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* You can only miss 5% of this class
e 20 hours X 5%= 1 Hour

47 Georgia Department of Revenue

Georgia Department of Revenue
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; Georgia Department of Revenue

» Please place cell phones on silent
or on vibrate! Guilty offenders
may be subject to stand up & sing
a solo of “America the Beautiful”.

-

’ Georgié Depéf’tment of Revenue

Specialized Assessments Workshop
 Attendees introductions

Georgia Department of Revenue

Outline

Definitions & “The Assessment of Tangible Property”(48-5-7)
Brownfield Property

Rehabilitated Historic Property

Landmark Historic Property

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural Property
Conservation Use and Residential Transitional Property
Forest Land Protection Act

Exam composed of 40 multiple choice and True/False
Questions




‘ Georgia Department of Revenue

GA Statutes

48-5-7.6 Brownfield Property
48-5-7.2 Rehabilitated Historic
48-5-7.3 Landmark Historic
48-5-7.1 Preferential Assessment
48-5-7.4 Conservation Use & Residential Transitional
48-5-7.7 Forest Land Protection Act of 2008

-

3 Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5-2 Definitions Pages 5-8

Current use value of conservation use
property

Current use value of res. transitional
property

Fair market value of property

Fair market value of historic property

Fair market value of landmark historic
property

Fair market value of Brownfield property

2 Georgia Department of Revenue
48-5-2 Definitions Con’t

* O.C.G.A §48-5-2 & 48-5-7.7

» Defines “forest land conservation use
value”

» Defines “forest land fair market value”




‘ Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property

O.C.G.A. 48-5-7.6
Page 17

May 14, 2003

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property
Page 17

Defined as:
Tangible real property where
— There has been a release of hazardous waste,
cogstituents and substances into the environment,
an
— an approved corrective action plan or compliance
status report for the prospective purchaser has been
approved by EPD, and
— a limitation of liability certificate has been issued to
the prospective purchaser, and
— EPD has certified eligible costs of remediation.
(Bottom of page 28)

: Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property

Property owner responsibilities:

Submit application (with required certifications)
to Board of Tax Assessors Page 19(c)

Submit annual sworn affidavit with savings and
costs Page 21 (f)




Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property

Responsibilities of Board of Tax Assessors:
— Approve (or deny) preferential assessment within 90
days (Page 19)(c)
— Establish preferential appraised value
« Value is lesser of the acquisition cost or the fair
market value from the tax assessor as of the date
application is made to EPD.
* Must be noted as “Brownfield Property” on digest
Page 20 (d)(2)
* (FMV X .40= Base value) Page 23 (3)
— BOA Continues to track annual FMV

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Page 20 e(1) Brownfield Property

Property is disqualified when one of the following
occur:

Written notice from taxpayer requesting

removal from the preferential classification &

Assessment

Sale or transfer of property to an exempt entity

Revocation of limitation of liability by DNR

Expiration of 10 years OR

Tax savings accrued equals the eligible costs

certified by EPD of DNR

5 Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property Pg. 20 &21 (D)&(E)

Preferential Assessment carries a net
value of the difference between the fair
market value & ‘base’ year value for a
period of 10 Years, or

The tax savings accrued equals certified
eligible costs, or

The owner fails to abide by the corrective
action plan




: Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property
Pages 21-22

All or part of the property can be

transferred(or leased) to another owner

New owners must jointly submit sworn

affidavit stating the eligible Brownfield costs

being transferred to the subdivided property

Notice to be given to county within 90 days

after the date of the transfer Page 22 (g)(5)

Contents of notice is Pg. 22 (h)(2)(A)

-

1 Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property Example

FMV at time of Contamination= $2,500

“Base Value” = 1,000 (Assessed Value on Digest at time of
Certification)

Fair Market Value = 500,000 (200,000 Assessed Value)

200,000 - 1,000 = 199,000 (Savings or SB Amount)
(AV) - (Base) = Savings or SB Amount

199,000 * 30 mills = $5,970 Savings
(Savings) * Millage Rate = Tax Savings

ek Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property
????APPLICATION??7??

The taxing authority shall provide an appropriate
form or forms or space on an existing form or
forms to implement this Code section.

Page 23(k)

Each County must customize their own




ipE Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property
Pg. 23-24 (m)

Breach is applicable to entire tract
Twice the difference between the total
amount of tax paid and the total amount of
taxes which would otherwise have been
due had the property not been in the
program
Penalties & interest constitute a lien
against the property

-

} Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property
Page24 (0)(1)
Property may be eligible for a period of up to
15 years if:

. Construction of improvements on the
property commenced but thereafter
ceased for a period in excess of 180 days

2 Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property
Page24(0)(1)(A)(B)(C)

« After a delay in excess of 180 days,
construction resumed, and

« The owner of the property submits a sworn
certification to the BOA stating the date on
which construction first commenced, the
date construction ceased, the date
construction resumed.




ipE Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property

Page24(0)(2)

« Upon receipt of the certification required
by subparagraph (C) of paragraph (1) the
BOA shall extend the preferential
assessment for one year for each 365
days of construction inactivity for a
maximum of five consecutive years.

-

} Georgia Department of Revenue
Brownfield Property
Page24(0)(2) (con't)
¢ Under no circumstances shall the period of

preferential assessment exceed 15
consecutive years

2 Georgia Department of Revenue

Brownfield Property
« Non-technical Explanation on Pages 25-6

* FAQ's Pages 27-30
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: 'G)eorgié Depaf’tment of Revenue
Rehabilitated Historic Property
and Landmark Historic

0O.C.G.A. 48-5-7.2 & O.C.G.A. 48-5-7.3
Pages 33,46

Georgia Department of Revenue

Rehabilitated Historic

0O.C.G.A. 48-5-7.2
Page 33

391-5-11- Regulations
Page 39

10



Georgia Department of Revenue

Rehabilitated Historic Property

« Eligibility Requirements: Pg. 32
— Property must qualify for listing on the Georgia
Register of Historic Places
— Structures must be Substantially Rehabilitated
 Residential - 50%
* Income Producing - 100%
* Hybrid - 75%
* Meet DNR Standards Pg. 32 (C)
« Certified by DNR as eligible Pg. 32 (D)

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Rehabilitated Historic Property
Requirements continued
— Structure being improved and up to two acres
Page 33 (2)
— Preliminary certification (Part A) Pg. 34 (c)
— Must complete within 24 months- BOA freezes AV
during rehabilitation up to two years

— Upon completion get final certification (Part B) from
DNR and file with the Board of Assessors (Not a
requirement anymore as per next slide)

- Pg.34(d&e)

Georgia Department of Revenue

**xxxPan aIty*****

48-5-7.2 Page 35 (f)
(f) A property owner who fails to have property
classified as rehabilitated historic property and listed
on the Georgia Register of Historic Places for the
preferential assessment shall be required to pay the
difference between the amount of taxes on the
property during the period that the assessment was
frozen pursuant to the provisions of subsection (c) of
this Code section and the amount of taxes which
would have been due had the property been assessed
at the regular fair market value, plus interest at the
rate prescribed in Code Section 48-2-40.

(See Judicial Decision on page 37)

11



‘ Georgia Department of Revenue

Rehabilitated Historic Property
Frozen Value Pg. 34(c) & 35(3)

e Valuation is as of January 1st after receipt of
Part A

When taxpayer submits Part A the tax
assessment shall not increase during the period
of rehabilitation up to two years

After rehabilitation the greater of the Assessor
Value at the time of submission of Part A or the
Sale Price is frozen for the next 6 years

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Rehabilitated Historic Property

Purchase price or FMV (higher) Pg. 35 (9)(3)

— Net Assessed Value is Frozen for eight years

— Ninth year - half way between FMV and frozen value

— Tenth year —Remove exemption and FMV X .40 is used.

— The Department of Natural Resources has the authority to
decertify any property which no longer possesses the
qualities and features which made it eligible for the
Georgia Register of Historic Places or which has been
altered through inappropriate rehabilitation as determined
by the Department of Natural Resources Pg. 36 (h)(3)

— Sale or transfer to a new owner does not disqualify the
property as long as it continues to qualify as rehabilitated
historic property.

: Georgia Department of Revenue

Rehabilitated Historic Property

— Preferential treatment ends at end of year 9
UNLESS the owner performs further
rehabilitation work and if so the application
process must start over again. Page 36(h) (4)

— Typical example found on Pages 37-8

— INSTRUCTIONS Pages 131-157

— Actual Application on Pages 159-172

12
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5 Georgié ﬁépa?t'ment of Revenue

Landmark Historic Property

0.G.G.A. 48-5-7.3
Page 46

; Georgia Department of Revenue
Landmark Historic Property
« Eligibility Requirements Pgs. 45-6

— Certified by DNR as on National or Georgia Register of
Historic Places

— Certified by Local Government as Landmark Historic
Property pursuant to a local preservation committee
and formed by Existing Local Ordinance (Usually local
Historical Society)

— Application to BTA must include certifications

13



Georgia Department of Revenue

Landmark Historic Property

* Guidelines Pgs. 46-7 cont

— Applies only to the qualified building, the land under it,
and up to 2 acres surrounding the building Page 47(a)
(2

— The remaining property shall be assessed for tax
purposes as otherwise provided by law. Page 47(a)
@

— It can be income producing property, non income
producing, or a combination of both provided it
conforms to local zoning as to the use. Page 47(a) (3)

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Landmark Historic Property

« Valuation
— Frozen at higher of Purchase Price or FMV for
1st eight years
— Ninth year - half way between FMV and
frozen value
—FMV in 10th year

— UNLESS it becomes disqualified pursuant to
paragraph (e) (1) found on page 48

5 Georgia Department of Revenue

**Penalty** Pg. 48(E)(2)

» Except as otherwise provided in this Code
section, if a property becomes disqualified
pursuant to any provision of this subsection, the
decertification shall be transmitted to the county
board of tax assessors and said assessors shall
appropriately notate the property as decertified.
Such property shall not be eligible to receive the
preferential assessment provided for in this
Code section during the taxable year in which
such disqualification occurs. 48-5-7.3(e)(2)

e *(Current year's savings plus interest is the
penalty.)

14



; Georgia Department of Revenue

?2????Questions???7??

-

) Georgié bépéft'ment of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural
Property
* O.C.G.A. 48-5-7.1 Page 53

: rGeorQié Ijépié'ftment of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural
Property
* As defined in the Constitution of the State of Georgia in
Article VII. Section I. Paragraph lIl. (c)

= Tangible real property, but no more than 2000 acres
of any single property owner, which is devoted to
bona fide agricultural purposes shall be assessed for
ad valorem taxation purposes at 75% of the value
which other tangible real property is assessed.

= Assessed at 30% of Fair Market Value

15



‘ Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for

Agricultural Property
Pages 52 & 53
« Property devoted to bona fide agriculture usage
— Primary use must be good faith commercial
production of an agricultural product
— Can include up to $100,000 value for production or
storage buildings used for ag. purposes only
— Excludes all residences, residential storage bldgs. on
the property & land under & around residences
(typically one acre per residence)
— Limited to 2000 acres

— Owner may designate acreage to be excluded from
covenant at time of application.

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural Property
Page 53 con't

* Ownership Requirements

= Property must be owned by
= One or more natural or naturalized citizens

= A family farm corporation with certain qualifications(see next
slide)

: Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural Property

Ownership Requirements Con’t Page 53(b)

?12) If it is owned by a family-farm corporation,
the controlling interest of which is owned by
individuals related to each other within the
fourth degree by civil reckoning, and such
corporation derived 80 percent or more of its
gross income for the year immediately
preceding the year in"which application for
preferential assessment is made from bona fide
agricultural pursuits carried out on tangible real
property located in this state, which property is
devoted to bona fide agricultural purposes.

16



Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural
Property

* (c) Tangible real property, but no more than 2,000 acres of any
single property owner, which is devoted to bona fide agricultural
purposes shall be assessed for ad valorem taxation purposes at 75
percent of the value which other tangible real property is assessed.
No property shall be entitled to receive the preferential assessment
provided for in this subparagraph if the property which would
otherwise receive such assessment would result in any person who
has a beneficial interest in such property, including any interest in
the nature of stock ownership, receiving the benefit of such
preferential assessment as to more than 2,000 acres. No property
shall be entitled to receive the preferential assessment provided for
in this subparagraph unless the conditions set out below are met:

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Georgia Constitution Article VII. Section I.
Paragraph . (c)

¢ (1) The property must be owned by:
(A) (i) One or more natural or naturalized citizens;

(i) An estate of which the devisee or heirs are one or
more natural or naturalized citizens; or

(iii) A trust of which the beneficiaries are one or more
natural or naturalized citizens; or

Georgia Department of Revenue

Georgia Constitution Article VII. Section I. Paragraph Ill. (c)
Con't

¢ (B) A family-owned farm corporation, the controlling
interest of which is owned by individuals related to each
other within the fourth degree of civil reckoning, or which
is owned by an estate of which the devisee or heirs are
one or more natural or naturalized citizens, or which is
owned by a trust of which the beneficiaries are one or
more natural or naturalized citizens, and such
corporation derived 80 percent or more of its gross
income from bona fide agricultural pursuits within this
state within the year immediately preceding the year in

which eligibility is sought.

17



: rGeorgri'é Dgpéfl"'t'ment of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural
Property Page 53

* (c) No property shall qualify for said preferential
assessment if such assessment would result in any
person who has a beneficial interest in such property,
including any interest in the nature of stock ownership,
receiving in any tax year any benefit of preferential
assessment as to more than 2,000 acres. If any taxpayer
has any beneficial interest in more than 2,000 acres of
tangible real property which is devoted to bona fide
agricultural purposes, such taxpayer shall apply for
Ipregerential assessment only as to 2,000 acres of such
and.

-

Georgié Ijgpgffment of Revenue

Page 54

Preferential Assessment for
Agricultural Property

* (e) No property shall maintain its eligibility for
preferential assessment unless a valid covenant remains
In effect and unless the property is continuously devoted
to bona fide agricultural purposes during the entire
period of the covenant.

: VGeorQi'é Iﬁgbéfffment of Revenue

_ Page 54
Preferential Assessment for

Agricultural Property

« (f) If any change in ownership of such qualified property
occurs during the covenant period, all qualification
requirements must be met again before the property shall be
eligible to be continued for preferential assessment. If
ownership of the property is acquired during a covenant
Eeriod by a person qualified to enter into an original covenant,

y a newly formed corporation the stock in which is owned by

the original covenantor or others related to the original
covenantor within the fourth degree by civil reckoning, or by
the personal representative of an owner who was a party to
the covenant, then the original covenant may be continued by
such acquiring party for the remainder of the term, in which
event n(c)i breach of the covenant shall be deemed to have
occurred.

18



‘ Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural

. Propert Page 54
Penalties perty

0O.C.G.A. 48-5-7.1(g)
A penalty shall be imposed under this subsection if
during the period of the covenant entered into by a
taxpayer the covenant is breached. The penalty shall be
computed by multiplying the amount by which the
preferential assessment has reduced taxes otherwise
due for the year in which the breach occurs times:

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural
Property _ Page 54

B~

A factor of five if the breach occurs in the first or second
year of the covenant period;

A factor of four if the breach occurs in the third or fourth
year of the covenant period

A factor of three if the breach occurs in the fifth or sixth
year of the covenant period;

A factor of two if the breach occurs in the seventh, eighth,
ninth, or tenth year of the covenant period;

Penalties Con't

: GeorQia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural
Property
Penalty Calculation Example if Breach Occurs in
Year 4:

Year 1 Tax Savings =$ 5,000
Year 2 Tax Savings = $ 5,000
Year 3 Tax Savings = $ 5,000
Year 4 Tax Savings = $ 6,000
$6,000 * 4 = $24,000 Penalty

19



: Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural

Property
Tax Savings:

Difference between 40% assessment & 30%
assessment = SA exemption amount

40% AV - 30% Preferential Assessment = SA
Exemption

Or
(FMV X .40) — (FMV X .30) = SA Exemption

-

1 Georgia Department of Revenue

30% Assessment Rule
* 100 acres with FMV of $100,000
100,000 X .75= $75,000 X .40 = $30,000 AV

OR

100,000 X .30= $30,000 AV
100,000 X .40=$40,000 Gross AV
100,000 X .30=%$30,000 Net AV

$40,000 - $30,000 = $10,000 SA
Exemption amount on digest

ek Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural

Property i
Page 54 %
0.C.G.A. 48-5-7.1(h)

A penalty imposed under subsection (g) of this
Code section shall bear interest at the rate
specified in Code Section 48-2-40 from the date
the covenant is breached.

