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560-7-8-.60 Qualified Education Donation Tax Credit 

 

(1) Purpose. The purpose of this regulation is to provide 

guidance concerning the administration of the tax credit under 

O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.21. 

 

(2)  Definitions. As used in this regulation, the terms "qualified 

education donation" and "recipient" shall have the same meaning as 

in O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.21. 

 

(3)  Credit Amount. The amount of qualified education 

donation tax credit allowed a taxpayer shall be as follows: 

 

(a) For an individual taxpayer, the credit amount shall not exceed 

$1,000, or the actual amount donated, whichever is less. 

 

(b) For an individual taxpayer filing married filing separate, the 

credit amount shall not exceed $1,250, or the actual amount donated, 

whichever is less. 

 

(c) For individual taxpayers filing married filing joint, the credit 



 

 

 

 

 

 

Returns and Collections                                       Chapter 560-7-8 
 

 

 2 

amount shall not exceed $2,500, or the actual amount donated, 

whichever is less. 

 

(d) For an individual taxpayer who is a member of a limited 

liability company duly formed under state law, a shareholder of a 

Subchapter 'S' corporation, or a partner in a partnership, the credit is 

limited to the lesser of the actual amount donated or $10,000 per tax 

year, whichever is less; provided, however, that the tax credits shall 

only be allowed for the Georgia income on which such tax was 

actually paid by such member of a limited liability company, 

shareholder of a Subchapter 'S' corporation, or partner in a 

partnership. In determining such Georgia income, the shareholder, 

partner, or member shall exclude any income that was subtracted on 

their Georgia return because the entity paid tax at the pass-through 

entity level in Georgia as provided in Regulation 560-7-3-.03. If the 

individual taxpayer is a member, partner, or shareholder in more 

than one pass-through entity, the total credit allowed cannot exceed 

$10,000; the individual taxpayer decides which pass-through 

entities to include when computing Georgia income for purposes of 

the qualified education donation tax credit. All Georgia income, 

loss, and expense from the taxpayer selected pass-through entities 

will be combined to determine Georgia income for purposes of the 

qualified education donation tax credit. Such combined Georgia 

income shall be multiplied by the applicable marginal tax rate to 

determine the tax that was actually paid. If the taxpayer is filing a 

joint return, the taxpayer's spouse may also claim a credit for their 

ownership interests and shall separately be eligible for a credit as 

provided in this subparagraph. If the taxpayer(s) chooses to be 

preapproved pursuant to this subparagraph, for all purposes of 

claiming the credit they shall be subject to the provisions of this 

subparagraph and shall not be entitled to claim any other amounts 

provided in O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.21 and this regulation. If the 

taxpayer is preapproved for an amount that exceeds the amount that 

is calculated as allowed when the return is filed, the excess amount 

cannot be claimed by the taxpayer and cannot be carried forward. 
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1. Example: Taxpayer, an individual taxpayer, is the sole 

