

# Georgia Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Bulletin Alternative Fuel and Low-Speed Vehicles Annual Licensing Fees Effective July 1, 2021

Under Georgia law, certain Alternative Fuel Vehicles and Low-Speed Vehicles are subject to annual licensing fees. These fees must be adjusted each year according to a statutory formula based on the percentage increase or decrease in average motor vehicle fuel efficiency as measured by the United States Department of Energy. The purpose of this bulletin is to announce the updated fee amounts.

Effective July 1, 2021, the annual Alternative Fuel Vehicle and Low-Speed Vehicle licensing fees set out below must be paid at the time of initial registration or annual renewal of all qualifying vehicles.

<b>Commercial Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fee:</b>	\$320.65
Non-Commercial Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fee:	\$213.70
Low-Speed Vehicle Fee:	\$100.00

#### These fees apply to the following alternative fuel vehicles:

- Vehicles that operate solely on electricity, regardless of whether the owner uses an alternative fuel vehicle license plate.
- Plug-in hybrid-electric or flex fuel vehicles (such as E-85), **but only if** those vehicles have elected an alternative fuel vehicle license plate.

### These fees <u>do not</u> apply to the following alternative fuel vehicles:

- Vehicles that operate primarily on compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas.
- Hybrid-electric vehicles that are not plug-in hybrid-electric vehicles.

### Low-speed vehicles (NEW for July 1, 2021):

- Beginning July 1, 2021, low-speed vehicles will be subject to a lower alternative fuel vehicle fee than other alternative fuel motor vehicles.
- "Low-speed vehicle" means any four-wheeled vehicle whose top speed attainable in one mile is greater than 20 miles per hour but not greater than 25 miles per hour on a paved level surface and which is manufactured or converted to comply with standards based upon those federal motor vehicle safety standards for low-speed vehicles set forth in <u>49</u>
  C.F.R. Section 571.500, as amended.
- Beginning July 1, 2022, low-speed vehicle fees will be subject to the same formula for annual fuel economy adjustments as other alternative fuel vehicle fees.

## FOR MORE INFORMATION

The Alternative Fuel Vehicle licensing fees are published annually and posted to the Department of Revenue website each year. Should you have any questions regarding this bulletin, please visit our website at <u>http://dor.georgia.gov/</u> or call the Motor Vehicle Division call center between 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., ET, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, at 1-855-406-5221.