Day after due date = 1% of Tax per month
(minimum $1.00)




‘ Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural

Property

0O.C.G.A. 48-5-7.1(i) Page 54
Penalties and interest imposed under this Code section
shall constitute a lien against the property and shall be
collected as other unpaid ad valorem taxes are collected.
Such penalties and interest shall be distributed pro rata
to each taxing jurisdiction wherein the preferential
assessment has been granted based upon the total
amount by which such preferential assessment has
reduced taxes for each such taxing jurisdiction on the
property on the property in question as provided in this
Code section.

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural

Page 55 (3 Property

Penalties not imposed in the following cases:
(1)The acquisition of all or part of the property under the
power of eminent domain;
(2) The sale of part of all of the property to a public or
private entity which would have had the authority to
acquire the property under the power of eminent domain;
or
(3) The death of an owner who was party to the
covenant

: Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural
Property

Covenant Requirements- 10 year period

Application must be recorded Page 55 (k)

If not recorded, a transferee shall not be bound
by the covenant or subject to any penalty as a
result of a breach.

21



Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural

Propert
Page 55(k) P y
+ Covenant can be continued by new owner &7

— Apply to continue during the return period in the year
following the year the transfer occurred. BOA
responsibility to file covenant with Clerk of Court.
Taxpayer pays the filing fee.

Page 56(n)

¢ Can transfer up to 5 acres for use as any purpose to a
person related within the 4t degree of civil reckoning (No
dedicated use requirement)

— Prior to 1988 there was a requirement for residential use only on
the conveyance of up to 3 ac. Itis not a requirement now.

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

e

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural
Property

Page 57 (0)(2) Penalties imposed in these situations:
Foreclosure

Medically demonstrable illness or disability

Page 58 (r.1)

Penalty imposed shall be the amount by which
preferential assessment has reduced taxes otherwise due
for the year in which the covenant is breached.

Penalty shall bear interest at 1% per month from the date
the covenant is breached. (0.C.G.A. 48-2-40).

Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural
Property

Page 58 (s) Property which is subject to preferential
assessment and which is subject to a covenant under this
Code section may be changed from such covenant and
placed in a covenant for bona fide conservation use under
Code Section 48-5-7.4 if such property meets all of the
requirements and conditions specified in Code Section
48-5-7.4. Any such change shall terminate the covenant
under this Code section, shall not constitute a breach of
the covenant under this Code section, and shall require
the establishment of a new covenant period under Code
Section 48-5-7.4. No property may be changed under this
subsection more than once.

22



Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural
Property Page 58 (t)

Release of Preferential Covenant:

« At such time as the property ceases to
be eligible for preferential assessment
or when any ten-year covenant period
expires and the property does not
qualify for further preferential
assessment, the owner of the property
shall file an application for release of
preferential treatment with the county
board of tax assessors.

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Preferential Assessment for Agricultural Property

Release of Prefer- ' Covenant: (Con’t)

e The Board of Asse’ ‘pprove the release
upon verificatic- 5 1d penalties with
respect to th- satisfied. After the
applicatio” . "roved by the
board ¢’ all file the
release . superior court
in the cou mant was
filed. The c. .dll file and
index such 1 1)) .ty records
maintained in @m'-" .o fee shall be paid
totheclerkofti _op®Y " Lrtfor recording such
release. [\

5 Georgia Department of Revenue

AG Opinion Pg. 59

« Transfer of portion of property. - Subsection

() of this section does not require that all

property subject to a covenant be transferred

before the covenant can be continued
pursuant to that provision. 1987 Op. Att'y
Gen. No. U87-14.

23



G Georgia Department of Revenue

Chapter 560-11-3-.19

Farm Property Preferential Assessment/
Application/

The preferential regulations are found
beginning on Page 59.

« Definitions, Digest Class and Strats, etc.

e Covenant Form PT 230 Page 121

e (B

: ) Georgia Dépé?t'ment of Revenue
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Conservation Use (O.C.G.A. 48-5-7.4)

Includes Residential Transitional
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use
Definition of Current Use Value of bona fide conservation
use O.C.G.A. 48-5-2 (1) Page 5 (1)

“Current use value” of bona fide conservation use
property means the amount a knowledgeable buyer
would pay for the property with the intention of
continuing the property in its existing use and in an
arm’s length bona fide sale and shall be determined
in accordance with the specifications and criteria
provided for in subsection (b) of Code Section 48-5-

269.

Application must be recorded Page 71 (j)(1) ~
If not recorded, a transferee shall not be bound by the
covenant or subject to any penalty for a breach.

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use-Residential Trans.
Page 5(3)

Definition of Current Use Value of bona fide Residential Transitional Property -
-0.C.G.A. 48-5-2-(2)

— “Current use value” of bona fide residential property means the
amount a knowledgeable buyer would pay for the property with
the intention of continuing the property in its existing use and in
an arm'’s length, bona fide sale. The tax assessor shall consider
the following criteria, as applicable, in determining the current
use value of bona fide residential transitional property

— (A) The current use of such property;

— (B) Annual productivity; and

— (C) Sales data of comparable real property with and for the same
existing use.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use
Page 69-70 (c)
RESIDENTIAL TRANSITIONAL PROPERTY
— Limited to 5 acres
— Single family owner occupied property
— Located in a transitional developing area
experiencing a change in use

— Value must have been changed to a level higher
than that of residential property in the area as a
result of its location in a transitional area

25



: Georgia Department of Revenue

QUESTION

< Can a property owner have a tract in
conservation use for the farm land and
also have a residential transitional
covenant on the residence at the same
time??

-

5 Georgia Department of Revenue

ANSWER

Yes, they can!

: Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use
2000 acres of a single person Page 65 (1)

Primary purpose must be good faith production of agricultural or timber
products
— Includes subsistence farming
Buildings on the property that are connected to the farming or
timber operation are to be included in the covenant
— Residential home and relevant improvements are excluded Page
65(a)(1)(B)
Factors which may be considered Page 66(A)(D)
— Nature of terrain
— Density of marketable product
— Past usage
— Merchantability of the agricultural product

Use or non-use of proper care, cultivation & harvesting practices normally
associated with the product being produce

26



Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use  Pg65(B)

(B) Such property excludes the entire value of any residence
located on the and its underlying property; as used in this
subparagraph, the term 'underlying property' means the
minimum lot size required for residential construction by local
zoning ordinances or two acres, whichever is less. This
provision for excluding the underlying property of a residence
from eligibility in the conservation use covenant shall only
apply to property that is first made subject to a covenant or is
subject to the renewal of a previous covenant on or after the
effective date of this subparagraph;

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use

Ownership Requirements page 66(C)

Property must be owned by

— One or more citizens

— An estate of which heirs are citizens

— Atrust of which the beneficiaries are citizens

— A family farm corporation with certain qualifications

— A bona fide nonprofit conservation organization [IRS
501(c)(3)]

— A bona fide club organized for pleasure, recreation &
other non-profitable purposes pursuant to Section
501(c)(7) IRS code

— No ownership requirements for constructed storm water
wetlands

GeorQia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use
Page 68(b) (1) (2)

Additional Rules Applying to Eligibility for Conservation Use
— Only % of a tract must be in a qualifying use for entire tract to
qualify 68-9
— Unused portion cannot be used for other type business 69
— Lease of hunting rights is not considered another business
— Unused portion must be managed so that it does not contribute to
erosion or other conservation problems.69

— Corn Mazes 73

— Agri-tourism “Play farmer for a day” Page 75(p)(7)(A)

— Wildlife habitat Page 67(a)(E)(iv) Renewals Pg. 68(a.1

— <10 ac must submit additional information regarding proof of bona
fide conservation use 69

— May lease up to 6 ac for cell tower site.
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use48-5-7.4 (b)(2) Pg 67

(2) The owner of a tract, lot, or parcel of land totaling less than ten 10 acres
shall be required by the tax assessor to submit additional relevant records
regarding proof of bona fide conservation use for qualified property that on
or after the effective date of this paragraph is either first made subject to a
covenant or is subject to a renewal of a previous covenant. If the owner of
the subject property provides proof that such owner has filed with the
Internal Revenue Service a Schedule E, reporting farm related income or
loss, or a Schedule F, with Form 1040, or, if applicable, a Form 4835,
pertaining to such property, the provisions of this paragraph, requiring
additional relevant records regarding proof of bona fide conservation use,
shall not apply to such property. Prior to a denial of eligibility under this
paragraph, the tax assessor shall conduct and provide proof of a visual on-
site inspection of the property; Reasonable notice shall be provided to the
property owner before being allowed a visual, on-site inspection of the
property by the tax assessor;

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5-7.4 (b)(4) Po. 69 (b)(4)

« (4) No property shall qualify as bona fide
conservation use property if it is leased to a
person or entity which would not be entitled to
conservation use assessment;

Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5-7.4 (b)(5) Pg. 69 (b)(5)

* (5) No property shall qualify as bona fide
conservation use property if such property is at
the time of application for current use
assessment subject to a restrictive covenant
which prohibits the use of the property for the
specific purpose described in subparagraph
(a)(1)(E) of this Code section for which bona fide
conservation use qualification is sought
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) Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5-7.4 (a)(1)(E) Pg. 67
* (E) Such property shall, if otherwise qualified,
include, but not be limited to, property used for:

— (i) Raising, harvesting, or storing crops;

— (ii) Feeding, breeding, or managing livestock
or poultry;

— (iii) Producing plants, trees, fowl, or animals,
including without limitation the production of
fish or wildlife by maintaining not less than ten
acres of wildlife habitat either in its natural
state or under management, which shall be

deemed a type of agriculture; provided,
however,

——

Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5-7.4 (a)(1)(E) Con't

« that no form of commercial fishing ¢
production shall be considered a t
agriculture;

« (iv) Production of aquaculture, horticulture,

floriculture, forestry, dairy, livestock, poultry, and
apiarian products

——

- Georgia De'péfﬁment of Revenue

48-5-7.4 (a)(1)(F)  Page 67

* The primary purpose described in this paragraph
includes land conservation and ecological forest
management in which commercial production of
wood and wood fiber products may be

undertaken primarily for conservation and

restoration purposes rather than financial gain.
= P— "
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Expiration and Renewal 70 (d)

e 48-5-7.4 (d) No property shall qualify for current use
assessment under this Code section unless and until the
owner of such property agrees by covenant with the
appropriate taxing authority to maintain the eligible
property in bona fide qualifying use for a period of ten
years beginning on the first day of January of the year in
which such property qualifies for such current use
assessment and ending on the last day of December of
the final year of the covenant period. After the owner has
applied for and has been allowed current use
assessment provided for in this Code section, it shall not
be necessary to make application thereafter for any year
in which the covenant period is in effect and current use
assessment shall continue to be allowed such owner as
specified in this Code section.

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Expiration and Renewal 68 (d)

« At least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the
covenant, the county board of tax assessors shall send
by first-class mail written notification of such impending
expiration. On the expiration of any covenant period, the
property shall not qualify for further current use
assessment under this Code section unless and until the
owner of the property has entered into a renewal
covenant for an additional period of ten years; provided,
however, that the owner may enter into a renewal
contract in the ninth year of a covenant period so that the
contract is continued without a lapse for an additional ten
years.

GeorQia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use Pg. 71(2)(a)

(2)(A) As used in this paragraph, the term 'contiguous’ means real property within a
county that abuts, joins, or touches and has the same undivided common ownership.

If an applicant's tract is divided by a county boundary, public roadway, public
easement, public right of way, natural boundary, land lot line, or railroad track, then the
applicant has, at the time of the initial application, a one-time election to declare the
tract as contiguous irrespective of a county boundary, public roadway, public easement,
public right of way, natural boundary, land lot line, or railroad track.

(B) If a qualified owner has entered into an original bona fide conservation use
covenant and subsequently acquires additional qualified property contiguous to the
property in the original covenant, the qualified owner may elect to enter the
subsequently acquired qualified property into the original covenant for the remainder
of the ten-year period of the original covenant; provided, however, that such
subsequently acquired qualified property shall be less than 50 acres."

(1)(A) The governing authority of a county shall not publish or promulgate any
information which is inconsistent with the provisions of this Chapter.
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‘ Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use

« *New* language added in 2012 from HB916 which
allows for contiguous acres to be added to the original
covenant for the remainder of the covenant life 48-5-
7.4(1)(2)(A)

— Acquire the property after entering into the original
covenant

— Property added must be less than 50 acres and
CAN'T be in an existing covenant

§
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) Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use 48-5-7.4(j)(1) Pg. 70

 Applications...When to apply
— During the annual return period i
— (During the original 45 day period that NOA’s
are out and option to file appeal is open)

— AG opinion states that CUVA may be applied
for during initial return period is that is the
ONLY time and BOE does not have authority
to grant if not during such period.

— Presentations\CUVA - BOE.PDFE

3 GeorQia Department of Revenue

48-5-311(e)(1)(A)

» Any taxpayer or property owner as of the
last date for filing an appeal may elect to file
an appeal from an assessment by the
county board of tax assessors.

» Department has issued a Position policy
concerning applying for CUVA if purchased
after January 1. See page 84 in Supplement

e Presentations\2011-05-Conservation Use
Application Policy.doc
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use
Page 66
Qualifying Uses of Environmentally Sensitive Property
— Certain mountain areas (See slope data in Manual)
— Certain wetlands
— Significant ground-water recharge areas
— Undeveloped barrier islands
— Habitats of endangered species
— River corridors
— Constructed storm-water wetlands

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use
Environmentally sensitive property, if qualified, may include:

Pages 66-67

»  crests, summits, and ridge tops;

« wetland areas as determined by the United States Army Corps of Engineers in
accordance with Section 404 of the federal Clean Water Act, as amended, or wetlands
that are shown as such on maps compiled by the Department of Natural Resources of
the United States Fish and Wildlife Service;

« significant ground-water recharge areas shown as such on maps or data compiled by
the Department of Natural Resources;

« undeveloped barrier islands or portions of undeveloped barrier islands as provided for
in the federal Coastal Barrier Resources Act, as amended;
habitats certified by the Department of Natural Resources that contain endangered or
threatened species as listed under the federal Endangered Species Act of 1973, as
amended; and
river corridors that are within the 100 year flood plain as shown on official maps
prepared by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

GeorQia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use

« Environmentally Sensitive Property
560-11-6-.03 Qualification Requirements Page 82 (b)
— In most cases it must be determined as
Environmentally sensitive by the appropriate
agency
— Excludes any improvements

— Primary use must maintain property in its
natural condition
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use Page 84
560-11-6-.04

* (4)Applications for current use valuation provided for
environmentally sensitive properties may be filed without
certification by the Department of Natural Resources;
provided, however, that the specific property is stipulated
to be environmentally sensitive. Failure to file such
certification with the board of tax assessors within thirty
(30) days of the last day for filing the application for
current use assessment may result in the application
being denied by the board of tax assessors.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Constructed Storm Water-Page 71 (K-2)

* 2) The applicable local governing authority shall accept applications for ?Jproval of
property for ﬁurposes of subf)aragraph (a)(2)(G) of this Code section and shall certi
property to the local board of tax assessors as meeting or not meeting the criteria of
such paragraph. The local governing authority shall not certify any property as
meeting the criteria of subparagraph (a)(2)(G) of this Code section unless:

* (A) The owner has submitted to the local governing authority:
— (i) A plat of the tract in question prepared by a licensed land surveyor, showing the location
and measured area of such tract;
(i) A by a licensed pi engineer that the specific design used for the
constructed storm-water wetland was recommended by the engineer as suitable for such site
after inspection and investigation; and
— (i) Information on the actual cost of constructing and estimated cost of operating the storm-
water wetland, including without limitation a description of all incorporated materials,
machinery, and equipment; and

+ (B) An authorized employee or agent of the local governing authority has inspected
the site before, during, and after construction of the storm-water wetland to determine
compliance with the requirements of subparagraph (a)(2)(G) of this Code section.

