102

103

TAX CREDITS

Note: A return is required to be filed electronically if the return generates, allocates, claims, utilizes, or
includes in any manner a Series 100 credit.

Qualified Subchapter S Subsidiary (QSSS) Credit Instructions. In addition to filing the net worth tax
return, the QSSS should complete Schedule 11 if the QSSS generates credits or has credits assigned,
allocated, or transferred to it. Also, Schedule 12 should be used to transfer the credit to the parent S
Corporation and Schedule 13 should be completed if applicable. This is necessary so that the returns
can be processed and the credits flow to the proper taxpayer.

Disregarded Single Member LLC Credit Instructions. If the taxpayer owns or is owned by a disregarded
single member LLC, the single member LLC should be disregarded for filing purposes. All credits should
be claimed on the owner’s return. All tax credit forms should be filed in the name of the single member
LLC but included with the owner’s return. This is necessary so that the returns can be processed and
the credits flow to the proper taxpayer.

Series 100 Credits

Employer’s Credit for Approved Employee Retraining. The retraining tax credit allows employers to claim certain
costs of retraining employees to use new technology. However, approved retraining shall not include any retraining
on commercially, mass produced software packages for word processing, database management, presentations,
spreadsheets, email, personal information management, or computer operating systems except a retraining tax credit
shall be allowable for those providing support or training on such software. The credit is calculated at 50% of the direct
costs of retraining full-time employees, up to $500 per employee per approved retraining program per year. There is
a cap of $1,250 per year per full-time employee who has successfully completed more than one approved retraining
program. The credit may be utilized up to 50% of the taxpayer’s total state income tax liability for a tax year. The credit
must be claimed within one year instead of the normal three-year statute of limitation period. Credits claimed but not
used may be carried forward for 10 years. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits
generated but not used may be carried forward for five years. For a copy of the Retraining Tax Credit Procedures
Guide, contact the Technical College System of Georgia. This credit should be claimed on Form IT-RC, with Program
Completion forms signed by Technical College System of Georgia personnel attached. For more information, refer to
0O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.5 and Policy Statement IT-2010-01-07.

Employer’s Jobs Tax Credit. This credit provides for a statewide job tax credit for any business or headquarters of
any such business engaged in manufacturing, warehousing and distribution, processing, telecommunications,
broadcasting, tourism, research and development industries, biomedical manufacturing or services for the elderly and
persons with disabilities but does not include retail businesses. If other requirements are met, job tax credits are
available to businesses of any nature, including retail businesses, in counties recognized and designated as the 40
least developed counties.

Tier Designation | County Rankings | New Jobs Created A%gﬂi;t
Tier 1 1 through 71 2 or more $3,500
Tier 2 72 through 106 10 or more $2,500
Tier 3 107 through 141 15 or more $1,250
Tier4 142 through 159 25 or more $750
Credits similar to the credits available in Tier 1 counties are potentially available to companies in certain less developed

census tracts in the metropolitan areas of the state. Note that the average wage for each new job must be above the
average wage of the county that has the lowest average wage of any county in the state. Also, employers must make
health insurance available to employees filling the new full-time jobs. Employers are not, however, required to pay all
or part of the cost of such insurance unless this benefit is provided to existing employees. In Tier 1 and Tier 2 counties,
the total credit amount may offset up to 100% of a taxpayer’s state income tax liability for a taxable year. In Tier 3 and
Tier 4 counties, the total credit amount may offset up to 50% of a taxpayer’s state income tax liability for a taxable year.
In Tier 1 counties and less developed census tracts, credits may be taken against a company’s income tax withholding.
Credits for competitive projects in Tier 2, Tier 3, and Tier 4 counties may also be taken against income tax withholding.
To claim the credit against withholding, a business must file Form IT-WH in the manner provided in Revenue
Regulation 560-7-8-.36. A credit claimed but not used in any taxable year may be carried forward for 10 years from
the close of the taxable year in which the qualified jobs were established. For taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 2025, any credits generated but not used may be carried forward for five years. The measurement of the
new full-time jobs and maintained jobs is based on average monthly employment. Georgia counties are re-ranked
annually based on updated statistics. This credit should be claimed on Form IT-CA. An additional $500 per job is
allowed for a business located within a county that belongs to a Joint Development Authority per O.C.G.A. §36-62-5.1.
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The additional new full-time jobs created in the four years after the initial year shall be eligible for the credit. The credit
must be claimed within one year instead of the normal three-year statute of limitation period.

For taxable years beginning in 2020 and 2021, taxpayers that claimed the Jobs tax credit in a taxable year beginning
on or after January 1, 2019 and before December 31, 2019, have the option to utilize the number of new full-time jobs
that the taxpayer claimed in the taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2019 and before December 31, 2019;
or calculate the number of new full-time jobs based on the number of full-time jobs created and maintained in that
respective tax year.

Employer’s Credit for Purchasing Child Care Property. Employers who purchase qualified child care property will
receive a credit totaling 100% of the cost of such property. The credit is claimed at the rate of 10% a year for 10 years.
Any unused credit may be carried forward for three years and the credit is limited to 50% of the employer’'s Georgia
income tax liability for the tax year. Recapture provisions apply if the property is transferred or committed to a use other
than child care within 14 years after the property is placed in service. This credit should be claimed on Form IT-CCC100.
For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.6 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.38.

Employer’s Credit for Providing or Sponsoring Child Care for Employees. Employers who provide or sponsor
child care for employees are eligible for a tax credit of up to 75% of the employers’ direct costs. The credit may not
exceed 50% of the taxpayer’s total state income tax liability for the taxable year. Any credit claimed but not used in any
taxable year may be carried forward for five years from the close of the taxable year in which the cost of the operation
was incurred. This credit should be claimed on Form IT-CCC75. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.6
and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.38.

Manufacturer’'s Investment Tax Credit. A taxpayer that has operated an existing manufacturing or
telecommunications facility in the state for the previous three years is allowed a credit against income tax liability. The
credit is calculated on expenses directly related to manufacturing or to providing telecommunications services.
Taxpayers must apply (use Form IT-APP) and receive approval before claiming the credit on the appropriate tax return.
A taxpayer may not claim the job tax credit or the optional investment tax credit when claiming this credit for the same
project. Taxpayers must invest a minimum of $100,000 per project/location during the tax year in order to claim the
credit.

Tier Location Tax Credit Credit for Recycling, Pollution Control or Defense Conversion

Activities
Tier 1 5% 8%
Tier 2 3% 5%
Tier3or4 1% 3%

For a taxpayer with a manufacturing or telecommunications facility in a rural county located in a tier 1 county or tier 2
county that has purchased or acquired qualified investment property in a taxable year beginning on or after January
1, 2020 (which is then claimed on an income tax return in the taxable year after the purchased or acquired taxable
year), the excess investment tax credit may be used to offset withholding. The taxpayer must receive preapproval, as
provided in Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.37, to use the excess credit against withholding. A taxpayer that has
investment tax credit carry forward for qualified investment property that was purchased or acquired in a taxable year
beginning before January 1, 2020, may request preapproval to use such investment tax credit carry forward against
withholding tax if certain requirements are met; this provision is repealed on December 31, 2024. The taxpayer must
receive preapproval as provided in Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.37 to use the credit carry forward against
withholding. The total amount of tax credits preapproved to be used against withholding tax for taxpayers in rural
counties located in tier 1 and tier 2 counties and for taxpayers to use investment tax credit carry forward against
withholding together shall not exceed $1 million per taxpayer per calendar year and $10 million for all taxpayers per
calendar year. Credits claimed but not used may be carried forward for 10 years from the year that the qualified
investment property was acquired, provided that such property remains in service. For taxable years beginning on or
after January 1, 2025, any credits generated but not used may be carried forward for five years.

