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SYNOPSIS 

 
GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

INCOME TAX DIVISION 
 

CHAPTER 560-7-8 
RETURNS AND COLLECTIONS 

560-7-8-.56 Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit 

The purpose of proposed amendment to Rule 560-7-8-.56 is to bring the rule into conformity with 
current Georgia law. This credit was amended by House Bill 469 from the 2021-2022 Session of 
the General Assembly. The following paragraphs have been changed, and the specific changes are 
denoted in the attached Rule. 

• Paragraph (4) provides the total amount of preapproved credits per 
calendar year and the credit rules and limitations for historic homes. 

• Paragraph (5) provides the total amount of preapproved credits for 
2022 for historic homes and for certified structures other than 
historic homes earning $300,000 in credits or less completed within 
2022. 

• Paragraph (6) provides the total amount of preapproved credits per 
calendar year and credit rules and limitations for certified structures 
other than historic homes. 

• Paragraph (7) specifies the alternatives for claiming the credit for 
completed projects. 

• Paragraph (8) specifies that rehabilitation expenditures can only be 
counted once. 

• Paragraph (9) provides the sunset date. 
• Paragraph (10) provides the effective date. 
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 5 
CHAPTER 560-7-8  6 

RETURNS AND COLLECTIONS 7 
 8 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 9 
  10 
560-7-8-.56 Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit. 11 
 12 
560-7-8-.56 Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit. 13 
 14 

(1)  Purpose.  This regulation provides guidance concerning the 15 
implementation and administration of the tax credits under 16 
O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8. 17 

 18 
(2)  Coordination of Agencies.  The Georgia Department of 19 

Community Affairs is the state agency responsible for certifying 20 
that the rehabilitation meets the requirements of O.C.G.A. § 48-7-21 
29.8. 22 

 23 
(3)  Definitions.  As used in this regulation, the terms "certified 24 

rehabilitation", "certified structure", "historic home", "qualified 25 
rehabilitation expenditure", "substantial rehabilitation", and "target 26 
area" shall have the same meaning as in O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8. As 27 
used in this regulation, the terms "full-time employee" and "full-28 
time permanent job" means a person who works a job that requires 29 
30 or more hours per week. 30 

 31 
(4)  Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit for a Historic Home.  32 

A taxpayer shall be allowed a tax credit equal to 25 percent of the 33 
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qualified rehabilitation expenditures for the certified rehabilitation 34 
of a historic home in the taxable year in which the certified rehabil-35 
itation is placed in service; except that in the case of a historic 36 
home located within a target area, an additional credit equal to 5 37 
percent of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures shall be al-38 
lowed. For historic homes completed on or after January 1, 2022, 39 
the credit must be preapproved as provided in paragraph (5) of this 40 
regulation. 41 

 42 
(a)  Credit cap.  In no event shall the aggregate amount allowed 43 

for historic homes exceed the maximum aggregate limit in para-44 
graph (5) for calendar year 2022 and $5 million per year for calen-45 
dar years 2023 and 2024. No credit shall be issued for historic 46 
homes completed on or after January 1, 2025. 47 

 48 
(a)(b)  Credit limitation.  The amount of historic rehabilitation 49 

tax credit for a historic home shall not exceed $100,000.00 in any 50 
120-month period. 51 

 52 
(c)  Preapproval for Historic Homes.  Any taxpayer seeking 53 

preapproval to claim the historic rehabilitation tax credit for a his-54 
toric home completed on or after January 1, 2022 must electroni-55 
cally submit Form IT-RHC-AP and their precertification from the 56 
Georgia Department of Community Affairs through the Georgia 57 
Tax Center. The taxpayer must estimate their credit amounts on 58 
Form IT-RHC-AP if the certified rehabilitation has not been com-59 
pleted. The amount of tax credit claimed on the taxpayer's applica-60 
ble Georgia income tax return must be based on the actual amount 61 
of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures. If the taxpayer is pre-62 
approved for an amount that exceeds the amount that is calculated 63 
using the actual amount of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures 64 
when the return is filed, the excess preapproved amount cannot be 65 
claimed by the taxpayer, nor shall the excess preapproved amount 66 
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be claimed by, reallocated to, assigned to, transferred to, or sold to 67 
any other taxpayer. If the taxpayer is a disregarded entity, then 68 
such information should be submitted in the name of the owner of 69 
the disregarded entity. 70 

 71 
(d)  Notification.  The Department will notify each taxpayer of 72 

the tax credits preapproved and allocated to such taxpayer within 73 
thirty (30) days from the date the fully completed Form IT-RHC-74 
AP and all required supporting documentation were submitted 75 
through the Georgia Tax Center. 76 

 77 
(e)  Allocation of Tax Credit.  For any taxpayer seeking preap-78 

proval to claim the tax credits for a historic home completed on or 79 
after January 1, 2022, the Commissioner shall allow the tax credit 80 
on a first-come, first-served basis. The date the fully completed 81 
Form IT-RHC-AP is electronically submitted shall be used to de-82 
termine such first-come, first-served basis. 83 

 84 
(f)  Applications received on the day the maximum credit 85 

amount is reached.  In the event that the credit amounts on applica-86 
tions received by the Commissioner for historic homes completed 87 
on or after January 1, 2022 exceed the maximum aggregate limit in 88 
paragraphs (4) and (5) of this regulation, then the tax credits shall 89 
be allocated among the taxpayers who submitted Form IT-RHC-90 
AP on the day the maximum aggregate limit was exceeded on a 91 
pro rata basis based upon amounts otherwise allowed under 92 
O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8 and this regulation. Such proration shall in-93 
clude all applications received on the day the maximum aggregate 94 
limit was exceeded, regardless of whether it is for the credit cap 95 
year at issue or for an earlier year where the credit cap has been 96 
reached. Only credit amounts for applications received on the day 97 
the maximum aggregate limit was exceeded will be allocated on a 98 
pro rata basis. 99 
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 100 
(g)  For historic homes, priority for prorated applications and 101 

applications submitted after a calendar year cap is reached.  Any 102 
application for the 2022 calendar year credit that is prorated be-103 
cause the 2022 calendar year credit cap is reached and any applica-104 
tion for the 2022 calendar year credit that is submitted after the 105 
2022 calendar year credit cap is reached shall not be approved for a 106 
subsequent calendar year whose credit cap has not been reached 107 
and shall not have priority over any applications with a later sub-108 
mission date. Any other application that is prorated because a cal-109 
endar-year credit cap is reached and any other application that is 110 
submitted after a calendar-year credit cap is reached shall be ap-111 
proved for a subsequent calendar year whose credit cap has not 112 
been reached and shall have priority over any applications with a 113 
later submission date. In such cases, the taxpayer shall claim the 114 
credit in the taxable year that begins in such subsequent preap-115 
proved calendar year or as provided in paragraph (7) of this regula-116 
tion. If the calendar-year credit cap for all subsequent calendar 117 
years has been reached, then the application shall be denied. 118 