Georgia Department of Revenue




__-“4
Georgia Department of Revenue

Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use
(O.C.G.A. 48-5.7.4 (k.1) Page 71

* In the case of an alleged breach of the covenant, the owner shall
be notified in writing by the board of tax assessors. The owner
shall have a period of 30 days from the date of such notice to
cease and desist the activity alleged in the notice to be in breach
of the covenant or to remediate or correct the condition or
conditions alleged in the notice to be in breach of the covenant.
Following a h?/sical inspection of property, the board of tax
assessors shall notify the owner that such activity or activities
have or have not properly ceased or that the condition or
conditions have or have not been remediated or corrected. The
owner shall be entitled to appeal the decision of the board of tax
assessors and file an appeal disputing the findings of the board
of tax assessors. Such appeal shall be conducted in the same
manner that other property tax appeals are made pursuant to

Code Section 48-5-311.

=3

Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use
(O.C.G.A. 48-5-7.4 ()

Page 71-2 (L)
Breach with Penalty of Twice the Tax Savings:
— Sale of all or part of the property to an owner that does not
continue the covenant, or is not a qualified owner
— Changing use of property to a non-qualifying use

Penalty applicable to entire tract which was subject to original covenant
nd shall be twice the difference between the total amount of tax paid
and the amount that would have been due if assessed at fair market
value for each year or part of a year of the covenant period.
Interest begins accruing on the date the breach.

(FMV*.40) — (CUV*.40) = SV *2 * millage rate for each year in the
covenant
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Penalties Page 73-4 (n-p)

No penalty imposed if breach due to:
The property being acquired under eminent
domain

The sale to an entity that has the power of
eminent domain

The death of an owner who was a party to the
covenant

Sale of 5 ac or less to relative within 4" degree
for residential purposes only.......

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

*2016 Change As Per HB 987

Amended 48-5-7.4

(o) The transfer of a part of the property subject to a
covenant for a bona fide conservation use shall not
constitute a breach of a covenant if:

— (1) The part of the property so transferred is used for
single-family residential purposes, startin%within one year
of the date of transfer and continuing for the remainder of
the covenant period, and the residence is occupied within
24 months from the date of the start by a person who is
related within the fourth degree of civil reckoning to an
owner of the property subject to the covenant; and

— (2) The part of the property so transferred, taken together
with any otheré)art of the property so transferred to the
same relative during the covenant period, does not exceed
a total of five acres; and in any such case the property so

Georgia Department of Revenue

Penalties Page 73 (0)(2)

No penalty imposed Con’t

(0)(2 con't) .... transferred shall not be eligible for a
covenant for bona fide conservation use, but shall, if
otherwise qualified, be eligible for current use
assessment as residential transitional property and the
remainder of the property from which such transfer was
made shall continue under the existing covenant until a
terminating breach occurs or until the end of the
specified covenant period.
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) Georgia Derﬂ)n'c?tment of Revenue

Conservation Use Page 73
0.C.G.A. 48-5-7.4 (p)

« The following shall not constitute a breach of a
covenant:

— Allowing all or part of the property to lie fallow for conservation
purposes or for hardship not to exceed 2 of 5 years

— Transferring up to 25 acres to a place of religious worship, burial,

or purely charitable entity

——

- —
Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use
0.C.G.A. 48-5-7.4 (p)

— Cell tower installation(<=6
acres) Lease only

— Growing a corn maze as
long as crop is harvested
— Agritourism

R =

Georgia DeE;E’ﬁment of Revenue

Conservation Use Page 73
0.C.G.A. 48-5-7.4(p)(8)

« The following shall not constitute a breach of a
covenant:
— (8) Allowing all or part of the property which has been
subject to a covenant for at least one year to be used
as a site for farm weddings; or

— (9) Allowing all or part of the property which has been
subject to a covenant for at least one year to be used
to host not for profit equestrian performance events to
which spectator admission is not contingent upon an
admission fee but which may charge an
entry fee from each participant.
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Georgia Department of Revenue

*2016 Change As Per HB 987

« "(10) Allowing all or part of the property
subject to the covenant to be used to host
a not for profit rodeo event to which
spectator admission and participant entry
fees are charged in an amount that in
aggregate does not exceed the cost of
hosting such event."

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Penalty Calculation

() Penalty imposed of tax savings for current year in the
following circumstances:
— Foreclosure with certain conditions Page 74 (q) (1)
— Medically demonstrable iliness or disability of one of the parties to
the covenant Page 74 (q) (2)
— Breach of renewal covenant of >=65 years old owner who has
completed 3 years of the renewal covenant Page 74 (q) (3)
— Breach of covenant of >=67 years old and he has either owned or
inherited the property for at least 15 years and in the covenant at
least 3 years Page 74 (q) (4)

Georgia Department of Revenue

Penalty Calculation 48-5-7.4(x)

* Penalty imposed of tax savings for each year in the
following circumstances:

— Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code section to the
contrary, in any case where a renewal covenant is breached by
the original covenantor or a transferee who is related to that
original covenantor within the fourth degree by civil reckoning, the
penalty otherwise imposed by subsection (l) of this Code section
shall not apply if the breach occurs during the sixth through tenth
years of such renewal covenant, and the

hall be the amount by which current ment h.
reduced taxes otherwise due for each year in which such renewal
covenant was in effect, plus interest at the rate specified in Code
Section 48-2-40 from the date the covenant is breached.
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Penalty Calculation prg75

« (r) Property which is subject to current use assessment
under this Code section shall be separately classified
from all other property on the tax digest; and such
separate classification shall be such as will enable any
person examining the tax digest to ascertain readily that
the property is subject to current use assessment under
this Code section.

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Penalty Calculation

* (r) Con't.

« Covenants shall be public records and shall be indexed
and maintained in such manner as will allow members of
the public to locate readily the covenant affecting any
particular property subject to current use assessment
under this Code section. Based on information submitted
by the county boards of tax assessors, the commissioner
shall maintain a central registry of conservation use
property, indexed by owners, so as to ensure that the
2,000 acre limitations of this Code section are complied
with on a state-wide basis.

-

Georgria Department of Revenue

CUVA/FLPA
Registry
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’ rGeorgria Department of Revenue

Covenant Registry

Statewide Listing of All CUV and
FLPA Covenants

-

.1 Georgia Department of Revenue

Statutory Authority
* 48-5-7.4(r) pg 75
e 48-5-7.7 (s) pg 103 Requires
DOR to maintain a statewide
registry

5 Georgia Department of Revenue

Statutory Requirements

* Registry assists measuring acre
compliance for conservation use
— Each owner of conservation use is allowed up
to 2000 acres in conservation use statewide
— FLPA has no acre limitations.
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: Georgia Department of Revenue

Covenant Registry

« Standardized layout for all 159 counties.
« Data must be included with annual Digest
Submission

¢ DOR emailed each county an addendum
to the 2014 digest submission package
alerting you of this requirement

-

5 Georgia Department of Revenue

Covenant Registry

« Data layouts in 2013 had some
inconsistency (some asked for Class/Strat
and shouldn’t have) ... layouts made
uniform for 2014

« Data submitted by county is presented in
registry as-is (no edits other than removal
of commas in names and addresses and
multiple owner fields)

3 Georgia Department of Revenue

Covenant Registry
County Name e Addressl

« Digest Year . Address?
+ Parcel Number . Address3
¢ Total Acres . City
¢ Covenant Acres
« State
 Lastname . 7
» Firstname p '
« Middle ¢ Multiple Owners
« CCY
e FLCY
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Covenant Registry

¢ The impact and usefulness of the registry
will be greatly enhanced when the county
takes the extra step to include the owner
names and percentage ownership in each
covenant where owned by multiple
owners.

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Covenant Registry

* Some CAMA systems do not
separate names into three columns
(Last, First, Middle), in those
instances, the entire name will be
found in the LASTNAME column

* Some CAMA systems contain
commas (they should not per USPS
regulations), those have been
removed from the registry

 File is too large to email, must be
downloaded

5 Georgia Department of Revenue

Covenant Registry

« Full Version (confidential)
— http://www.wingap.net/
— Links Page

— Password protec
Links

Related Links

. ww
Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority
* hitt w.dor.ga.gov
Georgia Department of Revenue
+ GAP Group Bulk License Winzip (password required)
+ PT61 Raw Data Layout: PO
+ Tearr p

EG (password required)
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35 Georgia Department of Revenue

Covenant Registry
« Some of the multiple "
owner columns appear ”'
to be pulled from
CAMA comment fields, '
\/

some include DOB
and SSN information —

therefore data should | @*‘
remain strictly

confidential ‘

___ﬂ-a_.!,‘{_
Georgia Department of Revenue

Covenant Rei istri
- |n|ah[015-cnvacfes B tastname : | -|

210.65 210,65 LINDSEY FARMS LLLP

197 197 BALKCOM RALPH JR
209 209 CATHRALL YATES GEORGE JR
10 10 WATTS CAROL ELIZABETH
297.75 297.75 CATHRALL YATES GEORGE JR
144.7 144.7 CATHRALL YATES GEORGE JR
85 79 LINDSEY FARMS LLLP
624 62.4 THORNTON FAMILY FARMS LLC
195.41 195.41 PARHAM SALLIE EST
46 46 ) & J ADVENTURES LLC
69.53 69.53 LITTLETON JAMES ALVIN

D = F

‘—-—-Ngt - |totalacres |~ covacres ~ |lastnan ~ |
Georgia Departme 2 sortatoz

%l sotztoa

Searching and E ooy olo .

Filters |® »

* Click the Arrow Text s ,
beside a [fearch 7|
column name to Lot N -
reveal filter , 00 SARDIS GRGIROID U
options || ot manes.

« Sample is DA LZRAT ML
LASTNAME ZMRonFRANCISE -

« m »
/iy Not all items showing

' Cama)
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Searching and Filters
e Select TEXT FILTERS

Text Filters » Equals...
[ 9 Does Not Equal...
(] (Select All) - Begins With...
=
f 2003 RIDER FAMILY TRUST Ends With...
|+ 4800 SARDIS CHURCH ROAD LLC
[] 6296 ROGERS ROAD LLC Contains...

[ A &K LAND COMPANY LLC
[#/] A &L AKINS FAMILY PARTNERSHIP,

[¥/] A &M PLANTATION, LLC Custom Filter... ‘

MAan=navranu 11/

Does Not Contain...

_—%m(‘
- Georgia Department of Revenue

Searching and Filters

* Select CONTAINS
* Enter desired text: SAYER

Custom AutoFilter - = Gl
Shon rows where:
lastname
contains = [+]
Sad Do
[zl =
Use ? to represent any single character
Use * to represent any series of characters
(e ] [Ccmna ]

¥ |lastname

T

10 SAYER MITCHELL & DOROTHY
71.5 SAYER WAYNE
2.46 SAYER WAYNE
7.32 SAYER WAYNE
5.85 SAYER WAYNE
3.35 SAYER JIMMY
1.04 SAYER JIMMY
3.33 SAYER CHARLOTTE DAY
87 SAYER WAYNE & WILLENE W
)5.6 SAYER WAYNE
1.91 SAYER WAYNE
9.6 SAYER WAYNE
3.63 SAYER WAYNE
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Details

» 185,170 total rows
e Covenants represent 18,773,570.10 acres

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Public Notice to be Posted
Page 75 (t)

A public notice containing a brief, factual
summary of the provisions of this Code
section shall be posted in a prominent
location readily viewable by the public in
the office of the board of tax assessors
and in the office of the tax commissioner
of each county in this state. See page 174
of course manual for sample notice.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Rules and Regulations Additional Rules
Page 76 (y)(2)

* (y) The commissioner shall have the power to make and
publish reasonable rules and regulations for the
implementation and enforcement of this Code section.
Without limiting the commissioner's authority with respect to
any other such matters, the commissioner may prescribe soil
maps and other appropriate sources of information for
documenting eligibility as a bona fide conservation use
property. The commissioner also may provide that advance
notice be given to taxpayers of the intent of a board of tax
assessors to deem a change in use as a breach of a
covenant.

* (z) The governing authority of a county shall not publish or
promulgate any information which is inconsistent with the
provisions of this Chapter.
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Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5-30. Filing extension for Member of
the Armed Forces serving abroad.

Notwithstanding any provision of Code Pg. 79
Section 48-5-7.1 or 48-5-7.4 to the contrary,

a member of the armed forces of the United
States serving outside the continental United
States may file such member’s initial or
renewal application for special assessment at
any time within a period of six months
following the return of such member to the
continental United States.

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-6-.04 Applications Pg. 83-4

(1) All applications for current use assessment shall be
made using forms adopted by the Commissioner for that
purpose. Forms PT-283A, PT-283E, PT-283R, PT- 283S
(Rev. 09/06) and applicable questionnaires are hereby
adopted and prescribed for use by the applicant seeking
current use assessment. The application shall be filed
with the board of tax assessors of the county in which
the property is located. A board of tax assessors may not
require additional information from an applicant for
purposes of determining eligibility of property for current
use assessment except as otherwise provided in
O.C.G.A. §48-5-74. .

Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-6-.04 Applications Pg. 83-4

(2) In those counties where U.S. Department of
Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service soil
survey maps are available, it shall be the responsibility of
the board of tax assessors to delineate the soil types on
the tax records of the applicant’s property.

(3) In those counties where the board of tax assessors
has not been able to obtain U.S. Department of
Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service soil
survey maps, the board of tax assessors shall determine
the soil types of the applicant’s property using the best
information available.
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Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-6-.04 Applications Pg 84

« (6) Application for conservation use value
assessment may be withdrawn prior to the
current @r’s) [ nt” as
defined im these fegulationss

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-10-.02 Definitions

“Final assessment” means the

inal assessment.

for the app{
occurred: théNige period for filing app has expired
and any appeals R ave been

at have been file

digest may be uged as the basis o collectlng taxes; the
tax commisgjerfer has mailed the finaNgy bills based on
the autho#iZed digest; and in the case of Ps
the appraisal staff has completed itS\aydit of

personal property pursuant to Rule 560-11-10®
08(4)(d) within the statute of limitations.

Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-10-.02 Definitions

¢ (i) Final assessment. "Final assessment" means the
assessed value of real property as stated on the Annual
Notice of Assessment as approved by the Board of
Assessors. Amendments to "Final assessment" for real
property are prohibited absent a clerical error or some
other lawful basis; and in the case of personal property,
the appraisal staff has completed its audit of the
personal property pursuant to Rule 560-11-10-.08(4)(d)
within the three year statute of limitations.
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Notice of Intent of Breach
Pg. 84 (7)

« When property receiving current use assessment and
subject to a conservation use covenant is transferred to
a new owner and the new owner fails to apply for
continuation of the current use assessment on or before
the deadline for filing tax returns in the year following the
year in which the transfer occurred, such failure may be
taken by the board of tax assessors as evidence that a
breach of the covenant has occurred. In such event the
board of tax assessors shall send to both the transferor
and the transferee a notice of the board’s intent to
assess a penalty for breach of the covenant.

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Notice of Intent of Breach Con’t
Pg. 84 (7)
The notice shall be entitled "Notice of Intent to Assess Penalty for Breach

of a Conservation Use Covenant” and shall set forth the following
information:

(a) the requirement of the new owner of the property currently receiving current use
assessment to apply for a continuation of the current use assessment within 30
days of the date of postmark of the notice;

(b) the requirement of the new owner of the property currently receiving current use
assessment to continuously devote the property to an applicable bona fide
qualifying use of the duration of the covenant;

(c) the change to the assessment if the covenant is breached; and

(d) the amount of the penalty if the covenant is breached.

