
Have a question? Visit our website at http://dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles or scan the QR code above for more information. 

 

MV-20 (Revised 6-2016) 
    Web and MV Manual 

Georgia Department of Revenue - Motor Vehicle Division 
Request for Vehicle Information 

 

Purpose of this Form: This form is to be used to request information for vehicles titled or registered in the State of Georgia.  

How to submit this Form: This completed form, legibly printed or typed, must be submitted along with all required document(s) and fees to the Georgia 
Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division. Any alteration or correction voids this form. Please mail completed form, required documentation(s) and fees to 
ATTN: Title Processing – Research, DOR/Motor Vehicle Division, P.O. Box 740381, Atlanta, GA 30374.  

Required Document(s): You must provide a legible copy of a driver’s license or other proof of identity that includes a picture of the person making the request. If 
you are not the owner of the vehicle, a dealer or a law enforcement officer, you must submit Form MV-20A or information required for production of 
information/documents in response to a request for confidential motor vehicle records.  

A REQUESTOR’S INFORMATION 

Check One: 

[   ]  Vehicle Owner 

[   ]  Vehicle Dealer (Attach State License or Registration) 

[   ]  Judgment Creditor (Attach Certified writ of fieri facias) 

[   ]  Attorney (Attach Bar Association Card & Subpoena or court stamped litigation) 

[   ]  Law Enforcement Officer (Attach Accident Report) 

[   ]  Other (Attach justification under the federal Drivers Privacy Protection Act) 

 

Requestor’s 
Full Legal Name: 

First Name Middle Initial Last Name Suffix 

 

Business Name: 
Inc., LLC, DBA, Government Entity, etc. 

5 

 

Mailing Address: 
Street No. Street Name Apt/Suite No.  

 

City:  State:  ZIP Code:  Telephone No:  
 

B VEHICLE INFORMATION 

Vehicle Identification No. (VIN):                  

 

Year:  Make:  Model:  

 

Title No.:                 State of Issuance:  
 

Vehicle Owner’s Full Legal Name: 
If not owner submitting this request. 

First Name Middle Initial Last Name Suffix 

 

 

C REQUEST ITEMS AND FEES 

Check Item(s): 

[   ]  Tag/Title/Lien Vehicle Information Printout - $1.00 

[   ]  General Salvage Vehicle Information Printout - $1.00 

[   ]  Title History - $5.00 per application 

[   ]  Letter of Verification - $5.00 

[   ]  Certification of Tag/Title/Lien - $14.00 per application 

[   ]  Salvage Letter/Certification - $14.00 

D CERTIFICATION 

The Department of Revenue will redact any personal information on any page that is not responsive to this information request or prohibited under the federal 
Drivers Privacy Protection Act 18 U.S.C. §2721 et. seq. (Public Law 103-322).  Personal information is defined as “information that identifies and individual, 
including an individual’s photograph, social security number, driver identification number, name, address, telephone and medical or disability information, but 
does not include information on vehicular accidents, driving violations and driving status.” 

By signing below, the undersigned does hereby solemnly swear and affirm under criminal penalty of a felony for fraudulent use of a false or fictitious name or 
address or for making a material false statement punishable by a fine of up to $5,000.00 or by imprisonment of up to 5 years, or both, that the representations 
made on this form and on any other required document or request is true and accurate.  The undersigned does further acknowledge that any information 
received cannot be published, re-disclosed or used to contact individuals except for a permissible purpose pursuant to the federal Drivers Privacy Protection Act 
18 U.S.C. §2721 et. seq. (Public Law 103-322). 

Driver’s License No.:  Signature:  Date:  
 

 

http://dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles


Have a question? Visit our website at http://dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles or scan the QR code above for more information. 

INSTRUCTIONS 
How to complete the MV-20 form. 

 

COMPLETING the APPLICATION  

 Complete the requestor’s information. Check the box that corresponds to the type of customer you are and record your full legal name, the person or 
business you represent (if applicable), your physical address and telephone number.  

 Complete the vehicle information for which information is being requested. If you are not the current owner of the vehicle you are requesting information for, 
please provide the current vehicle owner’s information. 

 Check the information you are requesting and submit the listed fees along with this form. 

 Certify all statements are true and accurate. Sign, date and record the vehicle owner’s driver’s license. 

REQUIRED DOCUMENT/INFORMATION  

 A legible copy of a driver’s license or other proof of identity that includes a picture of the person making the request. 

 A self-addressed, postage paid envelope if the information is to be mailed to you. 

 If you are not the owner of the vehicle, a dealer or a law enforcement officer, you must complete and submit one (1) of the following: 

» Form MV-20A (Information required for production of documents in response to a subpoena for confidential motor vehicle records) or  

» Information required for production of information/documents in response to a request for confidential motor vehicle records. 

 Depending on your customer type, document or information listed below must be submitted: 

REQUESTOR REQUIRED DOCUMENT/INFORMATION 

Vehicle Owner  

Vehicle Dealer  State License or Registration 

Law Enforcement Officer  Accident Report 

Judgment Creditor  Certified writ of fieri facias. 

Attorney  Bar Association Card 
 Subpoena or court stamped litigation 

Other   Justification under the federal Drivers Privacy Protection Act 

  
 

FEES  

 Tag/Title/Lien Vehicle Information Printout: $1.00 

 General Salvage Vehicle Information Printout: $1.00 

 Title History: $5.00 

 Letter of Verification: $5.00 

 Salvage Letter/Certification: $14.00 

 Certification of Tag/Title/Lien: $14.00  
(Must be requested in seven (7) days in advance) 

 
 

SUBMITTING this FORM  

This completed form, legibly printed or typed, must be submitted along with all required documents and fees to the Georgia Department of Revenue, Motor 
Vehicle Division at: 

ATTN: Title Processing – Research 
DOR/Motor Vehicle Division 
P.O. Box 740381 
Atlanta, Georgia 30374 
 

 

IMPORTANT  

 The Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division releases vehicle information according to state and federal law. 

 DO NOT pay a fee unless you are eligible to receive vehicle information. Fees are not refunded. 

 

 

http://dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles
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