This credit should be claimed on Form IT-IC and accompanied by the approved Form IT-APP. For more
information, refer to O.C.G.A. §§48-7-40.2, 40.3, and 40.4 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.37.

Optional Investment Tax Credit. Taxpayers qualifying for the investment tax credit may choose an optional
investment tax credit with the following threshold criteria:

Designated Area Minimum Investment Tax Credit
Tier 1 $ 5 Million 10%
Tier 2 $10 Million 8%
Tier3 or4 $20 Million 6%
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Taxpayers must apply (use Form OIT-APP) and receive approval before they claim the credit on their returns. The
credit may be claimed for 10 years, provided the qualifying investment property remains in service throughout that
period. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits generated may be claimed for five years,
provided the qualifying investment property remains in service. A taxpayer must choose either the regular or optional
investment tax credit. Once this election is made, it is irrevocable. The optional investment tax credit is calculated
based upon a three-year tax liability average. The annual credits are then determined using this base year average.
The credit available to the taxpayer in any given year is the lesser of the following amounts:
(1) 90% of the excess of the tax of the applicable year determined without regard to any credits over the
base year average; or
(2) The excess of the aggregate amount of the credit allowed over the sum of the amounts of credit
already used in the years following the base year.
The credit must be claimed on Form IT-OIC. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §§48-7-40.7, 40.8, and 40.9 and
Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.40.

Low Income Housing Credit. This is a credit against Georgia income taxes for taxpayers owning developments
receiving the Federal Low Income Housing Tax Credit that are placed in service on or after January 1, 2001. Credit
must be claimed on Form IT-HC and accompanied with Federal Form K-1 from the providing entity and a schedule of
the building allocation. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.6.

Business Enterprise Vehicle Credit. This creditis for a business enterprise for the purchase of a motor vehicle used
exclusively to provide transportation for employees. In order to qualify, a business enterprise must certify that each
vehicle carries an average daily ridership of not less than four employees for an entire taxable year. This credit cannot
be claimed if the low and zero emission vehicle credit was claimed at the time the vehicle was purchased. For more
information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.22.

Research Tax Credit. A tax credit is allowed for research expenses for research conducted within Georgia for any
business or headquarters of any such business engaged in manufacturing, warehousing, and distribution, processing,
telecommunications, tourism, broadcasting or research and development industries. The credit shall be 10% of the
additional research expense over the “base amount,” provided that the business enterprise for the same taxable year
claims and is allowed a research credit under Section 41 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. The base amount
calculation is based on Georgia gross receipts. The credit may not exceed 50% of the business’ Georgia net income
tax liability after all other credits have been applied in any one year. Any unused credit may be carried forward 10
years. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits generated but not used may be carried
forward for five years. Excess research tax credit earned may be used to offset withholding. This credit should be
claimed on Form IT-RD. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.12 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.42.

Headquarters Tax Credit. Companies establishing their headquarters or relocating their headquarters to Georgia
prior to January 1, 2009 may be entitled to a tax credit if the following criteria are met: 1) At least fifty (50) headquarters
jobs are created; and 2) within one year of the first hire, $1 million is spent in construction, renovation, leasing, or other
cost related to such establishment or reallocation. Headquarters is defined as the principal central administrative offices
of a company or a subsidiary of the company. The credit is available for establishing new full-time jobs. To qualify, each
job must pay a salary which is a stated percentage of the average county wage where the job is located: Tier 1 counties
at least 100%; Tier 2 counties at least 105%; Tier 3 counties at least 110%; and Tier 4 counties at least 115%. The
company has the ability to claim the credit in years one through five for jobs created in year one and may continue to
claim newly created jobs through year seven and claim the credit on each of those jobs for five years. The credit is
equal to $2,500 annually per new full-time job meeting the wage requirement or $5,000 if the average wage of all new
qualifying fulltime jobs is 200% or more of the average county wage where new jobs are located. The credit may be
used to offset 100 percent of the taxpayers Georgia income tax liability in the taxable year. Where the amount of such
credit exceeds the taxpayer’s tax liability in a taxable year, the excess may be taken as a credit against such taxpayer’s
quarterly or monthly withholding tax. To claim the credit against withholding, a business must file Form IT-WH as
provided in the headquarters tax credit regulation or as instructed by the Commissioner. This credit should be applied
for and claimed on Form IT-HQ. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.17 before the 2009 amendments.

Port Activity Tax Credit (Use 114J for Port Activity Job Tax Credit and 114M for Port Activity Investment Tax
Credit). Businesses or the headquarters of any such businesses engaged in manufacturing, warehousing and
distribution, processing, telecommunications, broadcasting, tourism, or research and development that have increased
their port traffic during the previous 12-month period by more than 10% over their base year port traffic are qualified
for increased job tax credits or investment tax credits. “Base year port traffic’ means the amount of imports and exports
during the second preceding 12-month period. For example, if the taxpayer is trying to claim the credit for 2010, they
would compare 2009 to 2008 and if the increase is more than 10%, they would qualify. NOTE: Base year port traffic
must be at least 75 net tons, five containers, or 10 TEU’s. If not, the percentage increase in port traffic will be calculated
using 75 net tons, five containers, or 10 TEU’s as the base. “Port traffic’ means the amount of imports and exports by
way of a waterborne ship or vehicle through a port facility.

Companies must meet Business Expansion and Support Act (BEST) criteria for the county in which they are located.
The tax credit amounts are as follows for all Tiers: An additional job tax credit of $1,250 per job; investment tax credit
of 5%; or optional investment tax credit of 10%. Companies that create 400 or more new jobs, invest $20 million or
more in new and expanded facilities, and increase their port traffic by more than 20% above their base year port traffic
may take both job tax credits and investment tax credits. The credit is claimed by filing the appropriate form for the
applicable credit (job tax: Form IT-CA; investment tax: Form IT-IC or optional: Form IT-OIC) with the tax return and
providing a statement with port numbers to verify the increase in port traffic. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A.
§48-7-40.15.

Revised February 3, 2025 Page 3



115

118

119

120

121

122

Bank Tax Credit. All financial institutions that conduct business or own property in Georgia are required to file a
Georgia Financial Institutions Business Occupation Tax Return, Form 900. Effective on or after January 1, 2001, a
depository financial institution with a Sub Selection can pass through the credit to its shareholders on a pro rata basis.
Credits claimed but not used may be carried forward for five years. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1,
2025, any credits generated and passed down to the shareholders but not used by the shareholders may be carried
forward for three years. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.7.

