.

Section C: Record the name, mailing address and telephone number of the business or individual reporting and/or surrendering the license plate. If individual, provide first name, middle initial, last name, and suffix (if applicable). Complete the form with signature and date. If the person completing this form is an authorized agent of a business, please provide full legal name and position/job title.

How to submit this form: Submit this completed form to your local county tag office or the Georgia Department of Revenue - Motor Vehicle Division. Please note that submission of this form does not constitute proof that ad valorem taxes have been paid.

County Tag Office: Please refer to https://dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles to locate a county tag office in your county of residence.

Georgia Department of Revenue - Motor Vehicle Division: Mail to Attn: Surrendered License Plate, DOR/Motor Vehicle Division, P.O. Box 740382, Atlanta, Georgia 30374-0382 or drop off in the MVD Drop-Off Box located at 4125 Welcome All Road, Atlanta, Georgia 30349.

Required document: The license plate must be submitted with this form to the county tag office or destroyed by the insurance company.

General information: Copies should be distributed and/or retained by business/agent for submission of subsequent title and tag application. The Motor Vehicle Division will not make copies of this completed form.

A LICENSE PLATE AND VEHICLE INFORMATION - Do not surrender special or prestige license plates.														
License Plate No.:			Year Issued:			De				ecal Year:				
Vehicle Identification No. (VIN)	:													
Year:	Make:					Мо	del:							
B REASON FOR REPORT AND/OR SURRENDER OF LICENSE PLATE														
Reason for Report: Check applicable box. [] The license plate for the vehicle described in this form was surrendered for the reasons indicated. Check applicable boxes ↔ [] No license plate was on the vehicle described in this form for the reasons indicated. Check applicable boxes ↔ [] Court order or involuntary transfer [] The license plate is unclaimed by owner; therefore, it is surrendered for cancellation. [] Salvage (If vehicle owner retains salvage vehicle, owner must surrender license plate is a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature, punishable by a fine of not less than \$500.00 or by confinement for not more than 12 months, or both.														
C BUSINESS OR INDIVIDUAL REPORTING AND/OR SURRENDERING LICENSE PLATE Business's / Individual's Full Legal Name:														
Mailing Address: Street Name Apt./Suite No.														
City:	State:			ZIP Code:				Telephone No.:						
I hereby submit this completed form to the: [] <u>County Name</u> County Tag Office [] Georgia Department of Revenue - Motor Vehicle Division														
Authorized Agent's / Individual's Signature:								Date: / /						
Authorized Agent's Full Legal Name:	Position/Job Title:													
E COUNTY ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF RECEIPT														
A county tag agent or authorized employee must complete this section when this form and license plate are surrendered to a county tag office.														
License Plate No.:	Date Received: / / County Name:													
County Tag Agent / Authorized Employee Signature:														

T-158 (Revised 6-2021)

Have a question? Visit our website at https://dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles or scan the QR code above for more information.