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Rule 560-13-2-.01 State Hotel-Motel Fee 

(1) Purpose. This Rule addresses the state hotel-motel fee imposed pursuant to O.C.G.A. §§ 
48-13-50.2, 48-13-50.3, and 48-13-50.4. 

(2) Definitions. For purposes of this Rule only: 

(a) “Accommodation” means the “retail sale”, as defined under O.C.G.A. § 48-8-
2(31), of any room or lodging that is furnished for value to the public and 
provides physical shelter. 

(b) “Extended Stay Rental” means an Accommodation for longer than 30 consecutive 
days to the same customer; 

(c) “Franchisee” means a franchisee as defined in 16 C.F.R. 436.1. 

(d) “Franchisor” means a franchisor as defined in 16 C.F.R. 436.1.  

(e) “Innkeeper” means: 

1.  Any person that furnishes Accommodations in a county or municipality 
and that is licensed by, or required to pay business or occupation taxes to, 
such municipality or county for operating a hotel, motel, inn, lodge, tourist 
camp, tourist cabin, campground, or any other place where 
Accommodations are regularly furnished for value; or  

2. a Marketplace Innkeeper.  

(f) “Marketplace Innkeeper” means a person, except for certain franchisors as set 
forth in paragraph (6)(h), 

1. who contracts with a Marketplace Seller, in exchange for any form of 
consideration, to make available or facilitate on behalf of the Marketplace 
Seller the rental or lease of any Accommodation by (directly or through 
any agreement or arrangement with another person): 
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(i) collecting, charging, processing, or otherwise similarly facilitating 
payment of such rental or lease on behalf of the Marketplace 
Seller; and  

(ii) providing a service that makes available or facilitates such rental or 
lease in any manner. Such service may include, but is not limited 
to, promoting, marketing, advertising, taking orders or reservations 
for such rental or lease; providing the physical or electronic 
infrastructure that brings purchasers and Marketplace Sellers 
together for such rental or lease; or otherwise similarly assisting 
the Marketplace Seller in making such rental or lease, or 
transmitting or otherwise similarly communicating the offer and 
acceptance between the Marketplace Seller and the purchaser for 
such rental or lease, or otherwise similarly assisting the 
Marketplace Seller for such rental or lease. Such service excludes 
merely processing the payments for such rental or lease;  

and 

2.  who facilitates, in the manner described in paragraph (2)(f)1. above, retail 
sales (including rentals and leases of Accommodations) that are subject to 
Georgia sales and use tax, if the total value such facilitated sales, 
combined with the facilitator’s own retail sales that are subject to Georgia 
sales and use tax, equals or exceeds $100,000.00 in aggregate in the 
previous or current calendar year. 

(g)  “Marketplace Seller” means a person that conducts a retail sale through or 
facilitated by any physical or electronic marketplace or platform operated directly 
or indirectly by a Marketplace Innkeeper or marketplace facilitator as defined in 
O.C.G.A. 48-8-2(18.1), regardless of whether such Marketplace Seller is required 
to be registered with the Department pursuant to Code Section 48-8-59.  

(3) Imposition. In addition to taxes of every kind imposed by law, Innkeepers must charge a 
state hotel-motel fee of $5.00 per night tax imposed on the rental or lease by an Innkeeper 
of any Accommodation, unless the rental or lease is exempted or excluded under 
paragraph (6) or is an “Extended Stay Rental” under paragraph (7).   

(4) Liability of Innkeepers, Customers, Marketplace Sellers, Marketplace Innkeepers, 
and Third Parties.  

(a) The state hotel-motel fee is a debt from the customer to the Innkeeper until it is 
paid and is recoverable at law in the same manner as authorized for the recovery 
of other debts. Any Innkeeper who neglects, fails, or refuses to collect the state 
hotel-motel fee is liable for the fee. The rental or lease of an Accommodation is 
subject to the state hotel-motel fee only if it is provided by an Innkeeper. 
However, a Marketplace Innkeeper is an Innkeeper and must remit the fee, even if 
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the owner on whose behalf the Marketplace Innkeeper facilitates the sale is not an 
Innkeeper.  