New Facilities Jobs Credit. For business enterprises who first qualified in a taxable year beginning before January

1, 2009, $450 million in qualified investment property must be purchased for the project within a six-year period. The

manufacturer must also create at a minimum 1,800 new jobs within a six-year period. For business enterprises who

first qualify in a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2009; the definition of business enterprise is any enterprise

or organization which is registered and authorized to use the Federal employment verification system known as “E-

Verify” or any successor Federal employment verification system and is engaged in or carrying on any business

activities within this state. Retail businesses are not included in the definition of a business enterprise. The business

enterprise must meet the job creation requirement and either the qualified investment requirement, $450 million
qualified investment property, or the payroll requirement, $150 million in total annual of Georgia W-2 reported payroll
within the six-year period. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, the job creation requirement is extended

if certain amounts of qualified investment property are purchased. After an affirmative review of the application by a

panel, the business enterprise is rewarded with the new facilities job tax credit. The credit is $5,250 per job created.

The credit offsets income tax liability and any excess credit may be used to offset withholding taxes. There is a 10-year

carryforward of any unused tax credit. For applications approved on or after January 1, 2025, the taxpayer shall repay

the credits received for the project if it engages in the following prohibited activities:

(1) Voluntarily grants recognition rights for employees solely and exclusively on the basis of signed labor organization
authorization cards if the selection of a bargaining representative may instead be conducted through a secret ballot
election;

(2) Voluntarily disclose an employee’s personal contact information to a labor organization, or a third party acting on
behalf of a labor organization without the employee’s prior written consent, unless otherwise required by state or
federal law; or

(3) Require a subcontractor to engage in either of the two previously listed prohibited activities. For more information,
refer to O.C.G.A. §§48-7-40.24 and 50-7-19.

Electric Vehicle Charger Credit. This is a credit for a business enterprise for the purchase of an electric vehicle
charger located in the State of Georgia. The credit is the lesser of 10% of the cost of the charger or $2,500. For more
information, refer to O.C.G.A. § 48-7-40.16.

New Manufacturing Facilities Property Credit. This is an incentive for a manufacturer who has operated a
manufacturing facility in this state for at least 3 years and who spends $800 million on a new manufacturing facility in
this state. There is also the requirement that the number of full-time employees equal or exceed 1,800. However, these
jobs do not have to be new jobs to Georgia. An application is filed which a panel must approve. The benefit awarded
to a manufacturer is a credit against taxes equal to 6 percent of the cost of all qualified investment property purchased
or acquired. The total credit allowed is $50 million. The credit offsets income tax liability and any excess may be used
to offset withholding taxes. There is a 15-year carry forward of any unused tax credit. For taxable years beginning on
or after January 1, 2025, any credits generated but not used may be carried forward for 10 years. There are different
provisions for certain high-impact aerospace defense projects. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.25.

Historic Rehabilitation Credit for Historic Homes. For tax years beginning January 1, 2022 and later, this Credit
Code no longer applies. Taxpayers seeking to utilize Historic Rehabilitation Credits should refer to the summaries for
Code 135 and Code 149 for further information.

The following information applies to taxable years occurring before taxable year January 1, 2022:

A credit will be available for the certified rehabilitation of a historic home. Standards set by the Georgia Department of
Community Affairs must be met. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, a credit not to exceed
$100,000 for a historic home will be available. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.8 and Revenue
Regulation 560-7-8-.56 or the Georgia Department of Community Affairs website.

Film Tax Credit (use code 133 if the credit is for a Qualified Interactive Entertainment Production Company).
Production companies which have at least $500,000 of qualified expenditures in a state certified production may claim
this credit. Certification must be approved through the Georgia Department of Economic Development (DECD). The
credit is equal to 20 percent of the base investment in the state, with an additional 10 percent for including a qualified
Georgia promotion in the state certified production. There are special calculation provisions for production companies
whose average annual total production expenditures in this state exceeded $30 million for 2002, 2003 and 2004. This
credit may be claimed against 100 percent of the production company’s income tax liability, while any excess may be
used to offset the production company’s withholding taxes. To claim the credit against withholding, the production
company must file Form IT-WH as provided in Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.45. The production company also has the
option of selling the tax credit to a Georgia taxpayer. For projects certified by DECD on or after January 1, 2021, that
exceed $2.5 million in credit, the production company must apply and receive an audit under O.C.G.A. § 48-7-40.26
and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.45 before the credit is claimed or utilized in any manner. For projects certified by
DECD on or after January 1, 2022 that exceed $1.25 million in credit, the production company must apply and receive
an audit under O.C.G.A. § 48-7-40.26 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.45 before the credit is claimed or utilized in
any manner. For projects certified by DECD on or after January 1, 2023, the production company must apply and
receive an audit under O.C.G.A. § 48-7-40.26 and Revenue Regulation 560-7- 8-.45 before the credit is claimed or
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utilized in any manner. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.26.

124 Land Conservation Credit. This provides for an income tax credit for the qualified donation of real property that
qualifies as conservation land. Property donated to increase building density levels or property that will be used or is
associated with the playing of golf shall not be eligible. Taxpayers will be able to claim a credit against their state income
tax liability not exceeding 25 percent of the fair market value of the property, or 25 percent of the difference between
the fair market value and the amount paid to the donor if the donation is effected by a sale for less than fair market
value, up to a maximum credit of $250,000 per individual, and $500,000 per corporation, and $500,000 per partnership.
However, the partners of the partnership are subject to the per individual and per corporation limits. The amount of the
credit used in any one year may not exceed the taxpayer’s income tax liability for that taxable year. Any unused portion
of the credit may be carried forward for ten succeeding years. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025,
any credits generated but not used may be carried forward for five years. The Georgia Department of Natural
Resources will certify that such donated property is suitable for conservation purposes. Please note that the Georgia
Department of Natural Resources cannot accept new applications after December 31, 2026. A copy of this certificate
must be filed with the taxpayer’s tax return in order to claim the credit. This credit should be claimed on Form IT-
CONSV. The taxpayer beginning January 1, 2012, has the option of selling the credit to a Georgia Taxpayer. For more
information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.12 and Regulation 560-7-8-.50. For donations in taxable years beginning on or
after January 1, 2013, to claim the credit, Form IT-CONSV, the DNR certification, the State Property Commission’s
determination, and the appraisal must be attached to the income tax return; and the taxpayer must add back to Georgia
taxable income the amount of any Federal charitable contribution related to the Georgia conservation credit. For
donations made on or after June 1, 2022, the aggregate amount of tax credits shall not exceed $4 million per calendar
year and the taxpayer must request preapproval.