Georgia Department of Revenue

Notice of Intent to Terminate a

Conservation Use Covenant

Page 84 (9)
When property receiving current use assessment and
subject to a conservation use covenant is transferred to
an estate or heirs by virtue of the death of a covenant
owner, and the estate or heirs fail to apply for a
continuation of the current use assessment on or before
the deadline for filing tax returns in the year following the
year in which the death occurred, such failure may be
taken by the board of tax assessors as evidence that a
breach of the covenant has occurred. In such event in
which case the board of tax assessors shall send to any
remaining parties to the covenant, whether the estate or
the heirs a notice entitled "Notice of Intent to Terminate a
Conservation Use Covenant."
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Notice of Intent to Terminate a Conservation
Use Covenant Con't Page 85

« The notice shall set forth the following:

+ (a) the requirement of the estate or heirs to the property currently receiving
current use assessment to apply for a continuation of the current use
assessment within thirty (30) days of the date of postmark of the notice;

+ (b) the requirement of the estate or heirs to the property currently receiving
current use assessment to continuously devote the property to an
applicable bona fide qualifying use for the duration of the covenant; and

* (c) the change to the assessment if the covenant is breached.

* (10) In the event the estate or heirs fail to apply during the period provided
for in paragraph (9) of this regulation, such failure may be taken by the
board of tax assessors as further evidence the covenant has been breached
due to the estate or heirs' lack of qualification or intent not to continuously
devote the property to an applicable bona fide qualifying use. In such event
the board of tax assessors shall be authorized to declare the covenant in
breach without penalty.

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

??? QUESTION ?7?7?

« What if owner dies and the heirs convey
the property before the end of the year?

GeorQia Department of Revenue

560-11-6-.05 Change of Qualifying Use
¢ See Pages 85-6

« Reg will be corrected next promulgation
process.
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Breach of Covenant 560-11-6-.06

Page 87

Penalty prorated and distributed to each taxing jurisdiction

Interest prorated and disbursed to each taxing jurisdiction

If a breach occurs during a tax year but before the tax rate is
established for that year, the penalty for that partially completed
year shall be calculated based upon the tax rate in effect for the
immediately preceding tax year. However, the tax due for the
partially completed year shall be the same as would have been
due absent the breach[560-11-6-.06(1)]

If a breach occurs on all or part of the property that was subject to the
original covenant, then the breach shall be deemed to have
occurred on all the property and the penalty shall be pro rata
assessed against each of the parties....in proportion to the tax
benefit enjoyed by each during the life of the original covenant.
[560-11-6-.06(2)]

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Breach Penalties 560-11-6-.06 Con’t

Page 87

The breach shall be deemed to occur upon the occasion of any event
which would otherwise disqualify the property from receiving the
benefit of current use valuation and the lien against the property for,
penalties and interest shall attach as of the date of that qualifying

event. [560-11-6-.06(3)]

If a covenant is breached by the original covenantor or a transferee
who is related to the original covenantor by the fourth degree of
civil reckoning, and where such breach occurs during the sixth
through tenth Kears of a renewal covenant, the penalty imposed
shall be only the amount by which current use assessment has
reduced taxes otherwise due for each year in which such renewal
was in effect, plus interest at the rate specified in O.C.G.A. Section
48-2-40 from the date the covenant was breached. [560-11-6-.06(4)]

GeorQia Department of Revenue

560-11-6-.07
* Valuation of Qualified Property Page 87-92

« Value is limited to 3% increase per year for a total of
34.29% for the life of the covenant.

¢ 65% of CUV value derived using income approach
* 35% of CUV value derived from sales market
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H2 Georgia Department of Revenue
Taxpayer to receive notice during first year
of Covenant

560-11-6-.08(2) For the first year of the covenant
period the taxpayer shall be notified by the
board of assessors of the current use valuation
placed on the property for that year. Appeals
shall be made and decided in the same manner
as other ad valorem tax assessment appeals are
made and decided pursuant to O.C.G.A. 48-5-
311. (Page 92)

-

3 Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-6-.08 (3) Page 92

< During the covenant period the taxpayer shall be
given natification of any change in the current
use valuation made by the board of tax
assessors for the then current tax year. Appeals
shall be made and decided in the same manner
as other ad valorem tax assessment appeals are
made and decided pursuant to O.C.G.A. Section
48-5-311.

2 Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-6-.09 (1) Page 93

* Table of Conservation Use Land Values
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) Georgia Derﬂ)n'c?tment of Revenue

Changes in Use
An owner of a 100 acre parcel in CUV
decides to build 5 new poultry houses.
What happens to the covenant?
Does CUVA value increase more than 3%?
Does Covenant Period start over?
Can the owner change to Preferential?

——

- —
Georgia Department of Revenue

Changes in Use
An owner of a 100 acre parcel in CUV
decides to build 5 new poultry houses.
What happens to the covenant?
Does CUVA value increase more than 3%?
Does Covenant Period start over?
Can the owner change to Preferential?

R =

- Georgia DeE;E’ﬁment of Revenue

Does CUVA have you on the Fence?
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Georgia Department of Revenue

&

Forest Land Protection Act

Page 95

Georgia Department of Revenue

What is Forest Land?

« Forest land means a tract of land covered
with trees and one usually of considerable
extent.(Black’s Law)

&

52



‘ Georgia Department of Revenue

Forest Land Protection Act

* BOA has 3 separate values to track for
properties entered into this covenant

« Each will be discussed later
— Forest Land Fair Market Value
« Legislated FMV based on 2008 FMV adjusted by indexes
— True Fair Market Value
« True-Blue old fashioned FMV (based on CAMA schedules)

— Forest Land Conservation Use Value
« Woodland values of the old trusty conservation use values

-

3 Georgia Department of Revenue

Forest Land Protection Act

¢ Defines “Forest Land Fair Market
Value”
— Digest class “F”

¢ Used in the calculation of the
amount of assistance grants the
state will pay to reimburse
revenue lost.

2 Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA
* Digest code “J” is used to identify the
true-blue fair market value.

* Used in the calculation of any
penalties resulting from a breach
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“#5) Georgia Department of Revenue

Forest Land Conservation Value

‘Forest land conservation value’ of forest
land conservation use property means the
amount determined in accordance with the
specifications and criteria provided for in
48-5-271

-

3 Georgia Department of Revenue

What does 48-5-271 tell us?
Commissioner has promulgated regs
establishing table of values

Such values shall be the same as
provided for forest land in 48-5-269

Table of values limited to 3% change per
year

:i% Georgia Department of Revenue

Forest Land Fair Market Value: Verbatim

‘Forest land fair market value’ means the 2008
fair market value of the forest land for TY 20009.

2008 valuation may increase from one taxable
year to the next by a rate equal to the
percentage change in the price index for gross
output of state and local government from the
prior year to the current year as defined by the
US Bureau of Economic Analysis and indicated
by the Price Index for Government Consumption
Expenditures and General Government Gross
Output (Table 3.10.4)
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Georgia Department of Revenue

FL Fair Market Value Simplified
¢ 2008 Fair Market value

« Value *may* increase the amount of the index
— 2009 FL FMV is = 2008 FMV (Base Value)
— 2010 FL FMV is either

¢ 2009 FL FMV * index
¢ 2009 FL FMV no adjustment

-

3 Georgia Department of Revenue

FL Fair Market Value Simplified

» 2008 Fair Market value

« Value *may* increase the amount of the index
— 2016 FL FMV is = 2008 FMV (Base Value)
— 2017 FL FMV is either

* 2016 FL FMV * index
* 2016 FL FMV no adjustment

2 Georgia Department of Revenue

FL FMV Examples

e Covenant begins in digest year 2016
e FL FMV is 2008 Base FMV

2008 Base Value = 150,000

Year Index |FLP Formula
Value

2012 N/A 150,000 |No adjustment in year 1
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Value Examples

2016 True FMV ('J") = 200,000

2016 FL FMV(‘F’) = 154,770

— (2008 base value the first year and then
indexed thereafter if BOA approves)

« 2016 CU value = 48,500

—48-5-271 (limited to 3% annually)
« Penalty calcs between 200,000 vs 48,500
» Grant calcs between 154,770 vs 48,500

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

FL FMV Examples

2008 Base Value = 150,000

Year Index FL FMV Formula
2009 N/A 150,000 No adjustment to base value
2010 999 150,000 No adjustment to base value
149,850 150,000 *.999
2011 1.026 150,000 No adjustment made
149,850 149,850 with no adjustment
153,746 149,850 * 1.026
153,900 150,000 * 1.026
2012 1.063 150,000 No adjustment made
149,850 149,850 with no adjustment
153,746 149,850 * 1.026
153,900 150,000 * 1.026
159,450 150,000 * 1.063
159,291 149,850 * 1.063
163,432 153,746 * 1.063
163,596 153,900 * 1.063

GeorQia Department of Revenue

FL FMV Examples

2008 Base Value = 150,000

Year Index FLFMV Formula
2013 1.085 150,000 No adjustment made

149,850 149,850 with no adjustment

153,746 149,850 * 1.026

153,900 150,000 * 1.026

159,450 150,000 * 1.063

159,291 149,850 * 1.063

163,432 153,746 * 1.063

163,596 153,900 * 1.063

162,587 149,850 *1.085

166,814 153,746 *1.085

166,981 153,900 *1.085

173,003 159,450 *1.085

172,830 159,291 *1.085

177,323 163,432 *1.085

177,501 163,596*1.085
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Georgia Department of Revenue

2008 Base Value = 150,000

Year Index FL FMV Formula

2014 1.085 150000
149850
15700
1530 150000 1026
159,450 1500002063
159201 149850 1063
163422 159,746 1,063
16259 153500 1062
162507 149850 1085
100824 159,746 1085
166961 153900 1085
173008 159,450 1085
frrey 159291 1085
iz 163,022 1085
w701 1695961085
162750 150000°1085
166814 159,746 085
105001 1529001085
13008 150,450°1.085
ey 1502011085
s 163402°1085
101 1635961085
176,00 162.5071085
100992 16082641085
161174 1669011085
167708 17300841085
1520 172,820 085
192, 17722271 085
102588 177011085

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

FL Fair Market Value (cont)
e US index

— DOR will annually publish index and make available
for counties beginning in 2010 — there is no index for
2009

Initial __Actual
— 2010 Index .999 .999
— 2011 Index +026 1.027
— 2012 Index 1063 1.036
— 2013 Index 1085 1.020
— 2014 Index 085 1.011
— 2015 Index 1.019
— 2016 Index 1.015

GeorQia Department of Revenue

FL Fair Market Value (cont)

¢ USindex

— DOR will annually publish index and make
available for counties beginning in 2010 — there
was no index for 2009

— 2010 Index .999
— 2011 Index 1.026
— 2012 Index 1.063
— 2013 Index 1.085
— 2014 Index 1.085
— 2015 Index 1.019
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Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5-7.7(b)(2)
Must be owned by an individual or
individuals or by any entity registered to do
business in this state;
Property excludes the entire value of any
residence located on the property
Excludes the value of any improvement
located on property

-

;7 Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5-7.7(b)(2) (continued)

Such property has as its primary use the
good faith subsistence or commercial
production of trees, timber, or other wood
and wood fiber products from or on the
land.

Such property may, in addition, have one
or more of the following secondary uses:

o Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5-7.7(b)(2)rg. 95

‘Forest land conservation use property’
means forest land each tract of which
consists of more than 200 acres of
tangible real property of an owner subject
to the following qualifications:
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> Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5-7.7(b)(1) (continued) Pg. 96

« Promotion, preservation, or management
of wildlife habitat
« Carbon sequestration in accordance with
the Georgia Carbon Sequestration
Registry
— http://Iwww.gfc.state.ga.us/utilization/forest-
carbon/index.cfm

——
5 Georgia Department of Revenue

Forest Land Protection Act

Keeping Forests Forests’
Carbon Offset Forest

‘ 5 7Georgiérlj'gp;5ﬁment of Revenue

48-5-7.7(b)(1) (continued)

« Mitigation and conservation banking that
results in restoration or conservation of
wetlands and other natural resources; or

¢ The production and maintenance of

ecosystem products and services such as,
but not limited to, clean air and water
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: Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5-7.7(b) (continued)

« ‘Forest land conservation use property’ may
include, but not be limited to, land that has been
certified as environmentally sensitive property by
DNR; or

« Which is managed in accordance with a
recognized sustainable forestry certification
program such as
— Sustainable Forestry Initiative, Forest Stewardship

Council, American Tree Farm Program, or an
equivalent program approved by GFC.

-

5 Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5-7.7(b)(2)(B)

(B) Such property excludes the entire value of any residence
located on the and its underlying property; as used in this
subparagraph, the term 'underlying property' means the
minimum lot size required for residential construction by local
zoning ordinances or two acres, whichever is less. This
provision for excluding the underlying property of a residence
from eligibility in the conservation use covenant shall only
apply to property that is first made subject to a covenant or is
subject to the renewal of a previous covenant on or after
January 1, 2014.

: Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA —The following shall not constitute
another type of business Pg. 96-7

* The granting of easements for ingress and
egress

» Any type of business devoted to secondary
uses listed under subparagraph (b)(2)(C) of this
code section
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Georgié bgpgffment of Revenue

48-5-7.7(b)(2)(C)

Such primary use includes land conservation
and ecological forest management in which
commercial production of wood and wood
fiber products may be undertaken primarily
for conservation and restoration purposes
rather than financial gain.

— p—

: Georgié 55p5f't'ment of Revenue

Summary thus far :
Must be more than 200 acres
Contiguous tracts of IEESEE
forest land exceeding
200 acres
* Single tract of
more than 200 acres

7Geor§ié 5gb§ifment of Revenue

154

Summary thus far (continued)

(b)(1) “Forest land conservation use
property” means forest land ...
— Excludes any residence located on property

— Excludes the value of any improvement
located on property

—Includes ONLY LAND
— All land will be categorized as woodland
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) Georgia Department of Revenue

Summary thus far: Primary Uses

* Good faith subsistence-or-commercial
production from or/on the land of
— Trees

— Timber

— Other wood and .
wood fiber products

S

-

T —
Georgia Department of Revenue

Summary thus far: Secondar Uses
* May include one or more
— Wildlife habitat
— Carbon sequestration

— Mitigation and conservation
banking

— Ecosystem products and
services

e

&

—
- Georgia Department of Revenue

Summary thus far: Other Primary Uses
= Certified Environmentally Sensitive

= May be managed in accordance with a
sustalnable forestry certification program
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‘ Georgia Department of Revenue

Question?

If an owner has two contiguous 500
acre tracts, can the owner enter tract 1
into FLPA in 2013 and wait until 2015

to enter tract 2?

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Contiguous Land rg 94

« “All contiguous land of an owner within a
county for which forest land
conservation use assessment is sought
shall be in a single covenant”

Two tracts: each 500 acres — total of 1000
acres

—Tract 1 can enter in 2014

— Tract 2 can enter in 2015

i Georgia Department of Revenue
FLPA — Additional Rules Pg 108
560-11-11-.01 Definitions

(b) "Contiguous" means real property within a county that abuts,
joins, or touches and has the same undivided common ownership. If
an applicant's tract is divided by a county boundary, public roadway,
public easement, public right of way, natural boundary, land lot line,
or railroad track then the applicant has, at the time of the initial
application, a one-time election to declare the tract as contiguous
irrespective of a county boundary, public roadway, public easement,
public right of way, natural boundary, land lot line, or railroad track, as
the boundary.
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: Georgia Department of Revenue

“Primary Use”

¢ Primary Use means:

— Good faith subsistence production of trees,
timber, or wood/wood-fiber products

— Commercial production of trees, timber, or
wood/wood-fiber products

— DNR Certified Environmentally Sensitive

— Managed according to a recognized forestry
certification program

-

1 Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules

* When one-half or more of the area of a
single tract is used for the qualifying
purpose, then the entirety of such tract
shall be considered as qualified —
UNLESS - some other type of business is
operated on the tract ... and provided the
rest of the tract is managed to avoid
erosion

oy Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules

» The lease of hunting rights or the use
of property for hunting purposes shall
not constitute another type of business

2
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) Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules

» The charging of admission for use of
property for fishing purposes shall not
constitute another type of business.