shareholder of A, Inc., an S corporation, Taxpayer is also a 50% 

partner, in BC Company, a partnership, and Taxpayer is also a 20% 

member of a limited liability company, XYZ Company, which is 

taxed as a partnership. Taxpayer requests preapproval for the 

qualified education donation tax credit for calendar year 2022 by 

electronically submitting Form IT-QED-TP1 through the Georgia 

Tax Center. On Form IT-QED-TP1, Taxpayer estimates that the 

taxpayer's Georgia income from A, Inc. is $120,000, and that 

Taxpayer's share of Georgia income from BC Company is $60,000, 

Taxpayer chooses not to include any income from XYZ Company 

when estimating Georgia income for purposes of the qualified 

education donation tax credit; therefore the Department preapproves 

Taxpayer for $10,000 qualified education donation tax credit (since 

$10,000 is less than $10,350 (5.75% of $180,000)), the applicable 

marginal tax rate for 2022 is 5.75%. Taxpayer makes a $10,000 

donation to the recipient within 60 days of receiving preapproval 

from the Department and before the end of 2022. When Taxpayer 

files Taxpayer's 2022 Georgia income tax return, Taxpayer received 

a salary from A, Inc. of $50,000 and A, Inc.'s actual Georgia income 

is $60,000; Taxpayer's actual share of Georgia income from BC 

Company is $20,000 and Taxpayer received a guaranteed payment 

from BC Company of $15,000; Taxpayer's actual share of Georgia 

income from XYZ Company is $5,000 (the Taxpayer can choose to 

include this company even though it was not considered at the time 

of preapproval), Taxpayer can only claim $8,625 qualified 

education donation tax credit (which is 5.75% of the $150,000 actual 

income from Taxpayer's selected pass-through entities), and the 

extra $1,375 cannot be claimed by Taxpayer and cannot be carried 

forward. Any amount of the $8,625 qualified education donation tax 

credit claimed but not used on the taxpayer's 2022 Georgia income 

tax return shall be allowed to be carried forward to apply to the 

taxpayer's succeeding five years' tax liability. 
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(e) For a corporation taxpayer, fiduciary taxpayer, an S 

corporation that makes the election to pay tax at the entity level 

under O.C.G.A. § 48-7-21, or a partnership that makes the election 

to pay tax at the entity level under O.C.G.A. § 48-7-23, the credit 

amount shall not exceed 75 percent of the corporation's, fiduciary's, 

electing S corporation's, or electing partnership's income tax 

liability, or the actual amount donated, whichever is less. A 

fiduciary cannot pass through the credit to its beneficiaries. 

 

1. Example: Taxpayer, a corporation, requests preapproval for 

the qualified education donation tax credit for calendar year 2022 by 

electronically submitting Form IT-QED-TP1 through the Georgia 

Tax Center. On Form IT-QED-TP1 Taxpayer's intended 

contribution for 2022 is $100,000; and Taxpayer's estimated income 

tax liability for the 2022 tax year is $100,000; therefore the 

Department preapproves Taxpayer for $75,000 qualified education 

donation tax credit for calendar year 2022. Taxpayer makes a 

$75,000 donation to the recipient within 60 days of receiving 

preapproval from the Department and before the end of 2022. When 

Taxpayer files their 2022 Georgia income tax return, Taxpayer's 

income tax liability for tax year 2022 is $80,000, Taxpayer can only 

claim $60,000 of qualified education donation tax credit ($60,000 is 

75% of their actual Georgia income tax liability for tax year 2022), 

and the extra $15,000 cannot be claimed by Taxpayer and cannot be 

carried forward. Any amount of the $60,000 qualified education 

donation tax credit claimed but not used on the taxpayer's 2022 

Georgia income tax return shall be allowed to be carried forward to 

apply to the taxpayer's succeeding five years' tax liability. 

 

2.  Example: Taxpayer, a S Corporation electing to pay tax at the 

entity level, requests preapproval for the qualified education 

donation tax credit for calendar year 2022 by electronically 

submitting Form IT-QED-TP1 through the Georgia Tax Center. On 

Form IT-QED-TP1 Taxpayer's intended contribution for 2022 is 

$100,000; and Taxpayer's estimated income tax liability for the 2022 
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tax year is $100,000; therefore the Department preapproves 

Taxpayer for $75,000 qualified education donation tax credit for 

calendar year 2022. Taxpayer makes a $75,000 donation to the 

recipient within 60 days of receiving preapproval from the 

Department and before the end of 2022. When Taxpayer files their 

2022 Georgia income tax return, Taxpayer's income tax liability for 

tax year 2022 is $80,000, Taxpayer can only claim $60,000 of 

qualified education donation tax credit ($60,000 is 75% of their 

actual Georgia income tax liability for tax year 2022), and the extra 

$15,000 cannot be claimed by Taxpayer and cannot be carried 

forward. Any amount of the $60,000 qualified education donation 

tax credit claimed but not used on the taxpayer's 2022 Georgia 

income tax return shall be allowed to be carried forward to apply to 

the taxpayer's succeeding five years' tax liability but shall not be 

allowed to be passed through to and used by the shareholders. 