125 Qualified Education Expense Credit. This provides a tax credit for qualified educational expenditures made to a
student scholarship organization. The credit is allowed on a first come, first served basis. The aggregate amount of the
tax credit allowed to all taxpayers cannot exceed $100 million per tax year for tax years ending before January 1, 2023.
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2023, the aggregate amount of the tax credit allowed to all taxpayers
cannot exceed $120 million per tax year. The taxpayer must add back to Georgia taxable income that part of any federal
charitable contribution deduction taken on a federal return for which a credit is allowed. for a tax year. The credit must
be claimed within one year instead of the normal three-year statute of limitation period. Credits claimed but not used
may be carried forward for five years. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits generated
but not used may be carried forward for three years. Taxpayers must request preapproval to claim this credit on Form
IT-QEE-TP1 through the Georgia Tax Center. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.16 and Revenue
Regulation 560-7-8-.47.

126 Seed-Capital Fund Credit. This provides tax credits for certain qualified investments into a research fund, or a legal
entity in which the research fund has invested, made on or after July 1, 2008. Credits claimed but not used may be
carried forward for 10 years. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits generated but not used
may be carried forward for five years. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §§48-7-40.27 and 48-7-40.28 and Revenue
Regulation 560-7-8-.49.

128 Wood Residuals Credit. This provides a tax credit for transporting or diverting wood residuals to a renewable biomass
qualified facility on or after July 1, 2008. The aggregate amount of tax credits allowed for both the clean energy property
tax credit and the wood residuals tax credit is %2.5 million for calendar years 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011; and $5 million
for calendar years 2012, 2013, and 2014. Taxpayers must request preapproval to claim this credit on Form IT-WR-AP.
Credits claimed but not used may be carried forward for succeeding years’ tax liability. For taxable years beginning on
or after January 1, 2025, any credits generated but not used may be carried forward for three years. For more
information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.14 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.48.

129 Qualified Health Insurance Expense Credit. An employer, who employs 50 or fewer persons either directly or
whose compensation is reported on Form 1099, is allowed a tax credit for qualified health insurance expenses in the
amount of $250.00 for each employee enrolled for twelve consecutive months in a qualified health insurance plan.
Qualified health insurance means a high deductible health plan as defined by Section 223 of the Internal Revenue
Code. The qualified health insurance must be made available to all employees and compensated individuals of the
employer pursuant to the applicable provisions of Section 125 of the Internal Revenue Code. The total amount of the
tax credit for a taxable year cannot exceed the employer’s income tax liability. Credits claimed but not used may be
carried forward for succeeding years’ tax liability. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits
generated but not used may be carried forward for three years. The qualified health insurance premium expense must
equal at least $250 annually. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.13.

130 Quality Jobs Credit. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, a taxpayer creating at least 50 “new

quality jobs” may be entitled to a credit provided certain conditions are met. A “new quality job” means a job that:

1) Is located in this state; 2) Has a regular work week of 30 hours or more; 3) Is not a job that is or was already located
in Georgia regardless of which taxpayer the individual performed services for; 4) which pays at or above 110 percent
of the average wage of the county in which it is located; and 5) For a taxpayer that initially claimed the credit in a taxable
year beginning before January 1, 2012, the job has no predetermined end date. The credit amount varies depending
upon the pay of the new quality jobs. The credit must be claimed within one year instead of the normal three-year
statute of limitation period. The taxpayer may claim the credit in years one through five for new quality jobs created in
year one and may continue to claim newly created new quality jobs through year seven and claim the credit on each
of those new quality jobs for five years. The credit may be used to offset 100 percent of the taxpayer’s Georgia income
tax liability in the taxable year. Where the amount of such credit exceeds the taxpayer’s tax liability in a taxable year,
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the excess may be taken as a credit against such taxpayer’'s quarterly or monthly withholding tax. To claim the credit
against withholding, a taxpayer must file Form IT-WH as provided in Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.51. For a taxpayer
that initially qualifies to claim the credit in a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2016, the term “taxpayer”
means any person required by law to file a return or to pay taxes, except that any taxpayer may elect to consider the
jobs within its disregarded entities, as defined in the Internal Revenue Code, for purposes of calculating the number of
new quality jobs created by the taxpayer. Such election shall be irrevocable and must be made on the initial qualifying
return (on Form IT-QJ) or within one year of the earlier of the date the initial qualifying return was filed or the date such
return was due, including extensions. In the event such election is made, such disregarded entities shall not be
separately eligible for the credit. Also, if the first date on which the taxpayer, pursuant to the provisions of Code Section
48-7-101, withhold wages for employees in this state occurs in a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2017,
the taxpayer has two years to employ at least 50 persons in new quality jobs in this state instead of the prior one-year
period. In 2017, the statute was changed to provide that only a taxpayer that completes the creation of a qualified
project in a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2017 is eligible to begin a subsequent seven-year job creation
period. For a taxpayer that initially qualifies to claim the credit in a tax year beginning on or after January 1, 2020, the
50 new quality jobs requirement is reduced if the jobs are located in a rural county as defined in the statute. For taxable
years beginning in 2020 and 2021, taxpayers that claimed the quality jobs tax credit in a taxable year beginning on or
after January 1, 2019 and before December 31, 2019, have the option to utilize the number of new quality jobs that the
taxpayer claimed in the taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2019 and before December 31, 2019; or calculate
the number of new quality jobs based on the number of new quality jobs created and maintained in that respective tax
year. For a taxpayer that initially qualifies to claim the credit in a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 2023,
the term “taxpayer” means any person required by law to file a return or to pay taxes, except that any taxpayer may
elect to consider the jobs within its disregarded entities, as defined in the Internal Revenue Code, for purposes of
calculating the number of new quality jobs created by the taxpayer, and except that organizations exempt from tax
pursuant to Code Section 48-7-25 are “taxpayers” only to the extent that a trade or business operated by such
organization generates unrelated business income as defined in Section 512 of the Internal Revenue Code. Such
taxpayers qualify to claim the credit only for the projects and investments related to such trade or business and can
only elect jobs for such trade or business to qualify as new quality jobs. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-
40.17 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.51.

131 Alternate Port Activity Tax Credit. O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.15A provides an alternate port tax credit. The definitions of
“base year port traffic’ and “port traffic’ include imports and exports of product. It allows the credit to any business
enterprise located in a tier two or three county established pursuant to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40 and in a less developed area
established pursuant to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.1 and which qualifies and receives the tax credit under O.C.G.A. §48-7-
40.1 and which:

; b%gnsists of a distribution facility of greater than 650,000 square feet in operation in this state prior to December 31,
2.Distributes product to retail stores owned by the same legal entity or its subsidiaries as such distribution facility; and

3.Has a minimum of 8 retail stores in this state in the first year of operations. The business enterprise shall not be
authorized to claim both this credit and the port credit provided in O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.15, unless such business enterprise
has increased its port traffic of products during the previous twelve-month period by more than 20 percent above its base
year port traffic, and also has increased employment by 400 or more no sooner than January 1, 1998. The tax credit, in
addition to the tax credit under O.C.G.A. §48-7-40, shall be limited to an amount not greater than 50 percent of the
taxpayer’s state income tax liability which is attributable to income derived from operations in this state for that taxable
year. No credit may be claimed and allowed under this code section for any jobs created on or after January 1, 2015.