 119 
1.  Example: Taxpayer submits the electronic Form IT-RHC-AP 120 

through the Georgia Tax Center on April 25, 2022 seeking preap-121 
proval to claim the 2022 historic rehabilitation tax credit for a his-122 
toric home. On April 25, 2022, the 2022 calendar-year credit cap 123 
for historic homes was reached, and Taxpayer received an alloca-124 
tion of the 2022 historic rehabilitation tax credit on a pro rata basis. 125 
Taxpayer’s preapproval application will not be approved for a sub-126 
sequent calendar year and will not receive priority over applica-127 
tions with a later submission date. 128 

 129 
2.  Example: Taxpayer submits the electronic Form IT-RHC-AP 130 

through the Georgia Tax Center in 2023 seeking preapproval to 131 
claim the 2023 historic rehabilitation tax credit for a historic home. 132 
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On the day that Taxpayer submits Form IT-RHC-AP, the 2023 cal-133 
endar-year credit cap for historic homes was reached, and Taxpay-134 
er received an allocation of the 2023 historic rehabilitation tax 135 
credit on a pro rata basis. Taxpayer’s preapproval application will 136 
be approved for the 2024 calendar year if the 2024 credit cap has 137 
not been reached and will receive priority over applications with a 138 
later submission date. 139 

 140 
(b)(h)  Claiming the Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit for a 141 

Historic Home. For a taxpayer to claim the historic rehabilitation 142 
tax credit for a historic home, the taxpayer must submit with the 143 
taxpayer's Georgia income tax return Form IT-RHC, the property 144 
tax bill for the year immediately before the beginning of the 24 145 
month (or 60 month) period, the property tax bill for the year im-146 
mediately after the beginning of the 24 month (or 60 month) peri-147 
od, and their completed final certification from the Georgia De-148 
partment of Community Affairs. 149 

 150 
(i)  In the event it is determined that a taxpayer has not met all 151 

the requirements of O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8 and this regulation, then 152 
the credits shall not be approved or the approved credits shall be 153 
retroactively denied. The taxpayer shall file amended returns for 154 
the taxable year the credit was claimed, reducing the credit. With 155 
respect to such denied credits, tax, interest, and penalties shall be 156 
due if the credits have already been used by the taxpayer or have 157 
been sold or transferred, regardless of whether the transferee has 158 
used the credit or not. 159 

 160 
(c)(j)  Carry Forward.  Any unused historic rehabilitation tax 161 

credit for a historic home may be carried forward for ten years af-162 
ter the close of the taxable year in which the certified rehabilitation 163 
was completed. 164 
 165 
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(d)(k)  Sale of the Historic Home.  Except as provided in sub-166 
paragraph (4)(e)(l) of this regulation, in the event a historic reha-167 
bilitation tax credit for a historic home is claimed and allowed to 168 
the taxpayer, upon the sale or transfer of the historic home, the 169 
taxpayer shall be authorized to transfer the remaining unused 170 
amount of such historic rehabilitation tax credit for a historic home 171 
to the purchaser of such historic home. If a historic home for which 172 
a certified rehabilitation has been completed by a nonprofit corpo-173 
ration is sold or transferred, the full amount of the credit to which 174 
the nonprofit corporation would be entitled if taxable shall be 175 
transferred to the purchaser or transferee at the time of the sale or 176 
transfer. 177 

 178 
1.  Such purchaser shall be subject to the limitations of this par-179 

agraph and O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8, and shall file with the purchas-180 
er's tax return a copy of the final certification from the Georgia 181 
Department of Community Affairs and a copy of the form evidenc-182 
ing the transfer of the tax credit. 183 

 184 
2.  Such purchaser shall be entitled to rely in good faith on the 185 

information contained in and used in connection with obtaining the 186 
final certification of the credit including, without limitation, the 187 
amount of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures. 188 

 189 
(e)(l)  Recapture of the Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit for a 190 

Historic Home. If an owner other than a nonprofit corporation sells 191 
a historic home within three years of receiving the credit, the seller 192 
shall recapture the credit to the Department as follows: 193 

 194 
1.  If the property is sold within one year of receiving the credit, 195 

the recapture amount will equal the lesser of the credit or the net 196 
profit of the sale; 197 

 198 
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2. If the property is sold within two years of receiving the cred-199 
it, the recapture amount will equal the lesser of two-thirds of the 200 
credit or the net profit of the sale; or 201 

 202 
3. If the property is sold within three years of receiving the 203 

credit, the recapture amount will equal the lesser of one-third of the 204 
credit or the net profit of the sale. 205 

 206 
(f)(m)  Exception to Recapture Provision.  The recapture provi-207 

sions in subparagraph (4)(e)(l) of this regulation shall not apply to 208 
a sale resulting from the death of the owner. 209 

 210 
(5)  Credit cap for 2022 for Historic Homes and for Any 211 

Other Certified Structure earning $300,000 or less.  In no event 212 
shall the aggregate amount allowed for historic homes completed 213 
on or after January 1, 2022 and any other certified structures earn-214 
ing $300,000 or less, together, exceed $5 million for calendar year 215 
2022. 216 

 217 
(a)  Preapproval for Historic Homes Completed on or after Jan-218 

uary 1, 2022.  Any taxpayer seeking preapproval to claim the his-219 
toric rehabilitation tax credit for a historic home which is complet-220 
ed on or after January 1, 2022 must electronically submit Form IT-221 
RHC-AP, and their precertification from the Georgia Department 222 
of Community Affairs through the Georgia Tax Center. The tax-223 
payer must estimate their credit amounts on Form IT-RHC-AP if 224 
the certified rehabilitation has not been completed. The amount of 225 
tax credit claimed on the taxpayer's applicable Georgia income tax 226 
return must be based on the actual amount of the qualified rehabili-227 
tation expenditures. If the taxpayer is preapproved for an amount 228 
that exceeds the amount that is calculated using the actual amount 229 
of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures when the return is filed, 230 
the excess preapproved amount cannot be claimed by the taxpayer, 231 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Chapter 560-7-8                                       Returns and Collections 
 