TN ZT

_—%m(‘
Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules

» The production of pine straw or native grass
seed shall not constitute another type of
business; 7 A

g
- Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules Pg. 97

* (e) Subject to the limitations of paragraph (1) of
subsection (c) of this Code section, a qualified
owner shall be authorized to enter into more
than one covenant under this Code section for
forest land conservation use property. Any such
qualified property may include a tract or tracts
of land which are located in more than one
county in which event the owner shall enter into
a covenant with each county.
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A5 Georgié Department of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules
— Final Assessment could determine what year
Change commences
« Owners allowed a one-time opportunity to
change property from a preferential or
G rvation use covenants
‘One time — Any Time”

-

’ Georgié Depéf’tment of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules

« Any property that is subject to a covenant and
subsequently fails to adhere to the qualifying
purpose, as defined in paragraph (5) of subsection
(b) of this code section, may be changed from the
covenant and placed under a covenant provided
for in 48-5-7.4. If such case, the existing covenant
shall be terminated, and the change shall not
constitute a breach thereof. No property may be
changed more than once under this paragraph.

Georgia Department of Revenue

All or None
Original CUVA Covenant = 500 acres
Year 3, 230 acres sold and continued
* New Owner wants to roll to FLPA

Both 230 acre & 270 acre tract must both
go or none go ——
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Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules 48-5-7.7(m)(4)

¢ All or part of the property may be transferred to a
new owner qualified to enter into an original
forest land conservation use covenant

T £, ot of an iog{\g \ + ot b &era%t

dah h of ontir ovenant

— If the transfer or transfers leave the original tract with
less than 200 acres, the tract can continue until the
end of the original covenant period but cannot be
renewed unless additional acreage is added 5’9 97
increase the tract size to 200+ acres

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules

* (2) If, following such transfer, a breach of the covenant occurs by the
acquiring owner, the penalty and interest shall apply to the entire
transferred tract and shall be paid by the acquiring owner who
breached the covenant. In such case, the covenant shall terminate
on such entire transferred tract but shall continue on such entire
remaining tract from which the transfer was made and on which the
breach did not occur for the remainder of the original covenant.

— Owner A transfers 250 acres of a 1000 tract to Taxpayer B, and
Taxpayer B continues the covenant until he receives an offer he
“can't refuse” and sells his 250 acres for a subdivision —
breaching and terminating his covenant on this transferred
portion.

— Taxpayer B is now responsible for paying the breach penalty and
interest on the 250 acres.

— The covenant on the 750 acres belonging to Owner A continues
until the end of the 15-year period

Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules

* (3) If, following such transfer, a breach of the covenant occurs by the
transferring owner, the penalty and interest shall apply to the entire
remaining tract from which the transfer was made and shall be paid
by the transferring owner who breached the covenant. In such case,
the covenant shall terminate on such entire remaining tract from
which the transfer was made but shall continue on such entire
transferred tract and on which the breach did not occur for the
remainder of the original covenant.

» Owner A transfers 250 acres of a 1000 tract to Taxpayer B, and
Taxpayer B continues the covenant. Owner A sells his remaining
750 acres for purposes of developing an industrial park — breaching
and terminating the covenant on the 750 acres.

— Owner A owes the breach penalty and interest on the 750 acres
not transferred to Taxpayer B.

— The covenant on the 250 acres transferred to Taxpayer B
continues until the end of the 15-year period.
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) Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules #

« Any forest land covenant agreement required under this Code
section shall be filed on or before the last day for filing ad
valorem tax appeals of the annual notice of assessment except
that in the case of property which is the subject of a tax appeal
of the annual notice of assessment under Code Section 48-5-
311, an application for forest land conservation use
assessment may be filed at any time while such appeal is
pending.

0‘:-\'\‘\?\
& %6 GA

-

Georgié Depéf’tment of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules

* (2) Except as provided in subsection (i) of this Code section and paragraph
(4) of this subsection, the penalty shall be applicable to the entire tract
which is the subject of the covenant:

* (4) If ownership of a portion of the land subject to the original covenant

it is transferred to another owner qualified to

enter into an original forest land conservation use covenant in a bona fide
arm's length transaction and breach subsequently occurs, then the penalty
shall either be assessed against the entire remaining tract from which the
transfer was made or the entire transferred tract, on whichever the breach
occurred. The calculation of penalties in paragraph (2) of this subsection
shall be used except that the penalty amount resulting from such calculation
shall be multiplied by the percentage which represents the acreage of such
tract on which the breach occurs to the original covenant acreage. The
resulting amount shall be the penalty amount owed by the owner of such
tract of land on which the breach occurred.

— Penalty will be calculated by the ratio of the acreage of the “breached” tract to

the total of the original covenant

Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Additional Rules

* Example
— Owner A originally put 1000 in covenant

— Sold 250 acres to Taxpayer B who breaches the
covenant

— Calculate the penalty that would be the result of a
breach on the entire tract

— Calculate the ratio of breaching tract

acreage to acreage in original tract
« Breach /25% = penalty due

68



Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA

¢ Language added which allows for
contiguous acres to be added to the
original covenant for the remainder of the

covenant life
— Acquire the property after entering into the original covenant
— Property added must be less than 200 acres

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA Filing Deadline Pg. 100

— (1)(1) For each taxable year beginning on or after
January 1, 2014, all applications for conservation
use assessment under this Code section, including
any forest land covenant required under this Code
section, shall be filed on or before the last day for
filing ad valorem tax appeals of the annual notice of
assessment except that in the case of property
which is the subject of a tax appeal of the annual
notice of assessment under Code Section 48-5-311,
an application for forest land conservation use
assessment may be filed at any time while such
appeal is pending.

— “After Jan 1" buyers cannot apply for FLPA anytime
during the year of purchase.

Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA Filing Deadline Pg. 100

— ())(1) (Con’t). An application for continuation of such
forest land conservation use assessment upon a
change in ownership of all or a part of the qualified
property shall be filed on or before the last date for
filing tax returns in the year following the year in
which the change in ownership occurred.
Applications for forest land conservation use
assessment under this Code section shall be filed
with the county board of tax assessors in which the
property is located who shall approve or deny the
application
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FLPA

» Deadline for filing applications
— Deadline for filing returns
— May also be filed in conjunction with or in lieu of an
appeal (During the original 45 day period).
— OR anytime the appeal is active

-

Georgié Ijgpgffment of Revenue

FLPA

« Denial of applications
require notice per 48-5-306

« Owners may file Appeals
per 48-5-311

; VGeorQi'é Iﬁgbéfffment of Revenue

FLPA Approvals

< Annual Notification of any change in forest
land fair market value or True-Blue FMV
(48-5-306)

« Appeals of changes
pursuant to 48-5-311
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Forest Land Protection Act
« Penalty for Breach of Covenant
— Savings x factor

— Savings = difference between [true blue] FMV
taxes and FL CUV taxes

« 30 days to ‘cure’
« Penalty paid

by party causing the breach
N

-

1 Georgié Depéf’tment of Revenue

Forest Land Protection Act

« Penalty for Breach of Covenant Page 101
—Yearl—b _ (m)(3)

« 2 x total savings (True FMV vs CUV)

* Interest of 1% per month accrues from the
date of the breach

'; Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Allowed w/o Breach Pg 102

Up to 25 acres sold or given to Church or
Charitable entity under 48-5-41

— Property must be used for church or charitable
purpose

9 @
— Entity cannot transfer until :Q fé ‘.
end of covenant period
L4 (]
O (]
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7Georgia_lj:éf5§ﬁment of Revenue

FLPA — Allowed w/o Breach

« Lease up to 6 acres of every 2,000 acres
for a cellular telephone transmission tower
— Acreage used is removed from covenant and

appraised at FMV according
to its use. ((( )))

-

= i«..
| Georgia Department of Revenue

* Mineral Exploration

« Property lying fallow or idle
due to:
= Conservation programs
= Federal Ag assistance programs

= Health / Economic hardships
(requires owner notice to BOA)

= Economic: 2 out of any 5 yrs

- 7Georgia‘ljzﬁé’ﬁment of Revenue

FLPA — Allowed w/o Breach  Pg. 103

« Mineral Exploration
 Property lying fallow or idle
due to:
— Conservation programs .
— Federal Ag assistance programs

— Health / Economic hardships
(requires owner notice to BOA)
« Economic: 2 out of any 5 yrs.
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FLPA — Breach w/ 1 Year Recapture

* Foreclosure Pg. 103
* Transfer in lieu of foreclosure

« Medically demonstrable illness of
owner which renders the qualified
owner of the property physically
unable to continue the property in
the qualifying use
— BOA Policy advised to define

“demonstrable”

-

5 Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Breach w/ 1 Year Recapture

» Owner is 65 years old or older Pg. 103
» Has completed 3 years of renewal contract

» DOR opinion: non-individual owners are
considered “‘ageless’

) Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — Breach w/ 1 Year Recapture

e Owner is 67 or older when entered Pg. 103
covenant for the first time

* Has completed 3 years of covenant

« Has owned property for 15 years or
inherited property
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5 Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA — New Digest Codes

¢ F — Forest Land Assistance Grant Value
— 2008 base value + any index adjustments

¢ J — Forest Land Conservation Use Value
— BOA Fair Market Value

« SJ — Exemption Amount: difference of the
40% Assessment (J property) and the
Current Use Assessment

5 Georgia Department of Revenue

Forest Land Protection Act

« Public notice to be posted in
prominent location in tax
commissioner and board of
assessors’ offices

» Rules & Regulations will be issued by
Revenue Commissioner

« Update Taxpayer Brochure

1+ Georgia Department of Revenue

Forest Land Protection Act

» New Code Section O.C.G.A. § 48-5-271
provides method for establishing annual
table of value

— Values for forest land conservation use
property will be the same values that are
applied to conservation use property for
timber land

— Limited to 3% change annually
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use Soil Conversion
Table

Soil Cnty Soil Soil Agri. Wood
TYPE No Composition Description Prod Prod
CoB COWARTS LOAMY SAND, 2 TO 5 5 2
Cob CHEWACLA 4 2
CoB 010 CARNEGIE SANDY LOAM, 2TO 5 5 2
CoB 023 CONASAUGA SILT LOAM, 1 TO 6 6 7
CoB 086 CARNEGIE SANDY LOAM, 2 TO 5 5 2

-

1 Georgié Depéf’tment of Revenue

e 75 acres open land
— CoB soils (Cowarts)

» 1000 acres wood land
— CoB soils (Cowarts)

* What is productivity rating selected for open
portion and wooded portion?

Georgia Department of Revenue

Conservation Use Soil Conversion
Table

Soil Cnty Soil Soil Agri Wood
TYPE No Composition Description Prod Prod
CoB COWARTS LOAMY SAND, 2 TO 5 5 2
Cob CHEWACLA 4 2
CoB 010 CARNEGIE SANDY LOAM, 2TO 5 5 2
CoB 023 CONASAUGA SILT LOAM, 1TO 6 6 7
CoB 086 CARNEGIE SANDY LOAM, 2TO 5 5 2




‘ Georgia Department of Revenue

Forest Land Protection Act
Pg 104
* New chapter to Title 48 now known as

“Chapter 5A”

— Provisions to implement the forest land
conservation use assistance grants to
counties, municipalities, and school districts

— 48-5A-1 provides definitions

— 48-5A-2 provides for General Assembly to fund the
program

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

FLPA

If property entered into this program
causes a reduction in the ad valorem tax
revenue, assistance grants will be paid to
the taxing jurisdiction as follows:

— Reimbursement of 50% of the first 3%

— 100% of the amount over 3%

: Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5A-3(b) Pg 107

« The revenue reduction to each county, municipality,
and county or independent school district shall be
calculated by subtracting the aggregate forest land
conservation use value of qualified properties from
the aggregate forest land fair market value of

ualified properties for the applicable tax year and

the resulting amount shall be multiplied by the millage
rate of the county, municipality, or county or
independent school district.

OR...Simple language...The grant will be paid to
counties and schools based on difference between the
forest land fair market value and the forest land
conservation use value.
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‘ Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5A-3 Pg. 107

« In order to ensure that the county is

‘revenue neutral’ a calculation procedure
has been implemented to allow the county
to include in the levy of the millage rate
sufficient funds to meet the budget to
include the 1.5% that the grant will not
reimburse

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

48-5A-3 Pg. 107

To facilitate the taxing authorities in
determining the revenue loss and the
amount of reimbursement, DOR provides
to the county a calculation formula to be
used as part of the process for setting the
millage rate and advertising the proposed
levy.

: Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-11-.03 QFLP
Qualifications

(3) Area around cellular phone tower pads used or
maintained as part of the pad, shall not constitute a
breach of the QFLP Covenant if:

(a) The tract is less than 2,000 acres the total area of
the pads does not exceed six (6) acres or,

(b) For tracts larger than 2,000 acres, the total area of
cellular phone tower pads does not exceed six (6) acres
for every 2,000 acres.

(c) Any roadway to the cellular phone tower pads shall
not be included in the determination of the six (6) acre
maximum.

Pages 111-112
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: Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-11-.05 Period for Local  page 113
Board of Assessors to ApProve g+
or Deny QFLP Applications |

* (1) A Local Board of Tax Assessors shall have
one hundred twenty days from receipt of an
application for QFLP designation to approve or
deny such application.

* (3) Upon approval, the Local Board of Tax
Assessors must notify the applicant within thirty
(30) days of its decision and provide the QFLP
Covenant to the applicant for signatures.

-

5 Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-11-.06 QFLP Covenant. Page 113

* (a) If the QFLP Covenant is not signed by all
required parties in the same year in which the
application was approved, then such application
will expire on December 31 of that year and the
owner(s) must submit a new application for
QFLP designation.

* 1. Notwithstanding the above, if an applicant receives approval in

the month of December then such applicant shall have until January
31 of the following calendar year to have all owners sign the QFLP

Covenant.

: Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-11-.07 Notice of Breach Page 114

* (1) The Notice of Breach shall be sent within thirty (30) days from the day
that the breach is reported to or discovered by the Local Board of Tax
Assessors to:

* (a) The owner(s) of record of the real property in breach.

(b) The Local Board of Tax Assessors in every other county where the
QFLP is located.

(2) The Notice of Breach shall include the following:

(a) The location of the breach;

(b) The date the breach was reported or discovered;

*  (c) An explanation of the breach;

(d) Whether the remedy is remediation or cease and desist of the breach;
(e) The date by which the remedy must be completed; and
(f) The penalty for not remedying or ceasing or desisting the breach.
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Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-11-.07 Notice of Breach
Con’t Page 114
e (3) The thirty (30) day period for the
owner to remedy the breach shall not
begin until the owner has received a
Notice of Breach that complies with the
requirements set forth in this Regulation.

-

} Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-11-.08 Notification and Inspection
Concerning QFLP in Breach of Covenant

e Turn to pages 114-115

) Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-11-.09 Release of Covenant
e Turn to page 175
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25 Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-11-.10 Penalty for Breach
e Turn to page 115

el

3 Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-11-.11 Forms Page 116

* (1) The Commissioner hereby adopts:

* (a) Exhibit (A) as the Form for QFLP Application:

¢ (b) Exhibit (B) as the Form for the QFLP Covenant:

. (cg Exhibit (C) as the Form for the Notice of Breach:
an

¢ (d) Exhibit (D) as the Form for the Application for
Release.

NOTE: The Application and Covenant are now one 4 page
document

i Georgia Department of Revenue

560-11-11-.12 Table of Forest Land
Protection Act Land Use Values.

e See Pages 116-117
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) Georgia Derﬂ)n'c?tment of Revenue

——
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Forest Land Protection Act

Qualifying Examples

R =

- Georgia DeE;E’ﬁment of Revenue

Qualifying Use Example

« 350 contiguous acres under same
ownership. All acreage is clear cut.
— Qualified?