132 Qualified Investor Tax Credit. This provides a 35% credit for amounts invested in a registered qualified business.
The aggregate amount of credit allowed an individual person for one or more qualified investments in a single taxable
year, whether made directly or by a pass-through entity and allocated to such individual, shall not exceed $50,000.00.
The credit is available for investments made in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2018. The credit is
claimed two years later, in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020, respectively. The aggregate amount
of tax credits allowed is $10 million for investments made in calendar years 2011, 2012, and 2013; and $5 million for
investments made in calendar years 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, and 2018. The taxpayer must get approval as provided
in O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.30 before claiming the credit. This became effective January 1, 2011. See O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.30
and Regulation 560-7-8-.52 for more information.

133 Film Tax Credit for A Qualified Interactive Entertainment Production Company. For taxable years beginning
during 2013, the aggregate amount of film tax credits allowed for qualified interactive entertainment production
companies and their affiliates which are qualified interactive entertainment production companies shall not exceed $25
million. Such cap for taxable years beginning in 2014 and later is $12.5 million for each year. The maximum credit for
any qualified interactive entertainment production company and its affiliates which are qualified interactive
entertainment production companies is $5 million for taxable years beginning in 2013, 1.5 million for taxable years
beginning in 2014 and later. For taxable years beginning in 2014 through 2017, no qualified interactive entertainment
production company shall be allowed to claim an amount of tax credits for any single year in excess of its total aggregate
payroll expended to employees working within Georgia for the calendar year directly preceding the start of the year the
qualified interactive entertainment production company claims the film tax credit. For taxable years beginning in 2018
and later, no qualified interactive entertainment production company shall be allowed to claim an amount of tax credits
for any single year in excess of its total aggregate payroll expended to employees working within Georgia for the taxable
year the qualified interactive entertainment production company claims the film tax credit. The amount in excess of
these limits is not eligible for carry forward to the succeeding years’ tax liability, nor shall such excess amount be eligible
for use against the qualified interactive entertainment production company’s quarterly or monthly payment under Code
Section §48-7-103, nor shall such excess amount be assigned, sold, or transferred to any other taxpayer. For taxable
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years beginning in 2014 through 2017 before the Georgia Department of Economic Development issues its approval
to the qualified interactive entertainment production company for the qualified production activities related to interactive
entertainment, the qualified interactive entertainment production company must certify to the Department of Revenue
that it maintains a business location physically located in Georgia and that it had expended a total aggregate payroll of
$500,000.00 or more for employees working within Georgia during the calendar year directly preceding the start of the
taxable year of the qualified interactive entertainment production company. For taxable years beginning in 2018 and
later before the Georgia Department of Economic Development issues its approval to the qualified interactive
entertainment production company for the qualified production activities related to interactive entertainment, the
qualified interactive entertainment production company must certify to the Department of Revenue that it maintains a
business location physically located in Georgia and that it had expended or intends to expend a total aggregate payroll
of $250,000.00 or more for employees working within Georgia during the taxable year the qualified interactive
entertainment production company claims the credit; if these requirements are met the Department of Revenue will
issue a certification. For the taxable years beginning in 2013, 2014, and 2015, the credits are allowed on a first-come
first-served basis based on the date the film tax credits are claimed. For taxable years beginning in 2016 and later, the
qualified interactive entertainment production company must request preapproval to claim the credit and must report
certain information to the Department. The credit can be sold to a Georgia taxpayer. See O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.26 and
Regulation 560-7-8-.45 for more information.

Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit for any Other Certified Structure. For tax year 2022, this Code should only
be used for Other Certified Structures earning more than $300K in Credits. For tax years prior to January 1,
2022, Credit Code 135 is used for any rehabilitation that is not a Historic Home Rehabilitation. For taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 2022 but before January 1, 2023, this Credit Code is used for any Other Certified
Structures earning more than $300,000 in credits. Other Certified Structures earning $300,000 or less for the 2022
taxable year should refer to Credit Code 149 below for further information. For taxable years beginning on or after
January 1, 2017 and before January 1, 2022, the aggregate amount of credits available under this Credit Code is
$25,000,000 per calendar year. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, a taxpayer must receive
preapproval as provided in DOR’s regulation and the credit can be sold to a Georgia taxpayer as provided in DOR’s
regulation. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2023, use Credit Code 153. For more information, refer
to O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.56.

Qualified Rural Hospital Organization Expense Tax Credit. This provides a tax credit for a donation to a Rural
Hospital Organization. The credit is allowed on a first-come, first-served basis. The aggregate amount allowed for all
taxpayers cannot exceed $60 million per tax year for tax years beginning before January 1, 2023. For tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2023, the aggregate amount allowed for all taxpayers cannot exceed $75 million per
tax year. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, the aggregate amount allowed for all taxpayers cannot
exceed $100 million per tax year. The taxpayer must add back to Georgia taxable income that part of any Federal
charitable contribution deduction related to the credit. Taxpayers must request preapproval to claim this credit. Starting
in 2025, a taxpayer preapproved by the commissioner on or before September 30 shall make the contribution within
180 days after receiving notice of preapproval, but not later than October 31. A taxpayer preapproved after September
30 shall make the contribution on or before December 31. If a taxpayer desires to make a contribution to an individual
rural hospital organization that would cause such rural hospital organization to exceed its maximum amount of
contributions for that year, the contribution will not be denied in its entirety. Instead, the contribution will be approved
with the proportional amount of the desired contribution up to the rural hospital organization’s maximum allowed amount
and any remainder shall be attributed to the rural hospital organization ranked with the highest financial need that has
not yet received the maximum amount of contributions for that year. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-
29.20 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.57.

Postproduction Film Tax Credit. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018 and before
January 1, 2023, postproduction companies that have at least $500,000 in qualified postproduction expenditures may
claim this tax credit if they have received preapproval from the Department. Postproduction companies must request
certification and preapproval electronically from the Department through the Georgia Tax Center. The aggregate
amount of tax credits allowed is $10 million per tax year through 2022; and the maximum credit allowed for any
postproduction company and its affiliates that are postproduction companies is $2 million. Any excess credit may be
used to offset the postproduction company’s withholding taxes; and the credit may be sold by the postproduction
company to a Georgia taxpayer. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.26A and Revenue Regulation 560-
7-8-.59.

Small Postproduction Film Tax Credit. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018 and before
January 1, 2023, small postproduction companies that have at least $100,000 but less than $500,000 in qualified
postproduction expenditures may claim this tax credit if they have received preapproval from the Department. Small
postproduction companies must request certification and preapproval electronically from the Department through the
Georgia Tax Center. The aggregate amount of tax credits allowed is $1 million per tax year through 2022. Any excess
credit may be used to offset the small postproduction company’s withholding taxes; and the credit may be sold by the
small postproduction company to a Georgia taxpayer. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.26A and
Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.59.