 

 8 

nor shall the excess preapproved amount be claimed by, reallocat-232 
ed to, assigned to, or transferred or sold to any other taxpayer. If 233 
the taxpayer is a disregarded entity, then such information should 234 
be submitted in the name of the owner of the disregarded entity. 235 

 236 
(b)  Preapproval for Any Other Certified Structure Earning 237 

$300,000 or less.  Any taxpayer seeking preapproval to claim the 238 
historic rehabilitation tax credit for any other certified structure 239 
earning $300,000 or less completed on or after January 1, 2022 240 
must request preapproval by submitting the electronic Form IT-241 
RHC-AP through the Georgia Tax Center, including the infor-242 
mation required by subparagraph (6)(f)1. of this regulation, and 243 
their precertification from Department of Community Affairs; pro-244 
vided, however, a project that was expected to be completed in 245 
2021 or before and which has a preapproval for such year, is not 246 
required to request another preapproval but must complete the pro-247 
ject within the two year period of and as provided in paragraph (7) 248 
of this regulation. The taxpayer must estimate their credit amounts 249 
on Form IT-RHC-AP if the certified rehabilitation has not been 250 
completed. The amount of tax credit claimed on the taxpayer's ap-251 
plicable Georgia income tax return must be based on the actual 252 
amount of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures. If the taxpayer 253 
is preapproved for an amount that exceeds the amount that is cal-254 
culated using the actual amount of the qualified rehabilitation ex-255 
penditures when the return is filed, the excess preapproved amount 256 
cannot be claimed by the taxpayer, nor shall the excess preap-257 
proved amount be claimed by, reallocated to, assigned to, or trans-258 
ferred or sold to any other taxpayer. If the taxpayer is a disregarded 259 
entity then such information should be submitted in the name of 260 
the owner of the disregarded entity. 261 

 262 
(c)  Notification.  The Department will notify each taxpayer of 263 

the tax credits preapproved and allocated to such taxpayer within 264 
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thirty (30) days from the date the fully completed Form IT-RHC-265 
AP and all required supporting documentation was submitted 266 
through the Georgia Tax Center. 267 

 268 
(d)  Allocation of Tax Credit.  The Commissioner shall allow 269 

the tax credit under paragraph (5) of this regulation on a first-270 
come, first-served basis. The date the fully completed Form IT-271 
RHC-AP is electronically submitted shall be used to determine 272 
such first-come, first-served basis. 273 

 274 
(e)  Applications received on the day the maximum credit 275 

amount is reached.  In the event that the credit amounts on applica-276 
tions received by the Commissioner, for historic homes completed 277 
on or after January 1, 2022 and for any other certified structure 278 
earning $300,000 or less completed on or after January 1, 2022, 279 
exceed the maximum aggregate limit in paragraph (5) of this regu-280 
lation, then the tax credits shall be allocated among the taxpayers 281 
who submitted Form IT-RHC-AP on the day the maximum aggre-282 
gate limit was exceeded on a pro rata basis based upon amounts 283 
otherwise allowed under O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8 and this regulation. 284 
Only credit amounts on applications received on the day the max-285 
imum aggregate limit was exceeded will be allocated on a pro rata 286 
basis. 287 
 288 

(f)  In the event it is determined that the taxpayer has not met all 289 
the requirements of O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8 and this regulation, then 290 
the amount of credits shall not be approved or the approved credits 291 
shall be retroactively denied. The taxpayer shall file amended re-292 
turns for the taxable year the credit was claimed reducing the cred-293 
it. With respect to such denied credits, tax, interest, and penalties 294 
shall be due if the credits have already been used by the taxpayer 295 
or have been sold or transferred regardless of whether the transfer-296 
ee has used the credit or not. 297 
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 298 
(6)  Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit for Any Other Certi-299 

fied Structure.  A taxpayer shall be allowed a tax credit equal to 300 
25 percent of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures for the certi-301 
fied rehabilitation of any other certified structure, other than a his-302 
toric home, in the taxable year in which the certified rehabilitation 303 
is placed in service, except as provided in subparagraph (6)(j) of 304 
this regulation and paragraph (7) of this regulation. 305 

 306 
(a)  Credit limitations.  For certified rehabilitations completed 307 

before January 1, 2017, the historic rehabilitation tax credit for any 308 
other certified structure shall not exceed $300,000 in any 120-309 
month period. 310 

 311 
(b)  For certified rehabilitations completed on or after January 1, 312 

2017, the maximum credit for any other individual certified struc-313 
ture shall be $5 million per taxable year; except that in the case of 314 
a project that creates 200 or more full-time permanent jobs or $5 315 
million in annual payroll within two years of the placed in service 316 
date, the maximum credit amount is $10 million for any other indi-317 
vidual certified structure. For purposes of this regulation, a full-318 
time permanent job means a person who works a job that requires 319 
30 or more hours per week. 320 

 321 
(c)  For certified rehabilitations completed on or after January 1, 322 

2017, in no event shall more than one application for any individu-323 
al certified structure be approved in any 120-month period, but a 324 
taxpayer is allowed to submit an additional preapproval applica-325 
tion, electronic Form IT-RHC-AP if it is the same project. Such 326 
additional preapproval application, electronic Form IT-RHC-AP, is 327 
subject to the requirements of this regulation and shall not be given 328 
priority over applications with an application date that is earlier 329 
than the additional preapproval application date. 330 
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 331 
(d)  Credit Carry Forward.  For certified rehabilitations com-332 

pleted before January 1, 2017, any unused historic rehabilitation 333 
tax credit for any other certified structure may be carried forward 334 
for ten years after the close of the taxable year in which the certi-335 
fied rehabilitation was completed. For certified rehabilitations 336 
completed on or after January 1, 2017, no unused historic rehabili-337 
tation tax credit for any other certified structure shall be allowed to 338 
the taxpayer or the transferee against succeeding years' tax liabil-339 
ity. 340 