— Not Qualified?
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Qualifying Use Example

¢ 350 contiguous acres under same
ownership. 200 acres are row-cropped.
Remaining acreage in 30 year old pines
— Qualified?
— Not Qualified?

-

.5 Georgia Department of Revenue

Qualifying Use Example
¢ 2000 acres of marsh land under same
ownership
— Qualified?
— Not Qualified?

o Georgia Department of Revenue

Qualifying Use Example

3 contiguous parcels totaling 400 acres
under same ownership. Parcel 1 is adj to
2and 2isadjto 3

Parcel 1 — 150 acres of pines

Parcel 2 — 50 acres of Vidalia onions
Parcel 3 — 200 acres of pines

— Qualified?

— Not Qualified?
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5 Georgia Department of Revenue

Qualifying Use Example

¢ 475 contiguous acres under same
ownership. Fronts on Interstate 75
containing 1 mile frontage on interstate,
and measures ~ 3920 ft. deep.

« Entire tract consists of planted pine
— Qualified?
— Not Qualified?

5 Georgia Department of Revenue

Qualifying Use Example

« Same as previous tract: 475 contiguous
acres under same ownership. Fronts on
Interstate 75 containing 1 mile frontage on
interstate, and measures ~ 3920 ft. deep

» Track consists of:

— 470 acres of plantation pine
— 5 acres of land holding Flying J truck stop
¢ Qualified? Not Qualified?

3 Georgia Department of Revenue

Qualifying Use Example
» 300 acre tract

— contains 250 acres of natural regeneration
timber, mixed hardwood and pine

— Contains 50 acres of pasture and Quarter

Horse boarding and Cutting horse training
facilities

¢ Qualified? Not Qualified?
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‘ Georgia Department of Revenue

Qualifying Use Example

e 200 acres total contiguous acres
— 20 tracts, 10 acres each

— Each tract is owned by Grandpa Walton and occupied
by 20 of his children and grandchildren.

— Each tract contains 9.0 acres of 90 year old plantation
pine maintained pursuant to certification program by
GA Forestry Commission

— Each tract contains 5500 sq. ft. foot house, with pool
and tennis court

-

Georgia Department of Revenue

Qualifying Use Example

e 220 acres total contiguous acres
— 20 tracts, 11 acres each

— Each tract is owned by Grandpa Walton and believed
held for his children and grandchildren.

— Each tract contains 11 acres of 90 year old plantation
pine maintained pursuant to certification program by
GA Forestry Commission

— Master plat has been recorded reflecting survey of
each of the 20 tracts into 11 acre lots

¢ Qualified? Not Qualified?

: Georgia Department of Revenue

Qualifying Use Example
¢ 400 acre tract
e 250 acres in county A — 100% timber
« 150 acres in county B — 100% ag land
¢ Qualified? Not Qualified?
— County A?
— County B?
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; Georgia Department of Revenue

Qualifying Use Example

« Tract falls in two counties
— Total acreage of tract determines whether or not
property meets 200 acres eligibility requirement
e Tract |
—175 Acres in County A
—50 Acres in County B
— Tract qualifies
e Tract Il
—50 acres in County A
—149 acres in County B
— Tract does not qualify

>

) Georgié bépéft'ment of Revenue

' State Officials Contact Info

Eric Darracq - Fish and Wildlife Resource (Social Circle)
770-761-1697 (Wildlife habitat)

DNR - State Income Tax Credit - would be primary contact for
certifying property with endangered plants or animals
770-761-3043

Jennifer H. Welte - EPD Watershed Protection Branch -
contact for certifying wetlands (404) 675-1752
Fax: (404) 675-6244

Steve Friedman - Chief of DNR Real Estate Division

Curt Soper - Director of Land Conservation Program
(Governors new program)

0 Georgia Department of Revenue
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Georgia Department of Revenue

Kenny Colson

Property Tax Appraiser

Specialized Assessments Program Manager
Compliance Specialist 2

Georgia Department of Revenue

Office: 404.724.7000

Cell: 678-201-8427
Kenny.Colson@dor.ga.gov
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State of Georgia

Bouglas 3. MacBinnitie Department of Revenue Vieki Lambert

1800 Century Blvd.
Atlanta, Georgia 30345-3205

Please note: The purpose of a policy statement is to provide interpretive guidance to county
tax assessors and real property appraisers, and governmental employees. A policy
statement is a position statement, which provides interpretation, details, or supplementary
information concerning the application of the law. Relevant statute, case law, or rules and
regulations, as well as subsequent policy statements may modify or negate any or all of the
provisions of any policy statements.

Issue Date: May 10, 2011
This is the policy of the Department and is applicable to all open tax years.

RE: Application for Conservation Use Valuation Assessment by a Person who did not
have Possession of the Property as of January 1 of that Year.

Issue: A taxpayer acquires ownership (purchases, inherits, etc.) of property after January
1, 2011 (*new owner”). Upon receiving the annual notice of assessment for said
property, the new owner files an appeal regarding the property’s assessed value
and applies for Conservation Use Valuation Assessment (“conservation use”).
The property meets the qualifications for “bona fide conservation use property,”
as provided for in O.C.G.A. § 48-5-7.4. Should the new owner’s appeal and
conservation use application be granted?

Answer: The new owner’s appeal of the property’s assessment will be granted so long as
the appeal was filed with the county board of tax assessors before the last day for
filing such appeals.
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The new owner’s application for conservation use shall be denied for 2011
because the taxpayer did not have legal ownership of the property on January 1.

Discussion:

Taxpayer’s Appeal Regarding the Property’s Assessed Value

O.C.G.A. § 48-5-10 states that “all property shall be returned by the taxpayers for
taxation to the tax commissioner or tax receiver as provided by law. Each return by a
taxpayer shall be for property held and subject to taxation on January 1 next preceding
each return.”

“Any taxpayer or property owner as of the last date for filing an appeal may elect to file
an appeal from an assessment by the county board of tax assessors...” O.C.G.A. 48-5-
311(e)(1)(A).

Based upon O.C.G.A. 88 48-5-10 and 48-5-311 a property owner, including property
owner’s who come into possession of the property after January 1, may file an appeal and
their appeal of their property’s assessment will be granted so long as the appeal was filed
with the county board of tax assessors before the last day of filing such appeals.
Therefore, a taxpayer, who acquires legal ownership of the property after January 1 but
before the last day to file an appeal, is afforded the right to appeal the property’s
assessment/valuation because new owner is liable for some portion of the property taxes
for that year.

Taxpayer’s Application for Conservation Use

“No property shall qualify for current use assessment under this Code section unless and
until the owner of such property agrees by covenant with the appropriate taxing authority
to maintain the eligible property in bona fide qualifying use for a period of ten years
beginning on the first day of January of the year in which such property qualifies for such
current use assessment and ending on the last day of December of the final year of the
covenant period.” O.C.G.A. § 48-5-7.4(d).

When a taxpayer applies to for a conservation use on property he did not have ownership
of on January 1 of that year, the taxpayer is trying to encumber said property under a 10
year covenant for a period of time he did not have ownership rights of (i.e. January 1
until the time the property was acquired).

Therefore, a taxpayer may not enter into a conservation use covenant for any tax year that
the taxpayer did not have the right to encumber the property as of January 1 of that tax
year.

Authority:

O.C.G.A. §48-5-74
O.C.G.A. §48-5-10
O.C.G.A. §48-5-311
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Department of Revenue
Local Government Services Division
2016 FLPA Index

Forest Land Protection Act Index:

This informational bulletin sets forth the 2016 Forest Land Protection Act (FLPA) index used to
update the 2008 fair market value of forest land, from one year to the next, as provided for in
0.C.G.A. § 48-5-2(3)(6).

Such indexed Forest Land Fair Market Value is represented on the annual tax digest as Class
‘F’. Digest Class ‘F’' is established for the single purpose of calculating the statutory revenue
reduction amount and FLPA Reimbursement Grant distributed to each county, municipal, and
school district as a result of the implementation of Forest Land Conservation Use Assessment.

For 2016 the FLPA index is 1.015
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Unused Each
Acres Portion of Each Owner's | Lesser of
2,000 owned in 2,000 Owner's acres unused
Acre other acre % Benefit [ Benefit in| portion or
6,800 | Limitation [covenants| limitation | in FFE FFE % interest
Owner 1 2,000 2,000 0 20% 1,360 0
Owner 2 2,000 0 2,000 50% 3,400 2,000
Owner 3 2,000 0 2,000 30% 2,040 2,000
Total 4,000
Unused Each
Acres | Portion of Each Owner's | Lesser of
2,000 owned in 2,000 Owner's acres unused
Acre other acre % Benefit [ Benefit in| portion or
6,800 | Limitation |covenants| limitation in FFE FFE % interest
Owner 1 2,000 500 1,500 20% 1,360 1,360
Owner 2 2,000 1000 1,000 50% 3,400 1,000
Owner 3 2,000 0 2,000 30% 2,040 2,000
Total 4,360
Unused Each
Acres | Portion of Each Owner's | Lesser of
2,000 owned in 2,000 Owner's acres unused
Acre other acre % Benefit | Benefit in| portion or
2,500 | Limitation [covenants| limitation | in FFE FFE % interest
Owner 1 2,000 0 2,000 50% 1,250 1,250
Owner 2 2,000 1000 1,000 40% 1,000 1,000
Owner 3 2,000 0 2,000 10% 250 250
Total 2,500
Unused Each
Acres | Portion of Each Owner's | Lesser of
2,000 owned in 2,000 Owner's acres unused
Acre other acre % Benefit [ Benefit in| portion or
2,500 | Limitation |covenants| limitation in FFE FFE % interest
Owner 1 2,000 0 2,000 10% 250 250
Owner 2 2,000 1000 1,000 10% 250 250
Owner 3 2,000 0 2,000 10% 250 250
Owner 4 2,000 2000 0 10% 250 0
Owner 5 2,000 1800 200 10% 250 200
Owner 6 2,000 0 2,000 10% 250 250
Owner 7 2,000 200 1,800 10% 250 250
Owner 8 2,000 0 2,000 10% 250 250
Owner 9 2,000 0 2,000 10% 250 250
Owner 10 2,000 500 1,500 10% 250 250
Total 2,200
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Unused Each

Acres | Portion of Each Owner's | Lesser of

2,000 owned in 2,000 Owner's acres unused
Acre other acre % Benefit [ Benefit in| portion or
60,000 | Limitation [covenants| limitation in FFE FFE % interest
Owner 1 2,000 0 2,000 10% 6,000 2,000
Owner 2 2,000 1000 1,000 10% 6,000 1,000
Owner 3 2,000 2000 0 10% 6,000 0
Owner 4 2,000 0 2,000 10% 6,000 2,000
Owner 5 2,000 0 2,000 10% 6,000 2,000
Owner 6 2,000 0 2,000 10% 6,000 2,000
Owner 7 2,000 0 2,000 10% 6,000 2,000
Owner 8 2,000 0 2,000 10% 6,000 2,000
Owner 9 2,000 0 2,000 10% 6,000 2,000
Owner 10 2,000 0 2,000 10% 6,000 2,000
Total 17,000
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Answers to Frequently Asked Questions about Conservation Use
Valuation and
Preferential Agricultural Assessment

A presentation of the most frequently asked questions and answers collected
over the past several years for ad valorem tax issues in Georgia

Vo

Bibb County Board of Tax Assessors
653 Second Street
Macon, GA 31201
(478) 621-6701
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Answers to Frequently Asked Questions about Conservation Use Valuation and
Agricultural Preferential Assessment

December 2010

Andrea Crutchfield, Chief Appraiser
Bibb County Board of Tax Assessors

INTRODUCTION

Presently in Bibb County there are approximately 388 Conservation Use covenants,
Preferential Agricultural Assessment covenants and Forest Land Protection Act covenants in use
by agricultural and forestry landowners. These landowners earn almost $504,389 annually in
property tax benefits from these three tax programs as an alternative to fair market value (FMV).
This value is based on the 2008 mill rate.

Georgia Code Section 48-5-7.4 allows for up to 2,000 acres of real property of a single owner,
the primary purpose of which is any good faith production, including but not limited to,
subsistence farming or commercial production from or on the land of agricultural products or
timber who meet certain criteria of ownership to enter into a ten year covenant agreement.

Primary purpose is defined as "the principle use to which the property is devoted, as distinct from
an incidental, occasional, intermediate or temporary use for some other purpose not detrimental to,
or in conflict with its primary use.

This booklet contains a listing of questions and answers collected over the past several years

dealing with these ad valorem tax issues. A careful reading of these contents will foster a better
understanding among taxpayers of how these property tax programs works.
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CONSERVATION USE VALUATION AND AGRICULTURAL
PREFERNTIAL ASSESSMENT

Which is better for me as a Bibb County landowner: fair market value (FMV), Agricultural
Preferential Assessment, or Conservation Use Valuation of my land?

It really depends on your planned use for the land over the life of the covenant. For qualified
landowners planning to continue the land use in agricultural or forest production, either program
can earn tax benefits and serve as an incentive for continued agricultural and forest production.

Agricultural Preferential Assessment generally provides a 25 percent tax advantage over the Fair
Market Value. (FMV)

Conservation Use Valuation can offer significant savings, in some cases greater than 50% from
FMV.

Alternatively, to maintain a greater flexibility over the use of your land, accept a FMV basis for
your ad valorem taxes.

Why should I be interested in Conservation Use Valuation for ad valorem taxation?

All landowners who qualify for Conservation Use Valuation are entitled to have their land valued
according to its current use (agriculture, forestry, or environmentally sensitive) instead of the Fair
Market Value for ad valorem taxation. This can reap large tax benefits. Another benefit of CUVA
is that the value changes are limited to +/- 3 percent a year and a total of +/- 34.39 percent over the
life of the 10-year covenant.

Why should | be interested in Agricultural Preferential Assessment?

All land owners who qualify for Agricultural Preferential Assessment are entitled to have their
property valued for assessment at 75 percent of FMV for ad valorem taxation. In most cases, 25
percent tax savings will be realized with Agricultural Preferential Assessment. However,
Agricultural Preferential Assessment values change as fast as FMV changes and offer no degree of
certainty on the property tax burden.

If Conservation Use Valuation offers large savings and appears to be more stable, why would |
consider Agricultural Preferential Assessment?

Agricultural Preferential Assessment applies to all land and up to $100,000 dollars in building
value on agricultural production and storage buildings. Conservation Use Valuation applies only to
land values and has no effect on building values. A taxpayer that has a small amount of land with a
good number of agricultural buildings, such as chicken farming, may receive greater benefits under
Agricultural Preferential Assessment.
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How does the value of my land under the Conservation Use covenant change: per year, per 10 years?

Conservation Use values for land cannot change more than 3 percent per year or more than 34.39
percent over the life of the covenant.

But remember your land will be taxed according to Fair Market Value at the end of the covenant
unless you renew the covenant.

Who is eligible for Conservation Use Valuation and/or Agricultural Preferential Assessment?

U. S. Citizens
Family Farm Corporations who earns at least 80% of their income from farming
Non profit conservation organizations, estates and trust may be eligible

How do I sign up for one of these programs?

Forms and details are available at the Bibb County Tax Assessors office or on the Bibb County Tax
Assessors website. The Board of Assessors requires the following when submitting your
application:

Application must be signed by all landowners

Application must be notarized

Applicant must designate on tax map the exact parcel and acreage being placed in
covenant

Applications for less than 10 acres, must be accompanied by additional proof of
agricultural or forestry use to be considered

$12.00 Recording fee should be paid at the time the application is filed (only cash,
cashier’s check or money orders made out to the Bibb County Clerk of Superior Court will
be accepted. NO PERSONAL CHECKS WILL BE ACCEPTED)

You enter a 10-year covenant with the County whereby you agree to continue your property in
agricultural or forestry production.

When | sign up for one of these covenants, is it some way recorded with the deed to my land?