1. Example 1: Owner advertises her house as a guest rental Accommodation 
on a website operated by the local newspaper. Neither the county nor the 
city in which Owner’s house is located requires Owner to be licensed or 
pay business or occupation taxes for furnishing an Accommodation. 
Accordingly, Owner is not an Innkeeper and is not required to remit the 
state hotel-motel fee on the rental of her house. However, Owner is 
required to remit sales and use tax on the sales price of the guest’s stay. 

2. Example 2: Assume the same facts as in Example 1, except, instead of 
advertising her house on the local newspaper’s website, Owner lists her 
house on MPI.com’s website. MPI.com facilitates, on behalf of property 
owners, the rental of the owners’ houses as guest Accommodations by 
advertising the owners’ houses on its website and collecting the rental 
charges from guests on behalf of the owners. MPI.com receives a fee for 
each sale that it facilitates on behalf of the owners. The total value of the 
facilitated rentals of Accommodations that are subject to Georgia sales and 
use tax, combined with MPI.com’s own retail sales that are subject to 
Georgia sales and use tax, equals or exceeds $100,000.00 in aggregate in 
the previous or current calendar year. 

 MPI.com rents Owner’s house to a guest and collects all the charges from 
the guest. Although Owner is not an Innkeeper, MPI.com must collect the 
state hotel-motel fee on each night of the guest’s stay because MPI.com is 
Marketplace Innkeeper. MPI.com must also remit sales and use tax on the 
sales price of the guest’s stay because it facilitated the rental of Owner’s 
house as a marketplace facilitator as defined in O.C.G.A. 48-8-2(18.1) and 
a dealer as defined in O.C.G.A. § 48-8-2(8)(M.3). 

3. Example 3: Assume the same facts as in Example 1, except the county in 
which Owner’s house is located requires Owner to pay occupation taxes 
for furnishing an Accommodation. Owner must remit state hotel-motel 
fees for each night of the guest’s stay because she is an Innkeeper. Owner 
must also remit sales and use tax on the sales price of the guest’s stay. 

(b) The state hotel-motel fee is imposed on rental charges collected by a Marketplace 
Innkeeper for rentals or leases of any Accommodation that is facilitated by a 
Marketplace Innkeeper on behalf of a Marketplace Seller. The Marketplace 
Innkeeper is liable for the greater of: 

1. the full amount of applicable state hotel-motel fees imposed on all rentals 
or leases of Accommodations that it facilitates within or outside Georgia 
on behalf of a Marketplace Seller; or  
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2.  the amount of state hotel-motel fees collected by such Marketplace 
Innkeeper from all purchasers on all such rentals or leases.  

(c) A Marketplace Seller is not required to collect or remit, and is not liable for, state 
hotel-motel fees imposed on sales of Accommodations for which a Marketplace 
Innkeeper is required to collect and remit state hotel-motel fees on behalf of the 
provider.  

(d) A Marketplace Innkeeper is not liable for state hotel-motel fees that it fails to 
collect and remit to the extent that:  

1. the Marketplace Innkeeper demonstrates to the satisfaction of the 
Department that the error was due to insufficient or incorrect information 
given to the Marketplace Innkeeper by the Marketplace Seller on whose 
behalf the rental or lease of the Accommodation was facilitated;  

2. the Marketplace Innkeeper made a reasonable effort to obtain correct and 
sufficient information from such Marketplace Seller; and  

3. the Marketplace Seller and the Marketplace Innkeeper are not related 
members as defined in O.C.G.A. §48-7-28.3. 

(e) When a Marketplace Innkeeper is relieved of liability as described in paragraph 
(4)(d) above, the Marketplace Seller on whose behalf the rental or lease of the 
Accommodation was facilitated is solely liable for the uncollected state hotel-
motel fee, even if such Marketplace Seller is not an Innkeeper. 

(f) Third parties making reservations on behalf of customers must remit all state 
hotel-motel fees collected by the third parties. If a third party, other than a 
Marketplace Innkeeper, has contracted with an Innkeeper to collect taxes and/or 
fees from customers, the Department may assess and collect state hotel-motel fees 
from either the Innkeeper or the third party. 

(5) Sales and use tax base. If the state hotel-motel fee is separately itemized on the invoice, 
bill of sale, or similar document given to the customer, it is excluded from the sales price 
for purposes of calculating sales and use tax. 