 341 
(e)  Credit cap for any other certified structure earning more 342 

than $300,000 in historic rehabilitation tax credits.  For certified 343 
rehabilitations completed on or after January 1, 2017, in no event 344 
shall historic rehabilitation tax credits for any other certified struc-345 
ture earning more than $300,000 in historic rehabilitation tax cred-346 
its under subparagraph (6)(b) of this regulation, exceed $25 million 347 
per calendar year for calendar years ending on or before December 348 
31, 2022. For calendar year 2022, in no event shall historic rehabil-349 
itation tax credits for any other certified structure earning $300,000 350 
or less in historic rehabilitation tax credits exceed the maximum 351 
aggregate limit in paragraph (5). For calendar years beginning on 352 
or after January 1, 2023, and ending on or before December 31, 353 
2027, in no event shall historic rehabilitation tax credits issued for 354 
any other certified structure other than a historic home, regardless 355 
of the amount of credits earned, exceed $30 million per calendar 356 
year. 357 

 358 
(f)  Preapproval.  For certified rehabilitations earning $300,000 359 

or less that were completed on or after January 1, 2022 and for all 360 
other certified rehabilitations completed on or after January 1, 361 
2017, any taxpayer seeking preapproval to claim the tax credits, for 362 
any other certified structure that is not subject to paragraph (5) of 363 
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this regulation, must electronically submit Form IT-RHC-AP, in-364 
cluding the information required by subparagraph (6)(f)1. of this 365 
regulation, and their precertification from the Georgia Department 366 
of Community Affairs through the Georgia Tax Center. For a certi-367 
fied rehabilitation earning $300,000 or less that was expected to be 368 
completed in 2021 or before and that has preapproval for such 369 
year, the taxpayer is not required to request another preapproval 370 
but must complete the project within the two-year period as pro-371 
vided in paragraph (7) of this regulation. The taxpayer must esti-372 
mate their credit amounts on Form IT-RHC-AP if the certified re-373 
habilitation has not been completed. The amount of tax credit 374 
claimed on the taxpayer's applicable Georgia income tax return 375 
must be based on the actual amount of the qualified rehabilitation 376 
expenditures. If the taxpayer is preapproved for an amount that ex-377 
ceeds the amount that is calculated using the actual amount of the 378 
qualified rehabilitation expenditures when the return is filed, the 379 
excess preapproved amount cannot be claimed by the taxpayer, nor 380 
shall the excess preapproved amount be claimed by, reallocated to, 381 
assigned to, or transferred to, or sold to any other taxpayer. If the 382 
taxpayer is a disregarded entity, then such information should be 383 
submitted in the name of the owner of the disregarded entity. 384 

 385 
1.  The following information must be submitted with Form IT-386 

RHC-AP: 387 
 388 
(i)  Documentation to show one of the following: 389 
 390 
(I)  If the certified structure was purchased by the applicant, a 391 

copy of the warranty deed indicating the applicant as the owner of 392 
the property; or 393 

 394 
(II)  If the certified structure is leased by the applicant, docu-395 

mentation showing that the applicant leases the property and show-396 
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ing that the qualified rehabilitation expenditures would not be dis-397 
qualified by Internal Revenue Code Section 47(c)(2)(B), which 398 
disallows expenditures, if, on the date the rehabilitation is com-399 
pleted, the remaining term of the lease is less than the building's 400 
recovery period. This documentation must include a copy of the 401 
lease and documentation showing whether the property is residen-402 
tial rental property with a recovery period of 27.5 years or nonresi-403 
dential real property with a recovery period of 39 years; 404 

 405 
(ii)  The ownership and or and/or membership of the applicant 406 

entity.  This documentation must include information regarding 407 
each owner or member of the applicant, and, if any owner or mem-408 
ber is itself a pass-through entity, information regarding its owner-409 
ship and or and/or membership. Such information must include the 410 
name, federal identification number, ownership percentage, wheth-411 
er or not they are a tax-exempt entity, and whether they control the 412 
applicant entity; 413 

 414 
(iii)  Which entities or members of a pass-through entity intend 415 

to claim the credit and in what percentage(s); 416 
 417 
(iv)  The percentage of the subject property that will be used for 418 

non-profit purposes, if any; 419 
 420 
(v)  Whether the applicant or another entity intends to sublease 421 

the property to other entities and, which entities they intend to sub-422 
lease to, and if such entities are tax-exempt entities; 423 

 424 
(vi)  If the property is being leased, whether or not the owner of 425 

the property is a tax-exempt entity; 426 
 427 
(vii)  Whether or not the project qualifies for the Federal Reha-428 

bilitation Credit allowed under Internal Revenue Code Section 47; 429 
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and 430 
 431 
(viii)  Any other information requested by the Department. 432 
 433 
(g)  Notification.  For any taxpayer seeking preapproval to 434 

claim the tax credits for any other certified structure that is not sub-435 
ject to paragraph (5) of this regulation, tThe Department will notify 436 
each taxpayer of the tax credits preapproved and allocated to such 437 
taxpayer, within thirty (30) days from the date the fully completed 438 
Form IT-RHC-AP and all required supporting documentation 439 
waswere submitted through the Georgia Tax Center. 440 

 441 
(h)  Allocation of Tax Credit.  For any taxpayer seeking preap-442 

proval to claim the tax credits for any other certified structure that 443 
is not subject to paragraph (5) of this regulation, the Commissioner 444 
shall allow the tax credit on a first-come, first-served basis. The 445 
date the fully completed Form IT-RHC-AP is electronically sub-446 
mitted shall be used to determine such first-come, first-served ba-447 
sis. 448 

 449 
(i)  Applications received on the day the maximum credit 450 

amount is reached for any other certified structure earning more 451 
than $300,000 in historic rehabilitation tax credits.  In the event 452 
that the credit amounts on applications received by the Commis-453 
sioner exceed the maximum aggregate limit in subparagraph (6)(e) 454 
of this regulation, then the tax credits shall be allocated among the 455 
taxpayers who submitted Form IT-RHC-AP on the day the maxi-456 
mum aggregate limit was exceeded on a pro rata basis based upon 457 
amounts otherwise allowed under O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8 and this 458 
regulation. Such proration shall include all applications received 459 
on the day the maximum aggregate limit was exceeded, regardless 460 
of whether it is for the credit cap year at issue or for an earlier year 461 
where the credit cap has been reached. Only credit amounts onfor 462 
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applications received on the day the maximum aggregate limit was 463 
exceeded will be allocated on a pro rata basis. 464 