Qualified Education Donation Tax Credit. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, this
credit is allowed on a first-come first-served basis. The aggregate amount of the tax credit allowed to all taxpayers
cannot exceed $5 million per tax year for taxable years ending on or before December 31, 2023, or $15 million for the
tax year 2024 and all subsequent tax years. The taxpayer must add back to Georgia taxable income that part of any
Federal charitable contribution deduction taken on a Federal return for which a credit is allowed. Taxpayers must
request preapproval electronically from the Department through the Georgia Tax Center. Credits claimed but not used
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may be carried forward for five years. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits generated
but not used may be carried forward for three years. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.21 and Revenue
Regulation 560-7-8-.60.

Musical Tax Credit. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018 and before January 1, 2023, a
production company that meets or exceeds $500,000 in qualified production expenditures in a taxable year for a
musical or theatrical performance; or $250,000 in qualified production expenditures in a taxable year for a recorded
musical performance which is incorporated into or synchronized with a movie, television, or interactive entertainment
production; or $100,000 in qualified production expenditures in a taxable year for any other recorded musical
performance may claim this tax credit if they have received a pre-certification from the Georgia Department of Economic
Development and preapproval from the Department. Production companies must request preapproval electronically
from the Department through the Georgia Tax Center. The aggregate amount of tax credits allowed is: for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 2018 and before January 1, 2019, $5 million, and the maximum credit amount allowed
for any production company and its affiliates that are production companies shall not exceed $1 million; for taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 2019 and before January 1, 2020, $10 million, and the maximum credit amount
allowed for any production company and its affiliates that are production companies shall not exceed $2 million; for
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020 and before January 1, 2023, $15 million, and the maximum credit
amount allowed for any production company and its affiliates that are production companies shall not exceed $3 million.
Any excess credit may be used to offset the production company’s withholding taxes. For more information, refer to
0.C.G.A. §48-7-40.33 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.61.

Rural Zone Tax Credits. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, certified entities and
eligible businesses that have received certification from the Georgia Department of Community Affairs may claim this
tax credit. Standards set by the Georgia Department of Community Affairs must be met. Credits claimed but not used
may be carried forward for 10 years. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits generated
but not used may be carried forward for five years. This credit will be repealed on December 31, 2032. For more
information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.32 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.62.

Agribusiness and Rural Jobs Tax Credit. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, a rural
investor that has made a capital investment in a rural fund and has received certification from the Georgia Department
of Community Affairs may claim this tax credit. Standards set by the Department of Community Affairs must be met.
For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §33-1-25 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.63.

Post-Consumer Waste Materials Tax Credit. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, a
qualified employer that operates a facility in Georgia that recycles post-consumer waste materials into polyester bulk
continuous filament fibers may claim this tax credit. The credit may be used to offset the qualified employer’s
withholding taxes. This credit will be repealed on December 31, 2023. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-
40.35.

Timber Tax Credit. This is a refundable income tax credit for taxpayers that suffered damage due to Hurricane
Michael during 2018. Taxpayers must request preapproval electronically from the Department through the Georgia Tax
Center during specific dates. The aggregate amount of tax credits allowed is $200 million. In the case of a partnership
or S Corporation, the owners claim the refundable portion instead of the partnership or S Corporation. The credit can
be sold to a Georgia taxpayer as provided in the regulation. The credit is not refundable for the purchaser of the timber
tax credit. The credit must be claimed on or before December 31, 2024. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-
7-40.36 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.65.

Railroad Track Maintenance Tax Credit. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2019 and
ending on or before December 31, 2026, a Class lll railroad must request preapproval electronically from the
Department through the Georgia Tax Center for this credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025,
any credits generated but not used may be carried forward for three years. The credit can be sold to a Georgia taxpayer
as provided in the regulation. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.34 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-
.64.

Personal Protective Equipment Manufacturer Jobs Tax Credit. Effective for taxable years beginning on and after
January 1, 2020 and if certain requirements are met, a personal protective equipment manufacturer that qualifies for
and claims the jobs tax credit under O.C.G.A. §48-7-40 or O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.1, may claim an additional job tax credit
of $1,250 per job for jobs engaged in the qualifying activity of manufacturing personal protective equipment. The credit
may be used to offset 100 percent of the taxpayer's Georgia income tax liability in the taxable year. Credits claimed
but not used may be carried forward for 10 years. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits
generated but not used may be carried forward for five years. Where the amount of such credit exceeds the taxpayer’'s
tax liability in a taxable year, the excess may be taken as a credit against such taxpayer’s quarterly or monthly
withholding tax. To claim the credit against withholding, a taxpayer must file Form IT-WH timely. No credit shall be
claimed and allowed for jobs created on or after January 1, 2025. No taxpayer shall be eligible for this tax credit for any
job for which the taxpayer claims the tax credit provided for under O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.1B. For more information, refer
to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.1A and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.66.

Life Sciences Manufacturing Job Tax Credit. For taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2021 and if
certain requirements are met, a medical equipment and supplies manufacturer or pharmaceutical and medicine
manufacturer that qualifies for and claims the jobs tax credit under O.C.G.A. §48-7-40 or O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.1 may
claim an additional job tax credit of $1,250 per job for jobs engaged in the qualifying activity of manufacturing medical
equipment or supplies or manufacturing pharmaceuticals or medicine. The credit may be used to offset 100 percent of
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the taxpayer’s Georgia income tax liability in the taxable year. Credits claimed but not used may be carried forward for
10 years. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits generated but not used may be carried
forward for five years. Where the amount of such credit exceeds the taxpayer’s tax liability in a taxable year, the excess
may be taken as a credit against such taxpayer’s quarterly or monthly withholding tax. To claim this credit against
withholding, a taxpayer must file Form IT-WH timely. No taxpayer shall be eligible for this tax credit for any job for which
the taxpayer claims the tax credit provided for under O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.1A, or for any job created pursuant to O.C.G.A.
§48-7-40 or §48-7-40.1 prior to July 1, 2021. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-40.1B and Revenue
Regulation 560-7-8-.67.

Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit for Historic Homes and Other Certified Structures Earning $300K or less.
For taxable years on or after January 1, 2022, this Credit Code applies to all Historic Homes and any Other Certified
Structure earning $300,000 in credits or less. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2022 but before
January 1, 2023, the aggregate amount of credits available under this Credit Code is $5,000,000 per calendar year.
For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2017, a taxpayer must receive preapproval as provided in DOR’s
regulation and the credit can be sold to a Georgia taxpayer as provided in DOR’s regulation. For taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 2023, use Credit Code 152 for historic homes and Credit Code 153 for other certified
structures. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.8 and Revenue Regulation 560-7-8-.56.

Qualified Law Enforcement Donation Credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2023, and ending
on or before December 31, 2027, a taxpayer is allowed a tax credit for donations made to qualified law enforcement
foundations for a local law enforcement unit (any agency, office or department of a county, municipality, or consolidated
government). The aggregate amount of tax credits allowed shall not exceed $75 million per calendar year. Each
qualified law enforcement foundation shall be limited to accepting $3 million per year of contributions. The total amount
of the tax credit for a taxable year cannot exceed the taxpayer’s income tax liability. Any unused tax credit shall be
allowed the taxpayer against the succeeding five years’ tax liability. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1,
2025, any credits generated but not used may be carried forward for three years. The credit shall not be allowed for
the taxpayer against prior years’ tax liability. Taxpayers must request preapproval to claim this credit on Form IT-
QLED-TP1 through the Georgia Tax Center. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.25 and Regulation
560-7-8-.69.

