

# Georgia Department of Revenue - Motor Vehicle Division Application for Dealer, Distributor & Manufacturer License Plates

Web and MV Manual

MV-6 (Revised 06/2025)

ANY CORRECTION OR ALTERATION WILL VOID THIS FORM

Purpose of this Affidavit: This form is to be used by a business owner or executive officer to request the manufacture of Dealer, Distributor and Manufacturer license plates. How to submit this form: This form must be completed in its entirety, legibly printed or typed, and submitted along with all required documents and fees to the Business Registration Unit of the Motor Vehicle Division. Please mail this completed form to DOR/Motor Vehicle Division, Attn: Business Registration Unit, P.O. Box 740382, Atlanta, GA 30374-0382 or email to <u>business.registration@dor.ga.gov</u>.

Required document(s): You are required to submit documents supporting State identification numbers, licenses and sale tax; photos of business and signage; copy of land line telephone bill; list of current employees and contractors; copies of current employees and contractors drivers' license; and copies of front and back of title for all sales to out of state or country customers.

A BUSINESS INFORMATION						
Company, Business, Firm, Corporation, LLC Business Name:						
Doing Business As:						
Email Address: Teleph Publick/ listed. m	one No: cell phone number.					
Business Owner's Last Name First Name First Name		Middle Initial Suffix				
Business Address:	Street Name Apt/Suite No. City					
Georgia Tax Identification No.: Georgia Business or Occupational License No.:						
Georgia Used Motor Vehicle Dealer / Parts Dealer No.: Georgia Fire Marshal No Manufactured Home Dealer Only						
Contact information for the person responsible for maintaining records						
Contact Person's Name: Telephone No:						
B LICENSE PLATE REQUEST						
Check plate type: If applying for Dealer Plates, check dealer type: Indeper box(es)		must also check applicable				
Dealer PlateFranchise Dealer (New Motor Vehicles)AutoMotorcycle Dealer PlateEstimated vehicle sale for remainder of the calendar year \$Auto	Franchise Dealer (New Motor Vehicles)       Auto Auction Company         e       Estimated vehicle sale for remainder of the calendar year \$       Auto Broker         Plate       Independent Dealer (Use Motor Vehicles)       Wholesaler         used Parts Dealer       Wholesaler         rer Plate       Motorcycle Dealer         Manufactured Home Dealer       Ketail Dealer					
CALCULATE TOTAL DUE						
MASTER PLATEADDITIONAL PLATE (2 plates or less)FRANCHISE FEE (Pranchise Dealers Only)MAILING (See instructions for $= $$ $1$ x \$62.00+ $= $$		+ \$				
C CERTIFICATION						
In accordance with O.C.G.A. §40-2-38, I am applying for distinguishing plates for motor vehicles manufactured, distribution company, business, firm, corporation or LLC referenced in this application. I do solemnly swear, affirm or certify under criminal penalty of a felony for fraudulent use of a false or fictitious name of ment punishable by a fine of up to \$5,000 or by imprisonment of up to five (5) years, or both, that statements contained and accurate. I also swear, affirm or certify that I am the authorized agent to sign for the company listed above, and series pertaining to these tags.	r address or i d on docume	making a material false state- ents submitted by me are true				
Business Owner's or Executive Officer's Printed Name:						
Business Owner's or Executive Officer's Signature:	Date:					

Have a question? Visit our website at <u>www.dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles</u> or scan the QR code above for more information.

## INSTRUCTIONS How to complete the MV-6 Form

#### COMPLETING this FORM

This form must be completed in its entirety, legibly printed in blue or black ink or typed. Any correction or alteration will void this form.

Section A: Complete the business' information. The telephone number must be a publicly listed Georgia telephone number; cell phones are not acceptable. The business address block should contain the physical address of the business.

Section B: Check boxes to indicate the tag category you are requesting. Enter the number of additional plates to be manufactured, if needed, and calculate the total due. The Department's cost to mail must be included in the total due if the plates are to be mailed to the address recorded in Section A. Section C: Certify that all statements contained in this form are true and accurate.

## **REQUIRED DOCUMENT(S)**

The following documents are required:

- Georgia Tax Identification Number
- Georgia Business or Occupational License Number
- Georgia Sales Tax Certificate (Form ST2)
- Georgia Used Motor Vehicle Dealer / Parts Dealer Number
- Photos of business and signage
  Copy of land line telephone bill
  - List of current employees and contractors
  - Copies of current employees and contractors drivers' license
- Copies of front and back of title sold to any out of state/country customer

Georgia Fire Marshal Number

## FEE(S)

The following fees may apply:

LICENSE PLA	CENSE PLATE FEES			LICENSE PLATE FEES		
Plate Type	Master One per business	Additional One per employee		Plate Type	Franchise Dealer Only	
Fees	\$62.00	\$12.00	]	Fees	\$25.00	
MAILING FEE	ES*					

# of Plates	1	2	3	4-6	7-9	10-15	16-20	21-25	26 or more
Fees	\$1.00	\$2.00	\$2.50	\$5.50	\$6.00	\$6.25	\$6.50	\$6.75	\$7.00

\* If you choose to pick up your plates, the mailing fees should not be included with the payment of the plates. You will be contacted after the plates and registration are processed to schedule a date and time for pick up.

## SUBMITTING this FORM

This completed form must be submitted to the Business Registration Unit of the Motor Vehicle Division.

MAIL TO:	DROP-OFF	EMAIL TO:	FAX TO:
DOR/Motor Vehicle Division Attn: Business Registrations Unit P.O. Box 740382 Atlanta, GA 30374-0382	Motor Vehicle Division Lobby Attn: Business Registrations Unit 4125 Welcome All Road Atlanta, GA 30349 Business Hours: 7:30 AM – 4:30 PM	business.registration@dor.ga.gov	770-359-1819

Email questions, concerns, and/or correspondence to business.registration@dor.ga.gov.

## **IMPORTANT INFORMATION**

An applicant may only obtain three (3) plates, i.e., one (1) master plate and two (2) additional plates, without completing a MV-6B Dealer, Distributor, Manufacturer or Transporter Application for Additional Tags certifying the number of vehicles that applicant transported during the previous calendar year based on its business records. When recording an actual number, the "Actual Number" box must be checked.

The Department has the right to limit the number of additional plates issued when the numbers certified on the MV-6B Dealer, Distributor, Manufacturer or Transporter Application for Additional Tags differs from the Department's records or investigative findings. The Department may request additional documents to validate the need for additional plates.

#### Dealer, Manufacturer or Distributor License Plates Can be Used:

- On vehicles in the company's inventory that are being demonstrated to a potential buyer.
- To transport an inventory vehicle from one location to another.
- On dealership, manufacturer or distributor owned vehicles used by officers and employees of the dealership. Employees are defined as persons working for these businesses at least 36 hours per week.

#### Dealer, Manufacturer or Distributor License Plates Cannot be Used:

- On privately owned vehicles.
- On vehicles for hire or lease.
- On vehicles used in the operations of a dealership, manufacturer or distributor such as rentals, delivery, parts delivery, towing, rollbacks, courtesy, or other manner.
- By friends or family members of employees or officers of the business.

If it is determined that these license plates are unlawfully used, license plates may be revoked and confiscated.

Note: If you go out-of-business, you must turn in all license plates, with a signed letter indicating the reason for the return, to the MVD Business Registration Unit.

#### Have a question? Visit our website at www.dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles or scan the QR code above for more information.