 

(f) Except as provided in subparagraph (3)(e) of this regulation, 

when the taxpayer is a pass-through entity which has no income tax 

liability of its own, the tax credits will be considered earned by its 

members, shareholders, or partners based on their profit/loss 

percentage at the end of the year and the limitations of subparagraph 

(3)(d) of this regulation. The donation is made by the pass-through 

entity but all credit forms (preapproval, claiming, and reporting) will 

be filed in the name of its members, shareholders, or partners and 

the credit can only be applied against the shareholders', members', 

or partners' tax liability on their income tax returns. The pass-

through entity shall provide all necessary information to the 

recipient so that the preapproval, claiming and reporting forms can 

be filed in the name of its members, shareholders, or partners. 

 

(4)  Credit Cap. In no event shall the aggregate amount of tax 

credits allowed under O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.21 exceed $5 million per 

calendar year. 

 

(5) Mandatory Electronic Preapproval Application. A 
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taxpayer seeking preapproval to claim the tax credits under 

paragraph (3) of this regulation must electronically submit Form IT-

QED-TP1 through the Georgia Tax Center. The Department will not 

preapprove any qualified education donation tax credit where Form 

IT-QED-TP1 is submitted or filed in any other manner. 

 

(a) The qualified education donation tax credit shall be allowed 

on a first-come, first-served basis. The date the Form IT-QED-TP1 

is electronically submitted shall be used to determine such first-

come, first-served basis. 

 

(b) The Department will notify each taxpayer and the recipient of 

the contribution amount, the tax credit certificate number, and the 

tax credits preapproved and allocated to such taxpayer within thirty 

days from the date the Form IT-QED-TP1 was received. 

 

(c) On the day any Form IT-QED-TP1 is received for a calendar 

year that causes the calendar year limit in paragraph (4) of this 

regulation to be reached, then the remaining tax credits shall be 

allocated among the applicants who filed the Form IT-QED-TP1 on 

the day the calendar year limit was exceeded on a pro rata basis 

based upon the amounts otherwise allowed by O.C.G.A. § 48-7-

29.21 and this regulation. Only credit amounts on Form IT-QED-

TP1(s) received on the day the calendar year limit was exceeded 

shall be allocated on a pro rata basis. 

 

(d) The contribution must be made by the taxpayer within sixty 

days of the date of the preapproval notice received from the 

Department and within the calendar year in which it was 

preapproved. 

 

(e) In the event it is determined that the contributor has not met 

all the requirements of O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.21 and this regulation, 

then the amount of the qualified education donation tax credit shall 

not be preapproved or, if already claimed, the preapproved qualified 
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education donation tax credit shall be disallowed. With respect to 

such disallowed credit, tax and interest shall be due. 

 

(f) Once the calendar year limit is reached for a calendar year, 

taxpayers shall no longer be eligible for a credit under O.C.G.A. § 

48-7-29.21, for such calendar year. If any Form IT-QED-TP1 is 

received after the calendar year limit has been reached, then it shall 

be denied and not be reconsidered for preapproval at any later date. 

 

(6) Letter of Confirmation. Form IT-QED-FUND1 shall be 

provided by the recipient to the taxpayer to confirm the contribution 

within 15 days of the contribution. 

 

(7) Claiming the Credit. A taxpayer claiming the qualified 

education donation tax credit, unless indicated otherwise by the 

Commissioner, must submit Form IT-QED-TP2 with the taxpayer's 

Georgia tax return when the qualified education donation tax credit 

is claimed. A software program's Form IT-QED-TP2 that is 

electronically filed with the Georgia income tax return in the manner 

specified by the Department satisfies this requirement. 

 

(8)  Carry Forward. Any credit which is claimed but not used 

in a taxable year shall be allowed to be carried forward to apply to 

the taxpayer's succeeding five years' tax liability. However, any 

amount in excess of the credit amount limits in paragraph (3) of this 

regulation shall not be eligible for carry forward to the taxpayer's 

succeeding years' tax liability nor shall such excess amount be 

claimed by or reallocated to any other taxpayer. 