 465 
(j)  For any other certified structure earning more than $300,000 466 

in historic rehabilitation tax credits, priority for pro-rated applica-467 
tions and applications submitted after a calendar year cap is 468 
reached.  Any application for the 2022 calendar year credit that is 469 
prorated because the 2022 calendar year credit cap is reached and 470 
any application for the 2022 calendar year credit that is submitted 471 
after the 2022 calendar year credit cap is reached shall not be ap-472 
proved for a subsequent calendar year whose credit cap has not 473 
been reached and shall not have priority over any applications with 474 
a later submission date. Any other application that is prorated be-475 
cause a calendar-year credit cap is reached and any application that 476 
is submitted after a calendar-year credit cap is reached shall be ap-477 
proved for a subsequent calendar year whose credit cap has not 478 
been reached, and shall have priority over any applications with a 479 
latterlater submission date. In such cases, the taxpayer shall claim 480 
the credit in the taxable year that begins in such subsequent preap-481 
proved calendar year or as provided in paragraph (7) of this regula-482 
tion. If the calendar-year credit cap for all subsequent calendar 483 
years has been reached, then the application shall be denied. 484 

 485 
1.  Example: Taxpayer submits the electronic Form IT-RHC-AP 486 

through the Georgia Tax Center on January 4, 2022 seeking preap-487 
proval to claim the 2022 historic rehabilitation tax credit for a cer-488 
tified structure other than a historic home. On January 4, 2022, the 489 
2022 calendar year credit cap for certified structures other than his-490 
toric homes was reached, and Taxpayer received an allocation of 491 
the 2022 historic rehabilitation tax credit on a pro rata basis. Tax-492 
payer’s preapproval application will not be approved for a subse-493 
quent calendar year and will not receive priority over applications 494 
with a later submission date. 495 
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 496 
2.  Example: Taxpayer submits the electronic Form IT-RHC-AP 497 

through the Georgia Tax Center in 2023 seeking preapproval to 498 
claim the 2023 historic rehabilitation tax credit for a certified struc-499 
ture other than a historic home. On the day that Taxpayer submits 500 
the Form IT-RHC-AP, the 2023 calendar year credit cap for certi-501 
fied structures other than historic homes was reached, and Taxpay-502 
er received an allocation of the 2023 historic rehabilitation tax 503 
credit on a pro rata basis. Taxpayer’s preapproval application will 504 
be approved for the 2024 calendar year if the 2024 credit cap has 505 
not been reached and will receive priority over applications with a 506 
later submission date. 507 

 508 
(k)  Preapproval for Calendar Year 2022 for any other certified 509 

structure earning more than $300,000 in historic rehabilitation tax 510 
credits.  Taxpayers that were prorated or denied the any other certi-511 
fied structure credit for a project earning more than $300,000 be-512 
cause the credit cap was met for 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, or 2021, 513 
may submit the electronic Form IT-RHC-AP for 2022 for addi-514 
tional credit amounts so long as it is the same project, and they will 515 
have priority as provided in this regulation. Taxpayers that met-516 
meet the requirements for any other certified structure for a credit 517 
amount of more than $300,000 thatand choose to apply for the 518 
noncapped credit for any other certified structure (for a credit 519 
amount of $300,000 or less) for 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, or 2021 520 
may submit an electronic Form IT-RHC-AP for 2022 for any other 521 
certified structure earning more than $300,000, for additional cred-522 
it amounts so long as it is the same project and they will have pri-523 
ority as provided in this regulation. 524 

 525 
(l)  Change of Ownership.  If ownership of the other certified 526 

structure subsequently changes after historic rehabilitation tax 527 
credits were preapproved and allocated to the initial owners and no 528 
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rehabilitation has begun, then the new owners must contact the 529 
Department to request reallocation of the preapproved credits to 530 
the new owners. Along with their request, the new owners must 531 
submit the amended precertification from the Georgia Department 532 
of Community Affairs and the information required by subpara-533 
graph (6)(f)1 of this regulation. Once the credits are reallocated to 534 
the new owners, the initial owners cannot claim, sell, or transfer 535 
the credits. 536 
 537 

(l)(m)  Claiming the Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit for Any 538 
Other Certified Structure.  A taxpayer claiming the tax credits un-539 
der subparagraph (6)(a) of this regulation shall attach to its Georgia 540 
income tax return, for each year the credit is claimed on Form IT-541 
RHC, the property tax bill for the year immediately before the be-542 
ginning of the 24 month (or 60 month) period, the property tax bill 543 
for the year immediately after the beginning of the 24 month (or 60 544 
month) period, and their completed final certification from the 545 
Georgia Department of Community Affairs. A taxpayer claiming 546 
the tax credits under subparagraph (6)(b) of this regulation must 547 
attach to its Georgia income tax return, for each year the credit is 548 
claimed, an approved Form IT-RHC-AP, Form IT-RHC, the prop-549 
erty tax bill for the year immediately before the beginning of the 550 
24 month (or 60 month) period, the property tax bill for the year 551 
immediately after the beginning of the 24 month (or 60 month) pe-552 
riod, and their completed final certification from the Georgia De-553 
partment of Community Affairs. 554 

 555 
(m)(n)  In the event it is determined that the taxpayer has not 556 

met all the requirements of O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8 and this regula-557 
tion, then the amount of credits shall not be approved or the ap-558 
proved credits shall be retroactively denied. The taxpayer shall file 559 
amended returns for the taxable year the credit was claimed, reduc-560 
ing the credit. With respect to such denied credits, tax, interest, and 561 
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penalties shall be due if the credits have already been used by the 562 
taxpayer or have been sold or transferred, regardless of whether the 563 
transferee has used the credit or not. 564 

 565 
(n)(o)  Pass-through entities.  When the taxpayer is a pass-566 

through entity, and has no income tax liability of its own, the his-567 
toric rehabilitation tax credit for any other certified structure, shall 568 
be allocated to the partners, members, or shareholders of that entity 569 
in accordance with the provisions of any agreement among the 570 
partners, members, or shareholders of that entity and without re-571 
gard to the ownership interest of the partners, members, or share-572 
holders in the rehabilitated certified structure, provided that the 573 
entity or person that claims the credit must be subject to Georgia 574 
tax. The credit forms will initially be filed with the tax return of the 575 
pass-through entity to establish the amount of the credit available 576 
for pass through. The credit will then pass through to its sharehold-577 
ers, members, or partners to be applied against the tax liability on 578 
their income tax returns. The credits are available for use as a cred-579 
it by the shareholders, members, or partners for their tax year in 580 
which the income tax year of the pass-through entity ends. For ex-581 
ample: A partnership earns the credit for its tax year ending Janu-582 
ary 31, 2017. The partnership passes the credit to a calendar-year 583 
partner. The credit is available for use by the individual partner 584 
beginning with the calendar 2017 tax year. 585 