Qualified Foster Child Donation Credit. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2023, a taxpayer is
allowed a tax credit for donations made to qualified foster child support organizations. The aggregate amount of tax
credit allowed shall not exceed $20 million per calendar year. The total amount of the tax credit for a taxable year
cannot exceed the taxpayer’s income tax liability. Any unused tax credit shall be allowed the taxpayer against the
succeeding five years’ tax liability. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits generated but
not used may be carried forward for three years. The credit shall not be allowed for the taxpayer against prior years’
tax liability. Taxpayers must request preapproval to claim this credit on Form IT-QFCD-TP1 through the Georgia Tax
Center. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.24 and Regulation 560-7-8-.68.

Historic Rehabilitation Credit for Historic Homes. A credit is available for tax years 2023 through 2029 for the
certified rehabilitation of a historic home. Standards set by the Georgia Department of Community Affairs must be met.
Credits for a historic home cannot exceed $100,000 in any 120-month period and the aggregate amount of credits
available for 2023 through 2029 is $5,000,000 per calendar year. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8
and Regulation 560-7-8-.56 or the Georgia Department of Community Affairs website.

Historic Rehabilitation Credit for Other Certified Structures. A credit is available for tax years 2023 through 2029
for the certified rehabilitation of a certified structure other than a historic home. Standards set by the Georgia
Department of Community Affairs must be met. The aggregate amount of credits available for 2023 through 2029 is
$30,000,000 per calendar year. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2023, a taxpayer must receive
preapproval as provided in DOR'’s regulation and the credit can be sold to a Georgia taxpayer as provided in DOR’s
regulation. For more information, refer to O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8 and Regulation 560-7-8-.56 or the Georgia Department
of Community Affairs website.

Rural Health Care Professional Credit. O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.26 provides for a $5,000 tax credit for rural health care
professionals, which mean a dentist or physician who practices and resides in a rural county. The rural health care
professional must be licensed to practice dentistry or medicine in the field of family practice, obstetrics and
gynecology, pediatrics, internal medicine, or general surgery in this state. The tax credit may be claimed for not more
than five years. There is no carryover or carry-back available. The credit cannot exceed the taxpayer’s income tax
liability. The aggregate amount of tax credits allowed shall not exceed $2 million for any calendar year. This credit
cannot be claimed with the Rural Physicians Credit (Credit Code 207) in the same taxable year. This credit is allowed
on a first come, first served basis. No credit shall be allowed for a rural health care professional who has previously
practiced in a rural county, unless after May 15, 2024, that rural health care professional returns to practice in a rural
county after having practices in a county other than a rural county for at least three years. For a list of rural counties,
please visit https://dor.georgia.gov/listing-rural-counties-purposes-rural-physician-credit. For more information, refer
to O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.26.
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Series 200 Individual Credits

201 Disabled Person Home Purchase or Retrofit Credit. O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.1 provides a disabled person credit equal
to the lesser of $500 per residence or the taxpayer's income tax liability for the purchase of a new single-family home
that contains all of the accessibility features listed below. It also provides a credit equal to the lesser of the cost or $125
to retrofit an existing single-family home with one or more of these features. The disabled person must be the taxpayer
or the taxpayer’s spouse if a joint return is filed. Qualified features are:

» One no-step entrance allowing access into the residence.

+ Interior passage doors providing at least a 32-inch- wide opening.

* Reinforcements in bathroom walls allowing installation of grab bars around the toilet, tub, and shower, where

such facilities are provided.

+ Light switches and outlets placed in accessible locations.

To qualify for this credit, the disabled person must be permanently disabled and issued a permanent parking permit by
the Department of Revenue or have been issued a special permanent parking permit by the Department of Revenue.
This credit can be carried forward three years. For more information, see Regulation 560-7-8-.44.

202 Child and Dependent Care Expense Credit. O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.10 provides taxpayers with a credit for qualified
child and dependent care expenses. The credit is 30% of the credit claimed and allowed under Section 21 of the
Internal Revenue Code and claimed by the taxpayer on the taxpayer's Federal income tax return. This credit cannot
be carried forward.

203 Georgia National Guard/Air National Guard Credit. O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.9 provides a tax credit for Georgia residents
who are members of the National Guard or Air National Guard and are on active duty full time in the United States
Armed Forces, or active duty training in the United States Armed Forces for a period of more than 90 consecutive days.
The credit shall be claimed and allowed in the year in which the majority of such days are served. In the event an equal
number of consecutive days are served in two calendar years, then the exclusion shall be claimed and allowed in the
year in which the ninetieth day occurs. The credit shall apply with respect to each taxable year in which such member
serves for such qualifying period of time. The credit cannot exceed the amount expended for qualified life insurance
premiums nor the taxpayer’s income tax liability. Qualified life insurance premiums are the premiums paid for insurance
coverage through the service member’s Group Life Insurance Program administered by the United States Department
of Veterans Affairs. Any unused tax credit is allowed to be carried forward to the taxpayer’s succeeding years’ tax
liability. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits generated but not used may be carried
forward for three years.

204 Qualified Caregiving Expense Credit. O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.2 provides a qualified caregiving expense credit equal to
10 percent of the cost of qualified caregiving expenses for a qualifying family member. The credit cannot exceed $150.
Qualified services include home health agency services, personal care services, personal care attendant services,
homemaker services, adult day care, respite care, or health care equipment and other supplies which have been
determined by a physician to be medically necessary. Services must be obtained from an organization or individual not
related to the taxpayer or the qualifying family member. The qualifying family member must be at least age 62 or been
determined disabled by the Social Security Administration. A qualifying family member includes the taxpayer or an
individual who is related to the taxpayer by blood, marriage or adoption. Qualified caregiving expenses do not include
expenses that were subtracted to arrive at Georgia net taxable income or for which amounts were excluded from
Georgia net taxable income. There is no carryover or carry-back available. The credit cannot exceed the taxpayer’s
income tax liability. For more information, see Regulation 560-7-8-.43.

206 Disaster Assistance Credit. O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.4 provides for a credit for a taxpayer who receives disaster
assistance during a taxable year from the Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency or the
Federal Emergency Management Agency. The amount of the credit is equal to $500 or the actual amount of the
disaster assistance, whichever is less. The credit cannot exceed the taxpayer’s income tax liability. Any unused tax
credit can be carried forward to the succeeding years’ tax liability but cannot be carried back to the prior years’ tax
liability. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2025, any credits generated but not used may be carried
forward for three years. The approval letter from the disaster assistance agency must be enclosed with the return. The
following types of assistance quali&/:

. I(:;IE?\;I]E rom the Department of Human Services Individual and Family Grant Program. Grants from GEMA/HS and/or
* Loans from the Small Business Administration that are due to disasters declared by the President or Governor.