(a) Example: The price to rent a hotel room for one night is $100.00. The bill shows 
$100 for one night's stay and a separate line-item of $5.00 for the state hotel-
motel fee. The state and local sales tax rate in the county where the hotel is 
located is 7%. The sales tax is, therefore, $7.00 (7% of $100.00). 

(6) Exemptions and exclusions. 

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this Rule, exemptions under O.C.G.A. §§ 48-8-3 
and 48-13-51(h) do not apply to the state hotel-motel fee. 

(b) Federal government immunity. The state hotel-motel fee does not apply to 
Accommodations rented by the federal government by a check drawn on a federal 
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government account, by a credit card centrally billed to the federal government, or 
by a federal government purchase order. 

(c) Foreign diplomats. Foreign diplomatic missions, their members, and dependents 
and Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office (TECRO), Taipei 
Economic and Cultural Offices (TECOs), their employees and dependents are 
exempt from the state hotel-motel fee to the same extent they are exempt from 
sales and use tax. 

(d) Student housing. A facility providing housing to students pursuant to a contract 
with a school is not subject to the state hotel-motel fee, so long as the facility does 
not provide housekeeping, linen, or other customary hotel services. 

(e) Special care facilities. A facility that is registered with or licensed by a Georgia 
state governmental agency, whether publicly or privately owned and operated, 
which accepts persons who require special care on account of age, illness, or 
mental or physical incapacity, and which provides this special care by nurses, 
orderlies, or aides, is not an Accommodation. Accordingly, the units in this type 
of facility are not subject to the state hotel-motel fee. Examples of these types of 
facilities are nursing homes, rest homes, convalescent homes, maternity homes, 
homes for persons with disabilities, residence homes for adults, assisted living 
facilities, and similar facilities. 

(f) Accommodations used by the Innkeeper. Accommodations used by the Innkeeper 
in the regular course of business, for which no consideration is received, are not 
subject to the state hotel-motel fee. Examples include, but are not limited to, 
Accommodations provided to: 

1. Quality assurance inspectors; 

2. A weekend manager on duty; 

3. A food and beverage team assisting with in-house events. 

(g) Complimentary Accommodations. Complimentary Accommodations for which 
no rent or other consideration is paid are not subject to the state hotel-motel fee. 
The following Accommodations are not complimentary and are, therefore, subject 
to the state hotel-motel fee: 

1. Accommodations provided to employees of an Innkeeper at no charge if 
the Accommodations must be included in the employee's wages for 
purposes of federal income tax; 

2. Accommodations bartered as payment to vendors such as musicians and 
photographers; 

3. Accommodations purchased by redeeming reward points when the hotel 
receives consideration from a fund or other third party; and 
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4. Additional nights provided to guests who purchase a specified number of 
nights. 

(i) Example: A hotel advertises, “Buy 4 nights, get the 5th night free.” 
Taking advantage of the deal, a guest purchases 5 nights for $400. 
Each night of the guest's 5-night stay is subject to the state hotel-
motel fee. 

(ii) Example: A hotel's rate for a one-night rental of 50 rooms is 
$5000. In exchange for a guest's $5000 payment for a 50-room 
block, the hotel gives the guest an additional room for one night at 
no additional charge. Because the guest has rented 51 rooms for 
one night at the price of $5000, the state hotel-motel fee applies to 
each of the 51 rooms. 

(h)  Franchisors. A Franchisor is not a Marketplace Innkeeper with respect to any 
Innkeeper defined above that is its Franchisee, provided that 

1.  in the prior calendar year, such Franchisor and all of its Franchisees 
combined made annual gross sales in the United States of at least $500 
million in aggregate; 

2.  such Franchisee maintains a valid certificate of registration as required by 
O.C.G.A. § 48-8-59; and 

3.  such Franchisee and Franchisor maintain a valid contract providing that 
the Franchisee will collect and remit all applicable taxes and fees that the 
Franchisor would otherwise be required to collect and remit as a 
Marketplace Innkeeper for such Franchisee. 

(7) Extended Stay Rentals. 

(a) When a customer rents an Accommodation, the Innkeeper must collect the state 
hotel-motel fee regardless of whether the Accommodation is rented under a 
contract that provides that the customer will have the right to occupy the 
Accommodation for longer than 30 consecutive days. 

