To apply for dealer, distributor, manufacturer or transporter tags, submit the following to this department's Special Tags Unit of the Motor Vehicle Division at the address shown at the bottom of this page:
Check or money order for the total fees due (see below) payable to the Department of Revenue.
The master tag fee is $62.00. To obtain each additional tag, the fee is $12.00 for each tag being requested. If you are a franchise dealer (a dealer who sells new vehicles) you must also pay a $25.00 franchise fee annually. This fee is authorized by law to allow this department to administer the 'Motor Vehicle Fair Practices Act'.
When using the drop off box located in the lobby of this department's Customer Service Operations of the Motor Vehicle Division, please place your completed applications, the required photocopies, and your check or money order in a sealed envelope with the words "Dealer Registration" written in large letters on the outside of the envelope.
If you go out-of-business, you must turn in all of your tags, with a signed letter indicating the reason for their return, to this department's Dealer Tags Unit at the address shown below.
The Dealer can issue a Temporary Tag at the time of sale. A licensed motor vehicle dealer in this state is required to issue a temporary dealer-issue tag for the customer's use in operating their vehicle during the 30 day period of time the customer has to register it.
The customer has 30 days from the purchase date to either register and obtain a license plate or to transfer their valid license plate from another vehicle they no longer own to their newly acquired vehicle*. The customer should apply for a license plate or license plate transfer at the Tax Commissioner's Tag Offices in the county in Georgia where they reside. The dealer cannot issue an extension or another tag nor can the customer operate the vehicle legally with an expired dealer-issued temporary tag. The customer will be unable to register and obtain a license plate or transfer a license plate to the newly purchased vehicle if a title has not been issued for the vehicle in their name (when a title is required). The dealer is responsible for applying for a title for their customer when the vehicle requires a title but is not required to apply for a license plate or a license plate transfer.
If the selling dealer fails to obtain a title for transfer to their customer within five days of the expiration date of the tag (25 days from the purchase date), the customer may apply for one-30 day temporary tag at their county Tax Commissioner's Tag Offices. The customer will be required to:
Turn in the dealer-issued tag at that time for destruction
Show proof of ownership (dealer's invoice)
Show a valid Georgia driver's license or state-issued identification card
Note: The customer can transfer their license plate from their passenger car they no longer own to a pickup truck they have purchased, but they cannot transfer their license plate from their trailer to their pickup truck because they are issued different types/prices of tags. Click Plate Samples for a chart showing the different types/prices license plates.
The Dealer cannot issue a Temporary Tag when:
The vehicle is to be registered under the International Registration Plan (IRP).
On vehicles in the company's inventory that are being demonstrated to a potential purchaser
To transport a vehicle from one location to another
For personal use by officers or employees of the business on vehicles owned by the business. Employees are defined as persons working for these businesses at least thirty-six hours per week
Manufacturer or distributor tags are limited to no longer than six months’ use per vehicle
Manufacturer and distributor tags may be used on motor vehicles owned by the manufacturer or distributor for evaluation or demonstration purposes, notwithstanding incidental personal use by the manufacturer or distributor
Tags cannot be used:
On privately owned vehicles
Cars for hire, for lease
Vehicles used in the operations of a dealership such as rentals, delivery, parts delivery, towing, rollbacks, courtesy or other manner
By friends or family members of the business
Note: You are subject to fines by law enforcement if you use these tags illegally. Also, if after a departmental hearing, it is determined that these tags were unlawfully used, these tags may be revoked and confiscated.
Franchise dealer - any person with an established place of business in Georgia engaged in the business of buying, selling, exchanging or leasing new motor vehicles under a franchise agreement with a vehicle manufacturer.
Independent dealer - any licensed person with an established place of business in Georgia engaged in the business of buying, selling or exchanging used motor vehicles.
Used parts dealer - any person with an established place of business in Georgia engaged in buying, selling, or using motor vehicle parts, either as a used motor vehicle parts dealer, a motor vehicle dismantler, a motor vehicle re-builder, a salvage pool dealer, or a salvage dealer.
Motorcycle dealer - any person with an established place of business in Georgia engaged in the business of buying, selling or exchanging new or used motorcycles.