 

(9)  Taxpayer Must Add Back Portion of Federal Deduction 

on State Return if Taxpayer Takes State Credit. O.C.G.A. § 48-

7-29.21(h) provides that no qualified education donation tax credit 

shall be allowed under O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.21, with respect to any 

amount deducted from taxable net income by the taxpayer as a 

charitable contribution to a bona fide charitable organization 
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qualified under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. If 

the taxpayer is allowed the state income tax deduction in place of 

the charitable contribution deduction as allowed by the Internal 

Revenue Service, for purposes of this paragraph such deduction 

shall be considered a charitable contribution to the extent such 

deduction is allowed federally. Accordingly, the taxpayer must add 

back to Georgia taxable income that part of any federal deduction 

taken on a federal return for which a Georgia qualified education 

donation tax credit is allowed under O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.21. 

 

(a) If a taxpayer's itemized deductions are limited federally (and 

therefore for Georgia purposes) because their Federal Adjusted 

Gross Income exceeds a certain amount, the taxpayer is only 

required to add back to Georgia taxable income that portion of the 

federal charitable deduction that was actually deducted pursuant to 

the following formula. The federal charitable deduction that must be 

added back to Georgia taxable income shall be the amount of the 

federal charitable contribution relating to the qualified education 

donation tax credit multiplied by the following ratio. The numerator 

is the amount of the itemized deductions subject to limitation and 

allowed as itemized deductions after the limitation is applied. The 

denominator is the total itemized deductions that are subject to 

limitation before the limitation is applied. 

 

1. For example. A taxpayer has a $2,500 charitable contribution 

relating to the qualified education donation tax credit and has 

property taxes of $1,500 both of which are subject to limitation. The 

taxpayer also has mortgage interest expense of $10,000 (which is 

not limited). Accordingly, the taxpayer's total itemized deductions 

before limitation are $14,000. After applying the federal limitation, 

the taxpayer is allowed $13,000 in itemized deductions. As such 

only $3,000 ($13,000 less the $10,000 mortgage interest expense 

which is not limited) of the original $4,000 charitable deduction and 

property taxes are allowed to be deducted. Applying the ratio from 

the subparagraph above, the taxpayer must add back $1,875 of the 
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charitable contribution to their Georgia taxable income (($2,500) X 

($3,000 / $4,000)). 

 

(10) Designation of Contributions. The tax credit shall not be 

allowed if the taxpayer directly or indirectly designates the 

taxpayer's qualified education donation for the direct benefit of any 

particular school, or program, which the taxpayer's child or children 

attend. 

 

(11) Report by the Nonprofit Corporation Incorporated by 

the Georgia Foundation for Public Education. The nonprofit 

corporation incorporated by the Georgia Foundation for Public 

Education shall electronically submit Form IT-QED-FUND2 to the 

Department through the Georgia Tax Center by January 12 each 

year. The report, Form IT-QED-FUND2, shall be prepared on a 

calendar year basis and shall include the following: 

 

(a) The total number and dollar value of individual contributions 

and qualified education donation tax credits preapproved. Individual 

contributions include contributions made by those filing income tax 

returns as single, head of household, married filing separate, and 

married filing joint; 

 

(b) The total number and dollar value of corporate, fiduciary, S 

corporation, and partnership contributions and qualified education 

donation tax credits preapproved; 

 

(c) The total number and dollar value of grants awarded to public 

schools; 

 

(d) A list of donors (which includes the donor's name, address, 

and identification number), including the dollar value of each 

donation, the dollar value of each preapproved qualified education 

donation tax credit, and each Department issued tax credit certificate 

number; and 
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(e) Any other information required by the Commissioner. 

 

The Department shall post on its website the information 

received from the nonprofit corporation incorporated by the Georgia 

Foundation for Public Education under subparagraph 11(a) through 

11(c) of this regulation. 

 

(12) Sunset Date. O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.21, the qualified 

education donation tax credit, shall be repealed on December 31, 

2026. 

 

(13)  Effective Date. This regulation shall be applicable to years 

beginning on or after January 1, 2023. Years beginning before 

January 1, 2023 will be governed by the regulations of Chapter 560-

7 as they existed before January 1, 2023 in the same manner as if 

the amendments thereto set forth in this regulation had not been 

promulgated. 

 

Authority:  O.C.G.A. §§ 48-2-12 and 48-7-29.21. 
 