 586 
(o)(p)  Selling or Transferring the Historic Rehabilitation Tax 587 

Credit for Any Other Certified Structure.  The taxpayer may sell or 588 
transfer in whole or in part any historic rehabilitation tax credit for 589 
any other certified structure earned under subparagraph (6)(b) of 590 
this regulation that was previously claimed but not used by such 591 
taxpayer against its income tax, to another Georgia taxpayer sub-592 
ject to the following conditions: 593 

 594 
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1.  The taxpayer may only make a one-time sale or transfer of 595 
historic rehabilitation tax credits for any other certified structure 596 
earned in each taxable year. However, the sale or transfer may in-597 
volve more than one transferee. For example, taxpayer 1 earns a 598 
$100,000 credit in year 1. In year 2, they sell $75,000 of the credit 599 
to taxpayer 2. In year 3, they are allowed to sell the remaining 600 
$25,000 of the credit to taxpayer 3. However, both taxpayer 2 and 601 
taxpayer 3 are not allowed to resell the credit since the credit can 602 
only be sold one-timeonce. 603 

 604 
2.  The historic rehabilitation tax credits for any other certified 605 

structure may be transferred before the tax return is filed by the 606 
taxpayer, provided the historic rehabilitation tax credits have been 607 
earned. However, the amount transferred cannot exceed the 608 
amount of the credit which will be claimed and not used on the in-609 
come tax return of the transferor. The credit is considered earned 610 
when the credit has been preapproved by the Department, the certi-611 
fied rehabilitation has been completed, and the taxpayer has re-612 
ceived their completed final certification from the Georgia De-613 
partment of Community Affairs. Preapproval of the credits by it-614 
self does not qualify as earning the credit. 615 

 616 
3.  The taxpayer must file Form IT-TRANS, "Notice of Tax 617 

Credit Transfer," with the Department of Revenue within 30 days 618 
of the transfer or sale of the historic rehabilitation tax credit for any 619 
other certified structure. Form IT-TRANS must be submitted elec-620 
tronically to the Department of Revenue through the Georgia Tax 621 
Center, or alternatively, as provided in subparagraph 622 
(6)(o)3.(i)(6)(p)3.(i) of this regulation. The Department of Revenue 623 
will not process any Form IT-TRANS submitted or filed in any 624 
other manner. If the taxpayer is a disregarded entity, then Form IT-625 
TRANS should be filed in the name of the owner of the disregard-626 
ed entity, but the Form IT-RHC should be in the name of the disre-627 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Chapter 560-7-8                                       Returns and Collections 
 
 

 20 

garded entity and attached to the owner's Georgia income tax re-628 
turn. 629 

 630 
(i)  The web-based portal on the Georgia Tax Center. The tax-631 

payer may provide selective information to a representative for the 632 
purpose of allowing the representative to submit Form IT-TRANS 633 
on their behalf on the Georgia Tax Center outside of a login. The 634 
provision of such information shall authorize the representative to 635 
submit such Form IT-TRANS. The representative must provide all 636 
information required by the web-based portal on the Georgia Tax 637 
Center to submit Form IT-TRANS. 638 

 639 
4.  The taxpayer must provide all required historic rehabilitation 640 

tax credit for any other certified structure detail and transfer infor-641 
mation to the Department of Revenue. Failure to do so will result 642 
in the historic rehabilitation tax credit for any other certified struc-643 
ture being disallowed until the taxpayer complies with such re-644 
quirements. 645 

 646 
5.  The carry forwardcarryforward period of the historic rehabil-647 

itation tax credit for any other certified structure for the transferee 648 
will be the same as it was for the taxpayer. For certified rehabilita-649 
tions completed on or after January 1, 2017, no unused historic re-650 
habilitation tax credit for any other certified structure shall be al-651 
lowed to be carried forward. 652 

 653 
(i)  Example:  Taxpayer sells the historic rehabilitation tax cred-654 

it for any other certified structure on March 15, 2018. This credit is 655 
from a certified rehabilitation that received preapproval from the 656 
Department for calendar year 2017 and was placed in service in the 657 
taxpayer's calendar 2017 tax year. The transferee is a calendar-year 658 
taxpayer. The credit may be claimed by the transferee on the cal-659 
endar 2017 tax year return. This credit cannot be carried forward 660 
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by the taxpayer or the transferee. This credit can only be utilized in 661 
tax year 2017. 662 

 663 
6.  A transferee shall have only such rights to claim and use the 664 

historic rehabilitation tax credit for any other certified structure 665 
that were available to the taxpayer at the time of the transfer. Thus, 666 
a transferee shall not have the right to subsequently transfer such 667 
credit since that right has been utilized by the transferor. 668 

 669 
7.  Only the taxpayer who earned the historic rehabilitation tax 670 

credit for any other certified structure, and no subsequent good 671 
faith transferee, shall be responsible in the event of a recapture, 672 
reduction, disallowance, or other failure related to such credit, pro-673 
vided the credit was properly claimed by the taxpayer. 674 

 675 
(p)(q)  How to Sell or Transfer the Historic Rehabilitation Tax 676 

Credit for Any Other Certified Structure.  The taxpayer may sell or 677 
transfer the historic rehabilitation tax credit for any other certified 678 
structure directly to a Georgia taxpayer (or multiple Georgia tax-679 
payers, as provided in subparagraph (6)(o)1.(6)(p)1. of this rule). A 680 
pass-through entity may make an election to sell or transfer the un-681 
used historic rehabilitation tax credit for any other certified struc-682 
ture earned in a taxable year at the entity level. If the pass-through 683 
entity makes the election to sell the historic rehabilitation tax credit 684 
for any other certified structure at the entity level, the credit does 685 
not pass through to the shareholders, members, or partners. In all 686 
cases, the effect of the sale of the credit on the income of the seller 687 
and buyer of the credit will be the same as provided in the Internal 688 
Revenue Code. 689 

