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Policy Bulletin MVD-2023-03 

NOTICE TO GOVERNING AUTHORITIES 
Changes to School Bus/School Zone Procedures 

 
HB 183, signed by Gov. Kemp on May 3, 2023, modifies the procedures for enforcing penalties for school bus and school 
zone traffic violations. The changes in the law remove the requirement that the Department of Revenue (Department) 
place a hold on the vehicle title and prevent it from being sold or transferred to a new owner. Instead, HB 183 imposes a 
hold only on the vehicle’s registration. The registration hold will prevent the vehicle owner from renewing registration 
and obtaining a renewal decal until the penalties have been paid to the governing body or its agent. 

The changes described in this bulletin become effective July 1, 2023. 

What new information must be provided in the final notice to the motor vehicle owner? 

HB 183 requires the governing body or its agent to include in the final notice an explanation of the consequences for 
failure to pay any penalties and late fees due. The Department is providing the following language for governing bodies 
or their agents to include in the final notice to meet this statutory requirement: 

Unless you have already paid any penalties and fees as described in this notice, you must pay the 
amounts due within 30 days of the date of this letter to avoid further action that will affect the 
registration of your vehicle. If we do not receive payment within 30 days, we will send a referral 
to the Georgia Department of Revenue. The Department will place a hold on your vehicle’s 
registration. Once a hold is placed, you will not be able to renew your vehicle registration and 
obtain a revalidation decal until the hold is lifted. When your vehicle’s registration lapses, it will 
not be legal to drive that vehicle on Georgia roads. A failure to timely renew your vehicle’s 
registration may also result in additional penalties. 

What information must be included in the referral to the Department? 

As provided in current law, the governing authority or its agent must provide in the referral “any information known or 
available to the agent or governing body concerning the license plate number, year of registration, and the name of the 
owner of the motor vehicle; . . . [t]he date on which the violation occurred; . . . [and] [t]he date when the notice required 
under this Code section was mailed.” HB 183 also requires that the referral include the citation number issued for the 
violation, which is a new requirement.  

It is no longer necessary to include the governing body’s seal, logo or emblem in the referral. 
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For more information, please visit the Motor Vehicle Division website at 
dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles or scan the QR code. 

How else is the referral process changing? 

The Department is no longer required to mail a notice to the motor vehicle owner. Thus, the Department will not be 
notifying motor vehicle owners of the consequences of failing to pay any amounts due or the procedures to remove the 
penalties. Governing bodies and their agents should make sure to educate vehicle owners on these matters. 

When will the Department lift the hold on the registration? 

HB 183 requires the Department to remove the penalty on a vehicle registration if any person presents the Department 
with adequate proof from the governing body or agent that any applicable penalty and late fee have been paid. To avoid 
any delays in lifting the registration hold, it is important that governing authorities and their agents continue to use 
DRIVES e-Services to remove the hold no later than one business day after receipt of the applicable penalties and fees. 
Governing authorities and their agents must establish internal policies and procedures to ensure that deadline is met. 
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