(b) The first 30 days of the rental are subject to the state hotel-motel fee and will not 
be refunded even if the rental becomes an Extended Stay Rental. 

(c) Once a rental becomes an Extended Stay Rental (upon the 31st day of continuous 
occupancy), no further state hotel-motel fee must be collected with respect to the 
Accommodation, provided that the customer's days of consecutive occupancy are 
not interrupted. This is so, regardless of whether the right to occupy the 
Accommodation is granted under separate, successive contracts. 

(d) Moving to a different Accommodation in the same facility does not interrupt the 
period of consecutive occupancy. 
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1. Example: A hotel customer occupies a particular room in a hotel for 10 
consecutive days and, on the 11th day, changes to a different room in the 
same hotel and occupies the second room for an additional 30 consecutive 
days. The rental becomes an Extended Stay Rental on the 21st day that the 
customer occupies the second room in the same hotel. 

(e) An extended stay occupant who transfers from one facility to a different facility, 
whether or not run by the same operator, loses Extended Stay Rental status and 
must complete the required number of days at the second hotel before the rental 
becomes an Extended Stay Rental there. Similarly, the transfer to a different 
facility by a customer who is not yet an extended stay occupant interrupts the 
number of consecutive days necessary to establish an Extended Stay Rental. 

1. Example: A customer rents a suite of rooms in a hotel. After 20 days, the 
customer moves to a different Hotel owned by the same operator. The 
customer spends another 20 days at the second hotel. The rental is not an 
Extended Stay Rental at either hotel because the customer did not occupy 
a hotel room for at least 31 consecutive days at either hotel. The customer 
may not aggregate the time spent between the two hotels to meet the 31-
consecutive-day criteria for Extended Stay Rentals. 

(f) For the purpose of determining whether a business entity qualifies as an extended 
stay occupant of an Accommodation, days that the business pays rent for the 
Accommodation, regardless of whether the Accommodation is actually occupied, 
are considered days that the Accommodation is occupied by the business, 
provided that the employee, customer, client, or other person staying in the 
Accommodation does not reimburse or pay the business for the right to occupy 
the Accommodation. However, days for which an employee, customer, client, or 
other person pays or reimburses the business for the right to occupy the 
Accommodation, whether as part of a package or otherwise, are considered days 
that the Accommodation is occupied by that person and are not considered days 
of occupancy by the business. The renewal of a rental contract between a business 
and a provider of Accommodations, as long as the rental is continuous, does not 
interrupt the business's occupancy. 

1. Example: A company rents three hotel rooms. One room is occupied by an 
employee of the company, one room is occupied by a client, and the last 
room remains unoccupied. The employee does not pay for the right to 
occupy the room; however, the client compensates the company for use of 
the room. The days that the room is occupied by the company's employee 
and the days that the third room remains unoccupied are considered to be 
days of occupancy for the company with respect to such rooms. 
Accordingly, after 31 consecutive days of occupancy, the company is 
considered to be an extended stay occupant of the two rooms. The days 
that the room is occupied by the company's client, however, are not 
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considered to be days that the room is occupied by the company. 
Consequently, the company cannot become an extended stay occupant 
with respect to the room that is occupied by the client. 

(g) If an extended stay occupant permits the hotel to rent his or her Accommodation 
to other customers during the occupant's temporary absence, and the occupant 
does not have the right to occupy any other Accommodation in the hotel during 
that absence, the occupant's period of consecutive occupancy in that hotel is 
considered to have ended. Therefore, when the occupant resumes occupancy in 
the hotel, he or she will not be considered an extended stay occupant of the hotel 
until a new 31-day period of consecutive occupancy is established. The customer 
to whom the Accommodation is rented during the former extended stay 
occupant's absence may establish extended stay status based on whether such 
customer occupies the Accommodation for the requisite number of consecutive 
days. 

(8) Guaranteed no-show revenue. When the agreement between the Innkeeper and 
customer provides that the Accommodation will not be released or offered to other 
occupants even if the customer never occupies the Accommodation, the Innkeeper must 
collect the state hotel-motel fee for every night for which the customer has reserved and 
paid for the Accommodation, regardless of whether the customer actually stays in the 
Accommodation. 