 690 
1.  Pass-Through Entity.  The taxpayer may be structured as a 691 

pass-through entity. If a pass-through entity does not make an elec-692 
tion to sell or transfer the tax credit at the entity level as provided 693 
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in subparagraph (6)(p)(q) of this rule, the tax credit will pass 694 
through to the shareholders, partners, or members of the entity 695 
based on any agreement among the partners, members, or share-696 
holders of that entity without regard to the ownership interest of 697 
the partners, members, or shareholders in the rehabilitated certified 698 
structure, provided that the entity or person that claims the credit 699 
must be subject to Georgia tax. The shareholders, members, or 700 
partners may then sell their respective historic rehabilitation tax 701 
credit for any other certified structure to a Georgia taxpayer. 702 

 703 
2.  Transferee Pass-Through Entity.  The taxpayer or its share-704 

holders, members, or partners, may sell or transfer the tax credit to 705 
a pass-through entity. If the pass-through entity has no income tax 706 
liability of its own, the pass-through entityit may then pass the 707 
credit through to its shareholders, members, or partners based on 708 
any agreement among the partners, members, or shareholders of 709 
that entity without regard to the ownership interest of the partners, 710 
members, or shareholders in the pass-through entity, provided that 711 
the entity or person that claims the credit must be subject to Geor-712 
gia tax. For example, if a calendar-year partnership is buyingbuys 713 
the credit earned by a taxpayer in the calendar year 2017 tax year 714 
and the credit was preapproved by the Department for calendar 715 
year 2017, then all of the partners receiving the credit must have 716 
been a partner in the partnership no later than the end of the 2017 717 
tax year of the partnership. The credits are available for use as a 718 
credit by the shareholders, members, or partners for their tax year 719 
in which the income tax year of the pass-through entity ends. For 720 
example, a taxpayer that received preapproval for calendar year 721 
2017 and placed in service the certified rehabilitation for any other 722 
certified structure in July of 2017, sells the credit to a pass-through 723 
entity in August of 2017, and the generating taxpayer claims the 724 
credit on their calendar year 2017 income tax return. The pass-725 
through entity is entitled to use the credits on its calendar year 726 
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2017 tax return. The pass-through entity has two partners. The first 727 
partner is a calendar-year partner. This credit can only be utilized 728 
on the calendar tax year 2017 return and cannot be carried forward 729 
by the partner. The second partner is a corporation with a fiscal 730 
year ending June 30, 2018. This credit can only be utilized on the 731 
fiscal year ending June 30, 2018 and cannot be carried forward by 732 
the partner. 733 

 734 
3.  The credits are available for use by the transferee, provided 735 

the time has not expired for filing a claim for refund of a tax or fee 736 
erroneously or illegally assessed and collected under O.C.G.A. § 737 
48-2-35 in the transferee's tax year in which the income tax year of 738 
the taxpayer whichwho claims the historic rehabilitation tax credit 739 
for any other certified structure for the certified rehabilitation asso-740 
ciated with the credit being sold, ends. 741 

 742 
(i)  Example:  Taxpayer sells the historic rehabilitation tax cred-743 

it for any other certified structure on March 15, 2018. This credit is 744 
from a certified rehabilitation that received preapproval from the 745 
Department for calendar year 2017 and was placed in service on or 746 
after January 1, 2017 and within the generating taxpayer's fiscal 747 
tax year ending June 30, 2017. The transferee is a calendar-year 748 
taxpayer. The credit may be claimed by the transferee on the cal-749 
endar 2017 tax year return. This credit cannot be carried forward 750 
by the taxpayer or the transferee. This credit can only be utilized in 751 
tax year 2017 by the transferee. 752 

 753 
(ii)  Example:  Taxpayer sells the historic rehabilitation tax 754 

credit for any other certified structure on March 15, 2018. This 755 
credit is from a certified rehabilitation that received preapproval 756 
from the Department for calendar year 2017 (on their Form IT-757 
RHC-AP, the completion calendar year was 2017 and the credit 758 
was awarded for such year) and was placed in service on Decem-759 
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ber 31, 2019. As provided in paragraph (7), the taxpayer chooses to 760 
claim the credit on their tax year ending June 30, 2020 tax return. 761 
The transferee is a calendar-year taxpayer. The credit must be 762 
claimed by the transferee on the calendar 2020 tax year return. 763 
This credit cannot be carried forward by the taxpayer or the trans-764 
feree. This credit can only be utilized on the transferee's calendar 765 
2020 tax year return. 766 

 767 
(q)(r)  Required reporting.  Notwithstanding Code Sections 48-768 

2-15, 48-7-60, and 48-7-61, the Department shall furnish a report 769 
to the chairperson of the House Committee on Ways and Means 770 
and the chairperson of the Senate Finance Committee by June 30 771 
of each year. Such report shall contain the total sales tax collected 772 
in the prior calendar year, and the average number of full-time em-773 
ployees at the certified structure, and the total value of credits 774 
claimed for each taxpayer claiming credits under subparagraph 775 
(6)(b). 776 

 777 
1.  For certified rehabilitations completed on or after January 1, 778 

2017, any taxpayer that generates and claims the tax credit under 779 
subparagraph (6)(b) of this regulation must electronically report to 780 
the Department through the Georgia Tax Center, using Form IT-781 
RHC-RPT, the monthly average full-time employees employed at 782 
the certified structure, the total sales tax collected, and the credits 783 
claimed. Such reports must be submitted to the Department for five 784 
calendar years following the calendar year in which the credit is 785 
claimed by the taxpayer. Such report shall be due by the February 786 
28th date that follows the calendar year that is being reported. 787 

 788 
2.  For purposes of this subparagraph, in the event that the tax-789 

payer that generates and claims the tax credit under subparagraph 790 
(6)(b) of this regulation leases such other certified structure, all 791 
total sales tax receipts from the certified structure and all total full-792 
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time employees at the certified structure shall be aggregated. 793 
 794 
3.  For certified rehabilitations completed on or after January 1, 795 

2017, where the maximum credit amount exceeds $5 million for 796 
any other individual certified structure, the taxpayer shall report 797 
using Form IT-RHC-RPT whether or not they created 200 or more 798 
full-time permanent jobs or had $5 million in annual payroll within 799 
two years of the placed-in-service date. Such report shall be due no 800 
later than 60 days following the end of such 2two-year period. 801 

