

# **GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE**

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION

P.O. Box 740381, Atlanta, GA 30374-0381 • Tel: 1-855-406-5221

David M. Curry, Revenue Commissioner • Georgia Steele, Director

### NOTICE TO LEASING COMPANIES

## Mandatory \$100 Leasing Company Registration Fee

#### Why are we receiving notification?

Beginning **May 27, 2019**, with the launch of the Department of Revenue's (DOR) Driver Record and Integrated Vehicle Enterprise System (DRIVES), any motor vehicle leasing company that leases motor vehicles for more than 31 consecutive days to lessees residing in Georgia must register online with the DOR and pay a \$100 annual registration fee.

#### What do we need to do?

Leasing companies should go to the "Leasing Company Registration" tab on the Department of Revenue's Motor Vehicle Division website, <u>dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles</u>, to register online and pay the \$100 annual registration fee.

Regardless of when a leasing company initially registers, <u>all</u> leasing companies must renew their registration annually and pay the \$100 annual fee by July 1<sup>st</sup> each year.

#### What will happen if I do not register and pay the \$100 annual registration fee?

If you do not register and pay the \$100 annual registration fee, you may face a penalty of \$2,500.