(9) Returns. Innkeepers must report and remit the state hotel-motel fee electronically on a 
separate return on or before the 20th day of the month following the month of collection. 
Innkeepers must file a return even for months during which no Accommodations were 
provided. If an Innkeeper fails to collect the state hotel-motel fee, the Innkeeper must 
report and remit the state hotel-motel fee on or before the 20th day of the month 
following the month of an Accommodation for which the state hotel-motel fee should 
have been collected. Only one return and one state hotel-motel fee account number are 
required, even if the Innkeeper has multiple locations. 

(10) Penalties and interest. 

(a) When any Innkeeper fails to file a return or to pay the full amount of the state 
hotel-motel fee due, in addition to other penalties provided by law, a penalty will 
be added to the fee in the amount of 5 percent or $5.00, whichever is greater, if 
the failure is for not more than 30 days. An additional penalty of 5 percent or 
$5.00, whichever is greater, will be added for each additional 30 days or fraction 
of 30 days during which the failure continues. The penalty for any single violation 
must not exceed 25 percent or $25.00 in the aggregate, whichever is greater. If the 
failure is due to reasonable cause shown to the satisfaction of the commissioner in 
affidavit form attached to the return and remittance is made within ten days of the 
due date, the return may be accepted exclusive of penalties and interest. In the 
case of a false or fraudulent return or of a failure to file a return where willful 
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intent exists to defraud the State of the state hotel-motel fee, a penalty of 50 
percent of the fee due will be assessed. 

(b) The state hotel-motel fee bears interest in accordance with O.C.G.A. § 48-2-40. 

(11) Vendors' compensation. In reporting and paying state hotel-motel fees, each Innkeeper 
is allowed the following deduction, but only if the return was timely filed and the amount 
due was not delinquent at the time of payment: 

(a) A deduction of 3 percent of the first $3,000.00 of the combined total amount 
reported due on such return for each location; and 

(b) A deduction of one-half of 1 percent of that portion exceeding $3,000.00 of the 
combined total amount reported due on such return for each location. 

(12) Periods of limitation for assessment of state hotel-motel fees. 

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph, in the case where a return is filed, 
the state hotel-motel fee must be assessed within three years after the return was 
filed. A return filed before the last filing day prescribed by law will be considered 
as filed on the last day. If an extension of time for filing a return is granted and 
the return is filed on or before the extended date, the return will be considered as 
filed on the extended due date. 

(b) In the case of a false or fraudulent return filed with the intent to evade the state 
hotel-motel fee or a failure to file a return, the state hotel-motel fee may be 
assessed at any time. 

(c) Where, before the expiration of the time prescribed in this paragraph for the 
assessment of the state hotel-motel fee, both the commissioner and the person 
subject to assessment have consented in writing to its assessment after such time, 
the state hotel-motel fee may be assessed at any time prior to the expiration of the 
agreed upon period. The period so agreed upon may be extended by subsequent 
agreements in writing made before the expiration of the previously agreed upon 
period. The commissioner is authorized in any such agreement to extend similarly 
the period within which a claim for refund may be filed. 

(d) If a claim for refund of state hotel-motel fees paid for any period is filed within 
the last six months of the period during which the commissioner may assess the 
amount of state hotel-motel fees, the assessment period is extended for a period of 
six months beginning on the day the claim for refund is filed. 

(e) No action without assessment may be brought for the collection of any state hotel-
motel fee after the expiration of the period for assessment. 

(13) Refunds. State hotel-motel fees erroneously or illegally assessed and collected and 
interest on those fees will be refunded in accordance with O.C.G.A. § 48-2-35. Refund 
claims must be filed electronically on the Georgia Tax Center website. Refund claims 
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submitted in any other manner will not be accepted. When a Hotel customer files a refund 
claim, the Claim for Refund must be accompanied by a properly completed Waiver of 
Vendor's Rights (Form ST-12A) or a Purchaser's Claim for Sales Tax Refund Affidavit 
(Form ST-12B). When the claimant has remitted state hotel-motel fees directly to the 
Department, the ST-12A and ST-12B are not required. 

Authority: O.C.G.A. §§ 48-2-12, 48-13-50.2, 48-13-50.3, 48-13-50.4, 48-2-35, 48-2-40.
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