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40-3-37. Salvaged or rebuilt motor vehicles; inspections; fees; exemption of 

motorcycles; glider kits. 
 

 

(a)  As used in this Code section, the term:   

 

(1) "Application for a certificate of title on a recovered stolen motor vehicle" means an application for a 

certificate of title for a motor vehicle for which an insurance company has paid a total loss claim, has 

obtained a title marked "unrecovered stolen motor vehicle," and which has subsequently been recovered.   

 

(2) "Application for a certificate of title on a salvaged or rebuilt motor vehicle" means:   

 

(A) An application for a certificate of title for a motor vehicle for which a current Georgia certificate of 

title is marked "salvage" pursuant to subsection (e) of Code Section 40-3-36 and which has been repaired;   

 

(B) An application for a certificate of title for a motor vehicle for which a current out-of-state certificate 

of title is marked "salvage," "rebuilt," or "restored" or any similar such phrase; or   

 

(C) An application for a certificate of title for a motor vehicle for which a current Georgia certificate of 

title is marked "salvage" pursuant to subsection (e) of Code Section 40-3-36 and for which the transferee is 

anyone other than a licensed dealer as defined in Code Section 43-48-2.   

 

(b)(1) Upon receipt of an application for a certificate of title on a salvaged or rebuilt motor vehicle, the 

commissioner shall promptly conduct an initial inspection on each such motor vehicle prior to the issuance 

of a certificate of title for the motor vehicle. Upon receipt of an application for a certificate of title on a 

recovered stolen motor vehicle which has been stripped of:   

 

(A) Substantially all its interior parts;   

 

(B) Engine;   

 

(C) Transmission;   

 

(D) All doors;   

 

(E) Complete soft top assembly including roof mechanism;   

 

(F) Front clip assembly (fenders, hood, and bumper); or   

 

(G) Cab and bed of a pick-up truck,   

 

the commissioner shall promptly conduct an initial inspection on each such motor vehicle prior to the 

issuance of a certificate of title for the motor vehicle. The initial inspection shall include, but shall not be 

limited to, verification of the vehicle identification number, verification of the bills of sale or title for the 

major components, verification in regard to rebuilt vehicles that the word "rebuilt" is permanently affixed 

as required by subsection (d) of this Code section, verification that the vehicle was rebuilt in the State of 

Georgia, and, if the vehicle has been repaired, verification that the motor vehicle conforms to all safety 

equipment standards required by law. The commissioner shall be authorized to charge a fee of $100.00 for 

each initial inspection of each motor vehicle. In the event a motor vehicle fails an inspection, a fee of 

$100.00 shall be charged for each subsequent reinspection. The commissioner may conduct any such initial 

inspection and any required reinspections even though the motor vehicle may have been previously 

inspected under this Code section.   
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(2) If, upon inspection under paragraph (1) of this subsection, it is determined that the motor vehicle is 

not in full compliance with the law, the commissioner shall refuse to issue a certificate of title until 

compliance is reached.  The commissioner may order additional, corrective repairs to such vehicle as a 

condition of issuance of a certificate of title.   

 

(c)  All applications submitted pursuant to this Code section shall be accompanied by one or more 

photographs of the motor vehicle in its salvaged condition before any repairs have been made to such 

vehicle, which photographs shall be used by the commissioner in his or her inspections of the vehicle 

pursuant to this Code section. Any person who rebuilds or repairs a salvage motor vehicle shall submit an 

application for a certificate of title and obtain an inspection of such vehicle prior to the painting of such 

vehicle.   

 

(d)(1)(A) Upon inspection under subsection (b) of this Code section, if it is determined that the motor 

vehicle has been restored to an operable condition by the replacement of two or more major component 

parts, a certificate of title may be issued for such motor vehicle which shall contain the word "rebuilt" on its 

face in no larger than 12 point font. This requirement will indicate to all subsequent owners of the motor 

vehicle that such is a rebuilt motor vehicle. If any such inspection determines that the motor vehicle shall 

require the replacement of less than two major component parts in order to restore the motor vehicle to an 

operable condition, a certificate of title shall be issued for such motor vehicle which shall contain the word 

"rebuilt" on its face in such manner as the commissioner shall prescribe. This requirement will indicate to 

all subsequent owners of the motor vehicle that such is a rebuilt motor vehicle.   

 

(B) If it is determined that the motor vehicle required or shall require the replacement of two or more 

major component parts in order to restore the motor vehicle to an operable condition, the department shall 

cause the word "rebuilt" to be affixed to said motor vehicle at the time of inspection by the commissioner. 

The word "rebuilt" shall be affixed in a clear and conspicuous manner to the door post or such other 

location as the commissioner may prescribe. The word "rebuilt" shall be stamped on a certificate and shall 

be affixed to the motor vehicle in such manner as the commissioner may prescribe. The requirement of this 

subparagraph shall only apply to motor vehicles restored after November 1, 1982.   

 

(2) Upon inspection by the commissioner and compliance with paragraph (2) of subsection (b) of this 

Code section, if it is determined that the motor vehicle does not require the replacement of two or more 

major components or has not had two or more major components changed, a certificate of title shall be 

issued and shall contain the word "rebuilt" on its face.   

 

(3) If, after the initial inspection, the commissioner determines that the damage is so extensive that 

returning such vehicle to a safe, operable condition is impossible, the salvage certificate shall be revoked 

and such vehicle may only be used for scrap or parts. A vehicle for which such a determination is made 

shall not be issued a title under any circumstances or conditions including but not limited to obtaining of a 

surety bond.   

 

(e)  Any person, firm, or corporation who rebuilds or repairs a motor vehicle whose current certificate of 

title is marked "salvage" shall make application for and obtain a certificate of title as provided in this Code 

section prior to the sale or transfer of said motor vehicle.  If, under the laws of any other state, a vehicle has 

been declared to be nonrebuildable, the commissioner shall not issue any certificate of title for such vehicle 

and the vehicle shall not be used for any purpose except parts.   

 

(f)(1) Motorcycles which are over 25 years old shall be exempt from the salvage laws of this state.   

 

(2) Motor vehicles which have been altered by the installation of a glider kit shall be issued a certificate 

of title containing the word "rebuilt."    
 

 