Once your application is approved, the covenant agreement will be placed on record in the Clerk of
Superior Court Office of Bibb County. A title search of your property should show that your
property is under a covenant. This is for the protection of both the potential seller and/or buyer
who may not be aware of the covenant, and any penalties that may occur due to a transaction.
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What are considered the allowable uses for a property in order to be eligible for conservation use
valuation?

The land uses required for Conservation Use Valuation are good faith agricultural/forest production
and environmentally sensitive land including:

Raising, harvesting or storing crops

Feeding, breeding or managing livestock or poultry

Producing plants, trees, fowl or animals

Production of aquaculture, horticulture, floriculture, dairy, livestock, poultry and apiarian
products

When can | sign up for either of these programs?

The earliest anyone may sign up for Conservation Use Valuation or Agricultural Preferential
Assessment is January 2 of each year. The filing time runs from January 2 until April 1.

In addition, if the county re-assesses your property, you will receive a change in assessment notice.
You may make application along with, or in lieu of an appeal, during the 30-day appeal period.

How much land can | enter into Conservation Use Valuation and/or Agricultural Preferential
Assessment?

Up to 2,000 acres in Georgia can be entered in Conservation Use covenants. At the same time, up
to 2,000 other acres in Georgia may be entered into Agricultural Preferential Assessment.
Presently there is a minimum of 10 acres for Conservation Use Valuation.

But, landowners with less than 10 acres must give additional proof that the ""primary use™ of the
property is for bona fide agricultural production purposes.

In addition, for tracts that range in size from 10.01 to 25.00 acres, and are improved with a house,
the Bibb County Board of Assessors requires additional information to enable them to determine if
the ""primary use” is agricultural or residential.

For vacant parcels over 25 acres, there are no requirements for documentation. The eligibility will
be determined from on-site inspection of the property.

How many Conservation Use Covenants can | have? Does all of my land have to be in the same
county?

You may have a separate covenant for each legally definable tract of land you own. No one
covenant can cross county lines or state boundaries. Separate covenants can be held in separate

Georgia counties. Tract means a parcel of property with boundaries designated by the Board of
Assessors to facilitate proper identification of the property on their maps and records.

What happens if | want to get out of the covenant before the 10-year period is up?

g/
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You are bound by legal agreement with Bibb County for the duration of the 10-year covenant to
maintain the Conservation Use. There are four conditions under which you can end a covenant
with no penalty, or a one-year penalty. These are:

If you or any party to the covenant dies during the period of the covenant, the covenant ends. This
is considered a no penalty breach.

If any part of your property is taken, or is conveyed, to a party with the power of eminent domain,
the covenant may end. If this occurs, this is a no penalty breach.

If you become medically unable to continue the land in its qualifying use, the covenant ends. The
Board of Assessors requires letters from two (2) doctors stating the medical reason that a
landowner cannot continue to farm. If tax savings have been enjoyed during the year this occurs,
then a one-year penalty is applied.

If your land is taken from you through foreclosure, the covenant ends. If tax savings have been
enjoyed during the year this occurs, then a one-year penalty is applied.

Otherwise to get out of the covenant early you must pay a tax penalty equal to twice the tax
savings enjoyed to date, plus interest.

What are the penalties for breach of the Conservation Use Valuation and Agricultural Preferential
Assessment covenant?

Breaching a Conservation Use covenant results in a penalty that applies to the entire tract that is
placed under an original covenant, even if the breach occurred on only a small portion of the tract
under covenant. The penalty paid by the original covenant holder will be an amount equal to twice
the property tax savings incurred from the year the covenant was entered until it was breached, plus
interest.

In the event that a portion of the land under a Conservation Use covenant is sold to a qualifying
landowner, who later breaks to covenant, penalties also apply to the entire tract under the original
covenant. Under this condition, there will be a pro-rata assessment of the penalty against each of
the parties of the covenant in proportion to the tax benefit enjoyed by each. This means that the
original covenant holder will pay a fine based on the tax savings enjoyed on all of the acreage,
from the beginning of the covenant up to the time of sale of land, and of the breach. The
subsequent covenant holder would pay a fine based on the tax benefits enjoyed from the time of
covenant land purchase up to the time of the breach. Please be aware that the penalty plus interest
constitutes a lien against the property.

Penalties for the Agricultural Preferential covenant are assessed as the tax benefits enjoyed during
only the year of the breach, times a factor of:

o5 if breached during the 1% or 2™ year
o4 if breached during the 3" or 4" year
«3 if breached during the 5" or 6™ year
«2 if breached during the 7™ 8th, 9™ or 10th year

The landowner in the original covenant pays the penalty.

Exactly how is a Conservation Use breach penalty calculated?
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The Property evaluation office maintains the FMV of the property for each year of the covenant.
They also calculate the CUVA value for the property. The difference between the actual FMV and
the CUVA value becomes an annual exemption for the taxpayer. The tax savings benefit is
calculated from the amount of the exemption.

The following is an example of how a penalty might be calculated if a covenant was breached in
the 6" year of the agreement, and the parcel is vacant with no homestead exemptions.

FAIR CURRENT EXEMPT MILLAGE RATE TAX PENALTY $ AMOUNT
MARKET USE AMOUNT SAVINGS PENALTY
VALUE VALUE *
195,000 92,000 41,200 .02150 $885.80 X 2 $1,771.60
195,000 94,760 40,096 .02120 850.04 X 2 1,700.08
260,000 97,600 64,960 .02280 1,481.09 X 2 2,962.18
260,000 100,500 63,800 .02075 1,323.85 X 2 2,647.70
260,000 103,500 62,600 .02170 1,358.42 X 2 2,716.84
288,000 106,600 72,560 .02058 1,439.28 X 2 2,986.56
TOTAL
PENALTY $14,784.96
DUE AT
BREACH

*Exempt amount is the difference between the FMV and the CUVA value multiplied times the assessment
level of 40 percent.
(195,000 X 92,000 = 103,000 X .40 = 41,200)

The penalty amount will vary from covenant to covenant due to the fact that the FMV and the
CUVA value will be different for each parcel.

As shown above, the FMV changed between the second and third year. Thus the penalty amount
increased between the second and third year. This demonstrates the importance of keeping up with
the FMV, even though you are not being taxed on that amount.

In fact the tax amount due under Conservation Use for the first year would be $791.20. Without
the Conservation Use covenant, the tax due would be $1,677.00. So as you can see this covenant
can offer substantial tax savings.

Looking at the previous chart, what would be the penalty if | breached the covenant due to
foreclosure or a medically demonstrated illness during the 6" year?

If the covenant is breached due to foreclosure or a medically demonstrated illness, and tax benefits
have been received for that year, then only the penalty amount due for the year in which you breach
is due. So, under one of these circumstances, the penalty due would be $2,986.56.

Can | change agricultural/forestry uses of the Conservation Use covenant land during the 10-year
period?

Yes, you can change among good faith production of agriculture or forestry crops provided that

you notify the Bibb County Board of Assessors in writing of the intended use change. Failure to
notify constitutes a breach of the covenant with penalties as described.

Can | sell land that is under the Conservation Use Covenant?
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Yes. Butto avoid a penalty, the buyer must continue the terms of the original covenant and enter a
new continuance Conservation Use covenant for the land purchased. The sign-up period for the
new owner is during the next year’s regular sign-up period, January 2 through April 1. The
landowner under the original covenant remains in that covenant, unless all land under covenant was
sold. But the original covenant holder still remains legally responsible for any penalty assessed
against benefits earned before the sale.

When selling land under covenant, it may be wise to have your attorney include language with the
property deed requiring the new owner to continue land use under provisions of the original
covenant.

What happens if my spouse and | jointly own property entered in a Conservation Use Covenant and
we divorce during the covenant period with one of us gaining the deed to the property?

Department of Revenue Regulations state that when there is a change in ownership of property
receiving current use assessment, the new owner must apply for a continuation of the covenant.
This application must be made on or before the deadline for filing returns, which is April 1.

In the event of a divorce, the original parties to the covenant remain liable for any breach of the
covenant. Responsibility for penalties due to a covenant breach should be specified in divorce
decrees, contracts, etc.

Can members of my family build a home and live on Conservation Use Covenant land?

Yes, any family member which is related to the original covenant holder, at least to the fourth
degree of civil reckoning, can build a home and live on the land (up to 5 acres) enrolled in a
Conservation Use Covenant, without penalty during the life of the original covenant.

The fourth degree of civil reckoning is defined as:

Brother/sister
Mother/father
Grandmother/grandfather
Son/daughter
Grandson/granddaughter

After the transfer of property under covenant to the family member, the home must be built and
occupied by the family member within one year, and must remain so for the duration of the original
covenant.

This property will not receive the exemption, but does still remain subject to the conditions of the
original covenant.

What happens if the original covenant holder dies during the life of the covenant or cannot carry out
the requirements of the covenant?

190


jkcolson
Typewritten Text
100


If the original covenant holder dies before the Conservation Use or Agricultural Preferential
covenant expires, the agreement is nullified, and the covenant ends without penalty, or the heirs
have the option to continue the covenant without penalty.

If the property owner ends the covenant because of a foreclosure or medically documented illness,
the covenant is breached. But only the tax savings incurred in that particular year will be forfeited.

What happens if the County or State wants some of my land for right-or-way?

When a public body (government) acquires the land through eminent domain, the covenant ends.
You may be entitled to sign up again, if you choose.

Property that is either given or sold to schools and power companies would also include in this
group.

What do | do if | want to enter my land in a Current Use Covenant but feel that 1 may want to
develop some of the land before the 10 years is up?

The best approach would be to enroll only the land that you intend to keep in the qualifying uses
for the life of the covenant. This means to create a new legal description for separate tracts.

For example, if you own 100 acres and feel you may want to develop or sell a portion during the 10
year covenant period, you will be required to submit a legal description to the Board of any
property that will not be included in the covenant. This legal description can be by deed or by
survey.

Can | lease or rent my covenant land out for hunting, pine straw harvest, agricultural or tree crop
production, or other qualifying uses without penalty?

Yes, these rights are specifically spelled out in the law. However, the person with whom you lease
or rent land must otherwise qualify for the program.

Can | lease or rent my covenant land for other purposes, such as cell towers?

Placing a cell tower on your property is allowed. As noted above, anyone who leases land must
otherwise qualify for the program. Renting or leasing to companies and corporations who would
not qualify for the program is considered a breach of the covenant. Caution should be taken if you
are considering leasing for any purpose other than cell towers, hunting or agricultural purposes.

The law for Current Use Valuation says something about at least 50 percent of the property has to be
in the qualifying use. What does this mean about the other one-half of the property? Can smaller
portions be in other uses as long as at least 50 percent is maintained in the qualifying use?

The law states that no other type of business may be operated on the unused portion.
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In addition, the unused portion must be minimally managed to prevent significant erosion or other
environmental problems. If you have questions about your specific case, check with the Property
Evaluation Office before you change use on any portions of your covenant lands.

What is the status of my house and yard if | currently enrolled in an Agricultural Preferential or
Conservation Use covenant and also live on the property?

For Agricultural Preferential and Conservation Use, Georgia law states that the land underlying
the house is a part of the covenant and is valued according to the Current Use table of values. The
house in which you live is not part of the covenant, but is valued according to FMV. More
importantly, total value changes under a Conservation Use covenant (including the eligible
Miscellaneous Improvements) are limited to +/- 3 percent per year up to +/- 34.39 percent over the
10-year life of the covenant.

It should be noted that physical changes to the house, such as additions, are valued according to
FMV.

Can 1 sell my house and yard that is located on Conservation Use covenant land, or rent it out,
without breaking my covenant agreement, even when the remaining land stays in the qualifying use?

Conservation Use and Agricultural Preferential valuation does not apply to a residence but does
apply to the lot on which the house is located on the agricultural or forest property under covenant.
Therefore, the house and yard may not be considered for sale separately from the Conservation Use
covenant. Renting the residence or any other house or mobile home located on the parcel is not
allowed. Be sure to check with The Bibb County Board of Tax Assessors before making any
changes in ownership, or renting, of the house and/or any part of the property.

What if | want to change between Agricultural Preferential Assessment and Conservation Use
Valuation?

There is no apparent time limit set by Georgia law on when you can change from an existing
Agricultural Preferential Assessment covenant to a Conservation Use covenant. However, you can
change from Preferential Assessment to Conservation Use, for a particular covenant, only once.

You cannot change from an existing Conservation Use covenant to a new Agricultural Preferential
Assessment covenant except at the end of the Conservation Use agreement.

How much is my land worth under the Conservation Use covenant? Who decides what it is worth?
How is a particular piece of land given a value?

Conservation Use land value is based on its use, location and soil productivity. Annually the
Georgia Department of Revenue publishes a table of values for all Conservation Use land in
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Georgia. The table of values is available at the Bibb County Property Evaluation Office,
University of Georgia Cooperative Extension Service County Office, the Georgia Forestry
Association, Georgia Farm Bureau Federation and the Georgia Forestry Commission.

Once your application has been approved, the acreage of your parcel is broken down by soil
classification. Then the soil types are costed against the above table and totaled for a new
Conservation Use value.

While my land is in a Conservation Use covenant, how do | keep up with its Fair Market Value
(FMV)?

The Property Evaluation Office will continue to notify the taxpayer of any changes to the FMV of
the covenanted property. Remember the difference between FMV and Conservation Use value is
the basis for calculating any penalty. So, pay careful attention each year to the FMV of your land,
even while in a protective covenant.

What happens if | want to divide my property for estate planning purposes and deed off portions
while I am in the covenant?

If you do not change the use of the property, each party may be eligible to file for continuance of
the original covenant. It would be wise to discuss this with the property evaluation office to make
sure that the division will be done in a manner that would not breach the covenant.

The Board of Assessors should be consulted before building any improvements on property divided
for estate planning purposes.

If I choose to place my property into a LC, LLC, LP, Family Farm Corporation etc., for estate
planning purposes or other income tax purposes, how will this effect my covenant?

If property is placed in any of the above, there are specific requirements under the law. The
partnership or family farm corporation MUST derive 80% of its income from bona fide agricultural
production purposes within this state. It may NOT receive more than 20% of it's income from
other non-related agricultural purposes, such as dividends on stocks and bonds other non-
agricultural investments, rental income, etc.

All parties of the partnership or corporation must be related to each other within the fourth degree
of civil reckoning, except that there is an allowance for a non-related 5% ownership for
management purposes.

The Bibb County Board of Assessors will require the following along with your application under
these circumstances:

Copy of your certificate of corporation filed with the Secretary of State

Copy of the income tax return for the partnership or corporation, and
An affidavit that the parties are related to each other in accordance with the law.

What happens if | divide my property or sell it, and the new owners do not come in and file for a
continuance covenant?
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The Board of Assessors will send both the transferee and the transferor a notice of the Board’s
intent to assess a penalty for the breach of the covenant. The notice shall be entitled Notice of
Intent to Assess Penalty for Breach of a Conservation Use Covenant and shall set forth the
following information:

The requirements of the new owner or the owner of the property currently receiving current use
assessment to apply for a continuation of the current use assessment within 15 days of the date of
postmark of the notice;

The requirement of the new owner of the property currently receiving current use assessment to
continuously devote the property to an applicable bona fide qualifying use for the duration of the
notice;

The change to the assessment if the covenant is breached, and;

The amount of the penalty if breached.

If I make application, what will the Board of Assessors look at to determine if | qualify?

The Board will review the current use of the property. An appraiser from the Property Evaluation
Office will perform an on-site inspection of the property and prepare a report for the Board of
Assessors.

You should submit any documentation you have regarding the bona fide conservation use of the
property. Examples would be:

Federal Income Tax Schedule “f”

Timber Management Plans

Receipts of sale of hay, livestock, produce, etc.

Receipts for purchase of feed, fertilizers, seed, equipment, etc.

Any documentation that will assist the Board in determining the qualifying use.

If I have property that has been under a conservation use or preferential agricultural covenant for 10
years, will my covenant automatically be renewed at the end of the 10 years?

No. You must sign a release of the first 10-year covenant and the exemption ends. At the end of
October, the Property Evaluation office will send you notification that your covenant is about to
expire.

