Transporter Registration

Transporter Registrations can be done at the MVD Office by mail or through the drop-off box:

  1. Completed Form MV-6D Application for Transporter License Plate.
  2. Completed Form MV-6A Authorize/Add/Delete Agents Application.
  3. Completed MV-6C Dealer, Distributor, Manufacturer & Transporter Renewal Application.
  4. Photocopy of Georgia Business License or Georgia Occupational License.
  5. Proof of publicly listed telephone number(s) in Georgia.
    Note: Cell phones are not accepted.
  6. Photocopy of proof of your State of Georgia Tax ID number.
  7. Photocopy of Form ST2 Georgia Sales Tax Certificate (DOR/Sales & Use Tax Division 1-877-423-6711)
  8. Photocopy of each authorized agent/representative’s Georgia Driver’s License or ID card.
  9. Completed Motor Vehicle Affidavit for Citizenship Verification.
  10. When applying for more than 2 additional license plates, completed MV-6B Dealer, Distributor, Manufacturer, & Transporter Application for Additional Tags certifying the number of vehicles the applicant transported during the previous calendar year based on business records.  When recording actual number, the “Actual Number” box must be checked. Only three license plates (one master and two additional) will be issued without showing number of vehicles transported in previous year on form MV-6B.
  1. Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).
  2. US DOT Number (if applicable). Available online:
    1. U.S. Department of Transportation website: http://www.dot.gov.
    2. Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) website: http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov 1-800-832-5660.
  3. Photographs of signs and sales rooms or offices to validate established place of business in Georgia.
  4. Check or money order for the total fees due payable to the Department of Revenue
    1. $62.00 master license plate fee.
    2. $12.00 for each additional license plate requested.
  5. Submitted to MVD:

In person or drop off box:

DOR/Motor Vehicle Division
Attn: Business Registration Unit
4125 Welcome All Road
Atlanta, Georgia 30349

By mail at:

DOR/Motor Vehicle Division
Attn: Business Registration Unit
P. O. Box 740381
Atlanta, Georgia 30374-0381

  1. Email questions to business.registration@dor.ga.gov

The Department has the right to limit the number of additional license plates issued when the numbers certified in affidavit Form MV-6B differs from the Department’s records, business records, or investigative findings. The Department may request additional documents to validate the need for additional license plates.

Transporter license plates can be used:

  • To transport a vehicle from one location to another as defined in DOR Regulations

Transporter license plates cannot be used:

  • On privately owned vehicles
  • Vehicles for hire or lease
  • Vehicles used in operations of a business such as rentals, delivery, parts delivery, towing, rollbacks, courtesy, or other manner
  • By employees, officers, friends or family members of employees or officials of the business

You are subject to fines by law enforcement if you use these license plates illegally. After a department hearing, it is determined that these license plates were unlawfully used, license plates may be revoked and confiscated.

Note:  If you go out-of-business, you must turn in all license plates, with a signed letter indicating the reason for return, to the MVD Business Registration Unit at the address shown above.

Replace a Transporter license plate:

Submit the following to the MVD Business Registration Unit:

  1. Damaged license plate or copy of the police report, detailing how the plate was lost or stolen (lost transporter license plate number must be listed on report).
  2. Copy of valid Georgia Driver’s License or ID card.
  3. Completed Form MV-6D Application for Transporter License Plate.
  4. Check or money order for $12.00 payable to the Department of Revenue.
  5. If license plate was lost in the mail prior to your receipt, completed Form T-200 Affidavit of Non-Receipt of an Original License Plate/Renewal Decal in lieu of $12.00 payment.