207 Rural Physicians Credit. O.C.G.A. §48-7-29 provides for a $5,000 tax credit for a person qualifying as a rural
physician on or before May 15, 2024. The tax credit may be claimed for not more than five years. There is no carryover
or carry-back available. The credit cannot exceed the taxpayer’s income tax liability. In order to qualify, the physician
must meet the following conditions:

1. The physician must have started working in a rural county after July 1, 1995. If the physician worked in a rural county
prior to that date, a period of at least three years must have elapsed before the physician returns to work in a rural
county.

2.The physician must practice and reside in a rural county. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, a
physician qualifies for the credit if they practice in a rural county and reside in a county contiguous to a rural county. A
rural county is defined as one with 65 or fewer persons per square mile according to the United States Decennial
Census of 1990 or any future such census. For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2022, the United States
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Decennial Census of 2020 is used (see regulation 560-7-8-.20 for transition rules). For taxable years beginning on or
after January 1, 2024, a rural county is defined as a population of less than 50,000 according to the United States
decennial census of 2020 or any future such census; provided, however, that for counties which contain a military base
or installation, the military personnel and their dependents living in such county shall be excluded from total population
of such county for purposes of this definition. A listing of rural counties for purposes of the rural physicians credit may
be obtained at the following web page: https://dor.georgia.gov/listing-rural-counties-purposes-rural-physician-credit.
3.The physician must be licensed to practice medicine in Georgia, primarily admit patients to a rural hospital, and
practice in the fields of family practice, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, internal medicine, or general surgery. A
rural hospital is defined as an acute-care hospital located in a rural county that contains 80 or fewer beds. For taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, a rural hospital is defined as an acute-care hospital located in a rural
county that contains 100 or fewer beds. For more information, see Regulation 560-7-8-.20.

Adoption of a Foster Child Credit for Adoptions Occurring in Taxable Years Beginning on or After January
1, 2008 and before January 1, 2021. Georgia Code § 48-7-29.15 provides an income tax credit for the adoption of
a qualified foster child. The amount of the credit is $2,000 per qualified foster child per taxable year, commencing with
the year in which the adoption becomes final, and ending in the year in which the adopted child attains the age of 18.
This credit applies to adoptions occurring in the taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008 and before January
1, 2021. Any unused credit can be carried forward until used.

Eligible Single-Family Residence Tax Credit. O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.17 provides taxpayers a credit for the purchase
of an eligible single-family residence located in Georgia. An eligible single-family residence is a single-family structure
(including a condominium unit as defined in O.C.G.A.§44-3-71) that is occupied for residential purposes by a single
family, that is:

a) Any residence (including a new residence, one occupied at the time of sale, or a previously occupied residence)
that was for sale prior to May 11, 2009 and that remained for sale after May 11, 2009; or

b) A residence with respect to which a foreclosure event has taken place and which is owned by the mortgagor or the
mortgagor’s agent; or

c) Anowner-occupied residence with respect to which the owner’s acquisition indebtedness was in default on or before
March 1, 2009. Acquisition indebtedness is debt incurred in acquiring, constructing, or substantially improving a
qualified residence and which is secured by such residence. Refinanced debt is acquisition debt if at least a portion of
such debt refinances the principal amount of existing acquisition indebtedness. A taxpayer is allowed the tax credit for
a purchase of one eligible single-family residence made between June 1, 2009 and November 30, 2009. The credit
amount is the lesser of 1.2 percent of the purchase price of the eligible single-family residence or $1,800.00. The
amount of the tax credit that may be claimed and allowed in a single tax year cannot exceed the lesser of 1/3 of the
credit or the taxpayer’s income tax liability. Any unused tax credit can be carried forward but cannot be carried back.

Other States Tax Credit. Georgia allows a credit for tax paid to another state on income taxable to Georgia and the
other state. Use the worksheets in the IT-511 Instruction Booklet to compute the other state(s) tax credit for full-year
and part-year residents (nonresidents are not allowed the credit).

Low Income Tax Credit. You may claim the low income credit if your Federal adjusted gross income is less than
$20,000 and you are not claimed or eligible to be claimed as a dependent on another taxpayer’'s Federal or Georgia
income tax return. Part-year residents may only claim the credit if they were residents at the end of the tax year.
Taxpayers filing a separate return for a taxable year in which a joint return could have been filed can only claim the credit
that would have been allowed had a joint return been filed. You cannot claim this credit if you are an inmate in a
correctional facility. This credit must be claimed on or before the end of the 12th month following the close of the tax year.
The credit cannot exceed the taxpayer’s income tax liability.

Community Based Faculty Preceptor Tax Credit. O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.22 provides an income tax credit for a
community based faculty preceptor that conducts a preceptorship rotation(s). This tax credit is applicable for taxable
years beginning on or after January 1, 2019 and ending on or before December 31, 2026. For a community based
faculty preceptor who is a physician as defined in O.C.G.A. §43-34-21, the credit shall accrue on a per preceptorship
rotation basis in the amount of $500 for the first, second, or third preceptorship rotation and $1,000 for the fourth, fifth,
sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, or tenth preceptorship rotation completed in one calendar year. For a community based
faculty preceptor who is an advanced practice registered nurse as defined in O.C.G.A. §43-26-3 or a physician assistant
as defined in O.C.G.A. §43-34-102, the credit shall accrue on a per preceptorship rotation basis in the amount of $375
for the first, second, or third preceptorship rotation and $750 for the fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, or tenth
preceptorship rotation completed in one calendar year. An individual shall not accrue credit for more than ten precep-
torship rotations in one calendar year. The credit cannot be carried forward and cannot be carried back. Certification
from the Area Health Education Centers Program Office at Augusta University must be enclosed with the return.

Adoption of a Foster Child Credit for Adoptions Occurring in Taxable Years Beginning on or After January
1, 2021. O.C.G.A. §48-7-29.15 provides an income tax credit for the adoption of a qualified foster child. This credit
applies to adoptions occurring in taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2021. The amount of the credit is
$6,000 per qualified foster child per taxable year, commencing with the year in which the adoption becomes final, for
five taxable years and $2,000 per qualified foster child per taxable year thereafter, and ending in the year in which the
adopted child attains the age of 18. This credit cannot be carried forward.

Teacher Recruitment and Retention Program Tax Credit. O.C.G.A. §§ 20-2-251 and 48-7-29.23 provide an
income tax credit for teachers designated by the Georgia Department of Education (DOE) as a participating teacher in
the teacher recruitment and retention program that can be used against their income tax liability in an amount equal to
$3,000 per school year for up to five school years, which must be consecutive. The credit used on any year’s tax return
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cannot exceed the tax liability for the year. Any unused credit amounts can be carried forward for three years. Only

teachers who have been awarded the credit by DOE are eligible. For more information about the designation, see
https://www.gadoe.org.

NOTE: The credit type code numbers referenced above are subject to change from year to
year. Please review the codes carefully to ensure you list the correct code number. For
more details about credits and the latest forms, visit our website at: dor.georgia.gov.

Revised February 3, 2025 Page 12


http://dor.georgia.gov/