You must make application for a new 10-year covenant, if you desire the exemption to continue.

If you apply for your second 10-year period, it is considered a RENEWAL COVENANT.

If I had the exemption before, | should automatically qualify again, right?

Not necessarily. Ten years is a long period, and many changes can occur.
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During the first 10 years since the covenant was originally placed into law in 1992, there have been
changes made to the law, changes to the state regulations, and changes due to court cases that
clarify the law. These changes included making it more difficult for smaller tracts to enter into
these covenants, clarification of the type of income allowed (no, non-agricultural related rental
income) and clarification of the definition of primary use of the property.

There may have been changes in ownership, changes in use and other factors that need to be
reviewed.
Were there any changes that benefit the taxpayer?

Yes, the law now states that if you enter into a second ten-year covenant, it is considered a renewal
covenant.

If you decide to sell your property or change the use during the 6" though the 10" year of your
renewal covenant, you only have to pay the taxes that would have been due if you were not in the
covenant.

There is no penalty amount, but you do have to pay taxes at the fair market basis for years you have
been in the renewal covenant.

There is also a change that allows for an early out provision, if any one of the parties of the covenant turns
65 years of age also included a new option for anyone who turns 65 during a renewal covenant.

What do | do if | am turned down for a Current Use covenant?

If your application is turned down, you may appeal the decision of the Board of Tax Assessors.
This must be done, in writing, within 30 days of the date of the letter of notification. Your appeal
will be forwarded to the Board of Equalization for a hearing.

If I have questions, who and where do | call for answers?

Any time you have questions regarding making application, or changing the use of your property,
you can contact one of the following persons at the Bibb County Property Evaluation Office:

Helen Rutledge

Assistant Chief Appraiser
Mapping/Records & Standards
(478) 621-6706

Andrea Crutchfield, Chief Appraiser
(478) 621-6701
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Answers to Frequently Asked Questions about Conservation Use Valuation and
Agricultural Preferential Assessment

For Further Information Contact:
Bibb County ngissessors Office
Monday - Friday
7:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m.

(478) 621-6701

Part of data copied from
Forsyth County Board of Tax Assessors
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Conservation Use Checklist (Agricultural Use)

Instructions

Georgia law provides for the conservation use valuation assessment (CUVA) of
property for ad valorem taxation. In order to receive this preferential treatment the
owner of the property must enter into a ten-year covenant with the county board of tax
assessors agreeing to keep the property in a qualifying use for the period of the
covenant. The county board of tax assessors must review all applications filed for CUVA
and approve and then record all qualifying covenants with the Clerk of Superior Court.
In order to qualify for this preferential treatment the following requirements must be met:
The owner of the property must be one of the following: a U.S. citizen; an estate where
the devisees are U.S. citizens; a trust which beneficiaries must be U.S. citizens; a family
owned farm corporation, a family partnership, a family general partnership, a family
limited partnership, a family limited corporation, or a family limited liability company, all
of the interest of which is owned by one or more natural or naturalized citizens related to
each other by blood or marriage within the fourth degree of civil reckoning, except that,
solely with respect to a family limited partnership, a corporation, limited partnership,
limited corporation, or limited liability company may serve as a general partner of the
family limited partnership and hold no more than a 5 percent interest in such family
limited partnership, an estate of which the devisees or heirs are one or more natural or
naturalized citizens, or a trust of which the beneficiaries are one or more natural or
naturalized citizens and which family owned farm entity derived 80 percent or more of
its gross income from bona fide conservation uses, including earnings on investments
directly related to past or future bona fide conservation uses, within this state within the
year immediately preceding the year in which eligibility is sought; provided, however,
that in the case of a newly formed family farm entity, an estimate of the income of such
entity may be used to determine its eligibility; a bona fide nonprofit conservation
organization designated under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code; a bona
fide club organized for pleasure, recreation, and other nonprofit purposes pursuant to
Section 501(c)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code.

The property must be used for one of the following bona fide agricultural purposes;
raising, harvesting, or storing crops; feeding, breeding, or managing livestock or poultry;
producing plants, trees, fowl, or animals; production of aquaculture, horticulture,
floriculture, forestry, dairy, livestock, poultry, and apiarian products.

Factors which may be considered in determining if such property is qualified may
include, but not be limited to: the density of the marketable product on the land; the past
usage of the land; the economic merchantability of the agricultural product; and the
utilization or non-utilization of recognized care, cultivation, harvesting, and like practices
applicable to the product involved and any implemented plans thereof.

The following additional rules shall apply to the qualification of conservation use
property for current use assessment:

When one-half or more of the area of a single tract of real property is used for a
qualifying purpose, then such tract shall be considered as used for such qualifying
purpose unless some other type of business is being operated on the unused portion;
provided, however, that such unused portion must be minimally managed so that it does
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not contribute significantly to erosion or other environmental or conservation problems.
The lease of hunting rights shall not constitute another type of business.
The owner of a tract, lot, or parcel of land totaling less than ten acres shall be required
by the tax assessor to submit additional relevant records regarding proof of bona fide
conservation use.
No property shall qualify as bona fide conservation use property if such current use
assessment would result in any person who has a beneficial interest in such property,
including any interest in the nature of stock ownership, receiving in any tax year any
benefit of current use assessment as to more than 2,000 acres. If any taxpayer has any
beneficial interest in more than 2,000 acres of tangible real property that is devoted to
bona fide conservation uses, such taxpayer shall apply for current use assessment only
as to 2,000 acres of such land.
No property shall qualify as bona fide conservation use property if it is leased to a
person or entity which would not be entitled to conservation use assessment.
No property shall qualify as bona fide conservation use property if such property is at
the time of application for current use assessment subject to a restrictive covenant
which prohibits the use of the property for any purpose described in subparagraph
(a)(1)(E) of O.C.G.A. § 48-5-7.4.
*# #IMPORTANT > » Prior to completing this questionnaire it is advisable to make
a field inspection of the property in order to gather as much as possible information
pertaining to the use and physical characteristics of the property. The reviewer should
be especially mindful to investigate for other businesses that may exist on the property.
This questionnaire is designed to assist those individuals (county appraisers, members
county board of tax assessors) who are attempting to determine whether or not a
specific application can be approved. To use the questionnaire answer each question
and then based on the yes or no answer follow the instructions.

Pre-qualifiers

1. Would the approval of the application result in the owner having an interest in
more than 2000 acres receiving CUVA? O Yes O No (If yes, then the application
cannot be approved and a notice should be mailed to the property owner. If no
then go to question 2).

2. Is the property larger than 10 acres? O Yes O No (If yes, go on to the first
question in the ownership section. If no, the property owner must submit
additional relevant records regarding proof of bona fide conservation use. Such
records may include:

e Any financial records such as original books of accounting showing income
and expenses associated with the agricultural business or as a substitute the
appropriate 1.R.S. Form: 1040 (Schedule F) for individuals, 1065 for
partnerships, 990-C for cooperatives, 1120, 1120-A or 1120S for
corporations.

e Any management plan prepared by the U.S. Department of Agriculture,
Georgia Department of Agriculture, Georgia Department of Natural
Resources, private consultant or farm manager.
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¢ Any other documentation deemed reasonable or relevant.

After 15 working days or upon submission of the necessary documentation go on
to question 3.)

3. Has the property owner complied with this requirement of Georgia law? O Yes O
No (If yes, then go to the next question. If no, then the application cannot be
approved and a notice should be mailed to the property owner.)

Ownership

4. Is the owner a natural or naturalized citizen? O Yes O No (If yes, then go to
question 10. If no, then go to question 5.)

5. lIs the owner an estate where the devisees are natural or naturalized citizens? O
Yes O No (If yes, then go to question 10. If no, then go to question 6.)

6. Is the owner a trust which beneficiaries are natural or naturalized citizens? O Yes
O No (If yes, then go to question 10. If no, then go to question 7.)

7. Is the owner a family owned farm corporation, a family partnership, a family
general partnership, a family limited partnership, a family limited corporation, or a
family limited liability company, all of the interest of which is owned by one or
more natural or naturalized citizens related to each other by blood or marriage
within the fourth degree of civil reckoning, except that, solely with respect to a
family limited partnership, a corporation, limited partnership, limited corporation,
or limited liability company may serve as a general partner of the family limited
partnership and hold no more than a 5 percent interest in such family limited
partnership, an estate of which the devisees or heirs are one or more natural or
naturalized citizens, or a trust of which the beneficiaries are one or more natural
or naturalized citizens and which family owned farm entity derived 80 percent or
more of its gross income from bona fide conservation uses, including earnings on
investments directly related to past or future bona fide conservation uses, within
this state within the year immediately preceding the year in which eligibility is
sought; provided, however, that in the case of a newly formed family farm entity,
an estimate of the income of such entity may be used to determine its eligibility?
O Yes O No (If yes, then go to question 10. If no, then go to question 8.)

8. Is the owner a bona fide nonprofit conservation organization designated under
Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code? O Yes O No (If yes, then go to
question 10. If no, then go to question 9.)

9. Is the owner a bona fide club organized for pleasure, recreation, and other
nonprofit purposes pursuant to Section 501(c)(7) of the Internal Revenue Code?
O Yes O No (If yes, then go to question 10. If no, then the application cannot be
approved and a notice should be mailed to the property owner.)
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Use of the property

10.1s the property leased to someone who would not otherwise be eligible to enter
into a conservation use covenant? O Yes O No (If yes, then the application
cannot be approved and a notice should be mailed to the property owner. If no,
then go to the next question.)

11.1s the use stated on the application for the property to grow crops, livestock,
timber or other qualified agricultural product? O Yes O No (If yes, then go to the
next question. If no, then the application cannot be approved and a notice should
be mailed to the property owner.)

12.1s the use stated on the application consistent with the past usage of the land? O
Yes O No (If yes, then go to the next question. If no, and the reviewer feels that a
non-qualifying use such as residential or commercial is the primary use of the
land then the application cannot be approved and a notice should be mailed to
the property owner, otherwise go to the next question.)

13.Is the density of the marketable product on the land sufficient to cause one to
believe that the property is being used for bona fide agricultural purposes? O
Yes O No (If yes, then go to the next question. If no, then the application cannot
be approved and a notice should be mailed to the property owner.)

14.1s there an economically viable market for agricultural product being grown? O
Yes O No (If yes, then go to the next question. If no, then the application cannot
be approved and a notice should be mailed to the property owner.)

15.1s there a management plan utilizing recognized care, cultivation, harvesting, and
like practices applicable to the product involved? O Yes O No (If yes, then go to
the next question. If no, and if the reviewer feels that one is necessary or if a
policy has been adopted by the board of tax assessors in regards to the lack of a
written plan then the application cannot be approved and a notice should be
mailed to the property owner, otherwise go to the next question.)

16.1s more than one half of the area of the property used for a qualifying use? O
Yes O No (If yes, then go to the next question. If no, then the application cannot
be approved and a notice should be mailed to the property owner.)

17.Are there any other business enterprises being conducted on the property
besides the one(s) stated on the application? O Yes O No (If yes, then the
reviewer must determine if the other business constitutes a qualifying use of the
property. If it does not, then the application cannot be approved and a notice
should be mailed to the property owner. If no, then the application can be
approved and the notice required by law should be mailed to the property owner.)
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Bouglas J. MacBGinnitie

State of Georgia
Yicki Lambert

Commissioner ;Bepartment UE Reh Bnue Director

1800 Century Blvd.
Atlanta, Georgia 30345-3205

Please note: The purpose of a policy statement is to provide interpretive guidance to county tax
assessors, county clerks, and governmental employees. A policy statement is a position statement,
which provides interpretation, details, or supplementary information concerning the application of
the law. Relevant statute, case law, or rules and regulations, as well as subsequent policy
statements may modify or negate any or all of the provisions of any policy statements.

Issue Date: August 8, 2011

This is the policy of the Department and is applicable to all open tax years.

RE:

Issue:

Answer:

Discussion:

Recording of Forest Land Conservation Use Covenants.

Is a taxpayer required to record both the Forest Land Protection Act (“FLPA”) application
and Covenant as two separate documents with county clerk of each county in which the
property is located?

No. HB 95 amended the language of O.C.G.A. 48-5-7.7(j)(1) and the Department has
combined the application and Covenant form into one document.

Prior to the enactment of HB 95, O.C.G.A. 48-5-7.7(j)(1) required that the FLPA
“application” be recorded with the county clerk of each county in which the property is
located. Therefore, FLPA application and Covenant were recorded with the county clerk.

With the enactment of HB 95, the word “application” was stricken from the O.C.G.A. 48-
5-7.7(j)(1) and replaced with word “covenant(s).” Therefore, the Code does not require
the recording of the FLPA application and Covenant as two separate documents.

Because, the FLPA application becomes a Covenant upon full acceptance and
approval of the County Board of Tax Assessors, approval is evidenced by the Board’s
signature. Therefore, the Department has combined the application and Covenant
into one document, known as “Forest Land Conservation Use Assessment Covenant.”
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This Forest Land Conservation Use Assessment Covenant document shall be
recorded with the clerk of each county in which the property is located.

Authority:
e 0O.C.G.A.§48-5-7.7

Page 112



Department of Revenue
Local Government Services Division
2016 FLPA Index

Forest Land Protection Act Index:

This informational bulletin sets forth the 2016 Forest Land Protection Act (FLPA) index used to
update the 2008 fair market value of forest land, from one year to the next, as provided for in
0.C.G.A. § 48-5-2(3)(6).

Such indexed Forest Land Fair Market Value is represented on the annual tax digest as Class
‘F’. Digest Class ‘F’' is established for the single purpose of calculating the statutory revenue
reduction amount and FLPA Reimbursement Grant distributed to each county, municipal, and
school district as a result of the implementation of Forest Land Conservation Use Assessment.

For 2016 the FLPA index is 1.015
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Degrees of Kinship By the Rules of Civil Law

Each title is that person's 4 1
relation to the decedent. h
3 t-Great
{ Uncle
4 Great 2 ﬂ First Cousin
Aunt / Uncle h Twice-Removed
First Cousin 1 F3 Second Cousin
Once-Removed Once-Removed
;@ Second Cousin 2 Applicant H
Second Cousin ) First Cousin Third Cousin
8l Once-Removed MG ERRAN 1 H Once-Removed Once-Removed
Second Cousin Great 2 Cousin 10 Third Cousin
Twice-Removed Niece | Nephew Removed Twice-Removed
Second Cousin Great-Great 3 First Cousin 1 Third Cousin
Thrice-Removed Miece | Nephew Thrice-Removed Thrice-Removed
L
M <w_”m_”m<<_ Il.com Copyright 2007 © Kurt R. Nilson, Esq.
Of multiple relations with the same degree, those Distant Degree of Collateral
connecting through a nearer ancestor are more Relation
closely related to the decedent.
For example, great aunts and first cousins are fourth Ancestor / Ascendant
degree relations. First cousins connect through the
grandparents, which makes first cousins more closely Close lseua { Dascandzant

related to the decedent than great aunts.
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Covenant Type Code Section | Covenant Term Minimum Maximum Breach Penalty Savings Application Period Notes
Acreage Acreage
Tax savings for the year the| Fair Market Value of
Preferential 48-5-7.1 10 Years No 2000 breach occurs X land and up to January 1-April 1
Minimum 5 - (Years1and?2) $100,000 of
4 - (Years3and4) agricultural buildings
3 - (Years5and6) assessed at .30
2 - (Years 7,8,9,10)
Conservation | 48-5-7.4 10 Years No 2000 Total savings up to Land Valued Using | January 1 - April 1
Use Minimum the time the breach State Values and
(CUVA) occurs X 2 45 day appeal period
Agricultural buildings limited to 3% Of Notice Of
change per year Assessment
Forest 48-5-7.7 15 Years More Unlimited | Total savings up to Land Valued Using |/anuary 1-To End of 45
. day appeal period or
Land than the time the breach State Values .
until appeal of property
Protection 200 occurs X 2 settled (whichever
Act comes last)
(FLPA)
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