 802 
(7)  Completion of the Project Forfor Preapproved Projects. 803 
 804 
(a)  For certified rehabilitations of any other certified structure 805 

under subparagraph (6)(b) of this regulation completed on or after 806 
January 1, 2017 and historic homes preapproved on or after Janu-807 
ary 1, 2022 under paragraph (5) of this regulation, the project must 808 
be placed in service within two years after the completion calendar 809 
year listed in the taxpayer's Form IT-RHC-AP (the year for which 810 
the credit was originally reserved). If the taxpayer has a fiscal year, 811 
such completion calendar year shall, for purposes of this para-812 
graph, be the tax year that begins in such completion calendar year. 813 
If this requirement is met, the taxpayer claims the credit in the year 814 
listed in the taxpayer's preapproval letter from the Department of 815 
Revenue; or the taxpayer may claim the credit in the tax year in 816 
which the project is placed in service, provided the project is 817 
placed in service within two years after the completion calendar 818 
year listed in their Form IT-RHC-AP and provided such placed-in-819 
service year ends later than the end of the year listed in the taxpay-820 
er's preapproval letter from the Department of Revenue. If the pro-821 
ject is not placed in service within such time period, the credit is 822 
lost and cannot be claimed, sold, or transferred, unless the taxpayer 823 
reapplies for the credit and receives preapproval for such other 824 
time period. Unless the Department has evidence to the contrary, 825 
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the date of completion listed in the final certification authorized by 826 
the Georgia Department of Community Affairs shall be used to 827 
determine when the project was placed in service. This paragraph 828 
shall apply even if the taxpayer is given priority under subpara-829 
graph (6)(j) of this regulation and is preapproved for a subsequent 830 
calendar year. 831 

 832 
1.  Example 1.  The taxpayer lists 2017 in their Form IT-RHC-833 

AP as the completion calendar year and is preapproved to claim 834 
the credit for 2017. The taxpayer is a calendar-year taxpayer. The 835 
taxpayer must place the project in service on or before December 836 
31, 2019. This taxpayer places the project in service on November 837 
15, 2019. The taxpayer may claim the credit on their taxable year 838 
end December 31, 2017 Georgia income tax return or their taxable 839 
year end December 31, 2019 Georgia income tax return. 840 

 841 
2.  Example 2.  The taxpayer lists 2018 in their Form IT-RHC-842 

AP as the completion calendar year and is preapproved to claim 843 
the credit for 2018. The taxpayer is a fiscal year filer with a Febru-844 
ary 28 taxable year end. The taxpayer must place the project in 845 
service on or before February 28, 2021. This taxpayer places the 846 
project in service on March 31, 2019. The taxpayer may claim the 847 
credit on their taxable year end February 28, 2019 Georgia income 848 
tax return or their taxable year end February 28, 2020 Georgia in-849 
come tax return. 850 

 851 
(b)  The following examples illustrate how the credit is claimed 852 

if the taxpayer is preapproved for the credit in a subsequent year, 853 
as provided by subparagraph (6)(j): 854 

 855 
1.  Example 3.  The taxpayer lists 2018 in their Form IT-RHC-856 

AP as the completion calendar year and is preapproved to claim 857 
the credit for 2019. The taxpayer is a calendar-year taxpayer. This 858 
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taxpayer places the project in service on November 15, 2020. The 859 
taxpayer may claim the credit on their taxable year end December 860 
31, 2019 Georgia income tax return or their taxable year end De-861 
cember 31, 2020 Georgia income tax return. 862 

 863 
2.  Example 4.  The taxpayer lists 2018 in their Form IT-RHC-864 

AP as the completion calendar year and is preapproved to claim 865 
the credit for 2019. The taxpayer is a fiscal year filer with a Febru-866 
ary 28 taxable year end. This taxpayer places the project in service 867 
on January 31, 2021. The taxpayer may claim the credit on their 868 
taxable year end February 28, 2020 Georgia income tax return or 869 
their taxable year end February 28, 2021 Georgia income tax re-870 
turn. 871 

 872 
(c)  For historic homes estimated to be completed before Janu-873 

ary 1, 2022 and which are not actually completed before January 1, 874 
2022, the project must be placed in service within two years after 875 
the estimated completion year listed on the precertification from 876 
the Georgia Department of Community Affairs. If this two-year 877 
requirement is met, the taxpayer claims the credit in the estimated 878 
completion year listed on the precertification from the Georgia 879 
Department of Community Affairs, and the taxpayer does not need 880 
to apply for preapproval for the historic home under paragraph (5) 881 
of this regulation. If the project is not placed in service within such 882 
time period, the credit is lost and cannot be claimed, sold, or trans-883 
ferred, unless the taxpayer reapplies for the credit and receives 884 
preapproval for such other time period. Unless the Department has 885 
evidence to the contrary, the date of completion listed in the final 886 
certification authorized by the Georgia Department of Community 887 
Affairs shall be used to determine when the project was placed in 888 
service. 889 

 890 
(d)  A project whichthat is delayed beyond 2two years may 891 
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submit an application for a later year, subject to all the other re-892 
quirements of this regulation. 893 

 894 
(8)  Qualified Rehabilitation Expenditures onlyOnly Count-895 

ed Once.  Qualified rehabilitation expenditures can only be count-896 
ed once in determining the amount of the tax credit available, and 897 
more than one entity may not utilize the historic rehabilitation tax 898 
credit for the same qualified expenditures. 899 

 900 
(9)  For money that is available for the calendar year 2022, the 901 

Department shall start allowing applications on the first day of 902 
2022 that is not a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, or day on which 903 
the Federal Reserve Bank is closed and the provisions of Regula-904 
tion 560-7-8-.54 shall apply. Applications submitted before the 905 
start date will be denied by the Department. 906 

 907 
(10)(9)  Sunset Date.  O.C.G.A. § 48-7-29.8, the historic reha-908 

bilitation tax credit, shall be repealed on December 31, 20222027. 909 
As such, projects completed on or after January 1, 20232028 are 910 
not eligible except as allowed by paragraph (7) of this regulation. 911 

 912 
(11)(10)  Effective Date.  This regulation shall be applicable to 913 

certified rehabilitations completed on or after January 1, 2017, re-914 
gardless of when the certified rehabilitation was started. 915 
 916 
Authority:  O.C.G.A. §§ 48-2-12 and 48-7-29.8. 917 
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